Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 243 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

243 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

243 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
179
4 stars
42
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 stars
13
1-20 of 236 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 236 total reviews
1-20 of 236 reviews
You will never have a better cup of JAVA!
10/22/2012

Customer review by KnightRiderIS300

5.0 stars 10/22/2012 by KnightRiderIS300
by KnightRiderIS300

LOVE my new Melitta coffee maker (was a wee bit expensive) but SOOOOO worth it. I have owed several coffee makers but none like this. You can see the quality in the workmanship. It is built like a small tank. Strong material,stainless steel is sharp looking. Love the red line around the carafe. Looks sharp on my counter and more importantly it makes the best cup of JAVA ever! I have been deprived by coffee makers that CAN NOT make a steaming hot cup like MELITTA can. Be warned-this maker makes the hottest cup of coffee you will ever experience. But I LOVE THAT about it. I added a permanent life time stainless steel filter so no more paper filters-EVER. Final input-if you love coffee like i do and want to have a strong well built sharp looking maker that you desire to display on your counter with pride: then buy this maker. Will never buy any other brand then Melitta when it comes to my java.....wake up people and smell the coffee! LOL......enjoy

Was this review helpful? (86) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KnightRiderIS300
NY,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Looks nice, works great!
8/18/2012

Customer review by retiredphonetech1

5.0 stars 8/18/2012 by retiredphonetech1
by retiredphonetech1

With its cone type filter, this coffee maker can make small amounts of coffee that tast great. I also like its programable brew strength and keep warm temperature features.

Was this review helpful? (51) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
retiredphonetech1
Winfield, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
No beeps & Nice brew
9/15/2012

Customer review by laneski

5.0 stars 9/15/2012 by laneski
by laneski

This is a nice coffee maker. It is nice and sleek. It makes a great pot of coffee and best is no beeping when it is finished brewing! The pot does not drip when filling the reservoir. It is programmable. It is slightly taller than some makers, but we have no problem with it fitting under our cabinets. We are very pleased with the Melitta coffee maker. Again, very happy that it does not beep when finished brewing!

Was this review helpful? (62) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
laneski
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Well engineered
10/26/2012

Customer review by Stephen1947

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by Stephen1947
by Stephen1947

Finally a coffee maker that does everything it is supposed to, but the best part is that this is the only one I have ever found that does not drip when you pour a cup of coffee !! Hurray !!!!

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stephen1947
rural New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great tasting coffee! Very affordable price tag!
2/2/2014

Customer review by Imaguywhoknowsenoughokay

5.0 stars 2/2/2014 by Imaguywhoknowsenoughokay
by Imaguywhoknowsenoughokay

I did some research to try to find a machine within the 50 dollar price range. I found this melitta coffee maker come up all around the net with high reviews so I looked into it. I trust the melitta name because I used to work as a barista and we always used the cone filters and pour over filter they have. This coffee maker has the cone shaped filter, which is designed to get a better brew from the coffee, but the grind has to be set for cone filter fine not coarse. The coffee needs to be about two settings below espresso. I have noticed the taste is way better when I properly add the correct amount of water and coffee. It comes with a few brown paper cone filters along with a coupon for a new box of filters:) I didn't see the coupon until after I bought a box of filters :( I have the glass carafe but I don't leave any coffee in it too long to cook on the plate, I just make what I need. The plate does have the different warming levels, but I just set mine to low and empty it out into my cup. The coffee does get cold kinda fast if i'm using a regular ceramic cup, but it stays hot when I put it in my double sealed aluminum travel cup. The setting I use the most is regular brew strength, the bold and robust setting takes a little longer because it lets the coffee grinds soak up more water. It takes more time in between water spurts. The pause and pour feature works just fine. The program feature is very easy to set up. I set the clock up then hold the program button to set the start time and your done. But I noticed that the little green light needs to be on, because if its not you wont wake up to coffee time:( The LCD has a blue glow that is kinda bright and I use it as a night light for the kitchen :) Open the carafe lid, and place it back into the plate and the lid covers up the LCD so its not all bright and in your face. But you will have a flood if you program it and forget to put the lid back down. Its all plastic on the insides, but it does not have that plastic smell i've read about in reviews for other machines. I did notice little dust and debris type things on the inside water compartment and where the filter goes so I gave it a clean cycle when I first got it. I didn't have white vinegar with me so I just used a whole pot of regular water and I set it for robust with no paper filter. The back of the machine has two holes toward the top which will drain the water if you put in too much so watch out. My unit is too new to really rate the durability, but I guess if it breaks down on me too soon I will update this review.

Was this review helpful? (43) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Imaguywhoknowsenoughokay
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Coffe Everytime!
11/20/2013

Customer review by Baddog652

5.0 stars 11/20/2013 by Baddog652
by Baddog652

After trying another coffee maker and finding it didn't meet expectations we decided on trying the Melitta 12 cup model and it is FANTASTIC! Coffee is consistently hot, has great flavor and machine is very easy to use. You can actually pour a cup of coffee and the carafe is designed so well it doesn't spill. It also uses a cone filter which I have found helps make better tasting coffee. If you like great coffee try this coffee maker and you will not be disappointed. The price, the styling and the great coffee make it a great value.

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Baddog652
DeBary, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Overall a good investment
11/20/2012

Customer review by BellasMom1960

4.0 stars 11/20/2012 by BellasMom1960
by BellasMom1960

I've been using a Kuerig, but they didn't last, so I switched to this Melitta machine. It's taking me awhile to adjust to the time it takes to brew coffee this way. The coffee has been coming out really strong, and I'm trying to find the right measurement to make it less strong. It's got brew settings, which are regular to bold. If the regular setting is this strong, I don't want to know what the bold setting is like. But having it too strong is much better than having the coffee come out weak. I like the machine, it's just the adjustment from the single serve Kuerig that is making me give a good rather than excellent. I think it's an excellent value. I don't normally get the warrenty extensions, but since I had so many problems with the Kuerigs, I think for a coffee maker it's a good idea. Not expensive.

Was this review helpful? (28) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BellasMom1960
Deltona Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Breath of fresh air!!!!!!!!
12/24/2013

Customer review by Beerguts

5.0 stars 12/24/2013 by Beerguts
by Beerguts

After going through my fourth Kreurig machine (cleaned all a few times) of which I have tried most models, I gave up!!! I Purchased the Melitta 12-cup and LOVE It! I can not only adjust the strength, but also the temperature of the bottom heater. I may not have the variety of coffee flavors that I did with the K-cups, but I have a machine that works great and isn't costing me .60 per cup wondering if I am going to get a full cup or not! For the price, you can't go wrong and I am very impressed with not only the lit up display, but also the look of the machine itself. I would highly recommend this to anyone!

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Beerguts
Pasadena, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very nice Coffee Maker
12/31/2012

Customer review by ArchitecturalEngineering

5.0 stars 12/31/2012 by ArchitecturalEngineering
by ArchitecturalEngineering

The Melitta 46893 works better than advertised, super price for the value, very hot coffee, can use less ground coffee when using the Robust setting or keep the coffee amount the same and produce very nice strong coffee. This unit doesn't burn the coffee, and pulls out all the flavor it can from standard coffee, & brings higher end coffee to the maximum flavor, the heating element is why! 190 to 210 degrees which is why all flavor is produced. The Bad news is the coffee POT is made of glass with a plastic lid, and pour spout with anti spill lip, it works only when holding the coffee pot at about a 40 degree angle, The problems happens when the coffee pot is held at 180 degrees to pour the last cup or so, the plastic and glass connection is not sealed very well, creating a very small drip along this interface between plastic and glass, BUT seems to go away when the pot is hot, most likely due to expansion of the two materials, yes, I think this is a design flaw, minor in nature, but needs to be addressed by the manufacture of the coffee pot. I fixed the problem with a little amount of food safe clear silicone caulk, cleaned the pot very well, made sure the area was very dry, then placed a very small amount along the plastic to glass seam, smoothed the area, let dry over night, used it in the morning, no problems with the coffee pot dripping ever again. yes, no one should have to do this to a new unit, but such is life,,, it seems many design flaws are in every product, these days, Our last coffee maker was twice the cost and a name brand unit, had more problems & only lasted 14 months.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ArchitecturalEngineering
BrnBrg, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Try It!!!!!!
12/21/2012

Customer review by FinnMcCool

5.0 stars 12/21/2012 by FinnMcCool
by FinnMcCool

We've owned many coffee makers in our 60+ years, but I'll say that this is the best coffee maker we've ever owned. It is very easy to use, including adding water and cleaning. It makes very HOT coffee and it costs a lot less than a lot of other supposedly good coffee makers. It is also very easy to operate and program. We've only owned it for a little over a month but it gets used twice a day every day. It is a very nice looking coffeee maker too!!! Received it 3 days after ordering.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FinnMcCool
New Bern, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great coffee and easy to use
4/5/2014

Customer review by AlthebearinMichigan

5.0 stars 4/5/2014 by AlthebearinMichigan
by AlthebearinMichigan

This coffee maker is simple to set up and use right out of the box. I use it every day and even save money on coffee by using the strongest brew setting. For the low price and features on this machine, I rate this coffee maker my highest rating. Also, Wal-Mart did a great job in packing and delivering this product to my local store.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AlthebearinMichigan
Rochester Hills, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Coffee Maker
12/16/2013

Customer review by Parrot8

5.0 stars 12/16/2013 by Parrot8
by Parrot8

I love this Coffee Maker. I have had a Mr Coffee & Hamilton Beach and both of them only last 6 months. This coffee maker is very easy to use and makes great Coffee!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Parrot8
Reno NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Finally - good coffee!
4/21/2014

Customer review by KPK87015

4.0 stars 4/21/2014 by KPK87015
by KPK87015

After trying a Cuisinart & a Mr Coffee (both ends of pricing), I finally got this Melitta which makes 12 cups and cost $42. It has 3 coffee strengths, and 3 heat settings for the warmer, both of which are excellent features. It also is space saving, doesn't take up a lot of counterspace. The brushed stainless is attractive & matches my other appliances. The only problem is that the window which shows the water level starts with 6, and I am used to making myself what measures 3 cups. The very bottom of the window would be 4 cups, and while that gives me too much, it's the only problem I found. I guess they are used to people having the single-cup makers too, but I see no point in that so I'm happy enough with the quality of the coffee it makes, and the low profile design. Reviews I read said this lasts years, and that's a plus as well.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KPK87015
Edgewood, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great coffee, great features
4/12/2014

Customer review by KitchenCountess

5.0 stars 4/12/2014 by KitchenCountess
by KitchenCountess

I love this coffee maker, and for the price, it can't be beat. I researched a lot of brands and found this to most closely meet my needs. All of the features are easy to use and it eliminated many of the annoying things about my previous coffee maker. Setting the time is easy; it doesn't spill when you pour a cup. And it even has some nice extra features: variable temperatures for the warming plate and variable brew strength. Best of all, it makes a nice cup of coffee. And I won't feel bad if it only lasts a couple of years. Other brands I considered were twice as expensive and not as convenient to use.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KitchenCountess
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Coffeemaker
7/21/2013

Customer review by chickenpilot

5.0 stars 7/21/2013 by chickenpilot
by chickenpilot

I bought this coffeemaker to replace a Mr. Coffee that had finally died after about 20 years. I like it; it makes good coffee; it's easy to use and clean; and it takes up less counter space than my old one. However, it has a glass carafe, and after spending quite a bit of time searching for a thermal carafe for it, I finally contacted Melitta to see if one was available. They do not make a thermal carafe for the 12-cup coffeemaker and their thermal carafe for the 10-cup coffeemaker (Model #46894) will NOT work in this unit. Bottom line: If you're concerned about breakage of the glass carafe, purchase the 10-cup (#46894) instead. Had I known this, that's what I would have done.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chickenpilot
Key Lime Key, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 250 contributor
Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, A Good Buy
12/23/2013

Customer review by BargainPirate

4.0 stars 12/23/2013 by BargainPirate
by BargainPirate

After much internet searching, it was difficult to find a traditional coffee maker that consistently rated high. Finally after researching other web sites as well, we decided on the Melitta 12 cup coffee maker because of the cone shaped filter. The price was reasonable, the reviews generally positive and we liked the looks of the coffee maker. As someone from another website wisely pointed out, finding a coffee maker with consistently great reviews is impossible because manufacturers overall don't seem to making products to last for years; the most a consumer can get out of a coffee maker is usually 3 years tops, sadly. So we have gambled on the Melitta and so far we are pleased. However, my husband's main complaint is that the burner stays hot even after turning off the power button. He has plumbed the manuel but found no solution.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BargainPirate
Berea, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
design malfunction has not been corrected
8/16/2014

Customer review by KitKat28570

1.0 stars 8/16/2014 by KitKat28570
by KitKat28570

I purchased this coffee pot in mid-April 2014, then the weather turned warm and coffee took a back seat in the mornings. The carafe leaked from the red ring no matter how slow I poured and no matter how much I tried to make certain it was only coming out the spout. Not just a drip or two, but a large puddle - it would ruin a table cloth immediately. Since I only made about a pot every 3-4 weeks it took me a while to realize it was not me but a design flaw. I called Melitta twice and was told they would replace the carafe if I paid s & h, but they could not guarantee it would not leak. I said no thanks and tried to return it to WalMart who refused it because it had been 90 days and 2 weeks! So no return there!! I have read reviews here & on Bed Bath & Beyond and every site has someone that had a leaky pot and was not satisfied. Don't spend your money on this pot until the design has been improved.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KitKat28570
Morehead City NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Quality Coffee Maker
1/12/2013

Customer review by TwinkieMommy

5.0 stars 1/12/2013 by TwinkieMommy
by TwinkieMommy

This coffee maker makes excellent coffee to the taste of the owner. I like my coffee strong (so I use the strong brew setting). There is also a medium brew setting and a light brew setting. We especially like the design of the carafe, as we have yet to spill coffee while pouring it (our last coffee maker carafe seemed to spill no matter how carefully you poured)! The price is very reasonable (esp. compared to some other high-quality coffee makers)! Product arrived quickly at the store and was easy to pick up! Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TwinkieMommy
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great coffee maker
2/19/2013

Customer review by Chrishm

5.0 stars 2/19/2013 by Chrishm
by Chrishm

I was looking to replace my old Melitta coffee maker with a new one. I liked the old one very much and was looking for the same brand. Luckily I found it at wal mart, and so far the new one makes even better coffee. I hope it will last for a very long time

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chrishm
Evansville,in
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/8/2012

Customer review by jahliee

5.0 stars 12/8/2012 by jahliee
by jahliee

COFFEE MAKER THATS SLICK , SEXY AND NICE ,EASY TO USE AND ADJUST ,MAKES MY COFFEE JUST RIGHT AND IT DOESNT OVER HEATED OR BURN IT LIKE OTHER TOP OF THE LINE MAKERS ..

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jahliee
bronx,ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 236 total reviews
1-20 of 236 reviews