Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 335 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

335 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

335 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
247
4 stars
55
3 stars
9
2 stars
6
1 stars
18
1-20 of 328 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 328 total reviews
1-20 of 328 reviews
Great tasting coffee! Very affordable price tag!
2/2/2014

Customer review by Imaguywhoknowsenoughokay

5.0 stars 2/2/2014 by Imaguywhoknowsenoughokay
by Imaguywhoknowsenoughokay

I did some research to try to find a machine within the 50 dollar price range. I found this melitta coffee maker come up all around the net with high reviews so I looked into it. I trust the melitta name because I used to work as a barista and we always used the cone filters and pour over filter they have. This coffee maker has the cone shaped filter, which is designed to get a better brew from the coffee, but the grind has to be set for cone filter fine not coarse. The coffee needs to be about two settings below espresso. I have noticed the taste is way better when I properly add the correct amount of water and coffee. It comes with a few brown paper cone filters along with a coupon for a new box of filters:) I didn't see the coupon until after I bought a box of filters :( I have the glass carafe but I don't leave any coffee in it too long to cook on the plate, I just make what I need. The plate does have the different warming levels, but I just set mine to low and empty it out into my cup. The coffee does get cold kinda fast if i'm using a regular ceramic cup, but it stays hot when I put it in my double sealed aluminum travel cup. The setting I use the most is regular brew strength, the bold and robust setting takes a little longer because it lets the coffee grinds soak up more water. It takes more time in between water spurts. The pause and pour feature works just fine. The program feature is very easy to set up. I set the clock up then hold the program button to set the start time and your done. But I noticed that the little green light needs to be on, because if its not you wont wake up to coffee time:( The LCD has a blue glow that is kinda bright and I use it as a night light for the kitchen :) Open the carafe lid, and place it back into the plate and the lid covers up the LCD so its not all bright and in your face. But you will have a flood if you program it and forget to put the lid back down. Its all plastic on the insides, but it does not have that plastic smell i've read about in reviews for other machines. I did notice little dust and debris type things on the inside water compartment and where the filter goes so I gave it a clean cycle when I first got it. I didn't have white vinegar with me so I just used a whole pot of regular water and I set it for robust with no paper filter. The back of the machine has two holes toward the top which will drain the water if you put in too much so watch out. My unit is too new to really rate the durability, but I guess if it breaks down on me too soon I will update this review.

Was this review helpful? (92) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Imaguywhoknowsenoughokay
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
You will never have a better cup of JAVA!
10/22/2012

Customer review by KnightRiderIS300

5.0 stars 10/22/2012 by KnightRiderIS300
by KnightRiderIS300

LOVE my new Melitta coffee maker (was a wee bit expensive) but SOOOOO worth it. I have owed several coffee makers but none like this. You can see the quality in the workmanship. It is built like a small tank. Strong material,stainless steel is sharp looking. Love the red line around the carafe. Looks sharp on my counter and more importantly it makes the best cup of JAVA ever! I have been deprived by coffee makers that CAN NOT make a steaming hot cup like MELITTA can. Be warned-this maker makes the hottest cup of coffee you will ever experience. But I LOVE THAT about it. I added a permanent life time stainless steel filter so no more paper filters-EVER. Final input-if you love coffee like i do and want to have a strong well built sharp looking maker that you desire to display on your counter with pride: then buy this maker. Will never buy any other brand then Melitta when it comes to my java.....wake up people and smell the coffee! LOL......enjoy

Was this review helpful? (156) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KnightRiderIS300
NY,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Value, Easy to use
1/13/2015

Customer review by NorthwestRick

5.0 stars 1/13/2015 by NorthwestRick
by NorthwestRick

We have had drip coffee makers in our home for over thirty years, KRUPS, BRAUN, Cuisinart, and Mr. Coffee. I would give high marks to both the KRUPS and BRAUN brands of makers but not so much to the other two brands mentioned for various reasons including poor design. The Melitta coffee maker has incorporated several design features that are extremely good. The ability of one to be able to pour coffee from the carafe without it dribbling all over the counter is huge. The ability to fill with water is excellent since they have incorporated a cover for the coffee grounds so that you do not end up with water on the grounds that you have set up for delayed brewing. The value that Walmart brings to the table on this product was fantastic as well, I found this coffee maker at other locations for 30 to 50 percent more than I purchased it for at Walmart. The Melitta coffee maker was not available locally here in the Northwest so having it delivered to our local Walmart store for pickup was also an adder.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NorthwestRick
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
VERY NICE
7/27/2015

Customer review by John

5.0 stars 7/27/2015 by John
by John

I have had this Coffee maker for about 3 weeks now. Very nice I have to say. It has three setting for the heat to carafe, while I make the coffee I have it on hot. When the coffee is finished I kick it down to medium, this is a very nice feature. I bought the permanent filter which is a very nice option. Now I enjoy a very strong cup of coffee in the morning, so I brew in robust mode. Now in this mode it does take a while to brew which I understand. but she does make a very good cup of Joe. If there were one thing I think would make this better is to brew faster in robust mode, and then I am sure it would no longer be robust? Now this is the only coffee make that when you pull the Carafe out there are no drips on the hotplate also very nice option. All in all this is one of the better coffee makers in this price range. If you are having this shipped, one thing to know, is this coffee maker is packaged very well, I doubt anything would have broken in shipping

Was this review helpful? (12) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
John
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Reallly fantastic coffee maker
6/6/2015

Customer review by Catalina23

5.0 stars 6/6/2015 by Catalina23
by Catalina23

First off I LOVE the way this looks on my counter. very sleek. So.....our $100 coffee maker broke, found this on another big box site for much higher. Bought it at Walmart for $30. Makes a great cup of coffee fast and hot. Easy to use, easy to program. Only thing we that is OK is the blue LED on the screen is a bit bright at night, however we have gotten used to it. No issues with hot coffee. In fact I add milk to mine and still have to wait a minute. We keep ours on bold and have not used the other settings but I like that the option is there. Also the adjustable "keep warm" is really nice. The non spill carafe is really nice. I have not gotten a drop on my counter of water or coffee when filling, my super expensive one always spilled everywhere no matter what I did. Really this little machine has exceeded my expectations. I now will only be a Melitta Girl! FYI in any drip machine, If you use natural unbleached filters it makes the best cup of coffee.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Catalina23
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very nice Coffee Maker
12/31/2012

Customer review by ArchitecturalEngineering

5.0 stars 12/31/2012 by ArchitecturalEngineering
by ArchitecturalEngineering
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The Melitta 46893 works better than advertised, super price for the value, very hot coffee, can use less ground coffee when using the Robust setting or keep the coffee amount the same and produce very nice strong coffee. This unit doesn't burn the coffee, and pulls out all the flavor it can from standard coffee, & brings higher end coffee to the maximum flavor, the heating element is why! 190 to 210 degrees which is why all flavor is produced. The Bad news is the coffee POT is made of glass with a plastic lid, and pour spout with anti spill lip, it works only when holding the coffee pot at about a 40 degree angle, The problems happens when the coffee pot is held at 180 degrees to pour the last cup or so, the plastic and glass connection is not sealed very well, creating a very small drip along this interface between plastic and glass, BUT seems to go away when the pot is hot, most likely due to expansion of the two materials, yes, I think this is a design flaw, minor in nature, but needs to be addressed by the manufacture of the coffee pot. I fixed the problem with a little amount of food safe clear silicone caulk, cleaned the pot very well, made sure the area was very dry, then placed a very small amount along the plastic to glass seam, smoothed the area, let dry over night, used it in the morning, no problems with the coffee pot dripping ever again. yes, no one should have to do this to a new unit, but such is life,,, it seems many design flaws are in every product, these days, Our last coffee maker was twice the cost and a name brand unit, had more problems & only lasted 14 months.

Was this review helpful? (39) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ArchitecturalEngineering
BrnBrg, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Coffee maker
12/8/2015

Customer review by andymattsmom

5.0 stars 12/8/2015 by andymattsmom
by andymattsmom

I have been searching for a cone filter automatic coffeemaker at a reasonable price and this Melitta certainly fits the bill. First, it is a good looking machine. It looks well on my counter. It allows you to chose the brew strength and for someone who prefers their coffee 'robust', it is perfect for me. Also, the digital clock is easily viewed in any light and a nice feature. Finally, I like my coffee 'hot'. The machine I replaced made 'lukewarm' coffee that didn't stand up to milk. This Melitta makes steaming hot coffee and keeps it this way as well. Finally it is easy to load the filter and add the water, though one does have to pull it away from the back of the counter to fill...but this is minor. I am enjoying my morning coffee again! You can easily program the clock to turn on automatically, but I haven't tried this feature yet...

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
andymattsmom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Looks nice, works great!
8/18/2012

Customer review by retiredphonetech1

5.0 stars 8/18/2012 by retiredphonetech1
by retiredphonetech1

With its cone type filter, this coffee maker can make small amounts of coffee that tast great. I also like its programable brew strength and keep warm temperature features.

Was this review helpful? (75) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
retiredphonetech1
Winfield, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great coffee. Great price.
8/29/2014

Customer review by WJW1

5.0 stars 8/29/2014 by WJW1
by WJW1

I was replacing a well used free Gevalia maker & wanted something better but reasonable. I bought the 10-cup thermos style of this model 1st. Liked the coffee but the double metal wall thermos design sucked the heat out of the coffee unless you pre-warmed it by filling it with hot water. I figure in the winter it would be a bigger problem since I keep a cold house. Replaced it with the glass carafe, heated base model. Love it now. The robust setting lets me make 5 cups vs 4 cups before with the same amount of coffee, a 25% savings on coffee. The coffee is hot & stays hot. No plastic smell or taste when new. Very attractive design. Excellent quality for the price. Only nitpick is the water level fill window on the side starts at about 5 cups for those of us that fill the water directly from a larger water jug. It would be great if Melitta extended the window down to 2 cups.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WJW1
Elgin, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Overall a good investment
11/20/2012

Customer review by BellasMom1960

4.0 stars 11/20/2012 by BellasMom1960
by BellasMom1960
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've been using a Kuerig, but they didn't last, so I switched to this Melitta machine. It's taking me awhile to adjust to the time it takes to brew coffee this way. The coffee has been coming out really strong, and I'm trying to find the right measurement to make it less strong. It's got brew settings, which are regular to bold. If the regular setting is this strong, I don't want to know what the bold setting is like. But having it too strong is much better than having the coffee come out weak. I like the machine, it's just the adjustment from the single serve Kuerig that is making me give a good rather than excellent. I think it's an excellent value. I don't normally get the warrenty extensions, but since I had so many problems with the Kuerigs, I think for a coffee maker it's a good idea. Not expensive.

Was this review helpful? (39) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BellasMom1960
Deltona Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Breath of fresh air!!!!!!!!
12/24/2013

Customer review by Beerguts

5.0 stars 12/24/2013 by Beerguts
by Beerguts
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After going through my fourth Kreurig machine (cleaned all a few times) of which I have tried most models, I gave up!!! I Purchased the Melitta 12-cup and LOVE It! I can not only adjust the strength, but also the temperature of the bottom heater. I may not have the variety of coffee flavors that I did with the K-cups, but I have a machine that works great and isn't costing me .60 per cup wondering if I am going to get a full cup or not! For the price, you can't go wrong and I am very impressed with not only the lit up display, but also the look of the machine itself. I would highly recommend this to anyone!

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Beerguts
Pasadena, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
design malfunction has not been corrected
8/16/2014

Customer review by KitKat28570

1.0 stars 8/16/2014 by KitKat28570
by KitKat28570

I purchased this coffee pot in mid-April 2014, then the weather turned warm and coffee took a back seat in the mornings. The carafe leaked from the red ring no matter how slow I poured and no matter how much I tried to make certain it was only coming out the spout. Not just a drip or two, but a large puddle - it would ruin a table cloth immediately. Since I only made about a pot every 3-4 weeks it took me a while to realize it was not me but a design flaw. I called Melitta twice and was told they would replace the carafe if I paid s & h, but they could not guarantee it would not leak. I said no thanks and tried to return it to WalMart who refused it because it had been 90 days and 2 weeks! So no return there!! I have read reviews here & on Bed Bath & Beyond and every site has someone that had a leaky pot and was not satisfied. Don't spend your money on this pot until the design has been improved.

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KitKat28570
Morehead City NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Best Cup of Coffe AND Best Price
2/11/2015

Customer review by HomeBarista

5.0 stars 2/11/2015 by HomeBarista
by HomeBarista

After purchasing 4 well regarded coffee makers we got 2 of these, just in case it ever breaks. Out last one which was similar and no longer in production lasted 8 years with daily use and dishwasher cleaning. The range of price was this unit at $31.++ here at Walmart online to $99 at Macy's for a $129 Cuisinart with a $64 new tech Black and Decker and the stainless carafe model of this Melita. That model which makes 10 not 12 cups was often overflowing by the brewer going faster than the opening in the carafe could take it, however its coffee tasted good. The B&D never made a cup that tasted like the Starbucks coffee we use is supposed to taste... based on store brewed same blend as our standard. Same was true of the Cuisinart also flat and not tasty. This model not only brews a near match to store brewed Starbucks it also was the lowest price. Walmart just raised its price ten dollars to $41, which is about where other online retailers price it. barista

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HomeBarista
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Well engineered
10/26/2012

Customer review by Stephen1947

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by Stephen1947
by Stephen1947

Finally a coffee maker that does everything it is supposed to, but the best part is that this is the only one I have ever found that does not drip when you pour a cup of coffee !! Hurray !!!!

Was this review helpful? (50) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Stephen1947
rural New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Coffe Everytime!
11/20/2013

Customer review by Baddog652

5.0 stars 11/20/2013 by Baddog652
by Baddog652

After trying another coffee maker and finding it didn't meet expectations we decided on trying the Melitta 12 cup model and it is FANTASTIC! Coffee is consistently hot, has great flavor and machine is very easy to use. You can actually pour a cup of coffee and the carafe is designed so well it doesn't spill. It also uses a cone filter which I have found helps make better tasting coffee. If you like great coffee try this coffee maker and you will not be disappointed. The price, the styling and the great coffee make it a great value.

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Baddog652
DeBary, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great, Easy to Use Coffee Maker
5/27/2014

Customer review by AvecNW

5.0 stars 5/27/2014 by AvecNW
by AvecNW
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love this coffee maker. Have been looking for a replacement to the daily Starbucks iced coffee habit for some time. This maker, along with LaVazza Gran Selezione coffee, is a pretty good substitute for SBUX. I enjoy the three brew settings quite a bit, but tend to just use the Regular brew setting to bring out the flavor of the coffee. However, whenever a jolt of caffeine is needed, the Bold and Robust options are appreciated. And the differences in flavor are pleasantly noticeable. The maker is a bit taller than anticipated and the blue LED back lighting is quite bright at night. But I don't care - the coffee produced is stupendous. Was a bit upset it wasn't made in Italy....I also use the Melitta filters with the machine as they seem to fit the best relative to the bulk ones from Costco. Service from Wal-Mart was also excellent - machine was available at my local store two days before the anticipated delivery date. All I need now is a pumpkin scone substitute and will be free from SBUX for good!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AvecNW
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best coffee maker, hands down!
6/30/2015

Customer review by Swede64

5.0 stars 6/30/2015 by Swede64
by Swede64

I previously purchased the Consumer Reports Best Buy Mr. Coffee coffeemaker only to be incredibly disappointed by the brewing, by far substandard from the Cuisinart I owned that finally died after 6 years, and returned it for this one. I consider myself a coffee snob, particular about beans and distinct flavor attributes of each variety, and the Cuisinart was one of the best brewers I had found until purchasing this one. The Melitta has the same features (three different brewing levels and three different plate temperatures) as the Cuisinart, however, I get even more POP from the flavors of the different roasts of beans with this coffee maker over the Cuisinart. I purchased this due to the reviews and I thank those who rated it before me. I'm returning the favor by giving this the best rating possible, I really don't believe there is a better drip coffee maker out there, especially at this price point!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Swede64
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good deal
1/22/2015

Customer review by Timaaay

4.0 stars 1/22/2015 by Timaaay
by Timaaay

I purchased this because of the reasonable price and great ratings. The coffee maker works flawlessly and is attractive. I know others have complained about the coffee not being hot enough, but I don't have that problem, the coffee is plenty hot and brews very well. The one thing I find frustrating is the VERY short cord on this unit. I have had several others and never saw a wire this short. It's less than 12 inches long! Unless you have an outlet right where you keep the coffee maker, and I mean RIGHT THERE, you won't be able to keep it where you like. If you unplug it, the clock needs to be reset. The other issue that bothers me is that the display is EXTREMELY bright. It's actually painful to look at it! I am not joking when I say that I removed my night light from my kitchen because the display on this unit lights my whole kitchen. I would love to see a dimmer setting because it is ridiculously bright!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Timaaay
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Finally - good coffee!
4/21/2014

Customer review by KPK87015

4.0 stars 4/21/2014 by KPK87015
by KPK87015
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After trying a Cuisinart & a Mr Coffee (both ends of pricing), I finally got this Melitta which makes 12 cups and cost $42. It has 3 coffee strengths, and 3 heat settings for the warmer, both of which are excellent features. It also is space saving, doesn't take up a lot of counterspace. The brushed stainless is attractive & matches my other appliances. The only problem is that the window which shows the water level starts with 6, and I am used to making myself what measures 3 cups. The very bottom of the window would be 4 cups, and while that gives me too much, it's the only problem I found. I guess they are used to people having the single-cup makers too, but I see no point in that so I'm happy enough with the quality of the coffee it makes, and the low profile design. Reviews I read said this lasts years, and that's a plus as well.

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KPK87015
Edgewood, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
As good as recommended
12/29/2015

Customer review by Rht1107

5.0 stars 12/29/2015 by Rht1107
by Rht1107

The cone filter that this Melitta brewer uses is perfect for me because I brew 4 cups at a time and the cone and the variable brew option makes a perfect cup of coffee every time. I also bought a stainless filter that while it lets the very fine particles thru, I think the coffee tastes better than the paper filters that Melitta also makes(sorry).

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rht1107
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 328 total reviews
1-20 of 328 reviews