Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 20 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

20 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

20 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-19 of 19 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

good air gun
6/25/2016

Customer review by Vang

4.0 stars 6/25/2016 by Vang
by Vang
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought the Gamo Whisper Fusion Pro .177 break barrel 2 years ago and I always had trouble with accuracy, it shoots all over the place after tried 15 different types of pellet brand then giving up on it, I thought will never buy gamo brand anymore, but I did a lot of research and come across the fixed barrel and found this CFR .177, I wish I found this CFR two years ago, anyway then decided to buy it and give it a second shot with gamo. This turned out to be good and accuracy, it shot within a 1/2 inches at 30 yards, so far so good after a month. The only problem with it is; it's a little heavier than I thought, definitely good for adult. Still too early to give it a 5 but yes, I do recommend this will do the job.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vang
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
awesome gun
6/23/2016

Customer review by DeeK

5.0 stars 6/23/2016 by DeeK
by DeeK
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was really impressed with the accuracy of the gun. It's easy to handle and fun to shoot.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DeeK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Gamo Fixed Barrel Pellet Rifle
6/26/2016

Customer review by BackyardBullseye

4.0 stars 6/26/2016 by BackyardBullseye
by BackyardBullseye
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This Gun is relatively quiet , comes with a good scope. Seems to be able to repeat shot location in good groups.Slightly tricky to load pellets into chamber.It is a quality setup and fun to shoot.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BackyardBullseye
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fixed Barrel VS Break Barrel....
9/14/2014

Customer review by jpdaddyof2

5.0 stars 9/14/2014 by jpdaddyof2
by jpdaddyof2

These should be on a shelf in every Walmart in the country instead of being a "Order-Only" item. I'm 45 Y/O, Experianced hunter, and love to plink-hunt small game. Given the recent 22 shortage I purchased this rifle as a replacement for our (22 powder) rifles for Squirel, Rabbit, and Small Game. Of the break-Barrel's we have have owned three different types and shot several different forms of .177 ammo through these rifle's. Love the speed and power of the rifle's but there accuracy is the downfall. We target practice and sight in our rifle's with targets before hunting small game, the Break Barrel systems over time (week's-months) all seems to have problems with correctly locking into its same position each time. After several rounds, When looking at its grouping at 30 yards through the scope (+) one will see that with the best of ammo (10 Cents a shot pellets) the holes will be aligned Up & Down the vertical line of your scope. I believe this to be from the barrel drooping as we have cleaned the barrel between every shot trying to find a fix to its problem. Also have tried adding a By-pod (Never Do This On A Break-Barrel) as a fix for accuracy which worsened the problem by raising the projectiles high above the scope vertical line (It pushes the Barrel Up). Before buying one, open the rifle box before purchase and notice the cheap mechanism that holds the barrel up after cocking, I wish I had paid more attention before purchasing. they look Great, Sounds Great, and are Powerful, But not worth a flip at shooting small game past 15 yards (50-50 chance) of hitting whats in the cross hairs. Using a LED-SLED doesn't change the (UP-DOWN) tracking of pellets. This is better when firing just using the peep-sights as they are mounted to the barrel unlike the scope that doesn't move with the barrel. (Back to the 22 Powder!) After owning 2 break barrel's and not being able to get either properly group using a scope, both where eventually returned to the sellers. After several hours of practice and study, we purchased a Gamo Whisper CFR .177 Fixed Barrel Air Rifle. This Air Rifle has a fixed barrel with a Under-lever single pump cocking system! The Barrel DOES NOT EVER MOVE, and is very accurate! On Another Note, ALL the HIGH POWER AIR RIFLES (1100-1200 FPS) tend to DESTROY scopes, especially the ones that come with the rifles. Air Rifles have a very SHARP SOLID forward/backward "SNAP" as the piston is released and as it slams forward, unlike the sustained solid backward action of the powder rifles. All scopes used should be AIR-RIFLE RATED before expecting it to last! Air Rifle's will destroy a scope that will function fine on a "308." After several dollars spent on scopes that last a week-month), we finally (To My Surprise), ended up with a Walmart Center Point 8X16-40 that has held its own against the constant solid forward/backward sharp-short vibrations of the air rifle. All together, im now as proud of this rifle as any of my 22LR's! In short, Yes, it's well worth the extra $75 for the Gamo Whisper CFR .177 Fixed Barrel Air Rifle!!!!! And a waist of time & Money to buy any of the rest. Been there Done That! There's a years worth of practice and about $800 in hand changing in this statement to get what I have, and have written here. Oh, and the best pellet we have found for this rifle is the (Handler&Naterman) H&N Baracuda Power - 0.66g/10.19 grains - 4.5mm head diameter pellet. Dime size grouping at 50 yards.

Was this review helpful? (141) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jpdaddyof2
Eupora Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Excellent Air Rifle & Scope
7/8/2013

Customer review by Athur

5.0 stars 7/8/2013 by Athur
by Athur
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very pleased with this air rifle. Very accurate. 10 shot group @ 33 ft. a little smaller than a nickel. Easy to sight in scope. Some of the reviews said they had a 4x scope. Mine came with a 3x to 9x of very good quality for an air gun scope. I've used 5 different Gamo Pellets so far and the Tomahawk seem to have the best consistent accuracy in this rifle. Also effective on small rodents. I use PBA Raptor pellets in my Gama CO2 Handgun which are very accurate. So use different pellets to find what works best in you air gun. Using any PBA Pellets in a rifle are loud as they exceed super sonic speed. Using lead pellets are a little louder than a good quality BB rifle because of the slower velocity. This is a great product that is very enjoyable to shot and well made.

Was this review helpful? (18) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Athur
Woodbury,CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Gamo Whisper CFR .177 Fixed Barrel Air Rifle
10/13/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/13/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The gun is as described. Nice quality but some plastic where metal would be nicer. I bought it primarily for the fixed barrel, after reading the excellent review provided by a purchaser. Paid $235 after receiving $25 off for using a new Wal-Mart credit card. The sight is not included in the description but it is a 3x9. Nice quality for an inexpensive sight but not rated for pellet gun use so not sure how long it will stay accurate -- if I use it. I ran some bore cleaner through it and after 10 inexpensive target (blunt nose) pellets it is within a silver dollar grouping with one "flier". I am using open sights at 30 feet and setting it on the window sill for steadying. My eyes are not very good for shooting open sights -- either the sights are blurry, or the target. I use a pair of reading glasses to get an acceptable blend of both sights and target.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very accurate
8/27/2014

Customer review by 21gamegetter

4.0 stars 8/27/2014 by 21gamegetter
by 21gamegetter
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It is a very accurate air rifle I can eyebrow the first shot with the second one at 20 yards, it's not as quiet as I thought it would be but gamo said it's the packing oil and it will burn off but use only led pellets when breaking it in the 3 -9x40 scope was easy to sight in I enjoy the rifle very much

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
21gamegetter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
AA++++
11/7/2012

Customer review by GoGamo

5.0 stars 11/7/2012 by GoGamo
by GoGamo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great gun. very accurate and powerful. it looks good and it feels good.

Was this review helpful? (23) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GoGamo
Brooklyn NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Accurate Air Rifle
4/18/2013

Customer review by plinkin1981

5.0 stars 4/18/2013 by plinkin1981
by plinkin1981
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have tried out the Gamo Rocket and out and break barrel whisper. Both need the artillery hold/very sensitive hold to get an accurate shot off. I found it to be kind of a bother when shooting from the stance. The Whisper CFR can be held securely and shoots very accurately even from the stance position. The fixed barrel seems more accurate because a break barrel is always being pulled on and never returned to the exact place which throws off aim with the scope...the fixed barrel weighs more but is worth the money. I'm very pleased with my purchase of the CFR. .

Was this review helpful? (21) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
plinkin1981
Santa Rosa, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Extreme Precision
6/22/2013

Customer review by HabbyCamper

5.0 stars 6/22/2013 by HabbyCamper
by HabbyCamper
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This fixed barrel rifle is extremely accurate, I am cosistantly holding 1/4" groups at 20 yards! This is an excellent rifle to hone your marksmenship skills and offers great shooting pleasure.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HabbyCamper
Rock Creek, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
tack driver
11/23/2014

Customer review by Buckordoe

5.0 stars 11/23/2014 by Buckordoe
by Buckordoe

I had a break barrel Gamo that after a couple of years the barrel started to loosen on its pivot making it impossible to keep a good scope zero. after zeroing this new one in with Gamo Rocket pellets, 9.6 grain, I am amazed at the accuracy and am an avid squirrel hunter that prefers head shots only and have no problem with 25-30 yard shots. not a kids toy for sure. Great product that will take care of any varmit problems. the only con I have is it being difficult to load.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Buckordoe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Buy it now !!!
9/19/2015

Customer review by Mullethead

5.0 stars 9/19/2015 by Mullethead
by Mullethead

Over all great gun, (Cons) - - some what heavy to the front of the gun(not balanced), trigger needs work & is not quite at all. I have several break-barrel guns that now will be in the next yard sale. I have shot several kind of pellets but right now ( slient cat Gamo 10.5G) shot the best for me. Not sure why but the heaver pellet shoots higher at 30+yrds. Love the gun for the price & cant wait for hunting season & spending time on the farm with this gun. Right now 1" groups 30 yards.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mullethead
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
VERY GOOD RIFLE
1/7/2013

Customer review by MOPARMANNGTOWN

5.0 stars 1/7/2013 by MOPARMANNGTOWN
by MOPARMANNGTOWN
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I COULD NOT BELIEVE THIS RIFLE WITH THE PBA AMMO. IT SOUND LIKE A 22.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MOPARMANNGTOWN
N.C.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Gamo Whisper CFR .177
7/29/2015

Customer review by bigmac

4.0 stars 7/29/2015 by bigmac
by bigmac

arrived as stated with box/air rifle in good condition. would have rated a "5" but focus ring on scope was already off, so will have to pay $10 to send scope in.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bigmac
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
cfr
1/12/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 1/12/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Accurate with open sights--Have not used scope that came with it -loading is terrible -loading groove is a hassle about half of the time -what was Gamo thinking -overall the rifle is very good-if loading was easier I would give five stars

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Too Too.....
8/11/2015

Customer review by TREKKATT

1.0 stars 8/11/2015 by TREKKATT
by TREKKATT

Probably very accurate due to fixed barrel. Too long, too heavy, too loud, too slow, too bad. Took it back. Getting a Bone Collector instead, despite negative reviews. Shot my friend's, and it was dead accurate, shorter, lighter, quietest, faster, better. Plus inert gas technology (IGT), not just spring power alone like the CFR.

Was this review helpful? (3) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TREKKATT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gamo for the kiddos
1/10/2015

Customer review by ProudtobNC

5.0 stars 1/10/2015 by ProudtobNC
by ProudtobNC

Fun gun and accurate. Great for backyard shooting plus. The pump action is a bit strong for my son but he will soon grow into it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ProudtobNC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/3/2013

Customer review by fallout125

4.0 stars 1/3/2013 by fallout125
by fallout125

very accurate and quiet but its a pain to sight since you cant take off the scilencer to put a laser sighter in

Was this review helpful? (5) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fallout125
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
1 month-spring broke.
6/5/2015

Customer review by Toledorick

3.0 stars 6/5/2015 by Toledorick
by Toledorick

Good looking gun, felt very comfortable shouldering it. Shot 4 different pellets with scope mounted and attillery hold used. In basement (29ft measured) with rifle rest and sand bag for rear stock. Maybe the spring finally breaking after 1 month of use had something to do with the erratic shot groups I got.

Was this review helpful? (1) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Toledorick
Would recommend to a friend? No