Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 18 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

18 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

18 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
1-18 of 18 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Great for my needs
6/24/2014

Customer review by SailorNJ

5.0 stars 6/24/2014 by SailorNJ
by SailorNJ
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We have a boat and I need to have food that is non-perishable to store onboard. Last year we used this product when we spent a week onboard with only an ice box for refrigeration in the heat of the summer and a two burner alcohol stove for cooking. Two packages of these meatballs with a small can of Italian flavored sauce, some pasta and a can of veggies makes for an acceptable dinner for us. Some red wine adds to the meal! Would I use these for home use? Probably not, but for my specific needs they are perfect. Walmart shipping was fast and I was pleased to see the use by date on the product gives me two full boating seasons to use the 6 packages I ordered.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SailorNJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not bad at all
12/21/2012

Customer review by Yargh

4.0 stars 12/21/2012 by Yargh
by Yargh

I'm an OTR trucker, I find this product to be a handy thing to have in the truck. Needs no refrigeration, super-easy to heat up, slap on a bun, melt some cheese over it, and presto! Quick and easy meatball sammich. They also come in handy when I make some ramen noodle spaghetti. The flavor is not overwhelmingly tasty, but if you mix 'em in with some Ragu sauce and sprinkle some parmesan cheese over it, good enough. Of the three varieties of Sandwich Makers I've tried, these are easily the best.

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Yargh
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very tasty meatballs
1/14/2016

Customer review by YhwhKhai

5.0 stars 1/14/2016 by YhwhKhai
by YhwhKhai

I came home and was trying to find something quick to fix for myself and these meatballs hit the spot. I just heated these babies up and slapped them on hero bread and I was good to go. These are quick, easy and so tasty - especially on those days when you're just too tired to cook a big meal. These are a hit.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
YhwhKhai
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Hormel meatball sandwich
1/17/2016

Customer review by sharon

1.0 stars 1/17/2016 by sharon
by sharon

Smells and taste funny

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sharon
Would recommend to a friend? No
A fast meal for a housebound senior citizen!
1/4/2016

Customer review by MissMacy

5.0 stars 1/4/2016 by MissMacy
by MissMacy

Hormel Sandwich Makers are a lifesaver for me because on days when I'm home alone I can fix a hot meal for myself in the little microwave here in the study. I love the Meatballs especially ... very flavorful, great texture, and the sauce is seasoned perfectly. As a side dish I love an Idahoan instant mashed potato cup. A wonderful meal!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MissMacy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Delicious one minute meal.
12/23/2014

Customer review by mortoncr

5.0 stars 12/23/2014 by mortoncr
by mortoncr

Finally an MRI for the public that can be kept on a pantry shelf well over a year. Bought for emergency power outage during a hurricane and tried one for taste. Now it is for occasional lunches as well as emergencies. The only thing I added besides a bun was some grated Parmesan cheese.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mortoncr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Yummy Meatballs!
8/15/2014

Customer review by RLucas3000

5.0 stars 8/15/2014 by RLucas3000
by RLucas3000

These are very tasty, and allow you to make a super easy mini meatball sub using a hot dog roll with 3 or 4 meatballs (about a third to a half of the package). This lets you make two or even 3 sandwiches out of this one package! Very economical! And the best part, all beef, no pork! (It is very hard to find meatballs that don't have pork in them these days!)

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RLucas3000
Laurel DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
makes a good lunch
11/29/2015

Customer review by irav

4.0 stars 11/29/2015 by irav
by irav

makes a good lunch for work or light snack

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
irav
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Meatballs
2/1/2015

Customer review by Ishmail

5.0 stars 2/1/2015 by Ishmail
by Ishmail

These meatballs and the sauce are fantastic, and there is six medium sized ones. Actually, you can put these on top of some pasta and have a meal rather than making a sandwich. In any event they are very tasty and nice to have in your pantry.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ishmail
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Surprised
8/16/2015

Customer review by gran

4.0 stars 8/16/2015 by gran
by gran

I was pleasantly surprised at how tasty these were. I didn't really expect that much, just wanted a quick meal product in stock should the need arise. The package says serves two and thankfully I didn't expect it to make more than one good sandwich. I was right about that! The sauce was more chili flavored than typical Italian but that's what made it interesting, unexpected and tasty.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gran
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Better than I expected
9/9/2015

Customer review by Iwantmyownnicknameback

5.0 stars 9/9/2015 by Iwantmyownnicknameback
by Iwantmyownnicknameback

I was looking for viable dorm food for my godson. I like to have knowledge of the products I send him so I can give him serving hints and hacks. The meatballs have a nice texture and are flavorful, the sauce however is less than stellar. I've had them two or three times and the sauce is consistently "odd", it's bitter, perhaps over cooked. I tried adding a little sugar, extra spices, the best solution seems to be to leave it behind. I like that these are shelf stable, ready to serve, budget friendly. The label says it contains two servings...that's optimistic, there are 7-8 bite size balls in a generous amount of sauce. The kid likes to eat them with a toothpick.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Iwantmyownnicknameback
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good flavor
1/13/2015

Customer review by thriftybuyer2

4.0 stars 1/13/2015 by thriftybuyer2
by thriftybuyer2

Used this product with angel hair pasta and found it to be quite tasty. I don't like bitter sauce and this was mellow enough. I'd buy it again if the need for non-refrigerated food came up. I got two servings so good value for the price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thriftybuyer2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I had a 1000 different meatballs..this is WORST!!
6/8/2014

Customer review by FlyInTheOintment

1.0 stars 6/8/2014 by FlyInTheOintment
by FlyInTheOintment

Wow! How is it possible to screw up a meatball this bad? The sauce is bad, like Prego or Ragu but greasier tasting, the texture is about the only thing that came close to normal. The meat is vile...although it probably makes up less than 50% of what is in the ball. The other 50% is just not cutting it. This is stuff you should only eat if you have to. Natural disaster etc. ...and hopefully you won't have to go long eating these!

Was this review helpful? (8) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FlyInTheOintment
Cranston
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Easy sandwich
10/6/2015

Customer review by Gammie

5.0 stars 10/6/2015 by Gammie
by Gammie

Grandkids love these. Makes sure they are on the list all the time

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gammie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
VERY TASTY!
10/1/2015

Customer review by eddie888

5.0 stars 10/1/2015 by eddie888
by eddie888

Quick & easy to make! I made some pasta at the same time & poured the meatballs & sauce over it.... ...added a little parmesan cheese....fixed up a small salad....and voila.....DINNER!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
eddie888
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Better than the Pulled pork
8/29/2015

Customer review by Frank

5.0 stars 8/29/2015 by Frank
by Frank

If the pulled pork I just reviewed was delicious, I rate this even higher. It does come with only 8 meatballs, but it's just the right amount to make 2 mini subs.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Frank
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Tasty!
9/3/2015

Customer review by Paul

4.0 stars 9/3/2015 by Paul
by Paul

Spicy meatballs in a tasty sauce!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Paul
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Meatballs are ok
4/4/2015

Customer review by watts4664

2.0 stars 4/4/2015 by watts4664
by watts4664

This is the first sandwich maker that I DID NOT like. The meatballs are fine but way too much of the marinara sauce. I knew better when I bought 2, as I have never like the bitter taste of marinara.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
watts4664
Would recommend to a friend? No