Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 133 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

133 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

133 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
84
4 stars
33
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
9
1-20 of 123 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 123 total reviews
1-20 of 123 reviews
Excellent Bargain
12/8/2013

Customer review by LRBlues

5.0 stars 12/8/2013 by LRBlues
by LRBlues

Today I am buying my 12th bookcase of this brand, and they are all filled with heavy books. They go together in less than an hour without difficulty. They are sturdy enough that we will be using 2 as free-standing room dividers. They are attractive and have the appearance of much more expensive units. The only problem we have had was a couple of missing parts on one unit, but a quick call to the manufacturer got the parts to us right away....no complaints on Sauder customer service. I have had other Sauder furniture and have never been disappointed and neither will you.

Was this review helpful? (57) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LRBlues
St Louis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Looks great, easy to assemble
5/19/2013

Customer review by frostedpoptart

5.0 stars 5/19/2013 by frostedpoptart
by frostedpoptart
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I ordered this via Walmart.com and got free shipping, so that was great! Local Walmart stores didn't have a bookcase in the color that I wanted, so I was glad to find this online. I received this about 5 days after ordering it. I was happy about the shipping time. Less than a week when shipping is free? Target and Ikea were charging almost as much for shipping as it did to buy the bookcase. This bookcase only needs a Phillips Head screwdriver and a hammer to assemble (mine was a ratcheting screwdriver, which probably helps make assembly a little bit easier). It took me about an hour to do, but I was going at a leisurely pace. I probably could have done it in half an hour if I had been more focused. The bookcase actually looks really nice, too. It has a lot of room on the shelves, and it seems like it's a very sturdy design. If I needed another bookcase for any reason, I wouldn't hesitate to buy this same bookcase from Walmart again.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
frostedpoptart
Armonk, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Looks good in my den
1/23/2016

Customer review by Beth

4.0 stars 1/23/2016 by Beth
by Beth

We just put it together so I haven't really used it yet. It appears sturdy and looks good. The only thing I don't like is the flimsy back piece.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Beth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sauder bookcase
1/13/2016

Customer review by PTK1

5.0 stars 1/13/2016 by PTK1
by PTK1

We have purchased "pre-made" bookshelves from various companies before, but have always returned to Sauder as having the best quality. We were not disappointed this time either -- it will serve my mom and dad well! Thanks!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PTK1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good value
1/13/2016

Customer review by Mike

5.0 stars 1/13/2016 by Mike
by Mike

Came early, good price, precision fitting look like hard wood. Bought two - first took three hours to assemble, second took two and half hours.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mike
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Saunder 5-shelf Bookcase, Abbey Oak
12/26/2015

Customer review by JerseyJeff

5.0 stars 12/26/2015 by JerseyJeff
by JerseyJeff

I purchase two of the bookshelves and put them together myself. They went together just fine and nothing was missing, in fact Saunder gave me some extra parts with each bookshelf. Nice! They look great and I've had people ask if they were real wood. I would recommend this product to my friends and I have.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JerseyJeff
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
bookshelf review
1/30/2016

Customer review by chris

5.0 stars 1/30/2016 by chris
by chris

The bookcase is very nice but it isn't quite the color I wanted. It has a reddish tint to it. But other then that its sturdy, strong and looks good.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chris
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent value
12/29/2015

Customer review by Mamaw

5.0 stars 12/29/2015 by Mamaw
by Mamaw

Excellent product for the price. Easy to assemble.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mamaw
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Book shelves
1/26/2016

Customer review by Bettysue

5.0 stars 1/26/2016 by Bettysue
by Bettysue

Really was pleased with the quality of the shelves

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bettysue
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good buy
1/8/2016

Customer review by Claire55

5.0 stars 1/8/2016 by Claire55
by Claire55

Solid piece of furniture for the price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Claire55
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3/4/2013

Customer review by Orioles8

4.0 stars 3/4/2013 by Orioles8
by Orioles8
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very nice product that is well worth the money I paid for it. I got two units and they assembled pretty easily and I am not the handiest person in the world. I would recommend a helper just to hold things in place in the early going. I would have rated it excellent overall, but it had a few minor issues. The one face molding was slightly damaged BEFORE it was removed from the box, but I used a little wood glue and it is fine, although I have it in a very dark room so funiture blemishes are not going to be an issue. Assembly was fine, but why they have you overlap the backing pieces is beyond me other than they would have had to make a thicker stable shelf to accomodate them butting together. The only other minor caveat is that large binders and books will just fit on the shelves as they are not overly deep. I knew that when I checked the dimensions, but for those who want a little extra shelf depth to display small items this will be a problem. I would definitely buy this product again. In fact, I may need to purchase an additional unit once I see how the other two fit my present needs. I would recommend this unit.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Orioles8
Slatington, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love the product, but annoyed...
1/5/2016

Customer review by Looper

5.0 stars 1/5/2016 by Looper
by Looper

The item itself is great, but the requests to review are annoying. The bookcase is nice looking, sturdy and I like the way the trim on the front of the shelves attach. I purchased this for my 10 year old son who loves to read and a way for him to see all of his books in one place. I have requests to review on 12/29, 12/31, 1/1, 1/2, 1/3 and 1/4. I get it, you want a review, but at the expense of annoying an otherwise satisfied customer? Plus this was a work email address, so haven't seen any of these requests until today -the 5th. Thanks, but ALLRIGHT already.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Looper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
8/30/2012

Customer review by cajunhouse1

4.0 stars 8/30/2012 by cajunhouse1
by cajunhouse1

The bookcase itself is pertty much what I expected. I've had Sauder before. It is easy to put togather. It is relatively inexpensive and looks good. It took longer to get than I expected. Once Walmart e-mailed me that it had been shipped it was about two weeks before it came in. It is usually a lot quicker but I've noticed lately that Walmart is getting independent and less customer friendly.

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cajunhouse1
Covington, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/15/2012

Customer review by Crowned

5.0 stars 8/15/2012 by Crowned
by Crowned

This Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase arrived in excellent condition. It is easy to assemble. All the holes are predrilled and every part is exactly the right fit. The quality is definitely worth the price.

Was this review helpful? (28) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Crowned
Shawnee, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
looks expensive
12/27/2015

Customer review by SueSue

5.0 stars 12/27/2015 by SueSue
by SueSue

It's very big and fits all my books and it makes the room look better.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SueSue
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great looking piece but cheap material.
3/16/2014

Customer review by FLMotherof2

1.0 stars 3/16/2014 by FLMotherof2
by FLMotherof2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very disappointed. Looked like I had finally found what I was looking for at a reasonable price. Had bought for son's room to store books and toys. We have put desks, file cabinets and chest of drawers together with no problems. Unfortunately when we tried to screw in the bottom part to the upper portion, the particleboard ripped away from the hole and was not repairable. The top sides front portion could have been sanded a little more for the outside pieces to slide a little easier. Walmart local store was great and issued credit upon immediate return. Definitely would not recommend.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FLMotherof2
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Exactly what I was looking for
12/8/2012

Customer review by BlakeS68

5.0 stars 12/8/2012 by BlakeS68
by BlakeS68

I was looking for a basic bookcase that would be heavy duty and handle quite a bit of weight. This is an excellent product. I have purchased Sauder items in the past and they have proven to be high quality. I would definitely recommend two people for putting this item together as there are numerous times when an extra set of hands is definitely needed. The trim pieces add just a little extra detail that make it look great. The instructions are fairly helpful but I do think the pieces should be labeled a little better (some of them had stickers labelling them and others you just had to figure out by matching them to the image in the instruction booklet.). I also appreciate that this item is made in the US. Overall an item I would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (17) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BlakeS68
Thief River Falls MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7/14/2012

Customer review by Blitzo

4.0 stars 7/14/2012 by Blitzo
by Blitzo

This bookshelf looks very nice once set up. I ordered two, and will be ordering a third today. Handsome and moderately sturdy for the low price.

Was this review helpful? (33) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Blitzo
LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Beautiful bookcase
12/12/2015

Customer review by Eryksmom

5.0 stars 12/12/2015 by Eryksmom
by Eryksmom

Arrived within a couple of days after the order was placed. Very heavy, so I was glad that it had free shipping. Due to its weight I had help from my son to put it together. Was easily assembled, in less than one hour. Very sturdy. I am going to buy another one for another room since this looks so nice.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Eryksmom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great
12/17/2015

Customer review by Fatima

5.0 stars 12/17/2015 by Fatima
by Fatima

Very good quality and easy to mount, the color matches any combination. Worth it by quality/price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fatima
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 123 total reviews
1-20 of 123 reviews