Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 146 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

146 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

146 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
89
4 stars
37
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
13
1-20 of 136 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 136 total reviews
1-20 of 136 reviews
Excellent Bargain
12/8/2013

Customer review by LRBlues

5.0 stars 12/8/2013 by LRBlues
by LRBlues

Today I am buying my 12th bookcase of this brand, and they are all filled with heavy books. They go together in less than an hour without difficulty. They are sturdy enough that we will be using 2 as free-standing room dividers. They are attractive and have the appearance of much more expensive units. The only problem we have had was a couple of missing parts on one unit, but a quick call to the manufacturer got the parts to us right away....no complaints on Sauder customer service. I have had other Sauder furniture and have never been disappointed and neither will you.

Was this review helpful? (71) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LRBlues
St Louis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Sauder 5-shelf bookcase top quality
6/8/2016

Customer review by Juju9476

5.0 stars 6/8/2016 by Juju9476
by Juju9476
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This bookcase looks like it would cost 2x what it did cost!! Took a man 30 min to do it!! Very sturdy and would nice!! Would buy it again!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Juju9476
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Looks great, easy to assemble
5/19/2013

Customer review by frostedpoptart

5.0 stars 5/19/2013 by frostedpoptart
by frostedpoptart
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I ordered this via Walmart.com and got free shipping, so that was great! Local Walmart stores didn't have a bookcase in the color that I wanted, so I was glad to find this online. I received this about 5 days after ordering it. I was happy about the shipping time. Less than a week when shipping is free? Target and Ikea were charging almost as much for shipping as it did to buy the bookcase. This bookcase only needs a Phillips Head screwdriver and a hammer to assemble (mine was a ratcheting screwdriver, which probably helps make assembly a little bit easier). It took me about an hour to do, but I was going at a leisurely pace. I probably could have done it in half an hour if I had been more focused. The bookcase actually looks really nice, too. It has a lot of room on the shelves, and it seems like it's a very sturdy design. If I needed another bookcase for any reason, I wouldn't hesitate to buy this same bookcase from Walmart again.

Was this review helpful? (29) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
frostedpoptart
Armonk, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Abbey Oak bookcase
7/16/2016

Customer review by Chinaface65

5.0 stars 7/16/2016 by Chinaface65
by Chinaface65
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I ordered four of these bookcases to display my antique doll collection. I am very satisfied with them and I think they look much more expensive than they actually cost. They arrived earlier than expected and were delivered in very good condition. If you are purchasing them, keep in mind that each box weighs about 88 pounds so if you are transporting the box/boxes up or down stairs, you may need help lifting them. It took my husband and me about an hour to assemble each one. The directions were very easy to follow. One of the bookcases had minor damage from the Sauder company. You could tell because it had a patch on it. Because I did not want to be bothered with returning it, we were able to disguise the damage with scratch cover. The other three bookcases were perfect. Because I am using them to display dolls, I don't have to worry about a weight limit but they seem very sturdy and I don't think it would be a problem to store books. The bookcases are made of a type of particle board with simulated wood grain over it and they have a realistic look. The backing is a heavy wood grained cardboard. I wish that were a sturdier material but for the reasonable price, I am not complaining. I would recommend these bookcases if you want nice looking storage for an affordable price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chinaface65
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great book-case for the money
8/14/2014

Customer review by PurpleElephantGrass

5.0 stars 8/14/2014 by PurpleElephantGrass
by PurpleElephantGrass
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It went together easily and in the amount of time I expected. I think the quality is commensurate with the cost. If you want a much more solid book-case that you will be passing down generation after generation then you should probably look elsewhere. So keep your expectations reasonable. I've purchased similar book-cases before, and I do agree that they may not be as sturdy as you would like. So this time I tried a little experiment. I had some Gorilla Glue on hand as I put the pieces together. Following the directions for the glue, keep a wet paper towel nearby and moisten the surfaces you are going to join. Be very careful not to put too much glue as it expands and will come out between the seams. Use your judgement as to where you apply the glue, but generally you should put it between two surfaces that will meet. Now that it's dried for several days, it's easy to feel that there is very little play between surfaces. Of course, it's a permanent glue, but who was planning on taking this thing apart? Anyway, just an idea to try if you want the book-case to hold together more solidly.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PurpleElephantGrass
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/4/2013

Customer review by Orioles8

4.0 stars 3/4/2013 by Orioles8
by Orioles8
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very nice product that is well worth the money I paid for it. I got two units and they assembled pretty easily and I am not the handiest person in the world. I would recommend a helper just to hold things in place in the early going. I would have rated it excellent overall, but it had a few minor issues. The one face molding was slightly damaged BEFORE it was removed from the box, but I used a little wood glue and it is fine, although I have it in a very dark room so funiture blemishes are not going to be an issue. Assembly was fine, but why they have you overlap the backing pieces is beyond me other than they would have had to make a thicker stable shelf to accomodate them butting together. The only other minor caveat is that large binders and books will just fit on the shelves as they are not overly deep. I knew that when I checked the dimensions, but for those who want a little extra shelf depth to display small items this will be a problem. I would definitely buy this product again. In fact, I may need to purchase an additional unit once I see how the other two fit my present needs. I would recommend this unit.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Orioles8
Slatington, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Saunder 5-shelf Bookcase, Abbey Oak
12/26/2015

Customer review by JerseyJeff

5.0 stars 12/26/2015 by JerseyJeff
by JerseyJeff

I purchase two of the bookshelves and put them together myself. They went together just fine and nothing was missing, in fact Saunder gave me some extra parts with each bookshelf. Nice! They look great and I've had people ask if they were real wood. I would recommend this product to my friends and I have.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JerseyJeff
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Looks good in my den
1/23/2016

Customer review by Beth

4.0 stars 1/23/2016 by Beth
by Beth

We just put it together so I haven't really used it yet. It appears sturdy and looks good. The only thing I don't like is the flimsy back piece.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Beth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great
3/15/2016

Customer review by Butch

4.0 stars 3/15/2016 by Butch
by Butch

Easy instructions to put together, best I ever seen. Once together it was exactly what I needed. Thanks

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Butch
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good value
1/13/2016

Customer review by Mike

5.0 stars 1/13/2016 by Mike
by Mike

Came early, good price, precision fitting look like hard wood. Bought two - first took three hours to assemble, second took two and half hours.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mike
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase
6/29/2016

Customer review by IrishRA

5.0 stars 6/29/2016 by IrishRA
by IrishRA
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

this is a very sturdy piece and fits well with my small shelves.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IrishRA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/30/2012

Customer review by cajunhouse1

4.0 stars 8/30/2012 by cajunhouse1
by cajunhouse1

The bookcase itself is pertty much what I expected. I've had Sauder before. It is easy to put togather. It is relatively inexpensive and looks good. It took longer to get than I expected. Once Walmart e-mailed me that it had been shipped it was about two weeks before it came in. It is usually a lot quicker but I've noticed lately that Walmart is getting independent and less customer friendly.

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cajunhouse1
Covington, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sauder bookcase
6/28/2016

Customer review by Preservedpetals

4.0 stars 6/28/2016 by Preservedpetals
by Preservedpetals
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

These came in before the promised time and were easy to assemble with no missing parts.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Preservedpetals
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/15/2012

Customer review by Crowned

5.0 stars 8/15/2012 by Crowned
by Crowned

This Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase arrived in excellent condition. It is easy to assemble. All the holes are predrilled and every part is exactly the right fit. The quality is definitely worth the price.

Was this review helpful? (29) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Crowned
Shawnee, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Sauder 5 shelf bookcase
2/28/2016

Customer review by JBrine

1.0 stars 2/28/2016 by JBrine
by JBrine

The Sauder Bookcase had both missing parts and the oak veneer was peeling. It also took 3 weeks to come to my Walmart. Bookcase was returned with no problems.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JBrine
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great looking piece but cheap material.
3/16/2014

Customer review by FLMotherof2

1.0 stars 3/16/2014 by FLMotherof2
by FLMotherof2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very disappointed. Looked like I had finally found what I was looking for at a reasonable price. Had bought for son's room to store books and toys. We have put desks, file cabinets and chest of drawers together with no problems. Unfortunately when we tried to screw in the bottom part to the upper portion, the particleboard ripped away from the hole and was not repairable. The top sides front portion could have been sanded a little more for the outside pieces to slide a little easier. Walmart local store was great and issued credit upon immediate return. Definitely would not recommend.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FLMotherof2
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sauder Bookcase
3/23/2016

Customer review by ALRC

4.0 stars 3/23/2016 by ALRC
by ALRC

Easy to assemble and looks good in room. Large capacity with 5 shelves. Would recommend this to anyone in need of additional book storage space.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ALRC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Arrived damaged but overall a fantastic shelf
5/17/2016

Customer review by CanAmerGurl

4.0 stars 5/17/2016 by CanAmerGurl
by CanAmerGurl

Sauder furniture is usually well constructed, heavy and easily put together. It arrived with 2 different pieces with broken corners and one of the rails split. Yes it is a nice sturdy bookshelf and great color. I typically only purchase Sauder as I never have issues putting anything together on my own. They are easy to put together. It would of been an easy 5 Star if not for the severely damaged pieces. The carpenters daughter in me fixed it myself to avoid the whole return, refund, replacement fiasco. It was faster to just do the repairs than wait for another one. Unless your skilled most would have to return it. Typically I can have it together in a matter of an hour or so.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CanAmerGurl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent value
12/29/2015

Customer review by Mamaw

5.0 stars 12/29/2015 by Mamaw
by Mamaw

Excellent product for the price. Easy to assemble.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mamaw
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
bookshelf review
1/30/2016

Customer review by chris

5.0 stars 1/30/2016 by chris
by chris

The bookcase is very nice but it isn't quite the color I wanted. It has a reddish tint to it. But other then that its sturdy, strong and looks good.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chris
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 136 total reviews
1-20 of 136 reviews