Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 110 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

110 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

110 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
66
4 stars
29
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 stars
9
1-20 of 100 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 100 total reviews
1-20 of 100 reviews
Excellent Bargain
12/8/2013

Customer review by LRBlues

5.0 stars 12/8/2013 by LRBlues
by LRBlues

Today I am buying my 12th bookcase of this brand, and they are all filled with heavy books. They go together in less than an hour without difficulty. They are sturdy enough that we will be using 2 as free-standing room dividers. They are attractive and have the appearance of much more expensive units. The only problem we have had was a couple of missing parts on one unit, but a quick call to the manufacturer got the parts to us right away....no complaints on Sauder customer service. I have had other Sauder furniture and have never been disappointed and neither will you.

Was this review helpful? (35) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LRBlues
St Louis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/15/2012

Customer review by Crowned

5.0 stars 8/15/2012 by Crowned
by Crowned

This Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase arrived in excellent condition. It is easy to assemble. All the holes are predrilled and every part is exactly the right fit. The quality is definitely worth the price.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Crowned
Shawnee, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7/14/2012

Customer review by Blitzo

4.0 stars 7/14/2012 by Blitzo
by Blitzo

This bookshelf looks very nice once set up. I ordered two, and will be ordering a third today. Handsome and moderately sturdy for the low price.

Was this review helpful? (31) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Blitzo
LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
8/30/2012

Customer review by cajunhouse1

4.0 stars 8/30/2012 by cajunhouse1
by cajunhouse1

The bookcase itself is pertty much what I expected. I've had Sauder before. It is easy to put togather. It is relatively inexpensive and looks good. It took longer to get than I expected. Once Walmart e-mailed me that it had been shipped it was about two weeks before it came in. It is usually a lot quicker but I've noticed lately that Walmart is getting independent and less customer friendly.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cajunhouse1
Covington, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Looks great, easy to assemble
5/19/2013

Customer review by frostedpoptart

5.0 stars 5/19/2013 by frostedpoptart
by frostedpoptart

I ordered this via Walmart.com and got free shipping, so that was great! Local Walmart stores didn't have a bookcase in the color that I wanted, so I was glad to find this online. I received this about 5 days after ordering it. I was happy about the shipping time. Less than a week when shipping is free? Target and Ikea were charging almost as much for shipping as it did to buy the bookcase. This bookcase only needs a Phillips Head screwdriver and a hammer to assemble (mine was a ratcheting screwdriver, which probably helps make assembly a little bit easier). It took me about an hour to do, but I was going at a leisurely pace. I probably could have done it in half an hour if I had been more focused. The bookcase actually looks really nice, too. It has a lot of room on the shelves, and it seems like it's a very sturdy design. If I needed another bookcase for any reason, I wouldn't hesitate to buy this same bookcase from Walmart again.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
frostedpoptart
Armonk, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/26/2012

Customer review by Slaveatwork

4.0 stars 10/26/2012 by Slaveatwork
by Slaveatwork

This bookcase is so easy to put together. It looks great and was better than I expected. The reason I gave it 4 stars was, we ordered 2 of them to put them side to side and the shelving covers do not line up with one another. One has a lip on the shelf and the other does not.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Slaveatwork
Montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Exactly what I was looking for
12/8/2012

Customer review by BlakeS68

5.0 stars 12/8/2012 by BlakeS68
by BlakeS68

I was looking for a basic bookcase that would be heavy duty and handle quite a bit of weight. This is an excellent product. I have purchased Sauder items in the past and they have proven to be high quality. I would definitely recommend two people for putting this item together as there are numerous times when an extra set of hands is definitely needed. The trim pieces add just a little extra detail that make it look great. The instructions are fairly helpful but I do think the pieces should be labeled a little better (some of them had stickers labelling them and others you just had to figure out by matching them to the image in the instruction booklet.). I also appreciate that this item is made in the US. Overall an item I would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (16) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BlakeS68
Thief River Falls MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great looking piece but cheap material.
3/16/2014

Customer review by FLMotherof2

1.0 stars 3/16/2014 by FLMotherof2
by FLMotherof2

Very disappointed. Looked like I had finally found what I was looking for at a reasonable price. Had bought for son's room to store books and toys. We have put desks, file cabinets and chest of drawers together with no problems. Unfortunately when we tried to screw in the bottom part to the upper portion, the particleboard ripped away from the hole and was not repairable. The top sides front portion could have been sanded a little more for the outside pieces to slide a little easier. Walmart local store was great and issued credit upon immediate return. Definitely would not recommend.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FLMotherof2
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/4/2013

Customer review by Orioles8

4.0 stars 3/4/2013 by Orioles8
by Orioles8

Very nice product that is well worth the money I paid for it. I got two units and they assembled pretty easily and I am not the handiest person in the world. I would recommend a helper just to hold things in place in the early going. I would have rated it excellent overall, but it had a few minor issues. The one face molding was slightly damaged BEFORE it was removed from the box, but I used a little wood glue and it is fine, although I have it in a very dark room so funiture blemishes are not going to be an issue. Assembly was fine, but why they have you overlap the backing pieces is beyond me other than they would have had to make a thicker stable shelf to accomodate them butting together. The only other minor caveat is that large binders and books will just fit on the shelves as they are not overly deep. I knew that when I checked the dimensions, but for those who want a little extra shelf depth to display small items this will be a problem. I would definitely buy this product again. In fact, I may need to purchase an additional unit once I see how the other two fit my present needs. I would recommend this unit.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Orioles8
Slatington, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worth every Dime
11/26/2012

Customer review by RTP8

5.0 stars 11/26/2012 by RTP8
by RTP8

I thought this was going to be a very heavy package when it arriveded but I was able to handle it by myself. The design is very ingenious keeping it on the light side yet durable enough to handle a full load of books and what not. Easy to assemble with easy to understand instructions. It worked out perfect for my needs,I had a smaller bookshelf, and needed something bigger.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RTP8
Cypress, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent quality, elegant appearance
10/20/2013

Customer review by LedaGoLightly

5.0 stars 10/20/2013 by LedaGoLightly
by LedaGoLightly

This is better than expected. Not only looks sturdy and solid, but feels like it. The center shelf is permanent and helps solidify the whole piece. It really is elegant and looks much more expensive than it is. Feels solid and holds a lot of heavy books. Best deal around after shopping for weeks. Not just the low cost, but the biggest plus is how it upgrades the whole room.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LedaGoLightly
Bluegrass, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice product -- made in the USA!!
2/17/2013

Customer review by JillinGeorgia

5.0 stars 2/17/2013 by JillinGeorgia
by JillinGeorgia

So many bookshelves in the stores are dark wood -- I needed a lighter one. This one matches well with the wood trim in my house. I read the directions....my husband followed them and we put it together quickly and easily Of course the fact the it was made in the USA made my decision to purchase this bookshelf easy.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JillinGeorgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/3/2012

Customer review by cindyssister

5.0 stars 10/3/2012 by cindyssister
by cindyssister

very sturdy, easy to put together and looks good when it's done

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cindyssister
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice book case AFTER assembly
10/31/2013

Customer review by mariandiana

4.0 stars 10/31/2013 by mariandiana
by mariandiana

The directions for assembly were 15 pages long. There were hundreds of parts if you include all the screws, nails, etc. The directions were very clear and easy to follow BUT it still takes quite a bit of time and patience to assemble this book case.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mariandiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
meh- it does the job
1/30/2013

Customer review by jeje11111

2.0 stars 1/30/2013 by jeje11111
by jeje11111

I bought this because I wanted a large bookcase that looked a little nicer than those plain board looking ones. It was kind of a pain in the butt to put together and it was just that cheap pressed particle board stuff. It looks better than the plain book shelves in my opinion has some molding design on the top and bottom and a lip at the end of the shelves. it does the job for the price. I would suggest reading the directions very carefully because cheap furniture is definitely not made to put together more than once... we had a slight mix up and had to take apart some parts we already put together and some of the wood chipped off in different places. luckily you can't really tell with it put all together.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jeje11111
long beach,ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2/9/2013

Customer review by younglady65

5.0 stars 2/9/2013 by younglady65
by younglady65

I received my bookcase a week after it was shiped. When we opened the box I was well pleased with how it looked. I put it together myself looking at the directions. If I can put this together, anyone can do it. When I finished, I fastened it to the wall so it will not tip over. I love my beautiful bookcase. I have it filled up with all my books. I'm so glad I ordered this one.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
younglady65
Greenville, S.C.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Shelf for the price
4/18/2013

Customer review by Redsoxmom24

5.0 stars 4/18/2013 by Redsoxmom24
by Redsoxmom24

This was actually the second one we bought. My son needed something for his room to keep his books on and once we got it, put it together (with ease) we thought it looks so sharp we decided to get another one for the hallway. It's rich looking as well as a great price!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Redsoxmom24
Oxford, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/20/2012

Customer review by Clinton1234

4.0 stars 11/20/2012 by Clinton1234
by Clinton1234

What I like is the color, price, and functionality. It serves it's purpose and has a nice warm touch in my office.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Clinton1234
kansas city, mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/21/2013

Customer review by Wmarter26

1.0 stars 7/21/2013 by Wmarter26
by Wmarter26

I got this bookcase more than half way together, but found the link between the two halves shaky. So, I disassembled it and returned it to Walmart. Learned it the hard way!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wmarter26
TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sturdy Bookcase and looks great
3/17/2014

Customer review by SScomet

5.0 stars 3/17/2014 by SScomet
by SScomet

Easy to assemble, looks great and very sturdy - using for books

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SScomet
Canton, SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 100 total reviews
1-20 of 100 reviews