Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 112 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

112 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

112 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
57
4 stars
38
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 stars
9
1-20 of 96 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 96 total reviews
1-20 of 96 reviews
Good "old school" receiver
7/12/2012

Customer review by KenBiker

4.0 stars 7/12/2012 by KenBiker
by KenBiker

I was impressed with the price ($101) and functionality of this 200 watt stereo receiver. I was reminded of a very good Pioneer receiver I owned in the 1970's that only had 100 watts, but cost $260 in 1970's dollars. This Sherwood exceeds the performance of my old Pioneer. There are no bells and whistles like an equalizer display, just a basic receiver. However, I was not expecting bells and whistles for the price.

Was this review helpful? (64) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KenBiker
Gary, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
basic 2 channel amp & tuner but great value
8/3/2012

Customer review by olddude63

4.0 stars 8/3/2012 by olddude63
by olddude63

Very happy with my order and met my expectations. This is a basic 2 channel amplier and tuner. I use with my flat sceen tv and my dvd player. I also use the tuner. Very good price.

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
olddude63
forney, texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very inexpensive, good sound, easy set up
7/9/2014

Customer review by Lightenin

4.0 stars 7/9/2014 by Lightenin
by Lightenin
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My 1969 Pioneer SX990 just died after 44 years. It broke my heart to trash it. You can fix a 44 year old airplane or car but not a stereo receiver. So I looked around stores and the web and chose this Sherwood. It pushes my (4), 44 year old Pioneer speakers, but am thinking they're not doing this receiver justice. So now I'll look for replacements. I have no negative comments and would reccomend it to friends.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lightenin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfectly Simple
6/17/2014

Customer review by Zoethewonderdog

5.0 stars 6/17/2014 by Zoethewonderdog
by Zoethewonderdog
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this to run some pre wired speakers in a new house on my patio and in living room ceilings. My current amp would not allow me to hook up surround and two other sets. I loved how simple this was to set up and operate. It has just the basic functions, not all the stuff I never use on my other amp that requires the manual to use and I don't need, because I don't have a sound studio. Missing a couple of modern plugins...like HDMI and Optical....but that's OK for my purposes. Pumps out the sound with no problem.

Was this review helpful? (43) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Zoethewonderdog
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Receiver
9/10/2013

Customer review by dln67tx

5.0 stars 9/10/2013 by dln67tx
by dln67tx

I bought this receiver for my home gym. I have some old school large speakers plus a duel cassette deck, cd/DVD player and I also bought an adapter to plug in my iPhone 5. Everything sounds great. Very pleased and breeze to hook up.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dln67tx
winfield, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
very clean sounding amp
7/22/2014

Customer review by LocalShopper12180

4.0 stars 7/22/2014 by LocalShopper12180
by LocalShopper12180
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this receiver because I had one more room in the house that lacked a stereo. It was for the basement which is unfinished open area. It has more than ample sound as long as you don't try to turn it up too loud. If you do, it will shut down to protect itself from overload. There is a subtle difference between maximum allowable output and overload. However, even at maximum, it is very clean sounding. I gave it a four. It would have been a five if it had a "peaking" indicator so I can better predict the limit of volume before shutdown.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LocalShopper12180
Brunswick, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent for Value
2/7/2013

Customer review by Fish757

5.0 stars 2/7/2013 by Fish757
by Fish757
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My amp went out a week before the Superbowl. I purchased this stereo receiver, hooked up my TV speakers to it and we were back in business. Works great for stereo sound and TV.

Was this review helpful? (32) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fish757
Virginia Beach, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product
11/12/2013

Customer review by Cindylouwho106

4.0 stars 11/12/2013 by Cindylouwho106
by Cindylouwho106
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I just wanted a plain, inexpensive receiver and this is it! Affordable, easy to hook up and the sound is great!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cindylouwho106
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value
9/15/2014

Customer review by Mizelsie

5.0 stars 9/15/2014 by Mizelsie
by Mizelsie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have various brands of receivers in my home, including a Pioneer in the bedroom that recently quit. I started shopping around at the usual places and noticed that Walmart had a Sherwood with sleep timer for $129.99 online. When I was ready to buy, I discovered that Walmart had reduced the price $30 to $99.99, which made my decision. I'm not an audiophile, but this Sherwood is every bit the quality of my Sony and the old Pioneer receivers. I can coordinate the sleep timer on my cable box with the sleep timer on my Sherwood receiver. This is exactly what I needed in the bedroom.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mizelsie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worse than a very old Aiwa receiver I had
2/4/2014

Customer review by Islandisch

1.0 stars 2/4/2014 by Islandisch
by Islandisch
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This receiver is less than average; in fact, it is terrible; poor. I hooked it up and at first I thought it didn't work. I did everything I know to do (which is a LOT) to make sure everything was connected properly but I got NO SOUND. After more than an hour, I decided to turn it past "20" on the volume control; still nothing. I turned it past "30" -- nothing. I was going to turn it as high as it could go and when it got to "40", I finally heard a whimper of sound. What? A brand new receiver has to be turned up to 40 just to hear a whimper of sound? My old Aiwa component receiver, which a busted up cassette deck would be very sufficient at level 10; if I turned it to 20, the neighbors could hear it. I bought this new receiver to bring all of my equipment into "the modern era" and to conserve space (the Aiwa system was a little bit too big). This stinking thing works like it was made in the 1920's or something. VERY POOR SOUND QUALITY. DO NOT BUY THIS THING. IT HAS HORRIBLE SOUND. An amp is suppose to amplify the sound; this one does not.

Was this review helpful? (3) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Islandisch
Orange County
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/9/2013

Customer review by Hopethishelps111

4.0 stars 9/9/2013 by Hopethishelps111
by Hopethishelps111
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Purchased for use as a Kitchen radio. It is smaller than most shelf systems even when Sony bookshelf speakers were added. So much better than any boombox type radio. My wife loves the neat and stylish appearance while I love being able to "crank it up" when I hear something I like. It sounds good and looks good so what more can I say. One problem, it has come on by itself 2 or 3 times. Manufacturer was puzzled and said return it. We did and found the same unit at Electronic Express for $20 less (on sale). New one has done it as well (twice). It may be a remote for something else. Plan on keeping it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hopethishelps111
Nashville TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice for the price.
9/9/2012

Customer review by shibattou

4.0 stars 9/9/2012 by shibattou
by shibattou

Not a top end item but a good basic. Great item if you don't really need recording room quality. Good quality and features for the price.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shibattou
Fort Mohave, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great little box for the bucks
12/9/2013

Customer review by oldchevyguy

4.0 stars 12/9/2013 by oldchevyguy
by oldchevyguy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great little box for the bucks. wish the big knob on the right was for tuning, as opposed to a volume control. Works fine for us, because we use this monstly as an amp for our Pioneer CD player. If we were using it as a tuner, going through setting up presets would be a lot quicker with a tuning knob.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oldchevyguy
Sioux Falls SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/1/2013

Customer review by ronjdio

5.0 stars 1/1/2013 by ronjdio
by ronjdio
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a very nice unit at quite an affordable price. Simple, straight up controls. The supplied antennae is not great, but I have a HD antennae on the side of the shop, so no worries there.

Was this review helpful? (26) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ronjdio
Macungie, PA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Price!!!
6/24/2013

Customer review by rsrjt

5.0 stars 6/24/2013 by rsrjt
by rsrjt

This receiver has plenty of power for my outside deck. It's priced just right. Would recommend this receiver to anyone at this price.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rsrjt
Chattanooga, Tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
for the money a good little receiver!!
8/14/2013

Customer review by cherylmf

5.0 stars 8/14/2013 by cherylmf
by cherylmf
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

A good receiver with enough options and plug-ins. I was worried that it might not accept my turntable but No problem! enough power for me now in my older years, don't need my 4 channel Kenwood that could break windows anymore!!! I am happy with this receiver! easy to use good price enough power to make the pioneer bookshelf speakers sound very nice.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cherylmf
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Qaulity receiver for little money
1/24/2015

Customer review by Kevin

5.0 stars 1/24/2015 by Kevin
by Kevin

This is an easy to hook up, great sounding receiver and a tremendous value. I have a pair of Polk Audio 100 watt RT3 speakers hooked up to it and it sounds amazing! If you want to use a turntable with this, you will need a pre-amp box if you're using an older turntable. If you have one of the newer ones with a build in pre-amp it will work perfectly. Just plug it into any open portal like the tape, VHS or TV. The remote control makes it even better. The separate AM & FM antennas work great. My aunt had a Sherwood receiver when I was a kid and I remember how good it sounded. Sherwood receivers like Polk audio speakers have come down drastically in price the last few years. If your looking for a receiver with 100 watts of power, clear low distorted sound, easy to hook up and use at a low affordable price, this is the receiver for you!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kevin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good product for the price.
12/31/2012

Customer review by porchman

4.0 stars 12/31/2012 by porchman
by porchman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Worked perfect right out of the box. No issues, easy install, great product for my back porch stereo. Would reccommend to a friend, especially at this price.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
porchman
Ocala, Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It Rocks
12/2/2013

Customer review by bubbadog16

5.0 stars 12/2/2013 by bubbadog16
by bubbadog16
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Only had this product for a couple of weeks but so far it is a great buy. Volume is way more than what I expected for the price. Shipping was standard method but still arrived in a couple of days. Made an old cd player and speakers sound new again. If you are looking for something to "pump the volume" this is it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bubbadog16
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
you get what you pay for!
4/28/2013

Customer review by IraBob

1.0 stars 4/28/2013 by IraBob
by IraBob
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this to replace our outside stereo so I didn't want to spend a fortune. This had terrible reception and sounded flat. I boxed it up and bought the Sony for $149 which also accepts MP3 inputs and all is sounding good outside!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IraBob
Chesapeake VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 96 total reviews
1-20 of 96 reviews