Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.8out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5 | 395 reviews
5 stars
343
4 stars
45
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
Sort by: 
1-20 of 392 reviews
1-20 of 392 reviews
Great for insects, including dreaded bed bugs
6/29/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been looking for this for years. Much better than boric acid. Safe for children and pets. Due to recent nationwide outbreaks, I've been using boric acid but I had to remove my cat. I used this because it's been around forever. My sister cleans homes, some infested, sprinkles this on the carpet. Bugs gone. For bed bugs, sprinkle on furniture, mist with water, they suffocate. Then vaccume. Kills fleas, roaches, spiders, and yes, the dreaded bed bug. Keep a regimen, about every 8 days for bb, 12 for fleas. also take laundry precautions to keep everything away. I have this sprinkles all over my house. Not a bug in sight :-)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Why is it the price doubled?
9/1/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I usually get 75 oz for under 4 dollars...its not an expensive item normally. I usually use this as a cleaner for around the house and in laundry to boost detergent cleaning power. Guess I'll have to order in bulk bc I'm not paying double.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Been around for years!
7/12/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This product has been around for ages. I remember my mom using it when she washed the baby's diapers. I forgot about it until recently when I saw a recipe on how to get out old set in stains. I found all of the old baby clothes from my kids and from sitting for so long they were all stained and not very clean smelling. So, like I said I saw this recipe for removing stains. I mixed it up and rubbed it into all of the stains and let it sit for a few hours. I then washed them like regular and wow all of the stains were gone! Yes there were a few that stayed but for the most part the stains were gone. I also tried it on our bed pillows. You know how your pillows can get yellowed? Well, use Borax on them and you will see the stains go away. Just soak the pillows on the hottest setting for a good few hours and then wash them like normal. You will be happy!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (104)No (18)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Our grandmothers knew what worked
8/8/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 500 contributer
20 Mule Team Borax has been around almost as long as dirt has. At least it seems it. Its a great all round product that you can use for a variety of things around the house. I use a little less than a 1/4 of a cup in my dishwasher along with my regular soap. I have hard water and the Borax helps to make more suds and basically increases my water's ability to clean. Glasses come out sparkling and this is with no rinse aid other than a bit of white vinegar. Use too much Borax and you can end up with spots of powder on the dishes so you have to figure out the right amount for your machine. Works the same way in the laundry. And the best thing is this stuff is relatively cheap in comparison to other cleaning products. You get a huge box at Walmart for under four bucks. That will do a lot of loads of dishes and laundry. Visit the 20muleteamlaundry.com website and you can read about more of its uses.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (58)No (14)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Laundry, Roach's/flea's and Pools
3/26/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Everyone know this is great laundry detergent, but down here in Florida we have been using it for decades to kill roach's and flea's. Completely safe for infants and pets, before we had pet/child safe chemicals to kill roach's and fleas we would put a line of this down. As they walk through it they pick it up on their legs and take it back to the nest to spread it around. Roach's actually clean themselves and this prevents them from breathing properly. Second thing is pools - borax pop's the cell membrane of algae, killing the cell of course, releasing the inside "guts" of the algae and and makings your water sparkling clean with only half to a full box. Awesome stuff. Wish it was still as cheap as it used to be. Can't even get it in a dollar store anymore.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (204)No (17)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great product, I use it every day in my laundry...
5/9/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been using Borax for a year now in my laundry. This is supposed to soften water, as my well water is hard. It also helps your laundry detergent work better. I stopped using fabric softener over a year ago, and I believe this product helps my clothes dry softer. When I use the dryer, I barely notice a difference in softness - (I'm not real fussy about how soft stuff is as long as it doesn't stand up by itself, lol) and if I line dry, I just toss the dry items into the dryer for 10 min on low just to soften them a little. I am trying to use less product, less electricity and be more health conscious about what I put on my skin.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (244)No (14)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best Deodorizer for my HE Washer & CHEAP!
8/27/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The manufacturer's suggestion of adding 1 cup of chlorine bleach to my HE washing machine's cleaning cycle did almost nothing to remove the sour musty smell that builds up over time. The sample washer cleaning tablet that came with my machine worked all right, but when I went to buy more of them I was stunned at the high price of the tablets. Finally, I did an internet search and saw a suggestion to run the machine's cleaning cycle with just 1/2 cup of Borax thrown into the drum. It worked great, in fact better than the tablets! I run the Borax through the cycle every few weeks now. Good all 20 Mule Team Borax my super cheap solution to the smelly washer problem.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (116)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
More than Laundry use!!
5/15/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Works great on laundry as well as around the home! This (only this Laundry Booster at that) can also remove fleas and roaches from infested homes and /or yards. I have used this product for years and years when moving into a new apartment or home with this purpose in mind. Just sprinkle along the floors and clean up in a few hours or the next day and no bugs of any kind will be seen! Again once every year or so for upkeep and your have a secret worth sharing!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (590)No (28)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best for front loaders
3/11/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is magic when you mix with detergent in the wash. Takes out that mysterious mildew smell that front loaders can give clothes
Was this review helpful?
Yes (25)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great for sickroom use
4/28/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was caring for an aunt who was terminally ill with cancer. Her sheets and nightgowns had a peculiar odor that was not coming out in the laundry. She couldn't deal with 'bleachy' smells so I soaked these items in 20 Mule Team Borax. The odor was gone and there were no chemical scents left behind to bother her...and the sheets seemed brighter, too. It's a wonderful product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (21)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
raise the ph level in pool and treat it for algea
7/26/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
pH can be raised independently of the alkalinity by the addition of borax. 20 Mule Team Borax found in your grocery store detergent isle is an extremely useful chemical. Pool stores sell the exact same chemical as a pH buffer or pH Conditioner but it is nothing more than sodium tetraborate pentahydrate or decahydrate. The hydrate portion of the chemical does nothing for the pool and the only active portion is the tetraborate. About half a box per 10,000 gallons of water will increase the pH by .5 It's powerful stuff when adjusting pH so we don't want to use too much at once. An added benefit of borax is that it's a great algaecide. It abrades the cell walls of algae and bacteria which allows the chlorine to work more effectively.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (64)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Odors left after laundering
6/24/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have an new high efficiency washer and it is difficult to get strong odors out of jeans, bathroom and kitchen towels and wash cloths. The Internet says that oily soap residue is the cause as it traps odors. This product saved the day! Until I found it, I was washing these items 2-3 times with vinegar and baking soda (no added laundry soap). Funny, Ted's Montana Grill offers this in the women's restroom for hand washing!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (204)No (16)
Report
Was this review helpful?
borax
4/13/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is great stuff I used it to kill fire ants colonies. and it worked great. use half and half of borax and granulated sugar and place it on thee ant hills and I placed it around the outside of the home and around doorways. I now have no more fire ants.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (163)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I love it
6/15/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
For very hard water, the product takes the residue problem out and makes the need to use more detergent disappear. Follow the directs and measure the Borax. More doesn't equal better but does mean that you are wasting money!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (129)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
20 Mule Team Borax and Arm & Hammer Booster Mix
2/27/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I have been using this booster mixture for a couple years and have found that this laundry booster mixture does a fantastic job. I mix these two laundry boosters powder mixtures together. Since I started using this laundry booster mixture my laundry looks cleaner, brighter & whiter. I don't like doing my laundry without it. I have also found each of these products are a better price at Walmart (1/3 of the combined price on Amazon). It works Great!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
kills fleas
9/25/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Put this in a coffee can with holes punched in the lid, sprinkle it all over the carpet and in corners and along baseboard....use a stiff bristle broom to work it into the pile a bit, not too much, then wait at least 12 hours and vacuum. dump that vacuum debris and get rid of it. This will kill fleas, eggs and larvae in the carpet. It contains Boron. It will eat into them and dehydrate them.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (57)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great product for everything
11/16/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I just started using Borax recently, after a friend introduced it to me. It cleans everything around the house with very little effort. I have cleaned walls, floors, clothing, counter tops, toilets, bath tub and sinks, shower doors, stove, refrig. you name it, it cleans and helps even with odors. I have thrown out all the other products I have used in the past and now BORAX is my cleaner. Even helps kills roaches. I highly recommend it .
Was this review helpful?
Yes (105)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good to clean and disinfect
2/19/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I like to use Borax around the house for cleaning and in the laundry. The only problem I have with the product is its packaging - the bottom & ends of the box are not sealed well and the Borax spills out. This product has always had this problem. I have learned that when I get the Borax box home to immediately put tape on the bottom and sides to keep this from happening.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (72)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Flea control
6/19/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
We use this products for flea control. It only took one night of having it on the floor to completely remove all the fleas. Only problem is that it is not healthy to breathe in while sweeping up so make sure you wear a mask.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (85)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Borax
8/2/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The cheapest and best bug killer ever. Woks on ants ,cockroaches, even termites.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (77)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643949, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-