Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.1out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 | 41 reviews
5 stars
23
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 stars
3
Sort by: 
1-20 of 39 reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews
Great Value and Lantern Project
1/6/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Ok, first off, I got this lantern from a GoodWill store for $1 and it had the battery but not chargers. I realized after looking at it for a while and glancing at my solar gardenights that it was stupid not to have a solar charge option. I had a small solar charging panel/battery box that I saved from a patio string light that the bulbs went bad on. I modified the solar panel and soldered it to the charge circuit in the bottom of the lantern. The panel can hold two more AA rechargeables and charge both of them and the lithium battery up in less than 12 hrs of full sun. But, the best thing is that the panel and stand are small enough to fit inside the base of the lantern. Just an idea for any of you DIY'ers out there. Go out and buy a cheap string light from Walmart or target and modify it to charge you lantern off the sun. Easy fun proj. for cheap!!! Multi functional now!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good, not great LED lantern.. Only ~ 30 lumens !
12/9/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Good things: it has 120V and 12v charging adapters supplied, and they fit in the base of the lantern very conveniently. I fully charged it and don't know how long it can last, I used it for about 4 hours and it was still going fine when I shut it off. It's definitely not going to make anyone blind from too much light, but it's a fair amount of light for sitting around, or if the electricity goes off and there's little to do. It's light, to carry, and of course you can't get burned on it. I dropped it once on concrete floor and it survived OK. Cons: I don't think I could find the lumens rating in the advertising of the product, or I probably would not have bought it. It's like 30 or 35 lumens ( I forget which), found on the box. I guess they didn't want to disclose that. I had originally started out to buy another LED lantern that was rated at about 300 lumens. Overall, for the price, it is pretty good. If you think you'll need to do something in the dark and will need a bright light, then keep shopping for a more powerful one instead.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great light
9/18/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
 Top 1000 contributer
I bought this light after seeing how well a buddies lantern worked and this light is one heck of a deal, it seems to run forever before needing recharging. Very convenient to have both a house and car charger stored in the base, just screw the bottom off and they both fall out on your lap. A few reviews have complained about the battery going bad after sitting for months without use, well one of the instructions in the manual is to not let it sit for months without charging. A battery is a battery no matter how well it is built. Every pulled out a old cellphone that you knew had a hot battery when you "parked it" and found the battery to be shot? Same concept here folks. You can not let any battery sit for 2+ months without some kind of charging, why do you think people put trickle chargers on unused auto/boat batteries through the winter?
Was this review helpful?
Yes (21)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
7/18/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Am going to buy more! Bought two of these for camping and love them. No, they do not give off as much light as a fuel powered one but you don't have to bring fuel. Bought these to be temporary until I buy the $60 Coleman I was looking at - don't know if I am going to buy it now. Dropped this lantern several times from the height of a pop up canopy and did not get a mark on it. Gave off enough light but do want a couple more for extra light. Brought them into the tents at night and with a bungi cord hung them from the tent ceiling - again worked great. Used it for two nights before I recharged, it hadn't gone out yet but wanted to make sure. I like that the cords store in the base so they won't get lost. Luckily I read about the cords in the reviews because it is not written anywhere on the box.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (23)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
DOES include adapters
5/22/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
A previous review gave a low rating saying that the required adapters were not included. WRONG! The adapters, both 110v & 12v cigarette lighter, are IN THE BASE OF THE LANTERN. You merely unscrew the base, and both adapters are right there!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (126)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great News
5/24/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The review that I just read was GREAT - I have been frustrated because I couldn't find an adapter that fit this lantern = then I read the review and WA LA! They ARE in the base of the lantern!!! Problem solved. It DOES not tell you this on the box and it should!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (53)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great price and charger in bottom of lantern~
6/22/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I just got this and couldn't understand why there was no charger with it. Finally while looking online as to how much the charger cost I saw a previous review saying that the chargers are under the bottom of the lantern:)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (46)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Chargers in base
7/17/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Wow! I was blown away when I read product reviews for this item. I was about to give this item a poor rating because I could not find an adapter/charger that would work. Thank you previous raters of this item. I really do enjoy this lantern for its price. It actually lasts longer than I thought. Isn't incredibily bright but bright enough to see your rod and a few feet around you. What can you expect for under $20? If I could change one thing about this item I would make a clear distinct picture on the front of the label of a hand unscrewing base to reveal chargers being stored in a convenient location. Its actually kinda cool if it were more abundantly clear.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great buy for the fishing warriors or camping
1/7/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
i bought 2 of these last year on tax season...these are great i do alot of night fishing for big catfish...if these are fully charged when the green light appears it usally lasted me 2 fishing trips from dust till dawn easily...love the cord it comes with sometimes if i forgot to charge id simply plug it up to my car cig lighter and let it charge on the way...also used these around the house when out electric went out and also camping...id rather use these then propane cause of the propane buying and having to run to the store at the last minute to buy some and saves money and time...not to mention the propane glass are easy to break on moving around and no worries with these bad boys...i have dropped kicked threw and rolled in the lakes and still work strong and good...these are bright enough for me my cousin has the coleman battery opperated one and this one has a better batttery life then his but his is slight brighter but im very very happy and pleased with this bad boy...and the storeing of the cords is great just screw the bottom of and on when you need the cords....dont be affraid to buy one of these and try it out you will be amazed!!!! qoute i fish 3 nights a weeks some less or more
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Rechargeable Lantern
6/6/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
We have bought three of these lanterns over the last year, they aren't the brightest, and they aren't super rugged, but you cant beat the bang for the buck. We use these for camping on a very regular basis, they come with both an AC charger and a car charger, the charge lasts a good length of time and charges quickly. The kids have dropped them down hills off the sides of trucks and who knows what else they haven't told me about, but they keep working. However, the carrying handle did brake off of one of them. Comparing them to our Colman LED lantern, they are half as bright, half the weight, half as rugged but far less than half of the cost and they don't use up a zillion D cell batteries.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Charge battery monthly or they will be obsolete
7/16/2012
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
A: Used these on one camping trip....and just pulled them out a year later...guess what? batteries dead and can't replace..I am looking to see if mfg will do it..but looks like this is Walmart product....Great product if you could replace batteries..but you better put charge on it monthly or they will be obsolete....poor design...Went to "Batteries are us"...they said this battery is only made by mfg...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Could be better.
8/26/2013
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The lantern is ok. You get what you pay for. It does light up the area but not as bright as a fuel or propane lantern does. I bought this and a Coleman duel fuel lantern. Hands down the Coleman is 20 times brighter! NO JOKE, BUT This lantern has its pros, such as you can have it in your tent and not take a chance on a fire. Cons. it has a blue tint to it but that's LED for ya. So if your going to use it in a tent for light yes. If your trying to light up the outside of your campground then stick with fuel or propane. Makes a good bed stand light (nightlight) too! Happy Camping!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
poor battery
10/20/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
i bought this about 18 months ago for camping because it was rechargeable. used it on 4 or 5 camping trips. the last one, a week ago, pulled it out and put on the charger. the light lasted about 2 hours then rapidly faded. as others have stated, no way to exchange battery as it is a chinese design. so will take back to walmart and get one with replaceable batteries.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Absolutely love this lantern!
8/5/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought my 1st one 4 yrs ago. Loved it so much, went back and bought another one. Easy to charge (electric & car lighter), lightweight, rugged (dropped a few times & squished it in a tote couple of times), gives off plenty of light when in the middle of pitch black forest.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect for power outage
6/5/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Lasts overnight on a charge, comes with separate A/C and D/C chargers concealed in the base. Great for camping. We have had 2 for more than 2 years and they work fine. Charge them and forget them till needed. Super low price. We could never find more in stock so we bought 2 more online from Walmart.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Ozark Trail 20-LED Rechargeable Lantern
1/15/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I like these so much that I bought one for my mother and one for my son. It lights up an entire room and is great for power outages. You can recharge it in your car or plug it into an outlet. Love this!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great item!
10/14/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Great for camping or when the power goes out at home. Gives off enough light to do what's needed in either situation. Storage compartment for charger and car adapter is very handy.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
9/5/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
every review was correct. i was about to look for a charger to buy and read the reviews. all chargers are in the base of the unit. great lil lantern for the price
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great For The Money
8/20/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We purchased this replacement lantern for a couple of reasons. The biggest being, we didn't want to have to purchase a battery operated lantern and then extra parts. This lantern has everything you need. From the charger to the built in battery space. When we got it home, we took it out of the box and charged it for the time suggested. A week later we used on our trip and it worked every time. We use it only for camping and it has been a good light source. Our last trip was a rainy one and this guy held up well and kept things bright. We plan to purchase a few more of these as extras for when other camping guests come along.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Long lasting lantern
7/14/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
 Top 1000 contributer
After I got this I charged it fully and proceeded to see how long it would last, well i know that it lasts 6 hrs plus because i went to bed n shut it off after 6 hrs of run time. Thats good enough for me.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643925, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-