Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 159 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

159 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

159 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
67
4 stars
34
3 stars
17
2 stars
11
1 stars
30
1-20 of 128 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 128 total reviews
1-20 of 128 reviews
No Hassle Blu-Ray Player with WIFI
6/20/2012

Customer review by GeorgieH

5.0 stars 6/20/2012 by GeorgieH
by GeorgieH

This was my second attempt at purchasing a Blu-ray player with Wi-Fi.The first was a Phillips machine (took it back).This player is so easy to hook up.It automatically connects to the internet.The movie played flawlessly.The price was excellent.They had some left over 2011 machines from Vizio,Sony, and the like at the same price with more gadgets.This was made 04/2012 so I figured the newer the better and I think I was right. I prefer the simplest way to watch the movies and get content from online.This machine delivered! I recommend to anyone who wants a nice easy set up in a good quality player. It took me no more than 5 minutes and everything was ready to go.The remote is very straight forward and easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (214) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GeorgieH
Avon Park,FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Did I get a lemon?
7/13/2012

Customer review by Jerryo100

1.0 stars 7/13/2012 by Jerryo100
by Jerryo100

Set up only took a few minutes, including wireless. After that nothing but problems. Tried Youtube and started playing but after a minute I get rotating dots in the middle of the screen (buffering symbol?) that don't go away unless I pause then resume, but the whole time the video is playing perfectly. Within a couple minutes it starts all over again or the picture freezes and stays frozen until I press play. Tried Netflix and the player locked up. Couldn't power off with remote or power button on the player so I unplugged it for a minute. Tried Netflix again and it worked this time but same problems as Youtube. Next I figured a firmware update might solve these issues but it locked up while connecting to network. After unplugging 2 more times the firmware update finally completed. Still having the same problems with video and locking up. The only improvement since the update is when the player locks up I can eject the tray (the only button that does anything). Haven't tried dvd or bluray because I'm exchanging for another brand.

Was this review helpful? (20) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jerryo100
Hamlet, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Player for the Price
6/24/2012

Customer review by TherealDarthDaddy

5.0 stars 6/24/2012 by TherealDarthDaddy
by TherealDarthDaddy

After looking at several players that were $25-$30 cheaper for my son's room, and that didn't have built in WiFi, I decided to purchase the Panasonic. I admit I was a little skeptical at first, but once it was hooked up, I was impressed. Super easy WiFi setup took less then 5 minutes. The remote even has it's very own Netflix button for quick access. Unlike many of the BD players that sell at this price, this player starts up and loads fast. It's as fast as any $200 and up players I've seen. Overall this is a very impressive player for $98.00.

Was this review helpful? (88) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TherealDarthDaddy
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Really great!!
10/29/2012

Customer review by Gartie

5.0 stars 10/29/2012 by Gartie
by Gartie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was trying Netflix free trial on my laptop and liked it. Decided to look for something to stream it to my TV since I decided that I would be getting the monthly subscription once the free runs out. I saw that the Blu ray players stream. I found this Panasonic with built in Wifi, so decided I would update my current DVD player to a Blu ray and also be able to stream Netflix. I set it up wireless. It was so easy. The thing that took a little time for me was entering my email address, password etc in. Ha! But that is just done on the initial set up. The remote has the Netflix button. I love that! I have Satellite tv and have enjoyed it but I just have gotten where I hate spending so much on TV. So I cut down as low as I can on the Satellite pkg and now have Netflix too. I didn't want to cut Satellite tv all the way out because I still wanted my local channels. I live in a rural area so that is the only way to get them here. But this will save me money by cutting my bill just about half and I will actually have more variety that I like to watch also. I haven't tried a blu ray DVD yet in it. But the streaming is great! And the price is really good and I like having the free site to store shipping. It doesn't come with a HDMI cable. Which you will need if you don't have one already.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gartie
Sulphur Springs, Ark.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product
6/30/2012

Customer review by ScottTVgirl

5.0 stars 6/30/2012 by ScottTVgirl
by ScottTVgirl

I have bought over 11 Blu-ray players and not a one has worked correct either the internet don't work or that movies that are Blu-ray wont play, even after updates have been applied. I think it is wild that I got a machine that does both and also lets u watch internet content with no interruptions. I would recommend this product to anyone that wants a great cheap Blu-ray.

Was this review helpful? (121) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ScottTVgirl
Canton, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Works Fine For Me
10/19/2012

Customer review by huntn4abargan

4.0 stars 10/19/2012 by huntn4abargan
by huntn4abargan

I bought this Blu-ray player because it featured Wi-Fi and I wanted to stream from Netflix. Setup was quick and it linked with my router easily. After signing up for Netflix, via my computer, I only needed to enter my user name and password once to activate and begin the service via this unit. Now, it automatically opens when I press the Netflix button on the remote. I admit that it takes about 40-50 seconds to open Netflix, but who cares? Hey, it gives me time to get a drink and popcorn! People really make me laugh when they complain (waaa, it takes so long) and seem to expect everything NOW on a silver platter. I 'have' had the unit freeze a couple times as described by others, but I just unplug and replug after a few seconds and presto, it works again. For the price I can't complain because it works fine for me.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
huntn4abargan
Windsor, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Slow, Freezes, Panasonic Terrible Customer Service
7/31/2013

Customer review by Corey21623

1.0 stars 7/31/2013 by Corey21623
by Corey21623

Just like the other 20+ one star reviews on walmart.com of this product - it is flawed, freezing, and running extremely slow. Since I was past Walmart's 90 day return window when I finally gave up on this unit ever working properly, I tried going through Panasonic. They refused a return since I didn't buy from them directly, and forced me to pay over $11 in shipping to send them my defective blu ray player with the promise of replacing it. Upon receiving a replacement in the mail, I immediately discovered that the new (or probably refurbished player) was pixilating, freezing, and running slowly as well. I have since spoken to supervisors at Panasonic who have promised to return my calls and haven't, never emailed me a promised shipping label to return this second unit, and told me that I still cannot get a refund only will "put in a request" to have my money refunded which I'm sure has never gone through either. Panasonic has the worst customer service!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Corey21623
Pierce, NE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Panasonic Makes Great Products
7/26/2012

Customer review by Kangarat

4.0 stars 7/26/2012 by Kangarat
by Kangarat

Panasonic Makes Great Products, All The Sony Products I Own, Have Some Little Problem! My Panasonic Products Keep Chugging away. The Remote Needs Redesigning though., My Finger Keeps Hitting The Outer Circular Button, When I Want To Push The Inner One! That Is only a Minor Inconvenience, The Player Itself Works Fine. I would rate Panasonic higher than Samsung, Toshiba, And Of Course; Sony, That Overpriced, Low Quality Mfg. Hope This Review Was Helpful

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kangarat
Yucca Valley Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
We are very happy with it
7/8/2012

Customer review by Gerste

5.0 stars 7/8/2012 by Gerste
by Gerste

Great price, easy to set up and work we primarily bought so we can watch Netflix. We love it.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gerste
Houston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great DVD Player with Wi-Fi
7/1/2012

Customer review by Wallace43

5.0 stars 7/1/2012 by Wallace43
by Wallace43

No problem with setup, use it with NetFlix and love it. Tremendous value.

Was this review helpful? (53) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wallace43
Manitowoc, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Lock Up Nightmare
12/12/2013

Customer review by Chris1227

1.0 stars 12/12/2013 by Chris1227
by Chris1227

I bought this model a little over a year ago. Have had nothing but headaches using it. In the menu there is a "Quick On" feature, but there is nothing quick about this player, it's sluggish at best. Constantly locks up when using menu's, Netflix and Vudu lock up frequently, onboard Wi-Fi is weak, running the microwave knocks it out, Firmware Updates lock it up also. I cant count the number of times I've had to reach behind the entertainment stand, scraping my knuckles, to unplug it to reset. Everytime I see a new Firmware Update pop-up I cross my fingers hoping that they have hotfixes for these issues, but not one single issue has been resolved in the 18 months I've had it. I threw it in the trash yesterday.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chris1227
Pittsburgh, Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Product
8/7/2012

Customer review by David1979

5.0 stars 8/7/2012 by David1979
by David1979

This is my first blu-ray player and we mainly bought it to watch Netflix. It is great because it is compact and thin. Also, and very importantly, to activate netflix you just push the red netflix button on the remote. We do not own a lot of blu-ray discs so we mainly watch DVDs, but it shows them with a great picture.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
David1979
Kansas City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Consistantly FREEZES! DONT BUY.. Buy 1 that works!
11/9/2012

Customer review by TruthfulConcernedConsumer

1.0 stars 11/9/2012 by TruthfulConcernedConsumer
by TruthfulConcernedConsumer

Player was ok for a couple days, now I find myself wanting to throw it at the wall. I have owned it for about 3 months, and it has done nothing but freeze up multiple times over short periods of time. I have to unplug it to reboot. It has problems playing Netflix and playing it without interruption. I have to consistantly go back to the main menu and restart Netflix just to finish what I was watching. If you have one and it starts having problems... TAKE IT BACK, it will not stop, it's not a fluke, it is a horrible player. Rather disappointing for a Panasonic, spent the extra $20 for the name brand and it has done nothing but tick me off. I had to plug it in where I can easily unplug and replug it. Very poor player.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TruthfulConcernedConsumer
Webster Parish, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love it, love it, love it!
9/3/2012

Customer review by FromTexastoNebraska

5.0 stars 9/3/2012 by FromTexastoNebraska
by FromTexastoNebraska

This is my first blu-ray and I love it! No issues! I stream Netflix, Hulu and YouTube, does great with all!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FromTexastoNebraska
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great price and Great product
8/25/2012

Customer review by Gemma313

5.0 stars 8/25/2012 by Gemma313
by Gemma313

I really was not expecting anything fancy from this since the price was low. However, the first one I had was a lemon. Called Panasonic's customer service and was told to exchange it then register it after it's set up and works properly. It was a birthday present for my mama. I have a membership for Netflix and a lot of the movies on there are the ones she likes so I figured I'd hook her up while upgrading her to a Blu-Ray dvd player. Once we got the wireless set up and the Netflix running, she was so happy. It takes less than 10 minutes to set up (if you didn't get a lemon like I did the first time). The user interface is nicely laid out and was well thought out on Panasonic's part. The remote is a bit clumped together, but it also could be me since I have artificial nails. Overall, for the price, it is very good and thus far has done a wonderful job. Panasonic products I have had in the past were reliable and still are. Bottom Line: It's worth the money if you're looking for something inexpensive, has a lot of great features, and has an easy to use user interface.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gemma313
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A Good Product at a Good Price
8/30/2012

Customer review by Sky2222

5.0 stars 8/30/2012 by Sky2222
by Sky2222

The Panasonic works very well and has a nice compact design. I especially like the fact that the control buttons are on top of the front edge as opposed to on the face. The Netflix shortcut button on the remote is very handy. The unit picks up the Wi-Fi signal nicely at 40 feet and through three house walls. Set-up is fairly easy with one exception. You have to get to the right place first. The manual does a very poor job with those particular directions. Once you get past that speed bump, the on-screen menu walks you through the process. During one or two of the steps, the TV screen will not have anything on it giving the impression that something isn't working. That is not the case. The system is just working on the Wi-Fi, Netflix connection, and set-up process. So be a bit patient and don't start pushing buttons or you will have to start all over. I finally had enough of my Insignia brand player that was frustrating to use and slower than a dead turtle. It will make itself useful for target practice. I'm going to buy another one of these Panasonics to replace it. Good buy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sky2222
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
so-so
9/12/2012

Customer review by Ruby13

3.0 stars 9/12/2012 by Ruby13
by Ruby13

I bought it because it had netflix, bluray and was wireless. Hooking up to my wireless was fine, running netflix is fine, love the Netflix button. It takes a little while to boot up, I don't love the menu and I miss HULU and Pandora that we have on our ROKU. It has frozen for me twice in two months, turning it off so I had to unplug and plug back in. Pushing the button does nothing, the display froze on "bye" once overnight. I was on the verge of returning it, but it is the only bluray we own and it does a decent job at a great price. When we get a TV worthy of something better I will upgrade and have this as a backup.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ruby13
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
CRAPASONIC
9/24/2012

Customer review by ironhorsepaint

1.0 stars 9/24/2012 by ironhorsepaint
by ironhorsepaint

This HD player is awful - not only is it PAINFULLY slow to start - it constantly freezes and requires you unplug it from the power supply to get it going again. I had it one week and was ready to throw it out the window. DO NOT BUY THIS player. Tonight was the last straw with it, I was going to sit down and watch a disc while my husband prepared dinner - well dinner (a cooked dinner) was finished before I was ever able to even start the cd I wanted to watch.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ironhorsepaint
Azle, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/21/2012

Customer review by DanInDenver3313

5.0 stars 10/21/2012 by DanInDenver3313
by DanInDenver3313

I needed a basic blue ray player with wifi at a good price and this was perfect. Setup was easy and it works perfectly with my universal remote.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DanInDenver3313
Denver, co
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good value But
8/29/2012

Customer review by LeftyRoth

3.0 stars 8/29/2012 by LeftyRoth
by LeftyRoth

Works well and for the price a nice blue-ray set. The reason I did not rate it a 4 star is because it freezies up at times and is rather slow.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LeftyRoth
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 128 total reviews
1-20 of 128 reviews