Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 129 reviews | 2 out of 5

2.0 stars

129 reviews | 2 out of 5

2.0 stars

129 reviews | 2 out of 5

22%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
8
4 stars
16
3 stars
14
2 stars
18
1 stars
73
1-20 of 112 total reviews
22%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 112 total reviews
1-20 of 112 reviews
an awesome disappointment
11/15/2012

Customer review by fettins

1.0 stars 11/15/2012 by fettins
by fettins

knew you dont get much for 60 bucks but was even less than expected. Screen is funky and typing is a nitghtmare. takes 2-3 times to type in a correct address. stylus is really needed to do it but i am afraid the level (lack) of sensetivity will result in it getting hit too hard. half the time you cant get it to recognize spot you are touching. Have to try all over object/icon selecting. with screen on at its brightest reading is still hard on dimmed items. has all the feel of having a camera..but duh. doesnt come with one (knew that but it still makes u think it does with specs and what it shows on screen). app store shut down. went thru whole set up for app store and the one they recommend still has zip. tried to set it up on another one and device not supported. Shame. looked like it had a lot of potential. Connectivity looked like it might be a flexible little device. but real desire was for younger kids to use. this would just frustrate them WIFI was decent. battery no winner but ran the 2-3 hours expected.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fettins
lindenhurst, il
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not as good as advertised.
8/1/2012

Customer review by Mayne201

3.0 stars 8/1/2012 by Mayne201
by Mayne201

This tablet did not do it for me. Just like everything else in the world, there are pros and cons for this (Note:These may only be problems that persisted in my situation and may not pertain to anyone): Pros: Video Playback is great Download speeds are good as well Easy Set-up Built in flash Option of a external USB drive Compatible with almost everything android (except google play) Cons: Screen very unresponsive except for with a stylus, still sometimes unresponsive Calibration was constantly off Moves very slow (It claims to have superior speed) This tablet wouldn't be so bad if it weren't for the two biggest problems, the screen and the speed. I was kind of excited to get this tablet out of the box, but I was soon disappointed with the performance. If given another choice I will not buy this again. If you planning on buying this, I'd rather take my chances with the other tablets on the website around $100

Was this review helpful? (53) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mayne201
Saint Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Perfect for kids!
7/13/2012

Customer review by FLColtsFan

4.0 stars 7/13/2012 by FLColtsFan
by FLColtsFan

We bought 2 of these for our kids. It feels surprisingly solid (not cheap at all), and I was able to play videos and games without issue. The response time as far as loading apps and going from screen to screen is a little slower at times than I would prefer, but overall, for the price, I'm quite happy with the purchase. I was having trouble getting it to respond to my touch at times, until I realized that there's a clear film over the screen, which you can peel off. I'll keep it in place, though, since my kids will be the primary users. Note - neither one of the two that I purchased came with all of the apps listed, specifically, most of the games.

Was this review helpful? (115) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FLColtsFan
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Awesome for 80 bucks
7/8/2012

Customer review by droidgeek

4.0 stars 7/8/2012 by droidgeek
by droidgeek

I saw a review that said the touchscreen was unresponsive, not really true. I had to use the tips of my fingers not the flats of the fingers then it worked great. I got 5 hours of constant use out of a battery charging, over 1 hour of that the wi fi was on. Two micro USB ports!!! NICE!! 1 for connecting to a computer, then "turn on USB storage" on the tablet and it shows up instantly as a drive in "my computer". No restrictions, I can put any file anywhere on the tab. The other USB port lets me write to or read from other USB devices, tried a memory stick, and mp3 player. Unexpected bonus. I dont have to write files I already have on a memory stick to the SD card then to the tab I can transfer in one step from the memory stick or MP3 player. Plays more media formats than it claims. I even tried the old MPEG 1 (VCD) format and it played with good quality. Other reviews mentioned "hiccups". Well only if you are running more than 1 app at a time, MAYBE you will get a hiccup but not usually. I had a PDF reader, google services, and Angry Birds running simultaneously and only then did Angry Birds take alot of time between stages to load, however it did load and work. Once I shut down the PDF reader Angry Birds worked great. Is it an IPAD? No but I can take it places and not worry about breaking it because it is so affordable to replace. Or I can give it to one of the kids and not worry about it getting broke because of the affordable price. I'm getting another one!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (236) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
droidgeek
VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does NOT work with Google App Store
9/27/2012

Customer review by Sadie508

1.0 stars 9/27/2012 by Sadie508
by Sadie508

This is my first tablet, so maybe I should have known better, but this tablet does NOT work with the google play store which means apps that are avail via google are not avail for use on this tablet even though they are android based apps. Again, maybe I should have known this before I purchased. Since the apps I bought this for are only on google, I am unable to use this tablet. That part aside, the tablet only charged for 48 min and would not accept a charge anymore and would only run on battery power. I was unable to figure out how to change the clock so the time is incorrect; there are no instruction on how to do this; and the limited instructions that come with didn't match what is happening on the screen. Additionally, the screen is not very sensitive and often found I had to press so hard it registered the touch as a click when I was only trying to scroll. Very frustrating. Would not recommend and am returning only hours after I received it. On the plus side, very quick delivery by Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sadie508
Hudson, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Great for frugal tech junkies.
7/23/2012

Customer review by ShiraG

4.0 stars 7/23/2012 by ShiraG
by ShiraG

I'm relatively new to tablets. Before this one I had a Polaroid 4" tablet with pretty weak specs and running Android 2.2 for $60. So I decided to trade it in and upgrade. For an extra $20 it was well worth it. The screen is clear and big enough to see and read clearly but not so big that it's cumbersome. I'm seeing a lot of reviews about the screen responsiveness. I had those problems too and so I figured it was the screen protector but that didn't help me either. (Note: Don't take it off! It's very helpful) But I discovered you can calibrate the screen by going to your Settings>Developer Options> Touchscreen Calibrate. It helped a lot. You still should get a stylus though, because this does seem to act like a resistive screen a bit. I was a bit disappointed when I found it didn't have a camera though. I went to several other sites that said it had one and some of the pictures for this device on this page show a camera on it. But Fortunately that wasn't a huge factor in my purchase. However, it does come with a mini-usb adapter. So maybe in the future, you can connect a usb camera and take pictures. I've heard recently that a developer was making an app to do that. So that would be cool. The app store that it comes with is pretty weak, I don't recommend it unless you want very very basic things, and even then, you may not find what you want. Instead, you can download the 1mobile app or the Amazon App store. (I prefer 1mobile because it doesn't require a credit card and it still has thousands of apps to choose from.) The user interface of ICS is a bit difficult to get at first. (I was able to understand it a bit more only because of youtube videos, ha!) After that, it's easy to get the hang of. Also, the earphones it comes with are pretty weak, I suggest using your own headphones if you can. Overall, this device is great for it's price. No $80 tablet will run 100% the way you would like it to. So I suggest trying to get used to the little things that may annoy you or find a way around it. I hope this helps. God bless! :D

Was this review helpful? (75) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShiraG
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
You Get What You Pay for In this case
11/10/2012

Customer review by Gadzooks

1.0 stars 11/10/2012 by Gadzooks
by Gadzooks

I am writing this review on behalf of my son. He saved and saved for this tablet--about $90. We researched tablets, and at the time he purchased this one it had higher reviews, so he decided he would go with one that wasn't name brand. This was purchased in July, and totally stopped working in October. He can send it back to the manufacturer under warranty to get it fixed--BUT he has to pay for labor costs. Wow, isn't that usually the most expensive part????? Prior to breaking, I tried to used this tablet and found the touch controls annoying and slow. My son was ok with it because it's all he knew. Plus, there really aren't any parent controls on this--a big drawback (we all know gross stuff can pop up when innocent phrases are entered). We have other ematic products for the kiddos and they are ok...this one is just a major bummer and I feel bad for my son.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gadzooks
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Frustrating piece of technology....ugh
8/9/2012

Customer review by athleticmama

1.0 stars 8/9/2012 by athleticmama
by athleticmama

Just got this yesterday...had read the bad reviews thought maybe it was overproduction that caused some of the problems others had stated and thought I'd take a chance. Got it out of the box, turned it on, immediately connected to my wifi, it worked like a breeze. I set up my email and my kobo account and downloaded some apps for my kids to play. Battery started getting low. Plugged it in and went to bed. Well..needless to say...now my touchscreen won't respond at all. I can't punch my password in or anything. I can't even do a factory restore on it to erase all my information. I will be returning this darn thing today....one frustrated woman over here!!!

Was this review helpful? (27) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
athleticmama
Lebanon, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Not good at all.
8/10/2012

Customer review by JumbledThoughts

1.0 stars 8/10/2012 by JumbledThoughts
by JumbledThoughts

Before I purchased this tablet online, I read all the reviews. The good outweighed the bad. I wish that I thought twice about all the bad reviews! They were true! As soon as I got it and turned it on, it died within an hour. It glitches. It takes forever for apps to load. The button is in place, but feels as if it could fall out any minute. You basically have to punch the screen with your finger for it to comprehend you want it to do something. It just feels cheaply made. I recieved this tablet on Wednesday, and now I'm taking it back today, Friday.

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JumbledThoughts
Bowling Green, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Don't Buy
8/13/2012

Customer review by wcatt

1.0 stars 8/13/2012 by wcatt
by wcatt

Terrible tablet, slow response; touchscreen inaccurate, continually activates the section next to that touched. My PC with Hard Drive boots faster. You can't download FREE apps without giving them a Credit Card. The most annoying is the placement of the Power Button, it is right where you would pick up the tablet and I am always hitting the power by accident. The other crazy thing about the buttons is the +/- volume buttons are not next to each other; the + is next to the Power and the - is separate; another reason for accidentally hitting the Power button.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wcatt
FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good for the price.
8/23/2012

Customer review by doodlebuger

3.0 stars 8/23/2012 by doodlebuger
by doodlebuger

Connects to wifi good no matter where I have been. The screen works best if you have finger nails. Touching with the tips of fingers don't bring alot of response. Good for kids staring out.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
doodlebuger
alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
What I expected
10/16/2012

Customer review by Multiplemomof7

4.0 stars 10/16/2012 by Multiplemomof7
by Multiplemomof7

It's not my iPad, but for my 7 & 10 year olds, it's not bad either. It doesn't have a super fast processor, And I didn't expect that. My kids will be able to use it for their games, and for reading. It's about as fast as a cell phone, and the "touch screen" is more of a "push screen". Which is ok. All in all, I think Christmas morning, I'm going to have some happy kids that are smiling and quiet for the most part. What more could a parent ask for on Christmas morning?! That and this didn't break the bank!

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Multiplemomof7
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Not worth it...
7/26/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 7/26/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I don't know if I got a defective one or not but I've had so many problems with this tablet. I returned it the same day I got it thats how bad it was. Pros: -Plays non-HD videos just fine. -Easy plug and play microSD slot. -Has youtube app but plays only some videos on youtube. -No lag playing games. Cons: -Speakers emit a static/crackle noise when not playing music and videos. -Charging cable works randomly even a little touch of the cable and the charging light would go off. -Slow at loading webpages -I didn't get all the preloaded apps that was mentioned on the item description. -Touch screen wasn't that great had to really press on it to work properly (yes I've taken the plastic cover off that it came with from factory.# -Very low battery life mines would last only about an hour watching videos after being fully charged. -Horrible speakers I have tape players that sound better. -Takes a long time to boot up I've timed it 2-3 minutes. -Doesn't come with a usb cord came with a usb "female" adaptor cord so you can't connect it to your pc you would need to buy it seperately. -Lots of glare if using in sunlight. -Navagation of menus is slow too I noticed a lot of lag just switching screens. -Couldn't load some of my pdf files. #I've updated the office suit too# All in all I'm just glad I could return this product so easily at my local walmart. I would not recommend this tablet to anyone. Tips: -Cleaning the screen after taking the plastic screen protector from factory off will help the touch screen react better. #use proper lcd cleaning agents and microfiber cloths only !!# -Walmart doesn't refund shipping costs.

Was this review helpful? (20) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
horrible tablet!
11/16/2012

Customer review by organicmom24

1.0 stars 11/16/2012 by organicmom24
by organicmom24
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Battery was dead upon arrival & couldnt hold charge on the first one i bought plus scratches were on back and front. :( was very dissapounted, returned it, bought another to find it was on reboot upon arrival and never chagned, took it to our computer repair,& they said it couldnt even be fixed, dont waste your money on this !

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
organicmom24
naples fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great item if you already know how to use it!
8/2/2012

Customer review by TheQueenofQuiteALot

2.0 stars 8/2/2012 by TheQueenofQuiteALot
by TheQueenofQuiteALot

The price was right and it was delivered quickly. However, it said "No driver was found for the Android-- consult the manufacturer." I emailed the company (no phone number). That was over 2 weeks ago and still no response. However, the item eventually started working. I loved the access to the daily newspapers from around the world and the ability to check emails (although writing emails back is difficult unless you have tiny fingers and lots of patience), directions, googling restaurants, etc. In the end, since there was no response to my email from Day #2 of purchase, I couldn't take the chance of having problems down the line and not having access to any tech support, so this item was returned after 10 days.

Was this review helpful? (10) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheQueenofQuiteALot
Pasadena, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Spend another 20 bucks
9/13/2012

Customer review by seth8442

2.0 stars 9/13/2012 by seth8442
by seth8442

I bought four cheap tablets to compare them, with the intent of only keeping one. The Ematic egl25bl will NOT be the one I keep. The screen is not totally unresponsive, but definitely takes some getting used to. I don't have particularly rough or muscular hands but I found I had to use only my pinky finger with exactly the right amount of pressure to get screen gestures and the on-screen keyboard to work close to reliably. Overall, it feels really slow. Nothing is smooth. Even going from the home screen to the All Apps screen, the icons stutter as they come into view. That being said, I still thought I was getting a decent machine for cheap money. It does have Android ICS on it and while you can't use Google Play, you can get most of the apps you need from the Amazon app store. My four tablets arrived in two different shipments, so I had played with the Ematic for a full week before my Visual Land Connect 7" tablet showed up. As soon as I turned on the VL Connect, I realized just how bad the Ematic really was. The difference is amazing. Screen gestures and typing are way better on the VLC, and everything is SO much faster. I mean, not a little bit, but something on the order of two or three times faster. At the time I bought my tablets, the Visual Land Connect was an extra $20. Spend a little extra money and skip the Ematic.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
seth8442
NH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Beyond Disappointed
11/11/2012

Customer review by Graciousgranny

1.0 stars 11/11/2012 by Graciousgranny
by Graciousgranny

My ematic came a day or 2 before expected and I was quite excited. Excited because of the price and everything that it was "capable" of doing. Well, much to my chagrin, after charging the tablet ALL night, it would not remain on and I had to keep pushing the "on" button. To make matters worse, it was not fully charged after charging all night and then would not hold a charge. It did connect effortlessly to my WiFi and I was extremely grateful for that and thought I was on my way. I was able to receive and send emails with no problem. I was just frustrated trying to keep the thing on!! SO, I decided to try the Kindle Fire again and returned this one to WalMart. When something is too good to be true, it is!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Graciousgranny
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Batthery Life is 1 hour, No Online Apps
11/7/2012

Customer review by PeeDee59

1.0 stars 11/7/2012 by PeeDee59
by PeeDee59
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

* Hardware is good & solid * Batter life is only 1 hour so must be near power outlet to use * Severly limited in online Applicatons. No access to Google Android Apps & other online Tablet Application sites. You can see great lists of applications but when you try to download them you get message your tablet is not supported. * Poor USB connection to your PC. Requres Windows 7 or greater on your system to connect by USB. My tablet only connected successfully one time to my current Dell Laptop Windows 7 system. This is severly limiting since it's the number one way to load the tablet with Ebooks, Music, AudioBook & Movies. I have hundreds of these but can't load them on my laptop except thru the MicroSD card. THis means I have to manually convert the file formats so Ematic will play them...

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PeeDee59
Travelers Rest, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/17/2012

Customer review by ryanncass

1.0 stars 11/17/2012 by ryanncass
by ryanncass
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is one of the worst tablets ever made. Touch screen does not respond well unless you use a stylus. Tablet is very slow. I returned it with in a day it was so bad. Spend the extra money and buy something else.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ryanncass
oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works awesome for its price.
9/6/2012

Customer review by DiceyDitto

5.0 stars 9/6/2012 by DiceyDitto
by DiceyDitto

This was awesome. I didn't really have a problem with touchscreen calibration, but I did notice that there was a problem with it going "back" to previous applications a lot. The wifi connected really well. And some of the apps didn't work properly but it comes with a lot of useful apps. After one or two falls the back popped off. Though that was easily fixed by simply popping it back on. Other than that you can download, things like Netflix, youtube and Facebook and they work really well. The speakers are kind of weak, I had to get a speaker to attach to it. And a lot of the "back" problems are fixed by a keyboard.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DiceyDitto
Huntsville, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 112 total reviews
1-20 of 112 reviews