Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 294 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

294 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

294 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
130
4 stars
51
3 stars
15
2 stars
17
1 stars
81
1-20 of 269 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 269 total reviews
1-20 of 269 reviews
Clarify the 5 star to 1 star reviews
5/17/2014

Customer review by Meaningwell

5.0 stars 5/17/2014 by Meaningwell
by Meaningwell

I was confused by the reviews that rated this meter so well while others rated this meter so poorly. I took a chance and purchased it and decided to write this review to help others. Upon getting the meter I decided to make a comparison using another Relion meter called the Ultima and another called the Freestyle Freedom Lite. I compared these meters side by side each time I took a reading I would use blood taken from the same finger at the same time. Each time the readings from the meters were compared and most of the time they were within 5 to 10 points from one another the biggest difference noted was 20 points. My wife is a endocrinologist and she said these measurement differences are within the normal range. Over the years I had the expensive brand meters and these had $1 per test cost with no great accuracy benefit over my Relion Ultima meter so I have used the Ultima over the last few years and periodically I will compare my Ultima to other high cost meters to make sure it operates well, so far I have never had a problem. When I became aware Relion came out with the Prime meter I had to try it. I have satisfied myself that the Prime is accurate and it takes no more blood to operate it than the ultima or my other meters so this is not a factor either. What I do believe is an important factor is that with the tests costing so much less people can afford to test often and adjust their medication or insulin intake better thereby benefiting from having better control of their diabetes. For some people who are very limited on funds it may be the difference between having some monitoring than not. So I am very thrilled that this meter is on the market. A final note. The meter comes with a case and that is all. You will need to use a lancet you already have or buy one. The case for the Relion Prime is not that well designed as the meter easily comes off its holster. However these are minor complaints to bring forth. I hope this review helps others who like myself was wondering how a meter can get such polarizing reviews. This is a fine meter in my estimation.

Was this review helpful? (497) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Meaningwell
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A very good value
2/18/2014

Customer review by REOSpeedwagon

4.0 stars 2/18/2014 by REOSpeedwagon
by REOSpeedwagon

I have been a type 1 diabetic for many, many years. I am now 62 years old and have tested myself...quite literally, 100's of thousands of times. I have used pretty much all of the meters available out there today. I can remember when meters were not around... I purchased the Reli-On Prime because my insurance no longer covers test strips for the One-Touch and FreeStyle. My first impression was much like other reviewers...inaccurate, but after a few days I figured out that this system is actually quite good if one takes a few precautions. Read the instructions carefully. Insert the test strip quickly and fully, watch for the full screen that will then change to the apply blood symbol. If you do not see both of these...start over. Be sure your hands are clean and dry as this system seems more sensitive than others to such. Give the meter a few seconds after it goes to the "apply blood" mode. Do not apply too much blood as this can cause a high reading, esp. if it is applied to the top of the strip. I test myself 5-7 times daily before injecting insulin so cannot afford to purchase the ridiculously expensive strips. I think this is a great meter for throughout the day tests where I need a +/- 10 accuracy so I know how much insulin to take. I also purchased a ReliOn Micro with the more expensive strips for those times when I need very close accuracy...it tested almost exactly with the FreeStyle. And following the above regimen...the Prime and Micro run within +/- 9. I understand that many newly diagnosed diabetics might have trouble with this system...but it is a wonderful thing for me given the costs. I am 5' 8" inches tall, weigh 140 lbs., and used to race bicycles. I mention this because my standards are very high.

Was this review helpful? (135) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
REOSpeedwagon
Palm Springs, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Small, portable and easy to use!
6/18/2012

Customer review by SF415

5.0 stars 6/18/2012 by SF415
by SF415

This system is so easy to use. It's small and portable to bring with you every day to monitor your levels. It's seems quite durable as I've dropped it several times and it still works like a charm. I've used other systems and this one by far was super easy! Others were pricey, where this was not. I would definitely recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (201) (44)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SF415
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
Good low cost tester
7/26/2012

Customer review by bgtg2005

5.0 stars 7/26/2012 by bgtg2005
by bgtg2005

I was just diagnosed with diabetes and had been some research on testing supplies and this by far along with the strips is the BEST low cost option out there. It is easy to use and easy to read. This is a great meter.

Was this review helpful? (126) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bgtg2005
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Glucose tester
6/8/2012

Customer review by EC42

4.0 stars 6/8/2012 by EC42
by EC42

I've been using this tester for a couple weeks now and it does a good job for me. This does everything I need in a nice compact unit. I like the fact that it came with a case that can hold your test strips, lancets, etc. It also has a memory, so if you forget to write your readings down, you can scroll back through the previous tests. All in all, I'm satisfied with this system.

Was this review helpful? (54) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EC42
San Francisco
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
A Decent Blood-Glucose meter
12/13/2012

Customer review by Roadmon

4.0 stars 12/13/2012 by Roadmon
by Roadmon

I got the ReliOn Prime because the test strips are so inexpensive. Formerly I have used the ReliOn Micro, which I actually like better than the "Prime." The problem with the Micro is that the test strips (Vampire strips I call 'em) are more costly than the Prime's. What I like about the Micro: Small size; It beeps when it is turned on and when the reading is complete; it came with a lancing device; the container for the test strips is compact. What I dislike about the Prime: It does not come with a lancing device; the container for the strips is round and not compact, like the container for the Micro's strips. The Prime does not beep, but I haven't fully read the instructions; there may be a way to make it do that. It is more difficult to insert a test strip into the Prime, and it is a more awkward meter to grip; it slips out of your hand rather easily. Until I got the hang of using the Prime, I got E-13 errors, "not enough blood," but now I am more skillful at getting readings. I am going to buy another Prime to use at work.

Was this review helpful? (45) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Roadmon
Springfield, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GOOD deal !!
8/23/2012

Customer review by QNMOMMY

5.0 stars 8/23/2012 by QNMOMMY
by QNMOMMY

So, for anyone who has done this blood sugar testing for awhile -- glucose monitors are about a dime a dozen these days, and there are a lot of good ones in the mix. Yeah, getting them for zero or little cost (like the free ones from the doctor) is great! BUT what will break you is the ongoing cost of supplies. This one is different because the test strips are the icing on the cake at only $9 per pack of 50 strips. THAT is what makes this monitor so attractive. I have noticed the test strips are blowing off the shelves at many stores, but you can also get them online. As well, you can get a "pickup today" option free, online, where you just run to the store and they have already pulled the item and tagged it for you. Great time saver!! This monitor so far has been very reliable. It is also easy to use, not too crazy or complicated. I would highly recommend this testing system to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (55) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
QNMOMMY
Fredericksburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I Prefer My ReliOn Prime
7/8/2014

Customer review by TwelveBars

5.0 stars 7/8/2014 by TwelveBars
by TwelveBars

I've been testing with an Accu-Chek Active meter since 2006. Recently my doctor changed my meds and for a while wants me to test before and after every meal and at bedtime. That's seven times a day and you can run through a lot of strips in a hurry, at $73 for fifty Accu-Chek. I saw the ReliOn advertised on television with fifty strips for 9 bucks, so I bought a ReliOn Prime. For two weeks now I've been testing with both meters side by side, same time, same blood sample, and comparing the readings. The ReliOn consistently reads about 30 points lower than the Accu-Chek. I don't know which one is accurate, or even if either one is accurate, but that doesn't concern me. The reading isn't as important to me as the trending, and with my new meds my readings are trending lower. I prefer my ReliOn Prime because it is easier to use, requires less blood, and is more compact... and of course the strips are more affordable.

Was this review helpful? (45) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TwelveBars
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great basic glucometer!
9/6/2013

Customer review by RCinSF

5.0 stars 9/6/2013 by RCinSF
by RCinSF

I have been diabetic for 20 years, but bought this for one of my dogs that was recently diagnosed, because the test strips are only $9 per 50 strips. Mine are $75!!! I compared it on myself with my Accu-Chek Aviva, and the Prime meter tested only 2 points lower. I ordered the control solution online, (There is a toll free # in your manual to order), to make sure it is working properly, and it is! Highly recommend you order the control solution to make sure your meter is working properly, and it is FREE! READ,READ, READ your manual FIRST, and there are numbers in your manual if you have any issues with the meter. Like other reviewers, the only downside is the placement of the slot for the test strips. It is located very low, and is awkward/hard to see, but tilting it up when you insert the test strip makes it easier. Highly recommend this meter and will probably use it for myself when my other one dies, as the test strips are so cheap! The Prime meter is great!

Was this review helpful? (30) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RCinSF
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to Use
6/11/2012

Customer review by AngMomOfTwo

5.0 stars 6/11/2012 by AngMomOfTwo
by AngMomOfTwo

The ReliOn Glucose Monitor is easy to use. My grandmother's vision is not the best, but she found this monitor to be very easy to understand and very easy to read the results. She was very impressed with the ability to go back and see the read previous readings which will make it much easier to make sure she has written down her 4 blood sugar measures she must take throughout the day. The little pouch holds all of the strips and accessories. Great value product!

Was this review helpful? (102) (39)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AngMomOfTwo
Hayward, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
This meter makes me so angry, I wrote a review.
2/6/2014

Customer review by Gr8Ray

1.0 stars 2/6/2014 by Gr8Ray
by Gr8Ray

Picking this meter was a pretty easy decision, since they were out of the strips for my normal Relion Confirm meter, and the strips for this one are half the price. However, when I got it home and conducted several side-by-side tests with my old meter, it became clear to me that this new meter was grossly inaccurate. That was when I could actually get a reading out of it. It constantly throws an E13 error (not enough blood) even though I've put so much blood on it the strip is practically dripping. This causes you to have to use twice as many strips, so forget about saving money. The last time I used it I got five E13 errors in a row. Luckily I had already decided to go back to using my old meter, and had a new box of strips at the ready. I got an accurate reading on the first try, with 1/3 of the blood. I'm glad I kept the receipt, because this piece of junk is going back to the mfg.

Was this review helpful? (77) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gr8Ray
Ashland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not at all what I was hoping for
1/24/2013

Customer review by Lizzlegirl

1.0 stars 1/24/2013 by Lizzlegirl
by Lizzlegirl

I am a type 2 diabetic that has used two meters that require prescriptions for the test strips, a Freestyle machine with samples given to me by my doctor, and the ReliOn Prime. My other machines give me pretty consistent results and are within range of one another. The cost of my prescription strips jumped from $30 to $80, so I had to look for a new meter, which I chose the ReliOn Prime. I was pretty happy to find something so inexpensive and at first the readings were a tiny bit higher than what the other meters gave me, but not by a huge amount. Then the crazy readings began. I eat a low carb diet, mostly sticking with meat and veggies. My readings are usually between 80 and 120. Even if I overeat at a meal my readings rarely ever go above 120. I take medication, so my levels stay pretty good and consistent. The first few days I was getting readings of 109 after waking up each morning. A little higher than normal, but I could live with that. After a meal of chicken and broccoli, my meter showed a pre-meal number of 90 and after meal was 256! I've had chicken and broccoli numerous times and never had a reading that high since I was first diagnosed! So I checked again a minute later. The reading was 132. Well, that's still a little high for me, but better than 256! An hour later I tested again. First number was 250, second number was 136. I've tested multiple times since then and the numbers are always random. Another instance was after having lunch a few days ago and including black beans, which I normally don't eat and knew would push my BG up some. The readings at 45 minutes, one hour, and two hours registered between 90-95. A light meal of chicken (just chicken) was 130! For some folks those would be dream numbers and may sound like I'm complaining for nothing, but having checked my blood sugar regularly every day for the past year, I know what my numbers should be. I can't speak for the other ReliOn products, but so far my experience with ReliOn Prime has not been a good one.

Was this review helpful? (50) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lizzlegirl
Charleston, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Inexpensive but inaccurate
6/26/2013

Customer review by WelcometoWalmaht

1.0 stars 6/26/2013 by WelcometoWalmaht
by WelcometoWalmaht

The price difference between the ReliOn Prime glucometer's test strips and the Freestyle Lite glucometer I already have led to my buying this. It would be nice to save money testing blood sugar. But this device and the accompanying strips aren't accurate. I tested it on a control solution, and got five different readings, all high, all inconsistent with each other. Additionally, the amount of blood required by the ReliOn Prime strips is significantly larger than the Freestyle, which is minscule to the point of being magical. The Freestyle uses capillary action to draw a tiny blood dot into the testing chamber. The Prime requires that you smear a larger drop of blood on the bottom of the strip. So for now, I will begrudgingly continue to use the (more expensive) Freestyle unit until the next generation of glucometers is available, and I recommend that people avoid this product if they want accurate readings.

Was this review helpful? (59) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WelcometoWalmaht
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Test Strip Problems
7/13/2014

Customer review by JusticeIronfist

4.0 stars 7/13/2014 by JusticeIronfist
by JusticeIronfist

Well I have 3 of these Relion Testers. One for the house, one for the car, and one for work. Because If not I lose them or forget them. What I have found is you can get a bad batch of strips. I will get the E13 error on over 15 strips out of a batch and test 5 on each tester while receiving the same error. However, when I grab a different batch of strips they all work correctly and within the same numbers varying maybe a point at times. The E13 code is for not enough blood but when the batch of strips are bad you can saturate it and you will get the error. I get a received a bad batch of strips about 3 times in the last couple of years.However given the price compared to the competition it still is more cost efficient. Mine have always read on par with the doctor's office.

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JusticeIronfist
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
ReliOn is unreliable !
9/24/2012

Customer review by ReliOff

1.0 stars 9/24/2012 by ReliOff
by ReliOff

I bought the ReliOn monitor and test strips to use while I was waiting for delivery of FreeStyle Lite test strips. The readings I got over a weeks testing were all over the place when compared to the log I keep. When the FreeStyle Lite test strips arrived I compared readings done with both. The worst was a difference of 34 points. I would recommend the ReliOn alcohol swabs, but NOT the blood glucose monitor or test strips. If you don't like the reading you get with ReliOn ,,, just take another reading to get a different result.

Was this review helpful? (33) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ReliOff
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Waste of money
1/23/2014

Customer review by easttxgranny

1.0 stars 1/23/2014 by easttxgranny
by easttxgranny

I bought this when I ran out of my other product. I tried it and it seemed to run high. I had one of my friends use it to compare it with hers and it was a lot higher reading. Then I tried it against another meter and it was at least 39 points higher. I e mailed the company and waited a week, no reply. I then called and had to talk to 2 different people and they told me that everytime I use this I should have a different meter to comapre the reading to if I feel like it is to high. They said they would send the solution to test it with but that would take a couple of weeks to receive it. It's now been 3 weeks since I bought the meter and I have not been able to get a true reading on my blood sugar. If I have to keep buying my old strips to be able to check the results of these then how am I saving money. I am going back to my old strips and meter and these will go in the garbage where they belong.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
easttxgranny
East TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
High glucose readings
11/5/2012

Customer review by Swampratxxv

1.0 stars 11/5/2012 by Swampratxxv
by Swampratxxv

Very disappointing. The Prime consistently gives high readings: 45 - 80 point too high. I have noticed that other reviewers have the same problem. I have, in the past used the ReliON Micro and Confirm meters and they were absolutely great! With in 5 -8 points of my other meter (which I calibrate at Dr's office and compare with lab results). I tried the Prime because of the low price of test strips, but with consistently high glucose readings, I cannot trust this meter for insulin usage. I use a 2nd meter part of the time due to the high price of test strips for my main meter. I check glucose 6-8 times daily. I will go back to the Micro and gladly pay the little higher price for strips. I can trust the Micro!

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Swampratxxv
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This meter DOES WORK...
12/10/2013

Customer review by DaveinNevada

3.0 stars 12/10/2013 by DaveinNevada
by DaveinNevada

If you have money to burn by all means get the One Touch Ultra or others (BTW the One Touch does not do well in testing against others). This meter I've been using for a year and a half as a backup meter to my Relion Micro. When I test with the Relion Micro and then the Relion Prime they are always within a few points of each other. NEWSFLASH...Your Glucose levels are constantly changing. Testing is a "BALL PARK" figure to let you know APPROXIMATELY what you are at that given moment. No consumer meter is 100 percent accurate. And even glucose testing at a medical facility will only tell you what your glucose was at that moment. I'm a TYPE 1. I need to know what my glucose levels are before I inject insulin to make sure I'm not low. This meter is OK to use. People slamming it for being wildly inaccurate I think you may have a bad meter or strips. I use this as a backup and pay for the strips out of pocket. I let my insurance pay for the Relion Micro strips as they are more expensive. This way I'm covered if I need to do additional testing beyond what my prescription is written for which is often required if you are sick or doing exercise or other physical activity. For now the Relion Micro will stay the primary with insurance paying for most (My copay for the Micro strips is still more than if I just pay for the strips of the Relion Prime). I may in the future abandon the Micro and go to this meter completely. Like I said it tests within a few points of my Micro consistently and I have had very few bad strips in the year and a half that I've used it. You can pay MANY TIMES what these strips cost and only have maybe a few points more accurate...And what does that really matter since your glucose level can change a couple of points within a minute. It's all part of the big money making off of Diabetics. Heck if you have money to burn just get yourself a OmniPod and CGMS...That should only cost you about $8000 a year in supplies...And then you'll have better (slightly) control...That's what the ADA and Endocronologists will tell you is best...Can't imagine why...

Was this review helpful? (26) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DaveinNevada
Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Test strips are cheaper but not accurate
3/10/2013

Customer review by possumlips

1.0 stars 3/10/2013 by possumlips
by possumlips

I had a few Relion Micro test strips left when i bought this Prime meter so i tested the same drop of blood and the Prime meter was always alot higher.As high as 75 points.I bought it because the test strips were the lowest cost of all other walmart brands.Another problem that happens alot is when you slide the test strip in, it sometimes doesn't turn on the meter and if you don't notice it and add blood,you wasted a strip.There is no beep when it turns on or gives results and i didn't see in the manual how to turn the sound on.Maybe i bought a bad meter? It is also difficult to insert the strip in the narrow slot.I'll be going back to my old meter as soon as i use up the strips.I buy Relion swabs and syringes and they're the best buy for someone like me with no insurance but i'm disapointed in this meter.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
possumlips
oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
Measures way high
9/12/2012

Customer review by ElmerF

1.0 stars 9/12/2012 by ElmerF
by ElmerF

I have used it for 6 measurements using the Relion and my Freestyle Light. The Frestyle has been compared to my Dr.'s measurement and is close to my FS meter's. The Relion is an average of 64 points higher and is not consistently different. But it is always higher, never lower. I have never seen fasting (AM) or after exercise readings as high as the Relion gives. I will return it for another and see if it gives different results.

Was this review helpful? (24) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ElmerF
Boise, ID
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 269 total reviews
1-20 of 269 reviews