Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 322 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

322 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

322 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

68%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
147
4 stars
55
3 stars
15
2 stars
17
1 stars
88
1-20 of 297 total reviews
68%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 297 total reviews
1-20 of 297 reviews
Great basic glucometer!
9/6/2013

Customer review by RCinSF

5.0 stars 9/6/2013 by RCinSF
by RCinSF
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have been diabetic for 20 years, but bought this for one of my dogs that was recently diagnosed, because the test strips are only $9 per 50 strips. Mine are $75!!! I compared it on myself with my Accu-Chek Aviva, and the Prime meter tested only 2 points lower. I ordered the control solution online, (There is a toll free # in your manual to order), to make sure it is working properly, and it is! Highly recommend you order the control solution to make sure your meter is working properly, and it is FREE! READ,READ, READ your manual FIRST, and there are numbers in your manual if you have any issues with the meter. Like other reviewers, the only downside is the placement of the slot for the test strips. It is located very low, and is awkward/hard to see, but tilting it up when you insert the test strip makes it easier. Highly recommend this meter and will probably use it for myself when my other one dies, as the test strips are so cheap! The Prime meter is great!

Was this review helpful? (46) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RCinSF
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Waste of money
1/23/2014

Customer review by easttxgranny

1.0 stars 1/23/2014 by easttxgranny
by easttxgranny

I bought this when I ran out of my other product. I tried it and it seemed to run high. I had one of my friends use it to compare it with hers and it was a lot higher reading. Then I tried it against another meter and it was at least 39 points higher. I e mailed the company and waited a week, no reply. I then called and had to talk to 2 different people and they told me that everytime I use this I should have a different meter to comapre the reading to if I feel like it is to high. They said they would send the solution to test it with but that would take a couple of weeks to receive it. It's now been 3 weeks since I bought the meter and I have not been able to get a true reading on my blood sugar. If I have to keep buying my old strips to be able to check the results of these then how am I saving money. I am going back to my old strips and meter and these will go in the garbage where they belong.

Was this review helpful? (30) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
easttxgranny
East TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Not worth the savings
12/29/2015

Customer review by KellyAnn

1.0 stars 12/29/2015 by KellyAnn
by KellyAnn

This meter constantly gave me extremely high readings. I tried another brand and got normal results. I am very disappointed. The entire time I was testing with this I thought my blood sugar was extremely high. Very dangerous when trying to keep your levels normal. The last time I tested with this brand it gave me a reading of 296 while my other meter read 184. Huge Difference! I will not recommend this meter to anyone I know.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KellyAnn
Would recommend to a friend? No
wonderful surprise, great product
2/27/2014

Customer review by captain5512

5.0 stars 2/27/2014 by captain5512
by captain5512

I got this meter a month ago for my mom when hers stopping even with new batteries. We tried everything from One Touch to Contour to reilone ultima. After reading the reviews and looking up on the web, I got this for her to try. What a surprise! This meter is very easy to use and very accurate. My mom is 88 and loves it she said it easy to read and use for her since she has to test 4 times a day. When we went to the doctor's two weeks ago I checked against their machine on the same hand and same finger right after the nurse did it It Was within 5 points of each other. The nurse told me that 20 to 40 points on different machines is normal the ones for home are not as complex as theirs is. I had read that on the web as well. Tuesday mom went to have a heart catheterization and stayed over night I decided to if it would stand to the test and it did! I tested it twice first right after the nurse and the second 10 minutes after both were 5 points differents. THIS A GREAT METER for a GREAT PRICE and so are the strips you can't go wrong.

Was this review helpful? (21) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
captain5512
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GOOD deal !!
8/23/2012

Customer review by QNMOMMY

5.0 stars 8/23/2012 by QNMOMMY
by QNMOMMY

So, for anyone who has done this blood sugar testing for awhile -- glucose monitors are about a dime a dozen these days, and there are a lot of good ones in the mix. Yeah, getting them for zero or little cost (like the free ones from the doctor) is great! BUT what will break you is the ongoing cost of supplies. This one is different because the test strips are the icing on the cake at only $9 per pack of 50 strips. THAT is what makes this monitor so attractive. I have noticed the test strips are blowing off the shelves at many stores, but you can also get them online. As well, you can get a "pickup today" option free, online, where you just run to the store and they have already pulled the item and tagged it for you. Great time saver!! This monitor so far has been very reliable. It is also easy to use, not too crazy or complicated. I would highly recommend this testing system to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (66) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
QNMOMMY
Fredericksburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Just OK meter but it uses SUPER CHEAP test strips
10/10/2012

Customer review by coastcats2

3.0 stars 10/10/2012 by coastcats2
by coastcats2

After spending ridiculous amounts of money on the test strips for the "name brand" meters, I finally found this Relion Prime meter. From what I have found after lots of searching, this Prime meter uses the CHEAPEST test strips I've ever seen.....50 Prime test strips are only $9.00, so that fact alone makes this meter the one I will use almost all the time. The meter itself is just OK. It feels lighter and not quite as substantial as the other ones I've used. Comparing the results of this Prime meter and with my Freestyle, the Prime results are ALWAYS at least 15-20 points higher than the Freestyle. Makes you wonder which one is more accurate. However, I like the blue and red color choices with the Prime meters, I've not seen that on any other meter. Even with the slightly higher results this Prime machine produces, I will continue to use it as my main meter for its super cheap test strips. Kind of a no brainer when with the one time purchase of a $16 Prime meter you can get 50 test strips for $9 instead of $75 or more for the "name brands." Love Walmart.com for giving me a cost-effective blood sugar monitoring solution!

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
coastcats2
Tri-Cities, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Sorry But No Dice
10/19/2012

Customer review by MikeInPdx

2.0 stars 10/19/2012 by MikeInPdx
by MikeInPdx

I was thrilled to find this tester for such a reasonable price and the incredibly cheap test strips. I know it's not a good idea, but I had become lax in monitoring my blood glucose, and I wanted a meter to get myself back on track. At first, I was alarmed when I started monitoring. My type 2 diabetes couldn't have progressed THAT much (I hoped). But I stuck with it several days. I started getting suspicious when I received an alarmingly high morning pre-meal reading. I had behaved the night before, and my sugars should have been well below what the meter registered. So, I went out, and bought another meter with some control solution. Did a control test and found the reli-on to be nearly 60 points higher than the other meter. Disappointing. I am currently awaiting control solution from reli-on to do a control test. If it does not register withing the numbered guidelines, I will contact the company and let them know. Still, it is a little disappointing to confirm the number of high readings that other reviewers have here. However, I am happy to say, that the numbers were not nearly as bad as I originally thought.

Was this review helpful? (23) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MikeInPdx
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Cheaper strips
1/29/2016

Customer review by TT123

5.0 stars 1/29/2016 by TT123
by TT123

I assit my 80yo mother and agree it is a bit difficult for her to use these strips because they are smaller and harder to insert into the meter than Accucheck Aviva. I did comparison for 1 week and the only reading that was significantly different was the very first test. All other tests have been within 5 from Accucheck. You can't beat the cost. I will keep both meters and let her use the Accucheck if she needs to do it by herself, but most of the time will be using ReliOn Prime.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TT123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No Cable to Download Readings
12/29/2015

Customer review by MikeS

1.0 stars 12/29/2015 by MikeS
by MikeS

The box clearly says downloadable readings, but no cable is included. The meter requires a proprietary cable to connect to a computer. The meter does not have a standard mini or micro USB connector. I called ReliOn and they want $29 for the cable. They claim it is an option, but the box does not say optional or no cable included.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MikeS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Relion Prime Glucometer
1/28/2016

Customer review by GlucoIndy

5.0 stars 1/28/2016 by GlucoIndy
by GlucoIndy

I used 2 of these for a series of tests, always using them together. Their readings were consistent with each other. Numbers were also where I expected them to be.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GlucoIndy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
tm
1/27/2016

Customer review by lleger

4.0 stars 1/27/2016 by lleger
by lleger

Easy to use....stores results so I could see how I was doing

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lleger
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fast & easy to use.
1/19/2016

Customer review by MawMawNita

5.0 stars 1/19/2016 by MawMawNita
by MawMawNita

It was on sale so I thought I would try it. It works great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MawMawNita
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Small, portable and easy to use!
6/18/2012

Customer review by SF415

5.0 stars 6/18/2012 by SF415
by SF415
Walmart associate
Staff sparks

This system is so easy to use. It's small and portable to bring with you every day to monitor your levels. It's seems quite durable as I've dropped it several times and it still works like a charm. I've used other systems and this one by far was super easy! Others were pricey, where this was not. I would definitely recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (221) (44)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SF415
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
Readings too high - don't waste your money
7/11/2013

Customer review by Supahmom

1.0 stars 7/11/2013 by Supahmom
by Supahmom

This meter seemed like a great deal for me because I am 30 weeks pregnant and just testing for a couple of weeks to confirm that I don't have gestational diabetes (I failed the one hour glucose test and couldn't complete the 3-hour test#. I ran out of the strips that came free with my other meter and it was cheaper to buy the whole Relion system than to get extra strips for the one I already had. The Relion meter seems to give readings that are about 30mg/DL higher than the meter I had. This caused me to freak out a little #which one is right? I need to send the results to my doctor), but then I read other reviews that had the same problem. I'm upset because I wasted my money and it seems irresponsible that this product is out there giving false readings when accuracy is so important for people who need to monitor their blood glucose. Bottom line: don't buy this meter if you need accurate readings.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Supahmom
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Good low cost tester
7/26/2012

Customer review by bgtg2005

5.0 stars 7/26/2012 by bgtg2005
by bgtg2005

I was just diagnosed with diabetes and had been some research on testing supplies and this by far along with the strips is the BEST low cost option out there. It is easy to use and easy to read. This is a great meter.

Was this review helpful? (143) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bgtg2005
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Cheap but still not worth the money
6/14/2013

Customer review by unchienne

1.0 stars 6/14/2013 by unchienne
by unchienne

I purchased this after having changed insurance companies and finding myself with a co-pay on testing strips more than double what they were with my previous insurance. In hindsight, I should have put the money towards the increased pricing. At first glance, this meter looks fairly well-made. It doesn't look or feel flimsy, smooth corners, easy to read screen. However, that's where the illusion of quality ends. The port where the test strips go in is a joke. First of all, the strips themselves have a fairly large cut-out area at the top that goes into the meter; this makes them more prone to bending. Add to that the fact that the testing port is not smooth at all, and you have a recipe for frustration. Plus, the strips catch before fully entering the machine, which gives you the feeling that it's in, but you have to shove it about a little while longer (by then the machine will have turned off) to get it all the way. Man, it just feels so cheap. None of my other testing meters were like this. ReliOn is like the bubble-gum-machine version of glucose testers. Stay away unless you're absolutely flat broke and have no other alternatives.

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
unchienne
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good
1/5/2016

Customer review by Sissy

5.0 stars 1/5/2016 by Sissy
by Sissy

Good

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sissy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
as a former One Touch user, I am thrilled!!
8/22/2012

Customer review by dmstok

5.0 stars 8/22/2012 by dmstok
by dmstok

As a former One Touch user, I love the meter. It is so easy to use, and the strips are so much cheaper $9 vs. $50+ for the same amount of strips. The numbers on the meter are large and setup is so easy. No coding. I highly recommend

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dmstok
mooresville, nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent glucose tester/strips for the price.
3/3/2014

Customer review by StrangerInAStrangeLand

5.0 stars 3/3/2014 by StrangerInAStrangeLand
by StrangerInAStrangeLand
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have used this meter twice a day for a couple of weeks now, and my readings are always around what they should be. I have checked it against my old Accu-Chek Nano meter on several occasions, and this meter is always within 2 or 3 numbers of the Accu-Chek. I have not had any error codes on any of the strips, as some have reported. So I would recommend this meter highly due to it's accuracy and cost savings on the test strips.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StrangerInAStrangeLand
Lexington, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not reliable at all.
11/28/2012

Customer review by poedinal

1.0 stars 11/28/2012 by poedinal
by poedinal

Totally unreliable. Bought it yesterday. Fortunately I still have my old meter. It was working fine, I was just drawn in by the low price for the strips with the Relion. Tested with both this morning to see if the numbers would be close and the Relion results were 66 points higher than with my old Freestyle. I have wasted half a dozen of those cheap strips trying alternate test sites and getting various error messages of not enough blood etc. I'm taking it back and getting a refund.

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
poedinal
Odenville, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 297 total reviews
1-20 of 297 reviews