Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 381 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

381 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

381 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

66%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
170
4 stars
62
3 stars
18
2 stars
19
1 stars
112
1-20 of 355 total reviews
66%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 355 total reviews
1-20 of 355 reviews
Rely On...anything but reliable!
5/6/2016

Customer review by Pinto68

1.0 stars 5/6/2016 by Pinto68
by Pinto68

I don't right reviews, but this product needs to be taken off the market. I am pre diabetic and needed an inexpensive way to monitor my blood sugar since I am paying out of my pocket for all supplies. I have been using this monitor for 3 months or so. My Dad was diabetic so I know how serious diabetes is and I am VERY serious about my numbers! I am about 10 lbs under weight and have been denying myself calories trying everything to get my numbers down. Two days ago I broke down and bought a One Touch Ultra monitoring system and test strips just to compare the two. I was shocked at the difference in the readings!!! This morning there was a 28 point discrepancy!!!! It consistently reads around 20 points higher than the One Touch. Talk about angry! I have been denying myself calories and nutrition that I needed. Not to mention that for a diabetic on insulin a blood sugar reading of 60 that was actually 32 could be detrimental. Please...spend the extra money and get a name brand system. I know I will in the future!

Was this review helpful? (27) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pinto68
Would recommend to a friend? No
Please be wary
7/12/2016

Customer review by Larimar

1.0 stars 7/12/2016 by Larimar
by Larimar

I used this meter for a month because the testing strips were super affordable compared to the Freestyle Lite my doctor gave me. I remember scanning the aisle and noting that this meter's strips were the only strips available on the floor shelves. All other brands and meters' strips were safely tucked away behind the counter. A red flag immediately went up, but I ignored it because "only $9!" Well, unsurprisingly, "only $9" didn't get me very far. And apparently it didn't go very far for a lot of other people. Time and time again, I found that I got superficially high readings. 20, 30, and sometimes even 40mg/dl higher (though the average was more in the mid-20 range). Not only that, but the repeatability left much to be desired. From the same blood, or another drop on the same finger immediately following the first (or second, or third), the reading would fluctuate with a wide gap. 98 on one, 128 on another. 140 on one, 100 on another. My advice would be to research affordable meters and go at least two steps better than this, even if it means the strips are more expensive. What's the point in monitoring your blood glucose with a unit that often delivers unreliable and inaccurate results? Sure, the strips are cheap. I know what it's like to be so poor (yet not poor enough for assistance) you have to choose between food and medical help/devices. But in exchange for that $9, you can't be sure you're 1. getting your real numbers, 2. getting consistently real numbers, 3. getting a general trend of your numbers throughout the day before and after eating even if you try and compensate with a +20mg/dl error margin. Your health- and the knowledge you need to make it better- is worth more than $9 and rampant unreliability.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Larimar
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great basic glucometer!
9/6/2013

Customer review by RCinSF

5.0 stars 9/6/2013 by RCinSF
by RCinSF
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have been diabetic for 20 years, but bought this for one of my dogs that was recently diagnosed, because the test strips are only $9 per 50 strips. Mine are $75!!! I compared it on myself with my Accu-Chek Aviva, and the Prime meter tested only 2 points lower. I ordered the control solution online, (There is a toll free # in your manual to order), to make sure it is working properly, and it is! Highly recommend you order the control solution to make sure your meter is working properly, and it is FREE! READ,READ, READ your manual FIRST, and there are numbers in your manual if you have any issues with the meter. Like other reviewers, the only downside is the placement of the slot for the test strips. It is located very low, and is awkward/hard to see, but tilting it up when you insert the test strip makes it easier. Highly recommend this meter and will probably use it for myself when my other one dies, as the test strips are so cheap! The Prime meter is great!

Was this review helpful? (76) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RCinSF
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
seems to test very high
6/30/2016

Customer review by KDW3

1.0 stars 6/30/2016 by KDW3
by KDW3

I purchased this because it was so inexpensive. I had not read the reviews. I would never have purchased this item if I had! I have not been diagnosed with diabetes. My dad is insulin dependent. My A1C is a little on the high side. I just decided to try and keep an eye on my daily blood sugar. I have been eating low carb for two weeks now. But having headaches sometimes. This monitor has consistently given ridiculously high readings for morning fasting blood sugar and after small meal and exercise too. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KDW3
Would recommend to a friend? No
Junk!!!
5/30/2016

Customer review by John

1.0 stars 5/30/2016 by John
by John

I guess you pay for what u get. I bought this monitor 3 days ago because the test strips where so much cheaper. Check my blood and it's high. check it next day high. I thought wow i been watching what i eat not good. So i had couple test strips left with my other monitor. I get a 73 point lower difference with my other monitor. So i come on here to check the reviews And alot of other people with the same HIGH READING. Talk about scaring someone . I have never took the time to write a review. But this was so bad i thought i should.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
John
Would recommend to a friend? No
wonderful surprise, great product
2/27/2014

Customer review by captain5512

5.0 stars 2/27/2014 by captain5512
by captain5512

I got this meter a month ago for my mom when hers stopping even with new batteries. We tried everything from One Touch to Contour to reilone ultima. After reading the reviews and looking up on the web, I got this for her to try. What a surprise! This meter is very easy to use and very accurate. My mom is 88 and loves it she said it easy to read and use for her since she has to test 4 times a day. When we went to the doctor's two weeks ago I checked against their machine on the same hand and same finger right after the nurse did it It Was within 5 points of each other. The nurse told me that 20 to 40 points on different machines is normal the ones for home are not as complex as theirs is. I had read that on the web as well. Tuesday mom went to have a heart catheterization and stayed over night I decided to if it would stand to the test and it did! I tested it twice first right after the nurse and the second 10 minutes after both were 5 points differents. THIS A GREAT METER for a GREAT PRICE and so are the strips you can't go wrong.

Was this review helpful? (42) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
captain5512
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The meter and strips are inaccurate
7/6/2016

Customer review by Permillus

1.0 stars 7/6/2016 by Permillus
by Permillus
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

As compared to two other brands of meters and strips, the readings are inaccurate

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Permillus
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Waste of money
1/23/2014

Customer review by easttxgranny

1.0 stars 1/23/2014 by easttxgranny
by easttxgranny

I bought this when I ran out of my other product. I tried it and it seemed to run high. I had one of my friends use it to compare it with hers and it was a lot higher reading. Then I tried it against another meter and it was at least 39 points higher. I e mailed the company and waited a week, no reply. I then called and had to talk to 2 different people and they told me that everytime I use this I should have a different meter to comapre the reading to if I feel like it is to high. They said they would send the solution to test it with but that would take a couple of weeks to receive it. It's now been 3 weeks since I bought the meter and I have not been able to get a true reading on my blood sugar. If I have to keep buying my old strips to be able to check the results of these then how am I saving money. I am going back to my old strips and meter and these will go in the garbage where they belong.

Was this review helpful? (51) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
easttxgranny
East TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
ReliOn Prime Awful
6/7/2016

Customer review by Neosho

1.0 stars 6/7/2016 by Neosho
by Neosho

I purchased this because WM was out of Freestyle Precision Neo strips (except for an opened package) that I usually use. I bough this and tested it side by side with the Neo. The ReliOn read 24 points higher than my existing meter. I tried the Relion 5 minutes later and it went up another 5 points. I see why the cashier warned me that I could not get a refund if I purchased the Relion. Do yourself a favor and do not buy this.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Neosho
Would recommend to a friend? No
Reads High
2/13/2016

Customer review by Mmsn

1.0 stars 2/13/2016 by Mmsn
by Mmsn

I'm not diabetic but on a new med that can cause high blood sugars and lead to type 2 DM, so I have to check my fasting sugars every morning. I've been doing this for awhile now, and have been trying to find a meter with cheaper strips. So when I saw this meter on Rollback for only $9 and the strips were only $9, I thought I'd pick it up. But WOW. It is reading almost 30 points higher than my OneTouch Ultra Mini Meter. I had a few strips left on a different meter, too, so checked all three meters with the same drop of blood for a few mornings, and my older meters read close to the same with this one reading much higher. Honestly, I'm not sure which meter to believe, but with the other two being close and this one being much higher, I'm guessing this one is the one that is "off". Then I decided to check the reviews (which I should've done first) and seeing a lot of people having the same problem with it reading high. There are also lots of people not having problems, so I don't know what to think. Maybe it's the strips and some bottles of strips are accurate, while others aren't? All I know is that it has left me very confused!

Was this review helpful? (17) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mmsn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Relion Prime control manual is incorrect.
7/13/2016

Customer review by CuriousTwin

3.0 stars 7/13/2016 by CuriousTwin
by CuriousTwin

I have sent for control vials to test my Relion Prime. In going through the manual it tells you to press the left OR the right arrow after inserting the test strip. This is wrong it should be AND. Both must be pressed at the same time to get to the control section. The analyzer is manufactured by Arkray, which manufactures other glucose meters with the correct instructions.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CuriousTwin
Would recommend to a friend? No
relione prime
7/16/2016

Customer review by Sunshine

1.0 stars 7/16/2016 by Sunshine
by Sunshine

This is the worst meter I have had so far and only bought it cause the strip were much cheaper than what I had and now I understand why they are cheaper. Cheaper is not always better.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sunshine
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not good!
7/8/2016

Customer review by Colgifter

1.0 stars 7/8/2016 by Colgifter
by Colgifter
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was skeptical when I read other reviews because I couldn't believe a device could not serve its main purpose. Well,,,, it didn't. As other reviews said the results are way far off. I won't waste my time going to return so I'll just call it a loss.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Colgifter
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GOOD deal !!
8/23/2012

Customer review by QNMOMMY

5.0 stars 8/23/2012 by QNMOMMY
by QNMOMMY

So, for anyone who has done this blood sugar testing for awhile -- glucose monitors are about a dime a dozen these days, and there are a lot of good ones in the mix. Yeah, getting them for zero or little cost (like the free ones from the doctor) is great! BUT what will break you is the ongoing cost of supplies. This one is different because the test strips are the icing on the cake at only $9 per pack of 50 strips. THAT is what makes this monitor so attractive. I have noticed the test strips are blowing off the shelves at many stores, but you can also get them online. As well, you can get a "pickup today" option free, online, where you just run to the store and they have already pulled the item and tagged it for you. Great time saver!! This monitor so far has been very reliable. It is also easy to use, not too crazy or complicated. I would highly recommend this testing system to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (73) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
QNMOMMY
Fredericksburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Just OK meter but it uses SUPER CHEAP test strips
10/10/2012

Customer review by coastcats2

3.0 stars 10/10/2012 by coastcats2
by coastcats2

After spending ridiculous amounts of money on the test strips for the "name brand" meters, I finally found this Relion Prime meter. From what I have found after lots of searching, this Prime meter uses the CHEAPEST test strips I've ever seen.....50 Prime test strips are only $9.00, so that fact alone makes this meter the one I will use almost all the time. The meter itself is just OK. It feels lighter and not quite as substantial as the other ones I've used. Comparing the results of this Prime meter and with my Freestyle, the Prime results are ALWAYS at least 15-20 points higher than the Freestyle. Makes you wonder which one is more accurate. However, I like the blue and red color choices with the Prime meters, I've not seen that on any other meter. Even with the slightly higher results this Prime machine produces, I will continue to use it as my main meter for its super cheap test strips. Kind of a no brainer when with the one time purchase of a $16 Prime meter you can get 50 test strips for $9 instead of $75 or more for the "name brands." Love Walmart.com for giving me a cost-effective blood sugar monitoring solution!

Was this review helpful? (28) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
coastcats2
Tri-Cities, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Sorry But No Dice
10/19/2012

Customer review by MikeInPdx

2.0 stars 10/19/2012 by MikeInPdx
by MikeInPdx

I was thrilled to find this tester for such a reasonable price and the incredibly cheap test strips. I know it's not a good idea, but I had become lax in monitoring my blood glucose, and I wanted a meter to get myself back on track. At first, I was alarmed when I started monitoring. My type 2 diabetes couldn't have progressed THAT much (I hoped). But I stuck with it several days. I started getting suspicious when I received an alarmingly high morning pre-meal reading. I had behaved the night before, and my sugars should have been well below what the meter registered. So, I went out, and bought another meter with some control solution. Did a control test and found the reli-on to be nearly 60 points higher than the other meter. Disappointing. I am currently awaiting control solution from reli-on to do a control test. If it does not register withing the numbered guidelines, I will contact the company and let them know. Still, it is a little disappointing to confirm the number of high readings that other reviewers have here. However, I am happy to say, that the numbers were not nearly as bad as I originally thought.

Was this review helpful? (35) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MikeInPdx
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Relion Prime Meter
7/21/2016

Customer review by Bobk

5.0 stars 7/21/2016 by Bobk
by Bobk

I have used this meter and strips for 3 years and the readings are within 3 points of the lab work. I have read the reviews and looks like 50-50 love-hate. For me it works perfect that's all i can go by. I will continue to use and recommend to others. My opinion

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bobk
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not worth the savings
12/29/2015

Customer review by KellyAnn

1.0 stars 12/29/2015 by KellyAnn
by KellyAnn

This meter constantly gave me extremely high readings. I tried another brand and got normal results. I am very disappointed. The entire time I was testing with this I thought my blood sugar was extremely high. Very dangerous when trying to keep your levels normal. The last time I tested with this brand it gave me a reading of 296 while my other meter read 184. Huge Difference! I will not recommend this meter to anyone I know.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KellyAnn
Would recommend to a friend? No
ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System
4/1/2016

Customer review by Dixie

5.0 stars 4/1/2016 by Dixie
by Dixie

Great meter..works well and easy to use

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dixie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
excellent
6/27/2016

Customer review by walt

5.0 stars 6/27/2016 by walt
by walt
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

cost of strips are resonable.easy to use, small blood sample reqd,strips absorb easily.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
walt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 355 total reviews
1-20 of 355 reviews