Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 322 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

322 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

322 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

68%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
147
4 stars
55
3 stars
15
2 stars
17
1 stars
88
1-20 of 297 total reviews
68%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 297 total reviews
1-20 of 297 reviews
Good price and quality
1/8/2016

Customer review by Grandpa

5.0 stars 1/8/2016 by Grandpa
by Grandpa

Work as good as, if not better, than more expensive "branded" glucose meters. This is our second one. My wife have used one for over 2 years. Now that I have to monitor my blood sugars, was a "no-brainer" to buy one for me. In fact, I was able to get this on a price drop for $9.00. Coupled with the low cost of the test strips (100 @less than $20.00) and the free control solution provided by ReliOn, the ongoing expense of using this meter is nice. Have found all of the ReliOn brand of diabetes supplies and insulin are of excellent quality and price. My wife didn't have any health insurance to cover cost of diabetes supplies, let alone medications and insulin. But this line of supplies put obtaining them within the means of someone who has to pay for their own. (Note: Check out ReliOn Home A1c Test Kit. Two test for under $25. Have found them to be within one or two points of test performed by a clinic's lab. Most doctors have accepted the results.)

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grandpa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A Decent Blood-Glucose meter
12/13/2012

Customer review by Roadmon

4.0 stars 12/13/2012 by Roadmon
by Roadmon

I got the ReliOn Prime because the test strips are so inexpensive. Formerly I have used the ReliOn Micro, which I actually like better than the "Prime." The problem with the Micro is that the test strips (Vampire strips I call 'em) are more costly than the Prime's. What I like about the Micro: Small size; It beeps when it is turned on and when the reading is complete; it came with a lancing device; the container for the test strips is compact. What I dislike about the Prime: It does not come with a lancing device; the container for the strips is round and not compact, like the container for the Micro's strips. The Prime does not beep, but I haven't fully read the instructions; there may be a way to make it do that. It is more difficult to insert a test strip into the Prime, and it is a more awkward meter to grip; it slips out of your hand rather easily. Until I got the hang of using the Prime, I got E-13 errors, "not enough blood," but now I am more skillful at getting readings. I am going to buy another Prime to use at work.

Was this review helpful? (73) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Roadmon
Springfield, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I Prefer My ReliOn Prime
7/8/2014

Customer review by TwelveBars

5.0 stars 7/8/2014 by TwelveBars
by TwelveBars

I've been testing with an Accu-Chek Active meter since 2006. Recently my doctor changed my meds and for a while wants me to test before and after every meal and at bedtime. That's seven times a day and you can run through a lot of strips in a hurry, at $73 for fifty Accu-Chek. I saw the ReliOn advertised on television with fifty strips for 9 bucks, so I bought a ReliOn Prime. For two weeks now I've been testing with both meters side by side, same time, same blood sample, and comparing the readings. The ReliOn consistently reads about 30 points lower than the Accu-Chek. I don't know which one is accurate, or even if either one is accurate, but that doesn't concern me. The reading isn't as important to me as the trending, and with my new meds my readings are trending lower. I prefer my ReliOn Prime because it is easier to use, requires less blood, and is more compact... and of course the strips are more affordable.

Was this review helpful? (58) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TwelveBars
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Unreliable
1/28/2016

Customer review by Efdubya

1.0 stars 1/28/2016 by Efdubya
by Efdubya

We bought two off these for my wife and myself along with 100 test strips. We are unable to get any repeatability. Testing with four strips front the same pack, from the same finger, one immediately after the other, the readings vary wildly. First was 159, second was 130, third was 164, and forth was 120. I simply don't trust it at all. My other meter requires a bank loan to buy test strips. This is what prompted us to try this meter. But at least it was consistently within a couple points in repeatability. I guess I'll call the bank......

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Efdubya
Would recommend to a friend? No
ReliOn is Anything but Reliable
4/28/2015

Customer review by Harley

1.0 stars 4/28/2015 by Harley
by Harley

I just purchased one of these meters as my insurance provided a Ultra One-Touch and I got a prescription for the test strips to go with that meter. Prior to the order running out, I asked the pharmacist in the WalMart about the quality of the ReliOn meters and test strips. I was told they were just as accurate as any other meter. I purchased it since my insurance did not cover much of the cost of the test strips at all and I have been comparing it to the readings on my Ultra One-Touch meter. I use the same finger and test them both from the same blood at the same time. So far the ReliOn has been off by a minimum of 21 points begin toward the higher side at every reading and sometimes it exceeds that much. While 20 or more points may not be so much for someone who is seriously diabetic, for a pre-diabetic those numbers at not acceptable. I would not recommend these meters or test strips. While they are cheaper, for me and my goals they are not reliable.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Harley
Would recommend to a friend? No
Inexpensive but inaccurate
6/26/2013

Customer review by WelcometoWalmaht

1.0 stars 6/26/2013 by WelcometoWalmaht
by WelcometoWalmaht

The price difference between the ReliOn Prime glucometer's test strips and the Freestyle Lite glucometer I already have led to my buying this. It would be nice to save money testing blood sugar. But this device and the accompanying strips aren't accurate. I tested it on a control solution, and got five different readings, all high, all inconsistent with each other. Additionally, the amount of blood required by the ReliOn Prime strips is significantly larger than the Freestyle, which is minscule to the point of being magical. The Freestyle uses capillary action to draw a tiny blood dot into the testing chamber. The Prime requires that you smear a larger drop of blood on the bottom of the strip. So for now, I will begrudgingly continue to use the (more expensive) Freestyle unit until the next generation of glucometers is available, and I recommend that people avoid this product if they want accurate readings.

Was this review helpful? (68) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WelcometoWalmaht
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Mixed feelings
12/1/2015

Customer review by Gingin850

4.0 stars 12/1/2015 by Gingin850
by Gingin850

Type 1 diabetes for 22+ years. I've always used one touch meters and test strips. Same story as everyone else.... My insurance doesn't cover one touch strips any more (as of 2014). I've been using this meter off and on for over a year. I keep a tube of 25 one touch strips to compare meters about every 2 weeks. Here's what I've learned: The prime, overall is good. It tests perfectly with my one touch if I'm on an empty stomach. Just now I went to dinner and purposefully took both meters with me. Pre-meal the readings matched. Post meal, (1 hour later), after a ton of carbs and 3 margarita's, prime read 38 points over my one touch. That's not too bad! But, I do a 1/12 carb ration via pump. If I accounted for that correction, that might put me in the hypoglycemia range during the night if prime is wrong. I'm just at an absolute loss here! I can't afford one touch anymore.

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gingin850
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This meter makes me so angry, I wrote a review.
2/6/2014

Customer review by Gr8Ray

1.0 stars 2/6/2014 by Gr8Ray
by Gr8Ray

Picking this meter was a pretty easy decision, since they were out of the strips for my normal Relion Confirm meter, and the strips for this one are half the price. However, when I got it home and conducted several side-by-side tests with my old meter, it became clear to me that this new meter was grossly inaccurate. That was when I could actually get a reading out of it. It constantly throws an E13 error (not enough blood) even though I've put so much blood on it the strip is practically dripping. This causes you to have to use twice as many strips, so forget about saving money. The last time I used it I got five E13 errors in a row. Luckily I had already decided to go back to using my old meter, and had a new box of strips at the ready. I got an accurate reading on the first try, with 1/3 of the blood. I'm glad I kept the receipt, because this piece of junk is going back to the mfg.

Was this review helpful? (82) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gr8Ray
Ashland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
High glucose readings
11/5/2012

Customer review by Swampratxxv

1.0 stars 11/5/2012 by Swampratxxv
by Swampratxxv

Very disappointing. The Prime consistently gives high readings: 45 - 80 point too high. I have noticed that other reviewers have the same problem. I have, in the past used the ReliON Micro and Confirm meters and they were absolutely great! With in 5 -8 points of my other meter (which I calibrate at Dr's office and compare with lab results). I tried the Prime because of the low price of test strips, but with consistently high glucose readings, I cannot trust this meter for insulin usage. I use a 2nd meter part of the time due to the high price of test strips for my main meter. I check glucose 6-8 times daily. I will go back to the Micro and gladly pay the little higher price for strips. I can trust the Micro!

Was this review helpful? (27) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Swampratxxv
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good product
2/7/2016

Customer review by Toni

4.0 stars 2/7/2016 by Toni
by Toni

Works as well as the expensive ones.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Toni
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Test strips are cheaper but not accurate
3/10/2013

Customer review by possumlips

1.0 stars 3/10/2013 by possumlips
by possumlips
Top 500 contributor

I had a few Relion Micro test strips left when i bought this Prime meter so i tested the same drop of blood and the Prime meter was always alot higher.As high as 75 points.I bought it because the test strips were the lowest cost of all other walmart brands.Another problem that happens alot is when you slide the test strip in, it sometimes doesn't turn on the meter and if you don't notice it and add blood,you wasted a strip.There is no beep when it turns on or gives results and i didn't see in the manual how to turn the sound on.Maybe i bought a bad meter? It is also difficult to insert the strip in the narrow slot.I'll be going back to my old meter as soon as i use up the strips.I buy Relion swabs and syringes and they're the best buy for someone like me with no insurance but i'm disapointed in this meter.

Was this review helpful? (23) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
possumlips
oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
Test Strip Problems
7/13/2014

Customer review by JusticeIronfist

4.0 stars 7/13/2014 by JusticeIronfist
by JusticeIronfist

Well I have 3 of these Relion Testers. One for the house, one for the car, and one for work. Because If not I lose them or forget them. What I have found is you can get a bad batch of strips. I will get the E13 error on over 15 strips out of a batch and test 5 on each tester while receiving the same error. However, when I grab a different batch of strips they all work correctly and within the same numbers varying maybe a point at times. The E13 code is for not enough blood but when the batch of strips are bad you can saturate it and you will get the error. I get a received a bad batch of strips about 3 times in the last couple of years.However given the price compared to the competition it still is more cost efficient. Mine have always read on par with the doctor's office.

Was this review helpful? (27) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JusticeIronfist
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Clarify the 5 star to 1 star reviews
5/17/2014

Customer review by Meaningwell

5.0 stars 5/17/2014 by Meaningwell
by Meaningwell

I was confused by the reviews that rated this meter so well while others rated this meter so poorly. I took a chance and purchased it and decided to write this review to help others. Upon getting the meter I decided to make a comparison using another Relion meter called the Ultima and another called the Freestyle Freedom Lite. I compared these meters side by side each time I took a reading I would use blood taken from the same finger at the same time. Each time the readings from the meters were compared and most of the time they were within 5 to 10 points from one another the biggest difference noted was 20 points. My wife is a endocrinologist and she said these measurement differences are within the normal range. Over the years I had the expensive brand meters and these had $1 per test cost with no great accuracy benefit over my Relion Ultima meter so I have used the Ultima over the last few years and periodically I will compare my Ultima to other high cost meters to make sure it operates well, so far I have never had a problem. When I became aware Relion came out with the Prime meter I had to try it. I have satisfied myself that the Prime is accurate and it takes no more blood to operate it than the ultima or my other meters so this is not a factor either. What I do believe is an important factor is that with the tests costing so much less people can afford to test often and adjust their medication or insulin intake better thereby benefiting from having better control of their diabetes. For some people who are very limited on funds it may be the difference between having some monitoring than not. So I am very thrilled that this meter is on the market. A final note. The meter comes with a case and that is all. You will need to use a lancet you already have or buy one. The case for the Relion Prime is not that well designed as the meter easily comes off its holster. However these are minor complaints to bring forth. I hope this review helps others who like myself was wondering how a meter can get such polarizing reviews. This is a fine meter in my estimation.

Was this review helpful? (657) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Meaningwell
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Accurate and inexpensive.
1/19/2016

Customer review by raw6464

5.0 stars 1/19/2016 by raw6464
by raw6464

I've been using this meter for over a year and have not had any bad readings. I've confirmed the accuracy with my doctor. Yes sometimes I get the E01(not enough blood) reading but my fault most of the time. I get the best volume of blood from the very tip of my fingers, results in good readings. People getting readings 75 points higher doesn't make any sense. If you're getting that level bring the meter back and get another one. A normally functional meter & strips are accurate.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
raw6464
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A very good value
2/18/2014

Customer review by REOSpeedwagon

4.0 stars 2/18/2014 by REOSpeedwagon
by REOSpeedwagon

I have been a type 1 diabetic for many, many years. I am now 62 years old and have tested myself...quite literally, 100's of thousands of times. I have used pretty much all of the meters available out there today. I can remember when meters were not around... I purchased the Reli-On Prime because my insurance no longer covers test strips for the One-Touch and FreeStyle. My first impression was much like other reviewers...inaccurate, but after a few days I figured out that this system is actually quite good if one takes a few precautions. Read the instructions carefully. Insert the test strip quickly and fully, watch for the full screen that will then change to the apply blood symbol. If you do not see both of these...start over. Be sure your hands are clean and dry as this system seems more sensitive than others to such. Give the meter a few seconds after it goes to the "apply blood" mode. Do not apply too much blood as this can cause a high reading, esp. if it is applied to the top of the strip. I test myself 5-7 times daily before injecting insulin so cannot afford to purchase the ridiculously expensive strips. I think this is a great meter for throughout the day tests where I need a +/- 10 accuracy so I know how much insulin to take. I also purchased a ReliOn Micro with the more expensive strips for those times when I need very close accuracy...it tested almost exactly with the FreeStyle. And following the above regimen...the Prime and Micro run within +/- 9. I understand that many newly diagnosed diabetics might have trouble with this system...but it is a wonderful thing for me given the costs. I am 5' 8" inches tall, weigh 140 lbs., and used to race bicycles. I mention this because my standards are very high.

Was this review helpful? (193) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
REOSpeedwagon
Palm Springs, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very basic and no lancet - but it's the real-deal
10/15/2012

Customer review by TheKid72

3.0 stars 10/15/2012 by TheKid72
by TheKid72
Top 100 contributor

Finally a glucose monitor where you are not getting a low-cost meter by paying a premium for the test strips. The strips are very, very affordable and the meter is just the basics. No backlight, no beep, just the basics (including 14 and 30 day average)... and I am sure we can all get along with that just fine given the cost savings. However I was surprised that for the purchase price, all you get is the meter and case - no lancet device. This is the first meter I've ever purchased that did not come with one, so I assumed it did without reading the box. I was also a bit surprised that the meter just falls out of the case as the clear plastic holder is too large for it. Another compromise for the price I guess. As for results, I have received consistent test results with this meter system. Blood sample requirement is very small. This is by far the most important aspect of this system. Overall I would recommend this to a friend. It falls short in a couple of aspects, but it is accurate and affordable to operate. Personally I would be willing to spend a little more for a meter with a backlight and lancet that would accept the low cost strips.

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheKid72
Fort Wayne, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 100 contributor
Unreliable
11/21/2015

Customer review by Prim

1.0 stars 11/21/2015 by Prim
by Prim

I was very pleased to find this meter and strips, finally an affordable alternative! Unfortunately, it gives inconsistent results. My readings were getting higher and higher the longer I used it causing me concern as you can imagine. I tested against another meter I had but which one was correct?! I then purchased another brand and tested it against both meters. It was anywhere from 15 to 45 points higher, only occasionally within the same range when I tested. I was very relieved to find out it was the meter and not me but disappointed that it was no good. It is going in the trash.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Prim
Would recommend to a friend? No
The Worst Glucose Meter I've used in 20 years
1/11/2014

Customer review by FineFacenadine

1.0 stars 1/11/2014 by FineFacenadine
by FineFacenadine

DO NOT BUY THIS! I, like you may have been, was intrigued by the low price and the, otherwise consistent product quality from ReliOn. This, however, was an entirely different situation. I do not know if I have ever gone online to write a bad review about something, but I wanted to warn against purchasing this piece of rubbish. I cannot count the number of test strips that I have had to throw away for this unit, because it reads, "E13" on the screen, which has nothing to do with the proper test technique - I am allowing proper processing time before applying a blood sample, and applying ample blood to the strip... Beside that the readings are inaccurate. Just save yourself some time and don't buy this.

Was this review helpful? (27) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FineFacenadine
Asheville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great meter - strips are VERY inexpensive and work
4/4/2014

Customer review by fishflorida

5.0 stars 4/4/2014 by fishflorida
by fishflorida
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Forget about paying $1+ for strips - the ones this meter uses are accurate and work just fine. The blood drop needed is probably a BIT larger than the Accu-strips I used in the past, but a 2mm droplet works well, the strip sucks the droplet up and the meter gives an accurate reading in seconds. I compared this with my AccuCheck for 6 different readings over a couple of days and it was within 5% on all readings!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fishflorida
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Terribly inaccurate
11/11/2015

Customer review by Nikt

1.0 stars 11/11/2015 by Nikt
by Nikt

This meter is so inaccurate. It's totally unacceptable that a meter consistently be over 20 points off when compared to a meter who's accuracy has been tested. I compared the reading on this meter to one taken with my one touch ultra meter. Same finger, same time, same drop of blood. 20 points is a big difference when you are gauging your dosage of meds on these readings. I bought this trying to save some money and will be throwing it away. It's irresponsible of the manufacturer to distribute such an inaccurate medical device.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nikt
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 297 total reviews
1-20 of 297 reviews