Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 383 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

383 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

383 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

66%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
171
4 stars
63
3 stars
18
2 stars
19
1 stars
112
1-20 of 357 total reviews
66%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 357 total reviews
1-20 of 357 reviews
Good price and quality
1/8/2016

Customer review by Grandpa

5.0 stars 1/8/2016 by Grandpa
by Grandpa

Work as good as, if not better, than more expensive "branded" glucose meters. This is our second one. My wife have used one for over 2 years. Now that I have to monitor my blood sugars, was a "no-brainer" to buy one for me. In fact, I was able to get this on a price drop for $9.00. Coupled with the low cost of the test strips (100 @less than $20.00) and the free control solution provided by ReliOn, the ongoing expense of using this meter is nice. Have found all of the ReliOn brand of diabetes supplies and insulin are of excellent quality and price. My wife didn't have any health insurance to cover cost of diabetes supplies, let alone medications and insulin. But this line of supplies put obtaining them within the means of someone who has to pay for their own. (Note: Check out ReliOn Home A1c Test Kit. Two test for under $25. Have found them to be within one or two points of test performed by a clinic's lab. Most doctors have accepted the results.)

Was this review helpful? (62) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grandpa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
You get what you pay for.
6/14/2016

Customer review by ArkansasBeth

3.0 stars 6/14/2016 by ArkansasBeth
by ArkansasBeth
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This machine is really cheaply made but I didn't want to spend a lot so I took a chance. I actually don't know how accurate it is as I have nothing to compare it to but the numbers seem reasonable. I have had a couple of weird numbers that when I rechecked came up normal. I think that can happen with any machine. I am "pre-diabetic" so wanted a cheap machine and that's what I got. If my condition doesn't turn around with weight loss and diet change I'll get a better machine, but for now, this one is acceptable. It's true you get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ArkansasBeth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fluctuating Reading
6/30/2016

Customer review by timmer

1.0 stars 6/30/2016 by timmer
by timmer

It's never been very consistent; however, the newest batch of strips are really wacko. I got three readings today: 204, 247, 58. Nuff said.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
timmer
Would recommend to a friend? No
A Decent Blood-Glucose meter
12/13/2012

Customer review by Roadmon

4.0 stars 12/13/2012 by Roadmon
by Roadmon

I got the ReliOn Prime because the test strips are so inexpensive. Formerly I have used the ReliOn Micro, which I actually like better than the "Prime." The problem with the Micro is that the test strips (Vampire strips I call 'em) are more costly than the Prime's. What I like about the Micro: Small size; It beeps when it is turned on and when the reading is complete; it came with a lancing device; the container for the test strips is compact. What I dislike about the Prime: It does not come with a lancing device; the container for the strips is round and not compact, like the container for the Micro's strips. The Prime does not beep, but I haven't fully read the instructions; there may be a way to make it do that. It is more difficult to insert a test strip into the Prime, and it is a more awkward meter to grip; it slips out of your hand rather easily. Until I got the hang of using the Prime, I got E-13 errors, "not enough blood," but now I am more skillful at getting readings. I am going to buy another Prime to use at work.

Was this review helpful? (94) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Roadmon
Springfield, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
ReliOn is Anything but Reliable
4/28/2015

Customer review by Harley

1.0 stars 4/28/2015 by Harley
by Harley

I just purchased one of these meters as my insurance provided a Ultra One-Touch and I got a prescription for the test strips to go with that meter. Prior to the order running out, I asked the pharmacist in the WalMart about the quality of the ReliOn meters and test strips. I was told they were just as accurate as any other meter. I purchased it since my insurance did not cover much of the cost of the test strips at all and I have been comparing it to the readings on my Ultra One-Touch meter. I use the same finger and test them both from the same blood at the same time. So far the ReliOn has been off by a minimum of 21 points begin toward the higher side at every reading and sometimes it exceeds that much. While 20 or more points may not be so much for someone who is seriously diabetic, for a pre-diabetic those numbers at not acceptable. I would not recommend these meters or test strips. While they are cheaper, for me and my goals they are not reliable.

Was this review helpful? (38) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Harley
Would recommend to a friend? No
Strangely "out of whack" compared to our FreeStyle
6/12/2016

Customer review by SoCalAl

1.0 stars 6/12/2016 by SoCalAl
by SoCalAl

While I was lured by the low cost of supplies... not so much saving $10 on the meter, I was surprised when both my wife and I tested at the same time, using the ReliOn and our FreeStyle freedom lite meter. The results were inconsistent. Long story short, my wife was concerned this AM when we both tested ourselves, and found higher readings on the ReliOn, about +20 for both of us. I took the "Test Solution" approach, and found that not only were our blood tests running about +20 on the ReliOn, but it was confirmed by the same results when I tested both units with "Test Solution." We don't have diabetis, but because my wife showed borderline, thought it would be good to monitor the effect her change in dietary habits had on her glucose level. I'm afraid my Dad continues to be right... "Son, if it appears to good to be true... it probably is... Ya' big dummy!" Well, OK, he probably didn't end it with that "re-naming ceremony"..... but you get the point. I'm going to try and return everything today. Usually, Walmart is pretty good about returns. But honestly, I wish the ReliOn experience had gone the other way. I should add that, regarding quality, the test strip insertion feels much "rougher" than with the Freestyle meter. I'm guessing it's the finishing of the injection molded case; not allowing the test strips to easily travel inward. When things go "South", I tend to look closer for other issues.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SoCalAl
Would recommend to a friend? No
I Prefer My ReliOn Prime
7/8/2014

Customer review by TwelveBars

5.0 stars 7/8/2014 by TwelveBars
by TwelveBars

I've been testing with an Accu-Chek Active meter since 2006. Recently my doctor changed my meds and for a while wants me to test before and after every meal and at bedtime. That's seven times a day and you can run through a lot of strips in a hurry, at $73 for fifty Accu-Chek. I saw the ReliOn advertised on television with fifty strips for 9 bucks, so I bought a ReliOn Prime. For two weeks now I've been testing with both meters side by side, same time, same blood sample, and comparing the readings. The ReliOn consistently reads about 30 points lower than the Accu-Chek. I don't know which one is accurate, or even if either one is accurate, but that doesn't concern me. The reading isn't as important to me as the trending, and with my new meds my readings are trending lower. I prefer my ReliOn Prime because it is easier to use, requires less blood, and is more compact... and of course the strips are more affordable.

Was this review helpful? (81) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TwelveBars
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Inexpensive but inaccurate
6/26/2013

Customer review by WelcometoWalmaht

1.0 stars 6/26/2013 by WelcometoWalmaht
by WelcometoWalmaht

The price difference between the ReliOn Prime glucometer's test strips and the Freestyle Lite glucometer I already have led to my buying this. It would be nice to save money testing blood sugar. But this device and the accompanying strips aren't accurate. I tested it on a control solution, and got five different readings, all high, all inconsistent with each other. Additionally, the amount of blood required by the ReliOn Prime strips is significantly larger than the Freestyle, which is minscule to the point of being magical. The Freestyle uses capillary action to draw a tiny blood dot into the testing chamber. The Prime requires that you smear a larger drop of blood on the bottom of the strip. So for now, I will begrudgingly continue to use the (more expensive) Freestyle unit until the next generation of glucometers is available, and I recommend that people avoid this product if they want accurate readings.

Was this review helpful? (89) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WelcometoWalmaht
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Lack of precision
4/18/2016

Customer review by XYZA

2.0 stars 4/18/2016 by XYZA
by XYZA

Many strips failed, the accuracy compared with other monitoring systems is not good, some strips bottles gives us up to 20 points more. I have requested the test solution but I have never received. I do not recommend this product even if the price is right

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
XYZA
Would recommend to a friend? No
This meter sucks
4/27/2016

Customer review by Randy

1.0 stars 4/27/2016 by Randy
by Randy

this meter is reading up to 50 parts off. I just picked this meter up yesterday. I compared it with my old meter and this one is reading 50 parts above my old meter.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Randy
Would recommend to a friend? No
This meter makes me so angry, I wrote a review.
2/6/2014

Customer review by Gr8Ray

1.0 stars 2/6/2014 by Gr8Ray
by Gr8Ray

Picking this meter was a pretty easy decision, since they were out of the strips for my normal Relion Confirm meter, and the strips for this one are half the price. However, when I got it home and conducted several side-by-side tests with my old meter, it became clear to me that this new meter was grossly inaccurate. That was when I could actually get a reading out of it. It constantly throws an E13 error (not enough blood) even though I've put so much blood on it the strip is practically dripping. This causes you to have to use twice as many strips, so forget about saving money. The last time I used it I got five E13 errors in a row. Luckily I had already decided to go back to using my old meter, and had a new box of strips at the ready. I got an accurate reading on the first try, with 1/3 of the blood. I'm glad I kept the receipt, because this piece of junk is going back to the mfg.

Was this review helpful? (97) (39)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gr8Ray
Ashland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Use of this meter has cost me a fortune
5/10/2016

Customer review by Bonnie

1.0 stars 5/10/2016 by Bonnie
by Bonnie

I purchased this meter after reading the reviews. What a joke! I have been using this meter for over six months and the readings are extremely inaccurate (I purchased another to have one to carry with me when not home, After many changes in medication at $50 a pop yesterday it was discovered that the readings are way off. My A1C result from bloodwork is 7.1 but the ReliOn meter shows my 3 month A1c to be 8.6 which obviously shows the major inaccuracies of this meter. I WANT MY MONEY BACK.

Was this review helpful? (11) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bonnie
Would recommend to a friend? No
High glucose readings
11/5/2012

Customer review by Swampratxxv

1.0 stars 11/5/2012 by Swampratxxv
by Swampratxxv

Very disappointing. The Prime consistently gives high readings: 45 - 80 point too high. I have noticed that other reviewers have the same problem. I have, in the past used the ReliON Micro and Confirm meters and they were absolutely great! With in 5 -8 points of my other meter (which I calibrate at Dr's office and compare with lab results). I tried the Prime because of the low price of test strips, but with consistently high glucose readings, I cannot trust this meter for insulin usage. I use a 2nd meter part of the time due to the high price of test strips for my main meter. I check glucose 6-8 times daily. I will go back to the Micro and gladly pay the little higher price for strips. I can trust the Micro!

Was this review helpful? (42) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Swampratxxv
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
good value
7/25/2016

Customer review by enuff

5.0 stars 7/25/2016 by enuff
by enuff
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this to replace my 1 touch the strips are 6x cheaper an the accuracy is only a plus /minus 2-20 so not bad considering the HUGE savings a year on strips.1 draw back it only uses batteries no AC charge.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
enuff
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
you get what you pay for
5/11/2016

Customer review by carl

1.0 stars 5/11/2016 by carl
by carl

horrible and inaccurate readings

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
carl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good for the price
7/24/2016

Customer review by GrayWolfDunn

4.0 stars 7/24/2016 by GrayWolfDunn
by GrayWolfDunn
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This monitor works fine, No complaints . It does seem to be made cheaply. Light weight and doesn't seem as well made as others I've used, but so far, so good.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrayWolfDunn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Test strips are cheaper but not accurate
3/10/2013

Customer review by possumlips

1.0 stars 3/10/2013 by possumlips
by possumlips
Top 500 contributor

I had a few Relion Micro test strips left when i bought this Prime meter so i tested the same drop of blood and the Prime meter was always alot higher.As high as 75 points.I bought it because the test strips were the lowest cost of all other walmart brands.Another problem that happens alot is when you slide the test strip in, it sometimes doesn't turn on the meter and if you don't notice it and add blood,you wasted a strip.There is no beep when it turns on or gives results and i didn't see in the manual how to turn the sound on.Maybe i bought a bad meter? It is also difficult to insert the strip in the narrow slot.I'll be going back to my old meter as soon as i use up the strips.I buy Relion swabs and syringes and they're the best buy for someone like me with no insurance but i'm disapointed in this meter.

Was this review helpful? (27) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
possumlips
oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
simple and easy to set up and use
7/22/2016

Customer review by mary

5.0 stars 7/22/2016 by mary
by mary
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

SIMPLE AND EASY TO USE WHICH MAKES TESTING LESS STRESSFUL AND THE PRICE IS RIGHT

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mary
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Test Strip Problems
7/13/2014

Customer review by JusticeIronfist

4.0 stars 7/13/2014 by JusticeIronfist
by JusticeIronfist

Well I have 3 of these Relion Testers. One for the house, one for the car, and one for work. Because If not I lose them or forget them. What I have found is you can get a bad batch of strips. I will get the E13 error on over 15 strips out of a batch and test 5 on each tester while receiving the same error. However, when I grab a different batch of strips they all work correctly and within the same numbers varying maybe a point at times. The E13 code is for not enough blood but when the batch of strips are bad you can saturate it and you will get the error. I get a received a bad batch of strips about 3 times in the last couple of years.However given the price compared to the competition it still is more cost efficient. Mine have always read on par with the doctor's office.

Was this review helpful? (33) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JusticeIronfist
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Clarify the 5 star to 1 star reviews
5/17/2014

Customer review by Meaningwell

5.0 stars 5/17/2014 by Meaningwell
by Meaningwell

I was confused by the reviews that rated this meter so well while others rated this meter so poorly. I took a chance and purchased it and decided to write this review to help others. Upon getting the meter I decided to make a comparison using another Relion meter called the Ultima and another called the Freestyle Freedom Lite. I compared these meters side by side each time I took a reading I would use blood taken from the same finger at the same time. Each time the readings from the meters were compared and most of the time they were within 5 to 10 points from one another the biggest difference noted was 20 points. My wife is a endocrinologist and she said these measurement differences are within the normal range. Over the years I had the expensive brand meters and these had $1 per test cost with no great accuracy benefit over my Relion Ultima meter so I have used the Ultima over the last few years and periodically I will compare my Ultima to other high cost meters to make sure it operates well, so far I have never had a problem. When I became aware Relion came out with the Prime meter I had to try it. I have satisfied myself that the Prime is accurate and it takes no more blood to operate it than the ultima or my other meters so this is not a factor either. What I do believe is an important factor is that with the tests costing so much less people can afford to test often and adjust their medication or insulin intake better thereby benefiting from having better control of their diabetes. For some people who are very limited on funds it may be the difference between having some monitoring than not. So I am very thrilled that this meter is on the market. A final note. The meter comes with a case and that is all. You will need to use a lancet you already have or buy one. The case for the Relion Prime is not that well designed as the meter easily comes off its holster. However these are minor complaints to bring forth. I hope this review helps others who like myself was wondering how a meter can get such polarizing reviews. This is a fine meter in my estimation.

Was this review helpful? (696) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Meaningwell
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 357 total reviews
1-20 of 357 reviews