Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 362 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

362 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

362 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
249
4 stars
55
3 stars
17
2 stars
8
1 stars
33
1-20 of 330 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 330 total reviews
1-20 of 330 reviews
Winner on Accuracy and Price
2/25/2014

Customer review by MikeJM

5.0 stars 2/25/2014 by MikeJM
by MikeJM

Did a quick comparison with my old meter sampling large single blood drops for a few days. The average difference was about 3.5 on each set and the averages for the test only differed by about 2.6. My decade or so of experience tells me readings even on a single meter vary by those amounts in tests on separate blood drops (checking meter consistency). Conclusion is same accuracy for about one third the cost, a winner. The worst problem I have found is that the strip is slightly harder to insert into the channel on the meter. Test Results Summary in attached Photo.

Was this review helpful? (103) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MikeJM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great price! Accuracy iffy.
10/7/2013

Customer review by DodoTofu

4.0 stars 10/7/2013 by DodoTofu
by DodoTofu

I was really excited when I went to Walmart one day and noticed their new monitor had strips that were half the price of of my Ultima. It gets difficult to afford my supplies sometimes and this was wonderful news to me. While I have had no issues with using the Prime test strips (the bottle is completely open making them easier to access) I have noticed some issues with accuracy. My Ultima was always pretty much dead on with me. If I tested several times in a row it would only be a couple points different in either direction. That's ok in my book for the price. However, with the Prime, I can test five times in a row and end up with a 30 point difference across the tests. When my numbers are ideal it drops down to a 10 point difference. It seems to be most accurate from 90-150 but above or below those numbers causes it to vary more. When you're short on cash it may be just enough to know in general where your numbers are at. As always you get what you pay for, it's up to you to decide what you can afford.

Was this review helpful? (63) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DodoTofu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Can't tell if it's correct without solution
4/15/2013

Customer review by karmal

4.0 stars 4/15/2013 by karmal
by karmal
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 500 contributor

These were by far the best deal on test strips. This is my first foray into glucose testing, so no comparisons, but they seem to work fine, and require very little blood to work. That said, accuracy is vital to saying if this is a good deal or not, and I have no idea if they're accurate, since you can't buy the testing solution online or in the stores for this meter. You HAVE to go to the Relion website, then give them ALL your personal info, before they will ship it to you free. (Just why do they need my phone and email info, to ship me a product by mail? Can they send it to me via email, or phone?) I really resent having this solution held hostage until I divulge my personal info to them, for what unknown purpose. Medical info should be kept private, and I shouldn't have to tell anyone my medical history, or private contact info to make sure a product I PURCHASED works properly. They should make the solution available anywhere the product is sold, rather than holding it hostage. Bad form Relion. Bad form.

Was this review helpful? (80) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
karmal
NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 500 contributor
diabetic supplies
1/4/2016

Customer review by CMilligan

5.0 stars 1/4/2016 by CMilligan
by CMilligan

My Dad is diabetic and we have had other test kits which were more expensive. Bought this kit and have never had a problem with it and the test strips are much more affordable.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CMilligan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Literally the worst tester/strips I've ever used
8/6/2014

Customer review by Shaylarae

1.0 stars 8/6/2014 by Shaylarae
by Shaylarae

My doctor recommended this tester because it's super cheap and he can download the numbers. I was excited about the price so I bought it and have been using it for about a month and a half. It is the WORST tester I've ever used. For the first week it worked okay, but it would get errors more often than other ones, and sometimes I'd have to use 2 test strips before it would work. Then the more I used it the worse it got. Now basically every time I test my blood I have to use at least 2 test strips, and several times I've tested 7 times and it still won't work. It either won't register that I've put my blood in the strip (and there is definitely enough blood in there) or it says says E13E! or something like that. Not sure if the problem is the tester or the strips. It's been extremely difficult to use and I'm definitely switching asap. I'd rather pay more money for something more reliable. I definitely can't "reliOn" this tester.

Was this review helpful? (19) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shaylarae
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not good enough
9/16/2013

Customer review by Mixlpixie

1.0 stars 9/16/2013 by Mixlpixie
by Mixlpixie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I switched over to these new test strips for the very low price. We are tired of getting ripped off by the drug companies gouging us for up to 50 cents per strip and Walmart has come up with an alternative. Unfortunately these have too many flaws to be viable at this time. First like all strip changes you have to buy a new meter. The new meter is a bit more bulky than my old Relion meter. It also has No audio prompts and No back light to see your results in dim light. Come on Walmart would it have been that hard to build that in? Those are just basics that Every meter should have and my old Ultra Relion meter had. The other big flaw is I continue to get too frequent E13 errors which indicate not enough blood on the strip. Even though I am putting a large dose of blood on. I've found the way around this is to hold the finger with blood drop on the strip until the results are calculated. Walmart needs to work with the producer of this meter and strips to resolve these basic problems. It's a great price but I cannot recommend this meter or strips until these basic flaws are fixed.

Was this review helpful? (58) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mixlpixie
St. Louis
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/30/2013

Customer review by coyboy1

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by coyboy1
by coyboy1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

About a month ago I saw a Relion Prime glucometer at WM for a low price so I purchased it with a vial of Relion Prime test strips. I tested it against my One Touch Ultra 2 over 12 tests and found that both meters, using their respective strips, gave me exactly the same results +/- 3mg/Dl. I test 5 times a day. Cost: $9 Relion Prime 50ct, $68 One Touch 50ct. I switched immediately. I am also recommending this meter to my Diabetic Educator as a low cost alternative. This is important as I understand that medicare is cutting the test strips unless you are on insulin. Every Cookbook, every book about diabetes says "test your blood sugars and test them often!" These test strips give me back control so that I know when to eat and when to fast throughout the day. Thank You, coyboy

Was this review helpful? (48) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
coyboy1
Grand Rapids, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
better than I thought
2/6/2014

Customer review by micjacker

4.0 stars 2/6/2014 by micjacker
by micjacker

I went to pick up my 13yr old son's One touch strips $125.00 for 300 strips. With that I was very unhappy. I put them all back.. I've been looking into ReliOn meters and strips. At that moment made my decision to make the purchase .. I was a little nervous in reading the reviews ,but in trying it and making my own decision.. ended up very happy. I tested my sons sugar with his one touch meter and then ReliOn meter and strips a couple of times just to compare ..both tests were the same. I've switched everything to the ReliOn products and I'm saving ALOT of money. The strips are a little bulky and the meter a bit cheaply made but other than that I'm very satisfied .

Was this review helpful? (41) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
micjacker
Branchville,NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
ReiLon
1/31/2016

Customer review by Marti

5.0 stars 1/31/2016 by Marti
by Marti

It is easy to use and very cost efficient. It cost less at Walmart without insurance, then other brand with insurance.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Marti
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Value
1/26/2016

Customer review by Cheryl

5.0 stars 1/26/2016 by Cheryl
by Cheryl

These test strips work as well as the high priced ones that you can buy!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cheryl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wish still shipped to store for pick up
1/25/2016

Customer review by BETHANKFUL1

4.0 stars 1/25/2016 by BETHANKFUL1
by BETHANKFUL1

They work very well & are an excellent price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BETHANKFUL1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good item
1/24/2016

Customer review by Shayra

5.0 stars 1/24/2016 by Shayra
by Shayra

Excellent item

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shayra
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Outstanding Item
8/22/2012

Customer review by dmstok

5.0 stars 8/22/2012 by dmstok
by dmstok

Run don't walk to the nearest Walmart. These strips are top quality, easy to use and handle, and the cost cannot be beat. $9 vs. the $50+ I paid for One Touch strips. Thank you Walmart for making it cheaper for me to monitor my diabetes. As a person too young for Medicare, but with no insurance, I am so thankful to have found these strips and the meter that goes with it.

Was this review helpful? (135) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dmstok
mooresville, nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Relion
1/22/2016

Customer review by White

3.0 stars 1/22/2016 by White
by White

Only thing didn't like didn't come with anything

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
White
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
test strips
1/20/2016

Customer review by bluebrat

5.0 stars 1/20/2016 by bluebrat
by bluebrat

im sooo happy i find meter and test strips i can afford on my budget im senior citizen. service is quick .

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bluebrat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Reli on Prime
1/19/2016

Customer review by Bubba

5.0 stars 1/19/2016 by Bubba
by Bubba

Awesome product Only problem I have is finding it in stock Sometimes I have to go to another store I would think that this would be a priority keep in stock and on the shelf item

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bubba
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
6/18/2012

Customer review by SF415

4.0 stars 6/18/2012 by SF415
by SF415
Walmart associate
Staff sparks

These test strips are small and not easy to grab just one from the tube BUT you do not need much blood to get your reading. Other test strips I've used require more blood to get a reading and it sometimes is quite difficult to get a reading, resulting in me having to do it twice. I've yet to do that with this. I would definitely recommend that you try this one to compare the difference. You will definitely see the how easy it is!

Was this review helpful? (82) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SF415
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
Inexpensive but inaccurate
6/26/2013

Customer review by WelcometoWalmaht

1.0 stars 6/26/2013 by WelcometoWalmaht
by WelcometoWalmaht

The price difference between the ReliOn Prime glucometer's test strips and the Freestyle Lite glucometer I already have led to my buying this. It would be nice to save money testing blood sugar. But this device and the accompanying strips aren't accurate. I tested it on a control solution, and got five different readings, all high, all inconsistent with each other. Additionally, the amount of blood required by the ReliOn Prime strips is significantly larger than the Freestyle, which is minscule to the point of being magical. The Freestyle uses capillary action to draw a tiny blood dot into the testing chamber. The Prime requires that you smear a larger drop of blood on the bottom of the strip. So for now, I will begrudgingly continue using the (more expensive) Freestyle unit until the next generation of glucometers is available, and I recommend that people avoid this product if they want accurate readings.

Was this review helpful? (10) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WelcometoWalmaht
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
test strips
1/9/2016

Customer review by wendell

4.0 stars 1/9/2016 by wendell
by wendell

I have been using the Relion blood strips for over a year . Product is affordable and works as needed . I have and will recommend this product to others that is in need of such product

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wendell
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good product
1/11/2016

Customer review by Theo

5.0 stars 1/11/2016 by Theo
by Theo

Works good

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Theo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 330 total reviews
1-20 of 330 reviews