Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 434 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

434 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

434 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
305
4 stars
65
3 stars
18
2 stars
9
1 stars
37
1-20 of 401 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 401 total reviews
1-20 of 401 reviews
Winner on Accuracy and Price
2/25/2014

Customer review by MikeJM

5.0 stars 2/25/2014 by MikeJM
by MikeJM

Did a quick comparison with my old meter sampling large single blood drops for a few days. The average difference was about 3.5 on each set and the averages for the test only differed by about 2.6. My decade or so of experience tells me readings even on a single meter vary by those amounts in tests on separate blood drops (checking meter consistency). Conclusion is same accuracy for about one third the cost, a winner. The worst problem I have found is that the strip is slightly harder to insert into the channel on the meter. Test Results Summary in attached Photo.

Was this review helpful? (129) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MikeJM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Can't tell if it's correct without solution
4/15/2013

Customer review by karmal

4.0 stars 4/15/2013 by karmal
by karmal
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 500 contributor

These were by far the best deal on test strips. This is my first foray into glucose testing, so no comparisons, but they seem to work fine, and require very little blood to work. That said, accuracy is vital to saying if this is a good deal or not, and I have no idea if they're accurate, since you can't buy the testing solution online or in the stores for this meter. You HAVE to go to the Relion website, then give them ALL your personal info, before they will ship it to you free. (Just why do they need my phone and email info, to ship me a product by mail? Can they send it to me via email, or phone?) I really resent having this solution held hostage until I divulge my personal info to them, for what unknown purpose. Medical info should be kept private, and I shouldn't have to tell anyone my medical history, or private contact info to make sure a product I PURCHASED works properly. They should make the solution available anywhere the product is sold, rather than holding it hostage. Bad form Relion. Bad form.

Was this review helpful? (93) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
karmal
NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 500 contributor
Great price! Accuracy iffy.
10/7/2013

Customer review by DodoTofu

4.0 stars 10/7/2013 by DodoTofu
by DodoTofu

I was really excited when I went to Walmart one day and noticed their new monitor had strips that were half the price of of my Ultima. It gets difficult to afford my supplies sometimes and this was wonderful news to me. While I have had no issues with using the Prime test strips (the bottle is completely open making them easier to access) I have noticed some issues with accuracy. My Ultima was always pretty much dead on with me. If I tested several times in a row it would only be a couple points different in either direction. That's ok in my book for the price. However, with the Prime, I can test five times in a row and end up with a 30 point difference across the tests. When my numbers are ideal it drops down to a 10 point difference. It seems to be most accurate from 90-150 but above or below those numbers causes it to vary more. When you're short on cash it may be just enough to know in general where your numbers are at. As always you get what you pay for, it's up to you to decide what you can afford.

Was this review helpful? (71) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DodoTofu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Literally the worst tester/strips I've ever used
8/6/2014

Customer review by Shaylarae

1.0 stars 8/6/2014 by Shaylarae
by Shaylarae

My doctor recommended this tester because it's super cheap and he can download the numbers. I was excited about the price so I bought it and have been using it for about a month and a half. It is the WORST tester I've ever used. For the first week it worked okay, but it would get errors more often than other ones, and sometimes I'd have to use 2 test strips before it would work. Then the more I used it the worse it got. Now basically every time I test my blood I have to use at least 2 test strips, and several times I've tested 7 times and it still won't work. It either won't register that I've put my blood in the strip (and there is definitely enough blood in there) or it says says E13E! or something like that. Not sure if the problem is the tester or the strips. It's been extremely difficult to use and I'm definitely switching asap. I'd rather pay more money for something more reliable. I definitely can't "reliOn" this tester.

Was this review helpful? (43) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shaylarae
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not good enough
9/16/2013

Customer review by Mixlpixie

1.0 stars 9/16/2013 by Mixlpixie
by Mixlpixie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I switched over to these new test strips for the very low price. We are tired of getting ripped off by the drug companies gouging us for up to 50 cents per strip and Walmart has come up with an alternative. Unfortunately these have too many flaws to be viable at this time. First like all strip changes you have to buy a new meter. The new meter is a bit more bulky than my old Relion meter. It also has No audio prompts and No back light to see your results in dim light. Come on Walmart would it have been that hard to build that in? Those are just basics that Every meter should have and my old Ultra Relion meter had. The other big flaw is I continue to get too frequent E13 errors which indicate not enough blood on the strip. Even though I am putting a large dose of blood on. I've found the way around this is to hold the finger with blood drop on the strip until the results are calculated. Walmart needs to work with the producer of this meter and strips to resolve these basic problems. It's a great price but I cannot recommend this meter or strips until these basic flaws are fixed.

Was this review helpful? (66) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mixlpixie
St. Louis
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product
2/17/2017

Customer review by kb3abo

5.0 stars 2/17/2017 by kb3abo
by kb3abo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This product is easy to use. Fits in slot very easy. I already bought another box of strips I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kb3abo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
works fine and good price
2/18/2017

Customer review by plyrjordan

4.0 stars 2/18/2017 by plyrjordan
by plyrjordan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

works fine for the price

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
plyrjordan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/30/2013

Customer review by coyboy1

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by coyboy1
by coyboy1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

About a month ago I saw a Relion Prime glucometer at WM for a low price so I purchased it with a vial of Relion Prime test strips. I tested it against my One Touch Ultra 2 over 12 tests and found that both meters, using their respective strips, gave me exactly the same results +/- 3mg/Dl. I test 5 times a day. Cost: $9 Relion Prime 50ct, $68 One Touch 50ct. I switched immediately. I am also recommending this meter to my Diabetic Educator as a low cost alternative. This is important as I understand that medicare is cutting the test strips unless you are on insulin. Every Cookbook, every book about diabetes says "test your blood sugars and test them often!" These test strips give me back control so that I know when to eat and when to fast throughout the day. Thank You, coyboy

Was this review helpful? (53) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
coyboy1
Grand Rapids, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
test strips
2/17/2017

Customer review by meme

5.0 stars 2/17/2017 by meme
by meme
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Did the job

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
meme
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Inexpensive but inaccurate
6/26/2013

Customer review by WelcometoWalmaht

1.0 stars 6/26/2013 by WelcometoWalmaht
by WelcometoWalmaht

The price difference between the ReliOn Prime glucometer's test strips and the Freestyle Lite glucometer I already have led to my buying this. It would be nice to save money testing blood sugar. But this device and the accompanying strips aren't accurate. I tested it on a control solution, and got five different readings, all high, all inconsistent with each other. Additionally, the amount of blood required by the ReliOn Prime strips is significantly larger than the Freestyle, which is minscule to the point of being magical. The Freestyle uses capillary action to draw a tiny blood dot into the testing chamber. The Prime requires that you smear a larger drop of blood on the bottom of the strip. So for now, I will begrudgingly continue using the (more expensive) Freestyle unit until the next generation of glucometers is available, and I recommend that people avoid this product if they want accurate readings.

Was this review helpful? (15) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WelcometoWalmaht
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great product
2/7/2017

Customer review by FLthriftyshopper

5.0 stars 2/7/2017 by FLthriftyshopper
by FLthriftyshopper
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This product works wonderfully for my husband. It is a fantastic value. We purchased along with the monitor, at the same price!! Please don't ever discontinue this product, Walmart!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FLthriftyshopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fairly accurate
1/31/2017

Customer review by Seattleite1992

5.0 stars 1/31/2017 by Seattleite1992
by Seattleite1992
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I compared these strips to the OneTouch Ultra strips I normally use - and these strips were usually within 10 , generally on the higher side. There was one time that the ReliOn strip was about 23 higher. Since I really only care about the range of my blood sugar, and not the exact number, I will replace my OneTouch meter with the ReliOn meter. I am very happy with the ReliOn meter and these strips overall!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Seattleite1992
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Outstanding Item
8/22/2012

Customer review by dmstok

5.0 stars 8/22/2012 by dmstok
by dmstok

Run don't walk to the nearest Walmart. These strips are top quality, easy to use and handle, and the cost cannot be beat. $9 vs. the $50+ I paid for One Touch strips. Thank you Walmart for making it cheaper for me to monitor my diabetes. As a person too young for Medicare, but with no insurance, I am so thankful to have found these strips and the meter that goes with it.

Was this review helpful? (141) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dmstok
mooresville, nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
better than I thought
2/6/2014

Customer review by micjacker

4.0 stars 2/6/2014 by micjacker
by micjacker

I went to pick up my 13yr old son's One touch strips $125.00 for 300 strips. With that I was very unhappy. I put them all back.. I've been looking into ReliOn meters and strips. At that moment made my decision to make the purchase .. I was a little nervous in reading the reviews ,but in trying it and making my own decision.. ended up very happy. I tested my sons sugar with his one touch meter and then ReliOn meter and strips a couple of times just to compare ..both tests were the same. I've switched everything to the ReliOn products and I'm saving ALOT of money. The strips are a little bulky and the meter a bit cheaply made but other than that I'm very satisfied .

Was this review helpful? (45) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
micjacker
Branchville,NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
6/18/2012

Customer review by SF415

4.0 stars 6/18/2012 by SF415
by SF415
Walmart associate

These test strips are small and not easy to grab just one from the tube BUT you do not need much blood to get your reading. Other test strips I've used require more blood to get a reading and it sometimes is quite difficult to get a reading, resulting in me having to do it twice. I've yet to do that with this. I would definitely recommend that you try this one to compare the difference. You will definitely see the how easy it is!

Was this review helpful? (87) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SF415
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Best Test Strips For The Price
1/23/2017

Customer review by kitsunekari

5.0 stars 1/23/2017 by kitsunekari
by kitsunekari
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I buy these test strips because they are the lowest price of all the other brands. They work with the ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kitsunekari
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Low cost great! Ease of use questionable.
11/24/2012

Customer review by IDDM72

3.0 stars 11/24/2012 by IDDM72
by IDDM72

You certainly can't beat the price. At 9.00 a box (50 ct), the strips are about 18 cents a piece. Name brand strips generally run around a dollar each. That's the good news. The bad news...the strips are a bit difficult to get into the meter. Someone with poor dexterity, poor vision or suffering from a low blood sugar may struggle to get the strip into the meter. Also, there are no sound cues or light, which could make it difficult or impossible for people with poor vision to use. I've also noticed many strips (10 or 15 per box) produce an error message. This error seems to be the result of too much or not enough blood. I very seldom get this kind of error message from name brand meters/strips. If these strips are that touchy, then again, they probably aren't going to work for kids or people with dexterity or vision issues. Even though I did get a lot of "bad" strips per box, they are still a lot cheaper than name brand strip...but that can be really frustrating when you're in a rush. I did notice that they run about 15 to 20 mg/dl higher than my name brand meter, but that difference seems consistent, so this really isn't an issue for me. If you pay for your own supplies, this might be the answer for you. But if you're purchasing for a child or anyone with dexterity or vision issues they might not be the best choice.

Was this review helpful? (26) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IDDM72
Lincoln, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Stiff strip and low blood requirement
6/8/2012

Customer review by EC42

4.0 stars 6/8/2012 by EC42
by EC42
Walmart associate

I found these strips a little small to handle (I have very large hands), but the fact that they are a nice stiff material made them pretty easy to use. They also require a very small sample so you don't spend much time trying to "milk" out enough blood to test. The reader I had came with a carrying case and you could insert the strip through the plastic holding the reader - so you didn't even have to remove the reader from the case to take a measurement.

Was this review helpful? (98) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EC42
San Francisco
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Diabetic test meter
1/18/2017

Customer review by tselliott

5.0 stars 1/18/2017 by tselliott
by tselliott
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Works great! Great product for the price. Small enough to fit in purse and simple to use!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tselliott
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Accurate and inexpensive!!!
9/16/2012

Customer review by rooth

5.0 stars 9/16/2012 by rooth
by rooth

Accuracy is very important to me, so I tested at the same time for a while on both the Prime and my other tester (which has very expensive strips) in order to evaluate the accuracy of the Prime. The results have been almost exactly the same. At a fraction of the price, these are a great value. I have also had no errors and wonder if the user who did just got a bad batch.

Was this review helpful? (57) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rooth
Akron. Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 401 total reviews
1-20 of 401 reviews