Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 313 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

313 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

313 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
209
4 stars
49
3 stars
15
2 stars
7
1 stars
33
1-20 of 281 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 281 total reviews
1-20 of 281 reviews
Outstanding Item
8/22/2012

Customer review by dmstok

5.0 stars 8/22/2012 by dmstok
by dmstok

Run don't walk to the nearest Walmart. These strips are top quality, easy to use and handle, and the cost cannot be beat. $9 vs. the $50+ I paid for One Touch strips. Thank you Walmart for making it cheaper for me to monitor my diabetes. As a person too young for Medicare, but with no insurance, I am so thankful to have found these strips and the meter that goes with it.

Was this review helpful? (121) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dmstok
mooresville, nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Winner on Accuracy and Price
2/25/2014

Customer review by MikeJM

5.0 stars 2/25/2014 by MikeJM
by MikeJM

Did a quick comparison with my old meter sampling large single blood drops for a few days. The average difference was about 3.5 on each set and the averages for the test only differed by about 2.6. My decade or so of experience tells me readings even on a single meter vary by those amounts in tests on separate blood drops (checking meter consistency). Conclusion is same accuracy for about one third the cost, a winner. The worst problem I have found is that the strip is slightly harder to insert into the channel on the meter. Test Results Summary in attached Photo.

Was this review helpful? (90) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MikeJM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great price! Accuracy iffy.
10/7/2013

Customer review by DodoTofu

4.0 stars 10/7/2013 by DodoTofu
by DodoTofu

I was really excited when I went to Walmart one day and noticed their new monitor had strips that were half the price of of my Ultima. It gets difficult to afford my supplies sometimes and this was wonderful news to me. While I have had no issues with using the Prime test strips (the bottle is completely open making them easier to access) I have noticed some issues with accuracy. My Ultima was always pretty much dead on with me. If I tested several times in a row it would only be a couple points different in either direction. That's ok in my book for the price. However, with the Prime, I can test five times in a row and end up with a 30 point difference across the tests. When my numbers are ideal it drops down to a 10 point difference. It seems to be most accurate from 90-150 but above or below those numbers causes it to vary more. When you're short on cash it may be just enough to know in general where your numbers are at. As always you get what you pay for, it's up to you to decide what you can afford.

Was this review helpful? (55) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DodoTofu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
6/18/2012

Customer review by SF415

4.0 stars 6/18/2012 by SF415
by SF415

These test strips are small and not easy to grab just one from the tube BUT you do not need much blood to get your reading. Other test strips I've used require more blood to get a reading and it sometimes is quite difficult to get a reading, resulting in me having to do it twice. I've yet to do that with this. I would definitely recommend that you try this one to compare the difference. You will definitely see the how easy it is!

Was this review helpful? (74) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SF415
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
Can't tell if it's correct without solution
4/15/2013

Customer review by karmal

4.0 stars 4/15/2013 by karmal
by karmal

These were by far the best deal on test strips. This is my first foray into glucose testing, so no comparisons, but they seem to work fine, and require very little blood to work. That said, accuracy is vital to saying if this is a good deal or not, and I have no idea if they're accurate, since you can't buy the testing solution online or in the stores for this meter. You HAVE to go to the Relion website, then give them ALL your personal info, before they will ship it to you free. (Just why do they need my phone and email info, to ship me a product by mail? Can they send it to me via email, or phone?) I really resent having this solution held hostage until I divulge my personal info to them, for what unknown purpose. Medical info should be kept private, and I shouldn't have to tell anyone my medical history, or private contact info to make sure a product I PURCHASED works properly. They should make the solution available anywhere the product is sold, rather than holding it hostage. Bad form Relion. Bad form.

Was this review helpful? (64) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
karmal
NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 500 contributor
Stiff strip and low blood requirement
6/8/2012

Customer review by EC42

4.0 stars 6/8/2012 by EC42
by EC42

I found these strips a little small to handle (I have very large hands), but the fact that they are a nice stiff material made them pretty easy to use. They also require a very small sample so you don't spend much time trying to "milk" out enough blood to test. The reader I had came with a carrying case and you could insert the strip through the plastic holding the reader - so you didn't even have to remove the reader from the case to take a measurement.

Was this review helpful? (95) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EC42
San Francisco
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Small, but easily marked
6/21/2012

Customer review by AngMomOfTwo

5.0 stars 6/21/2012 by AngMomOfTwo
by AngMomOfTwo

With my grandma's poor vision sometimes it is hard for her to insert the test strip into the monitor, but these strips are clearly marked and easily insert. Only a small sample is required and the area is also clearly marked on the strip.

Was this review helpful? (99) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AngMomOfTwo
Hayward, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
8/30/2013

Customer review by coyboy1

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by coyboy1
by coyboy1

About a month ago I saw a Relion Prime glucometer at WM for a low price so I purchased it with a vial of Relion Prime test strips. I tested it against my One Touch Ultra 2 over 12 tests and found that both meters, using their respective strips, gave me exactly the same results +/- 3mg/Dl. I test 5 times a day. Cost: $9 Relion Prime 50ct, $68 One Touch 50ct. I switched immediately. I am also recommending this meter to my Diabetic Educator as a low cost alternative. This is important as I understand that medicare is cutting the test strips unless you are on insulin. Every Cookbook, every book about diabetes says "test your blood sugars and test them often!" These test strips give me back control so that I know when to eat and when to fast throughout the day. Thank You, coyboy

Was this review helpful? (44) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
coyboy1
Grand Rapids, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
better than I thought
2/6/2014

Customer review by micjacker

4.0 stars 2/6/2014 by micjacker
by micjacker

I went to pick up my 13yr old son's One touch strips $125.00 for 300 strips. With that I was very unhappy. I put them all back.. I've been looking into ReliOn meters and strips. At that moment made my decision to make the purchase .. I was a little nervous in reading the reviews ,but in trying it and making my own decision.. ended up very happy. I tested my sons sugar with his one touch meter and then ReliOn meter and strips a couple of times just to compare ..both tests were the same. I've switched everything to the ReliOn products and I'm saving ALOT of money. The strips are a little bulky and the meter a bit cheaply made but other than that I'm very satisfied .

Was this review helpful? (36) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
micjacker
Branchville,NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Accurate and inexpensive!!!
9/16/2012

Customer review by rooth

5.0 stars 9/16/2012 by rooth
by rooth

Accuracy is very important to me, so I tested at the same time for a while on both the Prime and my other tester (which has very expensive strips) in order to evaluate the accuracy of the Prime. The results have been almost exactly the same. At a fraction of the price, these are a great value. I have also had no errors and wonder if the user who did just got a bad batch.

Was this review helpful? (54) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rooth
Akron. Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Cheap, Inaccurate
10/22/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 10/22/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

First I want to say that I appreciate Wal-mart’s efforts in reducing costs for prescription medicines and diabetes supplies. They were the first to offer $4. prescriptions and first to offer reliable, low-cost test strips. I have used Wal-Mart’s Relion Ultima meter and glucose test strips since 2007. They rated well by a consumer testing agency and my meter results were accurate enough for me to fairly accurately “guess” what my A1C test results would be. The Ultima test strips cost about 1/3 or ¼ of the price of “brand name” strips. Testing 6-7 times per day cost $900.- $1,000.s per year. I was thrilled when Wal-Mart introduced the Prime meter and test strips for half the cost of the Ultima. Unfortunately, the results of the Prime have been somewhat disappointing. For 2 days I ran side-by-side tests on the Ultima and the Prime and the Prime gave consistently higher, and I believe, less accurate results. I set both meters up and pricked my finger and used the same blood sample on both strips. There is a margin of error in any glucose meter but the most dramatic difference was a 70 on the Ultima and a 123 on the Prime. I knew by the fact that I was starting to get the shakes that my blood glucose was going low and the 70 reading was the more accurate result. If I believed the Prime result, I would fail to treat a low before it got really low. Additionally, the opening on the Prime where the strip is inserted is such a tight fit that I think I would be unable to insert it when my glucose was really low. The Ultima has a wider opening and a yellow highlight where the strip is inserted making it much easier. I am halfway through my last box of Ultima test strips and will have to make a tough decision, the Prime price is really great but the results are so unreliable I have to wonder if it’s worth the trade off.

Was this review helpful? (40) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
belleville, mi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not good enough
9/16/2013

Customer review by Mixlpixie

1.0 stars 9/16/2013 by Mixlpixie
by Mixlpixie

I switched over to these new test strips for the very low price. We are tired of getting ripped off by the drug companies gouging us for up to 50 cents per strip and Walmart has come up with an alternative. Unfortunately these have too many flaws to be viable at this time. First like all strip changes you have to buy a new meter. The new meter is a bit more bulky than my old Relion meter. It also has No audio prompts and No back light to see your results in dim light. Come on Walmart would it have been that hard to build that in? Those are just basics that Every meter should have and my old Ultra Relion meter had. The other big flaw is I continue to get too frequent E13 errors which indicate not enough blood on the strip. Even though I am putting a large dose of blood on. I've found the way around this is to hold the finger with blood drop on the strip until the results are calculated. Walmart needs to work with the producer of this meter and strips to resolve these basic problems. It's a great price but I cannot recommend this meter or strips until these basic flaws are fixed.

Was this review helpful? (57) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mixlpixie
St. Louis
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good product good value
8/13/2012

Customer review by Starky1969

4.0 stars 8/13/2012 by Starky1969
by Starky1969

Been using Relion products for several years. Just bought the Prime meter.works well and the test strips are about 1/2 the cost of Relion Confirm test strips and are more than 3/4 the cost of other test strips.

Was this review helpful? (22) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Starky1969
Cozad Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Low cost great! Ease of use questionable.
11/24/2012

Customer review by IDDM72

3.0 stars 11/24/2012 by IDDM72
by IDDM72

You certainly can't beat the price. At 9.00 a box (50 ct), the strips are about 18 cents a piece. Name brand strips generally run around a dollar each. That's the good news. The bad news...the strips are a bit difficult to get into the meter. Someone with poor dexterity, poor vision or suffering from a low blood sugar may struggle to get the strip into the meter. Also, there are no sound cues or light, which could make it difficult or impossible for people with poor vision to use. I've also noticed many strips (10 or 15 per box) produce an error message. This error seems to be the result of too much or not enough blood. I very seldom get this kind of error message from name brand meters/strips. If these strips are that touchy, then again, they probably aren't going to work for kids or people with dexterity or vision issues. Even though I did get a lot of "bad" strips per box, they are still a lot cheaper than name brand strip...but that can be really frustrating when you're in a rush. I did notice that they run about 15 to 20 mg/dl higher than my name brand meter, but that difference seems consistent, so this really isn't an issue for me. If you pay for your own supplies, this might be the answer for you. But if you're purchasing for a child or anyone with dexterity or vision issues they might not be the best choice.

Was this review helpful? (22) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IDDM72
Lincoln, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Would not purchase this product again!
10/30/2012

Customer review by HawaiiSugarDaddy

1.0 stars 10/30/2012 by HawaiiSugarDaddy
by HawaiiSugarDaddy

Purchased these test strips in order to save money. Not to mention that I had to purchase the meter to go with it...all in all...about $30. Not to mention 50 test strips for about $10 is a really great deal. Unfortunately, having compared these test strips with my regular brand...(testing each at the same time that I check my blood sugar)...the Reli-on brand kept giving me very high and mis-leading readings. I'd say that on average....the Reli-on test strips would read about 20-30 points higher than what the other meter would read. Overall...just plain frustrating and out about $30. I would not purchase this particular brand again...despite the very affordable pricing.

Was this review helpful? (29) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HawaiiSugarDaddy
Oahu, Hawaii
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Reasonably Priced - Great value and results.
10/29/2012

Customer review by FrugelShopper55

5.0 stars 10/29/2012 by FrugelShopper55
by FrugelShopper55

I did a lot of research on meters and strips as far as price, reliability and accuracy. ReliOn brand was the best overall. 50 ct of test strips only cost me $9 unlike other brands that cost around $50 for 50 strips.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FrugelShopper55
Lakewood, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
alarm E-13, way too many times
6/12/2014

Customer review by pennaman

1.0 stars 6/12/2014 by pennaman
by pennaman

I have used the "one touch" test strips for quite some time. Because of the prohibitive cost I decided to give the "relion" strips a try. "Bad idea"!!!! I really don't like pricking my finger more that once. The relion strips, in spite of an abundance of blood give me the E-13 alarm way to frequently. I have been a faithful customer for everything I have ever bought at Walmart, and Sams, but this product is really a bust. I'm going to return both the Meter and the remaining test strips for a refund. I still love your stores and you other products.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pennaman
Lower Burrell, Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Relion Prime Strips are a Great Value
9/25/2012

Customer review by Katy80K

5.0 stars 9/25/2012 by Katy80K
by Katy80K

Walmart is leading the way to fairly priced strips. 9cents a strip compared to a dollar a strip is a great break. It seems to be the insurance companies who price so high. Thank you Walmart for showing that a strip can be reasonably priced and work very well.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Katy80K
Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This product works
12/14/2013

Customer review by ohdere

5.0 stars 12/14/2013 by ohdere
by ohdere

This product works just as well as any other expensive meter. I have been a diabetic for 40 years and I can tell you any meter can test up to 50 points over or under your actual blood sugar. The only true test is blood taken from the vein at the doctor's office. I have used about every meter made. I have participated in studies so I know that each meter can read differently. Unless you have insurance that will pay for strips I highly recommended this one.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ohdere
Cumming, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
ReliOn Blood Test Strips
8/20/2012

Customer review by exrvmgirl

1.0 stars 8/20/2012 by exrvmgirl
by exrvmgirl

I wasn't going to give it a rating because it don't deserve one--but you can't submit it without a rating. No wonder the strips are so cheap--everyone one I used read either E-3 or E-7 which means the strips are no good. I am very upset with this merchandise. I am calling the company on them.

Was this review helpful? (16) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
exrvmgirl
Jeffersonvile IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 281 total reviews
1-20 of 281 reviews