Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 404 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

404 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

404 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
296
4 stars
84
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 stars
12
1-20 of 279 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 279 total reviews
1-20 of 279 reviews
Great LCD for the price!
12/18/2012

Customer review by julzbegood

4.0 stars 12/18/2012 by julzbegood
by julzbegood
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love my new JVC 42" TV! The sound is really amazing! Color/picture is wonderful; has the option for the special colors/Vivid built in etc. This is an excellent value, but I bought it on Cyber-week. With a Blu-ray disc player, it's even more amazing! I would not recommend this TV for all non-HD channels however; although I will have to say that the non-HD is better than my previous 32" on this with some messing around with the video settings. But it won't cover the entire screen with HDMI hook-up. I am not sure about the regular video/audio plug-ins. Might be better for non-HD with those cables. The other lil' negative is that it does not have enough HDMI and other Audio/Video inputs to support all my other electronics, but I've got several. Probably more than most. Overall, I am very happy with this. I've switched all my channels to HD, and when people are over they are amazed at both the sound and picture! :)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
julzbegood
Quincy, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/8/2012

Customer review by Happyjvcowner

5.0 stars 8/8/2012 by Happyjvcowner
by Happyjvcowner

I set out looking for a tv with good sound. The flat screens these days aren't known for the sound quality. The selling factor for me was the front firing speakers which are excellent. As with all tvs you can adjust the settings to your liking. I wasn't interested in adding a sound bar. The picture is beautiful - again - set it the way you like it. It also adjusts to the lighting in the room which is easy on the eyes. All of these features can be turned off and set manually. The 60 hz over 120 hz does not make a difference to me. I don't play games or have a blue ray. If you do either one of those - I would go with the 120 hz. I also went with the LCD over LED because LCD have less glare - being less in price is a plus as well. Great purchase!!

Was this review helpful? (248) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Happyjvcowner
Pensacola, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/8/2012

Customer review by cdstaxx

2.0 stars 12/8/2012 by cdstaxx
by cdstaxx

I bought this tv on the basis of reviews I had read, including walmart, amazon, and others. It IS easy to set up. It is also easy to take it apart to bring back to Walmart. The remote did not work right out of the box so I turned the tv on manually figuring I'll use the cable remote to run the set anyway. The owners manual says when the tv is first turned on, a "set up wizard" appears on the screen so you can program the tv. I got thru the first two screens and the tv went south. No matter what I did, I couldn't get the set to do anything. All I got was a screen that said "no signal". I decided to call JVC customer service. BIG MISTAKE! The call center must be in Bangladesh. The agent made me repeat the same steps to attempt to re set the tv about 9 times to no avail.I asked to have a JVC tech come to my house and was informed the tech would call me sometime in the next two weeks to schedule an appointment. Needless to say I'm going to look at other brand now.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cdstaxx
methuen, ma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Very pleasantly surprised!
11/18/2012

Customer review by sue727

5.0 stars 11/18/2012 by sue727
by sue727

I ordered this on Wed. expecting to recieve 10 days later, to my surprise 3 days later I had my TV. So easy to set up and use. Once it was set up and we turned it on we were stunned by the quality of the picture. Colors so vivid and almost felt like we were watchinv 3d. Everytime anyone walked out and back in they had to stop and look at the pic again! The I told my son to get out the pop corn because it sounded like we were a theatre. On a side note. When we set it up, in the upper right hand corner it kept showing that it was 720p. We looked through the book and found nothing so we called customer service. He explained to us that our box was set up for 720p. All we had to do was call our cable provider and we were in business!

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sue727
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great quality for a great price.
11/13/2012

Customer review by blacksmith44

5.0 stars 11/13/2012 by blacksmith44
by blacksmith44
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This set has excellent picture and sound. It was very easy to set up with with no long complicated menus to sort through. There is only one set of AV inputs, but the two HDMI inputs are all that I need. I find the USB input very useful for running slide shows from my digital camera. By using an adapter, I am able to show pictures directly from a memory card. After having this set for only a week, I am very pleased with the overall quality. The icing on the cake was that I was able to pick up the set at my local store in less than twenty-four hours after I had ordered it online.

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
blacksmith44
Southern Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/16/2012

Customer review by redminicoops

5.0 stars 10/16/2012 by redminicoops
by redminicoops

Purchased online; picked up in store, minimal wait time, Walmart employee loaded in car. At home, mounted on wall in master bedroom - no problems. Really easy set up w/remote. You can customize various settings and save, for example, I have one for live action and one for movies. Picture quality is excellent (using HDMI connections 1&2 for Directv and blue ray player). Spend the extra couple of bucks for the HDMI cables - you won't be disappointed. Sound quality is surprisingly good. No downside to this product and I've had it for two months. Currently debating on purchasing extended warranty.

Was this review helpful? (90) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
redminicoops
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
10/15/2012

Customer review by howdypartner1

5.0 stars 10/15/2012 by howdypartner1
by howdypartner1

I was looking for an inexpensive TV for my second residence, and for the money, this fit the bill nicely. The picture quality, itself, in HDMI and Component Video, is great. Even for a 60hz unit, it keeps up with movie and sports action without displaying blurriness. Speaker volume is amazing for just a TV The number of video inputs is perfect, you can hook up pretty much anything and everything you can dream of

Was this review helpful? (103) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
howdypartner1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
10/13/2012

Customer review by willie4857

5.0 stars 10/13/2012 by willie4857
by willie4857

this tv is awesome! the sound will blow you away, deep rich, vibrant picture and sound i had a soundbar with my previous set but totally not needed with this one, this tv is a bargain could not be happier.... oh, set up is a breeze took bout 20 minutes from box to watching a movie on tnt!!

Was this review helpful? (103) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
willie4857
houston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
10/21/2012

Customer review by newborn5

4.0 stars 10/21/2012 by newborn5
by newborn5

Great product for the money. I have had it for about 3 months and love watching sports on it. My favorite feature though, is that you can plug a USB drive directly into the TV and it will play most file types.

Was this review helpful? (36) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
newborn5
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
10/15/2012

Customer review by fourbet

5.0 stars 10/15/2012 by fourbet
by fourbet

I purchased this television for the master bedroom. It was easy to put together and probably took 20 minutes. Overall I give this television 5 stars. The picture and sound are very good. I was worried about the sound quality as on my larger TV I needed a sound bar to increase the quality. I have a very large master bedroom and this television does just fine. Great product, would buy it again.

Was this review helpful? (34) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fourbet
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome TV
12/2/2012

Customer review by AWG117

5.0 stars 12/2/2012 by AWG117
by AWG117

Ordered my 42" JVC online as part of the walmart black fri promotion.Just got it today 12/1/2012 and its awesome. great picture and unbelieveable sound.never had experience with any jvc products prior to this purchase,but had a friend who had purchased one about 4yrs ago.he recommended this brand and it had good reliability ratings.the 42" jvc cost me less than what i had paid for another brand that was only 37" and the picture /sound are so much better.I would definetely recommend this tv to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AWG117
murfreesboro,tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
10/26/2012

Customer review by watonga4001

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by watonga4001
by watonga4001
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

great tv absoutely the best sounding tv i have seen without external speakers, iam very satisfied withb this set delivery for store pickup was much faster than promised and set up was really simple,once again, great sound!!!

Was this review helpful? (30) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
watonga4001
houston,tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very nice TV for the price
11/28/2012

Customer review by FringeSuburbanite

4.0 stars 11/28/2012 by FringeSuburbanite
by FringeSuburbanite
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Pros: Great picture (nice contrast with dark blacks) with good audio. Cons: OTA TV Tuner is only adequate. Not as sensitive as converter box it replaced at same antenna connection. Does not display program summary or next program on channel (no "guide" screen either), and does not have channel signal strength meter if you need to adjust antenna. Remote is a little awkward for selecting OTA channels as you always have to key in the Dash and Enter keys to access channels directly. Seems design resources were more focused on that people would mostly use cable/satellite as live inputs. Only has 2 HDMI inputs (one back and one side) but does have VGA for computer if that is something you might use. Overall a great value if you can get it for <$400.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FringeSuburbanite
Chicagoland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
exceeded my expectations
11/24/2012

Customer review by tigger76

5.0 stars 11/24/2012 by tigger76
by tigger76

I bought this system to replace the sceptre system we had before, now in our bedroom. anyway, this pictures are crisp and colorful. the hookups are plenty and the whole thing is easy to setup. This is truly a quality product. If you're like me looking for a great deal, great product at a good price being a family woman.. this is the product.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tigger76
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Did not like it at first ...
11/27/2012

Customer review by hookupman

4.0 stars 11/27/2012 by hookupman
by hookupman

Some of this might not apply to those with cable or satellite tuners. I have an antenna. Picture is as good as I hoped and the sound is even better than I expected. Here are it's faults: (1) Channel number display is less than 1/2" high so when you change channels, you need good eyes or be close to the TV to read the channel numbers. (2) To select a channel, you have to put in the channel number including a "dash" and sub-channel number- usually 4 keystrokes.Since you do this thousands of times a year, it should default to sub-channel 1 so you could put in "20" instead of "20-1", for instance. (3) Since the keys are small on the remote, it is easy to hit the wrong key or two keys. Often it ignores a key press, I guess because I don't press the key down all the way. (4) The round back on the remote makes it difficult to hold with one hand and press buttons with the thumb. (5) I wish it had a video/sound output connection so I could record on the computer or other DVR. I use EZ Grabber but for now have to use it with another TV. Here are some Pros in addition to the picture and sound: (1) It has a VGA socket for computers. It makes the TV act as a second screen, not just a copy of what is on the computer screen (as with the HDMI.) I use it to check Powerpoint displays. (2) I use the "music" mode to play my satellite radio and iPod through the TV -- this minimizes devices and remotes. It seems that most TVs have this feature. That's all I can think of now. I recommend this TV because the Walmart "expert" says all the TV digital tuners work and display as this JVC does. That's a shame because it is not user friendly. Maybe after I've had it longer, I can give more positive info.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hookupman
eastern USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Value for a 42" TV!
11/27/2012

Customer review by LLEEC

5.0 stars 11/27/2012 by LLEEC
by LLEEC

Ordered this tv as a replacement for my old DLP set. I'm impressed with the picture quality and and depth of sound that the xinema sound delivers. If you need a great TV for the gameroom or bedroom you won't be disappointed. An additional item that made it even better was I received it much sooner than promised in only 3 days.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LLEEC
Houston, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV for the price
11/26/2012

Customer review by idwrmm

5.0 stars 11/26/2012 by idwrmm
by idwrmm
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great TV for the sale price. Excellent picture and sound. Skin tones are natural and set up was easy to accomplish. A quality product.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
idwrmm
Franklin, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great value for the price
11/11/2012

Customer review by les8

5.0 stars 11/11/2012 by les8
by les8
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

this is my first experience with an LCD tv so far I like it better than my LG plasma Set which barely made it past the warranty before going belly up,so far I find this a far superior product in every way.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
les8
Jacksonville,Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great TV Great Price Exceptional Sound-Very Happy!
2/25/2013

Customer review by TheChasMan

5.0 stars 2/25/2013 by TheChasMan
by TheChasMan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We had originally bought a 39" Insignia LCD tv from BB. Customer service is always a nightmare there but the clerk said this was a good tv for the price. What a piece of junk. It went off and on randomly and constantly forgot channels(since this is straight off the cable..no box) which meant doing the 20 minute channel scan all the time. Back it goes! We found this on Walmart.com and took a shot. We ordered it on a Sunday night and got a text it was in the store on Tuesday. What a great tv! Picture is sharp and clear. Sound is unbelievable. (no sound bar needed for this one) We have always used JVC products but they don't turn up to much in the big box stores. This model is a few years old but we have it in an office and use as a computer monitor too for our business and it serves our needs very well. Do your homework, read reviews, and do not take the salesperson's word on what's good. This one is as good as our 42" Panny or the 60" LG with way better sound.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheChasMan
Glouscester Township, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Don't judge a flatscreen by its price.
12/4/2012

Customer review by Romeo747

5.0 stars 12/4/2012 by Romeo747
by Romeo747
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great Price Great Picture Great Sound Tv is outstanding for the price. Really no complaints.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Romeo747
waycross, ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 279 total reviews
1-20 of 279 reviews