Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 28 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

28 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

28 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
14
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 stars
4
1-20 of 25 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 25 total reviews
1-20 of 25 reviews
well worth its money
7/22/2012

Customer review by banachek77

5.0 stars 7/22/2012 by banachek77
by banachek77

if your looking for an led tv this is a great buy . the picture quality is amazing and blu-ray movies look awsome and the sound is quality is good. the one nit-pick that i have is the remote control, its slugish and you have to point it right at a certain spot on the tv , dont let that stop you from buying . if you have satellite or cable it will have its own remote anyways. well worth its money!

Was this review helpful? (46) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
banachek77
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Better than I expected!
5/21/2012

Customer review by dannyxk7

5.0 stars 5/21/2012 by dannyxk7
by dannyxk7

Bought this tv on sale for $888.00 and couldn't be happier. The picture is great, no complaints!

Was this review helpful? (43) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dannyxk7
Lawrenceville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/1/2012

Customer review by bands

5.0 stars 8/1/2012 by bands
by bands

Ok, for starters, I just bought this tv yesterday. So far, everything is great. Easy set up, great picture and sound. The only problem i have with reviews is, very few people post a review after owning the product for a year or more. For ex. , I was looking at a 50 in. Sanyo ( I have a 32 in and love the picture.), But i read about 20+ reviews and only found 3 that had the tv for about 1 year. And they all said the same thing. That after 1 year the Sanyo would quit working. SO,,, if the Toshiba last's for 1 year, (and WalMart will let me repost,) I will be more than glad to write another review. But so for, my wife and i are very pleased with the Toshiba. I would recomend this tv , Good price, and great value.

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bands
Ft. Madison, Ia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
:o)
8/3/2012

Customer review by Indetox

5.0 stars 8/3/2012 by Indetox
by Indetox

Ordered this TV online and it arrived via Site-to-Store free shipping 3 days later. Received an email informing me it was at my local store and the associate was prompt and courteous in assisting with the pick-up process. Just got it out of the box tonight and it is great! Set up was a breeze and has an outstanding picture and nice features. Some folks may find 3 HDMI ports lacking but it wasn't an issue on my part. Gave it an "average" for sound because that seems to be the norm with flat panels but it was an easy fix with some external speakers. There is another 50" Toshiba for a little less money that has a great picture but only 2 HDMI ports, is only 60Hz and didn't have some of the nice features this model had to offer. This model seems worth the additional cost, especially since Walmart's price was still about 20% lower than another chain that is supposed to have the best buys. So far so good and will certainly update if something goes awry. Thanks Walmart and Toshiba,

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Indetox
South Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent TV at Excellent Price!
8/8/2012

Customer review by 12stepstolife

5.0 stars 8/8/2012 by 12stepstolife
by 12stepstolife

I did quite a bit of research before purchasing this TV, so I was fairly confident it would be a good set. However, it was even better than I expected. First, let me say that I was looking for a tv, not a machine that does it all. I did not want 3d, picture-in-picture, or internet connectivity, though I get internet via both Direct TV and my TIVO. The TV itself has a fantastic picture right out of the box. The basic setting for home is so good that I have not yet found a need to tweak it. The sound is loud and clear, and the leveling feature keeps the loud, obnoxious commercials from being too irritating. I have been pleased with the motion reproduction. Other reviewers have commented on the remote, so let me say that it really works fine, though it is a bit light weight. Personally, we use the Direct TV remote, so it is not much of an issue, anyway. If you are like me and want a great TV that does what it should without all of the bells and whistles, then you can get this at a reasonable price. I shopped around and found the best price at Walmart. Also, i don't normally get extended warranties, but I did this time. Not really sure why, but I did. I ordered it online on Thursday,a nd it arrived at my home on Friday! Finally, let me add that I feel good knowing that I paid half of what my friends with different models did, and I got a TV that I think is better.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
12stepstolife
Southern Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Quality at a Fair Price
8/25/2012

Customer review by Geezah

5.0 stars 8/25/2012 by Geezah
by Geezah

Our six-year old 62" Toshiba dlp rear projection TV began to fail and we believe it would have cost around $1,000 to fix. So I hauled it to the dump. I checked online to learn of the lastest TV technology and what sales were in effect. I was very interested in a 55" Samsung LED, but it had only 2 HDMI ports and cost around $1,300. I was surprised that WalMart had the best price on this 50" Toshiba LED. I picked up the TV at WalMart and was surprised that it was relatively easy to handle, weighing only about 40 pounds. I thought the picture would be good and my expections were correct. It is much brighter with better contrast than our old DLP rear projection TV. My main concern based on reviews of ultra thin TV's of various brands was audio quality. Reviews of ultra thin TV's often mentioned weak and tinny sound because the physical dimensions of the speakers are limited by the unit's thickness. Actually, I was pleasantly surprised because the sound is clear and crisp and the volume is fine. The 3 HDMI ports are adequate for our accessories. And the digital optical output gives us another option when hooked to our sound amplifying unit. We've only had the TV for a few days, so I can't evaluate it's durability. As some have commented, the control unit is not of the highest quality. At times, I have had to press it more than once just to turn the TV on. It can also be too sensitive when scrolling through the sub menu selections, in which case I've had to back track to select what I want.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Geezah
Albany, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
You get what you pay for
9/18/2012

Customer review by Plabador

2.0 stars 9/18/2012 by Plabador
by Plabador

We just upgraded or 55" rear projection HDTV bought in 2005 with this LED-LCD 50" from Toshiba. We were very excited to have a new tv with the latest tech, and for the most part we like it. The price is fantastic and it has all of the features we were looking for! The picture is Okay... it is very crisp and such an incredible difference compared to our old rear projection, BUT it has the very annoying "bleeding" that many complain about! When the screen is black there are eight "light spots" across the screen! The brightest are in the four corners. As long as the picture on the screen is bright and full of bright colors, you barely notice them, but when the scene changes to dark pictures, the bright spots are very noticeable. We were going to just deal with it, but the more I watch at night in a dark room the more it annoys me! I am considering paying the extra money and going for the LG 55" also on sale at WalMart. I can't find any other comparable TV with the same features and good reviews for a good price.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Plabador
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/27/2012

Customer review by HITTMAN179

1.0 stars 8/27/2012 by HITTMAN179
by HITTMAN179

I RETURNED THIS T.V BECAUSE OF THE LED BACK LIGHTING PROBLEMS. LED BLEED AND CLOUDING WAS SO BAD TO THE POINT THAT BLACKS LOOKED LIKE FLASHLIGHTS SHINNING THRU IT..... I DID A LOT OF RESEARCH ON THIS SET AND WAS VERY DISAPOINTED THAT IT DID NOT MEET THE REVIEWS I READ ON CNET AND ON EVERY WEB SITE THAT SOLD THIS T.V . WOULD NOT BUY THIS T.V STAY AWAY. I ALSO DID EVERY POSSIBLE SETTING TO THIS T.V AND IT DID NOT CHANGE THE PROBLEM WITH THE LED BACK LIGHTING. TOSHIBA NEEDS WORK ON THERE LED TEC.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HITTMAN179
JUPITER FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/10/2012

Customer review by bbrown1990

1.0 stars 9/10/2012 by bbrown1990
by bbrown1990

I bought the t.v. and i turned it on and in all four corner, and the middle there was color bleeding, so i returned the t.v. thinking that it was just this one, well i was wrong. i bought the second one and the same problems were wrong with this one. I would not recommend this t.v. to anyone, this t.v. is awful

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bbrown1990
Milton, nh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT VALUE !!!!
8/4/2012

Customer review by pvslim

4.0 stars 8/4/2012 by pvslim
by pvslim

FOR THOSE WHO JUST LOVE JUST WATCHING TV BIG THUMBS UP. IF YOU MAIN THING IS SPORTS THIS IS NOT THE TV FOR YOU. TO MUCH BLURRING!

Was this review helpful? (9) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pvslim
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Horrible light bleeding!
9/1/2012

Customer review by Reversibility

2.0 stars 9/1/2012 by Reversibility
by Reversibility

This TVs picture is very good except during dark scenes. There is very bad backlight bleeding extending from all four corners which makes about half of the TV screen unwatchable (the center part of the screen looks very good though, LOL). I thought I could get used to it, but after about a month I just could not stand it anymore and returned it. I exchanged it for a direct lit/full array which is much thicker than the new edge lit TVs but is at least watchable with zero backlight bleed. I don't care how thin a TV can get, if the picture's bad during dark scenes then what's the point? If you watch TV in a dark room, then this TV is not for you, trust me...

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Reversibility
ND
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great picture.
9/6/2012

Customer review by zjigger

5.0 stars 9/6/2012 by zjigger
by zjigger

Toshiba 50" LED, purchased 8/15/12. Great picture, easy to install. The audio is unremarkable, like most TV's, so buying surrond sound. Price, service, fast delivery & good product all combined for a good experience. Would reccommend. GW

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
zjigger
Glenville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A so-so review
10/26/2012

Customer review by barbie04

3.0 stars 10/26/2012 by barbie04
by barbie04

This tv replaced our 52" DLP Toshiba that went kaput after the bulb blew. We returned this tv after 10 days or so. The picture was not awfrul but then again we were not totally satisfied. As other reviews stated, there was some bleeding of color around the edges of objects, such as a person's arm, etc. This is the first LED tv we have purchased, maybe that is how they look and we are just not used to it. In any event, for $800 we expected more. Not sure what we will purchase now but looks like we will have to go to a higher priced tv.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
barbie04
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great tv
8/15/2012

Customer review by usmc2040722

5.0 stars 8/15/2012 by usmc2040722
by usmc2040722

I bought in Jan 2012 a Toshiba 42" TV and decided this one would go into bedroom and 50" would go into TV Room. I still have a Toshiba 27" CRT from 1994 it is working fine in my office. My son has a 47" LG LED TV the color & motion while watching football is much better on 50" Toshiba. I'm very well satisfied with my 42" and my 50" Toshiba TV's. Oh yeah I ordered my 50" on Sunday I picked it up on Tues.

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
usmc2040722
Brandon, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Bright, Clear Picture
10/19/2012

Customer review by Happy2BintheVille

5.0 stars 10/19/2012 by Happy2BintheVille
by Happy2BintheVille

We had purchased the 40" model of the same TV for one room and loved it. Bought this 50" to replace an almost new 50" plasma, because we experienced and read that plasma sets are hard to see in a sunny room. Plasma sets are less bright and have glossy screens, so the picture is overcome by light and reflections. We read that LCD-LED sets are the brightest, and this one is among the brightest LCD-LED sets. Very happy with the difference. Walmart's price was 25% below the second best price on the market. Had it delivered to my local WM store. Smooth process.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Happy2BintheVille
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Poor Handleing in Transit
10/24/2012

Customer review by Birdy8

5.0 stars 10/24/2012 by Birdy8
by Birdy8

I ordered this TV on line and when it came in, the screen on this TV was shattered in 30 pieces. I had to return the TV and order another one. When the second TV came in, the box looked worse than the first one. The guys in shipping need to pay a little more attention to the boxes that say " TELEVISION".

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Birdy8
marble falls, texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
As expected
12/26/2012

Customer review by LRV

5.0 stars 12/26/2012 by LRV
by LRV

Had this TV 5 months now, excellent picture and no sound problems. We have three Toshiba televisions they are all good quality, and reasonable in price.

LRV
Lost River, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great
10/17/2012

Customer review by Rob

5.0 stars 10/17/2012 by Rob
by Rob

This is an amazing TV for the price I got it at. The only reason I rated the features lower is because it doesnt have all of the extra apps and what not, but that is the reason I bought it. I dont want any of that extra junk and this TV is perfect for that and looks amazing on my wall.

Rob
Sioux Falls, SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Testing TV's
8/9/2012

Customer review by ugotgod

5.0 stars 8/9/2012 by ugotgod
by ugotgod

All is well so far so good been a week! Toshiba has Best in USA TV Price for size w/Best HD Pic & sound!!!

ugotgod
Cleveland, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
nice tv
7/25/2012

Customer review by na

4.0 stars 7/25/2012 by na
by na

This is a very nice tv and mine does not smell as the previous review states. Ridiculous thing to say. as to the sound if you can afford to buy this tv then you should have it hooked into a decent audio system. Tv's are monitors, not home theatre systems themselves.If calibrated properly by setting the backlight at 40, color at 35 and turning the clearscan off this tv has a very nice picture. Black levels are excellent and there is virtually no light bleed and motion processing is very good. At it's price point this is a hard tv to beat. Highly recommended.

na
bloomington,il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1-20 of 25 reviews