Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.2out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5 | 92 reviews
5 stars
41
4 stars
37
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 stars
2
Sort by: 
1-20 of 90 reviews
1-20 of 90 reviews
Great value for the price
7/21/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
If you want the sturdiest, spend a couple hundred more & get solid wood, but of all the pressed wood products I have assembled this is the sturdiest. It is rather a low seated bench (read dimensions) which I wanted for entryway shoe storage. Adjustable shelves let you fit different sizes from sandals to boots etc. Ease of assembly was average, if panels had identifying stickers on them to quickly differentiate between similar ones I would have rated higher. Note: be careful not to over tighten the retaining screw/bolts as it will split the pressed wood. If done properly it is no problem & makes a nice tight fit. A real plus was that all the pre-drilled holes actually matched up! A rare feat on furniture in this price range.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (25)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great for Entryway
10/23/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I live in a condo and wanted a bench next to my door to make it easy to take shoes off and on. This was great since it holds the shoes and gets them out of the way. I am a senior and put this together myself which wasn't difficult but would have been easier if the pieces were marked. I get lots of compliments on this piece and highly recommend it, especially if you don't need a really big bench.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect addition to my closet!
5/30/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Sturdy and easy to assemble. Great for my husband to sit and put on his shoes!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great little bench
4/14/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I am glad I paid attention to the measurements and got two of these. These benches are small, but very sturdy. The cubbies are not as deep as some other storage benches, but they work fine for our purposes. My husband can put his size 10 1/2 shoes on the shelves without them hanging over the edge, so all is well. This shelf is constructed with two uprights in the center to divide the storage space into three sections. You then have three adjustable shelves you can put it wherever you want. Rather than put one shelf in each section, I put one shelf in one section, two in another section, and left one section without the shelf. This allows for each bench to have 4 cubbies for sneakers or slip-on shoes, 1 for boots, and one for a backpack. With two benches set up this way, we now have storage for both of my kids' full-sized school backpacks, and all the shoes our family of four typically wears. It's awesome! These benches are sturdy too... despite being particle board, they support my 250+ pounds without any problems. Easy to assemble (each one took me about 25 minutes, by myself), good price, and works for us. I am pleased.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (33)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fits Perfectly!
5/30/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I don't normally write reviews for things unless they are awful, but this bench perfectly fits my needs. There was a cheaper option that I was going to buy, but at the last minute, I switched to this one based on another buyer's review. I generally avoid mdf carboard furniture at all costs and will build my own instead. But for the price, this bench is sturdy and looks pretty nice for what it is! The shelves are adjustable and have those plastic inserts to hide the unsightly unused holes from showing. It also has feet which you can't really see in the stock photo, but the kicker, and what pushed me over the edge in writing this review, is that the cover for the cushion on the top is removable - zips off just like a slipcover! It took me about 45 min to put together and was on par with this sort of furniture - just needed a screwdriver.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great For Smaller Entry
1/14/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Bought this for my entrance hallway and didn't want anything too bulky. This is perfect. My husband who is 225 lbs can sit on it comfortably to put his shoes on. Each of the cubbies only holds one set of adult size shoes but I can fit 2 pairs of my young kid's shoes in each one. Great look for the cost.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect fit!
2/27/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I purchased the bench with storage cubbies to use in the entry of my apartment. It is a perfect fit for the tight space I have there. It serves the purpose of a place to sit while putting on and taking off our shoes, as well as shoe storage just as I had hoped it would. We are now able to keep the floor space there clear of shoes, making it a much more tidy & attractive area as you first enter my apartment. All the parts & directions were in the box, and it was very easy to put together with nothing more than a screwdriver.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love it
8/20/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have this in my yoga room to hold my yoga books and DVD's. I'd give it 5 stars, but I feel that the price could be lower.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Winsome Townsend Bench is Fantastic
12/6/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
It more than met our expectations. It is the pefect size for our tiny house. Our grandchildren arre trained to remove their shoes when they enter and now we have a place for them to sit to remove their shoes and cubbies to keep them, where they won't be in the walkway/entry way. The cushion we expected to be vinyl was more of a canvas material. I will at some later date cover it with fabric to match the couch cushions, but it is useable just the way it came. Note: that it need two more holes drilled into the wood to make it snug. One of our best purchases by just seeing a picture on the internet.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
6/21/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I like this a lot and it keeps all the shoes from my family tucked away instead of all over the floor, I just wish it was bigger.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect if you need a small entry organizer
11/16/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Bought this for my mudroom entry. There wasn't enough room for a storage bench of "standard" size so I was thrilled to find this small version. Serves it's purpose! Make sure you check dimensions because it is small!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice sturdy little bench
6/21/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
a little on the expensive side, but nice. Make sure you look at the size dimensions. I f you plan to store shoes in this, it won't comfortably hold anything bigger than size 11-12. (portion of the heel will hang out). The pad on top is more firm than soft so it is ok to sit on briefly, but not a spot to sit and read a book. Material is like a tough canvas so it is cat claw resistant. The photo is a bit deceptive. It looked to me like a dark brown, but when you get it, it's basically black. and the pad on top is jet black. I also bought a bookshelf that was "chocolate" colored but turned out to be black. so they matched nicely and it worked out.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Townsend bench with cushion
3/15/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I live in an apartment and I needed something that would fit in my small entryway, This is just perfect!!!!! It doesn't take up alot of space and now I don't have shoes laying around :) I would recommend this, and the price is great. A++++
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
easy to assemble - instructions thorough
3/21/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Just the right size for smaller spaces at the door. Took a couple of weeks from date of order to date of arrival at store for pick up HOWEVER, it was well worth the wait when assembled.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It's ok. Serves my purpose for closet use.
3/17/2015
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I ordered this bench for my closet as it was the only one that was narrow enough to fit the area. Quite disappointed when it arrived and several of the pieces were chipped on one corner, one quite a bit. Thankfully almost all could be hidden or obscured from view as I did not want to deal with returning. Damage aside, I do not think think it's worth $116. It looks cheap, as I feared it might, but the other benches I liked simply would not work in the space. It was quite easy to assemble for one who assembles furniture often. Functionally, it is great. Rather than split each section equally, I moved the pegs up or down to give more storage. For example, on the right side I moved the pegs to the top holes and put one pair of tennis shoes on it. For the bottom section I was able to stack two plastic shoe bins. The pad on top is sufficiently thick. It's nothing stunning but does what I need it to.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very Nice Piece
3/17/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This expresso shoe bench is very nice. Originally, I found it on another website, but found the same exact unit at Wal Mart for 30% less. What a deal! The assembly wasn't too bad after you spend some time identifying the pieces. I wished that they would put little stickers on the panels to identify them, but hey, it worked out at the end. It looks posh in our little hallway and matches the color of the our furniture. The size was perfect in every sense, but only six slots for shoes. Can't have it all I guess.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
To small
1/17/2014
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I guess I didn't pay close enough attention to the measurements. It's way to small but appears to be sturdy and was very easy to put together. I put it together in 15 minutes or less. Yes that easy. Should be half the price though. This is very small. I would return it but I bought it stage a house so it will go with the house.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Well made and attractive
1/4/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is a nice looking bench with usefully-sized compartments -- big enough for ordinary magazines or a stack of 8-1/2" x 11" papers. For a self-assembly composite wood product, it's well made. You assemble it with wood pegs and a screw-and-cam system that clamps boards tightly together -- it will be very familiar if you've assembled Ikea furniture, and the quality appears identical to what you would find there. The pad has a removable cover, which could be handy. They also include snap-on covers for the exposed cams and to fill the holes for the shelf pegs (the middle shelves are adjustable). It's a bit darker than it appears in the picture (at least on my screen) -- the wood is a deep espresso brown, and the pad is black, not grey, as it appears in the picture. But it looks nice. Overall, nothing fancy, but high quality for what it is.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love it
10/17/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Ordered it for my brother as a gift. He loved it and he ended up ordering two more for himself as he has a lot of shoes. Very satisfied with this purchase. But it is smaller than what we expected.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Press wood is what it is! Used indoors is strong!
3/27/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Used as an entry shoe storage. When assembled per instructions is sturdy and looks great. The wood screws can be over tightened easily so caution with power drivers is warranted. Not for everyone, but I used wood glue (fast drying) on the wood pegs one end at a time, sparingly, for greater overall product strength. Preassembly is a must when using glue because mistakes are not easily undone.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642870, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-