Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 51 reviews | 2.5 out of 5

2.5 stars

51 reviews | 2.5 out of 5

2.5 stars

51 reviews | 2.5 out of 5

38%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
11
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 stars
25
1-20 of 51 total reviews
38%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 51 total reviews
1-20 of 51 reviews
Bring Back the Old Mats!!!
9/28/2012

Customer review by JPSilver

2.0 stars 9/28/2012 by JPSilver
by JPSilver

Why would you decide to not sell the old mats? All you needed was to add gray to the colors you already had. I already had to cut them to fit so I don't expect you to carry every size possible - maybe a small, med, and large. My biggest complaints are: The mat that protects the sink divider. The joint that is supposed to bend/give and allow the sides to protect the side of the sink is too stiff. Also the suction cups are way to small to hold down the sides. The divider protector is almost useless. The slightly textured surface of the sink bottom mats stains way too easy and even bleaching the has limited affect. On the old mats, it would make them look new again. Also the random pattern of the little nibs on the bottom of the mat make them very hard to clean without destroying your hand and/or cleaning towel/sponge/pad. The name Rubbermaid used to be the "go to" name for sink protection - not any more.

JPSilver
East TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Great Product for Smaller Sink
4/7/2016

Customer review by Gina T

4.0 stars 4/7/2016 by Gina T
by Gina T

I love the product but my sink has two different size bins....I need a larger on for one size...the small is perfect for the other side....Please consider making these in several sizes

Gina T
Cleveland, TN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
It has an odor .....
3/22/2016

Customer review by RDSTOLL

2.0 stars 3/22/2016 by RDSTOLL
by RDSTOLL

This came with my SS sink. It smells awful and it hasn't gotten better with time.

RDSTOLL
Arizona, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Can't find these - Loved my old ones!!!
1/20/2016

Customer review by robinlbe

1.0 stars 1/20/2016 by robinlbe
by robinlbe

Several (maybe *many* ??) years ago, we bought a set of two of these in harvest green. They were WONDERFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! One of them finally bit the dust :( I have looked everywhere. I scoured the internet. They are just not to be found :( Any chance there would be more colors made than white, black, clear, red, tan?? thanks... (my ratings for this product are based upon the items I have had for years.)

robinlbe
Indiana, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
One glaring omission
6/29/2010

Customer review by squareaitch

4.0 stars 6/29/2010 by squareaitch
by squareaitch

I rent a place with very old porcelain sinks that I need to protect. This is why I really like the raised feet on these mats; however, what I really wish for and is sorely lacking in this particular design is a mat with these type of raised feet that also has a middle drain hole (and second model offering a side drain hole). That would eliminate the need to keep lifting the mat to allow food particles to go down the drain/disposal. Then, it would be a truly functional mat. The raised feet on the coated wire grid mat models eventually rust and stain the porcelain sink; likewise, the silicone flat mats just trap food and "rust" the sink. The enhanced sink mat would be ideal for my needs if only there was a drain hole.

squareaitch
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
"New and Improved" sink mats!!!
12/26/2009

Customer review by Brenda

1.0 stars 12/26/2009 by Brenda
by Brenda

Over a year ago, I called Rubbermaid and complained that the new antibacterial coating on their sink mats made stains permanent in the mat -- stains that won't come out even with pure bleach. Rubbermaid marketing emailed and said they were going to fix the problem. They recently sent me a new mat to try and in just two weeks, it is stained and the stains won't come out. So much for fixing the problem. PLEASE go back to your original mats. The mats don't need to have an antibacterial coating because everyone cleans them with some kind of bleach cleaner to keep them germ free and as white as they were when they were new. IF IT AIN'T BROKE, DON'T FIX IT!!!

Brenda
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Allows water to run into sink without spatter
10/23/2013

Customer review by Lovelymsl

3.0 stars 10/23/2013 by Lovelymsl
by Lovelymsl

I like the product but like so many of your other customers the holes do not line up with where the sink holes are on my sink. Also I have one extra large deep sink on one side and on the other side just a regular size. I had to buy three mats and cut one smaller just to cover the bottom of the large sink. The old sink mats I had were solid with a few holes in them. With the old mats (which were not Rubbermaid) if you didn't line up the faucet with the drain hole the water would splatter and make a horrible mess. These Rubbermaid mats are wonderful in that they don't do that. I see some of these critiques date back 4 & 5 years ago. You guys have done nothing to change or add to your product line. I know that Rubbermaid is a huge company and household consumption is not where you make the most of your money but I think if you had someone really sharp in charge of your household product line you could really increase your profits in that area. We don't think you are listening when there are no changes so seeing some changes would go a long way in making we household consumers believe in the Rubbermaid company that we grew up with. Women will spend a lot to make life easier in the kitchen. I see so many areas where there are no products even being designed within any company to meet areas of organization and ease for the kitchen. Thank you

Lovelymsl
Birmingham, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
BRING BACK THE OLD Basic Sink Mat
5/6/2011

Customer review by SUES

1.0 stars 5/6/2011 by SUES
by SUES

Please bring back the old Basic Sink Mat - especially in the large size. The old one was easy to keep clean with Bon Ami and/or Clorox soak. I was always able to get it looking pretty good. It was easy to cut a hole in the middle of the old one. This new one is too hard to cut the circle in the middle. I have read all reviews on this website of this mat, and ONLY ONE was favorable. The raised feet do not keep the sink dry and clean underneath. The only way the sink can stay clean is with regular cleaning - not by the mat's design. The feet rub spots on the sink. As someone else wrote: if it's not broke, don't fix it.

SUES
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love these!
11/30/2015

Customer review by afrochic

5.0 stars 11/30/2015 by afrochic
by afrochic

I've had these for sometime threw them away in process of moving and cannot find them anywhere! It's driving me crazy! Not all have a hole for the easy drain access this design is very clean and simple. I will I could buy online or find locally.

afrochic
Las Vegas, NV, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great product...except.
12/7/2015

Customer review by Rick5560

5.0 stars 12/7/2015 by Rick5560
by Rick5560

I bought this product but the drain hole in my sink is not in the center I wish you made them with the drain holes off center.

Rick5560
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great product...just too small
7/31/2015

Customer review by MzDii

3.0 stars 7/31/2015 by MzDii
by MzDii

I recently had my home remodeled and I had a 10 inch deep sink installed in my kitchen. I purchased this sink protector and while I love the concept, it is entirely too small for my sink. I would have given it 5 stars; except it is just too small to fully serve the purpose of protecting my sink. Can you please let me know if it comes in a larger size and where (either in a store or online) I can find it.

MzDii
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Love the red color!
9/14/2015

Customer review by Vivimojo

5.0 stars 9/14/2015 by Vivimojo
by Vivimojo

I have always use your products and love them, so in my new house with a new rectangular sink I hope it will be easy to find!... no.... but I am surprise you have not anything available in bigger sizes!

Vivimojo
Stafford, VA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Worthless!
1/25/2013

Customer review by lake11

1.0 stars 1/25/2013 by lake11
by lake11

I have used the sink mats for years and loved them. If they got dirty or stained, they cleaned up good with a little cleanser and definitely cleaned up great with bleach. I am on my 2nd set of the new mats and they stain immediately and will not come clean. After throwing out the 1st set I thought I'd give the new product a chance and replaced them. No more - it is a total waste of money spent on a terrible product which obviously is not going to be improved/ changed.

lake11
Would recommend to a friend? No
Horrible - do not buy under any circumstances
1/31/2013

Customer review by midwest8965

1.0 stars 1/31/2013 by midwest8965
by midwest8965

I, like many on here bought newer versions of these mats as the nice old rubber ones were discontinued. These are so cheap. Please bring back the old ones!!! The are awful and stain and you cannot get them clean. I bleached a white one for 8 hours and nothing happened. The responses to these posts are typical corporate 'everything is good' answers. Start making the old versions again or go broke..I am down on everything rubbermaid because of these stupid mats!!

midwest8965
Would recommend to a friend? No
This does not work well.
7/3/2009

Customer review by Shaboom

1.0 stars 7/3/2009 by Shaboom
by Shaboom

The BASIC SINK PROTECTOR (BSP) product is very flexible (i.e., it is not vinyl-covered wire) and it sits flat on the sink bottom. As a result food frequently gets caught beneath it. It is necessary to lift out the BSP to wash it and the sink beneath each time this happens. I would suggest adding little feet to the design to lift it off the bottom of the sink; however the material is so flexible that I am not sure this would correct the problem.

Shaboom
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Microban Sink Protector
7/21/2011

Customer review by SAMc

5.0 stars 7/21/2011 by SAMc
by SAMc

I love them. I had problems with a pink growth on all other mats I put in the kitchen sink. I don't have this problem with this sink protector. I want to suggest that you make a larger version. I have two different size sinks and the small sink protector fits the smaller of the two sink but is small for the large sink. Rubbermaid produces a great product. We have many products small to a very large storage shed. thank you! - Made in the USA.

SAMc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Please go back to the orginal
2/2/2011

Customer review by DonS

1.0 stars 2/2/2011 by DonS
by DonS

your new design is not user friendly. Try flipping it over to clean the mat, now take your dish cloth and move across the surface you will find the cloth gets stuck on every protrusion making it very hard to clean and frustrating the bejeasers out of me. I will not buy this product again. I had to go to another manufacture for this product that still is not as nice as the old model. Please bring back the old model. Thanks Don S

DonS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Too large
8/22/2015

Customer review by AFBrat

4.0 stars 8/22/2015 by AFBrat
by AFBrat

This mat would be perfect if it came in other sizes. My double sink is less than a year old and too small for this product.

AFBrat
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
They Stink!
6/30/2014

Customer review by SusanaB

1.0 stars 6/30/2014 by SusanaB
by SusanaB

These racks don't support the dishes, they bend so that the plastic remains in contact with the sink, thus the dirty water. They get molded quickly unless you put them upright to dry each time. They have little tiny legs that are supposed to support them, but they don't even reach the sink bottom. I want the old ones that are made of strong wire. I will return these tomorrow. Don't buy them.

SusanaB
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Disappointing Sink Mat
10/6/2011

Customer review by TCMNKE1

1.0 stars 10/6/2011 by TCMNKE1
by TCMNKE1

I've purchased Rubbermaid sink mats for years and always loved them. The new sink mats were stained within one week of use and there is nothing that will remove the stains--no matter what I try. The old sink mats were excellent, a major factor in discontinuing them, I'd bet. Please bring them back and make it easier to keep a clean kitchen. The bonus is that you would have many more happy customers.

TCMNKE1
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 51 total reviews
1-20 of 51 reviews