Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 410 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

410 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

410 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
215
4 stars
127
3 stars
28
2 stars
18
1 stars
22
1-20 of 341 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 341 total reviews
1-20 of 341 reviews
Just not the same as it used to be....
9/11/2013

Customer review by JB73

3.0 stars 9/11/2013 by JB73
by JB73

Oh, Mattel! How I have had a 40 year love affair with Barbie! I am still the proud owner of 1979 Barbie Dream House - (Red-Orange Roof). I have four girls ranging in age from 9 - 21. Over the years we would purchase them the 'new' re-designed Barbie Dream House; only to be extremely disappointed with the quality. Those 'newer' houses did not hold up to the durability of the late 1970's model. As a matter-of-fact the kids ALWAYS chose playing with the 'vintage' (yes, I said vintage) one rather the newer one. This model included. ~ The plastic on this model is not durable, flimsy, and just doesn't hold up very well to years and years of use. Having cardboard 'inserts'...bleh. They warp and do not hold up over time. ~ Please bring the '1970's' version back! This new model looks too much like the original Barbie Townhouse (owned that one, too) with pull string elevator. ~ A few features I do like of this model are the working lights and sounds! How fun!!

JB73
Queen Creek, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Real action/Real playability
1/7/2012

Customer review by PJBaggs

5.0 stars 1/7/2012 by PJBaggs
by PJBaggs

We were thrilled with the Barbie Townhouse. It was easy to put together, I'm not great following instructions but my 9 year old Granddaughter Ashley and I had it put together and functional in about 15 minutes. (Pretty good for an old lady and a child!) The townhouse is nice and sturdy and all the functioning parts were reqally cool; from the flushing toilet, to the doorbell, to the lights around the jacuzzi. The lights and sounds excited Ashley but when she discovered the crackling fireplace with the tv that rose up from the wall, she thought that was the best thing ever. The designers of the Barbie Townhouse really outdid themselves. Ashley's Mom commented "The Barbie townhouse has come a long way, I'm jealous!" Ashley spends hours in Barbie playland. She absolutely loves her townhouse. As far as I'm concerned the Barbie townhouse is a great value for the money because the joy on my granddaughter's face...is priceless!

PJBaggs
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ok, just ok.
4/9/2011

Customer review by EmalynsMommy

2.0 stars 4/9/2011 by EmalynsMommy
by EmalynsMommy

The accessories are great ( silverware, plates, laptop, phone, dresser, food) but the dollhouse is cheap, the chandelier never worked, The tv wont go down, it is very small.. almost too crowded for more than one girl to play, the girls love the hot tub, elevator and toilet the most..All in all I would have rather bought a nice wooden one that 12 in dolls will fit in and then accessorized it with barbie furniture...The girls are happy but I dont think this house will last a year..I have two girls that play with this, one is 11 and the other is 3. They like it but are disappointed with the things that dont work anymore and never worked since we got it. For now, its something to hold them over until I can purchase a better built house and they can swap the furniture..Definitely not worth the money though..If this dollhouse was only $40 it would be worth the money just for the furniture that comes with it.

EmalynsMommy
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Barbie 3 story Dream Townhouse
12/30/2011

Customer review by GrandmaJudy

2.0 stars 12/30/2011 by GrandmaJudy
by GrandmaJudy

The instructions that come with this product are HORRIBLE. They had pictures that you would think would help but were such HORRIBLE Photo copied that you will have a hard time making them out. One review said to just have the box in front of you and proceed and that's about all you can do. Everything worked after reading other customer reviews and given some much need insight. There are some design flaws such as you will have to have fireplace and dollhouse against the wall so when you press button on fireplace after flat screen is up that it will crackle. Putting together the elevator is a mystery if you try to read the instructions included. My grandkids do love to play with this dollhouse but for the price it was a disapointment but It's all about the kids and the little girls do seem to spend alot of time playing with it so it's a WOW in their book and that's what matters.

GrandmaJudy
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
A fun, Fierce, Fly Dream House
11/6/2013

Customer review by abcollins2007

5.0 stars 11/6/2013 by abcollins2007
by abcollins2007

I purchased this house for my daughter last Christmas. She absolutely loves it. Mind you, we had purchased the 2011 Dream house the year before. She has two ! This should tell you just how much she loves them. From the elevator, to the crackling fireplace, to the singing in the shower. The doll house is filled with fun filled activities for your little Barbie girl. I found myself playing with the dollhouses with her. I also found myself playing with the dollhouses when she was at school lol. It's a excellent toy that you can join in and play with your little one. The only change I would make would be to make each room smaller and change some things up a bit. Guess what my ideas were heard and they did just that with the 2013 dollhouse. It's already been put on my daughters Christmas list and she can't wait to get it. Now she'll have 3!

abcollins2007
Huntsville,Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My 5 Year Old Loves This!
1/13/2012

Customer review by SodaPop

4.0 stars 1/13/2012 by SodaPop
by SodaPop

I ordered the 3 Story Dream Townhouse for my 5 year-old daughter (it was sold out for Christmas EVERYWHERE). Shipping was pretty quick, considering the time of year. After reading several online reviews of this toy, I have to say that I was a bit nervous about putting it together. Mattel must have been paying attention to the reviews because they made sure to fix the problems that people reported with the Dream Townhouse (i.e. "light/fireplace/door bell doesn't work", "can't tell which columns go where", etc). Set up did take a while, but not the 3+ hours I was expecting. My only complaint would be that the directions are made up of mostly pictures. That's right...almost no worded instructions. It wouldn't be that big of a deal if the photos were in color, but they're not. The black and white photos made some of the steps a bit of a challenge to figure out. My daughter started playing with the Townhouse the very second I finished putting it together! She absolutely loves it! I would like it to be a little wider so that she could fit more furniture in the house, but all in all, it was an excellent purchase. We are both very happy with our first Barbie House!

SodaPop
South Central Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A little Girl's Dream
12/29/2011

Customer review by Wheeler36

4.0 stars 12/29/2011 by Wheeler36
by Wheeler36

We bought this for my 6 year old daughter for Christmas. It was a little frustrating to put together at first (being 3am did not help I'm sure), and the lights/sounds all worked in the beginning but after a few days the lights are not working and I've worked and worked trying to make sure everything was in place but haven't figured it out. Anyway besides that my daughter frankly could care less. She absolutely LOVES her barbie dream house and it now looks like the Barbies had a frat party in there cause she has rearranged everything and tries her best to shove 4 barbies into that elevator at one time. I told her they needed to settle down their partying before they tear the house up. She (and her barbies) LOVE it. I'm so glad we got this for her! Highly recommend!

Wheeler36
Greenville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Bad purchase
12/26/2012

Customer review by DawnMom

2.0 stars 12/26/2012 by DawnMom
by DawnMom

So very disappointed. Bought this for my 8 yr old for Christmas. Directions were poor. The worst was that the elevator parts were warped, the light downsatairs didnt work properly, the fridge light only worked once, and the fireplace NEVER worked right at all, except for the t.v. part. That did pop out of the fireplace. My daughter was so very sad that we have to return it today and exchange for another one. This was her most wanted item from Santa. If it wasn't for the fact that she wanted this so much, I would just get my money back. I hope the new one works correctly. All that time wasted putting it together, just to find out some things work and some do not was so very annoying! This is an expensive toy. Come on, Mattel, make a quality product!

DawnMom
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best Christmas Present Ever
10/14/2013

Customer review by Mitfam5

5.0 stars 10/14/2013 by Mitfam5
by Mitfam5

Our daughter had been wanting the Barbie Dream House for Christmas for a couple of years and being on a very tight budget, we were not able to buy it for her. Then last year, our daughter's wish came true. Knowing how much she wanted the Dream House, her grandparents bought it for her and she was absolutely thrilled. Not to mention, surprised. Needless to say, it was, and still is, her favorite gift and almost a year later, she plays with it almost daily. The house is very large and roomy. The working elevator is probably our daughter's favorite part, besides the fact that the house and furniture are pink and purple, Her favorite colors. I'm so glad this gift was purchased for our daughter. It truly was the best Christmas present ever.

Mitfam5
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I wanna live here!
6/20/2012

Customer review by barbiechic

4.0 stars 6/20/2012 by barbiechic
by barbiechic

This Barbie house is AWESOME! I am withholding one star because my TV doesn't pop all the way up. Mattel did offer to replace the house - with shipping at their cost. But I couldn't see taking it all apart and shipping it back . The TV will come all the way up- it just has to be pulled out about 1/2 way up. When I pushed the fireplace into the wall - it made the TV mechanism not quite right. Other than that - it is a great house. I did have to put some glue on the top of the elevator to get the little thing to stay in the top - but not a big deal. I love the graphics of the 2012 refreshed version - and the colors too. My 4 year old is over the moon crazy about her Dream house!

barbiechic
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dream House is a Hit! Where's the Dream Town?
3/2/2011

Customer review by Buyer

5.0 stars 3/2/2011 by Buyer
by Buyer

Child loves this product! While so many of the other toys have ended up in the closet, this Barbie Dream House is still used almost every day. Child would like to build a Barbie Dream Town with multiple play houses and each one needs a car and a garage. She wants a Barbie shopping mall where she can get new clothes for her Barbie too. I think we will need to put an addition on the house to store all this stuff... This child is almost 5 years old... Maybe Mattel should look at expandable sets with attachments. Decks, pools, garages, rooms and whole houses. It would also be nice if there was a built in storage chest for all the little pieces. Great product overall.

Buyer
MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Play Value
12/26/2012

Customer review by hazardcnty

4.0 stars 12/26/2012 by hazardcnty
by hazardcnty

We bought this for our 6 year old. Fairly easy to put together, but it is made of plastic and I can see it will break in the future. The fireplace will work if you push it against the wall, but a kid shoud not have to do this everytime she wants it to work. Other than those probs, it is a very good toy. Our daughter loves it very much! She plays and plays with it. I suggest putting it together where it is going to be placed and leaving it there for good. We moved ours and you can hear the plastic creaking with every move. Overall my kid loves it and keeps going back to it. We just hope it will last a few years. I would buy it again though.

hazardcnty
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Barbie Dreamhouse
3/2/2011

Customer review by Tress

4.0 stars 3/2/2011 by Tress
by Tress

This purchase was for my daughter's "big" Christmas gift from Santa last year. She didn't actually ask for it, but my own most memorable Christmas was when I received my Barbie Dreamhouse (in 1977 I believe) and so I purchased this gift as much for sentimental reasons as anything else. The dollhouse was fairly simple to assemble, but I found that a lot of the pre-applied stickers were loose. Overall the final assembled product is very sturdy, and pretty. ;) My daughter was shocked and very happy on Christmas morning to find it sitting beside the tree. The price is a little high, but if your child is into Barbie it's well worth the money.

Tress
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Suprisingly Awesome!
12/27/2011

Customer review by PbghMomma

5.0 stars 12/27/2011 by PbghMomma
by PbghMomma

I purchased this for my 7 yr old despite the price $$$. When you think about it, however, this is cheap for the amount we all spend on stupid video games and players! My daughter just loves this and she and my older daughter have been just having a blast with everything on this house! Since Mom never got a "Dreamhouse" as a kid, I'm enjoying it also! It is quite large. Had to entirely rearrange my daughter's room to find a place for it, but this also gave me the opportunity to clean out unwanted toys that she was "done" with. Could not be happier! Also, ours had a broken chair, but Mattel was awesome at replacing this. Truly pleased!

PbghMomma
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/17/2013

Customer review by Msvanity

2.0 stars 1/17/2013 by Msvanity
by Msvanity

I brought this from Toys R Us as a Christmas gift for my daughter. I had to take it back the day after Christmas because the fireplace didn't work, the chandelier didn't work, the shower didn't work and the elevator string pops out all the time. They gave me another one and behold I get home and it's the same issues. So I call Mattel since it's their product. They will replace it but I have to send back all the accessories and pay my own shipping. No way! will I pay shipping for their defective product. This was the highlight of my daughter's christmas and she can't even play with it. This was such a waste of money...

Msvanity
Detroit, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Barbie all moved in...
3/2/2011

Customer review by novicehomemaker

4.0 stars 3/2/2011 by novicehomemaker
by novicehomemaker

Overall this is a good product and Barbie is happy in her new house. The movers had a bit of trouble getting all Barbie's furniture in the house, the floor space is a little tight for furniture, dolls, and the hands of a four year old. Things end up getting knocked over during play. Barbie's fridge has to be wiggled to keep shut. Not that big of a deal, but when the door gets opened the light comes on, so could become a battery waster. Also the front door when opened causes the chandelier to light up, cool but it's a bit hard to open the front door. The elevator is cool, once you figure out how to situate the dolls so their arms don't get bumped on the way up or down. The tv which seemed to come up slowly when the button was pressed the first time now pops up like toast. My daughter doesn't seem to mind any of these things and plays for hours with her house. She loves for GI Joe to bring pizza to the door, and to have parties in the dining room. The details painted on the walls are great. It didn't take too long to put together. The pillars all have different shapes on the bottom so you can only put it in the correct space. I love all the accessories it came with. My daughter says her favorite part is the elevator. I love all the items that came with like tiny soap for the bathroom, and tiny forks for the kitchen. All in all we love it and would recommend it to others.

novicehomemaker
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fun for Daughter, But Quality is Poor
1/5/2013

Customer review by CrankyParent

1.0 stars 1/5/2013 by CrankyParent
by CrankyParent

This would have been perfect if the features that we liked about it actually worked. The chandelier and the fireplace do no work. Just the doorbell, toilet and kitchen timer. Too bad Mattel has zero quality control. Also the elevator string pops out all the time. Pretty weak design and quality. I thought about returning it but trying to get it all back in the box then finding another one, and putting it together (which is probably won't work either) is just not a feasible option. Oh well, I know better for next time. Don't buy mattel products if you want any of the electronic feature to work.

CrankyParent
Would recommend to a friend? No
a happy surprise
1/14/2012

Customer review by sdShoppin4stuff

5.0 stars 1/14/2012 by sdShoppin4stuff
by sdShoppin4stuff

I was a little reluctant in this purchase for my soon to be 9 year old daughter as a Christmas gift. Out of fear she's trying to grow up too quickly and might not get used. Much to my surprise she absolutely loves it. I can't say that its not being used. She has played with it every single day since Christmas. It was easy to assemble, she helped we had it completed within 30 minutes. Follow directions, they're there for a reason. Very easy a 8 year old could put it together. I am very satisfied with the purchase as well as the quick delivery. Couldn't ask for anything more. She loves it.

sdShoppin4stuff
san antonio, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Been a Favorite for years!
9/11/2013

Customer review by laylasmommy16

5.0 stars 9/11/2013 by laylasmommy16
by laylasmommy16

My daughter HAD to have this Barbie Dreamhouse for Christmas 3 years ago. I went back and forth on if I wanted to spend the money on it and would she actually play with it. She never gave up and kept saying how much she wanted it so we bought it for her and I am glad I did. Three years later this toy is still being played with and still looks like the day we got it. Now that she's starting to get into Monster High she's made it a "Barbie/Monster High House" Bottom line, yeah it's a bit pricey but its worth it for all the fun your daughter (or son) will have with it! :)

laylasmommy16
Freeport IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great pretend play encourager!
10/9/2013

Customer review by Kit221chi

4.0 stars 10/9/2013 by Kit221chi
by Kit221chi

Santa brought this toy for my daugther and she LOVES it. I couldn't believe how big it was and how cool and easy the elevator was to play with. The little lights and chandilier that turns on is totally cool. I just wish all the little silverware had a better place to be stored. It comes with a caddy but if there was a place in the kitchen that you could actually put the silverware that would be a great enhancement. This is such a fun house, I love playing with my daugther and pretend play! I would recommend this product for sure! I just wish I had one as a kid!!!

Kit221chi
IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 341 total reviews
1-20 of 341 reviews