Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 39 reviews | 2 out of 5

2.0 stars

39 reviews | 2 out of 5

2.0 stars

39 reviews | 2 out of 5

27%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 stars
27
1-20 of 39 total reviews
27%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 39 total reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews
Mainly for ethnic hair
2/10/2014

Customer review by HonestReveiwer

4.0 stars 2/10/2014 by HonestReveiwer
by HonestReveiwer

I just read review after review about how horrible this product is and I beg to differ. Clearly in my local Walmart they have the Clear Shea line in the ethnic hair care products. Typically Caucasian women steer clear of products containing oils or butters because of the finer hair texture. I myself being a woman of color tend to use products of this type very sparingly in my own hair because I don't want to weigh my hair down. I like to use natural oils like jojoba, Extra Virgin Olive Oil and Extra Virgin Coconut Oil to lightly massage into my scalp because it absorbs easily and provides tremendous benefits. The olive oil is a bit on the heavy end. The key is to use this sparingly on your scalp. With that being said I think this is a nice lightweight balm. I only apply a little bit to any dry scalp areas of my scalp as needed. I tend to wash my hair every two days or so as to not have any build up.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HonestReveiwer
Roanoke Rapids, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Only way to get this product out of your hair...
12/6/2013

Customer review by PJN12

1.0 stars 12/6/2013 by PJN12
by PJN12

Like many others I used this on my daughters head for severe dry scalp, not realizing I would end up w/ a horribly greasy mess that wouldn't come out. We tried everything, Dawn dish soap but it did nothing! Finally after hours of looking online I found a suggestion to try and figured we had nothing to lose. This worked immediately... I saturated her hair w/ baby oil, then blow dried her hair just enough to warm up her hair (I guess this helps the hair follicles absorb the baby oil), then wrapped her hair in a towel for 10-15 min. I then rinsed her hair out w/ warm water and then washed her hair out 3 times w/ Dawn dish soap, then washed her hair w/ a good shampoo n conditioner and finally her hair was back to normal w/ no trace of grease what so ever! Hope this post helps others! I know how desperate I was to find a solution that worked!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PJN12
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
DO NOT BUY!!
1/1/2013

Customer review by Miranda2157

1.0 stars 1/1/2013 by Miranda2157
by Miranda2157

I bought a whole bunch of hair products the other day and I saw this specific product. Thought it was going to bring some sort of softness and ease to my wavy/curly hair but it did the total opposite. I had washed my hair and towel dried it until it was somewhat damp and I took just a little bit and applied it onto my scalp and ends. As I combed the product through to make sure it was evenly distributed and it left my ends soooooo super dry.. it was horrible. When I looked at the ingredients the first thing was mineral oil. I read and heard about mineral oil being horrible for hair it's a bi-product of oil or gasoline I can't remember which but it's no good for the hair so that's a reason it dried my ends out. So my lesson to all that want to buy this and just others passing through DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT OR ANY OTHER PRODUCT WHERE THE MAIN INGREDIENT IS MINERAL OIL!! <<that stuff is no good I'm telling you.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Miranda2157
East Coast, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
12/2/2012

Customer review by hillsborogranny

1.0 stars 12/2/2012 by hillsborogranny
by hillsborogranny

I bought this thinking It was supposed to help my dry scalp Well I put it on after shampooing my hair and before drying What a mistake! There is no real instructions on use..So..it left my hair very very greasy after washing my hair 3 times still not able to get it out of my hair.Horrible !!! maybe this is for someone who is bald ? All I Know is I will never ever use this again..Be Warned it leaves your hair unbelievably greasy which you cannot wash out! I will again try to rinse this stuff out of myhair wish me luck!

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hillsborogranny
Hillsboro, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Really? Seriously?
1/11/2015

Customer review by Not amused

1.0 stars 1/11/2015 by Not amused
by Not amused

This product is unbelievable. Not in a good way. Do you want to know what I've been doing for the last 3 hours? Trying to get this product out of my hair. If you are going for the greasy I haven't showered this year look this product is for you! I really want to say thank you for Zero directions. That's the icing on the cake. The label has nothing on it To indicate this is for African Americans, which is just awesomeness. Thanks Again. I have now washed my hair with baking soda, vinegar, dawn liquid soap ( also, it's amazing that Dawn liquid soap could clean up the ExxonMobile spill but can't get this oil. Out. Of. My. Hair. I am now trying baby powder because I am willing to try anything at all. If someone suggested doing a rain dance in my underwear and swore it would work- I'd do it. Seriously, thanks again. I'm headed back to the shower for the 16th time.

Not amused
Midlothian, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Horrible for Black Hair
3/18/2013

Customer review by mjoh246

1.0 stars 3/18/2013 by mjoh246
by mjoh246

I bought this thinking it would be a great grease to use like other greases. Boy, was I wrong! It smells okay after the first day, but all it is really is petroleum jelly. I might as well put Vaseline on. It builds up, doesn't do anything at all for my hair or scalp, and starts to have a funny smell after a day.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mjoh246
Baton Rouge, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Do not buy!
1/6/2013

Customer review by corkygal

1.0 stars 1/6/2013 by corkygal
by corkygal

I bought this and there were no instructions! I was hoping it would help my dry scalp. This stuff is awful it is so greasy and impossible to wash out, I threw it away!

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
corkygal
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
7/15/2013

Customer review by OakhurstPrincess

1.0 stars 7/15/2013 by OakhurstPrincess
by OakhurstPrincess

This stuff is horrible. I washed my hair 3 times and the grease would not come out. I resorted to GooGone and I got my hair back. I'm not sure who this's intended for. Not a white girl with thin curly hair. Do not buy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OakhurstPrincess
Oakhurst, ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
for ethnic hair
2/13/2014

Customer review by musica30

5.0 stars 2/13/2014 by musica30
by musica30

love this product I use it for mine and my daughters hair it is oil based so if you do not need oil then its not for you but if you do this is the perfect product

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
musica30
missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great for African American children's hair
8/10/2013

Customer review by CBHCBH

5.0 stars 8/10/2013 by CBHCBH
by CBHCBH

I used this on my 5 year old's edges & it laid them down like no other product!!! I've tried them all. Best one yet. Headed to Walmart now for a couple of jars!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CBHCBH
E Paso, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Horrible product!
1/21/2014

Customer review by Melissa

1.0 stars 1/21/2014 by Melissa
by Melissa

I washed my hair with the shampoo and conditioner in which I love. But bought this balm and to my surprise this stuff is like grease and wont come out of my hair. I had to go to work this morning with greasy, wet looking hair. Very embarrassing. I am know going to try DAWN to wash this stuff out. It would of been nice to have directions for use on the bottle but of course there is nothing. And I guess this product is for African American hair. WOW would of been nice to know that before I used it.

Melissa
North Richland Hills, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
TERRIBLE!!!!
12/6/2013

Customer review by Maddog

1.0 stars 12/6/2013 by Maddog
by Maddog

This stuff is greasy and disgusting. There are no instructions for use on this container anywhere. This does not state what hair type or ethnicity this is for. I washed my hair over and over and it won't come out. I ran out of hot water trying to get it out of my hair. I am now sitting with greasy hair and will have to try using DAWN dish detergent to see if it will get this junk out of my hair. I had better not have to cut my hair off because of this or I am going to be FURIOUS!!!!!!

Maddog
Wisconsin, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Know your ingredients
5/17/2014

Customer review by natural7ly

1.0 stars 5/17/2014 by natural7ly
by natural7ly

It is obvious that this stuff is full of petroleum and mineral oil right on the jar. One must use a sulfate shampoo to remove it. Bad stuff. The conditioners are full of silicones...also have to be cleansed with strong sulfate shampoo. Naturals, look the other way! It is up to us to know what we are putting in our hair. We have choices. Some people love these ingredients. Most of us know how bad they are for our hair. Do your research. Educate yourself.

natural7ly
New York, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS PRODUCT!
10/29/2014

Customer review by KEKE

5.0 stars 10/29/2014 by KEKE
by KEKE

I do not know what I would do if the ever get rid of this product. I am natural, and when I do my twist in my hair I wet it, rub some of this on it, comb through it and double strand twist them. The results are beautiful curls/twist that are smooth and shinny!! I get so many complements. It really moisturizes my hair. I have tried other products doing the same twist out and it was NOT the same result. I went running back to this product.

KEKE
North Carolina, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Horrible, Horrible, HORRIBLE
6/29/2014

Customer review by CMGC

1.0 stars 6/29/2014 by CMGC
by CMGC

Why are there are no instructions for use on the container or on your website? You could start with out to get it out of your hair. You can't rinse it out and don't seem to be able to wash it out either! It's horrible stuff and after I finish this review, I'm going on Amazon to warn people away from it. This is the first Clear product I have bought; I will not buy another. By all means, please do use my review in your "marketing creative".

CMGC
Clovis, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
WORST PRODUCT EVER
1/18/2014

Customer review by Kayla

1.0 stars 1/18/2014 by Kayla
by Kayla

I thought this would help my dry scalp but it feels like I just put petroleum jelly in my hair ! IT'S A GREASY MESS ! It took me forever to figure out how to get it out ! Complete waste of money . For anyone that's still struggling with this mix dawn dish soap and olive oil and SCRUB ! it should come out if you do this 2 days in a row depending on how much you used .

Kayla
Pennsylvania, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
who designed the product?
11/21/2013

Customer review by FLgirl

2.0 stars 11/21/2013 by FLgirl
by FLgirl

I am giving this product a 2 because it does not contain instructions any where on the product! I've read reviews that are very mixed, mainly because people don't know how to properly use it. It smells great. But currently, I am trying to research how to take it off as it is not a good fit for what i thought as a scalp treatment.

FLgirl
Fort Lauderdale, FL, United States
Gender:Female
Way to thick and heavy! Use as a wood polish?!
7/27/2014

Customer review by Buffy570

1.0 stars 7/27/2014 by Buffy570
by Buffy570

No wonder this product was on clearance at the local Walmart! I was wondering why it did not come with any instructions on how to apply it. I tried it first on dry hair, but it is way too thick and greasy. I figured I would give it one more shot, heat it up like a hot-oil treatment, and apply it to my wet hair/scalp. Needless to say, it feels the same as it did dry: Like I put lard or shortening in my hair. I hate to waste ANYTHING, so I am going to try it out as a body butter (or use it as wood polish [joking, kind-of])!! I'm white with thick hair. I color and highlight my hair, so it is a bit dry. It is also kinky and coarse due to an onslaught of gray :)

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Buffy570
Corpus Christi, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Great for itchy and dry scalp.
8/4/2014

Customer review by SLRN

5.0 stars 8/4/2014 by SLRN
by SLRN

Great for my natural hair. I used it once a week and it's enough to moisturize until I wash again. I use it directly on my scalp with no problems. It has a nice scent. I definitely recommend this product for black women because this is a balm and we do tend to need moisture.

SLRN
Atlanta, GA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
DO NOT PURCHASE !!!!!
11/22/2013

Customer review by NotHappy

1.0 stars 11/22/2013 by NotHappy
by NotHappy

Words can not express how infuriated I am about this product. I have washed my hair over 10 times and can not remove this !!! It still feels like I have 10 pounds of oil in my hair !!!! If products are targeted for a specific type of hair, you clearly need to state that on the label.

NotHappy
North Carolina, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews