Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 174 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

174 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

174 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
1-20 of 174 total reviews
Would recommend to a friend



1-20 of 174 total reviews
1-20 of 174 reviews
So Sad

Customer review by Kristinb1

1.0 stars 8/23/2016 by Kristinb1
by Kristinb1

When Clear shampoo hit the market I tried it not really expecting it to solve my problems. I had tried a lot of shampoo brands, and my scalp had terrible reactions to lots of them. To my sheer joy, Clear worked!! My scalp healed, my hair looked great, and I never tried another shampoo or conditioner. Since the new formula my scalp has started having a reaction. I didn't think it was an even a new formula, only a redesigned label, when I bought the new formula. My scalp had a very mild reaction, which I could deal with if my hair didn't look greasy and weighed down after 12 hours of using the shampoo. I noticed a change immediately when I dried my hair after my first wash. It's like this formula is for dry hair. I've stuck with it to see if my hair would adjust and maybe it was all in my head, but the breakouts and greasy hair persist after at least 2 weeks of use. I am so disappointed. I have a travel size of the old formula that I am debating when to use, but don't want to use up at the same time (totally irrational I know)

St. Louis, MO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
New formula disappoints big time

Customer review by Lizzy

1.0 stars 10/8/2016 by Lizzy
by Lizzy

I used to have horrible dandruff. I purchased this product on a whim, and it did wonders for my scalp and hair! So awesome, I told everyone I knew. Now, I'm in the market for a new shampoo. My hair looks disturbingly greasy, hours after I shower, and my dandruff is back. I'm so disappointed, but still thankful for the few years that the old formula did the trick.

Cleveland, OH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Hate the "New Formula"

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 8/19/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

My holy grail shampoo and conditioner was Clear with the original scent and formula. It smelled AMAZING and lasted very long on my hair. I always received compliments about how my hair smelled so great. It left my hair very soft and shiny as well. So it used to be my dream shampoo and haven't used anything else. However, when I saw in stores that they changed the formula and scent, I was upset but still wanted to give it a try. I'm very disappointed and saddened that my favorite shampoo is gone and that this new formula is a complete disappointment. Why was there a need to changed the formula when it was perfect? Now my hair doesnt smell as good (has a coconut like scent, which I am not a fan of) and it leaves my hair looking dull. Please bring back the old formula!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Now I'm on the search for a new shampoo and conditioner. So sad.

An anonymous customer
San Francisco, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Really NEED/miss the Volumizing!

Customer review by Ashleyfawne

2.0 stars 8/22/2016 by Ashleyfawne
by Ashleyfawne

Started using Clear a few years ago and fell IN LOVE. Have been searching everywhere for the type that I used to use with no luck. Why is there no longer a Volumizing Shampoo and Conditioner?? The best shampoo I've ever used and it gets taken away. I had never received more compliments on my natural hair than when I was using the Clear Volumizing shampoo and conditioner. REALLY disappointed and would love if you could bring that back. For someone with fine, shiny hair, we dont need moisture, hydration. I have tried the color and heat conquerer and my hair never got fully clean and the scent is no longer desirable. HELP! BRING BACK THE BEST SHAMPOO EVER! I will buy it for life. My reviews will be of the current product line as is. This review would be the complete opposite, had the old formula not gone away.

Tennessee, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No

Customer review by ShayFas1988

1.0 stars 10/3/2016 by ShayFas1988
by ShayFas1988

This shampoo and conditioner combo was my holy grail! Since they've changed the formula I have not been able to find anything that comes close. So sad...I have no idea why it changed, but please, please bring it back. Thank you!

West Virginia, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Please bring back your original formulas!!!

Customer review by ehannah

1.0 stars 9/22/2016 by ehannah
by ehannah

I absolutely loved your original formula "Stronger Lengths" shampoo and conditioner. My whole family used it, and we all loved the smell and feel of our hair. My hair smelled great ALL DAY! Since you stopped selling it, I tried to switch to 24/7 Total Care, and I'm so disappointed. The smell is not as good or as long-lasting, and it doesn't seem to work as well. Please bring back your original formulas - I miss my Stronger Lengths!!!!

Iowa, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No

Customer review by kknox0772

1.0 stars 9/20/2016 by kknox0772
by kknox0772

I swore by this shampoo and conditioner - it made my hair smooth - I could run a comb through it after washing without any struggle it was silky and wonderful - I would get compliments daily on how great my hair smelled. New formula is AWFUL! I have been on the hunt for something new because I can't continue to use this new formula - makes my hair greasy and heavy. Please let me know if you bring back the old stuff and i'll return!

Boston, MA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No

Customer review by sriracha

1.0 stars 9/22/2016 by sriracha
by sriracha

What happened? I used to love Clear Shampoo because of how amazing it smelled and how light it made my hair. Now it smells so bad. Coconut doesn't even do anything. The formula is way too thick and made my hair feel really gross. PLEASE BRING BACK THE OLD FORMULA!

Austin, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Used to be my go to, now I can't even use it.

Customer review by Dinak001

1.0 stars 9/7/2016 by Dinak001
by Dinak001

I used to love clear. I have very oily hair and it used to help controlling it. When I went to my local big box and saw that they changed bottle and read that it was a new scent I thought I should buy a smaller bottle to see if I like the scent first. GOOD THING I DID! The smell is totally different, it doesn't control my oil anymore and it doesn't give me the body like it used to. I told everyone about clear when I first used it and liked it. Now, I am not so confident about recommending it. Please bring back the old formula and scent! I really don't like this new one.

Paramus, NJ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Why change a good thing???

Customer review by Elena79

1.0 stars 8/27/2016 by Elena79
by Elena79

I have been using Clear products for over 3 years. All my friends and family know that I swear by this shampoo/conditioner, and they have all gotten several recommendations from me to use these products. But after using the new formula and the new scent , I am going to sadly discontinue purchasing your products. I absolutely hate the new scent. It does not smell clean or fresh and the scent doesn't last. For the first time in over 3 years, my hair smells like hair! It also doesn't do anything for my hair, as far as helping with frizz or shine. I am so disappointed. Why would you change a good thing? I mean, you guys were given a Allure Best of Beauty Award Winner, for pete's sake!

Colorado, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Finally! A Shampoo That Works!

Customer review by NancyL

5.0 stars 4/23/2015 by NancyL
by NancyL

It's not often that I feel passionate enough about a product to actually leave a review but I have to tell you that this shampoo really works. I've had a problem for a long time with severe flakiness on my scalp, even on my face between my eyebrows, on the edge of my nose and on my ears. I have tried every dandruff, psoriasis, and eczema shampoo and conditioner out there. I've even tried prescription shampoos. Absolutely nothing worked. I started using Clear and within a week all of the giant, scab-like flakes were gone and they stay gone as long as I'm using Clear. I also started using it on my face daily (I know, it's not intended to be a facial cleanser) and the dry flakiness that no moisturizer or heaviest cream could fix is gone. I'd love to see them come up with a facial cleanser and body wash with the Clear formulation. Anyway, in conclusion, if you have stubborn scalp issues like me, buy this and use it for a month. Trust me, you'll be amazed at the difference!

Las Vegas, NV, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I wish it hadn't been discontinued!!

Customer review by Katy

4.0 stars 9/15/2016 by Katy
by Katy

I liked this shampoo and conditioner much better than the hydration one you currently have on the shelves. The only thing I didn't like so much was the fragrance. Are you reevaluating the formula and will it be back on the shelves soon? Thank you.

Saginaw, MI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Thank You!!!!

Customer review by reverand187

5.0 stars 9/11/2014 by reverand187
by reverand187

CLEAR~ I want to thank you. I am a 32 year old male and I have had dry scalp all of my life. I have tried several products including prescriptions to correct my issue, however nothing has ever worked until now. On top of naturally having dry scalp I had been in locations (Iraq, Afghanistan etc.) that had made the situation even worse. One day I just stumbled across your product and My best friend told me to try it "What can it hurt, nothing else has worked up to this point". So I tried your "Total Care" and by the 2nd day I noticed that I had less flakes and no itching feeling. I have been using your product now for several months not and I have not had any flakes or itching for over 2 months now. So I just wanted to stop in and say thank you so much, this has been a life changer for me. I no longer have to worry about flakes or people looking at me for scratching my head etc. With the fear of sounding too girly, My scalp and hair looks and feels great and nourished. Again, Thank you. T. Ashley Miller~

Sanford, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
New Formula!!????

Customer review by Viccckybooo

1.0 stars 9/15/2016 by Viccckybooo
by Viccckybooo

Please bring back the old formula. I really dislike the new formula. Plus it makes my hair greasy!! & i am not a fan of the new scent ! A lot of my friends have stopped using this brand because of the formula change!!

Missouri, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
New Formula is Very Disappointing

Customer review by SomerGirl

3.0 stars 4/3/2016 by SomerGirl
by SomerGirl

I have LOVED this shampoo for years. Not only has it helped detangle my locks, which have been prone to knots for as long as I can remember, but it smelled incredible. In fact, I had multiple people tell me over the years how amazing my hair smelled, which was always a wonderful confidence boost! I was open-minded about the new formula, wanting to believe that my trusted and favorite brand would not let me down. I know coconut oil has many benefits, but my hair is more tangled and difficult to brush than it's been since I started using Clear. Also, the scent is very disappointing and a huge downgrade. Coconut can smell very good, but not when mixed in with the other ingredients or when it's used in a hot and steamy shower. Clearly, the new formula just isn't working for me and I'm devastated to admit I'm considering switching brands. Coming from someone who was pretty much a brand amabassador for Clear, this is very upsetting. Perhaps some people like this change, but I really wish Clear would bring back the old formula. Why change perfection?

Somerville, MA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Such a waste....!

Customer review by CrysV

1.0 stars 8/30/2016 by CrysV
by CrysV

I use to LOVE Clear... until it changed it's formula. Sadly, the scent is horrible is nothing like the original. I don't know why Clear is not taking the feedback from its consumers - over 50 comments from people who have taken the time to write to you about a product they once loved. I know the average rating was above 4.8 stars... now it is at 2.9. Clear- PLEASE LISTEN TO YOUR CUSTOMERS! We hate this product and want the original back. Until then... Guess I will use something else. :(

Albuquerque, NM, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Disappointed with the new formula and scent

Customer review by changeisdemanded

1.0 stars 8/28/2016 by changeisdemanded
by changeisdemanded

I never EVER write reviews for products but I feel so strongly about this change. For most of my life, I have been on the search for a shampoo that would not make my hair too greasy or too dry. The previous Total Care shampoo and conditioner was the treasure to my lifelong quest. I was so disappointed when I purchased the new scent and formula. It has no resemblance to the previous "edition". As several of the other customers have requested, PLEASE bring back the old scent and formula. PLEASE.

California, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Change the formula back, PLEASE!

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 6/13/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I must have found his gem right before they changed the formula like everyone in the 1-star section has mentioned. When I first discovered Clear, I felt like I had finally found my dream shampoo. There was no weight after I washed my hair. It was extremely healthy feeling and looking, and it smelled AMAZING. That is a thing of the past. Around March of this year, y'all must've launched your new formula, because my hair has been awful ever since. It feels greasy even after I style it, an hour or two after it has been washed. I had to buy clarifying shampoo to use to remove the buildup that your product has left on my hair. I would love to be a customer, but this new formula is bad, and I'm not the only one saying it. Please listen to your customers and bring back the old formula so we can all go back to having wonderful looking, and smelling, hair!

An anonymous customer
Houston, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
New formula and scent are terrible

Customer review by Libby

1.0 stars 8/26/2016 by Libby
by Libby

One of the main reasons I have loved Clear shampoo is the wonderful scent it had. The new scent is terrible and I don't feel like I get the same results as I used to. Please bring back the old formula!

Chicago, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Bring back old formula!

Customer review by Annoymous

1.0 stars 8/22/2016 by Annoymous
by Annoymous

Do not care for new formula of shampoo and conditioner for 24/7 Total Care. Would really like the old formula back!

Goleta, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 174 total reviews
1-20 of 174 reviews