Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 255 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

255 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

255 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

68%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
78
4 stars
79
3 stars
23
2 stars
14
1 stars
61
1-20 of 194 total reviews
68%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 194 total reviews
1-20 of 194 reviews
A great price for a good ice cream sandwich tablet
5/7/2012

Customer review by DrG2967

4.0 stars 5/7/2012 by DrG2967
by DrG2967

Pros -Price -Android 4.0(Ice Cream Sandwich) -Great Build Quality -8GB plus microSD expansion -HDMI Out Port -Front facing camera -Different color options -Small and portable Cons -No Google Play installed(There is a workaround) -Screen resolution -MicroSD card protrudes slightly -Skype does not work out of the box(There is a workaround) When I began my quest to purchase a tablet, my wife placed me on a strict budget of $200. Ipad, Samsung and many others were instantly ruled out. After scouring the internet, looking through Best Buy and Walmart I thought I narrowed it down to the Amazon Kindle Fire or maybe the Barnes and Noble Nook. However, both of these devices run very customized versions of Android and cater to their respective stores. Also, the Kndle only has 8GB of storage with no microsd slot. Fortunately, I stumbled on to the Visual Land Internet Tablet. Not only was it unaltered Android. It has Android version 4.03. Oh, did I mention the price? It was well under budget so that I could purchase a case also. Did the low price mean cheap and low performing? The box contains the tablet, wall charger, mini usb cable, mini usb to usb cable, in-ear buds and a manual. I was surprised at all the contents. Most higher cost tablets do not have as much accessories included in the box. So far so good! The Visual Land Prestige tablet feels good in the hand. It is all plastic, but is solid. No creaks or groans. Holding the tablet in landscape, you have the mini usb, HDMI(yes, HDMI out), charging port, 3.5 mm headphone jack, microphone, and microSD slot. Phew, that is a ton of ports. Most high end tablets do not come with HDMI out. Way to go Visual Land!! On top is the power button and the volume buttons. The left and bottom is bare. The front of the device has the 7 inch 800 x 400 capacitive touch screen along with a web camera on the upper left corner. The rear of the device has a textured plastic back on most of the back with the left and right edges (in landscape mode) a shiny plastic that is a fingerprint magnet. There is a small opening for the speaker and a reset hole also on the back. A nice touch is that all ports and buttons are labeled so you know exactly what they are. One thing that I do not like is that the microsd card slightly protrudes out from the side. It leaves me a little concerned that it could pop out. It has not yet and I hope it doesn’t. Let me mention the screen. It is a mixed bag. My phones screen has a higher resolution. However, the colors look good as is the viewing angles but you will notice some pixilation at times. The screen is bright enough and responsive to touch. It is not the main selling point, but is not a deal breaker. It also plays a role in the better than average battery life. The Visual Land tablet comes with Android version 4.03. I t has the basic apps you need from you tube to web browser. Documents to Go, Angry Birds and Skype also comes pre-installed. Skype did not work for me out of the box. On Visual Lands website under the frequently asked questions, there is a link for a working download of skype. If you want to get more apps there is the Getjar app store. You could also download Amazons Android App store. You have plenty of options. I have downloaded Amazon Kindle app, the Nook app, and some games. All the apps run smoothly. Videos look great that have been encoded for the iphone great. I inserted my 16GB microSD card and all my music, photos and videos were easily accessible!! Lastly, I was able to install a working version after searching you tube for Prestige 7 Skype and Market. All in all, I am very happy with this tablet. There is no other tablet that comes close in this price range. If you are on a budget and want a little more than an ereader, this is the device for you.

Was this review helpful? (387) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DrG2967
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Bang For The Buck!
5/9/2012

Customer review by TinyV

4.0 stars 5/9/2012 by TinyV
by TinyV

I purchased this tablet in red. So far it is working correctly. I too was a little disappointed about the lack of google apps available. I did some research and found that if you download 1mobilemarket.com, you can have the same android apps as the google play market. Did that, and the tablet works like a charm and I now have draw something, oovoo, words with friends etc..., I say if you're looking for an inexpensive tablet that you can enjoy gaming, netflix and net surfing this is the tablet to get. 4 stars only because I was misled to believe google was on this tablet.

Was this review helpful? (142) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TinyV
Port Arthur
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Sleek, portable, and quick: Prestige 7
5/7/2012

Customer review by CoolRuunings

5.0 stars 5/7/2012 by CoolRuunings
by CoolRuunings

Pros: Quick browsing Amazing screen Very thin and light Great battery life Great with Skype Android>iOS Cons: No google play stock (found a script online that enabled it though.) I love android 4.0 now I used to be an iOS fanboy but I might have to change sides now. It's so smooth and quick on my prestige and the screen really shows movies and pictures very clean and crisp. I love playing games on this thing to because I'm not having to use a magnifying glass like I would with my iPhone. Very sleek design on this prestige too not like some of the other sub 200 tablets. Definitely feels like its worth more. I would recomend this to all.

Was this review helpful? (105) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CoolRuunings
Harlem, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Wonderful Product
5/16/2012

Customer review by Soccermom90

5.0 stars 5/16/2012 by Soccermom90
by Soccermom90

Prestige 7 tablet works and looks great, it has tons of features built in and a few others you can add yourself to make this tablet just that much more of a value. GetJar comes preinstalled but there is not many apps that want to actually download from there. 1mobile is a very large appstore that you can use instead, which is free and offers almost all of the major titles. It does not have the Google Play market available, luckily I was crafty enough to do some simple searches through Google and found out that you can easily have this made useable on your tablet with nothing more than a few mouse clicks. I spoke with a tech at visual land and he informed me that they had petitioned to make Google Play available on their units but they ignored their requests. If you search on Google for allwinner Google play script you will find a link to a tablet forum for slate droid where you can download the necessary drivers and script to get Google play working on your tablet too. I had issues with the original version of Skype preinstalled, well it turns out Skype took that version offline when they updated to the current version, what also happened though is the new version did not play well with Android 4.0 even though it works well with Android 2.3, so what I have found thanks to many other users testing it is that if you use version 2.5.0.160 of Skype you will have no issues with video transmitting discolored or distorted. I started using Netflix also, sometimes videos play without a hitch, but other times the video freezes, at first I thought it might be my connection but thanks to some more searching discovered I was not the only one having issues with Netflix and 4.0 I contacted them and heard no response back, they also do not have a community based forum such as Skype where users can speak to other users and representatives to work together on solutions. Hopefully one day they will so issues can be resolved quicker. I also tested long video streaming on Youtube.com and other websites such as ABC where you can watch full episodes on their site and CBS also. I did have issues with these sites telling me I did not have flash at first but I later realized I had to go into Browser, then bring up the browser menu by tapping those three squares in the right top corner of the screen and go into Browser settings and into debug and change the browser mode to Android so flash videos would load, but that was simple enough. All in all, for the price of this tablet it cannot be beat, after a few personal tweaks this tablet is better than a lot of tablets sold for more too. I’d recommend this to everyone.

Was this review helpful? (112) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Soccermom90
Archer,Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/21/2012

Customer review by biggrammoo

5.0 stars 5/21/2012 by biggrammoo
by biggrammoo

This tablet had everything I wanted except a brand name I recognized. I decided to try it because WalMart has such a great return policy. It has many features that the more expensive brands don't have. Well, surprise, surprise! Everything I've tried works flawlessly and I love it.

Was this review helpful? (27) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
biggrammoo
USofA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice tablet BUT stopped working just after 1 month
8/28/2012

Customer review by rjh103

1.0 stars 8/28/2012 by rjh103
by rjh103

This tablet was purchased for my 11-year-old son. He loved that he got a cool color. Item was ordered June 29, 2012 and received before the 4th of July holiday 2012. The tablet worked well for the first month but by August 11, 2012 the tablet would not boot up. It seems to get locked as it tries to load the Android operating system. Hitting the reset button only sends it back into the same loop and fails to finish the start-up. I own an Acer 10" Tablet operating Android 4.0 and have had NO problems whatsoever. I also own 3 laptops and 4 desktop computers operating Windows as well as a smartphone using the Android operating system. I mention this so it is understood that I am not computer/technologically illiterate. Walmart only gives a 15 day return policy on electronics such as this tablet. I am now trying to see if Walmart or Visual Land will fix the tablet and stand behind their products. I will update this review as the matter is resolved.

Was this review helpful? (41) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rjh103
Toledo, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/22/2012

Customer review by DW14

5.0 stars 5/22/2012 by DW14
by DW14

I was surprised how well this tablet worked. The colors are vibrant and the screen responds to my touch far better than I had expected. For a price tag of $150 I expected there to be some lag when scrolling or selecting an app but it worked very smoothly. I use my tablet to eliminate my need to take my laptop everywhere with me so I tend to use it to scan through E-mails, browse news articles, and things of this nature. I like the ability to increase its memory with the mini SD card which allows for me to keep its internal memory free to keep it working quickly. I'm not to big on games so I haven't utilized the app store too much but I have had a chance to play with the pre-installed games and it is a lot more enjoyable than playing them on my cell phone. The final point I want to make is in regards to its video playback. I was awe struck when I watched the sample video that was pre-installed on the device. The quality was perfect unlike many other devices I've used. All in all I was very impressed by this product. I've been a fan of android products for years and don't intend to stop using this particular product any time soon.

Was this review helpful? (24) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DW14
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I almost returned it...
6/30/2012

Customer review by kz456

5.0 stars 6/30/2012 by kz456
by kz456

I have a laptop. I purchased this Android to play games, use aps and download books. I wanted something small so I could slip it into my purse. Because I have a nice laptop, I didn't want to invest a bunch into an android. The reason I almost returned it was because of the GetJar ap. That is a preloaded ap store. I couldn't get anything downloaded. I switched to the Amazon ap store and also the 1Mobile ap store and I am thrilled! Hopefully they have fixed the glitches that others have experienced and you will have as much fun playing with your Prestige as I am.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kz456
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome and Inexpensive
5/21/2012

Customer review by CamachoC5

5.0 stars 5/21/2012 by CamachoC5
by CamachoC5

This tablet is more than I expected for the price. Android ICS is awesome and makes it so there is no lag whatsoever. The design is one of the sleekest I have ever seen. I can carry it in my pocket perfectly. The HD video is amazing and crystal clear. This tablet has all the features of tablets twice the price, except for Google play, but for this price you can't go wrong. You can still download apps from the amazon market.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CamachoC5
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good value for price
6/26/2012

Customer review by upstatedad

4.0 stars 6/26/2012 by upstatedad
by upstatedad

The Visual Land Prestige 7 Android 4.0 Internet Tablet was what I expected. I knew this is a lower end Tablet considering the price, but I was please with what I have. It is light weight, easily portable, but also pretty sturdy.. The controls are responsive and it gives you the ability to do everything that you would expect from a tablet, but at a much lower price! On the downside is the internal wi-fi is a little spotty. For example, if I am in the same spot, my smartphone will have full strength, but the tablet is only about 2/3 strength. Not a major issue for me, but in streaming videos it can cause things to buffer and lag a little. The other drawback is not being able to access the Google Play site for apps. However, you can install apps from the Amazon app store, plus the visual land website FAQ's offer other solutions. So, about 85% of the Google Play apps are available - not bad. Those are probably the only 2 items keeping me from giving it 5 stars. I've only had the tablet for about a week but so far, it has been a good purchase.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
upstatedad
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great tablel for my 8Yr Old
7/16/2012

Customer review by Bloodroc

5.0 stars 7/16/2012 by Bloodroc
by Bloodroc

Does everything she wants. Games, Internet, Video (Youtube) She saids its just like playing on my Iphone, just bigger. Screen looks good,sounds good and eazy to use. She loves the front cam, cause we Skype when I'm at work. Boots fast and just overall better than what I though. Came with Andriod 4.0 on it and this is the first product running Andriod that we have owned and it work flawless. Great Buy

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bloodroc
Jackson, Ms
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very reliable and cheap price!
5/15/2012

Customer review by Chompiraz86

5.0 stars 5/15/2012 by Chompiraz86
by Chompiraz86

Very light, durable design. I love the back part, makes it easier to hold. Processing power is more than enough and is able to multitask. Would definitely buy for a friend!

Was this review helpful? (19) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chompiraz86
Tampa Bay, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product!
6/11/2012

Customer review by Chuck0525

5.0 stars 6/11/2012 by Chuck0525
by Chuck0525

Overall this tablet is EXCELLENT! The resolution looks great and using the HDMI cable to connect to the tv is easy and no loss of resolution on the big screen. Volume is great with and without the headphones. Bought for my 9 year old son who has been able to figure it out without assistance. The amazon app store is sufficient, WI-FI runs smoothly and quickly, transfer of pictures, videos and music is really easy and fast. The only drawbacks: The camera (although works nicely) is that you cannot see the image you are taking a picture of as the screen has to be facing away from you. The battery life is more like 3 hours I believe this tablet is worth much more than the $149 we paid for it!!!

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chuck0525
Oklahoma City, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
if you require a variety of apps this ISN'T the 1
5/6/2012

Customer review by 1Shell

2.0 stars 5/6/2012 by 1Shell
by 1Shell

internet works fine. I have not experienced any freezes or crashes thus far. soI gave it a 2 star rating. This device did not win my heart. If you like netflix, facebook, B&N, Skype- nope- getjar is preinstalled however most of their apps is from google play therefore you cant download Alot of apps from there either (facebbok,drawsometing, fruit ninja, etc)! Also the only preloaded game app that works is angry birds. Half the google stuff that is preloaded is insufficent for use. just there to exist. Check the settings > all apps and youll see what I am talking about. Skype, yes its preloaded, no it dosent work! other skype apps I have loaded doesnt work either. Advertising from manufactrrer is somewhat misleading. I bought the blue one to be a mothers day gift and to get my mother into the tech savvy world as easily possiable. She requires skype, facebook, and texting apps at minimum to connect wth our relatives. . None at which willl work on this device. The blue is not metallic in color as it appears online.

Was this review helpful? (30) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1Shell
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
7/16/2012

Customer review by arestheallmighty

5.0 stars 7/16/2012 by arestheallmighty
by arestheallmighty

works great and well worth the price. though i got it for $120. also bought the connect from visual land its a little bigger and has external buttons but other than that they are identical. so if you want to pay 100 for the connect go for it. surfs the web with no problems plays games and apps work well. get the apps from amazon or http://www.1mobile.com. the netflix app doesnt work it plays and stops but the hbogo and max go and the other apps work great.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
arestheallmighty
brownsville,tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great tablet
6/30/2012

Customer review by jj101

4.0 stars 6/30/2012 by jj101
by jj101

this tablet was my first tablet and i have to say it has been going great so far the internet works great with Android 4.0 no crashes and hasnt froze so far I also love to it comes with 1 of my faveriote games angry birds

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jj101
san jose CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Visual Land Android Internet Tablet
6/10/2012

Customer review by PleasureShopperInLa

5.0 stars 6/10/2012 by PleasureShopperInLa
by PleasureShopperInLa

This is my first internet tablet and I was surprised at how easy it is to use. Since it was my first tablet, I was lost at first, but the Visual Land company had it's phone number included and the operator led me through everything it can do. Being a technological dummy, this service was invaluable. I highly recommend this internet tablet.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PleasureShopperInLa
New Orleans, La.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Options & Portability!
9/15/2012

Customer review by techishmom

4.0 stars 9/15/2012 by techishmom
by techishmom

This great little affordable tablet came preloaded with app stores needed to get most of the same apps you can get from google play app store which is a great plus! Everything loads fast due to the 1.2 processor considering it is a single core system. Email, shop, pay bills, watch a movie on netflix, listen to sirius or pandora, all are good on here! Sound was pretty good but for more rich sound I plug in my own speaker, also purchased from Walmart. I ordered the blue tablet which looked like metallic Royal Blue online but when recieved was actually more of a non metallic turquiose or light aqua blue. Still a pretty color and not a huge factor if color isn't a priority for you. They have since updated the website to correct the colors. Only reason I returned is because it doesn't have bluetooth for a keyboard, but if you don't use one the virtual on screen keyboard is just fine. Great tablet for durability if children will be using it also. Accessories aplenty for it all over town.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
techishmom
detroit
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
6/10/2012

Customer review by Cucaorama

5.0 stars 6/10/2012 by Cucaorama
by Cucaorama

Great tablets and even better great price. The oportunity to choose diferents colors is excellent special when you buy for a teenager.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cucaorama
Hialeah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Rooted Tablet
5/27/2012

Customer review by Gimpy0215

5.0 stars 5/27/2012 by Gimpy0215
by Gimpy0215

Tablet comes already rooted but Google Play does not recognise tablet. Found via Visual Land website FAQ 1mobile.com that has hundreds of free applications.The Android 4.03 OS is basically a linux variant and many of the linux commands will work via a terminal app if you are a more advanced user.One of the nice features is being able to charge via wall wart mini pin connector or thru the mini usb port. This means you can charge your tablet while using a usb device like a keyboard, mouse etc. The tablet has built in 8 gig sd memory and I added an additional 16 gig mini sd that gives me 24 gig total memory. Over all the tablet has a fast response time and I am extremely happy with the tablet.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gimpy0215
Spencer, In
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 194 total reviews
1-20 of 194 reviews