Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 793 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

793 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

793 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
578
4 stars
148
3 stars
26
2 stars
5
1 stars
36
1-20 of 721 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 721 total reviews
1-20 of 721 reviews
Easy to hook up
4/27/2014

Customer review by Lockdude74

5.0 stars 4/27/2014 by Lockdude74
by Lockdude74
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Works great with my Cox high speed internet connection.

Was this review helpful? (29) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lockdude74
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just right for home use. Stop paying rental fees.
2/20/2014

Customer review by KRDJ

5.0 stars 2/20/2014 by KRDJ
by KRDJ
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

When I learned I was paying Time Warner Cable $7 a month for a DOCSIS 2.0 modem (no longer in use) for many years and could purchase my own - I did. I followed the "where to plug in the three cables" instructions (cable company line, ethernet line to router and power line). With my computer and modem on, I called "TWC technical support" to give them the MAC ID number on the side of the unit. The TWC rep "set up" my new modem and removed the monthly charge. The entire process of hooking it up and finishing with TWC was less than ten minutes. I took longer to hide the new power cable behind my desk. Ordering online is a few bucks cheaper than purchasing in the store (and cheaper than Best Buy, Office Depot and Frys). My Walmart is a few blocks away so I had mine shipped to the store. They emailed me when the modem arrived. Walmart has a special line for "ship to store" pickups - so no waiting in the "merchandise returns" line. I will never pay a monthly modem fee again. So far, so good. Thank you Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (282) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KRDJ
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does the job well, for a good price.
10/19/2013

Customer review by HiDefPCs

4.0 stars 10/19/2013 by HiDefPCs
by HiDefPCs
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my second purchase of this model. First one 6 months ago is at home and this one at my son's college house. Both needed to be Comcast compatible and DOCSIS 3.0 to be future proof. They are fast, and easy to set up after the required call to Comcast support to allow them on their network. My only complaint with the modems is every once in a while they trip off and restart for no reason. I have not researched this issue yet, because it is very brief, albeit annoying. Another complaint is with Walmart's stock reporting system. My second one's online purchase confirmed in stock status, but none was at the store when I arrived, the out of stock text came while I was leaving the parking lot. So, I cancelled that purchase and ordered it from a store near my son's house, which also showed it in stock, but a text came saying it was on back order a few days. There is definitely a problem with Walmart's stock inventory network and its communication with their online store.

Was this review helpful? (61) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HiDefPCs
Salem, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Setup was automatic with Comcast cable
10/15/2013

Customer review by Bebo2

4.0 stars 10/15/2013 by Bebo2
by Bebo2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am not enough of a tech. to know or use all the features but for my 4 lan and 3 wifi house it works perfectly. The modem set itself up and got on line with Comcast automatically. I had to fill in a few questions about my account on line and then it was up and running. I did call Comcast tech support just to make sure all was well and the operator confirmed that the Motorola SB 6121 had setup automatically. My old Zoom modem worked great for 4 years but then Comcast changed something in their system and it began to drop the connection. Comcast, of course, wanted me to pay $8/month to rent one of their modems. Buying my own from Walmart for less than $80 made more sense to me. The Morotola SB6121 is rated one of the top compatible modems at the Comcast tech site. In another 3-4 years some other change may out date this modem but by then it will have paid for itself 3-4 times over. I guess I need to put the Zoom on craig's list.

Was this review helpful? (49) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bebo2
New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent modem for the price!
10/29/2013

Customer review by techie222

5.0 stars 10/29/2013 by techie222
by techie222
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I decided to purchase this modem after our previous Motorola SB5100 began having sync issue. After spending nearly an hour troubleshooting our connection issue with cable provider, I was offered a replacement through them at a monthly lease charge of $6.99 a month. For that amount I justified the cost of this replacement and avoiding the monthly charge. Setup of the Motorola SB6121 was easy and straight forward. A 10 minute phone call to cable tech support to switch out the equipment and we were back up and running. Our internet connection is a 30x5 we were averaging 19x1 with the old modem. We now are getting 30x4.3. The added feature of the multi-speed Ethernet port is nice. If your Router WAN Port is Gigabit capable, the lag when connecting and downloading is gone. The modem is great for those who stream video, music, and online game. It also resolved a lag issue when streaming content from our DirecTV dvr.

Was this review helpful? (51) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
techie222
Brunswick, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great modem!
12/24/2012

Customer review by Kelita909

5.0 stars 12/24/2012 by Kelita909
by Kelita909

I bought this modem after Time Warner decided to start charging a lease fee for their modem. After using it for a full day, I no longer lose my wireless connection on my laptop and have been streaming Netflix all day with no streaming loss. Both of those were huge issues daily. I am more than satisfied with this product! A word of caution to TWC internet and phone users. The first tech told me if I were to buy my own modem, I would have to return their modem to a TWC store for a phone-only modem. Thankfully, I decided to get the modem up and running before wasting time and gas going to a store with the old modem in tow. The second TWC CS I contacted to add this modem on my account told me I did NOT have to return the old modem; they would just give me the same one (Arris) anyway as it was a phone and internet modem. She hooked me up, removed the modem lease charge and made sure everything was fine with the old modem which is now only working for phone-only. Just make sure to get a 5-1000 splitter (Walmart only had a 5-2000 which works fine) and a 2 more coax cables to hook up both modems.

Was this review helpful? (64) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kelita909
Highland, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Does the Job Well
1/16/2014

Customer review by SilverCoyote

5.0 stars 1/16/2014 by SilverCoyote
by SilverCoyote
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased the Motorola SURFboard SB6121 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem as an upgrade from a DOCSIS 2 modem so I could take advantage of the higher 50 Mbps speed offered by my cable company. It was very easy to set up: I followed the directions in the startup guide, connected the ethernet cable, and contacted the cable company so they could complete the activation. (If one is setting up cable service for the first time, the steps may be a bit more involved, but the modem itself is not difficult). So far it is working just fine. It looks nice on the desk, doesn't take up a lot of room (it's "footprint" is about 1.5" x 5") and I like that the LED status lights on the front are little icons, so one can tell at a glance which is for power, connectivity, etc. My previous modem was also a Motorola SURFboard product, and it was working fine after more than 18 months. As earlier mentioned, I only replaced it to be able to upgrade to higher internet speeds. With the cable company wanting $7.99 per month to rent a modem from them, it had already more than paid for itself. I fully expect this one will do the same.

Was this review helpful? (29) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SilverCoyote
Denison, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
bought this modem to own myself
5/9/2014

Customer review by ssvenn

5.0 stars 5/9/2014 by ssvenn
by ssvenn
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

if you have cable like Comcast----------MAKE SURE THAT YOU DISCONNECT THE COMCAST MODEM AND TAKE IT BACK TO COMCAST AND TELL THEM YOU OWN YOUR OWN MOODEM NOW00A SAVE-INGS OF 8.00 OFF YOUR BILL AS NO MORE RENT THEIRS-------BECAUSE THIS IS THE ONLY WAY THATA THEIR PHONE OFFICE WILL NE ABLE TO GET YOU UP AND RUNNING--THEY HAVE TO SEE ON THEIR COMPUTERS IN THE BILLING OFFICE THAT YOU RETURNED THEIR OLD MODEM TO YOU BEFORE THEY WILL CONNECT YOU-------SO MAKE SURE YOU FOLLOW THIS ADVICE--IT WILL MAKE YOUR NEW MODEM GET ON LINE RIGHT OFF-----OK THATS THE DEAL THIS MODEM DOES REAL FAST FAST AND I HAVE THE SLOWEST HI SPEED COMCST OFFERS(29.00-PER MONTH) AND IT WILL DO YOUTUBE-VIDEOS LIKE THE FASTEST HISPEED-----SO YOU CAN GET THE CHEAP HI SPEED LIKE I HAVE AND IT WILL WORK FAST WITH THIS MODEM

Was this review helpful? (115) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ssvenn
whiting ,nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Delivered the improved speed expected
7/10/2014

Customer review by Metusalen

4.0 stars 7/10/2014 by Metusalen
by Metusalen
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I followed the recommendation from my Internet Service Provider (ISP) to get a DOCSIS 3.0 modem to replace my older model. After carefully looking for reviews, this model was highly rated. It was delivered within the expected time. I was a able to install it right out of the box just following the Read Me First instructions. I noticed the power transformer gets very hot (will keep checking). I performed a speed test and yielded 18.51 Mbps downloading and 7.12 Mbps uploading from an old Sony VAIO (2011) model. My ISP claims it can deliver 25 Mbps. Verifying if the firmware was up to date was rather cumbersome. The firmware loaded 1.0.6.10 is not the latest from the manufacturer, there are other newer versions available 1.0.6.12. I have been using it for 3 days concurrently with 2 MacBooks, one Sony VAIO, and 2 iphone 4s, serviced by a Airave GPS antenna hooked up to the router. Very good!

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Metusalen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Was expecting it to be more difficult
3/29/2013

Customer review by phoneguysofl

5.0 stars 3/29/2013 by phoneguysofl
by phoneguysofl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

When ordering Comcast internet, I decided to buy a modem rather than pay $7.00 per month for the rental of thier router. I only want internet from Comcast, maybe more later. I was expecting a need to program the unit for it to work properly. I looked for an instruction book for programming and there is'nt one. You must go online for that. I would much prefer a physical manual. It was a surprise to me when I plugged it in and immediately had internet access! Everything worked after a two minute install (plug three cables in). There has not been one glitch! I am happy with the modem and my decision to buy it.

Was this review helpful? (31) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
phoneguysofl
South Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lots better than you get from the Cable Company.
10/26/2012

Customer review by Laidbackgal

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by Laidbackgal
by Laidbackgal
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought it to replace the one from the cable company and right off I saw a greater CLEAR reception, computer loaded faster that I have ever seen it load. And buying it it saves me $91.00 a year rent, and like I said, it is a better modem! Semper Fi.

Was this review helpful? (414) (37)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Laidbackgal
Auburn, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
works as expected
11/1/2012

Customer review by Hanztertonfield

5.0 stars 11/1/2012 by Hanztertonfield
by Hanztertonfield
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

the modem works with comcast (although it took forever to initialize on their network, but that's one time only). it wil pay for itself in a year.

Was this review helpful? (152) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hanztertonfield
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great modem
11/27/2013

Customer review by PCEnthusiast

5.0 stars 11/27/2013 by PCEnthusiast
by PCEnthusiast
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got this modem because I was having connection proplems. My internet would either be fine, run slow as a snail, or randomly drop for no reason. The modem that I had was installed by the cable company and after doing some checking on their website, I found that it wasn't compatable with the speed rate package that I signed up for, and I couldnt change the channel on my wireless modem. Instead of paying monthly fdor one, I opted to buy my own. Setup was very simple. Once installed I was able to change my wireless channel to a stable one, and my problem went away.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PCEnthusiast
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wonderful modem
12/1/2012

Customer review by NYInternetUser

5.0 stars 12/1/2012 by NYInternetUser
by NYInternetUser
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

So I replaced my old, cable company provided modem because I refuse to pay a nickle more to utility companies than I have to. I had an older Motorola SB500 series for years. So lo and behold, the minute I installed this device, my download speeds increased considerably. On Speedtest.net my results went from the 10-12 MPS range to 25-30 MPS due, I assume, to the channel bonding capabilities of this modem. I watch almost all my TV from streaming devices and many of the issues that I had been having (lousy quality, frequent reloads, freezing) have disappeared entirely. So the net of it is... I give less to the Cable company PLUS I get improved service that I hadn't anticipated. Excellent choice!

Was this review helpful? (143) (42)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NYInternetUser
Binghamton NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best purchased I made
1/11/2014

Customer review by RB407

5.0 stars 1/11/2014 by RB407
by RB407

No problems yet. Easy to hook up and get running. Cheaper than renting a modem from Comcast. Also my speed increase from 15mbps download to 55mbps.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RB407
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Product!!!
3/28/2013

Customer review by DisneyRules

5.0 stars 3/28/2013 by DisneyRules
by DisneyRules

I never thought my internet service would get any faster; that is, until I bought this little guy!! I used to get speeds of 10-15 mbps with Comcast. Now, with this new Motorola SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0, I truly am able to "surf" the internet. I am getting speeds of around 30-40 mbps now! I am able to watch 1080p YouTube videos on 4 different devices without any lagging. I would definitely recommend this product!! Works exceptionally well and delivers as promised - SURFing the web!!!

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DisneyRules
Manitowoc, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
perfect modem if you already have a wireles router
11/29/2012

Customer review by neatrose

5.0 stars 11/29/2012 by neatrose
by neatrose

this surfboard does everything it states. It took a while for comcast to get the signal, but one it registered hooking up to wireless router was easy. comcast cable approved unit. After i purchase i check ebay and you can get it cheeper at least $20 less if you can wait out the bidding process. overall perfect for comcast customer

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
neatrose
coconut creek florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Don't rent from your provider~buy this!
7/27/2014

Customer review by Murraygirl4ever

5.0 stars 7/27/2014 by Murraygirl4ever
by Murraygirl4ever
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The cable company wanted me "rent" their modem for $11 a month so I read up on modems. This model was highly recommended. The cable guy asked me if I had my own modem & who I was using for cable at the time (I was moving & Time Warner was all that was offered at my new place) I told him I had previously had Comcast & he said that my modem from them would work with Time Warner. He also said it wouldn't work with At&t or Dish, Direct Tv, etc...I looked at my roommate's modem we used with Comcast internet & tv & it was a Motorola Arris..This model is a newer one of what we had & was only $62 at our local Walmart. Sure beats paying for rented equipment. I own this & can use it with a variety of internet and/or cable providers. Very happy with my purchase & it was very easy to install.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Murraygirl4ever
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very fast to set up on COX
1/13/2013

Customer review by Greatmodem

5.0 stars 1/13/2013 by Greatmodem
by Greatmodem

I don’t leave feedback as a rule, only when something is very good or bad. This modem is great and was easy to set up. I have COX cable and read a few of the reviews and this is how I set it up. It is not the fault of the modem that it takes four passes on COX self-registration. But it is not hard either. I connect the cable and did not connect my router, but connect directly to my computer from the back of the modem. I powered it up and it took about a minute to connect to internet. I started browser and got the COX self-registration page. I put in information and it hung so I dropped the browser and restarted. I got down the road a bit more but it hung again and I restarted. The four time I got to the “put in your S/N and Mac address”. I did that (using the long serial number and MAC address) and COX accepted it. It was 5 minutes in when I lost connection to internet so I drop the browser again. The next time it came up it was pointing to Google so it work. My speeds went from download (4 to 11 depending on the time of day) and upload (from .2 to .4). I should have been getting 20 down and 4 up with Premier Service. My pervious modem was a cheap Docsis 1.0. Now I get download of 24 and up is testing at 29. It is too fast for the test sites I use. I call that a happy problem and my internet is really reliable and very fast. Hope this helps and I did not have to use COX helpdesk. I bought online from Walmat and it was ready in a few hours when I went to the store to pick it up. Brand new in a box and perfect condition.

Was this review helpful? (27) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Greatmodem
Omaha
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works as advertized
12/1/2012

Customer review by OldGuyENC

4.0 stars 12/1/2012 by OldGuyENC
by OldGuyENC
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Pro: Seems to be a good cable modem Con: TW/RR had issues getting it onto their network, I think it was just the tech on the other end not doing things right.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OldGuyENC
Eastern North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 721 total reviews
1-20 of 721 reviews