Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 802 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

802 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

802 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
585
4 stars
149
3 stars
26
2 stars
5
1 stars
37
1-20 of 730 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 730 total reviews
1-20 of 730 reviews
You get what you pay for...
11/14/2014

Customer review by pqlachocbunny

1.0 stars 11/14/2014 by pqlachocbunny
by pqlachocbunny

I don't know if this was just a fluke or it's just really that slow, but with all the tech support I could handle in a 3 hour span, we never could get it online. Ended up purchasing the Motorola SURFboard Modem & Wifi Router. Spent quite a bit more, but so far it's perfect.

pqlachocbunny
Oklahoma City, OK, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Simple Set-up, Fast
11/19/2013

Customer review by York1doc

5.0 stars 11/19/2013 by York1doc
by York1doc

We purchased this modem when notified by Comcast that our existing modem would no longer be supported. This model was on the accepted list. Easy to setup and activate on line. No problems. Kids stream movies and videos all the time with no lag or problems. Great device for the price.

York1doc
York, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Good Choice
10/12/2013

Customer review by gettinolder

5.0 stars 10/12/2013 by gettinolder
by gettinolder

The setup of the unit was very easy. It provides the capability I need and has performed flawlessly in the month or two I've had it. The light display on its front panel is easily seen from a distance to let me know that the unit is operating properly.

gettinolder
Palmdale,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great end of life replacement
12/18/2013

Customer review by Dabakes

5.0 stars 12/18/2013 by Dabakes
by Dabakes

Docsis 3.0 replacement for my Comcast end of life modem. Installation was simple and set up was easy. Had to call Comcast support and provide the Mac ID to initialize it. No problems since December 7th install.

Dabakes
Greenwood, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Superb Product
8/9/2014

Customer review by Malcomh3

5.0 stars 8/9/2014 by Malcomh3
by Malcomh3

The Modem I purchased from you is so much faster than the old one I have. I refuse to pay for one from Cable Co so always wanting the besdt and this is one of them and the pricing from Sams was FANTASTIC.

Malcomh3
South Bend, IN, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Simple Setup
12/4/2013

Customer review by Onwheels

5.0 stars 12/4/2013 by Onwheels
by Onwheels

I had to step up to the Docsis 3.0 and this fit the bill fine. I am finally getting the speeds out of my internet that I am paying for. I have always used Motorola because of the quality and ease of use.

Onwheels
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
11/5/2014

Customer review by pladea

4.0 stars 11/5/2014 by pladea
by pladea

item came when it was promised and has worked perfectly

pladea
arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Easy to hook up
4/27/2014

Customer review by Lockdude74

5.0 stars 4/27/2014 by Lockdude74
by Lockdude74
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Works great with my Cox high speed internet connection.

Was this review helpful? (29) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lockdude74
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just right for home use. Stop paying rental fees.
2/20/2014

Customer review by KRDJ

5.0 stars 2/20/2014 by KRDJ
by KRDJ
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

When I learned I was paying Time Warner Cable $7 a month for a DOCSIS 2.0 modem (no longer in use) for many years and could purchase my own - I did. I followed the "where to plug in the three cables" instructions (cable company line, ethernet line to router and power line). With my computer and modem on, I called "TWC technical support" to give them the MAC ID number on the side of the unit. The TWC rep "set up" my new modem and removed the monthly charge. The entire process of hooking it up and finishing with TWC was less than ten minutes. I took longer to hide the new power cable behind my desk. Ordering online is a few bucks cheaper than purchasing in the store (and cheaper than Best Buy, Office Depot and Frys). My Walmart is a few blocks away so I had mine shipped to the store. They emailed me when the modem arrived. Walmart has a special line for "ship to store" pickups - so no waiting in the "merchandise returns" line. I will never pay a monthly modem fee again. So far, so good. Thank you Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (283) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KRDJ
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does the job well, for a good price.
10/19/2013

Customer review by HiDefPCs

4.0 stars 10/19/2013 by HiDefPCs
by HiDefPCs
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my second purchase of this model. First one 6 months ago is at home and this one at my son's college house. Both needed to be Comcast compatible and DOCSIS 3.0 to be future proof. They are fast, and easy to set up after the required call to Comcast support to allow them on their network. My only complaint with the modems is every once in a while they trip off and restart for no reason. I have not researched this issue yet, because it is very brief, albeit annoying. Another complaint is with Walmart's stock reporting system. My second one's online purchase confirmed in stock status, but none was at the store when I arrived, the out of stock text came while I was leaving the parking lot. So, I cancelled that purchase and ordered it from a store near my son's house, which also showed it in stock, but a text came saying it was on back order a few days. There is definitely a problem with Walmart's stock inventory network and its communication with their online store.

Was this review helpful? (61) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HiDefPCs
Salem, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Setup was automatic with Comcast cable
10/15/2013

Customer review by Bebo2

4.0 stars 10/15/2013 by Bebo2
by Bebo2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am not enough of a tech. to know or use all the features but for my 4 lan and 3 wifi house it works perfectly. The modem set itself up and got on line with Comcast automatically. I had to fill in a few questions about my account on line and then it was up and running. I did call Comcast tech support just to make sure all was well and the operator confirmed that the Motorola SB 6121 had setup automatically. My old Zoom modem worked great for 4 years but then Comcast changed something in their system and it began to drop the connection. Comcast, of course, wanted me to pay $8/month to rent one of their modems. Buying my own from Walmart for less than $80 made more sense to me. The Morotola SB6121 is rated one of the top compatible modems at the Comcast tech site. In another 3-4 years some other change may out date this modem but by then it will have paid for itself 3-4 times over. I guess I need to put the Zoom on craig's list.

Was this review helpful? (49) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bebo2
New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent modem for the price!
10/29/2013

Customer review by techie222

5.0 stars 10/29/2013 by techie222
by techie222
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I decided to purchase this modem after our previous Motorola SB5100 began having sync issue. After spending nearly an hour troubleshooting our connection issue with cable provider, I was offered a replacement through them at a monthly lease charge of $6.99 a month. For that amount I justified the cost of this replacement and avoiding the monthly charge. Setup of the Motorola SB6121 was easy and straight forward. A 10 minute phone call to cable tech support to switch out the equipment and we were back up and running. Our internet connection is a 30x5 we were averaging 19x1 with the old modem. We now are getting 30x4.3. The added feature of the multi-speed Ethernet port is nice. If your Router WAN Port is Gigabit capable, the lag when connecting and downloading is gone. The modem is great for those who stream video, music, and online game. It also resolved a lag issue when streaming content from our DirecTV dvr.

Was this review helpful? (51) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
techie222
Brunswick, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great modem!
12/24/2012

Customer review by Kelita909

5.0 stars 12/24/2012 by Kelita909
by Kelita909

I bought this modem after Time Warner decided to start charging a lease fee for their modem. After using it for a full day, I no longer lose my wireless connection on my laptop and have been streaming Netflix all day with no streaming loss. Both of those were huge issues daily. I am more than satisfied with this product! A word of caution to TWC internet and phone users. The first tech told me if I were to buy my own modem, I would have to return their modem to a TWC store for a phone-only modem. Thankfully, I decided to get the modem up and running before wasting time and gas going to a store with the old modem in tow. The second TWC CS I contacted to add this modem on my account told me I did NOT have to return the old modem; they would just give me the same one (Arris) anyway as it was a phone and internet modem. She hooked me up, removed the modem lease charge and made sure everything was fine with the old modem which is now only working for phone-only. Just make sure to get a 5-1000 splitter (Walmart only had a 5-2000 which works fine) and a 2 more coax cables to hook up both modems.

Was this review helpful? (64) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kelita909
Highland, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Does the Job Well
1/16/2014

Customer review by SilverCoyote

5.0 stars 1/16/2014 by SilverCoyote
by SilverCoyote
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased the Motorola SURFboard SB6121 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem as an upgrade from a DOCSIS 2 modem so I could take advantage of the higher 50 Mbps speed offered by my cable company. It was very easy to set up: I followed the directions in the startup guide, connected the ethernet cable, and contacted the cable company so they could complete the activation. (If one is setting up cable service for the first time, the steps may be a bit more involved, but the modem itself is not difficult). So far it is working just fine. It looks nice on the desk, doesn't take up a lot of room (it's "footprint" is about 1.5" x 5") and I like that the LED status lights on the front are little icons, so one can tell at a glance which is for power, connectivity, etc. My previous modem was also a Motorola SURFboard product, and it was working fine after more than 18 months. As earlier mentioned, I only replaced it to be able to upgrade to higher internet speeds. With the cable company wanting $7.99 per month to rent a modem from them, it had already more than paid for itself. I fully expect this one will do the same.

Was this review helpful? (30) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SilverCoyote
Denison, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
bought this modem to own myself
5/9/2014

Customer review by ssvenn

5.0 stars 5/9/2014 by ssvenn
by ssvenn
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

if you have cable like Comcast----------MAKE SURE THAT YOU DISCONNECT THE COMCAST MODEM AND TAKE IT BACK TO COMCAST AND TELL THEM YOU OWN YOUR OWN MOODEM NOW00A SAVE-INGS OF 8.00 OFF YOUR BILL AS NO MORE RENT THEIRS-------BECAUSE THIS IS THE ONLY WAY THATA THEIR PHONE OFFICE WILL NE ABLE TO GET YOU UP AND RUNNING--THEY HAVE TO SEE ON THEIR COMPUTERS IN THE BILLING OFFICE THAT YOU RETURNED THEIR OLD MODEM TO YOU BEFORE THEY WILL CONNECT YOU-------SO MAKE SURE YOU FOLLOW THIS ADVICE--IT WILL MAKE YOUR NEW MODEM GET ON LINE RIGHT OFF-----OK THATS THE DEAL THIS MODEM DOES REAL FAST FAST AND I HAVE THE SLOWEST HI SPEED COMCST OFFERS(29.00-PER MONTH) AND IT WILL DO YOUTUBE-VIDEOS LIKE THE FASTEST HISPEED-----SO YOU CAN GET THE CHEAP HI SPEED LIKE I HAVE AND IT WILL WORK FAST WITH THIS MODEM

Was this review helpful? (117) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ssvenn
whiting ,nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Delivered the improved speed expected
7/10/2014

Customer review by Metusalen

4.0 stars 7/10/2014 by Metusalen
by Metusalen
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I followed the recommendation from my Internet Service Provider (ISP) to get a DOCSIS 3.0 modem to replace my older model. After carefully looking for reviews, this model was highly rated. It was delivered within the expected time. I was a able to install it right out of the box just following the Read Me First instructions. I noticed the power transformer gets very hot (will keep checking). I performed a speed test and yielded 18.51 Mbps downloading and 7.12 Mbps uploading from an old Sony VAIO (2011) model. My ISP claims it can deliver 25 Mbps. Verifying if the firmware was up to date was rather cumbersome. The firmware loaded 1.0.6.10 is not the latest from the manufacturer, there are other newer versions available 1.0.6.12. I have been using it for 3 days concurrently with 2 MacBooks, one Sony VAIO, and 2 iphone 4s, serviced by a Airave GPS antenna hooked up to the router. Very good!

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Metusalen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Was expecting it to be more difficult
3/29/2013

Customer review by phoneguysofl

5.0 stars 3/29/2013 by phoneguysofl
by phoneguysofl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

When ordering Comcast internet, I decided to buy a modem rather than pay $7.00 per month for the rental of thier router. I only want internet from Comcast, maybe more later. I was expecting a need to program the unit for it to work properly. I looked for an instruction book for programming and there is'nt one. You must go online for that. I would much prefer a physical manual. It was a surprise to me when I plugged it in and immediately had internet access! Everything worked after a two minute install (plug three cables in). There has not been one glitch! I am happy with the modem and my decision to buy it.

Was this review helpful? (32) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
phoneguysofl
South Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lots better than you get from the Cable Company.
10/26/2012

Customer review by Laidbackgal

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by Laidbackgal
by Laidbackgal
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought it to replace the one from the cable company and right off I saw a greater CLEAR reception, computer loaded faster that I have ever seen it load. And buying it it saves me $91.00 a year rent, and like I said, it is a better modem! Semper Fi.

Was this review helpful? (415) (37)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Laidbackgal
Auburn, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
works as expected
11/1/2012

Customer review by Hanztertonfield

5.0 stars 11/1/2012 by Hanztertonfield
by Hanztertonfield
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

the modem works with comcast (although it took forever to initialize on their network, but that's one time only). it wil pay for itself in a year.

Was this review helpful? (152) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hanztertonfield
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great modem
11/27/2013

Customer review by PCEnthusiast

5.0 stars 11/27/2013 by PCEnthusiast
by PCEnthusiast
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got this modem because I was having connection proplems. My internet would either be fine, run slow as a snail, or randomly drop for no reason. The modem that I had was installed by the cable company and after doing some checking on their website, I found that it wasn't compatable with the speed rate package that I signed up for, and I couldnt change the channel on my wireless modem. Instead of paying monthly fdor one, I opted to buy my own. Setup was very simple. Once installed I was able to change my wireless channel to a stable one, and my problem went away.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PCEnthusiast
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 730 total reviews
1-20 of 730 reviews