Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 101 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

101 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

101 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
90
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 stars
5
1-20 of 101 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 101 total reviews
1-20 of 101 reviews
WHY did you discontinue this product???
2/23/2014

Customer review by michelle1

5.0 stars 2/23/2014 by michelle1
by michelle1

Ok this isnt funny anymore I have went to basicly 10-12 different stores looking for the HI RISE LIFT ROOT BOOSTER and no one carries this product anymore. I have used this for years, I have thin flat hair and this was the only product I have found to give my hair the needed volume. I have tried even the most expensive products and they dont even touch what this product does to my hair. I have a brother in law that owns a very upscale hair salon in New York City he loves this and uses everyday on his clients. Whomever made the decison to discontinue this product evidently hasnt used the product that they were selling. My advice to the Garnier company is to make us customers happy and bring this product back on the market and on the shelves. I know this may affect alot of these loyal customers buying other products from Garnier...Do the right thing bring this product back....if you know all these people whom are writing these reviews use this, why wouldnt you??

michelle1
North Carolina, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great for thin hair!
9/23/2012

Customer review by JetBlueInk

5.0 stars 9/23/2012 by JetBlueInk
by JetBlueInk

I have short thin hair and a lot of layers all around. I bought this because i wanted to stop teasing my hair because everyone tells me that it's a bad way to add volume... AND IT IS. Before i cut my hair short (im 14 by the way) I had long hair that was about 4 inches past my shoulders. I needed it cut because of the teasing damage it did to my hair. Now that i have this product I haven't touched the teasing comb since! What I do is spritz it all over the top of my head and under my layers on damp hair. then i brush it through and then blow dry my hair upside down until it is completely dry. When I flip my head up my hair is HUGE. It really works (almost too much) :D so i just brush it down and my hair is perfect! Ive told three of my best friends about this and they've said it works wonders.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JetBlueInk
Sioux Falls, SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
All-day lift, if your day consists of an hour.
7/13/2012

Customer review by skinnieminnie

2.0 stars 7/13/2012 by skinnieminnie
by skinnieminnie

I get that my haircut has grown out, so it has become difficult to add volume as seamlessly as I used to. But when I buy something that claims to be a "hi-rise lift root booster", I expect just that. It suggests two or three ways to use this product: with or without heat, and in sections. First time using it I was on the go, so I sprayed the product everywhere on my roots and brushed my hair out to add volume. Looked fine at first... and less than one or two hours later, I was spraying again, as it had sadly fallen flat again. Next time, I used a blow-dryer and sprayed it by section. Same result. It may lift the roots and lend volume for an hour or so, but it will fall flat not too long after. Now I have a full bottle of spray that does me absolutely no good. Not worth trying.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
skinnieminnie
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Brings newly relaxed hair back to life!
9/16/2013

Customer review by Rach1597

5.0 stars 9/16/2013 by Rach1597
by Rach1597

I prefer not to deal with my curly, natural hair, so I get relaxers every few months. Every time I get a relaxer, my hair's absolutely flat and lifeless :(. It would take a week and a half to look normal again, which, sadly, made me a little embarrassed to go out in public. So I decided to use this product to fluff it up some more. Needless, to say, it worked wonders! I just washed my hair the day after the relaxer, sprayed some on my roots and blow-dried my hair normally. The results were great. My hair had so much body and looked much thicker compared to the flat hair before. This spray does make your hair stiff if you use too much though so be careful, but if you use it right, your hair will still be soft, and it lifts up the roots very nicely. No more after-relaxer hair for me! I'm so glad I found this product.

Rach1597
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
WHY CAN"T I FIND THIS ANYMORE????????
12/31/2013

Customer review by Ginaberrie

5.0 stars 12/31/2013 by Ginaberrie
by Ginaberrie

I love this product, I have very long thick hair and use this all over not just the roots. It scrunches beautifully and I use two full bottles a week. Yes, I really do. I can't find anything to compare to this and I have been looking because I can't seem to find this in the store anymore. Amazon is selling it for up to $17.99 a bottle! Are you kidding me? Garnier, why is this product leaving the store shelves? It needs to stay, in fact you need to make it in bigger bottles! PLEASE DO NOT DISCONTINUE THIS PRODUCT!! A couple years ago it left the shelves for a little while, they actually changed it up and brought it back. If that is happening now, why make it where no one can get the product in the meantime? PUT THIS BSCK ON THE SHELVES----- PLEASE!!!

Ginaberrie
Pennsylvania, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Pleasantly Surprised!!
12/15/2012

Customer review by kaland21

5.0 stars 12/15/2012 by kaland21
by kaland21

I have been growing out my hair, and lately I've noticed the weight of my hair has been making the top of my head very flat and lifeless :( So I've been looking for a root booster, and was happy to find they made one! When I got home, I immediately tried it on my dry hair, and was surprised how well it worked!! It gave it a good amount of volume, and, better yet, didn't make my hair feel sticky or crunchy. I have tried it on wet hair, and I feel it does work a lot better. It gives even more volume, and actually make your hair look like you put some effort into styling it, even though the most I ever do is just blow drying it. Great product and will repurchase! Oh! And it smells amazing :)

kaland21
Madison, WI, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
The product works great.
3/6/2014

Customer review by madsal

5.0 stars 3/6/2014 by madsal
by madsal

In the last couple of years I have had a skin condition on my head where my hair is falling out and it will not go away until all my hair falls out. unfortunately it will never grow back but due to medication it has slowed it down greatly. Since trail & error with root lift products I have found your product to be the best. It not only does not irritate my skin but I have been told my hair looks fuller than it did before it started falling out. I just hope that this product never is discontinued because it has been a great feeling when I walk out my door everyday to not worry about bald spots showing on my head and feeling like I have a full head of hair.

madsal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Change the name of Hi-Rise Lift & watch sales SOAR!
3/4/2014

Customer review by riik

5.0 stars 3/4/2014 by riik
by riik

Simply change the name to identify its' benefits for folks with fine hair.It took me a long time of trial & error buying of various Garnier products to discover Hi-Rise.I was not necessarily looking for my hair to have a Hi-rise or root booster.I simply wanted thicker hair than the fine,limp & silk-like hair I have now.Low sales of this product are DEFINITELY due to the NAME on the bottle.People with fine hair need this product desperately!It is highly frustrating to consumers to find the right product for their kind of hair needs.The product name needs to be MORE DIRECT. Examples :"Thin Hair Be Gone" or "Thin Hair Made Thick" or "Thin Hair Problems Solved" or "Thin & Flat No More" ,etc.List the hair type BOLDLY on the top of each bottle.Then if you wish to add flashy selling names below THE HAIR type,that is fine.Keep your great green bottles.Just make Consumer buying easier by going back to "Basics".HELP us Help ourselves and watch your sales multiply.This is not rocket science & it is not Tech-gadget sales.Help us ,please & bring back the INGREDIENTS in Hi-Rise.PS_It would also be helpful to include the former name on a new product (like for 6mos) until we can rediscover our favorite.I know I speak for hundreds of thousands with fine, silk-like hair that need Hi-Rise & are not even aware of its' miracle ingredients because of the NAME on the bottle!______________Richard

riik
Mountain View, CA, USA (Googleville)
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Am very disappointed in this product
3/20/2012

Customer review by ARD1951

1.0 stars 3/20/2012 by ARD1951
by ARD1951

I am / was a user of your former Body Boost Root Booster (with fruit micro waxes) and was very disappointed to learn that it is no longer available and replaced with this new product, which does not work on my hair. I have fine textured hair but it is not thin and even though I color my hair, it does not have alot of body. This new "root lifter" does not have the same effect on my hair and I am sorely disappointed. I am not sure why you would change the formula or why you didn't just add this product and keep the Root Booster? I now have to find another product that might work as well.Bummer

ARD1951
Westport, CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Just the Trick!
3/16/2013

Customer review by Totosmom

5.0 stars 3/16/2013 by Totosmom
by Totosmom

Just what I needed! I am growing out a pixie, and am at the stage where the top is so heavy that it wants to lay down...but the sides what to stick out. So I look like the mayer of munchkin land :( After going to two different stores to find this, I went home to try it. I just spray it on my roots on the top and crown of my head, dry my hair upside down and voila! Now my hair looks more even all over my head and it's fixed my issue! I've tried to do this with hairspray before and it's just not the same. This is worth going to two stores to find it!

Totosmom
Prairie Village, KS, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Can't find this!
1/20/2014

Customer review by Shetom

5.0 stars 1/20/2014 by Shetom
by Shetom

So frustrated that this is not available! I've been using this product for quite awhile. I can use this and a touch of hairspray and my hair looks great for the entire day! Why do cosmetic and hair care companies feel the need to discontinue a perfectly good product or constantly "improve" a formula that was just fine. Judging from the comments here this is a well-liked product. Think of the very large percentage of users that are frustrated but will not take the time to contact you! Please bring this back!!!!

Shetom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Where can you find this product now? Have you stopped making it?
3/28/2014

Customer review by ME2014

5.0 stars 3/28/2014 by ME2014
by ME2014

Have used this product for years and love it. It doesn't weigh my hair down and gives it the texture I love. Since I can't find it now, I've tried a couple other products and do not like them. I have literally looked at 3 Publix stores, Walmart, Target, CVS and Walgreens in the last couple weeks and none of them are carrying it right now. You have a large product line in these stores, but not this product. Very frustrated and disappointed. If I find it again, will buy all the bottles on the shelf.

ME2014
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
AWESOME LIFT POWER!!!!!
2/14/2012

Customer review by Toots

5.0 stars 2/14/2012 by Toots
by Toots

This is just the product I need to get the right lift in all the right spots with my curly hair. I've tried others but they don't have the power or the ability to stay all day with how heavy my hair is. And it isn't just this product that I use but their hair spray, gel, antifrize etc...I have well water and it does not so nice things to my hair but with Garnier I am able to still have nice looking hair that other products couldn't give me. Thanks such much Garnier for helping me look my best everyday...

Toots
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
FURIOUS
1/30/2014

Customer review by Lori17

5.0 stars 1/30/2014 by Lori17
by Lori17

I have been searching for this product in two states and I can't tell you how many stores and it has been taken from the shelves. This is the best product for fine, limp hair on the market. I know, I've tried them all. Why, why, why are you discontinuing it? Every comment on this page raves about the product. I have tried your new Curl Shaping Spray Gel, thinking that might be a replacement, but it is far too heavy and waxy. Can you please comment on why you no longer make this product?

Lori17
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Fantastic Product
5/8/2014

Customer review by Kimbo

5.0 stars 5/8/2014 by Kimbo
by Kimbo

Can no longer find this product. I have tried a few other of your products, I now have a shelf with one time use bottles that will go in the trash. NOTHING works as well as the high-rise lift gel. Hopefully it is temporarily out of stock. The one thing I loved about this product that I can't seem to duplicate in others is if you lay down after using it, you can comb or fluff the style right back. Never becomes sticky, like most do. PLEASE make this available again!!!

Kimbo
Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
IS THIS SOME SORT OF SICK JOKE???
2/2/2014

Customer review by xoxjenybebexox

5.0 stars 2/2/2014 by xoxjenybebexox
by xoxjenybebexox

WHY ON EARTH WOULD YOU DISCONTINUE THE BEST PRODUCT GARNIER MAKES?? I have been using this for years now and it is the only product that truly works. I stopped at 3 different stores in my area and no one had it so I knew something was going on. I can't believe that after this many good reviews and people BEGGING for this not to happen. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE RECONSIDER!! There is nothing else on the market that works! Why lose a product that so many faithful customers love!

xoxjenybebexox
Manchester, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
UNBELIEVABLE
3/29/2014

Customer review by Mary1231

5.0 stars 3/29/2014 by Mary1231
by Mary1231

This product works so well and I can't find it on the shelves anywhere. This is very disappointing as I've tried to use other products and NOTHING works as well as this. I wish someone could explain why it's off the shelves.....If it's due to low sales, I find it hard to believe because for as long as I've been using it, I've often times had problems finding it on the shelves leading me to believe it was selling well. Unbelievable is all I can say!

Mary1231
Ohio, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great product
4/10/2014

Customer review by cdfks

5.0 stars 4/10/2014 by cdfks
by cdfks

Will you please, please bring this product back? I have thin hair and it is the only product I have ever found that helps give body to my hair. Why would you discontinue? You are getting all kinds of feedback that your customers like it. It was hard to find to start with so I always bought 5-6 at a time and am now quite dismayed that you are no longer making it. Seriously, show your customers you read these reveiws and please bring it back!!!

cdfks
Kansas, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Awesome product
4/4/2014

Customer review by Michele57

5.0 stars 4/4/2014 by Michele57
by Michele57

Please bring it back Hi-Rise Lift Root Booster to the local store chains- Walgreens, CVS, Walmart etc. I can't begin to tell you how great this product is. I have a natural wave to my hair and whenever I would use this product, many times I was told that my hair looked like it was styled professionally. You have a wonderful product, why would you stop making this? Your customers love it and give it high ratings!!! I beg you to reinstate it.

Michele57
Ocala, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
This products is a waste of $$$$$
6/12/2012

Customer review by Monizluv

1.0 stars 6/12/2012 by Monizluv
by Monizluv

Once upon a time a girl went to the store to buy a product for her flatness wavy hair and to her surprise she found the magic potion to give her doo some volume. Voila there is was staring @me from a distance. It was "THE MAGIC POTION!" .Until the new formula wa brought sling..so to get to the point this (new formulaCotton flower???)product is a bust!!!! Don't buy it . Please please bring the old 1 back. It made such a huge difference.....:(

Monizluv
San Leandro, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
1-20 of 101 total reviews
1-20 of 101 reviews