Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 266 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

266 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

266 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

77%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
131
4 stars
64
3 stars
21
2 stars
14
1 stars
36
1-20 of 206 total reviews
77%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 206 total reviews
1-20 of 206 reviews
Product description was significantly wrong.
10/18/2012

Customer review by britsoft

1.0 stars 10/18/2012 by britsoft
by britsoft

Description stated the product came with map updates as often as you want them which to any logical person would mean lifetime maps. When requested to have lifetime maps activated on their website, they agreed the GPS was advertised to have lifetime maps but claimed that refurbished items do NOT come with lifetime maps. After several complaints to Tom Tom and a complaint filed with the BBB, they still refused to provide lifetime maps. Fortunately Walmarts policy of refunding on items which one is not satisfied with resulted in Tom Tom getting their misrepresented items back. Their customer service people talk a very congenial talk all the time refusing to do anything about the deceptive advertising. If you buy it, you will NOT get lifetime maps regardless of any advertising to the contrary. Garmin makes the same device and gives lifetime maps with every device, new or refurbished.

Was this review helpful? (167) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
britsoft
Heyburn Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great Tom Tom
6/13/2012

Customer review by BlackbutterFlyz

4.0 stars 6/13/2012 by BlackbutterFlyz
by BlackbutterFlyz

On the ad it said life map and traffic but it did not come with that.

Was this review helpful? (85) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BlackbutterFlyz
New york
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
7/16/2012

Customer review by chriscam

4.0 stars 7/16/2012 by chriscam
by chriscam

The VIA 1535 exceeded my expectations. Excellent voice recognition, easy to use while driving Quick & easy touch-screen entry of addresses Can locate nearest store via voice command ie Dollar General Keeps favorite locations Keeps previous routes Updates to the latest map after purchase Shows most speed limits, your speed, & ETA Voice announces upcoming turns and streets Voice commands can change volume or to night colors Choice of several voices 3-D map shows route and distance to next turn If you miss a turn, it quickly recalculates route Auto-switches to day or night colors Easy to move from car to car

Was this review helpful? (38) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chriscam
Ponce Inlet, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Refurbs are a great buy!
7/10/2012

Customer review by LWOODSINGS

5.0 stars 7/10/2012 by LWOODSINGS
by LWOODSINGS

I love the Tom Tom manufacturer - this replaces my old, bulky and outdated Tom Tom that's 6 years old. A very smart buy! Say "yes" to the refurb, and save yourself some serious cash!

Was this review helpful? (36) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LWOODSINGS
KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
7/27/2012

Customer review by NotEnoughNamesForNickname

1.0 stars 7/27/2012 by NotEnoughNamesForNickname
by NotEnoughNamesForNickname

Don't be fooled by the Tom Tom map blurbs. I have a very similar model to this. Map share is NOT new maps. New maps will cost you $71.95 per year to keep the GPS up-to-date and on the road.

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NotEnoughNamesForNickname
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Excellent GPS, works great
6/18/2012

Customer review by knylee

5.0 stars 6/18/2012 by knylee
by knylee

Love the hands free phone option, and the voice control. Makes it a lot easier to use.

Was this review helpful? (21) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
knylee
Smyrna,Tn.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
8/24/2012

Customer review by dajames101

1.0 stars 8/24/2012 by dajames101
by dajames101

I live in Texas and I need GPS when I go to Mexico, and the add said that this unite was good for the U. S., Canada, and Mexico, but this is not the case. I found out that for an extra $80 I can get these maps. I don't need GPS in the U. S. and I will never go to Canada so I guess that I don't really need this product.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dajames101
78254
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Broke in two days
8/11/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 8/11/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Nice GPS unit, but I would not recommend buying it refurbished. After two days of use, it would not turn on and I had to return it to my local Walmart store.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Stuart, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Meets the basic needs for new GPS users
12/20/2012

Customer review by bigbowel

2.0 stars 12/20/2012 by bigbowel
by bigbowel

Firstly, let me say that I have owned GPS models for 15 years and am very familiar with their uses and capabilities. I bought this Tomtom because reviews suggested that it had the clearest Bluetooth connection. Could not get the lifetime maps to update and had to call customer service. They were great and problem resolved within 5 minutes. Downloading the updated maps took several hours on a hi-speed connection. the user interface is not very user friendly, having to touch the screen far too often to bring up basic requests. Finding a POI in a nearby town took so long that I gave up. Using the voice recognition took several attempts before request was recognized. No elevation feature in this model. I have both Garmin and Magellan models and much prefer them as much easier to use. Happy that I bought the refurbished model at a good price as I would not pay full price for this GPS.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bigbowel
Palm Springs, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Dissappointed lastest Map is not good
12/11/2012

Customer review by geggory

1.0 stars 12/11/2012 by geggory
by geggory

I've been a TomTom user for three years, and prefer TomTom, their support is great, I like the easy menu. However the whole point is Navigation and is only as good as the updated Maps. I updated everything firmware, maps, traffic etc. I live in the Oklahoma City Area, I40 runs east and west through our City, it is one of the most traveled Interstates in this County. The Interstate moved approx 1/2 mile South of where it used to be, the TomTom map shows you on the correct (moved HYW) but the exits are not correct, if you don't live here you will get lost. I returned this unit, purchased a Garmin with life time Maps and Traffic updates, updated the Garmin. The Garmin maps are spot on, all the exits are correct. There are things I don't like about the Garmin but Map accuracy is most important for me.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
geggory
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
TomTom Refurbished GPS is bad news
12/6/2012

Customer review by Orlando101

1.0 stars 12/6/2012 by Orlando101
by Orlando101

This thing doesn't really update maps(NO LIFETIME MAPS ARE TRANSFERRED W/ REFURBISHED MODELS) as advertised by walmart. Who wants to buy a GPS with 3 or 4 month old maps. It cost more than the original device to pay & updates maps. The device itself is really cool and is pretty great technically. Unfortunately, I just returned this item.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Orlando101
orlando, florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good product so far
6/22/2012

Customer review by shiftydaddy

4.0 stars 6/22/2012 by shiftydaddy
by shiftydaddy

Unit seems to be easily confused as to where your destination is. It continually sent me to post office rather than address I had enterd.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shiftydaddy
Batavia New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
So far, so good
12/7/2012

Customer review by bjudad2

4.0 stars 12/7/2012 by bjudad2
by bjudad2

The only hitch was when I tried to enter the promo code for the Lifetime maps option...a message came up that I was beyond the 90-day limit. I called TomTom Customer Service and they fixed me up once I verified the serial number, etc.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bjudad2
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice GPS, but no lifetime maps or updates included
11/28/2012

Customer review by tropicaleyes

3.0 stars 11/28/2012 by tropicaleyes
by tropicaleyes

I love this GPS's bluetooth/ handsfree clarity and ease. It paired up with my iphone quickly. But, I feel it was a bit of a bait and switch. They advertised this item on the walmart website including lifetime maps. Nothing can be further from the truth. This refurbished model doesn't allow for updates of the maps, traffic or anything like that. It is a basic GPS w/ bluetooth & voice recognition. I couldn't even update the mexican maps on this unit, as there was no space for it. I guess, I will use it for a year or so and then get something better.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tropicaleyes
orlando, florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
does not understand street names u speak
11/12/2012

Customer review by groveryork

2.0 stars 11/12/2012 by groveryork
by groveryork

i have to say over and over a street name and it still gives u the wrong street. Has a hard time understanding what u say.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
groveryork
ormond bch fl.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
piece of junk
7/6/2012

Customer review by tnjdry62

1.0 stars 7/6/2012 by tnjdry62
by tnjdry62

i used gps once then it would not turn back on so i returned it to store for refund

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tnjdry62
bell, fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/13/2012

Customer review by zerep

5.0 stars 8/13/2012 by zerep
by zerep

GPS excellent, but the new My TomTom software is a waste of space in your PC, you can not go into the GPS TO DO ANYTHING, is just a selling tool.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
zerep
Tampa,Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great value!
11/16/2012

Customer review by frankols52

5.0 stars 11/16/2012 by frankols52
by frankols52

I love ths unit because it has voice recognition. I simply touch the microphone symbol on the screen and give a command such as "take me home" and it will plot the course home. Can also say a specific street,city and state and it will furnish the directions. Occasionally if it doesn't understand or hear your voice correctly it will say command unrecognized or give you 3 or 4 variations to choose of the address you provided. You simply say #1,2,3 or 4. .

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
frankols52
Lewistown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great GPS (To change route,find POIs,Voice Reg )
7/10/2012

Customer review by Donaald

4.0 stars 7/10/2012 by Donaald
by Donaald

Disadvantages: - Response time slightly slower compare to other GPSs. - Voice Recognition is average. Advantages: - Excellent to change route. - Works brilliantly to give traffic updates - Good interface(3D/2D) views - More affordable as compare to other Voice recognition GPS

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Donaald
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A must for a visitor to the US
9/5/2012

Customer review by Robdog18

5.0 stars 9/5/2012 by Robdog18
by Robdog18

Visited the U.S. from England in August and decided to purchase this GPS rather than pay the inflated car rental rates. Picked it up,plugged it in and off I went. Travelled around Las Vegas and San Francisco with no problem. On return to the U.K. I was able to connect it to the internet and download the latest maps. Perfect buy.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Robdog18
U.K.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 206 total reviews
1-20 of 206 reviews