Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 266 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

266 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

266 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

77%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
131
4 stars
64
3 stars
21
2 stars
14
1 stars
36
1-20 of 206 total reviews
77%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 206 total reviews
1-20 of 206 reviews
Product description was significantly wrong.
10/18/2012

Customer review by britsoft

1.0 stars 10/18/2012 by britsoft
by britsoft

Description stated the product came with map updates as often as you want them which to any logical person would mean lifetime maps. When requested to have lifetime maps activated on their website, they agreed the GPS was advertised to have lifetime maps but claimed that refurbished items do NOT come with lifetime maps. After several complaints to Tom Tom and a complaint filed with the BBB, they still refused to provide lifetime maps. Fortunately Walmarts policy of refunding on items which one is not satisfied with resulted in Tom Tom getting their misrepresented items back. Their customer service people talk a very congenial talk all the time refusing to do anything about the deceptive advertising. If you buy it, you will NOT get lifetime maps regardless of any advertising to the contrary. Garmin makes the same device and gives lifetime maps with every device, new or refurbished.

Was this review helpful? (170) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
britsoft
Heyburn Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Meets the basic needs for new GPS users
12/20/2012

Customer review by bigbowel

2.0 stars 12/20/2012 by bigbowel
by bigbowel
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Firstly, let me say that I have owned GPS models for 15 years and am very familiar with their uses and capabilities. I bought this Tomtom because reviews suggested that it had the clearest Bluetooth connection. Could not get the lifetime maps to update and had to call customer service. They were great and problem resolved within 5 minutes. Downloading the updated maps took several hours on a hi-speed connection. the user interface is not very user friendly, having to touch the screen far too often to bring up basic requests. Finding a POI in a nearby town took so long that I gave up. Using the voice recognition took several attempts before request was recognized. No elevation feature in this model. I have both Garmin and Magellan models and much prefer them as much easier to use. Happy that I bought the refurbished model at a good price as I would not pay full price for this GPS.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bigbowel
Palm Springs, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome features at a great price.
12/21/2012

Customer review by BKLizard

4.0 stars 12/21/2012 by BKLizard
by BKLizard
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I really love the great value that is in this product. It has voice commands, bluetooth to your phone, and traffic. However, the lifetime maps code didn't work that came with the unit. I was still able to download the maps, though. The bad part about it is that you have to get a special adapter/charger to get the traffic. I got a deal on that too, but it would have been nice to have the traffic receiver included. The GPS itself responds well and has never hung up on me like some of the cheaper one's I've owned... This is now my 5th model that I've had experience with / owned. The map automatically recalculates route within seconds of you missing your turn; which is nice; and it does this fast. The one feature that I wished it had is if it was more intuitive and allowed you to choose what kind of route you wanted to take, ie. more highway use, shortest distance, etc... Because the default route it uses to take me to work is all local, and I'd prefer to take more highway.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BKLizard
Lacey, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/16/2012

Customer review by chriscam

4.0 stars 7/16/2012 by chriscam
by chriscam

The VIA 1535 exceeded my expectations. Excellent voice recognition, easy to use while driving Quick & easy touch-screen entry of addresses Can locate nearest store via voice command ie Dollar General Keeps favorite locations Keeps previous routes Updates to the latest map after purchase Shows most speed limits, your speed, & ETA Voice announces upcoming turns and streets Voice commands can change volume or to night colors Choice of several voices 3-D map shows route and distance to next turn If you miss a turn, it quickly recalculates route Auto-switches to day or night colors Easy to move from car to car

Was this review helpful? (38) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chriscam
Ponce Inlet, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Did all that it was expected to do
12/4/2012

Customer review by Stewiesnake

5.0 stars 12/4/2012 by Stewiesnake
by Stewiesnake

Nice wide screen making it easier with lane guidance at those massive intersections. The built in mount is very handy as it saves trying to find and store one that will fit. Voice recognition worked with all the favorites i pre programmed in but had difficulty understanding the English Accent i think, so can't really say that it's ace, but it did work. Being the first time i have driven in USA and not knowing where i am going(also you all drive on the wrong side of the road which doesn't help) the TomTom got me to every location that i wanted to get to with clear easy instructions. I can't comment on the map updates as i never took my laptop with me. Was not sure if it had a traffic reciever or not but on a couple of occasions the journey time was adjusted and showed graphics of a few cars 3 minutes, so it probably did have this. The same equivalent in the UK would cost approx $270.00 so this is a must have unit at a reasonable price that will get you to where you need to get to.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Stewiesnake
Cheltenham England
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/27/2012

Customer review by NotEnoughNamesForNickname

1.0 stars 7/27/2012 by NotEnoughNamesForNickname
by NotEnoughNamesForNickname

Don't be fooled by the Tom Tom map blurbs. I have a very similar model to this. Map share is NOT new maps. New maps will cost you $71.95 per year to keep the GPS up-to-date and on the road.

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NotEnoughNamesForNickname
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Very Dissappointed lastest Map is not good
12/11/2012

Customer review by geggory

1.0 stars 12/11/2012 by geggory
by geggory
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've been a TomTom user for three years, and prefer TomTom, their support is great, I like the easy menu. However the whole point is Navigation and is only as good as the updated Maps. I updated everything firmware, maps, traffic etc. I live in the Oklahoma City Area, I40 runs east and west through our City, it is one of the most traveled Interstates in this County. The Interstate moved approx 1/2 mile South of where it used to be, the TomTom map shows you on the correct (moved HYW) but the exits are not correct, if you don't live here you will get lost. I returned this unit, purchased a Garmin with life time Maps and Traffic updates, updated the Garmin. The Garmin maps are spot on, all the exits are correct. There are things I don't like about the Garmin but Map accuracy is most important for me.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
geggory
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Tom Tom
6/13/2012

Customer review by BlackbutterFlyz

4.0 stars 6/13/2012 by BlackbutterFlyz
by BlackbutterFlyz

On the ad it said life map and traffic but it did not come with that.

Was this review helpful? (86) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BlackbutterFlyz
New york
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
8/24/2012

Customer review by dajames101

1.0 stars 8/24/2012 by dajames101
by dajames101

I live in Texas and I need GPS when I go to Mexico, and the add said that this unite was good for the U. S., Canada, and Mexico, but this is not the case. I found out that for an extra $80 I can get these maps. I don't need GPS in the U. S. and I will never go to Canada so I guess that I don't really need this product.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dajames101
78254
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
TomTom Refurbished GPS is bad news
12/6/2012

Customer review by Orlando101

1.0 stars 12/6/2012 by Orlando101
by Orlando101
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This thing doesn't really update maps(NO LIFETIME MAPS ARE TRANSFERRED W/ REFURBISHED MODELS) as advertised by walmart. Who wants to buy a GPS with 3 or 4 month old maps. It cost more than the original device to pay & updates maps. The device itself is really cool and is pretty great technically. Unfortunately, I just returned this item.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Orlando101
orlando, florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The Traffic feature has saved me fron major delays
6/28/2012

Customer review by Kakewalk

4.0 stars 6/28/2012 by Kakewalk
by Kakewalk

Travelling from Bethesda, MD to Kent Island, the 1535TM suddenly informed us that an alternate route could save 10 minutes and did I accept the changed route. I eventually followed the changed route, but only at the last chance to exit the Beltway. Turned out that a major accident 8 miles away caused the 8 mile stoppage. This the 2nd time the Traffic feature has saved us from huge backups. We now know to accept the change and FOLLOW it. The voice control is terrific. In 3 months, all voiced addresses were correct, except for one time.. The initial setup and subsequent map updates were flawless. I do have a 30meg internet conection, so the major updates were less than 30 minutes for the 2.8 gig revised maps to download and install. So far, I am quite satisfied; my wife loves being to dive into Favorites to find stores and restaurants. BTW, in March I looked for a local restaurant just opened 3 weeks earlier. It was already in Favorites. Very impressive.

Kakewalk
Chevy Chase, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
I travel quite a bit, work and otherwise.
2/6/2013

Customer review by Austin

3.0 stars 2/6/2013 by Austin
by Austin

Love tomtom for the map corrections, address corrections, etc. A lot of lag with unit while in use;live services seriously lacking, gas prices - better off with smart phone apps, weather - better off with almost any other app, traffic - not worth it, last unit with traffic cord was better. Over all extremely disappointed, you might as well be using a map, most of the time; you are at, close to, passing a turn, or to close to the next one, for the unit to keep up. The cheaper the model, as well fewer services, the better it performed. The last thing you need with a GPS, is to get into any traffic, and have it lagging at least a tenth of a mile behind where you are currently at, unless you are stopped. Over all, I was much more impressed with the performance with the tomtom one, the first unit I purchased. Activating the LIVE services supposed to be included..... could have had my teeth pulled easier, for a third of the price something to consider.

Austin
Bay City, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Broke in two days
8/11/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 8/11/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Nice GPS unit, but I would not recommend buying it refurbished. After two days of use, it would not turn on and I had to return it to my local Walmart store.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Stuart, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Refurbs are a great buy!
7/10/2012

Customer review by LWOODSINGS

5.0 stars 7/10/2012 by LWOODSINGS
by LWOODSINGS

I love the Tom Tom manufacturer - this replaces my old, bulky and outdated Tom Tom that's 6 years old. A very smart buy! Say "yes" to the refurb, and save yourself some serious cash!

Was this review helpful? (36) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LWOODSINGS
KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent GPS, works great
6/18/2012

Customer review by knylee

5.0 stars 6/18/2012 by knylee
by knylee

Love the hands free phone option, and the voice control. Makes it a lot easier to use.

Was this review helpful? (21) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
knylee
Smyrna,Tn.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice GPS, but no lifetime maps or updates included
11/28/2012

Customer review by tropicaleyes

3.0 stars 11/28/2012 by tropicaleyes
by tropicaleyes
Top 1000 contributor

I love this GPS's bluetooth/ handsfree clarity and ease. It paired up with my iphone quickly. But, I feel it was a bit of a bait and switch. They advertised this item on the walmart website including lifetime maps. Nothing can be further from the truth. This refurbished model doesn't allow for updates of the maps, traffic or anything like that. It is a basic GPS w/ bluetooth & voice recognition. I couldn't even update the mexican maps on this unit, as there was no space for it. I guess, I will use it for a year or so and then get something better.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tropicaleyes
orlando, florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
1535TM
9/26/2012

Customer review by johnk860

4.0 stars 9/26/2012 by johnk860
by johnk860

My XL failed a couple of weeks ago, so I bought a Via while on vacation and used it a lot. Traffic and maps are good as usual. Better by lots than a Garmin I also own. Voice command has yet to be used, so I have nothing to say about that. Downside: Can't update safety cameras. That only works with TomTom home, which doesn't work with Via. There's a note on the website that says to go to a "subscription" - the link is broken. So I have no "free" safety camera updates. All updates are through the website (which opens a second internet connection without warning, caused some consternation and a little panic within my security apps). There is also a popup everytime I log onto my pc telling me an update is available and to plug my device into my PC. Turns out it happens everytime they update map corrections, which is often. So that's an irritant as well. Like the device, don't care for the support. I want my TomTom Home back.

johnk860
Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great GPS, but online updates are very difficult
2/19/2013

Customer review by BostonRob

4.0 stars 2/19/2013 by BostonRob
by BostonRob

I bought the 1535TM unit for a couple of reasons... large screen, spoke street names, real-time traffic reports, and lifetime map updates. I like that the unit offers quick routes due to traffic delays. The unit works great. However, there were some disappointments... the online map update feature works terrible. It took months for the software to detect my device. I've only been able to update the maps twice in two years. Both times, the update software totally erased my maps from the unit and made the unit inoperable until new maps were loaded. The map loading process repeatedly crashes (loses communication with the GPS unit). I litterallly had to sit at my computer and restart the process over-and-over again for almost 10 hours before I finally got the new maps and software to load. Also, my old TomTom allowed me to install numerous 3rd party points of interest from the TomTom website (i.e. all the Starbucks locations in the US). This unit has no such ability. However, I was able to locate other websites that allowed me to upload new POI files with a little work.

BostonRob
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
So far, so good
12/7/2012

Customer review by bjudad2

4.0 stars 12/7/2012 by bjudad2
by bjudad2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The only hitch was when I tried to enter the promo code for the Lifetime maps option...a message came up that I was beyond the 90-day limit. I called TomTom Customer Service and they fixed me up once I verified the serial number, etc.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bjudad2
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
does not understand street names u speak
11/12/2012

Customer review by groveryork

2.0 stars 11/12/2012 by groveryork
by groveryork
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

i have to say over and over a street name and it still gives u the wrong street. Has a hard time understanding what u say.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
groveryork
ormond bch fl.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 206 total reviews
1-20 of 206 reviews