Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 939 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

939 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

939 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
529
4 stars
268
3 stars
48
2 stars
28
1 stars
66
1-20 of 814 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 814 total reviews
1-20 of 814 reviews
8th Generation of Philips/Magnavox HDD/DVD Recorde
9/5/2012

Customer review by wajo2

5.0 stars 9/5/2012 by wajo2
by wajo2

8th Generation of Philips/Magnavox HDD/DVD Recorders: MDR533H/F7, MDR535H/F7, MDR537H/F7 (53x Series) Primary source of info on these recorders is here: http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086 Manual is here: http://www.m4c.magnavox.com/files/m/mdr535h_f7/mdr535h_f7_dfu_aen.pdf * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * The Mag 533/535/537 (53x) Series is the 8th, and possibly final, generation of simple, family-friendly, durable, std def (SD, 480i) analog/digital DVD recorders (DVDR) with hard disk drive (HDD) that are yearly improvements of the same basic design and operating system. They're the ONLY recorders, SD or HD (720/1080), available for daily use in North America with: -NTSC/ATSC/QAM tuners for antenna or cable. -Easily replaceable hard disk drive (HDD): 320/500/1000GB (1TB). -Easily replaceable DVD burner. -Widescreen (16:9) recording. -Amplified coax and line input. -DV input. -Coax digital audio out. -1080p HDMI upconvert. -36 timer-rec programs. -6-hour autorecord buffer. -Pause & rewind live TV. -Chase play. -Skip/replay. -Simultaneous play/record. -Record while watching diff. channel on TV via coax passthru. -Integrated TV/DVDR control via HDMI CEC-link. -1-2 hour power backup, dep. on whether Auto Clock is off or on. -Simple editing for your archive copies or home movies. * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * FOR NEWCOMERS TO DVDRs OR THIS BRAND OF DVDR The 53x Series are standalone units that can record from an antenna or cable TV. They can also record from cable boxes and satellite receivers or copy from DVRs. They're so easy to use they can be operated by the entire family, from kids to timeshifters to gearheads. Timeshifters can reliably record a bunch of named shows, unattended and with NO tapes or discs. Gearheads can upgrade their HDD or create an "HDD farm" of multiple 2.5" and 3.5" external (E-SATA) HDDs with unlimited storage, <1-min. drive swapout, HDD portability, and external power for less internal heat and stress. The DVD burner is also DIY replaceable with a ~$70 OEM unit. For the past 5 years, this same HDD/DVD recorder design has proven to be a simple and reliable way to record your daily and weekly shows on analog or digital channels, completely unattended, so you can go on a long vacation or business trip and you'll never touch a disc! It's the only device you'll need to copy your family's home movies or your DVR recordings to a stand-alone, no-monthly-fee HDD, where you can edit or not, then high-speed dub to DVDs for a perfect mirror-image of the original. You can also record/copy direct to DVD, if you prefer. If you get your TV signal via OTA antenna, you won't need a digital converter box wherever you've got one of these. Fair warning: The HDD will spoil you rotten! * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * FOR OWNERS OF PREVIOUS MODELS If you looked at or have one of the previous models in the Philips or Mag HDD/DVD series, you might only need to know that, with the 53x Series, Funai is basically only satisfying a "Primary Wish": KEEP MAKING THE MDR515!. The 53x Manual reads virtually the same as the 515 manual, except they now show 900 titles possible on the HDD instead of 600. One major disappointment, other than the fact that the MDR53x Series doesn't add any new capabilities, is that the remote still operates the older Mag HDD/DVD recorders, the 2080, 2160, 2160A and 513. Users of multiple Mag machines will still have to use barriers to operate a single machine. * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * ERRORS, OMISSIONS AND MISLEADS STILL IN THE MANUAL Be aware that the 53x manual STILL has several important errors, omissions, and misleads. Three of the worst are: 1. WRONG - SETTING THIS DVDR UP BEHIND A CABLE BOX, pg 19. Makes this DVDR a "slave" to the box! It should be 1st on the incoming cable coax unless you order PPV/VOD thru the box… only then do you need a 2-way splitter on the incoming coax. The coax circuit on this DVDR passes the raw signal thru to the box, so this DVDR can "pick off" (record) ANY unscrambled channel in the signal. It should NEVER be behind a cable box where it can only record the channel the box is tuned to… EVEN IF ALL YOUR CABLE CHANNELS ARE SCRAMBLED (makes no diff.). Of course, you must do an Auto Channel Preset > Cable (Analog/Digital) to make sure your DVDR sees and memorizes the unscrambled channels (if any). 2. OMITTED - MAKING FRONT- AND END-CUTS IN EDIT, Pp 93-94. Frustrates many new users! In the Scene Delete menu, only REW stops on 1st frame and only PLAY and FF stop on last frame. 2160, 2160A and 513 also had a totally confusing and unnecessary auto-Preview after an End Cut that should be IGNORED. At least the 53x Series doesn't have the confusing auto-preview! 3. MISLEADING - RECORDING 16:9 WIDESCREEN AS 4:3, pg 45. This half-truth has caused more misunderstanding than almost anything else in the manual. It's a "deep" technical subject that didn't need to be there! It HAS TO record a 4:3 aspect pic FRAME because the DVD Std was built on the old 4:3 VHS Std, but the DVD std allows a combo of square/non-square pixels, variable horiz. rez, compression and decompression within that 4:3 frame. THAT'S what allows your HDTV to stretch the "non-square" (rectangular) pixels of a WS image inside that 4:3 frame to natural 16:9 WS aspect. You just need to set this DVDR's Video > TV Aspect to "16:9 Wide" and your HDTV on its "Wide" aspect setting. However, this DVDR's DEFAULT setting for aspect ratio is "4:3 Letter Box" so you have to change that to 16:9 Wide during setup or none of your recordings will be 16:9 WS! * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * IF YOU NEED MORE INFO OR DETAILS ON THE ABOVE, IT'S ALL HERE (same link as at top): http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086 * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * Disclaimer: I have never represented or worked for Funai or Walmart in any capacity… and currently don't work for anyone else! -:)

Was this review helpful? (537) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wajo2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Top 10 contributor
My second purchased of a Magnavox DVR. Love it !!
9/19/2012

Customer review by MajesticWi

5.0 stars 9/19/2012 by MajesticWi
by MajesticWi

Back in February of 2011 I purchased my first Magnavox MDR513H DVR from Wal-Mart and loved it. I contemplated purchasing a second unit since I still had basic cable service for analog VCR recording on nights with conflicting viewing schedules. Unfortunately I waited too long and out of stock they went. When I saw Wal-Mart offering them again there was no hesitation with this purchase. What I will save on canceling cable will pay for this purchase in less than a year. Over the last year and a half my MDR513H model performed flawlessly. Time shift recording is a blessing on busy nights. Hard drive storage puts an end to drawers of VCR tapes that wear out and it allows for easy selection on playback. The hard drive capacity puts an end to worrying about tapes running out while you're away. The ability to hook up a VCR and dub your VHS tapes to disc is an added plus. Unlike TiVo there is no monthly subscription fee since this machine is programmed to record just like a VCR. If you are a frequent VCR user, you'll love these DVRs. Compared to the MDR513H, this model has the same features. Some of the menuing was approved on, but basically it is the same machine. Like my older model, this one comes with a well documented user guide for installation and use. There is no loss of signal when daisy chaining both DVRs to my outdoor antenna. I have found my older DVR to be a reliable and valued addition to my entertainment center and have no doubt the MDR533H model will perform just as well. The only thing that could be improved on is the remote control for multiple machine ownership. Both DVRs can be controlled from the same remote so when programming or using each DVR individually you must cover the remote receiver on the other unit. A two channel remote would be a benefit for multiple owners. Then again, I now have a spare remote if I wear the first one out.

Was this review helpful? (171) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MajesticWi
Northeast Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Best device for TV since..the VCR
9/18/2012

Customer review by IndianaJJ

5.0 stars 9/18/2012 by IndianaJJ
by IndianaJJ

The previous review pretty much sums up this awesome device. I have owned a Philips DVD3575 (purchased at Walmart in-store) for about 5 years and wanted to get a second for those times when I want to record 2 shows, and in case my Philips ever fails. I was very happy to find that the Magnavox & Philips are essentially the same units, however I can tell there have been a few nice tweaks to the Magnavox. It takes a little getting used to, to take advantage of all of its features, but once you do, you are in complete control of what you watch and when you watch it. It does all analog/digital (unscrambled) channels via cable or over the air, I currently use it for OTA only, and it seems to have a very strong tuner, better than my OTA box. Menus are fairly intuitive, and the response of the unit is quick- changing channels is average, but skip/replay or skipping tracks on the HDD is very quick, especially if you record in SLP (lowest quality) mode, which is fine for SD DTV. Also, if you want to burn a show/movie to DVD, it can burn at high speed, again an SLP-recorded show takes about 7-8 minutes to burn an hour of show. Not bad. Based on the almost identical (and still in daily use) Philips unit, I am expecting many years of reliable use. For each scheduled program you can choose from analog channels, DTV, Line1, or Line2 inputs. This comes into play if your local cable company no longer offers any unscrambled analog or digital TV. So you can use your cable box to receive the channel and set this DVR to record from the line input from your cable box. And you can also record another program later from local OTA broadcast if you can receive OTA. The fact that it does receive scrambled cable is not this unit's fault, but the cable company's. And finally, if you're reading this review, do not hesitate to click "buy", after a week of use, you won't know how you lived without it! I never watch live TV anymore, it's always timeshifted to skip commercials.

Was this review helpful? (196) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IndianaJJ
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT DVD RECORDER WITH BUILT IN HARD DRIVE!
10/10/2012

Customer review by tstoney

5.0 stars 10/10/2012 by tstoney
by tstoney

This is the only remaining dvd recorder with a built in hard drive still available in North American. Better than a cable dvr any day of the week since you can burn your programs on to a blank dvd unlike the cable dvr's. The Magnavox was unavailable for the past several months with sellers online trying to rip people off by charging over $1000 each. I was so happy when I saw it was available again. This my 3rd Magnavox hdd recorder since 2008. For anyone who records a lot and wants to permanently save certain recordings I highly recommend this Magnavox dvd recorder. One great feature is as long as you have the recorder turned on; you can go back and record anything that’s been on up to the past six hours and you can easily edit out commercials. I've read that the motion picture industry wants to keep these types of recorders off the market and that may happen. The Magnavox comes in 320 GB, 500 GB and now a 1 TB. They start at only $228. I’ve been very happy with mine and I'll probably buy another one in the near future.

Was this review helpful? (148) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tstoney
San Gabriel, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
CLOSED CAPTION ISSUE
11/22/2013

Customer review by BYGEORGE

5.0 stars 11/22/2013 by BYGEORGE
by BYGEORGE

I bought the recorder from walmart.com and had it delivered free. I’ve only had this recorder for several days, but I feel it’s going to be a great asset. I had a problem at first with recording because my hearing is not as clear as it once was. I like to have the closed captions turned on. It wasn’t showing them and I couldn’t figure out why. I called the tech support line and after asking me what I had already tried, they said it must be defective, and I have tried everything that I could have tried. I already had a few movies recorded and didn’t want to exchange it and start over if I didn’t have to, so I worked with it for another day and finally found the answer, which the manual didn’t mention. I had it configured with an HDMI cable and using hdmi as the input. I found by reading things on the internet that the closed captions info won’t pass through hdmi. I changed the cables to AV cables and it works perfectly for me. I would recommend this recorder to a friend.

Was this review helpful? (148) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BYGEORGE
FALLING WATERS, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice product for the price.
12/29/2012

Customer review by lpchip

3.0 stars 12/29/2012 by lpchip
by lpchip

Let's start with what most people want tto know...can you record one channel while watching a diferent channel?It will depend on how you hook it up. I have Comcast cable, so the only way I found to do this was to use two of my cable boxes and a splitter. One box for the dvd recorder and one for your tv...this is so you can switch between the cable and the dvd recorder so that you can watch your normal cable while the recorder uses the second cable box to record your desired program. You will have to set the cable box for the dvr to the channel that you want to record..(the dvr stays set to ch 3). If you are a person that wants to record multiple shows on diffrent channels while you are away,THIS UNIT IS NOT FOR YOU. You will want to rent a dvr from your cable provider or by a tivo that will require a monthly subscription. All that being said...it is what it is, but with the above installation, you can effectively record one channel while you watch a different channel. Good luck!

Was this review helpful? (139) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lpchip
Gosport, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great replacement for a VCR
9/22/2013

Customer review by John77008

5.0 stars 9/22/2013 by John77008
by John77008

With the switch to DTV, I needed a replacement for my VCR with it's analog tuner. I had been using a converter box with my VCR, but wanted to upgrade to a DVR. After researching alternatives, this seemed like a good compromise from TiVo with it's monthly fees. This device is not a true HD DVR, but it's HQ recording setting does a pretty good job with only a slight degrade in picture quality from HD. Setup was simple, and the tuner found all my digital channels. The signal strength is comparable to what my TV gets. The device basically operates like a VCR, but in the digital age. You program it to record at certain times, and have the option of labeling each recording. Playback is easy, and fast forwarding through commercials is simple with dedicated time skip buttons. I have not used the DVD side of this device, since I have a Blue-Ray Player and the HDD is more than adequate to record all my shows. Overall I am very pleased with this product.

Was this review helpful? (125) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
John77008
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product wth optional digital tuner
12/8/2013

Customer review by StarJesus

5.0 stars 12/8/2013 by StarJesus
by StarJesus

This product fully meets my expectations. It has so many functions, which I'm sure I'll be learning for sometime, yet it's intuitively easy to get started. It also has excellent picture instructions on the different methods of hooking it up & which one you should choose. I have two left hands when it comes to electronic devices, but had zero trouble this time. I searched all the stores for a full year looking for a decent, price-competitive DVR with a digital tuner for optional hookup to an antenna. Nothing! I was pleased to finally learn about this Magnavox sold on-line. This DVR comes with an instruction booklet, about 100 pages jammed with functions. The booklet is sectionalized & easy to understand. My only suggestion is that the booklet should be sub-divided into beginner, intermediate, & advanced to make it a little less intimidating. But this suggestion is no big thing. The booklet is so easy to understand. The quality, sound, & picture are great. Today I enjoyed watching a Netflix movie on it while recording a TV program.

Was this review helpful? (86) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
StarJesus
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best & worst features
12/12/2013

Customer review by newDVDrBuyer

3.0 stars 12/12/2013 by newDVDrBuyer
by newDVDrBuyer

I think the BEST feature of this unit, isn't even advertised... It has the ability to take an unfinished DVD from another unit, easily convert it to this units format & then continue recording on it until finished & finalized (perfect for like previous music video DVDs I had started previously). The worst thing I found on this unit is the really time-consuming process of renaming a recording... it's a lot like using the # pad of an early cell phone to text ... but even more labor intensive (it can take 5"-10" to rename a title). Another Odd thing about this is that you cannot 'surf' all the channels [ie digital & (TV) analog, as with other units). You can only only select (TV) analog & surf them, & then select digital & surf them (& it sure has the ability to find a ton of them); but not a combo of both. I think buyers should be aware of the above things; but given how few choices there are out there if you want a DVD recorder with a tuner; this is a good unit to get.

Was this review helpful? (113) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
newDVDrBuyer
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great recorder
10/30/2013

Customer review by Norelcofan

5.0 stars 10/30/2013 by Norelcofan
by Norelcofan

This is the second DVR/DVD recorder I have purchased in less than 2 years. (basically the same model) The price went down about $50.00. I have one in the living room and one in the bedroom. It is a must have if you have over the air digital TV with an antenna. I record using the built in tuner and I can also record my satellite TV signal. The set up was easy (you may need to buy an HDMI cable if your satellite receiver has an output for it) I used standard AV cables. You don't get high definition with the AV cables but we don't find that a big problem. Setting the recorder is easy and I like the feature of copying a recording to a DVD if you want to keep it for a long time or give it to someone else to watch. I also purchased this because I don't like the extra charges the satellite companies charge for their DVR setups.

Was this review helpful? (68) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Norelcofan
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Two years of use and no problems
9/24/2012

Customer review by 4everABuckeye

5.0 stars 9/24/2012 by 4everABuckeye
by 4everABuckeye

I own a previous generation of this model (MDR 513H) that I purchased in Aug 2010 and I simply love this machine! I normally use mine about 3-5 hours a day (between recording and viewing) and haven't had a single problem with the device. The HDD drive is capable of recording in 1080p and reproduces an excellent image when viewed through an HDMI cable. If you purchase one, I would highly recommend utilizing the auto clock feature as the internal clock doesn't keep accurate time (at least mine don't#. I've found that Fox network's digital channel or PBS's analog channel keep very accurate time for your auto setting. I was so happy with the first device that I purchased a second one in Feb to keep up with all the shows I record. I also recommend reading the review by Wajo2 for a more detailed account of this device and want to thank him for all the information he has posted concerning these devices. He has tons of info posted concerning how to operate these devices and problem solving #e.g. clock issues, soft resets, etc.)

Was this review helpful? (117) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
4everABuckeye
Colorado Springs, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A quality, functional HDD/DVD recorder
10/21/2012

Customer review by NightGunner

5.0 stars 10/21/2012 by NightGunner
by NightGunner

I've only had this unit for a couple of months, so something could still go wrong with it, but so far, I'm quite happy with it. I'm actually a little giddy, and I'm an old computer tech! The pros: You can watch something you've recorded on the HD while recording something else. If an automatic recording starts while you are watching something you've previously recorded, you won't notice a thing. A little red dot will notify you that it's recording, but it won't affect the show you are watching. You can also edit any recording you have on the HD to remove scenes you don't want to keep, such as commercials. And I don't notice any glitches at all, where I've edited something. It's all digital and a pretty slick operation. You don't need to have the unit in any certain mode to have your automatic recordings start. If you're already recording something when an automatic record time comes up, you will see a notice on the screen telling you it's about to change to start another recording. You'll have time to stop it, if you want. If not, it will just stop what you're recording, change channels and start recording the program you set to record automatically. You can also watch a program that is recording from the start without affecting the recording of the rest of the show. So, if you get home a little late, you don't have to wait until the recording is finished before you can watch the beginning. While it's still recording the rest of the program, you can watch the beginning part that you missed. There's a time display you can bring up that shows you how far ahead the actual recording is, while you're watching the early parts. I don't even use the DVD unless I want to copy something to it from the HD. This saves on DVDs. And recording on the HD, you aren't limited to space like you would be using just a DVD. Just that alone saves money on DVDs, if you do a lot of recording. I no longer need to purchase RW-DVDs if I don't want to. The Cons (not many that I can see): While the unit is recording, you can't watch another input. It does have a couple of inputs, but whatever it's recording is the only thing you can watch at the time (except for the previously recorded things I spoke of earlier). So, it's not good to make it your main controlling unit. I have an older DVD recorder that also has a tuner and I was using the Magnavox as my main unit, plugging the older DVD recorder into input 2. It worked, but if I wanted to record something on the older DVD recorder, I had to set it for automatic, or start the recording before a recording was started on the Magnavox. I got smart and started using my TV as the main controlling unit, because it has two inputs. Now, I can watch a program on one unit while recording on the other. I can also record two different programs on the units at the same time, if I want. My TV isn't digital, so I have to use the tuners to receive the digital channels. But, I plan on getting a digital converter so I will be able to watch a channel on TV while recording two others, one on the older DVD and one on the Magnavox. This is great for me, because I work nights. Now I'm able to record any show I want and watch it later. I was a little concerned about the smaller HD in this unit, but it has been no problem at all, and I record everything in High Depth mode. You can get a unit that has a larger drive, but I don't see the need unless you record everything under the sun and never delete anything. This 320 gig drive is more than sufficient for my needs. Most DVD recorders I've purchased in the past (and I've purchased more than a few) had limitations that I had to deal with. But this HDD/DVD recorder is the first unit I've purchased in a long time that is quick, efficient and of good quality. Personally, I think this was a great purchase. I'm very picky and I'm quite satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (45) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NightGunner
Kansas City, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product so far
11/11/2013

Customer review by BoyToy44

4.0 stars 11/11/2013 by BoyToy44
by BoyToy44

This is a versatile HDD/DVD recorder/player. It includes a tuner which is rare these days. Most recorders rely on a cable box or digital converter for tuning stations. Set up was simple and operating the device is also simple. Video and audio quality are both excellent. The only drawback is that unlike previous generations of recorders, you cannot connect the output to a TV using the antenna coax. You must use HDMI, Composite video/audio, component video or S-video. If the TV is placed close to the recorder this is no problem but if you're running the signal to another room, it adds complications. I may purchase a second unit for my summer cabin. This unit does not play Blu-ray and has no streaming features. That's no a problem for my application but be aware of those limitations.

Was this review helpful? (47) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BoyToy44
Madison, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great so far.
10/17/2012

Customer review by merrick10

4.0 stars 10/17/2012 by merrick10
by merrick10

So far I really love this DVR. The hard drive is wonderful, no messing with DVDs. This was one, if not the only DVR, with a built-in tuner, which a lot of people still require. If you don't have satellite or cable and only use an antenna, you need a built in tuner. Yes, there are still some of us who do. It replaced a refurbished Poloroid, which never worked very good, and quit completely after the 90 day warranty expired. It's not cheap, but it seems to be well built and I've never had any problem with it yet. It's also pretty simple to understand unlike some I've had. You can watch one channel while recording another or can watch a DVD while recording to the hard drive. You can also watch something on the hard drive while recording to a DVD.

Was this review helpful? (40) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
merrick10
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Easy to record TV shows
6/10/2014

Customer review by Teepers

5.0 stars 6/10/2014 by Teepers
by Teepers

I purchased this DVR because it has the built in hard drive to record TV shows. Although it can record to CD's I prefer the quicker and easier hard drive option. It reminds me to back when I had a VHS tape recorder. It has the built in digital tuner so it is similar. Easy to set a date/time to record just double check that you did input the correct information. I don't have or pay for, any satellite or dish. I get all I want to see for free over the air and it's hi def anyways. Over the air for free I get the standard ABC, CBS, NBC, FOX, a 24 hr Movie station, a 24 hr old classic TV shows station, etc etc and since these major networks carry all the shows I watch I'm happy. I don't live in the city. I'm out in the "boonies" yet with my little digital antenna sitting next to my TV it's fine. I got this Magnavox...set it to scan my over air channels and bingo I'm off and running. I already used the timer to record a few shows. Works fine.

Was this review helpful? (61) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Teepers
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Performs as expected on par with similar products
6/18/2014

Customer review by DFMMA

3.0 stars 6/18/2014 by DFMMA
by DFMMA

I've only had the recorder for 2 weeks but so far so good. The recorder is OK, performs as expected and is on par with similar products. I purchased because I wanted something with a tuner that gets the cable digital channels, they are not easy to find. In reviews of other products I had read that "digital tuner" doesn't necessarily mean you can get cable digital channels; prior to buying I couldn't verify that was the case, not even Magnavox support was sure; but happy to say the recorder does get the cable digital channels I use. I suppose it's possible that the recorder might not tune to some premium channels. About the only downsides are that the hard drive automatically records whenever the unit is on except for certain situations such as playing DVD, there is no option to disable this auto record. To me this is unnecessary wear on the hard drive, hopefully if/when the hard drive fails, the unit will still be able to record to DVD. The unit records 6 hours to DVD in SLP mode, some other brands record 8 hrs.

Was this review helpful? (48) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DFMMA
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Larger Hard drive a big plus.
10/20/2013

Customer review by Saberhagen

5.0 stars 10/20/2013 by Saberhagen
by Saberhagen

I have used the previous versions of this DVR for several years. The newest version has a larger storage capacity and finally allows me to Name the recordings when I set up the program. This makes identifying the recordings much easier when you go to play back. With the larger hard drive (320 GB vs 120 Gb) I am recording in higher quality and the picture is now excellent during playback and pause. I would consider the 1 TB hard drive in the future, but I am afraid I would record too much junk and never watch it. I am very happy there is a DVR available without fee, for recording free, over the air, broadcasts. If they ever quit broadcasting over the air, this will also work with cable.

Was this review helpful? (35) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Saberhagen
Los Angelas, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Buy but be aware of the FCC
10/25/2012

Customer review by DFWy2kMan

5.0 stars 10/25/2012 by DFWy2kMan
by DFWy2kMan

As most reviews on this site indicate this DVD/DVR is easy to use, quick to set up and works like a VCR from yesteryear (except that you can watch one program while recording another or "chase" a program that has already started recording by watching what has been recorded so far). The unit is everything it's advertised to be and more. I wish I had found it 10 years ago. If you're using it for OTA HD recordings there is a product out there for recording in HD but it's more complicated to use. The only drawback of this unit is the lack of a programming guide, but it's not hard to find the date, channel and time of programs on your own! CAUTION: The FCC voted on October 18, 2012 to allow cable operators to scramble ALL channels (even basic cable). The days of using a TV tuner or a machine such as this without a cable box will be ending. Every TV or recorder will need a descrambler and you will lose the ability to change channels for recording without manually changing it on the set top box. If you are planning on using this to record basic cable channels know that your days of doing so are numbered.

Was this review helpful? (59) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DFWy2kMan
Fort Worth, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Magnavox dvd recorder mdr533h is excellent
10/27/2013

Customer review by 2tonepony

5.0 stars 10/27/2013 by 2tonepony
by 2tonepony

I purchased this device to replace my old vcr, which had started destroying my tapes. It works just like a vcr, in that you can record one channel while watching another, which was my primary concern. (While researching these products, I discovered that the unit must include a tuner if this capability is desired.) It is connected to an HDTV, but the cable feed in the apartment building where I live is strictly analog, so no converter box is needed. The unit was easy to set up, and the 100+ page manual that comes with it has an answer for every question I had. Having the built-in hard drive is a great convenience. Its large capacity allows many hours of recording (61 at high quality, 371 at good quality). I discovered that closed captioning does not display if the device is set for "progressive scan," nor does CC work with an HDMI connection. I think this is a symptomatic of the technology and is not a design issue with this particular unit. It has something to do with how captions are embedded in a digital stream. If you enjoy making family home movies, you can edit or not, then high-speed dub to DVDs for a perfect mirror-image of the original. You can also record/copy direct to DVD, if you prefer. I am looking forward to many years of useful service with this product. (My old Mitsubishi vcr worked great for more than 20 years.) By the way, Walmart's delivery service was excellent, it actually arrived a day earlier than expected.

Was this review helpful? (28) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2tonepony
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Exceptinal piece of equipment! Works like a charm!
6/8/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/8/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I've been working with wire recorders, reel2reel, 8-tracks, cassettes, and other audio equipment since we-won't-talk-about-how-long-ago. Then with Betamax machines in the 1970's then the VHS machines. I have been using VHS for my TV recordings now for decades and this is my first DVR! VHS machines and the blank tapes are not as easy to come by as they once were, so moving up into the 21st century was the best choice. I can't say how easy it would be for others to use this machine but for me it was FUN to set-up. I do have one small bit of advice... read the small print, such as: the machine does not save the 16:9 recordings in the 16:9 format. No problem for my Samsung TV as I can set the aspect ratio on the fly. For those transferring the recordings to a DVD and then to a computer, a video processing program would be needed to convert the 4:3 to a 16:9. Other than that, I am thrilled to own this unit! It would be nice, if one day, Magnavox would create a unit that had a dual or a triple tuner, so we could record more than one show at a time. Good purchase for me.

Was this review helpful? (35) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Honolulu, HI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 814 total reviews
1-20 of 814 reviews