Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 524 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

524 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

5 stars
290
4 stars
150
3 stars
33
2 stars
19
1 stars
32
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 446 total reviews
8th Generation HDD/DVD Recorder
9/19/2012

Customer review by wajo2

5.0 stars by wajo2

The MDR537H/F7 is one of three in the 53x Series... 533 and 535 are the others. This 537 has a 1000GB (1TB) HDD while the others have 320GB and 500GB HDDs. Primary source of info on these recorders is here: http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086 Manual is here: http://www.m4c.magnavox.com/files/m/mdr535h_f7/mdr535h_f7_dfu_aen.pdf * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * The Mag 533/535/537 (53x) Series is the 8th, and possibly final, generation of simple, family-friendly, durable, std def (SD, 480i) analog/digital DVD recorders (DVDR) with hard disk drive (HDD) that are yearly improvements of the same basic design and operating system. They're the ONLY recorders, SD or HD (720/1080), available for daily use in North America with: -NTSC/ATSC/QAM tuners for antenna or cable. -Easily replaceable/upgradeable/expandable HDD. -Easily replaceable DVD burner. -Widescreen (16:9) recording. -Amplified coax passthru w/unit on or off. -Amplified coax and line inputs. -DV input. -Coax digital audio out. -1080p HDMI upconvert. -36 timer-rec programs. -6-hour autorecord buffer. -Pause & rewind live TV. -Chase play. -Skip/replay. -Simultaneous play/record. -Record while watching diff. channel on TV via coax passthru. -Integrated TV/DVDR control via HDMI CEC-link. -1-2 hour power backup, dep. on whether Auto Clock is off or on. -Simple editing for your archive copies or home movies. * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * FOR NEWCOMERS TO DVDRs OR THIS BRAND OF DVDR The 53x Series are standalone units that can record from antenna or cable coax. They also have line inputs so they can record from cable boxes and satellite receivers or copy from VCRs, DVRs, cameras and camcorders. They're so easy to use they can be operated by the entire family, from kids to timeshifters to gearheads. Timeshifters can reliably record a bunch of named shows, unattended and with NO tapes or discs. Gearheads can upgrade their HDD or create an "HDD farm" of multiple 2.5" and 3.5" external (E-SATA) HDDs with unlimited storage, <1-min. drive swapout, HDD portability, and external power for less internal heat and stress. The DVD burner is also DIY replaceable with a ~$70 OEM unit. For the past 5 years, this same HDD/DVD recorder design has proven to be a simple and reliable way to record your daily and weekly shows on analog or digital channels, completely unattended, so you can go on a long vacation or business trip and you'll never touch a disc! It's the only device you'll need to copy your family's home movies or your DVR recordings to a stand-alone, no-monthly-fee HDD, where you can edit or not, then high-speed dub to DVDs for a perfect mirror-image of the original. You can also record/copy direct to DVD, if you prefer. If you get your TV signal via OTA antenna, you won't need a digital converter box wherever you've got one of these. Fair warning: The HDD will spoil you rotten! * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * FOR OWNERS OF PREVIOUS MODELS If you looked at or have one of the previous models in the Philips or Mag HDD/DVD series, you might only need to know that, with the 53x Series, Funai is basically only satisfying a "Primary Wish": KEEP MAKING THE MDR515!. The 53x Manual reads virtually the same as the 515 manual, except they now show 900 titles possible on the HDD instead of 600. One major disappointment, other than the fact that the MDR53x Series doesn't add any new capabilities, is that the remote still operates the older Mag HDD/DVD recorders, the 2080, 2160, 2160A, 513 and 515. Users of multiple Mag machines will still have to use barriers to operate a single machine. * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * ERRORS, OMISSIONS AND MISLEADS STILL IN THE MANUAL Be aware that the 53x manual STILL has several important errors, omissions, and misleads. Three of the worst are: 1. WRONG - SETTING THIS DVDR UP BEHIND A CABLE BOX, pg 19. Makes this DVDR a "slave" to the box! It should be 1st on the incoming cable coax unless you order PPV/VOD thru the box… only then do you need a 2-way splitter on the incoming coax. The coax circuit on this DVDR passes the raw signal thru to the box, so this DVDR can "pick off" (record) ANY unscrambled channel in the signal. It should NEVER be behind a cable box where it can only record the channel the box is tuned to… EVEN IF ALL YOUR CABLE CHANNELS ARE SCRAMBLED (makes no diff.). Of course, you must do an Auto Channel Preset > Cable (Analog/Digital) to make sure your DVDR sees and memorizes the unscrambled channels (if any). 2. OMITTED - MAKING FRONT- AND END-CUTS IN EDIT, Pp 93-94. Frustrates many new users! In the Scene Delete menu, only REW stops on 1st frame and only PLAY and FF stop on last frame. 2160, 2160A and 513 also had a totally confusing and unnecessary auto-Preview after an End Cut that should be IGNORED. At least the 53x Series doesn't have the confusing auto-preview! 3. MISLEADING - RECORDING 16:9 WIDESCREEN AS 4:3, pg 45. This half-truth has caused more misunderstanding than almost anything else in the manual. It's a "deep" technical subject that didn't need to be there! It HAS TO record a 4:3 aspect pic FRAME because the DVD Std was built on the old 4:3 VHS Std, but the DVD std allows a combo of square/non-square pixels, variable horiz. rez, compression and decompression within that 4:3 frame. THAT'S what allows your HDTV to stretch the "non-square" (rectangular) pixels of a WS image inside that 4:3 frame to natural 16:9 WS aspect. You just need to set this DVDR's Video > TV Aspect to "16:9 Wide" and your HDTV on its "Wide" aspect setting. However, this DVDR's DEFAULT setting for aspect ratio is "4:3 Letter Box" so you have to change that to 16:9 Wide during setup or none of your recordings will be 16:9 WS! * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * IF YOU NEED MORE INFO OR DETAILS ON THE ABOVE, IT'S ALL HERE (same link as at top): http://www.avsforum.com/t/ 940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086 * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * Disclaimer: I have never represented or worked for Funai or Walmart in any capacity… and currently don't work for anyone else! -:)

Was this review helpful? (481) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
wajo2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Top 10 contributor
Happy with the new purchase..
10/20/2012

Customer review by prcombs54

5.0 stars by prcombs54

We chose to hook this unit up with a splitter and use it and the cable box independent of each other. It's much easier to use the HDD to record whatever we want to record, and use the cable unit to watch live tv - also we found that using AV cables were much more successful and better quality than using an HDMI cable or a coax cable. We did find that the quality of signal was great even after using the splitter on the cable line - much better quality of picture and sound than the TWC cable box unit. Although we are satisfied with the price and service we received from WalMart, we found this unit for a few dollars less at Amazon - but unsure about the shipping policy from Amazon as well as tax rates charged. With Walmart, we satisfied if there should be a problem, we'll be able to take it to the nearest Walmart and get it replaced or refunded. You'll enjoy this unit - worth the money - and of course, Walmart's no hassle policy should give peace of mind to purchasers.

Was this review helpful? (236) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
prcombs54
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great mutlifunction recording device
10/19/2012

Customer review by Hawkeyeman

5.0 stars by Hawkeyeman

My reason for purchasing the 1TB design was to be able to record in HQ without space limitations and to secure a unit that had a tuner capable of accessing the new digital format. It appears to be very easy to replace the HD if required. The only drawback is the lack of a scheduling feature that uses the cable system's TV Guide. However, it's very easy to program and the quality is exceptional. This unit replaced my old SONY HD unit that did not have the digital tuner. It also had a smaller 160GB HD.

Was this review helpful? (117) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Hawkeyeman
Greenwood, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
10/23/2012

Customer review by lswbirdy

5.0 stars by lswbirdy

The Magnavox MDR537h 1TB HDD and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner is an extremely versatile device. Because it has so many recording and video capabilities, it probably should be used by individuals who have experience with home DVR recording. The digital tuner allows TV signals to be received over the air. With its 1TB HDD, the MDR537h provides high-capacity storage when recording to the HDD. The MDR537h allows also recording directly to the DVD drive and allows copying between the HDD and the DVD drive. The recorded-picture quality is quite good, and the disc menu structure is acceptable. In my opinion, the Magnavox MDR537h is an excellent DVR.

Was this review helpful? (111) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
lswbirdy
Henrico, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great DVR without the monthly charge
10/22/2012

Customer review by bonzon

5.0 stars by bonzon

Works like a VCR or a DVD recorder. Program the times and it records. Has built in digital tuner so you can record analog or digital. If you are watching a show through the recorder, you can pause live TV and catch back up later. It also lets you burn your recorded shows with the built in dvd burner. It takes a bit of time to get used to but easy after the first few uses. I will say that the instructions, though correct, could have been made a little easier to follow. I found that playing with the features of the unit made it easier to understand.......

Was this review helpful? (59) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
bonzon
Central Va.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A+ OUR 2ND PURCHASE
10/19/2013

Customer review by HKGCITYGIRL

5.0 stars by HKGCITYGIRL

Excellent DVR. It's our second purchase (for the 1TB capacity) for the family room. We originally purchased a Panasonic from another store - BIG mistake. Our first Magnavox worked perfectly and it's been happily transferred to the bedroom. Pros - Quick set up with HDMI cord and once you get a feel of how to record, edit, etc. it's very easy to operate. It can record one show while you either watch another taped show or "live" TV. There is no need to remember to even "close" the DVR to activate. It automatically tapes any show that's been programmed into the unit. Taping can be made directly to the hard drive or a DVD. You can edit first, then transfer onto a disc for a hard copy, but with over 1,240 hours of taping time, there is no real need to use a DVD ever again! Only two very minor cons - Wished the clock/channel display was larger/easier to read and that it had a backup battery in case we had any power outages. We have had to reprogram our other unit when that happened.

Was this review helpful? (77) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
HKGCITYGIRL
Fremont, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This is an awesome device.
11/13/2012

Customer review by P3Flyer

5.0 stars by P3Flyer

The device has an extraordinary number of features and it takes some time to learn how to use a lot of them, but it will do some (to me) amazing things. So far I have just used it to access basic digital cable channels (Comcast will be going all digital later this month here and my previous analog access will no longer work.) I have programmed it to record some programs and play them back and it all worked very good, but since it was somewhat different from my older tape devices it took some learning to do. If you are willing to invest the time to read the extensive manual and practice with the device I think you will be amazingly happy with it. I just wish the manual would explain things in simpler language for a beginner in digital like me. I have it hooked up to cable, an analog TV, and an analog Video Cassette Recorder. Among many other things I'd like to do, I expect to copy some old taped information I'd like to save to DVDs.

Was this review helpful? (46) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
P3Flyer
Monterey California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent replacement for my cable company DVR
10/15/2013

Customer review by satisfiedUser456

5.0 stars by satisfiedUser456

This DVR has met all of my expectations. After I cut the cable and went to an over the air antenna, I lost my cable company DVR. This DVR is an excellent replacement for recording over the air TV. Programming is much like an old VCR - you have to enter the channel, start time and end time. There is no online programming guide - but there is no monthly fee either. You can pause live TV, rewind live TV, etc - just like I could with the cable company DVR. This DVR only has 1 tuner so you cannot watch one channel while recording another channel. You can watch recorded TV while recording a new program. I have a splitter on my antenna cable - one cable goes to the DVR and the other cable goes directly to my TV. That setup allows me to watch one channel using my TV antenna input while the DVR records a different channel using the DVR antenna input. I have an HDMI cable connecting my DVR to my TV.

Was this review helpful? (53) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
satisfiedUser456
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Difficult to find DVD recorder with HDD
11/6/2012

Customer review by Sportsarchivist

4.0 stars by Sportsarchivist

The recordings to hard drive using HQ mode are wonderfully clear. As close to HD TV as can be. Dubbing from HDD to DVD were not as clear. Possibly because I did not use HQ mode. Unfortunately, this is the second unit I purchased because the first one's hard drive crashed within a month. The manufacturer promised a refund because there are no certified repairmen for this make and model in my area. Would recommend, especially because there are no other affordable make/models available.

Was this review helpful? (37) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Sportsarchivist
Honolulu, HI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Impressed, satisfied
11/6/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars by An anonymous customer

only had it for a couple of weeks but so far so good. Easy set-up if you're familiar with magnavox setup. I also have a magnavox dvd vcr combo, so setup very similar. May have to get another for downstairs, or should have gotten one with a dual tuner, if they have that. But all in all, enjoying the ease of recording and editting. Have even tried the dubbing from hard drive to dvd. Good product, again, so far.

Was this review helpful? (35) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
North Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fantastic Performance
9/21/2013

Customer review by 3rdGenDVRuser

5.0 stars by 3rdGenDVRuser

Very easy to use, somewhat like my old Panasonic expect this unit WORKS without locking up! Very fast responding, although has the usual 2s delay when changing channels. Automatically writes over old shows one week later unless you mark them to keep, so you can forget about the harddrive filling up while away on vacation. Even lower-quality levels (there are 6) still quite acceptable viewing. At higher quality levels it is difficult to say if a show is live or recorded! Allows you to jump forward or backward a preset amount; e.g., FWD 60s (commercial skip), REV 15s (instant replay). On-screen info tells you where you are, date of recording, etc. Watch prerecorded show while recording another. Note: Like most DVRs, it records in "standard definition" (480) but upconverts playback so it looks like super HD (1080), keeping the file size small. Selecting recordings to view are easy with live action "thumbnails" and titles you can add for your favorite shows. Best feature: watch shows LIVE and use instant replay or pause button.

Was this review helpful? (42) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
3rdGenDVRuser
Springfield, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Replaced my 80 GB Panasonic DMR-EH75V
1/9/2013

Customer review by DavyBaby11

5.0 stars by DavyBaby11

I have extensively used this unit for about 10 days now. I highly recommend it. The interface is different than the panasonic (of course) and takes some getting used to. Fortunately my brother has had the same unit with a smaller hdd for over a year and he shortened my learning curve. The biggest gotcha so far is that if you use the s-video inputs - you have to configure that via the on-screen menus. It's on page 104 of the manual - NOT in the getting started guide. If you can hear the audio, but not see the video after you connect the s-video inputs - you need to go into the on-screen setup and "turn on" the s-video inputs (there is one on the front L2 - and one on the back L1. The panasonic was consistent in the use of the "return" button to back out of everything. The magnavox is not as consistent. After burning something to a dvd, when you press the stop button on the remote - the screen shows a thumbnail of each of the separate dvd recordings. To return from that screen to the live input - you press the Stop button again - NOT the "return" key. A little gotcha that took me some time to figure out. Also, as a visual aide when you're burning dvd's, the on-screen display will briefily show a small white square or a right pointing triangle- with a black line border - in the lower left side of the tv screen. I could not figure out what these are: they represent the "play" and "stop" functions of the dvd burner/player. I guess they're trying to give use some visual feedback. I did some time shifting recording for my wife - about 5 days of 4x6 hour segments per day - and I ran it in parallel with the panny. The magnavox worked perfectly. AND had ove 200 hours of available space left !!! Love it... ! I've made a few dvd's and they have all worked perfectly - up until today when I got a "can not record to disk" error. A little on-line research shows that this does happen and it's usually a bad blank dvd - and I've had similar issues in the past with the panny. In my experience WHEN this happens, I might have to toss a few blank dvd's to get back to some that work. In fact the manual has a short list of approved dvd's -you can also search for the manual on the magnavox site and download it for free - check avsforums for corrections to the manual. I haven't tried scheduling a repeating manual recording - so I can't speak to that. Walmart has the best price on these units - better even than Amazon. I ordered direct to store - and it looked like it was going to take 7 days to get here - but in the end it arrived in 3 days - wonderful! I would say from ordering to shipment to pickup, installation and use - my OOB - out of box experience was very nice with the Walmart supply chain and the product quality. If you do a lot of recording - these unit's are about the only game in town at this price range.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
DavyBaby11
Sacto, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
my 2nd unit
9/23/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars by An anonymous customer

The Mag DVD set top burner works fine as a time shifter/DVD archiver in standard def video. I also use it daily for recording Performance Today and other audio content from the radio. This is my 2nd one, for downstairs use. My original, owned for several years, is upstairs and still working fine. Finding a DVD burner with a HDD is difficult these days. There are blu ray burners in Japan, but not in the US unfortunately so we are stuck with SD. I wish the remote for the upstairs unit was a little more responsive. The new one seems a little better in this regard. My one gripe is not so much with this unit but with the CEC (consumer electronics control) tech built into MANY home devices these days. When the thing goes into timer record mode, my TV set comes on, even if I am doing unattended recording. I disconnected the HDMI output to defeat this and use component instead which doesn't support this "feature". There doesn't seem to be a way to defeat it otherwise. I hate any auto feature that has no over ride! The manufacturers do the consumers a disservice.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Magnavox 1TB HDD DVD recorder
11/8/2012

Customer review by ceex

5.0 stars by ceex

This device records TV material, either from an antenna, cable set box, satellite decoder, or video source such as a camcorder, onto an internal HDD or to a DVD. Material recorded on the HDD can be edited and copied onto a DVD, which can subsequently be played on any DVD player if the DVD has been finalized. This is not a simple product, but for those wishing to make their on DVDs and/or store recordings of broadcast material, the only alternative would be computer video cards such as those from Hauppauge. I owned two previously available products of this sort from Philips, both of which were disappointments (files on the HDD became corrupt with time; the DVD player malfunctions). Philips informs me they have exited this business. So far, the Magnavox has worked well.

Was this review helpful? (25) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ceex
salt lake city
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
For the right expectations, this is promising.
9/11/2013

Customer review by slpark

4.0 stars by slpark

For the right application this product performs very well. It is confusing at first, the remote leaves a bit to be desired, the manual is not friendly, but overall for a person with reasonable acumen for technology like this, I certainly recommend the item. I was hoping it would interface with my cable system better, but it did not. I now run a regular antenna to this for recording, and the cable to my TV for watching. My uses don't require recording much of anything from the wasteland that is cable TV, and 98% of what I wish to record is on broadcast TV. I do not want a cable-owned box or a TiVo subscription, and really just wanted a versatile VCR-type experience. This unit is one of the rare items that fit that bill. I have a good feeling for Magnavox products, and now that I have started using this, I have a good feel for this model. As I learn the DVD-recording capabilities and the dubbing opportunities, and use the full capabilities of this machine I know I will grow to like it even more.

Was this review helpful? (27) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
slpark
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome recording device that's easy to use.
10/13/2013

Customer review by candylady2m

5.0 stars by candylady2m

I only have one complaint about this device and it's not really a complaint about the device itself. I have this set up in the same room as a magnavox dvd burner and whenever I try to use the remote for one it triggers both of them. Now for the good stuff. I pulled it out of the box and got worried because the manual was super thick. luckily it had a quick start guide. I had it up, running and timer recording within five minutes. I pull my TV from an antenna so having a built in tuner is great. now I can set to tape different channels at different times when I'm not home. I couldn't do that before. it might have been a little easier for me because I already owned a magnavox device but I think it is probably user friendly for anyone. I love being able to record a program and then edit out the commercials so I can store it for later or dub it to a disc for a friend.

Was this review helpful? (23) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
candylady2m
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best Recorder for TV out there.
11/17/2012

Customer review by Guvnobob

5.0 stars by Guvnobob

I already owed two of last year's verson of this recorder, the 500 GB models. I was so so diappointed when they were discontinued as I wanted a third. Now the recorders have been reintroduced in three versions, 250 GB, 500 GB and 1 Tr (1000 GB). With the 1 Tr version you can record on hard drive (HDD) over 200 hours in HQ mode and probably over 1000 hours in the lowest quality mode. You can then transfer any program(s) to DVD, limited only by the length of the DVD. Don't know if you can transfer commercial DVDs to the hard drive (because of copy protectdion limitations), but if it is possible, you could put your entire movie collection on the HDD. Works with both OTA and cable TV (if a set top box is not required and/or broadcasts are not scrambled. Obviously it will work with a set top box, but you lose the channel change and timer functions, which has always been the case.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Guvnobob
Elgin IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Geat machine if you don't want cable.
11/6/2012

Customer review by rotifer

5.0 stars by rotifer

This is a great machine. I have 4 of them. Somewhat disappointed that the only improvement in this model is a bigger harddrive (1 TB). Which is good. It would of been nice if they could of made the machine capable of recording 2 programs at the same time as in the cable DVR units. Also if it could record in HD that would of been FANTASTIC. That was not allowed by the Gov't because of pressure from the movie & tv industry. Although it only records in SD it's storage capability of 1TB far exceeds the abilty of a cable DVR.

Was this review helpful? (22) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
rotifer
buffalo ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great digital tuner!
11/28/2012

Customer review by abcatwmsur

5.0 stars by abcatwmsur

This unit exceeds my expectations and love having a DVR running all the time while watching tv. The digital tuner is a great companion for a 720P or 1080i HD television built without one and is the best digital tuner for over-air reception I've ever used.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
abcatwmsur
OKC, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for recording stuff you watch, or hope to
11/17/2012

Customer review by rob730

5.0 stars by rob730

This recorder is great for recording tons of stuff I want to watch later or I might watch. The 1 TB of storage allows me to record everything I think I want to watch for later. Easy to set up far easier to program.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
rob730
Maben, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 446 total reviews