Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 840 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

840 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

840 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
455
4 stars
255
3 stars
47
2 stars
22
1 stars
61
1-20 of 781 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 781 total reviews
1-20 of 781 reviews
Not worth the money
1/3/2014

Customer review by UnhappySenior

1.0 stars 1/3/2014 by UnhappySenior
by UnhappySenior

Easy to hook up and program. When I did my first channel scan it missed 2 stations, ABC (11.1) and CW (22.1), I tried scanning 3 or 4 times withe the same results. When playing back a recorded show the pictuer and sound skip for about one second, this happened on all my recordings. Made viewing a recoding very annoying. This is the second time I have tried the Magnavox DVR recorder, the first one over a year ago with similar results, it skipped stations in scanning and would not hold a program for later tapping, the program list would just disappear. I did not call Service because of my last attempt with my first machine, last time I called and it was the NO SERVICE department. You did not get to talk to a technician, you spoke to a someone who passed your information to a technician then it was passed back to you by that original person. When a decision was made that the equipment was defective and need to be replaced I needed to give my email address and a copy of my receipt and phone number so that a supervisor could send me by email the information for exchanging equipment, did that and never heard a word, waited about a week then returned it to the store. As I did with this one NOT A GOOD PURCHASE

UnhappySenior
Raleigh NC 27605
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
unit has playback stutter
12/24/2013

Customer review by blenderbender

2.0 stars 12/24/2013 by blenderbender
by blenderbender

I was quite pleased with the price of unit as it was on sale, but after using it initially was disappointed in quality of playback. I recorded in HQ mode to hard drive and although the recording looks fine, there is a very annoying stutter every 10-20 seconds during playback. Quite frankly it is driving me nuts and I am enjoying the recordings very little. I can return it of course but the downside is Sam's no longer has them available to exchange for another to try. So I either have to learn to live with it or give up the whole DVR idea until I find another one on sale. Magnavox phone support wasn't much help, they ultimately gave in and counseled me to return unit.

blenderbender
Pennsylvania, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
So Far So Good
12/27/2013

Customer review by Aamman

4.0 stars 12/27/2013 by Aamman
by Aamman

I have used the HDD recorder for about a week, mainly connected to the composite output from my cable box. Recordings are excellent SD recorded while watching the program. The menu shows a very small picture of the first scene recorded so is a little hard to read - will have to research this further when I get a lot of recordings. Did not try running the cable coax directly into the unit since my guess is that all the channels I am likely to record are encrypted. Haven't tried the DVD recorder yet.

Aamman
Shoreline, WA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Hard Drive fail after three weeks.
12/21/2013

Customer review by 123412341234

1.0 stars 12/21/2013 by 123412341234
by 123412341234

The Hard Drive failed after only three weeks. I could not record or retrieve past recordings. After talking to Funai service, the manufacturer of the product they would replace the defective machine. The replacement process would take 4 to 6 weeks. I then called SAMS Online, the nice customer service agent processed a return authorization and the machine is going back for a refund. Off I go back to SAMs to buy a new non Funai / Magnavox recorder.

123412341234
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
10/16/2013

Customer review by Exeterman

4.0 stars 10/16/2013 by Exeterman
by Exeterman

Having already a similar model, I puchased this one as a back up unit. My older model gives a darker picture than broadcasted but this new one does not do that. I encourage anyone purchasing any equipment such as this to get the cheap insurance offered by Sam's Club / Walmart. I like the fact that the machine can play PAL discs sent from friends from Europe as the latest 'sophisticated' equipment (such my Sony players) will not play PAL.

Exeterman
Galveston, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Only HDD DVR w/ Digital tuner for reasonable price
12/27/2013

Customer review by technophile4manyyears

5.0 stars 12/27/2013 by technophile4manyyears
by technophile4manyyears

The purchased Magnavox 500 GB HDD DVR / DVD recorder was the only one I could find that had a digital tuner built in, and at a reasonable price. Unit arrived within several days, intact in original box via FedEx ground. I opened and quickly installed, replacing a LiteOn DVD recorder with separate digital tuner from the conversion days to digital channels. The Magnavox unit is great with the tuner built in, as it will change channels automatically ( old setup required leaving tuner on 1 channel for the prearrange recording time and only option of recording to DVD). With the Magnavox. recording can be to either HDD or DVD, and if timer recording to DVD and space runs out, it automatically switches to HDD recording. One inconvenient difference to a Tivo or DirecTV DVR is that recordings are only labeled with date and time, not the name of show, date, time. Separate recordings can be renamed in "Edit" mode, but if you record a lot of shows and leave on the HDD for any length of time, you might want to write down a list of show name, date and time to avoid having to start viewing a show to see which it is. Be certain to thoroughly read the accompanying manual, as the detailed operations are many, and all of the remote control functions are not confined to just one push of a label button, but can open another window with multiple additional choices. From experience with my previous DVD recorder, pay attention to and use the recommended brands of DVD discs to avoid disappointment of the DVD recorder not functioning with a different brand that's not on the list of approved brands.

technophile4manyyears
Michigan, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Hard to install
1/11/2014

Customer review by kokomoc

3.0 stars 1/11/2014 by kokomoc
by kokomoc

I am still not using it completely because I can't figure out how to get it to work in combination w/ my cable and digital TV. I don't consider myself a technophobe but I just can't get this figured out consistently. I can get it to work once after trying a dozen different things but then can't get it to do it again. I haven't called for help yet. Maybe that would make a difference.

kokomoc
Kokomo, IN, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Great DVR
12/9/2013

Customer review by RGHCofClub

4.0 stars 12/9/2013 by RGHCofClub
by RGHCofClub

This is a great unit for those that don't have DVR service through their cable/satellite company. I already have one and bought a second after a DVD Recorder died. I have not had a problem with either unit. Beware that the unit DOES NOT include an HDMI cable, only AV cables. Sams should update their product description.

RGHCofClub
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
good value
1/5/2014

Customer review by noonegreen

3.0 stars 1/5/2014 by noonegreen
by noonegreen

Bought this unit on black Friday, reasonable price, set-up was a bit more difficult than necessary, instructions not very clear regarding hook-ups and recording. Still having difficulty working out details of recording after a week. quality seems decent.

noonegreen
Altoona, PA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Just as expected. Works GREAT!
11/7/2013

Customer review by xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

5.0 stars 11/7/2013 by xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
by xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Ordering this on line was very easy to do. It came right when expected. i was able to check my order online too. As for the DVRecorder, it's easy to use. I wish the clock digits were a little larger. Otherwise, it's working GREAT!

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Exactly what my wife wanted for use with roof ante
10/29/2013

Customer review by mole9

5.0 stars 10/29/2013 by mole9
by mole9

Had previously bought 160 GB and 320GB machines. Great for recording off air programs. This machine has a large enough capacity to be able to record everything at really high quality. Plus easy to skip commercials on playback.

mole9
Denver, CO, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Handy, efficient product with nice features.
1/6/2014

Customer review by DetailGuy

4.0 stars 1/6/2014 by DetailGuy
by DetailGuy

Good user-customizable options. Down side - tuner is for Standard Definition only so HD quality can't be recorded. You can record from HD channels but the HD quality will not be retained.

DetailGuy
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Limited Capabilities
10/21/2013

Customer review by Schwartzie

3.0 stars 10/21/2013 by Schwartzie
by Schwartzie

Recording and editing material saved seemed just fine. Ability to transfer edited material to a DVD is, to me, a 'must have' feature which is missing on this produce. Returned for credit.

Schwartzie
Gastonia, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Not what I expected...
1/9/2014

Customer review by MNOLD

3.0 stars 1/9/2014 by MNOLD
by MNOLD

Could not get this unit to work the way I wanted. I have a TV antenna, and old TV's with converter boxes. Could not watch one show and record another. I will return this item.

MNOLD
minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
this is best purchae over paying monthly service
1/12/2014

Customer review by jayantibhai

5.0 stars 1/12/2014 by jayantibhai
by jayantibhai

paying for dish network and direct tv dvr this far better for all dvd record and recording and playing letter at my time. even local chanels work for antena too.

jayantibhai
Dallas, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
great unit!
12/31/2013

Customer review by looney

5.0 stars 12/31/2013 by looney
by looney

This is the best method to record cable or antenna, very easy to use, has many inputs outputs, I tested the hard disk to DVD recording, well done! happy customer

looney
MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Hard to understand! Poor Tech support
12/31/2013

Customer review by Cage

1.0 stars 12/31/2013 by Cage
by Cage

Have had video recorders all my life - VHS and DVD. Hooking this one up makes no sense at all, and the tech support was terrible!

Cage
Rockford, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Great product
12/26/2013

Customer review by BubbaRon

4.0 stars 12/26/2013 by BubbaRon
by BubbaRon

Product works as described. Has lots of room for recording many programs over a long period of time.

BubbaRon
Romeoville, Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Good product
12/11/2013

Customer review by Hachi

5.0 stars 12/11/2013 by Hachi
by Hachi

If you want to watch tv and record a program on a different channel, use a A/B Splitter .

Hachi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cord-cutter's dream
11/14/2012

Customer review by Burkh

4.0 stars 11/14/2012 by Burkh
by Burkh

OK, this DVR has a barbaric interface and no program guide. But also no monthly fees, and as a bonus, lets you preserve selected recordings to a DVD. Its tuner is also very good- better than the prior Philips versions of this DVR. So for serious cord-cutters, this is a great machine. Its only real competition is the ChannelMaster 7400 DVR, which has more advanced program guide features and vudu internet integration, but no DVD player, let alone DVD recorder. But it is a huge electricity hog, which disqualifies it in my book. Of course the bottom-end Tivo, which works with an antenna, carries a hefty monthly fee. Here is a question for the Magnavox/Philips/Funai engineers: Why, if you set the clock to auto-update, does the hard disk run all the time, even in standby mode? This was a problem in the prior Philips version as well. But if you use the manually set clock, the unit stays in real standby, with the hard drive off, saving wear and tear, as well as energy. Just a tip for advanced users!

Was this review helpful? (177) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Burkh
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 781 total reviews
1-20 of 781 reviews