Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 820 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

820 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

5 stars
449
4 stars
250
3 stars
43
2 stars
21
1 stars
57
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 761 total reviews
8th Gen. of Philips/Magnavox HDD/DVD Recorders
9/6/2012

Customer review by wajo2

5.0 stars by wajo2

The MDR535H/F7 is one of three in the 53x Series... 533 and 537 are the others. This 535 has a 500GB HDD while the others have 320GB and 1000GB (1TB) HDDs. Primary source of info on these recorders is here: http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086 Manual is here: http://www.m4c.magnavox.com/files/m/mdr535h_f7/mdr535h_f7_dfu_aen.pdf * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * The Mag 533/535/537 (53x) Series is the 8th, and possibly final, generation of simple, family-friendly, durable, std def (SD, 480i) analog/digital DVD recorders (DVDR) with hard disk drive (HDD) that are yearly improvements of the same basic design and operating system. They're the ONLY recorders, SD or HD (720/1080), available for daily use in North America with: -NTSC/ATSC/QAM tuners for antenna or cable. -Easily replaceable hard disk drive (HDD): 320/500/1000GB (1TB). -Easily replaceable DVD burner. -Widescreen (16:9) recording. -Amplified coax and line input. -DV input. -Coax digital audio out. -1080p HDMI upconvert. -36 timer-rec programs. -6-hour autorecord buffer. -Pause & rewind live TV. -Chase play. -Skip/replay. -Simultaneous play/record. -Record while watching diff. channel on TV via coax passthru. -Integrated TV/DVDR control via HDMI CEC-link. -1-2 hour power backup, dep. on whether Auto Clock is off or on. -Simple editing for your archive copies or home movies. * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * FOR NEWCOMERS TO DVDRs OR THIS BRAND OF DVDR The 53x Series are standalone units that can record from an antenna or cable TV. They can also record from cable boxes and satellite receivers or copy from DVRs. They're so easy to use they can be operated by the entire family, from kids to timeshifters to gearheads. Timeshifters can reliably record a bunch of named shows, unattended and with NO tapes or discs. Gearheads can upgrade their HDD or create an "HDD farm" of multiple 2.5" and 3.5" external (E-SATA) HDDs with unlimited storage, <1-min. drive swapout, HDD portability, and external power for less internal heat and stress. The DVD burner is also DIY replaceable with a ~$70 OEM unit. For the past 5 years, this same HDD/DVD recorder design has proven to be a simple and reliable way to record your daily and weekly shows on analog or digital channels, completely unattended, so you can go on a long vacation or business trip and you'll never touch a disc! It's the only device you'll need to copy your family's home movies or your DVR recordings to a stand-alone, no-monthly-fee HDD, where you can edit or not, then high-speed dub to DVDs for a perfect mirror-image of the original. You can also record/copy direct to DVD, if you prefer. If you get your TV signal via OTA antenna, you won't need a digital converter box wherever you've got one of these. Fair warning: The HDD will spoil you rotten! * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * FOR OWNERS OF PREVIOUS MODELS If you looked at or have one of the previous models in the Philips or Mag HDD/DVD series, you might only need to know that, with the 53x Series, Funai is basically only satisfying a "Primary Wish": KEEP MAKING THE MDR515!. The 53x Manual reads virtually the same as the 515 manual, except they now show 900 titles possible on the HDD instead of 600. One major disappointment, other than the fact that the MDR53x Series doesn't add any new capabilities, is that the remote still operates the older Mag HDD/DVD recorders, the 2080, 2160, 2160A and 513. Users of multiple Mag machines will still have to use barriers to operate a single machine. * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * ERRORS, OMISSIONS AND MISLEADS STILL IN THE MANUAL Be aware that the 53x manual STILL has several important errors, omissions, and misleads. Three of the worst are: 1. WRONG - SETTING THIS DVDR UP BEHIND A CABLE BOX, pg 19. Makes this DVDR a "slave" to the box! It should be 1st on the incoming cable coax unless you order PPV/VOD thru the box… only then do you need a 2-way splitter on the incoming coax. The coax circuit on this DVDR passes the raw signal thru to the box, so this DVDR can "pick off" (record) ANY unscrambled channel in the signal. It should NEVER be behind a cable box where it can only record the channel the box is tuned to… EVEN IF ALL YOUR CABLE CHANNELS ARE SCRAMBLED (makes no diff.). Of course, you must do an Auto Channel Preset > Cable (Analog/Digital) to make sure your DVDR sees and memorizes the unscrambled channels (if any). 2. OMITTED - MAKING FRONT- AND END-CUTS IN EDIT, Pp 93-94. Frustrates many new users! In the Scene Delete menu, only REW stops on 1st frame and only PLAY and FF stop on last frame. 2160, 2160A and 513 also had a totally confusing and unnecessary auto-Preview after an End Cut that should be IGNORED. At least the 53x Series doesn't have the confusing auto-preview! 3. MISLEADING - RECORDING 16:9 WIDESCREEN AS 4:3, pg 45. This half-truth has caused more misunderstanding than almost anything else in the manual. It's a "deep" technical subject that didn't need to be there! It HAS TO record a 4:3 aspect pic FRAME because the DVD Std was built on the old 4:3 VHS Std, but the DVD std allows a combo of square/non-square pixels, variable horiz. rez, compression and decompression within that 4:3 frame. THAT'S what allows your HDTV to stretch the "non-square" (rectangular) pixels of a WS image inside that 4:3 frame to natural 16:9 WS aspect. You just need to set this DVDR's Video > TV Aspect to "16:9 Wide" and your HDTV on its "Wide" aspect setting. However, this DVDR's DEFAULT setting for aspect ratio is "4:3 Letter Box" so you have to change that to 16:9 Wide during setup or none of your recordings will be 16:9 WS! * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * IF YOU NEED MORE INFO OR DETAILS ON THE ABOVE, IT'S ALL HERE (same link as at top): http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086 * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * Disclaimer: I have never represented or worked for Funai or Walmart in any capacity… and currently don't work for anyone else! -:)

Was this review helpful? (330) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
wajo2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Top 10 contributor
Loved it so much, I bought two!
9/13/2012

Customer review by OttawaOgdensburgShopper

5.0 stars by OttawaOgdensburgShopper

I have an older Toshiba DVR (how old? It has 60 gb hard drive!) So I decided to give the Magnavox a try with its 500 gb HDD. I love it! It's very easy to use and holds a ton of shows. I haven't used the DVD recorder yet, but that's only because I haven't needed to free up any HDD space. One of my favorite features of this device is that it continually records whatever you are watching on TV, sort of like a Tivo, but without the monthly fee. It runs in the background so you don't even know that it's on, but from time to time I do want to rewind and have my very own "instant replay". I highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (134) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
OttawaOgdensburgShopper
Ottawa/Ogdensbug
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Cord-cutter's dream
11/14/2012

Customer review by Burkh

4.0 stars by Burkh

OK, this DVR has a barbaric interface and no program guide. But also no monthly fees, and as a bonus, lets you preserve selected recordings to a DVD. Its tuner is also very good- better than the prior Philips versions of this DVR. So for serious cord-cutters, this is a great machine. Its only real competition is the ChannelMaster 7400 DVR, which has more advanced program guide features and vudu internet integration, but no DVD player, let alone DVD recorder. But it is a huge electricity hog, which disqualifies it in my book. Of course the bottom-end Tivo, which works with an antenna, carries a hefty monthly fee. Here is a question for the Magnavox/Philips/Funai engineers: Why, if you set the clock to auto-update, does the hard disk run all the time, even in standby mode? This was a problem in the prior Philips version as well. But if you use the manually set clock, the unit stays in real standby, with the hard drive off, saving wear and tear, as well as energy. Just a tip for advanced users!

Was this review helpful? (177) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Burkh
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
My second one
7/28/2013

Customer review by RenegadeTexan

5.0 stars by RenegadeTexan

I have owned this for two years now. I have made 100s of DVDs. My first appreciation of this product was the built in tuner. I did not have cable at the time and when I hooked up my mickey mouse antenna to it I was amazed that I got both digital and high definition channels. When I did get cable hooked up it got even better! From time to time you will get an error message when dubbing a DVD. This is because the disc itself is flawed. For whatever reason the manufacturer of the blank DVD is to blame. I bought a second one when I thought my first had died after two years of heavy use. My unit froze up while dubbing a DVD and would do nothing. I unplugged it and when I plugged it back in....dead. No power, nothing. I was sad at first because I had stored so many things on the hard drive. The next day after leaving it unplugged overnight, I decided to plug it in once more. It worked! No problems. It repaired itself. I am very happy and now I have a second one for my other TV!

Was this review helpful? (151) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
RenegadeTexan
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
HAPPY TO FIND THIS
10/29/2012

Customer review by KathleenSews

5.0 stars by KathleenSews

My daughter has had this Magnavox DVD/HDD recorder/player for a couple of years. When my good ol' VCR died, I was dismayed to find that these units were priced over $1,000 and VCRs and DVD/VCRs with tuners were not available any longer. I have an antenna on the roof and do not want to pay for cable or a dish or TiVO. We just do not watch enough TV. While I thought about what to do, the Magnavox became available on Walmart.com. The unit works very well and we sorted it out easily. Be sure to go to this web site: http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086 where some techies have listed lots of information. Whoever you are, you have my gratitude. One note: If you have the HDMI fun-link (>Menu >HDMI >HDMI Control) ON, when you use the one-button record (the little red REC button), if you turn off the TV, the recording turns off, too. Change the fun-link to OFF before you use the one-button record and you can turn off the TV while recording.

Was this review helpful? (91) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
KathleenSews
Northern Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great DVR for Over the Air Users
9/28/2012

Customer review by CMHOU

5.0 stars by CMHOU

The review by wajo2 says it all but I wanted to write this one to add my name to the list of satisfied customers. I bought a 515 a few months ago and have been very pleased - and I just bought a 535 for another location. The picture quality is SD, not HD, but unless you sit close to the TV, the difference in quality is small – like watching a DVD vs. BluRay. The only "non-cable" DVRs in the market are this one, a Channel Master (did not like the specs) and TIVO which carries a monthly fee. My only wish is that Magnavox would make an HD DVR for their next version (unlikely) but otherwise I hope they continue to make this one. Like wajo2 said, the HDD will spoil you. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (78) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
CMHOU
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
The alternative to cable
12/30/2013

Customer review by Chiennoir

5.0 stars by Chiennoir

For years I paid $127 a month to my local cable TV company for what was essentially several hundred channels of nonsense. It was the same old garbage; "staged" reality shows, endless infomercials, and reruns. After being forced to deal with a particularly surly customer service rep during a two-day outage, I got mad and disconnected the cable. It was weird at first getting used to not having cable, but in our market we have 18 over the air broadcast stations. The downside to over the air digital TV is that there are no VCR or DVD recorders that access DTV. This is not the case anymore, as this Magnavox HDD recorder has a DVD burner. It receives digital TV quite well. This unit is simple to use. I read other reviews online wherein users complain of this product not being easy to program. This is far from true. It is easy to program and record. I do not miss cable. In the four years since I ditched the cable I realize I have saved over $6000!!!! That is six thousand dollars going into my pocket and not in the coffers of a certain cable company to pay for rude service people. In review, this item is great, the price is great and you cannot go wrong with it.

Was this review helpful? (64) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Chiennoir
Charleston, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/28/2012

Customer review by movingon49

4.0 stars by movingon49

I was glad to see Walmart bring this back. Only dvd recorder with a QAM tuner so I don't need the little converter the cable co. provides. I now can watch some shows and record some on hard drive or disc.

Was this review helpful? (74) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
movingon49
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT DVR!
1/9/2014

Customer review by MindyMarie2

5.0 stars by MindyMarie2

I received this DVR for Christmas. At first it seemed overwhelming to me with all the instructions. Set up was easy enough with a cable box from my local cable company. I am only able to record the channel that is on the TV because of my cable company so that was a bit disappointing. Recording from the DVR to a disc is very easy. Once you get the hang of how it works it is fairly easy to operate. Looks nice too. The remote control is good but the buttons are so hard to read that you have to memorize where the ones you use are. The picture is very nice. I did find out that when you record in HQ you use up a lot more space of the DVR and disc. I haven't used everything yet so I won't comment on anything other than what I am using. The DVD player is very good and the picture is great! The price was fantastic for what this unit does as the PVR from my cable company costs $30 per month for as long as you keep the cable. I would recommend it to my friends and family.

Was this review helpful? (79) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MindyMarie2
Meadville, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good recorder for over-the-air TV
3/26/2014

Customer review by KrunchTime

4.0 stars by KrunchTime

We decided to get away from the rising cable rates and go with over-the-air TV. This Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder has the required built in digital tuner you need to view all available over-the-air channels. One of the first things I noticed was that it is not just like the COX Cable DVR we had previously, in that you can only record one channel at a time. However, just like the older VCR's we grew up with, you can record one channel on the DVR and use the tuner on the TV to watch another channel. You can also watch something you recorded while recording something else. And, if you are watching LIVE TV on the HDD DVR, you can rewind and pause LIVE TV just like the COX DVR. I have not recorded on the DVD, yet. It plays up-converted DVD's. You can also record/burn directly from your HDD to a DVD. The quality of the recordings is very good! Almost HD..almost. Easy set up and user-friendly recording programming.

Was this review helpful? (42) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
KrunchTime
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great purchase for my needs after going to antenna
2/21/2014

Customer review by d2b2

5.0 stars by d2b2

To be honest, I have only had this for about a month so far and have still have not used all the functions but, from coming off a VCR and cable TV, this DVR/DVD recorder is so far pretty easy to use and set up (also take into consideration that I am over 50 and have not really kept up on the times). Programming regular shows with time and date is just like the old VCRs so that is no problem. My cable company was going totally digital and giving me only 8 watchable channels on my tier so I thought it was time to save some money and buy an antenna (put in attic). I bought a new TV, this new DVR/DVD, but kept my old tuner and CD player. I am so pleased with the capabilities of this device! Probably more than I will ever use! I always have something to watch since I record things during the week/month and I have tons of hours I could use to record if I wanted. I can finally say goodbye to paying those high prices for cable or satellite and still get to watch TV programs of my choice! It was a bit expensive and I am hoping it has a long life and is not something "disposable" like most things are these days! Greatly satisfied so far!

Was this review helpful? (51) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
d2b2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works well!
10/14/2013

Customer review by Bigfoot864

4.0 stars by Bigfoot864

I cut my cable and got rid of my monthly cable bill, and I don't regret it, however I did miss being able to record on a HDD as I did with cable, this Magnavox DVR lets me do the same as if I had a cable DVR, being able to fast forward, replay, etc. Plus having the ability to do dubbing. This DVR is not hard to hook up. Changing channels is a tad slow, not a big deal. However giving a title to the recorded shows or movies is awkward, and takes to much time. There should be a keyboard type pop up to use as in Netflix. The picture quality is excellence and the ability to fast forward though commercials is great as you can do if you had cable DVRS. You can't program as easily as you used to do with cable, but it's not hard to do. Look up the TV schedule on your computer, such as TV Guide and go from there. It's sure beats paying out to cable and if you decide to purchase a Tivo dvr your going to have to pay them $15. dollars a month for TV guide service, so your right back where you were with cable. Don't be worried getting rid of cable, you won't regret it.

Was this review helpful? (59) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Bigfoot864
Vermilion, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No HD tuner.
3/31/2014

Customer review by indubitableman

1.0 stars by indubitableman

I already returned this item. Like all the DVR players the big name electronic companies have been trying to unload on us for the last 8+ years this DVR has a standard definition tuner not a high definition tuner. The clever marketing makes you think you're purchasing a high definition recorder and when I read some of the positive reviews on the unit some of the people who purchased this item somehow thought they were recording in high def. I realized almost immediately that the unit featured obsolete standard definition technology and I quickly found the small print indicating the unit has a standard definition tuner. When I went back and read more of the negative reviews I found many people like me that were not happy they wasted their time on a recorder that is not high def. So I returned mine and I am purchasing a true HD recorder from ePVision instead.

Was this review helpful? (57) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
indubitableman
Mpls, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great replacement for a VCR for recording OTA
10/21/2012

Customer review by Bow2Jesus

5.0 stars by Bow2Jesus

If you need a VCR replacement for recording OTA (Over The Air) digital broadcasts then you need to look no further. My daughter bought me one of these at the start of the current broadcast season. If I record at SLP quality (same quality as VCR tape in SLP mode) then I can record 604 hours of programming on the HDD (Hard Drive). I can also set it up to record on the same channel and the same time every week. Since the entire television season lasts about 37 weeks I could set it up to record every episode of 16 different one hour shows for their entire season on the HDD, not give it another thought until the season is over and then watch each show sequentially if I wanted to. I can also choose to record the shows in HQ which is close to Hi-Def, but I would only be able to record less than 100 hours of programming. There are about eight different qualities to choose from so you should be able to find the balance between picture quality and recording time that meets your needs. In my case I have it set up to record seven returning prime time one hour shows that I have been watching for a while and five new prime time shows that I might be interested in watching. Besides that I record a number of shows that come on at late night or other times when I cannot watch them and then watch them at a more convenient time. I also have these set up to record weekly. If one of my shows was not on one week and something else was recorded then I can either delete it or watch it. One thing to know is that you can only watch the show that is being recorded when recording is happening. This is no problem for me. I simply dub all the episodes of a show that I have not watched to a DVD and watch them in my living room thru my DVD player. The input signal from an Antenna via the coax cable passes through without any loss of signal which allows you to watch a different show on your television using its tuner while the DVR is recording. If you choose the HIGH option for the recording speed the DVD is the same quality as the show was recorded to the HDD in but it takes less than five minutes to dub a one hour show. Of course, you can also set it up to record directly to the DVD in the first place when you set up timed recording but then you have to keep changing DVDs and keeping track of them. I delete shows from the HDD once I have watched them from DVD. If you use a DVD+RW for recording then you can also erase the DVD and reuse it when you have watched all of the shows on the DVD. You can also just record over another show like you can on a VCR tape but it is easier to just erase all of the shows after you have watched all of them and then reuse the entire DVD. You can write protect any DVD that you do not want to be recorded over but it might be better to record on a DVD+R or DVD-R instead. One last thing that must be understand. This recorder only tunes in OTA signals (digital and analog). It will not tune in QAM or other cable/satellite signals. You can hook up any device (like a VCR or Cable Box) that outputs RCA (Red, White, Yellow plugs) to the DVR input and record from that device but the device must be tuned separately. This DVR is so much better than a VCR and is perfect for recording OTA programming. I couldn't be happier with it.

Was this review helpful? (44) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Bow2Jesus
Broken Arrow, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
10/17/2013

Customer review by Smist64

5.0 stars by Smist64

We needed a replacement for a VCR/DVD recorder for over the air (antenna) TV recording. We were looking for a recorder that has a digital tuner to make this possible and this one does. We've had this Magnavox for a couple weeks, but so far we are loving the ability to record to either the hard drive or a DVD. The manual is long, but easy to follow, the machine is easy to program and operate. You can record one station and watch another by just watching through the TV. We are considering getting another to replace a VCR/DVD recorder that is difficult to program, because it is such a breeze to use! We would highly recommend the Magnavox to anyone looking to replace a recorder.

Was this review helpful? (30) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Smist64
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product. Super Easy Set-up
9/7/2014

Customer review by NJJim13

5.0 stars by NJJim13

My old Toshiba DVR finally gave out and I was looking for a replacement that didn't require a subscription service. I shopped all the normal online places and decided to check out Walmart on a whim. I'm glad I did. This device had a better price and better fit my needs. The setup literally took 2-3 minutes and the tuner is much stronger than my old device. I got several more channels than before and the signal was stronger on virtually all the channels (I'm in the hills and about 40 miles from NYC, which is the source of my TV signals). So far, I've been extremely pleased with the performance. You do have to schedule everything by time and channel rather than choosing from a menu, so that is a bit of a pain, but that is the price you pay for not subscribing to a service. I would say I found exactly what I was looking for and it was delivered in just a few days (on a Saturday, to boot). Great product and great shopping experience.

Was this review helpful? (27) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
NJJim13
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Finally an affordable DVR with HD TV Tuner.
10/13/2013

Customer review by Mizer001

4.0 stars by Mizer001

Thanks Walmart for offering an affordable DVR for those of us who watch local broadcast HighDefinition Television. My family has opted out of the high cost of cable and dish television contracts and instead we use Internet television via Roku and our old roof top antennas on top of our homes in Colorado Springs and Mesa. We are not limited on content that is offered and can pay for only what we truly want to watch. However, there was no good solution to record the locally broadcasted major networks (CBS, ABC, NBC, Fox, PBS and others in Mesa) until now. This Magnavox DVR works well and has a great tuner, giving us great HD 1040p resolution with progressive scan. I just had to set the aspect ratio and the progressive scan option, and left all the other settings in their default settings. We now don't miss our favorite shows or games when we are not at home. For good antenna reception of local broadcast media I installed new highly shielded cable to our old roof top antenna and a $20.00 HDTV Booster from Home Depot to give a good signal to our Magnavox DVR Tuner. We have been watching free TV now for almost two years, and that saves us allot.

Was this review helpful? (29) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Mizer001
Colorado Springs, CO and Mesa, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
We are loving this!
12/9/2013

Customer review by purveyor12

5.0 stars by purveyor12

Finally hooked up and using it aggressively, wow does it work great. No cable just digital antennae. We were able to watch a football game still recording up until the moment we caught up with the live show.You do have to make the effort to record the show you want, it does set weekly, daily, one time. Probably does a lot more I don't know about yet, still learning. Pros: Works and records like a champ Cons: The free HDMI cable the comes with this package isn't the best, my picture was better with a better cable. When you have the input straight to the TV vs from DVR to TV I noticed slightly lighter HDTV colors. This is a great product that is pretty easy to use if you aren't on the cable band wagon much like the old school VHS recorders. Yes I do know I can stream, which I do sometimes, but frankly I like the hands off approach of knowing I will have daily show I love just ready without many commands

Was this review helpful? (32) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
purveyor12
Denver,CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very nice recorder!
10/13/2012

Customer review by KCinAR

5.0 stars by KCinAR

If you understand that this is a standard definition recorder I wouldn't think anyone would be disappointed with this device. I recently decided.to rid myself of cable and satellite bills and go with over the air broadcast and a Roku player and an MK802 mini android based pc hooked up to my TV to supplement my antenna TV watching. The only thing I really missed having was the ability to pause, rewind and store programming on a dvr. I was used to having a 722VIP dvr with dish network which was great and I wanted something similar but with no monthly fees. This product fills that void but you have to understand that this is kind of somewhere in between a vcr and a subscription based dvr. The output is standard definition and you need to know that going in. That being said it is a very nice looking standard definition picture that this device puts out but it won't be as clean as your HD antenna based signal. There is no way to record by simply looking at a guide and picking a show to record and telling it.to.record all the new episodes. This device has to have a timer set up like a vcr would but it automatically records whatever you are watching to th hard drive so you do have the ability to pause and rewind live tv much like a dvr does. This recorder is packed with features and options and it doesn't generate nearly as much heat as my old dvr did so I am sure it uses a lot less electricity as well. As long as people understand this is standard definition and it has to be programmed more like a vcr to record shows then I don't see how anyone could be disappointed with it. Just one note, I have not used the dvd burner part yet so I can't comment on it. The hard drive holds so much on it I haven't had a need to burn anything to disk yet.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
KCinAR
Greenbrier, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Thankful that Magnavox still makes DVD recorders
10/4/2012

Customer review by Cindy62707

3.0 stars by Cindy62707

I've learned several things with this that the manual didn't really cover (and a call to their help line didn't know the correct answer either). 1. It will record at the scheduled time whether you put it in standby or leave it on. The manual did not address this and all the other DVD recorders and VCR's I've owned always said you had to shut the power off or put it in standby to do the timer recording. (The help desk told me I HAD to leave it on for it to record via the timer-not true). It uses a ton more power if you leave it on but I was willing to do that to make the timer work if need be. However I found out it puts itself in standby after a while and it records just fine in standby. 2. Even if you receive both digital and analog cable channels but usually just watch the analog...chose analog only. Choosing both during the setup worked for some of the channels but gave me totally wrong stations to match the channel number of others. Once I put it to just analog, things worked fine. 3. One thing does NOT work as the manual promised...I usually record to DVD so that I can put it on my computer and convert the TV shows to play on the iPad. The benefit of the HDD automatically taking over and recording to it if I forget to put in a DVD or ran out of room on the DVD was a WONDERFUL idea but it does not work completely. The recorder starts recording at the correct time BUT it does not do it to the channel you set (unless the channel you need is the last one it previously recorded on). For example, the night before it recorded on Channel 3. I took the DVD out but forgot to put a new one in. The next day at 1 p.m. it was supposed to record Channel 10. It did the recording at 1 p.m. but it did not record Channel 10 as programmed, it recorded Channel 3. I double checked my timer program (it is a daily program so I knew it was correct as it had been recording fine) and it was still set to Channel 10. The only thing I can figure out is that Channel 3 was the last channel it recorded the night before. 4. Tried reporting item 3 problem to their help desk but got terrible customer service. Was told I'd have to box it up and mail it to them and they could ship me a different one but my recorder would be gone 3 to 4 weeks and there was no guarantee that the replacement would handle things any differently!!! I didn't pay close to $300 to not have a recorder for the next month with all the new TV shows on and me not being able to record them while I was gone. It would have been nice if they would have shipped a new one and then let me return this one when the new one arrived. I wouldn't even have minded giving them my credit card number to ensure the prompt return of this one but that was not an option. I either live with it or go a month without a recorder. This has to be a simple programming coding error on their part and I think could be addressed with an update but at this point in time there are no firmware updates available. I've only owned this a couple of weeks so it is too early to know how long it will be reliable for. I had a previous Magnavox recorder about 3 years ago and it was a piece of junk. Went through two of them during the warranty period and finally got rid of it for another maker. But now hardly anyone makes DVD recorders anymore so I was forced to order this one if I wanted one at all. I'd love to come back next year and give an update to let you know it is still working. Also, if anyone else out there has this unit, could you test the problem I had in #3 and see if the HDD will record the proper channel the next day if you don't put a DVD in. Just make sure to have it record a different channel than the last one it recorded the evening before to see if it changes channels for you. Thank you, Cindy

Was this review helpful? (29) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Cindy62707
Springfield, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 761 total reviews