Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 840 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

840 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

840 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
455
4 stars
255
3 stars
47
2 stars
22
1 stars
61
1-20 of 781 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 781 total reviews
1-20 of 781 reviews
Cord-cutter's dream
11/14/2012

Customer review by Burkh

4.0 stars 11/14/2012 by Burkh
by Burkh

OK, this DVR has a barbaric interface and no program guide. But also no monthly fees, and as a bonus, lets you preserve selected recordings to a DVD. Its tuner is also very good- better than the prior Philips versions of this DVR. So for serious cord-cutters, this is a great machine. Its only real competition is the ChannelMaster 7400 DVR, which has more advanced program guide features and vudu internet integration, but no DVD player, let alone DVD recorder. But it is a huge electricity hog, which disqualifies it in my book. Of course the bottom-end Tivo, which works with an antenna, carries a hefty monthly fee. Here is a question for the Magnavox/Philips/Funai engineers: Why, if you set the clock to auto-update, does the hard disk run all the time, even in standby mode? This was a problem in the prior Philips version as well. But if you use the manually set clock, the unit stays in real standby, with the hard drive off, saving wear and tear, as well as energy. Just a tip for advanced users!

Was this review helpful? (177) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Burkh
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
HAPPY TO FIND THIS
10/29/2012

Customer review by KathleenSews

5.0 stars 10/29/2012 by KathleenSews
by KathleenSews
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My daughter has had this Magnavox DVD/HDD recorder/player for a couple of years. When my good ol' VCR died, I was dismayed to find that these units were priced over $1,000 and VCRs and DVD/VCRs with tuners were not available any longer. I have an antenna on the roof and do not want to pay for cable or a dish or TiVO. We just do not watch enough TV. While I thought about what to do, the Magnavox became available on Walmart.com. The unit works very well and we sorted it out easily. Be sure to go to this web site: http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086 where some techies have listed lots of information. Whoever you are, you have my gratitude. One note: If you have the HDMI fun-link (>Menu >HDMI >HDMI Control) ON, when you use the one-button record (the little red REC button), if you turn off the TV, the recording turns off, too. Change the fun-link to OFF before you use the one-button record and you can turn off the TV while recording.

Was this review helpful? (91) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KathleenSews
Northern Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My second one
7/28/2013

Customer review by RenegadeTexan

5.0 stars 7/28/2013 by RenegadeTexan
by RenegadeTexan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have owned this for two years now. I have made 100s of DVDs. My first appreciation of this product was the built in tuner. I did not have cable at the time and when I hooked up my mickey mouse antenna to it I was amazed that I got both digital and high definition channels. When I did get cable hooked up it got even better! From time to time you will get an error message when dubbing a DVD. This is because the disc itself is flawed. For whatever reason the manufacturer of the blank DVD is to blame. I bought a second one when I thought my first had died after two years of heavy use. My unit froze up while dubbing a DVD and would do nothing. I unplugged it and when I plugged it back in....dead. No power, nothing. I was sad at first because I had stored so many things on the hard drive. The next day after leaving it unplugged overnight, I decided to plug it in once more. It worked! No problems. It repaired itself. I am very happy and now I have a second one for my other TV!

Was this review helpful? (152) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RenegadeTexan
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GREAT DVR!
1/9/2014

Customer review by MindyMarie2

5.0 stars 1/9/2014 by MindyMarie2
by MindyMarie2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I received this DVR for Christmas. At first it seemed overwhelming to me with all the instructions. Set up was easy enough with a cable box from my local cable company. I am only able to record the channel that is on the TV because of my cable company so that was a bit disappointing. Recording from the DVR to a disc is very easy. Once you get the hang of how it works it is fairly easy to operate. Looks nice too. The remote control is good but the buttons are so hard to read that you have to memorize where the ones you use are. The picture is very nice. I did find out that when you record in HQ you use up a lot more space of the DVR and disc. I haven't used everything yet so I won't comment on anything other than what I am using. The DVD player is very good and the picture is great! The price was fantastic for what this unit does as the PVR from my cable company costs $30 per month for as long as you keep the cable. I would recommend it to my friends and family.

Was this review helpful? (79) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MindyMarie2
Meadville, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
DVD recorder - 4 stars. DVR - 1 star
1/29/2013

Customer review by nwest12

3.0 stars 1/29/2013 by nwest12
by nwest12
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

If you're looking for a way to capture video onto a DVD from various input sources, then this is the product for you. However, if you're looking for a cheap alternative to a cable DVR service, that's not really what this is. It's about as useful as an old school VCR as far as recording TV shows at preset times. You can't do series recordings. No HD. Every show must be set up individually. EVERY recording. And the recording setup is like pulling teeth. To be fair, it doesn't advertise itself as a DVR, but rather a HDD with DVD recorder, which is what it does fairly well. So the most accurate way to describe this product would be as a great DVD recorder with a terrible DVR tacked on. If you're looking for a DVR, go with TiVo or Comcast/Dish/whatever. The premium you're paying for your service includes the privilege to have an awesome DVR. I found that I'd been spoiled by all the great DVR features I was used to. It was too hard to go back to a VCR-like setup. I returned it after 2 days.

Was this review helpful? (33) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nwest12
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good recorder for over-the-air TV
3/26/2014

Customer review by KrunchTime

4.0 stars 3/26/2014 by KrunchTime
by KrunchTime
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We decided to get away from the rising cable rates and go with over-the-air TV. This Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder has the required built in digital tuner you need to view all available over-the-air channels. One of the first things I noticed was that it is not just like the COX Cable DVR we had previously, in that you can only record one channel at a time. However, just like the older VCR's we grew up with, you can record one channel on the DVR and use the tuner on the TV to watch another channel. You can also watch something you recorded while recording something else. And, if you are watching LIVE TV on the HDD DVR, you can rewind and pause LIVE TV just like the COX DVR. I have not recorded on the DVD, yet. It plays up-converted DVD's. You can also record/burn directly from your HDD to a DVD. The quality of the recordings is very good! Almost HD..almost. Easy set up and user-friendly recording programming.

Was this review helpful? (42) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KrunchTime
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product. Super Easy Set-up
9/7/2014

Customer review by NJJim13

5.0 stars 9/7/2014 by NJJim13
by NJJim13
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My old Toshiba DVR finally gave out and I was looking for a replacement that didn't require a subscription service. I shopped all the normal online places and decided to check out Walmart on a whim. I'm glad I did. This device had a better price and better fit my needs. The setup literally took 2-3 minutes and the tuner is much stronger than my old device. I got several more channels than before and the signal was stronger on virtually all the channels (I'm in the hills and about 40 miles from NYC, which is the source of my TV signals). So far, I've been extremely pleased with the performance. You do have to schedule everything by time and channel rather than choosing from a menu, so that is a bit of a pain, but that is the price you pay for not subscribing to a service. I would say I found exactly what I was looking for and it was delivered in just a few days (on a Saturday, to boot). Great product and great shopping experience.

Was this review helpful? (27) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NJJim13
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works well!
10/14/2013

Customer review by Bigfoot864

4.0 stars 10/14/2013 by Bigfoot864
by Bigfoot864
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I cut my cable and got rid of my monthly cable bill, and I don't regret it, however I did miss being able to record on a HDD as I did with cable, this Magnavox DVR lets me do the same as if I had a cable DVR, being able to fast forward, replay, etc. Plus having the ability to do dubbing. This DVR is not hard to hook up. Changing channels is a tad slow, not a big deal. However giving a title to the recorded shows or movies is awkward, and takes to much time. There should be a keyboard type pop up to use as in Netflix. The picture quality is excellence and the ability to fast forward though commercials is great as you can do if you had cable DVRS. You can't program as easily as you used to do with cable, but it's not hard to do. Look up the TV schedule on your computer, such as TV Guide and go from there. It's sure beats paying out to cable and if you decide to purchase a Tivo dvr your going to have to pay them $15. dollars a month for TV guide service, so your right back where you were with cable. Don't be worried getting rid of cable, you won't regret it.

Was this review helpful? (59) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bigfoot864
Vermilion, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Magnavox only one with a hard drive
10/27/2012

Customer review by RobWK

5.0 stars 10/27/2012 by RobWK
by RobWK
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is currently the only product sold with a hard drive and thus far only Walmart.com sells it. They have 3 units to meet expectations to include one with 1 terabyte of memory. It was my understanding that they had a fall out with Philips over copyright infringements. Both companies stopped production ( I'm not sure if it was voluntary or part of a lawsuit ) until now. I guess Magnavox won and there is no word if Philips will come out with a similar model of there own. Sounds like a Kodak instant camera moment to me. This was a gift to my dad and he has not yet tested it. He had concerns with the type of RWs and R only that it will play back on DVDs that he has purchased for his two Philip recorders. These two have since stopped working. I hope this Magnavox model will last longer. I hope to be able to find a repair shop to fix the two Philip models as he still has movies on the hard drive. Not to mention he will need to finalize DVDs to be able to play them on other machines.

Was this review helpful? (8) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RobWK
Dallas Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good value for a versatile DVD +R HD recorder
11/12/2013

Customer review by RecorderFreak

4.0 stars 11/12/2013 by RecorderFreak
by RecorderFreak
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My only reasons for not giving this unit a 5 star rating are that I prefer -R format, but nobody seems to be making that in HD DVD recorders, and the fact that the coaxial output is only for throughput of the antenna signal (you can't send playback of HD or DVD recordings to a TV via the coaxial cable, a disadvantage if the TV is located a distance, as in my case, where I have one close and one at 50', too far for reasonably priced RCA or HDMI cables). I had to put an old unused VCR recorder as an intermediary. Any serious recording should be done with an HD-DVD recorder to permit editing before burning to the final version. This unit has a very ample HD capacity. I own two other Magnavox units, one an HD-DVD and the other a simple (refurbished) plain DVD bought from Walmart.com at an incredibly low price and have never had a problem with either of them. I look forward to many years of happy use with this one. I heartily recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (30) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RecorderFreak
Cayey, PR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This product was defective
3/6/2014

Customer review by RE12354

1.0 stars 3/6/2014 by RE12354
by RE12354
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We had ordered this product previously [2]. The first out of the box hooked it up called customer Service @ Magnavox tried to make it work. They just said take it back. The second one the remote control worked but it would not turn the machine. Waited awhile decided to try again as the say sometimes is a charm. The third one tried to hook up and had to call service and spent almost an hour and it would not work. the next day I spent almost 4 hours and finally got it working. Set up to record and at the proper time it appeared it was working ok. After the hour tried to play the disk and lo & behold when I pressed the play button nothing happened. Called Magnavox and spent almost 45 min and they tried to get to play. They gave up and said it was defective and return it to the store. Doesn't Magnavox make any first quality merchandise or do the ship you all of the defective merchandise. I gave them three strikes and they were out.

Was this review helpful? (26) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RE12354
Valley , AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The alternative to cable
12/30/2013

Customer review by Chiennoir

5.0 stars 12/30/2013 by Chiennoir
by Chiennoir

For years I paid $127 a month to my local cable TV company for what was essentially several hundred channels of nonsense. It was the same old garbage; "staged" reality shows, endless infomercials, and reruns. After being forced to deal with a particularly surly customer service rep during a two-day outage, I got mad and disconnected the cable. It was weird at first getting used to not having cable, but in our market we have 18 over the air broadcast stations. The downside to over the air digital TV is that there are no VCR or DVD recorders that access DTV. This is not the case anymore, as this Magnavox HDD recorder has a DVD burner. It receives digital TV quite well. This unit is simple to use. I read other reviews online wherein users complain of this product not being easy to program. This is far from true. It is easy to program and record. I do not miss cable. In the four years since I ditched the cable I realize I have saved over $6000!!!! That is six thousand dollars going into my pocket and not in the coffers of a certain cable company to pay for rude service people. In review, this item is great, the price is great and you cannot go wrong with it.

Was this review helpful? (64) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chiennoir
Charleston, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
We are loving this!
12/9/2013

Customer review by purveyor12

5.0 stars 12/9/2013 by purveyor12
by purveyor12
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Finally hooked up and using it aggressively, wow does it work great. No cable just digital antennae. We were able to watch a football game still recording up until the moment we caught up with the live show.You do have to make the effort to record the show you want, it does set weekly, daily, one time. Probably does a lot more I don't know about yet, still learning. Pros: Works and records like a champ Cons: The free HDMI cable the comes with this package isn't the best, my picture was better with a better cable. When you have the input straight to the TV vs from DVR to TV I noticed slightly lighter HDTV colors. This is a great product that is pretty easy to use if you aren't on the cable band wagon much like the old school VHS recorders. Yes I do know I can stream, which I do sometimes, but frankly I like the hands off approach of knowing I will have daily show I love just ready without many commands

Was this review helpful? (32) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
purveyor12
Denver,CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No HD tuner.
3/31/2014

Customer review by indubitableman

1.0 stars 3/31/2014 by indubitableman
by indubitableman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I already returned this item. Like all the DVR players the big name electronic companies have been trying to unload on us for the last 8+ years this DVR has a standard definition tuner not a high definition tuner. The clever marketing makes you think you're purchasing a high definition recorder and when I read some of the positive reviews on the unit some of the people who purchased this item somehow thought they were recording in high def. I realized almost immediately that the unit featured obsolete standard definition technology and I quickly found the small print indicating the unit has a standard definition tuner. When I went back and read more of the negative reviews I found many people like me that were not happy they wasted their time on a recorder that is not high def. So I returned mine and I am purchasing a true HD recorder from ePVision instead.

Was this review helpful? (57) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
indubitableman
Mpls, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great purchase for my needs after going to antenna
2/21/2014

Customer review by d2b2

5.0 stars 2/21/2014 by d2b2
by d2b2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

To be honest, I have only had this for about a month so far and have still have not used all the functions but, from coming off a VCR and cable TV, this DVR/DVD recorder is so far pretty easy to use and set up (also take into consideration that I am over 50 and have not really kept up on the times). Programming regular shows with time and date is just like the old VCRs so that is no problem. My cable company was going totally digital and giving me only 8 watchable channels on my tier so I thought it was time to save some money and buy an antenna (put in attic). I bought a new TV, this new DVR/DVD, but kept my old tuner and CD player. I am so pleased with the capabilities of this device! Probably more than I will ever use! I always have something to watch since I record things during the week/month and I have tons of hours I could use to record if I wanted. I can finally say goodbye to paying those high prices for cable or satellite and still get to watch TV programs of my choice! It was a bit expensive and I am hoping it has a long life and is not something "disposable" like most things are these days! Greatly satisfied so far!

Was this review helpful? (51) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
d2b2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
pleased with it, so far...
11/22/2013

Customer review by jwbny

4.0 stars 11/22/2013 by jwbny
by jwbny
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've had this machine for almost a week and have used it everyday...works well and has met my expectations so far. I had to return the 1st one I bought because it stopped working while I was doing the initial programming/set up...no problem with the return and replacement. Once I received the replacement, it took some time and patience to go through the manual and set it up and learn how to use this machine...I recommend not having distractions in the house while doing so. I only have antenna tv, and am using a hd converter box, for the time being until I purchase a hdtv...this works through the box no problem. I've recorded a few shows using the dvr...just need to have my converter box set to the correct channel. I have also transferred some of my home movies, on vcr tapes, to disc. Too bad the quality of my vcr tapes has degraded over the years, but at least now they're preserved on disc. The hookup between the 2 machines was easy.

Was this review helpful? (20) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jwbny
buffalo ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not worthy!
9/11/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 9/11/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Not worth the money or headaches. It requires either HDMI or RCA inputs and that the coax connection is only a throughput and not able to be used for recording. Our 19” SDTV only has a coax connection. We finally were able to purchased a new TV with the necessary inputs. The DVR appeared to work fine for 4 days – then the display went black and there was no response so I unplugged it. I waited 5 hours before plugging it in again – but there was still no response so unplugged it til the next day. The next day we pressed power button as we plugged it in. This is a well known “reboot” of electronic devices. It worked --- for almost 5 days. Unfortunately, it once again crashed...... black display – non-responsive. We did another reboot and discovered it had crashed before it finished taping a program. It taped 41 minutes of a 60 minute program. We did not even try the DVD player/recorder – only the HDD recorder. Needless to say - it was returned Please do not buy.

Was this review helpful? (11) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Finally an affordable DVR with HD TV Tuner.
10/13/2013

Customer review by Mizer001

4.0 stars 10/13/2013 by Mizer001
by Mizer001
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Thanks Walmart for offering an affordable DVR for those of us who watch local broadcast HighDefinition Television. My family has opted out of the high cost of cable and dish television contracts and instead we use Internet television via Roku and our old roof top antennas on top of our homes in Colorado Springs and Mesa. We are not limited on content that is offered and can pay for only what we truly want to watch. However, there was no good solution to record the locally broadcasted major networks (CBS, ABC, NBC, Fox, PBS and others in Mesa) until now. This Magnavox DVR works well and has a great tuner, giving us great HD 1040p resolution with progressive scan. I just had to set the aspect ratio and the progressive scan option, and left all the other settings in their default settings. We now don't miss our favorite shows or games when we are not at home. For good antenna reception of local broadcast media I installed new highly shielded cable to our old roof top antenna and a $20.00 HDTV Booster from Home Depot to give a good signal to our Magnavox DVR Tuner. We have been watching free TV now for almost two years, and that saves us allot.

Was this review helpful? (29) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mizer001
Colorado Springs, CO and Mesa, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Replaces my VCR without too much hassle.
11/9/2012

Customer review by FanOfMag

4.0 stars 11/9/2012 by FanOfMag
by FanOfMag
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

With standard cable service, HD televisions, and aging VCRs, I needed something that I could use to record programs for later viewing. The Magnavox DVD Recorder turns out to fit the bill! The digital tuner allows me to record HD programs (something the VCR never imagined), and the HDD capability allows me to record hundreds of hours of programs. It's a little tricky to figure out how to do the set up, then I had to read the manual to learn how to record weekly programs, but it's not too difficult for a typical VCR user to master. If you don't have a TiVo or recording capability with your cable or satellite service, and you're still using VCRs for recording, you may want to consider this unit. The only downside is not being able to move a recording to a different room to watch it. Of course, if the copyright protection isn't an issue, I can record the program to a DVD and move it that way. Problem solved!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FanOfMag
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A great DVR
8/30/2013

Customer review by Moppel

4.0 stars 8/30/2013 by Moppel
by Moppel
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We cut off DirecTV and switched to Antenna TV and Netflix. In order not to miss and preserve shows that we like we bought this DVR. Recording of TV Broadcast channels works great. I have seen some reviews that complain that this DVR doesn't record 1080P but when you record with the highest quality setting you can't notice a difference between live and recorded program. Also the integrated DVD player works nicely. Programming is simple enough and recordings are managed very nicely. One thing to keep in mind is that when you record from Antenna TV you cannot watch a different channel on the DVR which is no problem since you can always do so on your TV. But you can watch a recording while the DVR is recording. I have not used the DVD-recording feature and I assume that the majority of users won't. So far I'm really satisfied! Oh one thing for Magnavox: It would be great if the display would dim a little when the DVR is switched off. :-)

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Moppel
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 781 total reviews
1-20 of 781 reviews