Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 153 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

153 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

153 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
86
4 stars
37
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 stars
18
1-20 of 149 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 149 total reviews
1-20 of 149 reviews
Excellent support on a very good device
7/15/2011

Customer review by Duerstad

5.0 stars 7/15/2011 by Duerstad
by Duerstad

After more than two months, I find the Streak 5 has been completely reliable, easy to work with, and a very useful form-factor for me. Dell is providing live US-based support--incredible and a fast and knowledgeable bunch of people to turn to when you don't understand something. I don't expect the Streak to be current in a year or so; things are all changing too fast for that. But for now, it is solid and (excuse me!) "just works." It does not lag on 3D graphics on Google Maps 5.x. As a reader (and more) with foreign character sets (Greek, Hebrew)it is quick and the display resolution and size are first-rate. Compared to my wife's iphone 4, it seems to have a more useful display with well-formed images. I'm impressed. Many reviews mention big troubles, but with the unusual attention Dell is giving to Streak support, I can't imagine these not being solved. And I can be very critical when the situation calls for it. Thanks, Dell; I hope to find as good a replacement in a couple years!

Duerstad
Colombia, SA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Unhappy
12/28/2010

Customer review by Unhappy

1.0 stars 12/28/2010 by Unhappy
by Unhappy

Purchased this and am yet to be able to use it. Very unhappy the product has no data cable to assure backup upload and download other than via unit. So when the unit freezes and is unable to reset ... and you have not had the thing for 3 hrs or made a real call I’m well not happy ... far less than expected. Clearly the unit crashed as I can’t get the software to reload after turning off and on and we can’t get the phone to open the screen to permit down load of the upgrade software “hence a data cable could have resolved this ... if its software .."UNHAPPY big disappointment” And why such a small core memory and no data cord, not cover, and no car charger "given its law, where do I stick it .... Ah needs to be seriously revisited... But guess that’s what you get when you were excited about a product and then it falls short... well i would be happy for it to turn ON right now! Trust yours was more viable than mine, needed to know the real feed back on the software and processor ...

Unhappy
Australia -Brisbane
Would recommend to a friend? No
LOVE THE STREAK
8/15/2010

Customer review by FormerIphoneUser

5.0 stars 8/15/2010 by FormerIphoneUser
by FormerIphoneUser

I have owned a 3G for 2 years now, and couldn't be happier to be trading it for the Streak. I ordered it during the pre-sale, and got it in TWO days! This product is amazing! It is light years ahead of my 3G, and it still hasn't even received the Froyo software yet. The screen is gorgeous, and the device is blazing fast. The Andriod market has thousands of apps, and I know there will be more to come. Battery life seems good so far, and the signal seems to stay strong on 3G. I was so tired of Apple making their phones obsolete every year, and pushing software updates onto phones that obviously cannot handle the changes. My iPhone turned into a brick after the 4.0 software update, and I had NO desire to get a iPhone 4 - better resolution - woo friggin who. So glad I ditched Apple and went to Andriod! I picked up my iPhone after holding the Streak and it seemed cheap! Dell did their homework on this amazing little machine! A+++++++++ DELL!!! Nice work :)

FormerIphoneUser
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dell Streak 7 Wifi Android Tablet
11/25/2011

Customer review by Mehrdad

5.0 stars 11/25/2011 by Mehrdad
by Mehrdad

At 1st, I had to replace my 1st tablet due to a technical difficulty and with Dell excellent customer service , they replaced it with another one right away in a matter of few days. This Tablet, It even works faster than my computer and I love the mobility and the 7" size which is not too small nor too big. After upgrading it to 3.2 version(Honycomb), I love the set up the way I enjoy my own set up, with excellent display and extrimly fast respond. The sound quality actualy surprised me for such a small device including all applications that comes with it or can be downloaded free thru android market. I am pleased with this last purchase from Dell specially for the price and as always with their excellent customer service that is available to me without waiting or delay. I have purchase this tablet after conducting extensive research and actual seeeing different tablets. once again, I made the righ choice by buying the 7" strak 7 Dell tablet. Anyone who is considering purchasing one, I suggest take a look at Dell Streak 7 Wifi Tablet.

Mehrdad
Beverly Hills, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Machine to Replace AXIM 51v
6/9/2011

Customer review by Beartracts

4.0 stars 6/9/2011 by Beartracts
by Beartracts

I have been looking for a replacement for my old and much loved Axim 51v. (Can't speak about thy Streak's phone function, I use it just as tablet.) The 7" tablets are too large for my hands and the smart phones are too small for my eyes and fingers. The Streak 5 does the trick. It is just a little wider than the Axim (fits in my hand) and the screen is clear and bright. I gave this a 4 because of two things: Dell has not learn from the Axim line that the back panel can cause problems. The Streak's back panel is so tight that I had to use a knife to move it back to open. Once open, it was very difficult getting it to fully close - again the knife. Has to be fully setted to turn on and will turn off is it slides open a fraction. Also, why must Dell use its own plug design? USB to USB is much easier to handle. These old hands (I started life with a slide rule) keep fumbling the unit's input plug. Last things: Andriod is nice but in no way compares to the programs available for the Windows Mobile OS (not Dell's fault.) Invest in an Otter Box.

Beartracts
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I love it!
8/3/2011

Customer review by thebear99

5.0 stars 8/3/2011 by thebear99
by thebear99

I had some doubts about this device after ordering it because of some of the negative reviews I read. I was worried about the resolution. But I have to say, I think some people are picky... picky... picky. Dots in the fonts? I don't see any. The screen looks great. I already have an Acer Iconia A500 10.1" tablet. I'm watching an episode of 30 Rock right now in Moboplayer. Also, some people have criticized the plastic used in this Android device. Although I like the A500 I bought, I find it a heavy device and I am not inclined to read books on it. The Dell Streak 7 seems perfect. It's a 7" obviously and a lot lighter. I haven't used it long enough to comment about battery power. It was easy to join my home wireless network, easy to transfer video and music too. I love it, and I actually like it better than the A500 because i can use my thumbs on the keyboard easier. I would highly recommend the Streak 7 if you're looking for a small device. If you're worried about the screen, go somewhere and look at the actual device, so you can judge yourself.

thebear99
Niagara Region, Ontario
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Be Objective!
9/16/2010

Customer review by BigBadStinkyMonkey

5.0 stars 9/16/2010 by BigBadStinkyMonkey
by BigBadStinkyMonkey

I was going to buy an ipad, but when it was released, I found out it had no phone or GPS. I was too disappointed to buy it. So I waited:( The dell streak has it all, and contradictory to belief, it fits in my pocket quite well. It is not too big to be a phone! Nobody looks at me funny when I am talking on it. They usually want to know what is it and where to get one. It is also a very capable tablet. The two thumb typing is much easier than the one finger punching on the ipad. I was surprised how functional it is even with Android 1.6. Exchange email, PDFs, Office docs, VPN, RDP - No Problem:) Google Navigation is so incredible it's hard to believe its free. 128 apps installed-all free! Battery life is excellent. Touchscreen is very sensitive. Phone actually works when holding it in my hand! I dropped it and the screen did not crack. Hmm...what else can I say...Thank you Dell. P.S. Hurry the h#ll up with the 2.2 update;)

BigBadStinkyMonkey
Baton Rouge, La
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome piece of hardware.
4/17/2011

Customer review by kevjava

5.0 stars 4/17/2011 by kevjava
by kevjava

I bought the unlocked Dell Streak 5 for AT&T to replace an HTC Nexus One, and I love this tablet after a week of use. I'm learning Android development, and this tablet is very well suited to that. I was a little worried about the size at first, but even with the Otterbox Impact case I bought for it, it slips into a pants pocket acceptably well. The touchscreen is beautiful and sensitive. The Swype keyboard takes a little bit of a learning curve, but I've gotten pretty fast with it (I'm using it to type this review now). I didn't care for the default Dell Stage interface, and replaced it with Launcher Pro, but now I'm having trouble imagining a better tablet experience. Very solid piece of hardware, and I'm very happy with my purchase so far. The only issue I've come across is that under more heavy use, the battery has issues keeping up with me for a full day. Charging cables and other accessories are a little high.

kevjava
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Frustration
9/9/2010

Customer review by FrustratedDeller

3.0 stars 9/9/2010 by FrustratedDeller
by FrustratedDeller

The streak is a great design and concept - a slighter larger smart phone/ mini tablet pc is a superb idea. It's a treat to do email and use the internet on it and even write word documents but as a phone.... it is quite breathtakingly comical how hard it can be to simply answer the phone on it sometimes. I don't know if it's the old Android 1.6 or what but I would say 1 in 3 incoming calls simply go to voicemail because the touchscreen doesn't register any input and flashes on and off. It's not a massive problem for me as I mostly use it for internet access and texting. And I don't receive lots incoming calls but every day I am simply unable to answer at least one call which is a pretty embarrassing flaw. However I would still recommend the Streak but would definitely not recommend buying it direct from Dell as their customer service is at best indifferent and there is no sign of an update from the 1.6 OS.

FrustratedDeller
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
dell streak
9/7/2010

Customer review by madhatternan1

5.0 stars 9/7/2010 by madhatternan1
by madhatternan1

Hi this is an update to one i done on the 17/07/10 I still love this phone but would like to add that since the phone has been updated to android 2.2 the phone is even better it now blue tooth's phone to phone and every thing runs even faster than before. I am on the o2 network and while i was on holiday this august in the middle of the new forest i had no problem using the internet. The speaker sound this not that great when listening to music but works great with the headset. i put a big memory card in it for the holiday so that i could put some films on it for the grandchildren and loads of game apps so while my grand-daughter was lugging around her laptop i had my dell streak in the end the laptop was packed away again and i never had my phone; so then the only problem was leaving it charging all the time while the children were on it so for me this phone is fantastic hope they keep improving on it

madhatternan1
brighton
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A Great Consumer/Business Smartphone
7/13/2010

Customer review by Kemi

5.0 stars 7/13/2010 by Kemi
by Kemi

As an iPhone user I bought the Streak just to see what difference screen size and the Android OS can make to everyday use of a smartphone and I must say I'm well impressed by both. The 5 inch screen does make a huge difference when viewing web pages because you do not have to continuously scroll sideways or enlarge the the text to enjoy your browsing experience. The Android 1.6 OS in combination with the 1Ghz snapdragon processor is very fast although not quite as smooth as the iPhone 3.1 or 4.0. I also particularly enjoy the quality of the audio both as an mp3 player and the ring tones which are far superior to that on the iPhone. Connecting to wifi is just as effortless as the iPhone whilst syncing with Google for e-mails is just as quick if not faster than that available on BlackBerry. Battery life could be better but is by no means the worst I've encountered on a phone particulalrly considering the screen size. All in, this is a very serious and worthwhile alternative to other market leading smartphones such as the iPhone or BlackBerry with the big advantage of a huge responsive touch screen.

Kemi
London
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LOVE my Streak
9/16/2010

Customer review by Catgirlpa

4.0 stars 9/16/2010 by Catgirlpa
by Catgirlpa

Several people have asked me why I didn't just buy a tablet. I said, because then I would also have to carry a phone. With the Streak I only have one device that makes calls and allows me to view full web pages, watch video, listen to music, etc. Some people don't like the size, but I'm thrilled with it. Pros Beautiful bright screen. Ability to access everything that I need on the go. Apps make it easy to access web, email, facebook, twitter, etc. GPS is awesome. Great video playback. Plenty of storage for music, video, documents. 16 GB SD card included, can upgrade to 32 GB. Cons Shipped with Android 1.6 and upgrade is still not available. Feels like the AT&T outcast device. AT&T is the 'exclusive' carrier, but they don't recognize or acknowledge the device on their web site and customer service reps, as of two weeks ago, were still mostly unaware of it's existence.

Catgirlpa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Product
7/15/2011

Customer review by onefive

4.0 stars 7/15/2011 by onefive
by onefive

Cons 1 The dedicated software does not support individual ring tones 2 does not support speed dial. 3 android keyboard keys too small for a mans hands. 4 the voice dialer is poor compared to the samsung behold which i replaced with this phone.5 Camera is not so great at nights unless i still haven't figured out how to tweak it.Pros all these can be remedied on the android market. i reviewed this phone extensively.. so i bought an otter box case as well as blue tooth at the same time .it makes sense to invest in items to protect your investment. the phone should be treated like a newborn in other words don't drop it ,but still get the items necessary to protect it. Excellent browsing, social sites a breeze and using wifi it's surfing is as fast as your average computer ...I say buy it . Dell needs to support and continues with this product. I look forward to upgrades

onefive
Jamaica
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Simply the Best.
5/6/2011

Customer review by nameyourflav

5.0 stars 5/6/2011 by nameyourflav
by nameyourflav

I have owned this phone since it became available thru AT&T. Actually two of them. The first one always seemed to randomly reboot and I was regretting my purchase even though I knew I would never be able to suffice with the apple phone again after a taste of android. The size of the screen was the big selling point for me and if Dell doesn't continue with this form factor I hope someone else does. This phone is highly portable and just a joy to use. Dell sent me another phone and I sent the original back. I was with out a phone for about an hour. Thank you Dell. And really you need to push this phone more it is The King in my book. My wife has the Atrix and my Streak seems just as fast. If you enjoy using your device for more than just talking this is the device for you. You will not be disapointed. It does everything and does it BIG. I didn't like stage at first but it has been revamped and now is perfect. Battery life: not so great but what phone is. I get a day out of mine and I use it a lot. Music, movies, streaming pogoplug. I now get to see my wife with video conference. Buy it, try it, You'll get hooked!

nameyourflav
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Concept Tabletphone, so so engineered product
1/6/2011

Customer review by jet-struck

3.0 stars 1/6/2011 by jet-struck
by jet-struck

I have been with streak for 3 weeks, and overall experience is mixed. Size, design and user experience are considered good. But there are a few problem with the phone, 1. When put down the phone a little hard on table, power cut off ( easily simulate it, especially put down by back side). Seem like battery contact disengaged. 2. Phone become very unstable,goes into hang-ok-hang cycle, after installed an application from Market, I did not analyze which one caused it, but after uninstall a few, then become ok. 3. Battery life is too short, in term of the phone criteria, (may be reasonable as tablet point of view) so i don't mind with heavier if option with larger battery. But this option wasn't given to us. 4. There is no cursor key for left, right, up and down. I considered it as design miss. Hopefully it will included in next software update.

jet-struck
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love 2 Streak
8/22/2011

Customer review by twps

5.0 stars 8/22/2011 by twps
by twps

I love this product, it is easy to use with expandability (via SDHC slot) at a great price. I've used both the Streak 5 & 7, owning a 7 has been a great experience. It takes great pictures and video and is easy to sync media with my PC. It's a great travel companion to watch movies, listen to music, surf, email, pictures, video, etc. Not to mention the GPS! I'd recommend Dell introduce a docking device for the vehicle to enable better utilization and heads up display when using the GPS in the car. I also see they introduced a home docking station with HDMI connectivity, I must try this... IT may just replace my AppleTV! The battery life is pretty weak, however if you enter airplane mode this disables the antennas not in use such as GPS and cellular. (at least in my case, I don't use these features often) This keeps the wifi enabled and significantly improves system performance and battery life. (Although the weather app may complain about limited network connectivity, but still works!) Overall, this is a great easy to use product out of the box. It is ultra portable and reliable. Now stop reading the reviews and go get one for yourself!

twps
CANADA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good for internet and notes use
1/15/2011

Customer review by tiffycouture

3.0 stars 1/15/2011 by tiffycouture
by tiffycouture

When I first got this Dell Streak, I was definitely excited. The good thing about it is that it is like an Ipad but smaller version and bigger than an Iphone screen so you can see better. The internet use is very handy and pretty fast. You can download a lot of applications like music, games, movies because it has lots of memory. The side effects is that the battery life does tend to lose a bit fast because it has so many applications being used. Cons: I used it this for a phone and it was too big to fit in my little purse pocket and to put it by my ear. Another thing I noticed is that the screen tends to be frozen sometimes when I call someone. Pros: The keyboard can use swype so it's faster.I would recommended for someone to use this for convenient internet and other applications but not for a phone.

tiffycouture
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not just a pretty case...
7/22/2010

Customer review by moffyr

5.0 stars 7/22/2010 by moffyr
by moffyr

i have had my streak for a month now and am in love with it. it is so so versatile and it is a true pleasure to use. functionality as listed on the site here is as said. there's no gimmicks and dell have delivered what is probably the ultimate smartfone that is currently available. it truly does kick iphone's shiny metal (plastic hard cased) butt. id also venture it makes the ipad a waste of time too. the streak can and does provide everything ipad does, just in a more ergonomic (and stylish) package. read the tech spec, read the reviews and form your own idea. all you need to hear from me is that it is bloomin' brilliant and does what it says on the tin. get the sat nav free app and get rid of your tomtom too. the streak is so much more accurate and is a pleasure to use.

moffyr
cambs uk
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good first tablet
8/19/2010

Customer review by imkyle

5.0 stars 8/19/2010 by imkyle
by imkyle

I have had an iPhone since 2007 when it first came out. I've had the iPhone, iPhone 3G, iPhone 3GS, and the iPhone 4. I've always wanted an Android product, but didnt want to get a phone because the iPhone 4 really is amazing. So when I heard that dell was making their Android Tablet, I was interested. Dell always makes good products. Have had a Dell computer since 1999 and never had a problem. The Dell streak is no slacker. Sure 1.6 android isnt up to date, but 2.2 will be available from what I've heard, and that will make things even better. The screen size to the gorilla glass to the speedy processor and all the way back to the fit and finish of the product really stands out. This is my first android product and I am very happy that I purchased this Dell Streak.

imkyle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I regret purchasing Dell Streak 7
10/20/2011

Customer review by Papachaucer

1.0 stars 10/20/2011 by Papachaucer
by Papachaucer

I purchased the Dell Streak 7 back in March 2011. I thought it would be good because Samsung had a worse reputation about Android updates. Even though the screen resolution was worse than the Galaxy Tab, and the battery life was much worse, I thought the support would be better. I have been adequately happy with the Streak 7, but then when they decided to update the Android OS to 3.2 on all the Streak 7s NOT locked to T-Mobile, that really tore it for me. Plus, the charging cable, which of course is not covered by warranty, has started to wear out at the proprietary connector side and I'll be having to buy a new one of those, but only from Dell or T-Mobile because it doesn't use a standard connector. The Dell Streak 7 combines clumbsy design with consumer obstacles. This product is not worth the aggrevation. Pros: tablet running Android. expandable memory with SD card. Cons: poor battery life, Dell has basically abandonned the T-Mobile devices; the apps won't move to the removeable SD card, only to the Internal SD card; the proprietary data / charger cable; screen resolution is below nearly all the other tablet computers out there; Streak 7 can't be used as a phone (except if one hops through a bunch of SIP / VoIP hoops).

Papachaucer
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 149 total reviews
1-20 of 149 reviews