Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 21 reviews | 5 out of 5

5.0 stars

21 reviews | 5 out of 5

5.0 stars

21 reviews | 5 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
21
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-17 of 17 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Best Idol Debut Yet!
5/28/2012

Customer review by Taggins

5.0 stars 5/28/2012 by Taggins
by Taggins

I never heard a more amazing album from someone who was on American Idol! Haley is brining back a sound that has been missing for years and needs to be brought back. Each song has their own uniqueness and brings out her best qualities. It's a must buy!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Taggins
New York City, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/25/2012

Customer review by chicken8

5.0 stars 5/25/2012 by chicken8
by chicken8

Haley Reinhart has a stellar voice and Listen Up is a stellar album! The songs on Listen Up have a very retro feel. Every song is more than great. It's about time in the world of music someone has come along with a sound so unique and outstanding! I was beginning to wonder if true artistry was gone forever! So glad i bought LISTEN UP1

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chicken8
arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome C.D.!!!
5/28/2012

Customer review by Danny1111

5.0 stars 5/28/2012 by Danny1111
by Danny1111

I absolutely love this C.D. It is fantastic to listen to and her vocals are amazing! Defenetly worth my money!!!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Danny1111
Norfolk, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Loving Haley's album
5/29/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/29/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I love Haley's album and there are many songs to love on it. My three favorites are Undone, Spiderweb and Let's run away. I typically "cherry pick" and just buy a good single or two. But, Listen Up is full of great songs and well worth the money. Congratulations Haley. You've outdone yourself.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
WOW!
5/28/2012

Customer review by BuildTheEconomy

5.0 stars 5/28/2012 by BuildTheEconomy
by BuildTheEconomy

The depth of this offering is unbelievable. The genius of this production is so deep that its' fullness will be progessively realized over time. What a amazing sequence of talent in one package. If she remains focused, this lady has got an incredible future... mc

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BuildTheEconomy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Absolutely Can't Miss
5/28/2012

Customer review by fover10

5.0 stars 5/28/2012 by fover10
by fover10

I loved it so much, that I went back and bought a 2nd CD to gift to a friend.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fover10
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Listen Up Review: Haley's Gifted
5/29/2012

Customer review by Negativo

5.0 stars 5/29/2012 by Negativo
by Negativo

As a huge fan of Haley Reinhart since the earliest days of her Season 10 American Idol run, I have eagerly, hungrily and obsessively anticipated the seductive siren's debut album since her elimination from the show during Top 3 week last May. At times, it seemed as if album day would never come. Beginning with her October move to LA, Haley almost immediately began logging countless hours in the studio, feverishly writing and recording album tracks with some of the music industry's top producers and songwriters. This intensive, 3 month creative period would result in her recording an album that by any measure should be considered an incredible debut effort. It also showed us something we didn't know: Haley is a very good song writer. She technically may only be 21 years old, but the girl has been infused with music since birth by her parents, who have had their own rock band since before Haley was born. Her knowledge, appreciation and understanding of music history runs deep, and she certainly showed she has the ability to draw from it in the stories she crafts in her lyrics, musical arrangements, and the catchy, sometimes hypnotic melodies of her songs. In interviews, Haley's struggled to define the sound of her album, but usually has settled on saying she was going "retro with a modern twist". On Listen Up! she was very successful at striking this tricky balance, as the album does have a throwback sound, but is definitely not old-fashioned. Haley's incredible versatility as an artist is also on display, as she successfully infused Motown, disco, rock, reggae, pop, soul, hip-hop, R&B, funk and even some hints of her famed jazz vocal stylings. Of course, no element on the album is more prevalent than Haley's sultry, sexy vocal tones that turn up the heat on virtually every song. When discussing the album, Haley's said she really wanted to make it raw and organic, but, if I have one criticism of Listen Up! it would be that production got a bit heavy-handed at times. I did appreciate some of the production effects, just not the lazy or gratuitous ones. Would have liked Haley's voice left alone more, and adding electronic drum beats and synth strings to certain arrangements only served to detract from her authenticity and allure. My suspicion is the producers decided synth would make the album sound more current, but I disagree with this thinking. Haley arranged a great blend of old and new without needing such artificial imposition. That said, from this music lover's perspective "Listen Up" is a joyous feast for the ears, and will send you on a fantastic ride that can at times blow your mind. How refreshing to have a full 14 track album without any useless filler (you have GOT to buy the deluxe version). I enjoyed listening to Listen Up from beginning to end without ever reaching for the skip track button. VERY well done, Haley! You are truly gifted. Anyway, without further ado, here is my song-by-song review. Oh My! - Expected to soon be released as the 2nd single off the album, "Oh My!" harkens back to Donna Summer's "Love To Love You Baby" in the sense that Haley spends much of the song having powerful "Big Os" [note: censors prevent use of the full word]. The Motown arrangement is contrasted with deep blaring horns, heavy production, and a ridiculous rap interlude by B.o.B that's obviously a sellout to Top 40 radio. While this tune is certainly catchy and fun, it's also a bit of a noisy mess for me. Free - The first single off the album, Free is about mercifully ending a sour relationship as nicely as possible, and showcases Haley's bluesy, sultry, jazzy tones with minimal production. I particularly love the crashing symbols as she hits her opening verse, and the hard driving drum beat accompanying her vampy stylings. Definitely one of my favorites. Liar - A rock/soul vibe with a good back beat and cool phrasing, Haley seems to be willing to tell herself anything she needs to in order to stay with Mr. Wrong. Wasted Tears - A catchy Motown track about recovering from heartbreak, this song hearkens back to early Supremes with lots of horns. Think "Where Did Our Love Go". A fun song that makes you wanna get up and dance. Undone - A piano ballad straight from the Adele school of heartache. While Haley delivers a rich, heartfelt vocal, the synth strings are sappy and the song gets too whiny and repetitive for my tastes. Not my cup of tea, but if you like melodramatic pop ballads you'll love Undone. Now That You're Here - A retro, 70's disco groove with a soulful vibe, this track gets you up and dancing from start to finish. The light, sexy, breezy flow makes it a song everyone will want to sing and clap along with. I'd say it's the catchiest song on the album, because I can't stop singing it. A love song that makes you want a partner to boogie with. Wonderland - A true retro, Motown throwback, one wonders who she's singing about being her man for the past year and a half? (cough...Stefano...cough) I like it, it's got a nice beat and is a sweet love song, but it gets a bit repetitive with the "Whoa, Whoa, Whoa, Wonderland" chorus. Keep Coming Back - A funky tune about an ex-lover who keeps working his way back again. Shows off Haley's more forceful vocals, and she tosses in a hint of growl for good measure, too! Good change of pace song, but would have liked it better less synthesized. Some cool guitar licks from Haley's father Harry. Hit The Ground Running - Man, Haley can write some sexy lyrics. This one's about Haley seducing a guy and then dumping him when he falls too deep for her. A killer torch song aching for vamp Haley to get the guys hot and bothered with a blues-rock edge instead of the sunny Motown beat. Still sexy and sultry, but catch her live performances of this one. They're so hot. Walking On Heaven - Another classic 70's disco track, on this one Haley's seeing the world through happy, rose colored lenses and is ready to sing and dance about it. I'm only too happy to sing and dance along with her! Synth heavy, but since it's a disco track it seems appropriate. Follow Me - An interesting track. Heavy synthesized distortions are over-the-top, but the reggae is pretty awesome. Not sure how I feel about this one yet. Spiderweb - This haunting, psycho-sexual rock thriller is absolutely mind blowing. I found myself addicted from the first listen, and consider it the most powerful song on the album. Vocally, Haley's at her seductive, femme fatale best. Love the tender, lullaby piano opening as Spiderweb gradually builds to full on rock before ending with the lullaby piano again. Think "Gold Dust Woman" meets "Whole Lotta Love". If this song doesn't turn you on you must be dead. What You Don't Know - A sweet song about new love emerging from friendship, this classic 70's disco track pulls you onto the strobe-light dance floor rocking the polyester leisure suit. Dust off the disco ball, and shake your groove thing, baby! Let's Run Away - Haley shows off her Reggae chops, and guess what: She's absolutely awesome!! I love the way her tone meshes with the reggae beat, and the track's fun, loving vibe is infectious. Who knew? Get me a margarita on the beach and let me dance to Haley. Final rating: Haley Reinhart's "LISTEN UP!" (Deluxe) = 5/5 Stars

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Negativo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Outstanding Album - A Rare Gem
6/1/2012

Customer review by DaMilwaukeeMan

5.0 stars 6/1/2012 by DaMilwaukeeMan
by DaMilwaukeeMan

This album is amazing.  Most albums are lucky to feature 1, 2, or 3, decent songs with the rest being "filler".  This album doesn't have any "filler".  Every song ranges from "really good" to AMAZING!  As your mood changes from hour to hour, and day to day, there is a song on this album to fit your mood that you will simply love in your current mood's moment.  I believe this is why so many people have such a hard time identifying their favorite song.  The vocals are fantastic and dynamic, lyrics are really good (how refreshing is that from a contemporary young artist!), and the music actually comes from REAL instruments being played by actual musicians.  What a novel concept in today's musical pop culture.  This is not "flash in the pan", here today - gone tomorrow music.  Get this album and you will still be listening to it decades from now..... Yes, it is that good.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DaMilwaukeeMan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Listen to "Listen-up"
5/28/2012

Customer review by Flash629

5.0 stars 5/28/2012 by Flash629
by Flash629

I am writing this review for those who have no idea who Haley Reinhart is other than a contestant on American Idol. I am writing this review for those of you who have an inherent bias against American Idol and the music that is generated from those post-Idol contestants. Full disclosure: I happened upon Haley last year on American Idol and became a fan. I was hoping Haley would break the mold of past Idols who produced same-old, same-old music. Haley IMO has achieved this beyond expectations. Not only is her voice one-of-a-kind but this album is a breath of fresh air. It has a distinct retro feel, but at the same time is very modern in composition. Each song has its strengths. I have tried to pick a favorite song off the album now for a week and still cannot do so. I strongly recommend the deluxe version rather than the standard version of this album and would encourage anyone willing to go to their local Walmart and pick-up the physical copy rather than digitally downloading the album. This music is dynamic. I have both a digitally downloaded version and the physical copy version and hear things listening to the physical CD that I don’t hear in the downloaded version.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Flash629
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
OH MY! ;-) Best Album in years!
5/31/2012

Customer review by RY83

5.0 stars 5/31/2012 by RY83
by RY83

This album is phenomenal. It is a mix of true/pure vocal talent and artistry. It has style with throwback tunes that still relate to the music industry today. An incredible mix of pop/funk/soul/jazz and with the beautiful ballad "Undone", this album should be a huge hit. Haley is extremely talented and her vocal prowess flows seamlessly throughout the CD.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RY83
Youngstown, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walkin on Heaven
6/29/2012

Customer review by Shander333

5.0 stars 6/29/2012 by Shander333
by Shander333

Title is one of my favorite songs. I can listen to her chord play in every syllable she sings and enjoy the album on repeat without getting bored... or I can just have the catchy tunes, melodies and lyrics running through my head other times. She's got such a great way of looking at the world and it comes through in her upbeat self reliant , without anger approach to even sad subjects.. Oh and did i say I love way she puts notes to the words yet? Wow does she! I'm sure everyone who takes the time to hear the songs a few times each will love each and every one of them.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shander333
Marin County, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Unique, Playful and Sultry
6/12/2012

Customer review by punwit

5.0 stars 6/12/2012 by punwit
by punwit

First CD I've purchased for myself in 15 years. Haley's vocal choices are interesting and unique. Her instincts on phrasing and inflection are without peer. Playful, mournful, sexy, happy... Anyone looking for excellent vocals and good song writing should give this a shot. Truly a standout debut.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
punwit
Ottawa, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
OH MY!
5/31/2012

Customer review by TexansforHaley

5.0 stars 5/31/2012 by TexansforHaley
by TexansforHaley

I am so HAPPY with this CD, I cannot even begin to tell you... I have yet to pick a favorite song, because each one is so special. I even find myself wanting to extend my workouts while Listening Up, because I want to hear the end of each song and then quickly get drawn into the next one. I have purchased 5 so far from Walmart, and my only complaint is that there are not enough on the shelves. EVERYONE needs a copy of Listen Up!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TexansforHaley
dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
really like Haley Reinhart her cd was awsome.
6/7/2012

Customer review by crazyquilter1

5.0 stars 6/7/2012 by crazyquilter1
by crazyquilter1

enjoyed the CD more every time I played it. Truely done in the style we are accustomed to from Haley Reinhart. Got one for myself and 2 to give as gifts. The gift recipiants really liked theirs as well.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
crazyquilter1
Detroit Lakes Mn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Listen Up....this Girls Got Talent!
6/9/2012

Customer review by ddmsah

5.0 stars 6/9/2012 by ddmsah
by ddmsah

Haley has a great a album in Listen Up.......there is something for everyone's taste and her voice is amazing!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ddmsah
Chicaog, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great c/d from a new artist Haley reinhart.
6/8/2012

Customer review by FUNGLAW

5.0 stars 6/8/2012 by FUNGLAW
by FUNGLAW

LOVE HER HALEY REINHART SO TALENTED-- AMAZING-- FANTASTIC--AWESOME SINGER AND SONG WRITER I'M SO PROUD WHAT SHE DID LOVE TO BE A HALIEN. HAHA.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FUNGLAW
NY NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Buy!!!!
6/28/2012

Customer review by J3Eliz

5.0 stars 6/28/2012 by J3Eliz
by J3Eliz

One of the best albums in a longgg time! Every single song on this album will NOT disappoint :)

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
J3Eliz
Royal Oak, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days