Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 40 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

40 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

40 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
22
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 stars
7
1-20 of 37 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 37 total reviews
1-20 of 37 reviews
9/23/2012

Customer review by ALittleFishy

5.0 stars 9/23/2012 by ALittleFishy
by ALittleFishy

This tank has been great so far. I had it shipped to my dorm in Columbus and it arrived unharmed. Every piece was included and everything works as it should. Included in the kit is a plastic lid with cut-outs for a filter, heater, and LED light cord, the Whisper filter (with a cartridge), a set of LED lights with a cord and power switch, two samples of fish food (one for tropical fish and one for goldfish), and a sample of AquaSafe water dechlorinator and conditioner. I can hardly hear the filter at all, the lights included are relatively bright, and my betta is absolutely LOVING all the room he has now, compared to the little bowl he had when we moved in. To top it all off, it was super easy to set up! I am really enjoying this tank. And so is Snowball :) Now we just need more decorations...

Was this review helpful? (61) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ALittleFishy
Columbus, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
You get what you pay for
1/11/2013

Customer review by cordaena

1.0 stars 1/11/2013 by cordaena
by cordaena

I've kept aquariums for 20 years. This is not worth the money I put into it at all. I bought this with the understanding that low light plants could grow under LED lighting. Imagine my shock when I set it up and it's so dim I can barely SEE my plants once the sun goes down. I kid you not. Those 3 little LED's they put in the hood are a joke. They're clustered together in the center in a piece that's about 2 inches wide so that directly beneath them is sort of lit, but the rest of the tank is barely lit at all. I'd have better luck growing plants under an incandescent before I'd get growth under this. The filter is made by Tetra, but it lacks the biological sponge. I thought it had been left out by mistake, but upon reading the directions realized this was intentional. It only comes with mechanical and chemical media. Which means every time your filter cartridge gets changed, your biological colony is pretty much killed except what lives in the substrate. Hello ammonia spikes every month! It doesn't even have the room to add one in there normally. I know because I had a spare (same brand, same size filter cartridge) and it won't fit properly. I took it out of the plastic housing and crammed it in up against the cartridge as a last resort because every tank needs biological media. I don't understand what they were thinking when they put this kit together. I'll be replacing the lighting pronto because even if I didn't use live plants and went with plastic, it's just plain dim and makes my setup ugly because of it.

Was this review helpful? (16) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cordaena
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent product
6/4/2013

Customer review by Gamer213

5.0 stars 6/4/2013 by Gamer213
by Gamer213

The first thing you will notice about this is that the hood is completely flat and it's looking pretty good, there is no options for cutouts or anything so bear that in mind but there is a slot for a filter so it works out and a small feeding hole, the LEDs are pretty bright it's kinda a nightmare to clip the LEDs into place but once you do it's pretty bright, and you shouldn't ever have to replace it, however bear in mind it's only in the middle so if you use tall decorations it will block the light! They should have a led strand on either side to counter this, the filter is excellent it goes inside the tank and if adjusted correctly totally silent and has a adjustable flow for those bettas or smaller fish, also can be lowered by taking the clip off and putting a suction cup on the back I totally recommend this as it is cheap and has cheap cartridges and keeps the water clear and is way cheaper then the competition , although I'm only using the filter for 3 gallons I might recommend the larger version, oh and the coord kinda doesn't stay in the slot so you might wanna tape it or glue it and that should stay unless I put it in wrong

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gamer213
Cambridge, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love The LED Aquarium Starter Kit!
2/19/2013

Customer review by timetoshop2012

5.0 stars 2/19/2013 by timetoshop2012
by timetoshop2012

I Absolutely Love This Starter Kit! I Am Using It As A Quarantine Tank Right Now For My New Baby Oscar. Highly Recommend This Kit: Filter Works Great & Has Kept My Water Crystal Clear. LED Lighting Is Very Bright & Energy Efficient. Love The Low Profile Hood! (Looks So Modern & Sleek) Excellent Value!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
timetoshop2012
Wilmington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Exceeds All Expectations
7/23/2013

Customer review by PaulnHuntsville

5.0 stars 7/23/2013 by PaulnHuntsville
by PaulnHuntsville

It's been some time since I have kept fish, so I wanted to start small. I had just purchased a similar 4 gallon tank at Petsmart with the LED lighting, but it costs much more and was a waste of time and money. I ordered this online and it came quickly. The pros of this product are many. Simple set up. I didn't need directions to have this up and running in 30 minutes. As of this writing I am letting the tank cycle, but it's absolutely a perfect home for my betta. I like the lighted hood and I think it will provide enough light for my live plants that in nature can thrive in low light conditions. The filter is wonderful, with two settings. I keep my filter set to low and it's so quiet honestly I can't hear it. You will have to furnish your own heater. For 27 dollars and a few odd cents I have Avery nice home for my fish. Thank you, Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PaulnHuntsville
Huntsville Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good starter tank, great for bettas
5/14/2013

Customer review by toastxp

4.0 stars 5/14/2013 by toastxp
by toastxp

I actually ended up splitting this tank between 2 Betta fish and they love it, one of them was actually in a half gallon bowl for 2 weeks so this is an upgrade for him and the other had his own 2.5 gallon tank. This tank cost me what it would've cost to get another identical 2.5 tank to the one I have. Very easy set up, just wish the lights were more spread out and the filter wasn't so bulky, but I'll be replacing the filter anyways since I'll be needing 2 http://www.drsfostersmith.com/product/prod_display.cfm?pcatid=9821 .Only other problem is that some of the silicone used to seal this tank traveled to other parts of the glass during assembly, so there maybe some silicone finger prints you need to rub off with alcohol.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
toastxp
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
My beta fish LOVES this tank!
6/17/2013

Customer review by 2011MomOf3

5.0 stars 6/17/2013 by 2011MomOf3
by 2011MomOf3

We had my beta in a 2.5 gallon, he was given to us as a pet without me knowing we were getting him. I wanted to get him a 5 gallon but didn't have the money. He is now 4 years old and I finally was able to get upgrade him to a bigger tank. Even though I kept his other tank very clean and changed his plants often, he really loves having this much room. They say betas hate moving water but he plays in it with it being on a low setting. The high would be far to much for a beta but the low is perfect!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2011MomOf3
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Filter is horrible!
5/14/2013

Customer review by cherokee21

1.0 stars 5/14/2013 by cherokee21
by cherokee21

I've had my tank for about a month and a half now and loved it at first. My husband got me a couple little fancy tailed guppies (since it's a little tank have to have little fish) and what the girl at the pet store told up was a sucker fish (which it was not but that was not the fault of the tank or filter). I've had to clean the filter every 4 or 5 days and after the fish we we're told was a sucker fish (again not the fault of the tank or filter) killed all but 1 of my fish. Then my poor last little fish swam into a hole in the bottom of the filter and got stuck! It was dead by the time I found it. I'm currently working on contacting the company that makes the filters to try and resolve the problem. If anyone sees anywhere in the instructions or on the box about size or type of fish that I might have missed please comment and let me know. The value I didn't feel was worth it it's a very small tank and although it comes with nice size food samples I wish it would have come with a little more.

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cherokee21
Dayton, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for Bettas
11/21/2012

Customer review by AyalaCookiejar

5.0 stars 11/21/2012 by AyalaCookiejar
by AyalaCookiejar

I purchased this particular tank specifically because of the filter. The filter has a switch on it so you can choose a high or low current. My betta fish, as well as many others, do not tolerate moving water well, and the low setting on this filter is perfect for him, and is also very quiet. The LED light is not very big, but it looks very nice and the tank is easy to set up. There's enough room in the top of the lid to fit the filter, the light cord, a heater and I use the small hole that's meant for the light cord to hang my fish net. My betta definitely loves this tank, and he is doing MUCH better in it that the one gallon tank I had previously.

Was this review helpful? (70) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AyalaCookiejar
York, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good quality glass tank for a good price
11/22/2012

Customer review by rijones

4.0 stars 11/22/2012 by rijones
by rijones

I just bought this and set it up for my Betta fish. I plan to add a Mystery Snail and African Dwarf Frog now that I have a little extra room. The filter has a flow control on it and the lowest setting produces very little current, so it seems to be appropriate for a Betta fish, since they like still water. I don't see the issue that the other reviewer commented on about the opening at the bottom of the filter; mine doesn't have this problem and seems safe for my fish. Perhaps the manufacturer addressed this. I also didn't have the problem one reviewer commented on about too many LED lights for the hood. Perhaps they got one that was packaged wrong. For $30 I can't complain, but be aware that you will need to buy a separate submersible heater if your using this for tropical fish. I bought the Tetra 2-15 at my Walmart for $14 (http://www.walmart.com/ip/Tetra-Heater-1-ct/10291808?findingMethod=rr). I had trouble finding another glass, 5-gallon, with an LED and a decent quality filter in this price range, so I would definitely recommend this. My only criticism is that the motor that slips onto the bottom of the filter slips off easily, but if you clip the cord into the designated cord clip at the top of the filter housing and make sure there is some tension, that should prevent the motor from falling off. I'll edit this review if the motor falls off while running; but I only expect it to be something I need to deal with when I remove the filter. Also, and this is being nit picky, my only other complaint would be that the hood doesn't have clips; it just rests on top of the tank, but that's not a big deal. It just means you can't flip the hood up; you'll need to take it off (i.e., when cleaning the tank). The upside to this design is that the hood is very low profile. Overall this seems like a good buy for the money. I give it 4 stars.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rijones
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Incredible little tank for saltwater reef!
11/2/2012

Customer review by Fishlover1004

5.0 stars 11/2/2012 by Fishlover1004
by Fishlover1004

I have used the 5 gallon and 10 gallon tanks for hospital tanks, quarantine tanks and show tanks. They have live rock, live sand, corals and beautiful fish, snails, crabs in them. It's very easy to switch out the given lights with reef lights from PetSmart to keep your corals and live rock/sponges alive and thriving! The 5 and ten gallon sizes are perfect for one or two little clown fish! The filtration system is plenty adequate as long as you change the filters weekly and do a 10% water change - which is what you should do anyway. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? (26) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fishlover1004
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for kids
12/3/2012

Customer review by DrCPhD

4.0 stars 12/3/2012 by DrCPhD
by DrCPhD
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The aquarium starter kit is great and my daughter loves it. It is much cheaper than individually buying the hood, tank, and filter. I like the fact that the tank is glass, compared to most other kits that have plastic or acrylic ones. The only missing item (excluding decor and fishes), that I wish was included, with a small heater. Adding the heater almost double my expense.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DrCPhD
Central Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
tank good filter bad
10/4/2012

Customer review by jdhogg92

1.0 stars 10/4/2012 by jdhogg92
by jdhogg92

The tank itself is fine,but the large opening in the bottom of the filter that sucks the water into it is to large and strong and sucked up my fish!I cut some sponge to fit in the opening which worked.

Was this review helpful? (47) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jdhogg92
orlando
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great buy
10/15/2012

Customer review by brenda707

5.0 stars 10/15/2012 by brenda707
by brenda707

I love this tank . It was very easy and painless to install. It also comes with a lid which was a plus for me since my daughter loves to put everything she can in the tank. good buy and wonderful setup for kids.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
brenda707
windsor
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Cheap
2/12/2013

Customer review by windowpane

1.0 stars 2/12/2013 by windowpane
by windowpane

I have many aquariums and have been satisfied with all of them, some were from Walmart but this particular one is terrible. The lid is very flimsy. Very cheaply made. The LED lights (3) do not light up the aquarium, only the center area. And forget any live plants. The tank itself is great but the hood reminds me of a hard plastic container lid. The regular flourescent hood is the best. Hope they go back to the origional hood for 5 gal. Oh and almost forgot, it comes with a small noisy filter. Overall, the lid is the biggest downfall.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
windowpane
kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Nursery Tank
1/22/2013

Customer review by HplyEvrAftr

5.0 stars 1/22/2013 by HplyEvrAftr
by HplyEvrAftr
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had baby bristlenose plecos and bought this site to store for immediate pickup. I hate acrylic so was happy to find an ALL GLASS 5 gallon. Came with all needed to set up a small nursery tank. I did substitute the filter for a sponge/fry filter to be safe, but other than that it's a complete setup minus heater. Would definitely recommend... :D

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HplyEvrAftr
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Loved this tank!
3/10/2013

Customer review by FinnickTheFish

4.0 stars 3/10/2013 by FinnickTheFish
by FinnickTheFish
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this tank for my betta fish and he has plenty of room to swim around! Its a great tank for the price and I especially loved the lights. The only problem was that the filter seems to be too loud or moves the water around too much because I had to turn it off because my fish didn't like it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FinnickTheFish
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pretty good tank
10/28/2012

Customer review by lalalaafishtank

3.0 stars 10/28/2012 by lalalaafishtank
by lalalaafishtank

It's a wonderful tank; however, there are some flaws. I'd like to address those first. One, the light 'path'. There were too many lights and no place for them to go! I ended up taping them to the hood for now, until I can come up with a better resolution. Two, the filter was very frustrating, and does not do an extremely good job. I'm considering in getting a different one, as I'm also not sure if it comes with all the parts too. Other than that, this is a wonderful tank for a betta fish, however I wouldn't put anything else in it (besides maybe a dwarf puffer). The lights are very interesting, and I'm probably going to use LED lights for my other tank. In the end, I say it's a pretty good idea :)

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lalalaafishtank
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not a good tank if you have cats.....
5/6/2013

Customer review by ber2wild

3.0 stars 5/6/2013 by ber2wild
by ber2wild

I love this tank.....and so does my cat.....It really is a good tank however I would not recommend it if you have cats. The lid is flat and is open in the back where the filter goes. SO, my cat likes to sit on the lid and drink the water and in result makes the tank leak down the back from the filter....which has ruined my wood table! My cat is not afraid of water so a spray bottle does nothing to keep her off! :)

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ber2wild
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great starter kit
4/15/2013

Customer review by oscarrodriguez

5.0 stars 4/15/2013 by oscarrodriguez
by oscarrodriguez
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

don't forget to include some aquarium stones and artificial plants along with your purchase

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oscarrodriguez
Victoria, Tam. Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 37 total reviews
1-20 of 37 reviews