Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 40 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

40 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

40 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
22
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 stars
7
1-20 of 37 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 37 total reviews
1-20 of 37 reviews
Great for Bettas
11/21/2012

Customer review by AyalaCookiejar

5.0 stars 11/21/2012 by AyalaCookiejar
by AyalaCookiejar

I purchased this particular tank specifically because of the filter. The filter has a switch on it so you can choose a high or low current. My betta fish, as well as many others, do not tolerate moving water well, and the low setting on this filter is perfect for him, and is also very quiet. The LED light is not very big, but it looks very nice and the tank is easy to set up. There's enough room in the top of the lid to fit the filter, the light cord, a heater and I use the small hole that's meant for the light cord to hang my fish net. My betta definitely loves this tank, and he is doing MUCH better in it that the one gallon tank I had previously.

Was this review helpful? (69) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AyalaCookiejar
York, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
9/23/2012

Customer review by ALittleFishy

5.0 stars 9/23/2012 by ALittleFishy
by ALittleFishy

This tank has been great so far. I had it shipped to my dorm in Columbus and it arrived unharmed. Every piece was included and everything works as it should. Included in the kit is a plastic lid with cut-outs for a filter, heater, and LED light cord, the Whisper filter (with a cartridge), a set of LED lights with a cord and power switch, two samples of fish food (one for tropical fish and one for goldfish), and a sample of AquaSafe water dechlorinator and conditioner. I can hardly hear the filter at all, the lights included are relatively bright, and my betta is absolutely LOVING all the room he has now, compared to the little bowl he had when we moved in. To top it all off, it was super easy to set up! I am really enjoying this tank. And so is Snowball :) Now we just need more decorations...

Was this review helpful? (59) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ALittleFishy
Columbus, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
tank good filter bad
10/4/2012

Customer review by jdhogg92

1.0 stars 10/4/2012 by jdhogg92
by jdhogg92

The tank itself is fine,but the large opening in the bottom of the filter that sucks the water into it is to large and strong and sucked up my fish!I cut some sponge to fit in the opening which worked.

Was this review helpful? (46) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jdhogg92
orlando
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Incredible little tank for saltwater reef!
11/2/2012

Customer review by Fishlover1004

5.0 stars 11/2/2012 by Fishlover1004
by Fishlover1004

I have used the 5 gallon and 10 gallon tanks for hospital tanks, quarantine tanks and show tanks. They have live rock, live sand, corals and beautiful fish, snails, crabs in them. It's very easy to switch out the given lights with reef lights from PetSmart to keep your corals and live rock/sponges alive and thriving! The 5 and ten gallon sizes are perfect for one or two little clown fish! The filtration system is plenty adequate as long as you change the filters weekly and do a 10% water change - which is what you should do anyway. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? (26) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fishlover1004
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good quality glass tank for a good price
11/22/2012

Customer review by rijones

4.0 stars 11/22/2012 by rijones
by rijones

I just bought this and set it up for my Betta fish. I plan to add a Mystery Snail and African Dwarf Frog now that I have a little extra room. The filter has a flow control on it and the lowest setting produces very little current, so it seems to be appropriate for a Betta fish, since they like still water. I don't see the issue that the other reviewer commented on about the opening at the bottom of the filter; mine doesn't have this problem and seems safe for my fish. Perhaps the manufacturer addressed this. I also didn't have the problem one reviewer commented on about too many LED lights for the hood. Perhaps they got one that was packaged wrong. For $30 I can't complain, but be aware that you will need to buy a separate submersible heater if your using this for tropical fish. I bought the Tetra 2-15 at my Walmart for $14 (http://www.walmart.com/ip/Tetra-Heater-1-ct/10291808?findingMethod=rr). I had trouble finding another glass, 5-gallon, with an LED and a decent quality filter in this price range, so I would definitely recommend this. My only criticism is that the motor that slips onto the bottom of the filter slips off easily, but if you clip the cord into the designated cord clip at the top of the filter housing and make sure there is some tension, that should prevent the motor from falling off. I'll edit this review if the motor falls off while running; but I only expect it to be something I need to deal with when I remove the filter. Also, and this is being nit picky, my only other complaint would be that the hood doesn't have clips; it just rests on top of the tank, but that's not a big deal. It just means you can't flip the hood up; you'll need to take it off (i.e., when cleaning the tank). The upside to this design is that the hood is very low profile. Overall this seems like a good buy for the money. I give it 4 stars.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rijones
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love The LED Aquarium Starter Kit!
2/19/2013

Customer review by timetoshop2012

5.0 stars 2/19/2013 by timetoshop2012
by timetoshop2012

I Absolutely Love This Starter Kit! I Am Using It As A Quarantine Tank Right Now For My New Baby Oscar. Highly Recommend This Kit: Filter Works Great & Has Kept My Water Crystal Clear. LED Lighting Is Very Bright & Energy Efficient. Love The Low Profile Hood! (Looks So Modern & Sleek) Excellent Value!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
timetoshop2012
Wilmington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Great for kids
12/3/2012

Customer review by DrCPhD

4.0 stars 12/3/2012 by DrCPhD
by DrCPhD

The aquarium starter kit is great and my daughter loves it. It is much cheaper than individually buying the hood, tank, and filter. I like the fact that the tank is glass, compared to most other kits that have plastic or acrylic ones. The only missing item (excluding decor and fishes), that I wish was included, with a small heater. Adding the heater almost double my expense.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DrCPhD
Central Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great buy
10/15/2012

Customer review by brenda707

5.0 stars 10/15/2012 by brenda707
by brenda707

I love this tank . It was very easy and painless to install. It also comes with a lid which was a plus for me since my daughter loves to put everything she can in the tank. good buy and wonderful setup for kids.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
brenda707
windsor
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Cheap
2/12/2013

Customer review by windowpane

1.0 stars 2/12/2013 by windowpane
by windowpane

I have many aquariums and have been satisfied with all of them, some were from Walmart but this particular one is terrible. The lid is very flimsy. Very cheaply made. The LED lights (3) do not light up the aquarium, only the center area. And forget any live plants. The tank itself is great but the hood reminds me of a hard plastic container lid. The regular flourescent hood is the best. Hope they go back to the origional hood for 5 gal. Oh and almost forgot, it comes with a small noisy filter. Overall, the lid is the biggest downfall.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
windowpane
kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
You get what you pay for
1/11/2013

Customer review by cordaena

1.0 stars 1/11/2013 by cordaena
by cordaena

I've kept aquariums for 20 years. This is not worth the money I put into it at all. I bought this with the understanding that low light plants could grow under LED lighting. Imagine my shock when I set it up and it's so dim I can barely SEE my plants once the sun goes down. I kid you not. Those 3 little LED's they put in the hood are a joke. They're clustered together in the center in a piece that's about 2 inches wide so that directly beneath them is sort of lit, but the rest of the tank is barely lit at all. I'd have better luck growing plants under an incandescent before I'd get growth under this. The filter is made by Tetra, but it lacks the biological sponge. I thought it had been left out by mistake, but upon reading the directions realized this was intentional. It only comes with mechanical and chemical media. Which means every time your filter cartridge gets changed, your biological colony is pretty much killed except what lives in the substrate. Hello ammonia spikes every month! It doesn't even have the room to add one in there normally. I know because I had a spare (same brand, same size filter cartridge) and it won't fit properly. I took it out of the plastic housing and crammed it in up against the cartridge as a last resort because every tank needs biological media. I don't understand what they were thinking when they put this kit together. I'll be replacing the lighting pronto because even if I didn't use live plants and went with plastic, it's just plain dim and makes my setup ugly because of it.

Was this review helpful? (13) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cordaena
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Nursery Tank
1/22/2013

Customer review by HplyEvrAftr

5.0 stars 1/22/2013 by HplyEvrAftr
by HplyEvrAftr

I had baby bristlenose plecos and bought this site to store for immediate pickup. I hate acrylic so was happy to find an ALL GLASS 5 gallon. Came with all needed to set up a small nursery tank. I did substitute the filter for a sponge/fry filter to be safe, but other than that it's a complete setup minus heater. Would definitely recommend... :D

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HplyEvrAftr
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Loved this tank!
3/10/2013

Customer review by FinnickTheFish

4.0 stars 3/10/2013 by FinnickTheFish
by FinnickTheFish

I bought this tank for my betta fish and he has plenty of room to swim around! Its a great tank for the price and I especially loved the lights. The only problem was that the filter seems to be too loud or moves the water around too much because I had to turn it off because my fish didn't like it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FinnickTheFish
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pretty good tank
10/28/2012

Customer review by lalalaafishtank

3.0 stars 10/28/2012 by lalalaafishtank
by lalalaafishtank

It's a wonderful tank; however, there are some flaws. I'd like to address those first. One, the light 'path'. There were too many lights and no place for them to go! I ended up taping them to the hood for now, until I can come up with a better resolution. Two, the filter was very frustrating, and does not do an extremely good job. I'm considering in getting a different one, as I'm also not sure if it comes with all the parts too. Other than that, this is a wonderful tank for a betta fish, however I wouldn't put anything else in it (besides maybe a dwarf puffer). The lights are very interesting, and I'm probably going to use LED lights for my other tank. In the end, I say it's a pretty good idea :)

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lalalaafishtank
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I am lucky that I found this aquarium!
3/10/2013

Customer review by theGuyFromMakiki

5.0 stars 3/10/2013 by theGuyFromMakiki
by theGuyFromMakiki

I bought my aquarium at a Wal-Mart in Hawaii. I bought it because it cost me thirty-one-dollars, while pet stores have it for about sixty-nine-dollars. Everything is great, but I had to buy an external filter from the same Wal-Mart, because the one that came with the tank did not have a biological filter. : - )

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
theGuyFromMakiki
Honolulu, HI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product
12/6/2012

Customer review by BetaJoe

5.0 stars 12/6/2012 by BetaJoe
by BetaJoe

We have 1 spoiled beta fish for, yes, a 5 gallon tank. the filter works great. We keep it on the lowest setting and placed some rocks and plants around it so he doesn't get too close to where the water is pulled up. It is also very quiet, don't even realize its on. Lights work great, but for the most part don't really use them. All in all for the price its a great buy.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BetaJoe
Orlando
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
WRONG SIZE ITs actually 10H x 8.5W x 16L
11/16/2012

Customer review by beachlovepeace

1.0 stars 11/16/2012 by beachlovepeace
by beachlovepeace

I ordered this product online Its says its "Product in Inches (L x W x H): 18.0 x 10.25 x 12.37 " This is totally wrong. ITs actually 10H x 8.5W x 16L I bought this to go in a surprise man can with a stand I pre bought. So the dimensions are very important. Now I have to return it, and find another one. Hassell that I really dont have time for.

Was this review helpful? (9) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
beachlovepeace
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great starter kit
4/15/2013

Customer review by oscarrodriguez

5.0 stars 4/15/2013 by oscarrodriguez
by oscarrodriguez

don't forget to include some aquarium stones and artificial plants along with your purchase

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oscarrodriguez
Victoria, Tam. Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not a good tank if you have cats.....
5/6/2013

Customer review by ber2wild

3.0 stars 5/6/2013 by ber2wild
by ber2wild

I love this tank.....and so does my cat.....It really is a good tank however I would not recommend it if you have cats. The lid is flat and is open in the back where the filter goes. SO, my cat likes to sit on the lid and drink the water and in result makes the tank leak down the back from the filter....which has ruined my wood table! My cat is not afraid of water so a spray bottle does nothing to keep her off! :)

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ber2wild
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect
6/3/2013

Customer review by Micronus

5.0 stars 6/3/2013 by Micronus
by Micronus

I bought this aquarium for my disabled sisters room, and she loves it. Simple to put together & to decorate. She only wanted something small & this fits the bill. We put in 3 fish & several colorful plants & ornaments. It lights up very nicely to show it off. I would recommend this for anyone who doesn't want to deal with a lot of keeping it up. Nice & simple.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Micronus
Weston, wv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product for my lil brother
5/4/2013

Customer review by Baby1221

5.0 stars 5/4/2013 by Baby1221
by Baby1221

Easy kit, need all the other stuff like rocks and fish toys, but a good price for the starter kit.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Baby1221
Brownsville, TX.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 37 total reviews
1-20 of 37 reviews