Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 41 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

41 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

41 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

63%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
18
4 stars
3
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
13
1-20 of 41 total reviews
63%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews
This thing is total garbage. Worth $5.00 max.
10/5/2012

Customer review by SaltwaterGirl

1.0 stars 10/5/2012 by SaltwaterGirl
by SaltwaterGirl

Got this today and returned today. I ended up paying almost $48.00 for it with tax and shipping. First, it only weighs about 3/4 lbs. It is the cheapest plastic I've ever seen. There are no hinges, so it just lays on the top of your tank. There are 12 cheesy plastic LED lights that are not waterproof, and there is no glass to keep them from falling into your fish tank. There is a note in "troubleshooting" that says "if lights fall into the water, unplug them and allow them to dry thoroughly". It doesn't mention to flush all of your dead, now electrocuted fish, although it really should. I have a 55-gallon saltwater tank and I figured the LEDS would be total junk, but I was hoping it would be at least a decent enough hood that I could use it to attach 300 high-powered LEDS to it, but no such luck. This thing is so flimsy and cheap that I am pretty sure my kitten would break it if he stood on it. Seriously horrible product - Why is Wal-mart even selling it?

Was this review helpful? (69) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SaltwaterGirl
Spokane, Wa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Excellent hood!!!
10/30/2012

Customer review by Cora75

5.0 stars 10/30/2012 by Cora75
by Cora75

So I bought my hood in my local store before I read some of the bad reviews, and I’m really glad I did! I agree with the other reviews, that the lights don’t look expensive, but when the hood is down the light looks just as bright as my old hood-- maybe even better. I previously had a fluorescent hood and it didn’t match any of the décor in our living room, so when I saw these new hoods I figured I’d give it a try. It looks perfect and works great! Here is my take on it for what it’s worth: the light is just as bright as the fluorescent, the hood is MUCH nicer looking (one review said it was cheap plastic, but to me it looks better than the tall hood I was replacing), and looking at the price of other LEDs, it’s a GREAT deal. I'm really satisfied with this purchase and I would encourage others to check it out for themselves.

Was this review helpful? (48) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cora75
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for 3 months, but LED's are not waterproof
12/23/2013

Customer review by PhinominalPhi

1.0 stars 12/23/2013 by PhinominalPhi
by PhinominalPhi

Bought the tank which came with the LED light hood. After 3 months 3 of the 5 lights went out, a few weeks later the fourth. As another reviewer said, I looked for a replacement string of lights, but all that is available is a whole new hood, which I don't need and is a waste. Plus the $40 price tag is a little high for having to replace every 3 months. I emailed the company a week ago about it to inquire where to get replacement lights and have still not heard back from them. When the lights work, they are really bright and beautiful, they just aren't waterproof... Which you would think they should be since they are designed for a fish tank which is full of water and the filter is splashing water on said hood.

Was this review helpful? (29) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PhinominalPhi
El Cajon, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great lighted hood
10/29/2012

Customer review by lovemyfish1953

5.0 stars 10/29/2012 by lovemyfish1953
by lovemyfish1953

I bought 2 of these for my 55 gal tank and they fit perfectly. They fit flat on top of the tank and do give a nice sleek design to it. The lights ane nice and very bright making the colors of my tank "stuff" and fish bright and colorful... I was disappointed with the pricing. The store shelf had a price of $24.99 which I did not "price check" and gave to my husband to pay for. After coming on here I found out the real price...I don't know if I would of bought these for $39.00 but after putting them on my tank I am glad I did...The only draw back I can see is if you have a "jumper" fish you will have to tape the lid down..... But I LOVE the Lighting

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovemyfish1953
Bradford, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not for a 55 gallon aquarium
9/28/2012

Customer review by PeelsWifey

1.0 stars 9/28/2012 by PeelsWifey
by PeelsWifey

Not good for a 55 gallon, maybe a smaller tank. Very flimsy and not bright at all.

Was this review helpful? (24) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PeelsWifey
Gulfport, ms
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
THIS IS JUNK. IM SO ANGRY
4/13/2014

Customer review by GrimmMouse

1.0 stars 4/13/2014 by GrimmMouse
by GrimmMouse

Im so upset with this product its ridiculous, I dont get a lot of money and I planned on this for my aquarium for at least 3 months. First its a light, thin piece of plastic, not a lid, its a cover at best. It has a hole for you to put fish food through, the lights and cord unit ARE NOT PROTECTED and its a bull face LIE that its water proof. I noticed it off when I was walking into my room today and I swore I had turned it on already this morning, tried it and there was nothing. I proceeded to take it off, dry it completely off see if I could get it to work, which it finally did come back on after flickering, made a makeshift plastic wrap cover to protect it, and IT STILL BROKE AGAIN! In the same day!!! I took off the wrap and saw the cord to the lights (that I must not have noticed in my tiredness this morning) looked corroded! so I flaked off the green stuff, and it flickered and died. the cord had WIRES EXPOSED. Ive had this hood for a MONTH. and I kept the box for 3 weeks thinking something bad was going to happen, I finally get rid of the box and BAM it breaks. I have a 20 gallon tank, everything is properly set up and hooked up, I have been a aquarium owner for at least 13 years. I had such I hopes and this just FAILED.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrimmMouse
Would recommend to a friend? No
outstanding hood
12/4/2013

Customer review by mouseyaz

5.0 stars 12/4/2013 by mouseyaz
by mouseyaz

I was afraid if my cat got up there the hood would fall into the tank...my cat can sit up there with no problems, the hood supports her weight and protects my fish from her furry little paws. I like the fact that the hood is flat and has a small area cut out to feed the fish through. Could not be happier with this hood?

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mouseyaz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Aqua Culture LED Aquarium Hood 20/55 gal
10/23/2013

Customer review by TheMiv

3.0 stars 10/23/2013 by TheMiv
by TheMiv

I am very happy with how it looks and it works wonderfully, however its sooo light it keeps tipping into the tank water every time you move it. It Fits fine, its just so lite when you pick it up, it is very easy to touch the water. You must pick it up evenly from back to front, or holding it steady from the sides! It also sits extremely low, so if you have a powerful filter, as i do, water spurts back up to the lid, ....and i don't like to keep the water line below the black tank line. I haven't had any problems with shorts because each LED light is encased in a hard plastic that seems to be waterproof?! But it looks and functions GREAT!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheMiv
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/5/2012

Customer review by white7409

2.0 stars 10/5/2012 by white7409
by white7409

its fine as far as the brightness is concerned on my set up but 40 bucks for a piece of plastic and 5 Christmas lights is a little much i think... but it works

Was this review helpful? (12) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
white7409
hazard, ky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
9/8/2013

Customer review by HeartOfFosters

2.0 stars 9/8/2013 by HeartOfFosters
by HeartOfFosters

Purchased the 20 gallon set and the lights did not even last 2 months. I've been searching for replacement light, but can not seem to find one. I don't like the idea of spending another $25 or more for the entire hood.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HeartOfFosters
Hannibal, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect for our 55 gallon tank!
11/30/2013

Customer review by Grillie

5.0 stars 11/30/2013 by Grillie
by Grillie

This LED lid is lightweight and is very bright. For a 55 gallon tank you have to buy two. They fit perfectly inside the top of the tank. The assembly takes less than 2 minutes. Seems like they could be a little less expensive, but free shipping helped.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Grillie
riverview, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Beautiful, completely transforms my tank
10/18/2012

Customer review by Justski

5.0 stars 10/18/2012 by Justski
by Justski

I wanted to update the look of my tank and get rid of my old light and hood. This lids is so beautiful. I love how it makes my tank look. The LEDs show off my fish and the water has a nice shimmer effect. Since my tank is in the living room, the look of the lid is so much prettier than the ugly hood I had on my tank before. Even my non-fish loving friends noticed how much nicer my tank looks.

Was this review helpful? (9) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Justski
Albuqueque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Hood
3/8/2013

Customer review by angelam9752

5.0 stars 3/8/2013 by angelam9752
by angelam9752

This is a great hood..better then the tall ones..great lighting and easy feed holes in them..plus it has preforated lines to punch out for your filter.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
angelam9752
home
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
PRICEY BUT WORKS FINE
2/26/2013

Customer review by 1SoundMan

4.0 stars 2/26/2013 by 1SoundMan
by 1SoundMan

THIS Aqua Culture LED Aquarium Hood FOR THE FISH TANK IS WHAT IT IS. LOOKS @ WORKS NICE. ONLY THING, IT'S PRICED WAY TOO HIGH.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1SoundMan
Newalla, Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works well, but...
1/25/2015

Customer review by settlingnomad

3.0 stars 1/25/2015 by settlingnomad
by settlingnomad

As many others here have said, the things are sleek and produce great light. Although they are flimsy, they certainly improve the overall look of the tank! I really prefer these to the ugly, unreliable neon canopies we used to buy. However, my live plants are dying, because the light spectrum in the LED bulbs is not adequate. I am not a fan of plastic decorations, and I wonder why a company that "specializes" in aquarium products hasn't cared to produce the right light to sustain living greenery...

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
settlingnomad
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
led lights
7/20/2013

Customer review by darktank

1.0 stars 7/20/2013 by darktank
by darktank

I bought a 29 gallon tank with led lighting, it only lasted 3 days before one of the string of led lights blew out, one side of my new tank now stays dark, and that's not the worse of it, you cant buy them anywhere, if walmart is going to sell this bad product, they should carry a replacement

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
darktank
louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Disappointed
9/13/2013

Customer review by PaperTreasures

1.0 stars 9/13/2013 by PaperTreasures
by PaperTreasures

It's stated measurements were incorrect [it was shorter on width and length]. It was very thin plastic. Assuming the dimensions were correct, I tried to place it on my aquarium and good thing I was holding on to it as it almost fell into the water. I assumed I was lining it up wrong, but I wasn't.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PaperTreasures
Woodbury, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
only lasted 3 months DO NOT BUY
2/20/2014

Customer review by Sounds4Life

1.0 stars 2/20/2014 by Sounds4Life
by Sounds4Life

So much for life, the LED lights did not last long only 3 months, the plastic hood does feel very cheap and you cannot buy just the lights to replace them, you will have to buy the entire hood. I'm going back to regular bulbs at least to replace them it's only 5$ verses $40.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sounds4Life
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
nice lights
4/1/2013

Customer review by JASSARKELLY

3.0 stars 4/1/2013 by JASSARKELLY
by JASSARKELLY

rather spendy for not much there. The lights are nice.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JASSARKELLY
wahiawa HI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disappointed
1/24/2015

Customer review by canane

1.0 stars 1/24/2015 by canane
by canane

Where to begin. I ordered the hood on the computer to save me time from having to travel 2 hours away to the nearest Walmart. It took over 2 weeks to get here. It never came on the day it was suppose to. If it had came in I could have taken it back but now I ended up making a trip to return it. So it's has cost me more more. The hood came in a box that was 10 times too big. The hood box was already opened. Which led me to believe it was a restock item. On top of all that it had no power cord. What a joke. I tried to use the price catcher when I ordered the hood which didn't work. It doesn't ask if you are using a promo code or gift card before it automatically charges your credit card. When I complained about the price catcher I got response the next day. When I complained about the hood I never heard from the company. Go figure! I am not sure if I will ever order anything over line with Walmart. It has left a sour taste in my mouth.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
canane
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews