Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 56 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

56 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

56 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

63%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
25
4 stars
5
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
19
1-20 of 56 total reviews
63%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 56 total reviews
1-20 of 56 reviews
Great for 3 months, but LED's are not waterproof
12/23/2013

Customer review by PhinominalPhi

1.0 stars 12/23/2013 by PhinominalPhi
by PhinominalPhi

Bought the tank which came with the LED light hood. After 3 months 3 of the 5 lights went out, a few weeks later the fourth. As another reviewer said, I looked for a replacement string of lights, but all that is available is a whole new hood, which I don't need and is a waste. Plus the $40 price tag is a little high for having to replace every 3 months. I emailed the company a week ago about it to inquire where to get replacement lights and have still not heard back from them. When the lights work, they are really bright and beautiful, they just aren't waterproof... Which you would think they should be since they are designed for a fish tank which is full of water and the filter is splashing water on said hood.

Was this review helpful? (60) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PhinominalPhi
El Cajon, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This thing is total garbage. Worth $5.00 max.
10/5/2012

Customer review by SaltwaterGirl

1.0 stars 10/5/2012 by SaltwaterGirl
by SaltwaterGirl

Got this today and returned today. I ended up paying almost $48.00 for it with tax and shipping. First, it only weighs about 3/4 lbs. It is the cheapest plastic I've ever seen. There are no hinges, so it just lays on the top of your tank. There are 12 cheesy plastic LED lights that are not waterproof, and there is no glass to keep them from falling into your fish tank. There is a note in "troubleshooting" that says "if lights fall into the water, unplug them and allow them to dry thoroughly". It doesn't mention to flush all of your dead, now electrocuted fish, although it really should. I have a 55-gallon saltwater tank and I figured the LEDS would be total junk, but I was hoping it would be at least a decent enough hood that I could use it to attach 300 high-powered LEDS to it, but no such luck. This thing is so flimsy and cheap that I am pretty sure my kitten would break it if he stood on it. Seriously horrible product - Why is Wal-mart even selling it?

Was this review helpful? (90) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SaltwaterGirl
Spokane, Wa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Horrible. Not worth the plastic it's made of.
2/22/2015

Customer review by Jess

1.0 stars 2/22/2015 by Jess
by Jess

I purchased this hood as part of the 20 gallon aquarium kit. Right off the bat I noticed that the plastic was thin and flimsy. I felt like I was going to break it as I was installing the lights (which I would like to add are difficult to snap into place). I was further disappointed when I put the hood on the tank (especially since they came in a kit together) and I found that it barely fit. It is centimeters away from being entirely too small. If it isn't sitting in the exact right place it can easily fall into the tank. The final straw for me was that about two months into having the tank all but one of the LED lights have burned out because they are not properly sealed against the moisture produced by the tank. The company does not sell a replacement set, so my only option to get light back in my tank is to buy a whole new hood, which I will be doing but it will not be this one. Also, WAY overpriced for the product, as there is no quality to be had.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jess
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent hood!!!
10/30/2012

Customer review by Cora75

5.0 stars 10/30/2012 by Cora75
by Cora75

So I bought my hood in my local store before I read some of the bad reviews, and I’m really glad I did! I agree with the other reviews, that the lights don’t look expensive, but when the hood is down the light looks just as bright as my old hood-- maybe even better. I previously had a fluorescent hood and it didn’t match any of the décor in our living room, so when I saw these new hoods I figured I’d give it a try. It looks perfect and works great! Here is my take on it for what it’s worth: the light is just as bright as the fluorescent, the hood is MUCH nicer looking (one review said it was cheap plastic, but to me it looks better than the tall hood I was replacing), and looking at the price of other LEDs, it’s a GREAT deal. I'm really satisfied with this purchase and I would encourage others to check it out for themselves.

Was this review helpful? (62) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cora75
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Understanding the Light Strands
6/10/2016

Customer review by Charles

5.0 stars 6/10/2016 by Charles
by Charles

They are bright and beautiful in my tank. I saw many complaints on the light strands. I have 2 of these on a 55 gal tank I run 24/7. I have ran the lights consistently for more than 10000 hours. That is the life of an approximate life of an LED. I simply called (800-526-0650) and ordered a new light strand (R04075) in my case and received a new stand in 5-7 days. They snap right back in reducing the cost of replacement. Comparatively, the old school hoods with the glass fixture and bulb were around 70 dollars new. The new sleek design is favorable and even my fat cat hasn't knocked it off. This is a great product but keep your book, you will need to replace the bulbs after around 10,000 hours. As in other reviews, I am unsure if they are "waterproof" but I have had strands fall in the water and they kept working and did not shock the fish.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Charles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
THIS IS JUNK. IM SO ANGRY
4/13/2014

Customer review by GrimmMouse

1.0 stars 4/13/2014 by GrimmMouse
by GrimmMouse

Im so upset with this product its ridiculous, I dont get a lot of money and I planned on this for my aquarium for at least 3 months. First its a light, thin piece of plastic, not a lid, its a cover at best. It has a hole for you to put fish food through, the lights and cord unit ARE NOT PROTECTED and its a bull face LIE that its water proof. I noticed it off when I was walking into my room today and I swore I had turned it on already this morning, tried it and there was nothing. I proceeded to take it off, dry it completely off see if I could get it to work, which it finally did come back on after flickering, made a makeshift plastic wrap cover to protect it, and IT STILL BROKE AGAIN! In the same day!!! I took off the wrap and saw the cord to the lights (that I must not have noticed in my tiredness this morning) looked corroded! so I flaked off the green stuff, and it flickered and died. the cord had WIRES EXPOSED. Ive had this hood for a MONTH. and I kept the box for 3 weeks thinking something bad was going to happen, I finally get rid of the box and BAM it breaks. I have a 20 gallon tank, everything is properly set up and hooked up, I have been a aquarium owner for at least 13 years. I had such I hopes and this just FAILED.

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrimmMouse
Would recommend to a friend? No
Disappointed
1/24/2015

Customer review by canane

1.0 stars 1/24/2015 by canane
by canane

Where to begin. I ordered the hood on the computer to save me time from having to travel 2 hours away to the nearest Walmart. It took over 2 weeks to get here. It never came on the day it was suppose to. If it had came in I could have taken it back but now I ended up making a trip to return it. So it's has cost me more more. The hood came in a box that was 10 times too big. The hood box was already opened. Which led me to believe it was a restock item. On top of all that it had no power cord. What a joke. I tried to use the price catcher when I ordered the hood which didn't work. It doesn't ask if you are using a promo code or gift card before it automatically charges your credit card. When I complained about the price catcher I got response the next day. When I complained about the hood I never heard from the company. Go figure! I am not sure if I will ever order anything over line with Walmart. It has left a sour taste in my mouth.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
canane
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great lighted hood
10/29/2012

Customer review by lovemyfish1953

5.0 stars 10/29/2012 by lovemyfish1953
by lovemyfish1953

I bought 2 of these for my 55 gal tank and they fit perfectly. They fit flat on top of the tank and do give a nice sleek design to it. The lights ane nice and very bright making the colors of my tank "stuff" and fish bright and colorful... I was disappointed with the pricing. The store shelf had a price of $24.99 which I did not "price check" and gave to my husband to pay for. After coming on here I found out the real price...I don't know if I would of bought these for $39.00 but after putting them on my tank I am glad I did...The only draw back I can see is if you have a "jumper" fish you will have to tape the lid down..... But I LOVE the Lighting

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lovemyfish1953
Bradford, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
LED light for 5 gallon Aqua Culture tank
6/24/2016

Customer review by Karrie

1.0 stars 6/24/2016 by Karrie
by Karrie

I purchased this tank for my daughter. The lighting was beautiful. 3 weeks after purchasing the light quit working all together. Nowhere am I able to find a replacement for this hood. I have searched all of the websites with no luck. Any help with finding where to get light would be great. Otherwise very disappointed and would not recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 6/27/2016

Please contact the Tetra Consumer Relations Team at 1-800-526-0650. Your lighting is under warranty and we would be happy to replace it for you. Manufacturer's Representative

Karrie
Would recommend to a friend? No
Right product wrong size!
5/16/2016

Customer review by edenANDdanielsmom

5.0 stars 5/16/2016 by edenANDdanielsmom
by edenANDdanielsmom

My mom asked for this for mother's day this year but when I tried to attach it based on the description saying it fits 20gallon...no go....will order again in a larger size hopefully..

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
edenANDdanielsmom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Aqua Culture LED Aquarium Hood 20/55 gal
10/23/2013

Customer review by TheMiv

3.0 stars 10/23/2013 by TheMiv
by TheMiv
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am very happy with how it looks and it works wonderfully, however its sooo light it keeps tipping into the tank water every time you move it. It Fits fine, its just so lite when you pick it up, it is very easy to touch the water. You must pick it up evenly from back to front, or holding it steady from the sides! It also sits extremely low, so if you have a powerful filter, as i do, water spurts back up to the lid, ....and i don't like to keep the water line below the black tank line. I haven't had any problems with shorts because each LED light is encased in a hard plastic that seems to be waterproof?! But it looks and functions GREAT!

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheMiv
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
outstanding hood
12/4/2013

Customer review by mouseyaz

5.0 stars 12/4/2013 by mouseyaz
by mouseyaz
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was afraid if my cat got up there the hood would fall into the tank...my cat can sit up there with no problems, the hood supports her weight and protects my fish from her furry little paws. I like the fact that the hood is flat and has a small area cut out to feed the fish through. Could not be happier with this hood?

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mouseyaz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
led lights
7/20/2013

Customer review by darktank

1.0 stars 7/20/2013 by darktank
by darktank

I bought a 29 gallon tank with led lighting, it only lasted 3 days before one of the string of led lights blew out, one side of my new tank now stays dark, and that's not the worse of it, you cant buy them anywhere, if walmart is going to sell this bad product, they should carry a replacement

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
darktank
louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not for a 55 gallon aquarium
9/28/2012

Customer review by PeelsWifey

1.0 stars 9/28/2012 by PeelsWifey
by PeelsWifey

Not good for a 55 gallon, maybe a smaller tank. Very flimsy and not bright at all.

Was this review helpful? (29) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PeelsWifey
Gulfport, ms
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Piece of junk!
5/15/2016

Customer review by Mommyof5boyz

1.0 stars 5/15/2016 by Mommyof5boyz
by Mommyof5boyz

I got this hood with the 20 gallon aquarium kit. After four months three of the lights are out. The hood is nothing but a thin plastic "lid". The openings in the back are wide open and there is a rectangular shaped hole to feed the fish through. All of the open areas allow for a lot of water evaporation. A replacement hood is $40! That's a lot of money considering the entire kit costs $75.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 5/17/2016

The openings in back are specifically for placement of equipment such as a filter, heater, etc, and can be covered if you are not using such equipment. Expect normal evaporation to vary depending on the time of the year, but to average 1/2" to 2" per week, regardless of style of hood. In regards to the lights, the hood and lighting have a one year warranty. Please call the Tetra Consumer Relations Team at 1-800-526-0650. They will be happy to assist you with this matter. <br /><br />Manufacture Representative

Mommyof5boyz
Would recommend to a friend? No
PRICEY BUT WORKS FINE
2/26/2013

Customer review by 1SoundMan

4.0 stars 2/26/2013 by 1SoundMan
by 1SoundMan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

THIS Aqua Culture LED Aquarium Hood FOR THE FISH TANK IS WHAT IT IS. LOOKS @ WORKS NICE. ONLY THING, IT'S PRICED WAY TOO HIGH.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1SoundMan
Newalla, Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works well, but...
1/25/2015

Customer review by settlingnomad

3.0 stars 1/25/2015 by settlingnomad
by settlingnomad

As many others here have said, the things are sleek and produce great light. Although they are flimsy, they certainly improve the overall look of the tank! I really prefer these to the ugly, unreliable neon canopies we used to buy. However, my live plants are dying, because the light spectrum in the LED bulbs is not adequate. I am not a fan of plastic decorations, and I wonder why a company that "specializes" in aquarium products hasn't cared to produce the right light to sustain living greenery...

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
settlingnomad
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
only lasted 3 months DO NOT BUY
2/20/2014

Customer review by Sounds4Life

1.0 stars 2/20/2014 by Sounds4Life
by Sounds4Life

So much for life, the LED lights did not last long only 3 months, the plastic hood does feel very cheap and you cannot buy just the lights to replace them, you will have to buy the entire hood. I'm going back to regular bulbs at least to replace them it's only 5$ verses $40.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sounds4Life
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
9/8/2013

Customer review by HeartOfFosters

2.0 stars 9/8/2013 by HeartOfFosters
by HeartOfFosters

Purchased the 20 gallon set and the lights did not even last 2 months. I've been searching for replacement light, but can not seem to find one. I don't like the idea of spending another $25 or more for the entire hood.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HeartOfFosters
Hannibal, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Disappointed
9/13/2013

Customer review by PaperTreasures

1.0 stars 9/13/2013 by PaperTreasures
by PaperTreasures
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It's stated measurements were incorrect [it was shorter on width and length]. It was very thin plastic. Assuming the dimensions were correct, I tried to place it on my aquarium and good thing I was holding on to it as it almost fell into the water. I assumed I was lining it up wrong, but I wasn't.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PaperTreasures
Woodbury, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 56 total reviews
1-20 of 56 reviews