Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 39 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

39 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

39 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
14
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
6
1-20 of 37 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 37 total reviews
1-20 of 37 reviews
So far, so good.
7/20/2012

Customer review by MissNdlp

4.0 stars 7/20/2012 by MissNdlp
by MissNdlp

This is a really cute little tank and it is an excellent upgrade for my adult betta. It's just the right size for him and he is active in it, and thriving. I have had it for a few months and so far so good. Pros: - The price is right. Many similar cube aquariums break the bank. - It's nice looking for the size and material. Many small, acrylic tanks look a whole lot cheaper. I can see no scratches or blemishes and you wouldn't know it isn't glass unless you looked at it up close. - The foot is sturdy. - It comes with a lid that my cats have not removed. - It doesn't come with gimmicky extras that inevitably stop working and render your tank useless. An LED light and an air pump should last quite a while, and are cheap to replace. You need not replace them with the same exact pieces, because the cut-outs give you some wiggle room. - There is enough room for a small heater if you want one. - The tank is light. I like that I can clean under it without it being a hassle. - The LED is bright, but not crazy. Other things that may sway your decision: - The tank is acrylic, more on that below. - The filter and light operate separately, and have separate plugs. This could be a con for someone, but this allows me to plug the light into a timer and still leave the filter running. - There is no below-gravel filter, which I have noticed some smaller tanks come with. I can't stand those because they're a tremendous pain to keep clean. But if you want one, you'd have to get it separately, or more likely make one. Cons: - The filter is a bit cheap. However, for the price and size of the aquarium, it is not unreasonable and it would be easy to replace. - The flow of the filter is not adjustable and it can be a little much for my fish. I position it up slightly higher so that the water drips down into the tank instead of flowing right in with the top half submersed, which reduces the current. So, this is an acrylic tank. What does that mean? - You have to take some care with cleaning it. It's not a lot of maintenance, and if you are gentle on your glass, it may not be any change from your usual routine. Use only soft materials and acrylic-safe cleaning products. For the outside of the tank, I use a little bit of watered down white vinegar on a soft cloth to remove any water spots or finger prints and that works beautifully. If you want to get a scraper of some kind, make sure it says you can use it on acrylic tanks, or at least feel it to make sure it isn't scratchy. If you get a piece of gravel stuck between the wall of the aquarium and whatever you use to clean it, this is the most likely way it will scratch. - If you do scratch it, there are scratch removal kits for relatively inexpensive. Glass, on the other hand, can't be repaired if you scratch it. - The tank is light. - Seams in acrylic are, overall, stronger than those in glass. That means this is less likely to spring a leak, unless it is actually broken. Those strong seams are part of why you don't need to worry too much about moving your tank while there's water in it. - Acrylic is a better regulator of temperature than glass. If you're not using a heater, this might be of some concern to you. - Acrylic is clearer than glass. It lacks the green tinge that glass has. Why four stars and not five? As I mentioned, the filter is a little cheap. The foot is sturdy enough to do the job, but it feels a little cheap as well. But overall, this is a very nice little tank with a small desk footprint. It gets the job done and looks classy doing it.

Was this review helpful? (96) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MissNdlp
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice size small tank!
7/7/2012

Customer review by autumnsunshine75

4.0 stars 7/7/2012 by autumnsunshine75
by autumnsunshine75

Prior to buying this tank, I had my betta in a 2 gallon 360 degree tank and it was all right, but I wanted a bit more space horizontally, not vertically, without having it take up too much space on my desk. I thought this 3 gallon was the perfect size. It has a square feeding hole in the front of the lid that measures 1-1/2" x 1-1/2", and the back of the lid has plenty of space for electrical cords to hang out. There is a switch to turn the lights on and off near the base of the light, so I don't have to unplug it from the outlet. The only drawback is that condensation does build up on the lid and around the sides of the tank that does not have water, but that's usually how it is with warm water tanks that have a lid that covers most parts of the tank. For the price I paid, I thought it would come with all the decorations shown in the picture on the box, but it doesn't, which is fine, since I mainly chose this tank due to the size and appearance and did not find anything else like it. I am not using the filter that it came with, so I do not know whether it works well or not. Height of the tank not including the base and light is about 9 inches. The top diameter of the tank measures 9-3/4" x 9-3/4" and the bottom diameter measures 9-1/4" x 9-1/4" (it tapers slightly).

Was this review helpful? (82) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
autumnsunshine75
Orange County, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This tank is worth having
9/12/2012

Customer review by Pylarr

5.0 stars 9/12/2012 by Pylarr
by Pylarr

I bought this tank for my African Dwarf Frogs/Mystery Snail and Beta Fish. They are living happy and healthy in this tank. Thanks for the positve reviews.

Was this review helpful? (39) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pylarr
Boston MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Exactly what I expected... however...
8/4/2012

Customer review by Sebowe

4.0 stars 8/4/2012 by Sebowe
by Sebowe

I love the look of this aquarium as it truly is an ideal size for a petite tank, and was relatively inexpensive. I just have two frustrations though: 1) I had this item 'shipped to store' since it was not carried in my local Walmart. I was about to set it up, and I noticed the corner of the tank was cracked. Lesson learned - Make sure you check it in the store before you leave! I'm about to take this back to the store to order a new one. I've attached a photo of said crack. 2) The instructions for the actual filter and pump are not included, so you may have to Google around for that. It's pretty simple and instructions may not be needed, but would be an inconvenience if you're a aquarium novice as this could be considered a beginners aquarium. I've attached a photo of the part from the the instruction where it mentions the filter and pump I know at the end of the day, I anticipate being happy with this tank. I just haven't been able to officially try it out yet. It's eventually going to house a beta that was orphaned onto a friend of a friend's doorstep!

Was this review helpful? (34) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sebowe
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice starter tank
7/15/2012

Customer review by veganforlife

4.0 stars 7/15/2012 by veganforlife
by veganforlife

This is perfect for a desk or bedroom. Operates quiet.

Was this review helpful? (32) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
veganforlife
MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome betta tank
7/18/2013

Customer review by crazyfishgirl

5.0 stars 7/18/2013 by crazyfishgirl
by crazyfishgirl

I bought this tank for my male betta. It's small but beware because once you fill it up it can weigh about 30 pounds. Ideal for a sturdy side table or night stand. The LED light is decent though adding the blue background definitely helped make it look brighter. The filter has been keeping the water pretty clear but that might be because there's just one fish in there. Don't push the filter in too close to your gravel as it may suck up some of the pebbles and jam up. Overall, this is a great small tank. My betta seems very happy in it.

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
crazyfishgirl
boonton nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Stylish fish house
5/29/2014

Customer review by SeekToFind

5.0 stars 5/29/2014 by SeekToFind
by SeekToFind

I had my betta in a plastic tank 1/6 the size of this aquarium. Although bigger than the bowl he came in, I still felt he needed more room. This aquarium fits the bill perfectly. He is much happier and has room to actually swim instead of just move around. The aquarium is basically a cube, which provides good viewing from all angles, and the LED lamp is excellent, bright but not glary. I put in some gravel and two plastic plants, which adds to the décor but doesn't diminish the space. I am not using the filter or the heater, as there is a plastic lid to insulate the aquarium and I didn't use these items before. I just made sure to empty all the water and rinse out the gravel once per week, which I will continue to do. I have already recommended this to a friend who immediately purchased it. I think you will like it if you are looking for a stylish tank that is not too big and not too small.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SeekToFind
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great little tank
9/26/2012

Customer review by acody

4.0 stars 9/26/2012 by acody
by acody

I bought this tank on a whim at my local store so my betta could have light and heat (note: heater sold separately). I set him up with a tropical oasis and he loves it as He has been swimming around a lot more. I'm still not sure how the filter is working though as the betta food sits next to it. Overall, I like this tank and recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
acody
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not As Expected
8/3/2012

Customer review by LaCubanassa

2.0 stars 8/3/2012 by LaCubanassa
by LaCubanassa

This tank, while sleek and stylish, is rather flawed. 1. 3 gallons isn't enough for little fish, like the mollies in the picture. The only thing that could comfortably live in this (with a heater too!) would be a betta, which is what I have. 2. The filter is nowhere near "whisper" quiet. It has a loud, vibrating motor, and the unit will often bubble over causing the water to splash and shake. It's surprising, as I had another Whisper filtration system in the past and that one was barely noticeable. 3. The lid constantly has condensation droplets on it, reducing the "ooh" factor significantly. I really wish it came with a true electric motor, not a dinky little air pump that sucks dirty water up only to be spit out around a filter cartridge, not through it. If you're looking for a small tank, you're better off with the Marineland 5-gallon hex, which is larger and also cheaper (available at Amazon) or the Fluval 4-gallon tank if you're looking to spend a little more for quality. The good things about it? It shipped in less than 3 days, is very modern, and the l.e.d's make it really pretty, especially at night. Just don't leave the light on too long or else your betta's coloring could begin to fade slightly. At least Vinnie, my betta fish, seems to be content in the tank. It's fair, but not any more than that.

Was this review helpful? (31) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LaCubanassa
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great tank for a betta fish!
11/14/2012

Customer review by TheSquadLeader

5.0 stars 11/14/2012 by TheSquadLeader
by TheSquadLeader

I absolutely love this tank. I feel it is the perfect size for a male betta fish. I also like the fact the cover is clear, not solid. Because it's make of acrylic, when full of water, I can still move it around. Makes cleaning in and around it much easier than glass tanks.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheSquadLeader
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
low quality
10/6/2012

Customer review by Sterlingirl

3.0 stars 10/6/2012 by Sterlingirl
by Sterlingirl

You get what you pay for. Cheaply made but does hold water. Filter is biggest issue as its suction cups don't hold and filter "lid" doesn't stay on. Very poorly made hinge. Bubbler that makes filter work forces off lid and spits water outside tank. It's all in one with light, tank, and filter,w/ pump., but all pretty low quality. Good for a betta tank or a beginner.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sterlingirl
Imlay City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Just Okay. Needs a better filter to make it good.
12/14/2012

Customer review by twood68

3.0 stars 12/14/2012 by twood68
by twood68

I bought this tank to keep a Betta. The tank is attractive but is made from cheap plastic and scratches very easily. Mine already has a scratches just from aranging plants. It comes with an LED light fixture, a tiny air pump and a tiny internal filter that is powered by air bubbles from the air pump. The filter is so small and weak that I did not even bother using it. Instead I purchased a TOM Aquarium Mini Internal filter from Amazon that works great. The light fixture is dim and is only suitable for viewing fish. If you want to keep live plants, you will need something much brighter. If you don't want live plants, the light will be fine. Overall it's a decent Betta tank, but needs a better filter.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
twood68
Lawrenceville, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It was perfect
2/1/2014

Customer review by Jujaband6

5.0 stars 2/1/2014 by Jujaband6
by Jujaband6

The tank was perfect for me.. Before I bought the tank I read some other reviews on it, and saw that a couple people's tank came in cracked but they had also shipped it to a store near by. Anyway I ordered the tank (I had it shipped to my house), and I was worried that mine would come in cracked as well. So I emailed Walmart and said that I had read some reviews on it, and it came in cracked. They emailed me back in less than 24 hours saying they changed the manufacturer who was shipping it, and that it should not come in cracked. 2 Days later my tank arrived to my house, I opened it up I there we NO cracks nor scratches, I was so relived and very happy. It was also very easy to set up, I have not ran the filter/ air pump yet as I have not purchased my fish. I did test out the light which worked perfect, and set up the filter/air pump. If you have never bought I fish before you should fill the tank up with water and let everything run for a day or two before you get the fish. The only problem with the tank was that is did not come with instructions, although it had a "set-up guide" it did not explain how to set up the filter/air pump. It said to follow the installation ans safety instructions packed with the individual units, which there was no instructions for the individual units.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jujaband6
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great betta tank
7/23/2013

Customer review by fivebettaslover

4.0 stars 7/23/2013 by fivebettaslover
by fivebettaslover

I really like this tank. It's avery good size for a betta. Nothing else. It looks very modern and is quite spacious. My betta loves it! Also not so heavy just in case you decide to move it around.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fivebettaslover
jupiter, florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great small tank
12/2/2012

Customer review by TicTacFriend

5.0 stars 12/2/2012 by TicTacFriend
by TicTacFriend

My favorite of the three styles of nano tanks I own. Yes, there is condensation on top but that's to be expected with a warm water tank. Good lighting and feeding hole. Plenty of room for heater cords, etc. I have had no problems with the air pump included although I admit it's only been up and running for 2 weeks. Will probably be my tank of choice for future bettas.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TicTacFriend
northern Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ordered online - arrived cracked.
12/30/2013

Customer review by Heater42

1.0 stars 12/30/2013 by Heater42
by Heater42

I ordered this online for a Christmas gift, and it arrived with a crack in it. I managed to deal with the returns center, and had another shipped out, for free (returning the damaged item was free, too). I got another one in the mail within a week. This one was packaged better, but it was also cracked! I retuned it to the store (which was also easy, except for the long line!!) and did not try to purchase another. It was very lightweight and plastic, therefore fragile I guess. I would recommend buying this in the store but opening the box first to avoid headaches. I went with a more expensive, glass tank, somewhere else.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Heater42
Cleveland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Great inexpensive aquarium
11/20/2013

Customer review by Arala

5.0 stars 11/20/2013 by Arala
by Arala

I love this little aquarium so much for my bettas I bought 4 of them. It looks great and I haven't had problems with the pump or the light. Very pleased with them and have had them about a year and a half. My favorite and plenty of room for my fish. Easy to keep clean and sterilize too. Looks like a more expensive glass version.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Arala
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for fish not frogs
1/5/2013

Customer review by Donark

4.0 stars 1/5/2013 by Donark
by Donark

This is a great size tank for my daughters dorm room. She has two guppies and one African dwarf frog. This tank has holes in the top lid for feeding and by the filter and our first frog jumped out. We had to tape a piece of screen or we have drawer liners with holes in it that is more flexible and this works. Love the tank otherwise.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Donark
Chicago, il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
OK product but warped cover
2/25/2014

Customer review by djags

3.0 stars 2/25/2014 by djags
by djags

Other reviews talked about a warped cover but this one was really bad. Tried everything to straighten it out. Now I just have paperweights and clear duct tape to hold down. I also had to purchase a better filter than what came with the box. It was a good price thru Walmart but not worth the $50 they wanted for this on Amazon.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
djags
Windsor, CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hi tech look at a low tech price
7/10/2014

Customer review by Bill38112

5.0 stars 7/10/2014 by Bill38112
by Bill38112

I bought this tank to house a betta I imported from Thailand. I have several other small tanks and this is my favorite, It is equipped with an LED light and a properly sized in tank filter. I have had problems with finding filters for the small tanks. Most are too powerful for a 1-3 gallon tank and stress the fish. This is perfect. Most Japanese lookalike nano tanks are two to three times the price of this tank. If you want a high tech look at a reasonable price, this is it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bill38112
Mem
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 37 total reviews
1-20 of 37 reviews