Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 437 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

437 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

437 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
325
4 stars
75
3 stars
15
2 stars
12
1 stars
10
1-20 of 409 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 409 total reviews
1-20 of 409 reviews
Android PMP
11/2/2011

Customer review by bioroid09

4.0 stars 11/2/2011 by bioroid09
by bioroid09

I think that the Samsung Galaxy Player 5.0 is the best pmp on the market. It offers lots of things that competitors don't. Like a bigger screen, a microsd card slot, high quality stereo speakers, and etc. If you are planning on getting a new pmp compare this product with the leading competition and you will see why I chose the Samsung Galaxy Player 5.0 over them.

bioroid09
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
perfect for travel, pictures, music, reader, etc.
9/22/2012

Customer review by Golfer365

5.0 stars 9/22/2012 by Golfer365
by Golfer365

The reason I bought this player was so many business men and students who live in a world of WiFi are using these types of players to reduce their data plan. The player is excellent for pictures, music, videos, reader, text, etc. This is great for carrying pictures or videos from your last cruise or a visit from your grandbaby. Skype can be added for free so you can video chat with your child or grandchild. The player arrived sooner than expected, the display is brillant, setup was a snap with my home network. No struggles with any free add on application. The player can be set to synch with an assigned folder for new pictures, videos or music. The player is large 3' x 5" and perfect for my hand but it maybe a little large for others. The picture is 2.5" X 3.5 " which is a lot better than most phones. Double Twist free application allows access and synch to your Itunes. Talking translator is a free app great for travel. Flashlight apps, kindle etc. This the uber swiss army knife. A wrist strap would make it perfect.

Was this review helpful? (26) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Golfer365
Virginia & Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Superb Media Player, Astonishing Value
6/6/2012

Customer review by THEVOICE777

5.0 stars 6/6/2012 by THEVOICE777
by THEVOICE777

The Samsung Galaxy Player 5.0, at this price point, is a remarkable find. I have not put this player down since I purchased it. Endlessly customizable, my music library onboard effortlessly, movies galore, Netflix accessible, I cannot praise this player enough. I am a big Apple iPad fan, use the iPod Touch and iPhone, but this Samsung product has rocked my media world. Never could I imagine it could be so easy and seamless to place thousands of photographs, many hundreds of songs, films and books on a player in such a brief time, with very little effort. And unlike Apple products, it plays flash and virtually all video and audio formats. The five inch screen is super good lookin, the live wallpapers and widgets jazz it up and make the Galaxy player into a media rich wonderland. Grab one and enjoy the fun ride!!

Was this review helpful? (91) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
THEVOICE777
Georgetown, Ky.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/1/2012

Customer review by Marzer

5.0 stars 7/1/2012 by Marzer
by Marzer

I bought two of the refurbished Samsung Galaxy 5.0 Android Players, one for myself and one for my wife. They were both in excellent condition. Headphones and instructions were included in the box. If you want to use as a phone then download the Skype app or the GrooVe IP app and you do not have to pay a monthly phone charge. The only difference is that when you want to make a call or use the internet you must be in a wifi hot spot. I am enjoying the productivity apps, the movies, the music and the games. So far, everytime I have wanted to use the device for a specific purpose, I have been able to download an app for that purpose.

Was this review helpful? (183) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Marzer
Fort Myers, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great device but needs updates!
8/11/2012

Customer review by mraustin3410

4.0 stars 8/11/2012 by mraustin3410
by mraustin3410

Overall the Samsung Galaxy Player 5 is a wonderful device, it has about the same kind of features as the iPod Touch, but it has WWWAAAYYY better camera 3x better (iPods rear camera is about 1 mega pixle while the players rear facing camera is 3.2 mega pixles). The player comes with more customizable features as well, for example you can change the texts font of the device it also has one of my favorites Live Wallpaper! The only set back is that Samsung has stopped updating the player at Gingerbread 2.3.5. The most up to date version is 2.3.6 so its not terribly out of date, but you cant get some Google Play Apps like Pocket Frogs and a few others.

Was this review helpful? (60) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mraustin3410
Wentzville, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent, but...
9/10/2012

Customer review by mtnpreacher

3.0 stars 9/10/2012 by mtnpreacher
by mtnpreacher

I really like the Galaxy Player 5, but it has some deficiencies. First, a simple manual explaining the design and key functions/apps would go a long way toward making this device truly powerful. The manual basically show a picture of the device with labels for the buttons - lame. Second, there seems to be no O/S upgrade path. Samsung should simply tell us what upgrades, if any there will be. Not answering customer questions about this on the webpage leaves customers feeling abandoned and frankly, used. Some apps don't seem to work correctly or even logically. Tell me, why would a GPS app require wifi connection? If I was connected to wifi, I wouldn't want an app to tell me what turn to take next, right? Oh, and if I can't use the app without a data connection why pretend you're giving me something good, when really, it's useless? Frankly, a little information and common sense would leave me less frustrated. I shouldn't have to comb the internet for info that should have been in a manual.

mtnpreacher
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Nice device
12/29/2012

Customer review by WallpaperGuy

4.0 stars 12/29/2012 by WallpaperGuy
by WallpaperGuy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I do not have a smart phone because I do not want to pay for data charges. I stumbled across this player and was impressed with the screen size. Since many places I visit have free Wi Fi, i decided to buy this item. It is fantastic, especially for the refurnished price. It came out of the box looking brand new except for the plain white box. I can surf the internet, check my email, have my music with me as well as family photos. I purchased a separate 32gb memory card to expand the internal memory. You can download a million free android apps to customize to your liking. The player is really fun to use and the visual screen is great. While I cant talk on it, I think for the price, it give the 32gb iPod Touch 5th (new) generation a run for it's money.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WallpaperGuy
Atlanta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I replaced iPod with this great little tablet
8/20/2012

Customer review by Igor1111

5.0 stars 8/20/2012 by Igor1111
by Igor1111

it does everything iPod Touch 4 did, with much larger screen. Now I can READ my emails and also TYPE answers, all while sitting in my car next to McDonald's or any other WiFi spot. I am now selling my iPod Touch.

Was this review helpful? (64) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Igor1111
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
DO NOT GET, SYSTEM FREEZES
7/11/2013

Customer review by cupcake12166

2.0 stars 7/11/2013 by cupcake12166
by cupcake12166

I have had my player since November (about 8 months) and now it is frozen. It froze while I was browsing through my pictures and so I turned it off to restart it. Then I turned it back on however exactly 3 seconds later, I shut back down. I tried multiple times to try to turn it on but It never responded. I was able to get it into system recovery and I tried rebooting it but got no response. I REBOOTED ABOUT 100 TIMES, NO JOKE but it would just pull up a white screen and then show the "samsung" logo and then go back to recovery. I EVEN TRIED WIPING THE DATA AND GOING BACK TO FACTORY RESET BUT EVEN THAT DIDN'T DO ANYTHING!!!!!!!!!!!! Samsung definitely needs to fix their system and I am very disappointed with this product. I had many irreplaceable photos and videos on there and there is no way to get them back. My friend has also had many issues with the Samsung Galaxay sIII. I will NEVER reccommend this to anyone. apparently Best BUy has discontinued this product also because of it's horrible performance.

cupcake12166
Would recommend to a friend? No
Awesome product!
7/16/2012

Customer review by ChimpChris

5.0 stars 7/16/2012 by ChimpChris
by ChimpChris

I bought this as a phone replacement since I mostly used the data on my phone plus I can make calls over wifi which is basically everywhere. The first thing that stood out from the iPod touch and most phones was the screen size. I have the larger of the two models which has a very bright, 5 in. display, which, when it comes to my eyesight, is great. It does pretty much everything the iPod touch does and then some when you take the fact that you are no longer dependent on iTunes into consideration. Plus the micro sd card slot is a great feature. And last but definitely not least, it is very durable. I must have dropped the thing almost 20 times (about 4 of those times being at least a 4 ft. drop onto cement) and i can only find one little scratch on it's corner (not the screen might I add) after a nasty fall in a parking lot. Altogether, this little (or big, depending on how you look at it) device has been great for about a year so far and is still going strong. I would definitely recommend it to a friend.

ChimpChris
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
EXCELLENT!!! LOVE IT!
11/29/2012

Customer review by Michell54

5.0 stars 11/29/2012 by Michell54
by Michell54

I love Samsung so it made sense to buy the Samsung Galaxy Player 5.0 Android! I put a 32 gb card and downloaded all of my music. I also was able to take photos with this. It's small enough to fit in my purse and has a very large screen. I can read books on it, download a movie, play games, use it as an alarm clock, take notes very easily when I am at work and the camera works so well I don't even use my regular camera anymore. I can do pretty much anything on this MP3 that you can do with a tablet. I have never been an Apple fan and I ALWAYS have great luck with Samsung. In this case I get more bang for my buck. Apple is expensive so this was kind to my wallet. I am buying a 2nd Galaxy for my son now! Despit being a refurbished player it works as if it' s brand new!!! THANK YOU SAMSUNG!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Michell54
Tri-Cities Washington.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Happy with the product
1/14/2013

Customer review by Stylus

4.0 stars 1/14/2013 by Stylus
by Stylus

Generally, I'm happy with the Samsung 5. I received it as a Christmas gift. It took a while to get the wi-fi to work but now that it does I'm happy. It does suck battery life so I won't use it as much as I thought I might. I did turn off things to make the battery life longer and it seems to work. I like the sound quality and the fact that I can put both mp3s and waves on the mini sd card. I do wish I could download apps from the Web site and put them on the device instead of having to use wi-fi and download them. I installed Kies and except for the fact that I can back up material on to my computer I don't see myself using it much since I can't really do much with it. There is (and according to answers posted here there won't be) no upgrade to ICS or Jelly Bean and the device can't upgrade with Kies anyway so it's rather useless. I'll keep the software on my computer for a while to see if it's worthwhile. I do like the camera and the video. I used both tools on Christmas day and was very happy with the quality.

Stylus
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
a disappointment
9/24/2013

Customer review by atcdlc

2.0 stars 9/24/2013 by atcdlc
by atcdlc
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My daughter used her birthday money to purchase this product for herself. We won't allow her to have a phone until she is 13, so this would have been perfect for her had it worked. We fully charged the battery when we got it. It worked perfectly until we entered our wi-fi information. Every time it logged itself on to our wi-fi, it would shut down. She could use it in the car or at school, anywhere outside of wi-fi range and it worked fine. It worked fine after we deleted the passcode to the wi-fi connection. When we re-entered the information, and it logged in to our wi-fi, it shut itself down again....repeatedly. It wasn't worth the hassle, or the heart-ache for her when we had to return it to the store for a refund. The good news....With all of our receipts in order and with-in the 15 day window for returning electronics, we were able to return it to our local store with no hassles. And that's why I shop at Walmart and Walmart.com.

Was this review helpful? (3) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
atcdlc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
awesome wanna be tablet
9/30/2012

Customer review by StokyoFan

5.0 stars 9/30/2012 by StokyoFan
by StokyoFan

This isn't a tablet but wow this thing works better than a NetBook. Because of this product I will be purchasing a Samsung Android phone. Now I understand why apple was so frustrated with Samsung. Samsung's products are actually better. Samsung makes products that consumers want. Micro SD upgrade is the best. The price of this is much better than apple's I-touch.

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StokyoFan
jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
lousy as an MP3 player, decent as a wifi-only smartphone
7/22/2012

Customer review by dstarfire

3.0 stars 7/22/2012 by dstarfire
by dstarfire

As an mp3 player, the Galaxy Player is worse than the low cost players that cost about half as much. The default media player has noticeably poor sound quality, and lacks a way to change tracks without using the touch screen or even from the lock screen. The best use for the Galaxy Player, however, is as a cheap, wifi-only smartphone. It's got sufficient power and memory for the vast majority of applications (complex games the primary exception). Unfortunately, even that's limited by Samsung's lack of updates, and support in general. There's still no support for Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich), and trying to email support about this device is impossible (not an option in model number, a required field). However, if you don't mind relying on community support and giving up certain hardware functionality (camera, bluetooth) to try newer versions of android, or you just don't like the iPad, it's a great way to join the smartphone revolution.

dstarfire
Tacoma, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Intermediate
A happy customer
10/16/2012

Customer review by VeroWorld

5.0 stars 10/16/2012 by VeroWorld
by VeroWorld

I was thinking about buying an iPod touch but changed my mind when I discovered the Samsung Galaxy player 5 at such an affordable price. I was a bit nervous about buying a refurbished product, but boy, am I glad I did! It is an amazing value, and the player is all that I expected and much more! Great battery life too. My family and friends all want one now.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VeroWorld
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
best thing ever
11/5/2013

Customer review by ram09

5.0 stars 11/5/2013 by ram09
by ram09
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought my oldest daughter (10yrs old) a Samsung player last year for Christmas and everyone in the family uses it. It is so easy to use and very handy for me to use when I compare prices when I shop. My oldest daughter use it to play games, listen to music and email her grandma. Her sister (5yrs old) loves to play games on it. So I have purchased another for my youngest daughter for Christmas this year, so there isn't anymore fighting between my girls over this thing. Hopefully If I hint around enough someone will get me one too.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ram09
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Samsung Galaxy Player 5.0
12/6/2011

Customer review by DonD95

5.0 stars 12/6/2011 by DonD95
by DonD95

I have had the Galaxy 5.0 for three weeks now and think it is an outstanding product. I was looking for a tablet that would fit comfortably in my pocket and yet have a large screen. The Galaxy 5 fit the bill. The screen is huge at 5 inches. Since I also carry an Android cell phone with a web plan and can make it a hot spot, I can connect the Galaxy 5 to it and have web service all the time to watch movies surf the web and do email. The camera is excellent and takes very good pictures. The display screen is sharp and clear. I enjoy the large internal storage and can add up to 32 GB's more with a micro SD card. I added only 16 more and feel it will serve me well for what I want but I can always add more. The device is fast. Web pages open rather quickly. The case is metal and has the feel of a high quality product. Two stereo speakers are much louder than a cell phone. It also serves well as a book reader with the addition of certain apps. Battery life is excellent and much better than the average smart phone. I would highly recommend this device.

DonD95
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
Perfect for music, videos, and games!
6/13/2013

Customer review by blrosen

5.0 stars 6/13/2013 by blrosen
by blrosen
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I wanted a media player, so I first went with an iPod. I had to convert media files to a specific format, iTunes had to sync up with the iPod (very difficult for me to get used to), and I couldn't download any free apps unless my credit card information was submitted. Needless to say, I returned the iPod. A friend recommended the Samsung Galaxy. I do NOT have to convert media files, I can drag and drop to folder locations (navigable much like a PC), and I can download free programs--including emulators--without submitting my credit card information. Furthermore, the photo quality is crisp and the interface is very user friendly. Last key point: If I didn't know better, I would say this product was brand new when I purchased it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
blrosen
Fort Collins, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ipod touch beater!
2/22/2013

Customer review by techguy43

4.0 stars 2/22/2013 by techguy43
by techguy43
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This item is clearly an iPod beater according to my opinion: advantages . has better camera resolution with a powerful flash. . comes with micro sd slot which gave me the freedom to upgrade the memory up to 32 gb . the GPS chip made offline navigation a reality. This feature is not even possible in an itouch 5 :) disadvantages . has less resolution screen which sometimes make it difficult to read webpages. All in all it is fairly excellent to get all this good features in less than $190

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
techguy43
sugar land, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 409 total reviews
1-20 of 409 reviews