Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 23 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

2.0 stars

23 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

2.0 stars

23 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

30%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
15
1-20 of 23 total reviews
30%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews
Don't waste your time!
5/30/2012

Customer review by WeAllen

1.0 stars 5/30/2012 by WeAllen
by WeAllen

Wireless devices work flawlessly anywhere in my home. I bought the NetTALK Duo WiFi to save money by using their inexpensive VOIP service. I carefully installed the unit, which quickly connected via USB cable. When I tried to use the unit wirelessly, it would not connect. I tried every possible solution, including spending several hours on a cell phone with a NetTalk service rep, who gave up after trying about 20 fixes. I have a good router, & internet sevice - so there's no reason for this product not working. I spent about 16 hours trying to connect this device, & finally decided that I was wasting my time. Don't make the same mistake that I did.

Was this review helpful? (56) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WeAllen
Hobe Sound, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
WORST product ever
6/9/2012

Customer review by mss239

1.0 stars 6/9/2012 by mss239
by mss239

I bought this product and thought it would work fine since it was wifi. The wifi kept disconnecting every few mins. When I called net talk they told me I should power off and on everytime it happens (so basically 24 hours a day). I gave it couple of days and still the same. Called net talk again and was told we are aware of this problem as many customers have called us about it over past few months and that there is no solution available currently for this issue. Not sure why walmart or net talk would sell this product if there is an issue with it.

Was this review helpful? (26) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mss239
Shrewsbury, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Kept disconnecting
6/12/2012

Customer review by atjc8

1.0 stars 6/12/2012 by atjc8
by atjc8

I love giving good reviews, but it just wasn't possible this time. I probably got one of the first NetTalk Duo Wifi units, and it was defective -- but I have an older NetTalk unit I would rate 5 stars. This unit is supposed to connect over wifi. It does. It also connects over Ethernet. It connects over USB. Regardless of the type of connection, this particular unit lost its internet connection within minutes, and did not reconnect easily. I don't have any problem with other internet devices, and even bought a new cable modem and router to try to get this device to work. For the USB connection, I tried using it on different computers. Also, when the unit did work, the call volume wasn't very loud (completely separate issue) -- but the call was clear and the other party could hear me very clearly. Admittedly, NetTalk customer service hinted that I had an older firmware version. I'm sure if I waited for updated firmware, all of my problems would have been resolved. However, I returned the NetTalk Duo Wifi for a competitor's product, which works perfectly.

Was this review helpful? (22) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
atjc8
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
No Customer Service or Tech Support as Advertised
6/19/2012

Customer review by Elongated

1.0 stars 6/19/2012 by Elongated
by Elongated

Very poor product, I hardly ever write reviews but this product was so bad I wanted to make sure no one wasted their hard earned money. After getting home you go online to register and you get an IP# to use-the one we were issued just kept reading invalid. I returned it after two weeks of e-mailing, calling and sending service tickets for this problem, I waited over 250 minutes on hold to be hung up on automatically. I bought this product based on the reviews over Magic Jack that they were suppose to have live people you could speak to- but that is just an advertising gimmick like I said after two weeks of, calling e-mailing and sending service ticket requests there was no live person in customer or tech support that ever answered.

Was this review helpful? (25) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Elongated
Victorville, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
It's a Great Device But Heed My Advice
7/30/2012

Customer review by UserOne2

5.0 stars 7/30/2012 by UserOne2
by UserOne2

The wireless of this model is not plug and play. First, check the routers that work with this list and also the list of ones that don't. Make sure your router works. Second, you must have your EXACT USPS street address for 911 to even do anything in the software. Third, to select the wifi router through the software interface you must be using your computer on wifi. After setup, a computer is no longer needed. Fourth, you must be broadcasting your SSID. If your SSID is hidden the device will not connect to it even after the correct information has been inputed. Fifth, if you talk more than 3000 minutes a month (50 hours) netTALK is not for you. Using more than 50 hours a month is a violation of the terms of service and can result in you being placed on a per-minute basis. If you are impatient or unexperienced, you should not buy this model but purchase the netTALK DUO instead. I tried Magic Jack PLUS first and the receive audio was so low that I could hardly hear the other party. This device is loud and clear both ways. Everyone comments on how loud and clear it is. I would probably never approach 50 hours of use a month but I do like quality service and I've got it with this device.

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
UserOne2
Morehead, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A Great Product
7/29/2012

Customer review by Miffy9

5.0 stars 7/29/2012 by Miffy9
by Miffy9

I bought the Nettalk Duo WiFi originally for the WiFi only option. It worked flawlessly when connected to my computer using USB or Ethernet or when connected to my router. Using WiFi it worked great on my end, however the other end of the conversation was somewhat choppy but usable. The problem was that I had an older firmware version. I solved this problem by upgraded from v4.49 to v4.62. Now, I'm happy to report that I am able to sit in the backyard by the swimming pool, via WiFi, without any computer or router cables in sight. I just plug my telephone into the Nettalk and I have crystal clear WiFi phone calls on both ends. It works great with my Linksys EA3500 wireless router using its default (out of the box) settings. The Nettalk has many of the features that AT&T, Verizon, etc. have, except Nettalk offers them for free. If you're experiencing problems with yours Nettalk, do what I did and upgrade your firmware. I am 100% satisfied with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Miffy9
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome product!
6/25/2012

Customer review by SportsFan23

5.0 stars 6/25/2012 by SportsFan23
by SportsFan23

This little device is great! The sound quality is awesome and you can't beat the price. I would definitely recommend this to others.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SportsFan23
Tampa , FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
few bugs but great product overall
7/10/2012

Customer review by Ervin23

5.0 stars 7/10/2012 by Ervin23
by Ervin23

I bought the duo wifi a few weeks ago, i had some minor issues getting it to work, but after everything was setup, it works like a charm. Great product netTalk, just remember to fix those minor bugs

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ervin23
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Will Never use any other phone service
9/7/2012

Customer review by TinazF

5.0 stars 9/7/2012 by TinazF
by TinazF

I had to contact the company because the device kept disconnecting but after they did a firmware update everything has worked great! I love the price and I love the service!!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TinazF
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works great.
7/6/2012

Customer review by DRUOT

5.0 stars 7/6/2012 by DRUOT
by DRUOT

The installation for my DUO Wifi was not as easy as my DUO but it was not that hard. After I got it to work I had no problems with it and I been making calls with no problems. I also bought one for my parents and they were having difficulties but it was that they had a very old router, I changed it and it worked great.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DRUOT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A terrible experience
7/28/2012

Customer review by 1MmikeE1

1.0 stars 7/28/2012 by 1MmikeE1
by 1MmikeE1

This company has the WORST customer service ever. You can never get a hold of a customer support representative. They would keep you on hold for hours and hours, and not help you. I stayed on hold for long times for five days, and when I finally got a hold of a representative, after being on hold for 2 1/2 hours, he simply says i need more info to be able to help you and hangs up. No one needs to deal with this company

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1MmikeE1
Would recommend to a friend? No
Couldn't get it to work
6/29/2012

Customer review by garyldye

1.0 stars 6/29/2012 by garyldye
by garyldye

I bought this nettalk duo for a good price. After spending anhour or two to get it to work by router and wi-fi, I got in contact this the nettalk tech support. Although they tried valiantly to get it to work, they could not. They siad it was due to my CenturyLink (Qwest) DSL modem and firewall settings, which was hard for them to decipher. I'm taking it back to Walmart for my money back. I'll ty MagicJack next.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
garyldye
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Phone Numbers Not Available for Arkansas
6/22/2012

Customer review by Arkansasguy55

1.0 stars 6/22/2012 by Arkansasguy55
by Arkansasguy55

I purchased the netTalk with expectations of using the wireless for an extra phone. I went thru the activation process up to the last process of finding a phone number. I kept getting a banner that number unavailable and try back later. Well I tried several times later with no luck. I then proceeded to call the customer service with netTalk... You get a recording and it then gives you a number for a wait sequence. I was number 18 and it was a long wait time of 1 hour and 45 minutes before a real person answered. I told the customer service person that I needed to activate my netTalk with a phone number that I can't retrieve.. He asked where I was located and area code in the area. He said then that no phone number was available.. I then asked if there were any numbers for the state of ARKANSAS and he explained they did not have any numbers nor will have any numbers for the state of Arkansas anytime soon. I asked what should I do then if I couldn't use the item in my state and he said to return to Wal Mart for my money back, which I did. Thanks for the WalMart return. I believe the company should advise WalMart that this product doesn't work in certian states.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Arkansasguy55
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Unreliable - Call plans do not cover all numbers
9/18/2012

Customer review by CrystalShopsAtWalmart

2.0 stars 9/18/2012 by CrystalShopsAtWalmart
by CrystalShopsAtWalmart

I got this a few weeks back and struggled to get it installed and working. When I finally was able to it would only work for a few hours then the light would turn red again. At which point I would have to unplug it and plug it back in so it could restart and begin to work again. This was an endless cycle. I contacted technical support via their support center online and it wasn't until the next day they asked me for my fimware version. After I gave it to them I had to wait a week for a response and this was only after I had sent an upset email about another issue I had submitted where as I mentioned their inadequecies of getting my issues resolved. They pushed a firmware upgrade to my device and it is now somewhat reliable. I've had to reset it once since then. So I'm guessing I need to reset it once per week. The second issue I had was when I was dailing a landline number in Mexico after having purchased the North America call plan where Mexico is listed as covered except for mobile phones. After a week I got a response to my trouble ticket saying that the number I was dialing was a high cost number and I had to buy credit to pay per minute of use. I though that was what the call plan was for, so I wouldn't have to pay per use. The North America call plan I got is now useless and there are no refunds. If I want to call the number I need to buy credit and pay $0.04 per minute. That is the same rate I would have paid without the call plan. Keep in mind that wen you buy credit you have to pay a 2.9% charge plus a $0.30 USD fee. There are also taxes associated with the call plans. Third issue and is the least of them, I'm supposed to have a solid green light when it is working. I notice I have to force push in the phone cord connector for the green light to stay on. When I do it eventually ends up slipping out so that the light turns of. However this doesn't affect the functionality as I can still make calls when the green light is off. So there you have it. Installation is difficult, support takes a week, not very reliable to consistently recieve calls and the device is defective.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CrystalShopsAtWalmart
El Paso, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Please do not waste your time and money
9/6/2012

Customer review by NettalkCustomer

1.0 stars 9/6/2012 by NettalkCustomer
by NettalkCustomer

* Worst call quality * Very bad customer service * Device not worth it * International call quality is not good I bought this device last week - Volume was very low (Created ticket before 3 days and didn't resolve) - Voice breaks while on the call (With Good internet connection 25 Mbps) - International call quality is very bad, breaks after 30 mins - Never ever expected this kind of worst customer service. Immediate issue was the hearing volume was way too low(have to keep the handset very close to ear to understand the conversation). I created online ticket before 3 days and got the reply that "We are still working on getting this issue resolved" but the issue didn't resolve. I tried their tech support line and was on wait for 1 hr - 1 hr 15 mins and then an executive picked up and before even i tell him the issue he hung up. No followup. Please do not even consider this device. Walmart - Please remove this product, its brings a bad reputation

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NettalkCustomer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Do NOT buy if you live in Oklahoma
7/24/2012

Customer review by JLDH

1.0 stars 7/24/2012 by JLDH
by JLDH

I got this device because I was told I could keep my existing number. While registering the device it wouldn't let me pick a phone number. I called their help line and was on hold for 2 hours before a representative "helped" me. She stated that they had NO numbers for Oklahoma and that I couldn't transfer my old phone number to their service. She then told me to just return it to wal-mart, which I did. The manager let me know that they couldn't pull this product off their shelves without upper management told them to. If you are looking for a product like this go with magic jack, it is cheaper but it works. You can also keep your old phone number.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JLDH
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Too much noise/static thru Wifi
6/21/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 6/21/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The software is primative in that the unit has to be plugged in to a wifi pc/laptop to acquire/transfer the code over. If it's plugged in to a PC that has no wifi capability, then you need to know the router's ID, enscription style and password to manually coded. The activation website is also not user friendly. If you're not fast enough (reading their lengthly agreement) and got timed out or it could not process your request for some reason, you need to come up with another user name/ID to complete since the previous user names/IDs are now in their system and are no longer available to use. Even then, Nettalk sent an e-mail stating the former user name/ID should be used instead of the latest and you'll won't be able to log-in. Customer service is another problem. Access via phone only works during week days and during a specified time period. e-mail took a while to respond and return phone call is an endless phone tag game. After 3 hrs or so, got the wifi to connect but there's so much noise at the receiving end that's it's unbearable. Installed a filter in the line made no improvement. Direct plugin to the router works fine. This might be the marketing ploy that makes the customer to pay for the wifi feature but ended up using it as the direct plug-in Nettalk Duo model. The price difference is $13 and many might conclude that it's a hassle to return. Anyway, the wifi unit is going back just for the principle. Stick with the Nettalk Duo basic model and plug it directly into the router if you want to use Nettalk.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Simi, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Poor Sound Quality
7/1/2012

Customer review by aoeuaoeu

1.0 stars 7/1/2012 by aoeuaoeu
by aoeuaoeu

I have been a long time Vonage user, but I purchased this device to save money over Vonage's service. It operates essentially the same way as the Vonage device; I just plugged it into my router, and it started working. The sound quality was very poor, though. Unacceptable, in my opinion. There was high latency, also, so after I said something, there was a long pause before the other end of the line heard it. This makes it difficult to have a conversation. I tried plugging the device directly into my cable modem, and for unknown reasons, it would not pull an IP address. I put the device in the DMZ zone on my router, and played with whatever else I could think of, to no avail. I contacted NetTalk customer service via email/web. After a day or two, a tech support associate asked for the firmware version on the device's web page. I gave him a bunch of info (copies of the web page, and even set it up so he could access it himself), because it appears to me that there is no firmware version on the web page. I never heard back. So, I returned the device and cancelled the service. One last thing: I had this device on a wired connection. It is supposed to be WiFi, but if I understand correctly, it only operates as WiFi if it is connected to a computer via USB. That's NOT WiFi!

Was this review helpful? (1) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aoeuaoeu
Endicott, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great landline replacement
9/29/2012

Customer review by LadyDi1951

4.0 stars 9/29/2012 by LadyDi1951
by LadyDi1951

Had trouble with unit disconnecting at random. Customer service was easy to contact and they took care of the issue. At times, the connection is perfect and the sound is like a quality landline. At other times, there is static and audio is poor. Great value for the yearly cost. Would recommend even though calls are not always best.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LadyDi1951
Alexandria, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I have the DUE DUE II And WIFI the service bad
9/17/2014

Customer review by Stalin2014

1.0 stars 9/17/2014 by Stalin2014
by Stalin2014

bad service bad support sound bad

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stalin2014
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews