Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.5out of 5 stars
3.5 out of 5 | 154 reviews
5 stars
64
4 stars
28
3 stars
16
2 stars
13
1 stars
33
Sort by: 
1-20 of 149 reviews
1-20 of 149 reviews
Save your money
12/18/2012
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have had this printer for a couple of months now. I wanted to give it a good chance but I am not happy with this printer at all. When you click on "print" it just sets there for up to a minute then decides that you want to print a document. Then when it does print the font is extremely small if printing from my email account. Actually the files I am uploading look better as attachments than it does in person It seems to print fine in Word. But I get invoices that are not attachments in my emails, and they are barely readable when printed. I was told that the cartridges for this unit were not expensive, a feature that I was really looking forward to since all my other HP printer were ink hogs. This unit requires 4 different cartridges that do not last long at all. Out of the 5 HP printers that I have loved even if they were ink hogs, this one is the pits. I am not one bit happy with this printer. It does fax, it does copy and it does print. Printing flyers in color is a joke. they are faded out with a red or orange tint. Its been this way from day one. I was interested mainly in the low price. I still don't understand why someone can not make a lost cost printer that works well. Prints are not clear at all. I have tried working with the settings but have not found a way to correct these problems. Then I had my son try to work with them We go the same results. I suggest if you are considering this printer for the cost, just go a little more and get a better printer. I wish I had. I am going to contact HP to see if they will try to keep this established customer happy. I have my doubts.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not a good 3 in 1
6/7/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The HP 4620 is junk. If you are looking for a scanner or printer, it is fine. If you are looking for the fax option, STAY AWAY. I owned a Brother 3 in 1 and after purchasing this HP I miss my Brother even more. I don't think I've owned any electronics that gave me more trouble than the HP 4620. Don't even bother faxing more than 5-7 pages or it will like clockwork spit out error code after error code. Also, it is a loud machine and is not in any way a smooth operator with it's steady jerky motions. Fax machines have been around for sometime now, so it's not rocket science. However the HP 4620 makes it as confusing as possible and they don't really offer any trouble shooting resolutions in their owners manual or code break down definition besides what it spits out when it wastes a sheet of paper to tell you the fax didn't go through. STAY AWAY!!!!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (27)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Doesn't have important features
7/27/2012
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I assumed when purchasing the 4620 that it could easily do all the simple things in printing, including double-sided printing and grayscale printing, that my old 6210 printer could. This was an incorrect assumption. I spent a total of about 1 1/2 hours with HP tech support personnel on the telephone, during which time three tech reps told me the 4620 couldn't do these simple things by itself and that it couldn't use my 6210 software, which was still on my computer, to do them. But, while exploring the various capabilities of the new printer, I discovered that it can, indeed, use the 6210 software and print the way I had become accustomed to with my 6210. It works for me. Someone else buying this printer might not be as lucky as I. They might not already have compatible software already on their computer or otherwise available. It seems very strange to me that HP, already having developed and incorporated good printing software on my five-years-old 6210, would not incorporate it in the 4620.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Replacement printer for model 4620
1/12/2014
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The HP Officejet 4620 is my 3rd HP printer over the past two years and the 2nd model 4620 printer since I purchased a high-end All-In-One HP Omni system. The first printer was replaced with a "refurbished" 4620 printer. I purchased a 4620 printer even though I had purchased an 2-year extended warranty for the printer. HP Technical support kept stalling so I gave up on HP honoring the extended warranty and purchased the 2nd 4620. HP compensated me by sending me some ink cartridges. This printer consistently over prints the first two lines on a page and the "preference" setting to print first page first is ignored so last page first is always the option. With tax season approaching I am concerned that I may not be able to use the 4620 to print returns and my state discourages e-filing. The printer does not always eject the printed pages so you have to monitor the printing of a document. Based on my experience with HP printers over the past two years, I cannot recommend this model.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
very well done hp
12/17/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
i love this machine, i'm using it on a wireless network<secured of course> easy to set up, when i found this printer i was looking at the 8600. for 99.00 you can't beat the features. only thing i wish is for the keypad to light up. but over all a great find/deal. granted i was apprehensive about a low cost printer and didn't think it would do the job. but the machine fooled me, lol it's much better than my office jet 6100 all in one which was 12 years old and expensive to operate. the ink that came with the printer is good quality. and easy and cheaper to replace than the 56 and 58 ink tanks that was on the 6100. great quality..thanks again hp for a great product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great printer for the price!!
7/18/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I'm loving my printer- the first one I got had a faulty ink carriage, so I returned it to Walmart for a refund. DO NOT CONTACT HP- they are a pain to deal with sometimes!! After waiting for HP to send a replacement- 1 week later- still no printer- I returned this one to Walmart and bought another one at Best Buy (they carry them in-store, Walmart doesn't)- so no damage during shipping : ) But it works great, does everything it says it will, and is easy to use!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Bad paper jams
12/2/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought this in a hurry when we needed a scanner (old printer at home is only a printer). Unfortunately hurrying meant I didn't read the numerous bad reviews prior to buying. It's a good scanner. Worked with Windows XP SP3 and also worked as a printer for Ubuntu Linux. However after about 2 months started having "paper jams" all the time. The paper would advance about 2 inches then go no further and the printer would declare it a jam. Will be returning this to store for (hopefully) a refund. I bought several extra ink cartridges online (564 ink) for this but unfortunately the other HP's that use the same ink, the HP 4622 and HP 3522, also seem to have a lot of bad reviews because of paper jams.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
piece o junk
6/18/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Wireless doesn't work, and even if it did, I can't stop it from going to sleep so if I am out of the office, I can't print anything over the wireless which was the WHOLE POINT. and the cartridges are so expensive that when they run dry, it will be cheaper to just get another printer. bye bye HP you lost my business. oh well, I have something new to take out target shooting.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (19)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A very nice printer
1/24/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I did have trouble with the connection and down load of the device. HP stepped me through it, and it was just a simple problem getting the driver to load. Then HP surprised me with a call the next day to make sure all was okay. A nice printer. I haven't tried faxing, but a very nice machine, and one thing I believe will be a true plus is that you have 5 cartridges and will only have to replace the one that's needed. At first I wasn't sure I would like that but now I see it's a true savings.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
HP 4620 e-All-in-One Printer
5/26/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This printer looks good; however, the print output is small and hard to read. Vital keys, especially the fax keys, on the front panel do not light up (making it hard to see what you are pushing). The driver was hard as Hades to find (even on the HP web site) and the wireless option was difficult to find and link. This thing takes FOUR ink cartridges!! A 3-colored ink combo package is available (but not in XL size), but it would have been better if the black were included. The ink is not all that cheap either. HP could do much better in that area! The beauty is that it is a fax, printer, copier, and scanner. The biggest drawback in multifunction equipment like this is that if one part goes out and needs to go to the shop, you lose all the others too! Overall, I liked the product but not the hassle it took to get the proper driver and link the wireless option...and I have a great deal of computer experience and tons of patience.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
1/9/2013
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Saw this HP on sale at Walmart store, decided to buy and I'm taking it back this week. IS NOT compatable w/windows 8 wich is my setup on laptop. Very unhappy.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
DO NOT BUY THIS PRINTER!
8/8/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I just started using this printer and have been very disappointed with the performance of the printing function. Often times I cannot print documents in Word--other times, the pages which I print after performing the nozzle-head or printer tests come up with blurred or streaked ink--usually in the areas of black ink. I am already in my second cycle of cartridges which I bought for this printer (cyan, yellow, magenta and black--this time I bought the extra large cartridges) but they appear to be guzzling ink at just a fast rate as the original cartridges did. Moreover, I cannot print more than one sheet of business cards at a time and the card sheet gets stuck in the tray after the printing is done. Why was I stupid to buy this printer in the first place? Unless someone can come up with a way to fix this high-maintenance piece of junk once and for all, I am going to get rid of it in the next few days. Enough is enough!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
1/15/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The printer does a great job - easy to set up and install. The wireless is wonderful. I am sold on HP printers.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Should have left this one on the shelf!
5/1/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This printer is garbage! When it starts to print it goes through about thirty seconds of making a series of noises before it picks up a piece of paper to start printing. If you are lucky it will print out your document but must likely there will be a paper jam. With fresh wrinkle paper you will have to clear a paper jam more often than not. A single page print job will have several paper jams before spitting out your document. I would recommend a cheap Lexmark before I would one of these. I will be returning this printer on my next trip to Walmart.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
8/14/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a great printer well worth the purchase!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
1/20/2013
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Does not work like it is supposed too.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good printer
3/5/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I now have two of these printers, one in each of my houses as it seems to be the best out there for a compact size and price. I am using them with a MacBookPro which is new and it works fine. It does not appear to be compatible with older PCs. Prior to buying a new computer, i had a 2007 PC with Vista and it seemed to freeze the printer and was unable to use it. I had to return that printer as it shorted out. Bought another one when I bought my new computer and it works perfectly. When my husbands old PC was set up for the printer, it tried to run a test page and jammed the printer 5 times. Yet it worked fine for me. I was also unable to delete the test page from his computer until we returned to our other house and it disappeared. He will not be using the new printer as I definitely find them incompatible. If you have a newer computer, then it is fine.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Disappointed-Frustrated-Angry
5/10/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been a long time loyal customer of HP printers for many, many years, that has now changed. I purchased the 4620 on 5/8. Attempted to setup printer, after 4 hours consisting of on line help, new drivers, talking with a real person at HP, I ended up with a Scanner Failure, could not scan or copy. Took this printer back to where purchased and exchanged for same model on 5/9. This time it was 2 1/2 hours ending with Hp person on phone. This time it was a printer carriage/printer ink setup problem, could not be fixed again. I took this one back to store and replaced with different brand entirely, setup was 1/2 hour tops. 96 wasted miles and 40 in gas. The saddest thing is this was to be a temporary printer for a month or two, I do bookkeeping and needed a printer right away and couldn't afford what I usually use now I might have to switch permanently.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Worst printer I have ever owned
1/30/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
If the box it came in wasn't ruined in a flood, this printer would have been back to the store weeks ago. From Printing, it takes so long to print one thing, scanning keeps telling me to insert my hp cd, which its all installed and still wont scan, small ink cartridges, saying the ink is cheaper, but you buy it more often, terrible paper tray that holds very little paper, and what a job to reload the paper if your in a hurry, the noise it makes when printing and I cant use different card stocks that I was able to use in my other hp printers, now when I print on anything other then regular white copy paper, I have to print at a staples. What sense does that make, I do alot of work on my computer, and now have to go somewhere to use stock that i have always used in my other printers. This whole printer is terrible, I hate it. Look into other printers.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Simplicity
6/17/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
So far so good with the 4620. Nice print from nearly any decice, easy setup, and access to many settings via a dedicated webpage just for the printer. Two things, however: You may need to run the printer alignment test a couple of times. The first time is done as part of the setup process, but if you need to do it again, go through the printer webpage. Printer alignment cannot be accessed via the normal toolbox, only through your printer's dedicated webpage. Second, and a minor gripe, is that the page printout tray gets in the way of the paper tray itself. If you want to load a photo, say a 4x6 or 5x7, you'll have to take the printout holder completely off and then reinstall it. Not hard, just a tad annoying. I've had some VERY bad luck with HP printers in the last few years, so I am hoping this one turns out to be the charm. So far, so good.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640685, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-