Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 152 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

152 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

152 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

62%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
63
4 stars
27
3 stars
16
2 stars
13
1 stars
33
1-20 of 147 total reviews
62%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 147 total reviews
1-20 of 147 reviews
Doesn't have important features
7/27/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 7/27/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I assumed when purchasing the 4620 that it could easily do all the simple things in printing, including double-sided printing and grayscale printing, that my old 6210 printer could. This was an incorrect assumption. I spent a total of about 1 1/2 hours with HP tech support personnel on the telephone, during which time three tech reps told me the 4620 couldn't do these simple things by itself and that it couldn't use my 6210 software, which was still on my computer, to do them. But, while exploring the various capabilities of the new printer, I discovered that it can, indeed, use the 6210 software and print the way I had become accustomed to with my 6210. It works for me. Someone else buying this printer might not be as lucky as I. They might not already have compatible software already on their computer or otherwise available. It seems very strange to me that HP, already having developed and incorporated good printing software on my five-years-old 6210, would not incorporate it in the 4620.

An anonymous customer
Valencia, California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Not a good 3 in 1
6/7/2012

Customer review by FrustratedInCrestview

1.0 stars 6/7/2012 by FrustratedInCrestview
by FrustratedInCrestview

The HP 4620 is junk. If you are looking for a scanner or printer, it is fine. If you are looking for the fax option, STAY AWAY. I owned a Brother 3 in 1 and after purchasing this HP I miss my Brother even more. I don't think I've owned any electronics that gave me more trouble than the HP 4620. Don't even bother faxing more than 5-7 pages or it will like clockwork spit out error code after error code. Also, it is a loud machine and is not in any way a smooth operator with it's steady jerky motions. Fax machines have been around for sometime now, so it's not rocket science. However the HP 4620 makes it as confusing as possible and they don't really offer any trouble shooting resolutions in their owners manual or code break down definition besides what it spits out when it wastes a sheet of paper to tell you the fax didn't go through. STAY AWAY!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (27) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FrustratedInCrestview
Crestview FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Replacement printer for model 4620
1/12/2014

Customer review by jayhawk1962

2.0 stars 1/12/2014 by jayhawk1962
by jayhawk1962

The HP Officejet 4620 is my 3rd HP printer over the past two years and the 2nd model 4620 printer since I purchased a high-end All-In-One HP Omni system. The first printer was replaced with a "refurbished" 4620 printer. I purchased a 4620 printer even though I had purchased an 2-year extended warranty for the printer. HP Technical support kept stalling so I gave up on HP honoring the extended warranty and purchased the 2nd 4620. HP compensated me by sending me some ink cartridges. This printer consistently over prints the first two lines on a page and the "preference" setting to print first page first is ignored so last page first is always the option. With tax season approaching I am concerned that I may not be able to use the 4620 to print returns and my state discourages e-filing. The printer does not always eject the printed pages so you have to monitor the printing of a document. Based on my experience with HP printers over the past two years, I cannot recommend this model.

jayhawk1962
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
very well done hp
12/17/2012

Customer review by meadowlark44244

5.0 stars 12/17/2012 by meadowlark44244
by meadowlark44244

i love this machine, i'm using it on a wireless network<secured of course> easy to set up, when i found this printer i was looking at the 8600. for 99.00 you can't beat the features. only thing i wish is for the keypad to light up. but over all a great find/deal. granted i was apprehensive about a low cost printer and didn't think it would do the job. but the machine fooled me, lol it's much better than my office jet 6100 all in one which was 12 years old and expensive to operate. the ink that came with the printer is good quality. and easy and cheaper to replace than the 56 and 58 ink tanks that was on the 6100. great quality..thanks again hp for a great product.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
meadowlark44244
lexington, ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great printer for the price!!
7/18/2012

Customer review by hate2getlost

5.0 stars 7/18/2012 by hate2getlost
by hate2getlost

I'm loving my printer- the first one I got had a faulty ink carriage, so I returned it to Walmart for a refund. DO NOT CONTACT HP- they are a pain to deal with sometimes!! After waiting for HP to send a replacement- 1 week later- still no printer- I returned this one to Walmart and bought another one at Best Buy (they carry them in-store, Walmart doesn't)- so no damage during shipping : ) But it works great, does everything it says it will, and is easy to use!

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hate2getlost
Youngsville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Bad paper jams
12/2/2012

Customer review by Electrical55Engineer

1.0 stars 12/2/2012 by Electrical55Engineer
by Electrical55Engineer

Bought this in a hurry when we needed a scanner (old printer at home is only a printer). Unfortunately hurrying meant I didn't read the numerous bad reviews prior to buying. It's a good scanner. Worked with Windows XP SP3 and also worked as a printer for Ubuntu Linux. However after about 2 months started having "paper jams" all the time. The paper would advance about 2 inches then go no further and the printer would declare it a jam. Will be returning this to store for (hopefully) a refund. I bought several extra ink cartridges online (564 ink) for this but unfortunately the other HP's that use the same ink, the HP 4622 and HP 3522, also seem to have a lot of bad reviews because of paper jams.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Electrical55Engineer
Leominster MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
piece o junk
6/18/2012

Customer review by webberle

1.0 stars 6/18/2012 by webberle
by webberle

Wireless doesn't work, and even if it did, I can't stop it from going to sleep so if I am out of the office, I can't print anything over the wireless which was the WHOLE POINT. and the cartridges are so expensive that when they run dry, it will be cheaper to just get another printer. bye bye HP you lost my business. oh well, I have something new to take out target shooting.

Was this review helpful? (19) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
webberle
Logan, UT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A very nice printer
1/24/2013

Customer review by Realtyshopperfromheaven

4.0 stars 1/24/2013 by Realtyshopperfromheaven
by Realtyshopperfromheaven
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I did have trouble with the connection and down load of the device. HP stepped me through it, and it was just a simple problem getting the driver to load. Then HP surprised me with a call the next day to make sure all was okay. A nice printer. I haven't tried faxing, but a very nice machine, and one thing I believe will be a true plus is that you have 5 cartridges and will only have to replace the one that's needed. At first I wasn't sure I would like that but now I see it's a true savings.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Realtyshopperfromheaven
Sahuarita, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
HP 4620 e-All-in-One Printer
5/26/2012

Customer review by Dwranny

4.0 stars 5/26/2012 by Dwranny
by Dwranny

This printer looks good; however, the print output is small and hard to read. Vital keys, especially the fax keys, on the front panel do not light up (making it hard to see what you are pushing). The driver was hard as Hades to find (even on the HP web site) and the wireless option was difficult to find and link. This thing takes FOUR ink cartridges!! A 3-colored ink combo package is available (but not in XL size), but it would have been better if the black were included. The ink is not all that cheap either. HP could do much better in that area! The beauty is that it is a fax, printer, copier, and scanner. The biggest drawback in multifunction equipment like this is that if one part goes out and needs to go to the shop, you lose all the others too! Overall, I liked the product but not the hassle it took to get the proper driver and link the wireless option...and I have a great deal of computer experience and tons of patience.

Dwranny
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
DO NOT BUY THIS PRINTER!
8/8/2012

Customer review by ColoradoJoe

1.0 stars 8/8/2012 by ColoradoJoe
by ColoradoJoe

I just started using this printer and have been very disappointed with the performance of the printing function. Often times I cannot print documents in Word--other times, the pages which I print after performing the nozzle-head or printer tests come up with blurred or streaked ink--usually in the areas of black ink. I am already in my second cycle of cartridges which I bought for this printer (cyan, yellow, magenta and black--this time I bought the extra large cartridges) but they appear to be guzzling ink at just a fast rate as the original cartridges did. Moreover, I cannot print more than one sheet of business cards at a time and the card sheet gets stuck in the tray after the printing is done. Why was I stupid to buy this printer in the first place? Unless someone can come up with a way to fix this high-maintenance piece of junk once and for all, I am going to get rid of it in the next few days. Enough is enough!!

ColoradoJoe
West Des Moines, IA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
1/9/2013

Customer review by ladycatfish

2.0 stars 1/9/2013 by ladycatfish
by ladycatfish

Saw this HP on sale at Walmart store, decided to buy and I'm taking it back this week. IS NOT compatable w/windows 8 wich is my setup on laptop. Very unhappy.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ladycatfish
Northeast Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
1/15/2013

Customer review by Jacksonbear

5.0 stars 1/15/2013 by Jacksonbear
by Jacksonbear
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The printer does a great job - easy to set up and install. The wireless is wonderful. I am sold on HP printers.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jacksonbear
Blue Ridge, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Should have left this one on the shelf!
5/1/2013

Customer review by Hershell973

1.0 stars 5/1/2013 by Hershell973
by Hershell973

This printer is garbage! When it starts to print it goes through about thirty seconds of making a series of noises before it picks up a piece of paper to start printing. If you are lucky it will print out your document but must likely there will be a paper jam. With fresh wrinkle paper you will have to clear a paper jam more often than not. A single page print job will have several paper jams before spitting out your document. I would recommend a cheap Lexmark before I would one of these. I will be returning this printer on my next trip to Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hershell973
Citronelle Al
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
8/14/2012

Customer review by June54

5.0 stars 8/14/2012 by June54
by June54

This is a great printer well worth the purchase!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
June54
Las Vegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Good printer
3/5/2013

Customer review by Dirma

4.0 stars 3/5/2013 by Dirma
by Dirma

I now have two of these printers, one in each of my houses as it seems to be the best out there for a compact size and price. I am using them with a MacBookPro which is new and it works fine. It does not appear to be compatible with older PCs. Prior to buying a new computer, i had a 2007 PC with Vista and it seemed to freeze the printer and was unable to use it. I had to return that printer as it shorted out. Bought another one when I bought my new computer and it works perfectly. When my husbands old PC was set up for the printer, it tried to run a test page and jammed the printer 5 times. Yet it worked fine for me. I was also unable to delete the test page from his computer until we returned to our other house and it disappeared. He will not be using the new printer as I definitely find them incompatible. If you have a newer computer, then it is fine.

Dirma
New Canaan CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Disappointed-Frustrated-Angry
5/10/2012

Customer review by woofie

1.0 stars 5/10/2012 by woofie
by woofie

I have been a long time loyal customer of HP printers for many, many years, that has now changed. I purchased the 4620 on 5/8. Attempted to setup printer, after 4 hours consisting of on line help, new drivers, talking with a real person at HP, I ended up with a Scanner Failure, could not scan or copy. Took this printer back to where purchased and exchanged for same model on 5/9. This time it was 2 1/2 hours ending with Hp person on phone. This time it was a printer carriage/printer ink setup problem, could not be fixed again. I took this one back to store and replaced with different brand entirely, setup was 1/2 hour tops. 96 wasted miles and 40 in gas. The saddest thing is this was to be a temporary printer for a month or two, I do bookkeeping and needed a printer right away and couldn't afford what I usually use now I might have to switch permanently.

woofie
Northeast PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Worst printer I have ever owned
1/30/2013

Customer review by dee0926

1.0 stars 1/30/2013 by dee0926
by dee0926

If the box it came in wasn't ruined in a flood, this printer would have been back to the store weeks ago. From Printing, it takes so long to print one thing, scanning keeps telling me to insert my hp cd, which its all installed and still wont scan, small ink cartridges, saying the ink is cheaper, but you buy it more often, terrible paper tray that holds very little paper, and what a job to reload the paper if your in a hurry, the noise it makes when printing and I cant use different card stocks that I was able to use in my other hp printers, now when I print on anything other then regular white copy paper, I have to print at a staples. What sense does that make, I do alot of work on my computer, and now have to go somewhere to use stock that i have always used in my other printers. This whole printer is terrible, I hate it. Look into other printers.

dee0926
New York
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Simplicity
6/17/2012

Customer review by JTFJ2

4.0 stars 6/17/2012 by JTFJ2
by JTFJ2

So far so good with the 4620. Nice print from nearly any decice, easy setup, and access to many settings via a dedicated webpage just for the printer. Two things, however: You may need to run the printer alignment test a couple of times. The first time is done as part of the setup process, but if you need to do it again, go through the printer webpage. Printer alignment cannot be accessed via the normal toolbox, only through your printer's dedicated webpage. Second, and a minor gripe, is that the page printout tray gets in the way of the paper tray itself. If you want to load a photo, say a 4x6 or 5x7, you'll have to take the printout holder completely off and then reinstall it. Not hard, just a tad annoying. I've had some VERY bad luck with HP printers in the last few years, so I am hoping this one turns out to be the charm. So far, so good.

JTFJ2
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1/20/2013

Customer review by tmanley0825

2.0 stars 1/20/2013 by tmanley0825
by tmanley0825

Does not work like it is supposed too.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tmanley0825
Would recommend to a friend? No
Perfect printer for anyone ..!!
7/4/2013

Customer review by Carla920

5.0 stars 7/4/2013 by Carla920
by Carla920

I purchased this printer for my 85 year old mother she loves it display is easy to read. The install was so easy done in about 10 minutes total.. Unpacking it and uninstalling the old printer software took the longest once that was done a snap.. Wireless setup a breeze just select "Autodectect" option.. I found all the functions to work flawlessly..

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Carla920
SAN DIEGO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 147 total reviews
1-20 of 147 reviews