Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 154 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

154 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

154 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

62%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
64
4 stars
28
3 stars
16
2 stars
13
1 stars
33
1-20 of 149 total reviews
62%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 149 total reviews
1-20 of 149 reviews
Doesn't have important features
7/27/2012

Customer review by caryadams

3.0 stars 7/27/2012 by caryadams
by caryadams

I assumed when purchasing the 4620 that it could easily do all the simple things in printing, including double-sided printing and grayscale printing, that my old 6210 printer could. This was an incorrect assumption. I spent a total of about 1 1/2 hours with HP tech support personnel on the telephone, during which time three tech reps told me the 4620 couldn't do these simple things by itself and that it couldn't use my 6210 software, which was still on my computer, to do them. But, while exploring the various capabilities of the new printer, I discovered that it can, indeed, use the 6210 software and print the way I had become accustomed to with my 6210. It works for me. Someone else buying this printer might not be as lucky as I. They might not already have compatible software already on their computer or otherwise available. It seems very strange to me that HP, already having developed and incorporated good printing software on my five-years-old 6210, would not incorporate it in the 4620.

caryadams
Valencia, California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Replacement printer for model 4620
1/12/2014

Customer review by jayhawk1962

2.0 stars 1/12/2014 by jayhawk1962
by jayhawk1962

The HP Officejet 4620 is my 3rd HP printer over the past two years and the 2nd model 4620 printer since I purchased a high-end All-In-One HP Omni system. The first printer was replaced with a "refurbished" 4620 printer. I purchased a 4620 printer even though I had purchased an 2-year extended warranty for the printer. HP Technical support kept stalling so I gave up on HP honoring the extended warranty and purchased the 2nd 4620. HP compensated me by sending me some ink cartridges. This printer consistently over prints the first two lines on a page and the "preference" setting to print first page first is ignored so last page first is always the option. With tax season approaching I am concerned that I may not be able to use the 4620 to print returns and my state discourages e-filing. The printer does not always eject the printed pages so you have to monitor the printing of a document. Based on my experience with HP printers over the past two years, I cannot recommend this model.

jayhawk1962
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
HP 4620 e-All-in-One Printer
5/26/2012

Customer review by Dwranny

4.0 stars 5/26/2012 by Dwranny
by Dwranny

This printer looks good; however, the print output is small and hard to read. Vital keys, especially the fax keys, on the front panel do not light up (making it hard to see what you are pushing). The driver was hard as Hades to find (even on the HP web site) and the wireless option was difficult to find and link. This thing takes FOUR ink cartridges!! A 3-colored ink combo package is available (but not in XL size), but it would have been better if the black were included. The ink is not all that cheap either. HP could do much better in that area! The beauty is that it is a fax, printer, copier, and scanner. The biggest drawback in multifunction equipment like this is that if one part goes out and needs to go to the shop, you lose all the others too! Overall, I liked the product but not the hassle it took to get the proper driver and link the wireless option...and I have a great deal of computer experience and tons of patience.

Dwranny
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
DO NOT BUY THIS PRINTER!
8/8/2012

Customer review by ColoradoJoe

1.0 stars 8/8/2012 by ColoradoJoe
by ColoradoJoe

I just started using this printer and have been very disappointed with the performance of the printing function. Often times I cannot print documents in Word--other times, the pages which I print after performing the nozzle-head or printer tests come up with blurred or streaked ink--usually in the areas of black ink. I am already in my second cycle of cartridges which I bought for this printer (cyan, yellow, magenta and black--this time I bought the extra large cartridges) but they appear to be guzzling ink at just a fast rate as the original cartridges did. Moreover, I cannot print more than one sheet of business cards at a time and the card sheet gets stuck in the tray after the printing is done. Why was I stupid to buy this printer in the first place? Unless someone can come up with a way to fix this high-maintenance piece of junk once and for all, I am going to get rid of it in the next few days. Enough is enough!!

ColoradoJoe
West Des Moines, IA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Good printer
3/5/2013

Customer review by Dirma

4.0 stars 3/5/2013 by Dirma
by Dirma

I now have two of these printers, one in each of my houses as it seems to be the best out there for a compact size and price. I am using them with a MacBookPro which is new and it works fine. It does not appear to be compatible with older PCs. Prior to buying a new computer, i had a 2007 PC with Vista and it seemed to freeze the printer and was unable to use it. I had to return that printer as it shorted out. Bought another one when I bought my new computer and it works perfectly. When my husbands old PC was set up for the printer, it tried to run a test page and jammed the printer 5 times. Yet it worked fine for me. I was also unable to delete the test page from his computer until we returned to our other house and it disappeared. He will not be using the new printer as I definitely find them incompatible. If you have a newer computer, then it is fine.

Dirma
New Canaan CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Disappointed-Frustrated-Angry
5/10/2012

Customer review by woofie

1.0 stars 5/10/2012 by woofie
by woofie

I have been a long time loyal customer of HP printers for many, many years, that has now changed. I purchased the 4620 on 5/8. Attempted to setup printer, after 4 hours consisting of on line help, new drivers, talking with a real person at HP, I ended up with a Scanner Failure, could not scan or copy. Took this printer back to where purchased and exchanged for same model on 5/9. This time it was 2 1/2 hours ending with Hp person on phone. This time it was a printer carriage/printer ink setup problem, could not be fixed again. I took this one back to store and replaced with different brand entirely, setup was 1/2 hour tops. 96 wasted miles and 40 in gas. The saddest thing is this was to be a temporary printer for a month or two, I do bookkeeping and needed a printer right away and couldn't afford what I usually use now I might have to switch permanently.

woofie
Northeast PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Worst printer I have ever owned
1/30/2013

Customer review by dee0926

1.0 stars 1/30/2013 by dee0926
by dee0926

If the box it came in wasn't ruined in a flood, this printer would have been back to the store weeks ago. From Printing, it takes so long to print one thing, scanning keeps telling me to insert my hp cd, which its all installed and still wont scan, small ink cartridges, saying the ink is cheaper, but you buy it more often, terrible paper tray that holds very little paper, and what a job to reload the paper if your in a hurry, the noise it makes when printing and I cant use different card stocks that I was able to use in my other hp printers, now when I print on anything other then regular white copy paper, I have to print at a staples. What sense does that make, I do alot of work on my computer, and now have to go somewhere to use stock that i have always used in my other printers. This whole printer is terrible, I hate it. Look into other printers.

dee0926
New York
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Simplicity
6/17/2012

Customer review by JTFJ2

4.0 stars 6/17/2012 by JTFJ2
by JTFJ2

So far so good with the 4620. Nice print from nearly any decice, easy setup, and access to many settings via a dedicated webpage just for the printer. Two things, however: You may need to run the printer alignment test a couple of times. The first time is done as part of the setup process, but if you need to do it again, go through the printer webpage. Printer alignment cannot be accessed via the normal toolbox, only through your printer's dedicated webpage. Second, and a minor gripe, is that the page printout tray gets in the way of the paper tray itself. If you want to load a photo, say a 4x6 or 5x7, you'll have to take the printout holder completely off and then reinstall it. Not hard, just a tad annoying. I've had some VERY bad luck with HP printers in the last few years, so I am hoping this one turns out to be the charm. So far, so good.

JTFJ2
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Not a good product
4/10/2013

Customer review by HPLongTermUser

1.0 stars 4/10/2013 by HPLongTermUser
by HPLongTermUser

This product was a major disappointment after using HP Printers at work and home for many years. I purchased this one early in February, was shipped a replacement in early March, and a second replacement in late March. Running MS Vista Home Premium may be the problem but I didn't care. The product was returned after the second replacement. The printer would go into sleep mode and would not come out unless it was turned off and turned back on. I had never had a similar problem with any HP Printer before. The Help Desk was great, as I said, they sent me TWO replacements, but the problem didn't go away. After 16 hours of frustration with the Help Desk, I decided to get the Officejet Pro 8600 Plus (for a lot more money) but haven't had a single problem since.

HPLongTermUser
Davie, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Looking forward to replacing it today
8/19/2013

Customer review by homeofficenot

1.0 stars 8/19/2013 by homeofficenot
by homeofficenot

I bought this printer for my niece for college. She ended up with a printer provided by school. It was too late to return this one. I held on to it for a back-up. My old HP printer finally needed to be replaced. I have been using this AOI for just over a month. While I like the wireless features, I can't wait to replace it. I seem to have had every issue described as negative -- print error instructing me to turn off printer, but could not turn off without unplugging from wall; constant message that scan cannot be completed, but then it does; prominent vertical black line on copies when using the feeder; very slow and loud when scanning with less than optimal scan quality. I suppose it is fine for the price, but not reliable for home office application.

homeofficenot
Would recommend to a friend? No
Flawless performance and connection
1/12/2013

Customer review by ARC828

5.0 stars 1/12/2013 by ARC828
by ARC828

Let me tell you first . This printer came after I complained the first one that failed during the set up. Thanks HP Customer Care for the next day delivery (i.e. less than 20 hrs) you never failed me. As for this printer, I had no problem whatsoever from set up , connection, print quality, quantity, etc. even photo printing i tried it once with 8.5 x 11 and it was so crisp. so far it is flawless. I also tried eprint feature and google print and everything is absolutely working perfectly. However, there is a tricky part in setting up eprint online but once you've done it, everything will turn out good. Additional info: I think my wireless-N router played a significant role on wireless devices esp. this HP 4620 printer.

ARC828
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Horrible Network Connectivity
9/13/2013

Customer review by am1739

1.0 stars 9/13/2013 by am1739
by am1739

I would not recommend this product to anyone. The time and energy I have spent trying to get my printer "back on" my home network would amount to multiple time saving trips to Kinko's to print without any problems. Every time my internet connection is inactive, or my computer is turned off......this printer can not reestablish a connection to my home network. I have decided to just leave my print with the power off and use it as a nice heavy paper weight, seeing as how I am unable to return it from where I bought it.....don't you just love those 30 day return policies.....anyways......I will be shopping around for yet anyone new printer and will definitely be steering clear of the All-in-One brand.

am1739
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
great price, lousy printer
5/13/2013

Customer review by tiredandfrustrated

1.0 stars 5/13/2013 by tiredandfrustrated
by tiredandfrustrated

I bought this printer at Sam's Club, brought it home, took it out of the box, set it up, and the rollers would not pull the paper in to be printed. They didn't move at all. Packed it all up, returned it to Sam's, switched it out for another one, brought it home, unpacked it and set it up. The black printer cartrige did not work. Packed that one up and returned it to Sam's for full refund. I am not sure I want to spend any more money on HP products if I have to keep returning it immediately after opening it up. I don't have time for that. I've never had so much trouble with an HP printer before, but I don't want to spend more money on something that may or may not work right out of the box.

tiredandfrustrated
Oklahoma City, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
sadly disappointed
10/22/2013

Customer review by JERRISland

1.0 stars 10/22/2013 by JERRISland
by JERRISland

I have always been faithful to HP, however, this last printer is horrid. The ink cartridges (4) run out, but you don't know which one; the graphics are obscure at best. Today I got into a cycle of: press OK to exit. I press ok, but I can't exit the program. Again and again. It is incredibly noisy and moves a good inch or two when printing more than one pg; and you can't print a lot at once because the paper holder is quite small. I am a fairly intelligent person, the techie of our household, so I should be able to work a printer! 4620 is low priced for a reason. Buyer beware. HP, you are usually so much better than this.

JERRISland
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Excellent Product
10/15/2012

Customer review by baycat

5.0 stars 10/15/2012 by baycat
by baycat

Arrived on time, as promised. Easy to unpack and set-up. Since I do not have corded phone line close to unit, did not set up fax, so it took only about 10 minutes from opening carton, to printing. This is my first HP printer in about 8 years, when I evaluated a new concept one, along with a camera for a research company. I liked that one, but already had one that made copies, a feature I use a lot. Overall, I am very happy with purchase and will reccommend to others.Price was great. Ordering was easy. Phone salesperson was knowledgeable. I am 81 years old, female and have been using computer and peripherals since 1986.

baycat
S. E. Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Poor set up
4/4/2013

Customer review by beachhouse

2.0 stars 4/4/2013 by beachhouse
by beachhouse

I've owned many HP products, this one was the only one I've had trouble with setup. The wireless and FAX setup went well, but there is something wrong with the black cartridge dispenser even after replacing the cartridge. After completing all the troubleshooting steps online, I called support and had great difficulty understanding the tech person. Between my southern accent and the tech's broken English, I had to ask that someone call me back later. I'm still waiting.I am sure the person was knowledgeable, but the language barrier was frustrating. I am requesting replacement and/or refund of the printer.

beachhouse
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
some features difficult to use
5/27/2012

Customer review by zinc

3.0 stars 5/27/2012 by zinc
by zinc

I would like to have had a manual (hard copy) accompanythis printer. The manual might have explained the icons/buttons below the screen and to the left of the screen. I'm finding some features such as faxing and scanning dificult to figure out how to use. Loading paper into the tray at the bottom of the printer is awkward, especially when I try to place one or two sheets of paper on top of the sheets already in the paper tray. The paper can't be slid in all the way unless I first take the other paper partway out and place the addtional sheets on top. Copies of text and photos are clear and sharp.

zinc
Rock Hill, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Does not maintain wireless connectivity
8/30/2013

Customer review by Bert21

1.0 stars 8/30/2013 by Bert21
by Bert21

I cannot depend on this printer to be available when I need to print. It will not remain connected to my wireless network. I have the latest printer firmware, latest software drivers, and a new wireless router installed by my network provider, and I have followed all of HP's troubleshooting help without relief. After one or two days the printer no longer works. I have to re-install it to make it work. Within another day or two it is again lost from the network. As a wireless printer it is worthless. I do not recommend purchasing this printer if you expect to use it as a wireless printer.

Bert21
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Very disappointed with Officejet 4620
7/19/2013

Customer review by iLoveOlive

1.0 stars 7/19/2013 by iLoveOlive
by iLoveOlive

Was easy to set up and the printer worked fine for a few days. However, you MUST turn off the printer after EVERY USE or it will freeze (only way I've been able to unfreeze it is by unplugging it from the wall and when it turns back on a little message on the display screen pops up telling you not to unplug it from the wall). On top of that my printer apparently has had a paper jam for about a week even though there is no paper in the printer.... When the printer is working properly (no paper jams/ not frozen) it prints quickly and quietly, but it breaks down more often than not.

iLoveOlive
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Printer
11/22/2012

Customer review by Marty8

5.0 stars 11/22/2012 by Marty8
by Marty8

This was a really good printer, the shipping was basic but came really fast and everything works terrific. I read another review which said the printer does not come with ink or cables (except power cord) and was a little hesitant about getting it but that was simply untrue, this printer has its cables (USB and a phone cable) and it also came included with ink so you can use it out of the box. Setup was a bit annoying as the paper would get hitched and jam, but after a few reprints everything is working great. I highly recomend this printer both for performance and price.

Marty8
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 149 total reviews
1-20 of 149 reviews