Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 133 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

133 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

133 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

66%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
57
4 stars
24
3 stars
9
2 stars
6
1 stars
37
1-20 of 114 total reviews
66%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 114 total reviews
1-20 of 114 reviews
Display burned after 1,5 years of very light use
3/31/2014

Customer review by Euro123

1.0 stars 3/31/2014 by Euro123
by Euro123

I purchased this unit to replace my Sharp 0.7 cu.ft after 12 years of use. I considered this unit/brand for size, power and design, only to realize after opening the box that the plastic is very cheap, unit is noisy and vibrates when running. Much to my disappointment the unit died after only 1.5 year of very light use (once a day for 3-5 minutes) Of course I cannot return it. Will definitely avoid buying this brand again !!!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Euro123
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great microwave
10/21/2012

Customer review by Netmouser

5.0 stars 10/21/2012 by Netmouser
by Netmouser

This microwave is great. No problems. All features work very well. This fits a dinner plate and microwave cover easily. Has all the "bells and whistles" of more expensive ovens.

Was this review helpful? (40) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Netmouser
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
User Error in Many Bad Reviews
6/5/2014

Customer review by Mainberg

4.0 stars 6/5/2014 by Mainberg
by Mainberg

Before I list solutions to the various problems encountered by writers of unfavorable reviews, I have to complain that Walmart's description of this item contains a gross error: The outside dimensions (per my measurements and the included instructions) actually are 17.9 x 12.8 x 10.4 inches. I think Walmart in this listing has recited the size of the BOX in which the unit is packed! That error is both really dumb and really bad. To those who complain the turntable doesn't turn: Look for a nearly invisible small piece of transparent tape which is part of the packing material and remove it. I didn't see it at first but that solved the problem once I found it. To those who complain the door is hard to open: Press the door opening handle to the left of center instead of at the center, notwithstanding the depression which seems to guide you toward the center. To those who complain the microwave slides back when they press the controls or door opening handle: This is a problem with ANY small lightweight microwave oven. We use bits of thin anti-skid carpet cushion under each foot and that stops it from sliding. To those who complain of premature failures or corrosion or wetness: I have experienced none of those problems and I have used mine for over 3 months. This little unit is outstanding for the price - an excellent value.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mainberg
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
save your time and money
9/22/2012

Customer review by Tillich

1.0 stars 9/22/2012 by Tillich
by Tillich

bought this because of it's small size to take camping. Horrible in every way! Interior is cramped. Revolving tray keeps coming off the track. Whatever time a 900+ watt microwave takes to heat an item, double with this machine. It has exceeded my lowest expectations. If you want to reheat a cup of coffee, this *may* meet your needs. If you want to do minimal microwave cooking, look elsewhere. (I can't even in good conscience give this to a friend--a stranger even!)

Was this review helpful? (53) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tillich
Columbia, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
JUNK
11/29/2013

Customer review by Mythy

1.0 stars 11/29/2013 by Mythy
by Mythy

Lasted two days....returned to store for a new one. Clerk said just take a refund, don't get another of that type. Kind of made me think they have seen a lot of these returned.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mythy
Wilton WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Why all the good reviews? Maybe I got a bad one..
1/6/2013

Customer review by GinSing

1.0 stars 1/6/2013 by GinSing
by GinSing

I'm not a fan of microwaves, but it's hard to live without them and I had been without one for several months. I didn't plan on using it often - just a quick re-heat here and there, so I started looking for small, dorm-room sized, budget friendly microwaves and found this one. The price was right; I like the Rival brand; and the reviews were good, so I went and bought one. Right out of the box, here's my experience: Right color; perfect size and not too heavy (that I could carry myself). Attractive looking. When I plugged it in, it was immedialy ON! I pushed the stop button and it was unresponsive! As a matter of fact, ALL THE BUTTONS were unresponsive to anything! Only opening the door would make the machine stop! That's pretty bad! On top of that, it wobbled. No thanks.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GinSing
TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
11/10/2012

Customer review by marnel224

5.0 stars 11/10/2012 by marnel224
by marnel224
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The unit is purchased to replace the office microwave which recently died. It receive high use as expected from an office environment; and is overall a wonderful unit. It has the same bells and whistles as my more expensive unit at home; everyone in the office is quite satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (22) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
marnel224
Denver
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Absolute Garbage
4/28/2014

Customer review by bigfishybob

1.0 stars 4/28/2014 by bigfishybob
by bigfishybob

The inside of this microwave rusted out and there was a constant smell. The ventilation must not have worked because it was always wet inside after use, no matter what you were cooking. Horrible product that we had for only about 1 year before we had to replace it. Absolute junk. Do not waste your money.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bigfishybob
Would recommend to a friend? No
Don't get it!
11/11/2013

Customer review by Amaris2012

1.0 stars 11/11/2013 by Amaris2012
by Amaris2012

We have had it for about maybe 4 months now and just last week it stated turning on and off by it self. And when you set it for 2 mins it will start over again. And now it just died on us. Save your money and get a better microwave.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Amaris2012
Mpls. MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Value
12/26/2012

Customer review by kaybs

4.0 stars 12/26/2012 by kaybs
by kaybs
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I think I got what i paid for. Cheap, simple and a basic microwave for a small space. Works well and I am happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kaybs
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Rival 0.7 cu ft Digital Microwave Oven
3/1/2016

Customer review by 76GH99

5.0 stars 3/1/2016 by 76GH99
by 76GH99

So far It works.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
76GH99
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Buy
4/27/2016

Customer review by snowflake1969

5.0 stars 4/27/2016 by snowflake1969
by snowflake1969

Love this microwave. Bought it to go in the break room at work. Has a lot of features. But I keep it simple. Heat food nicely. Now everyone else wants to use it too.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
snowflake1969
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
10/7/2013

Customer review by smile67

1.0 stars 10/7/2013 by smile67
by smile67

I bought it and it did not even last couple days, waste of my money on this, very low quality, bad !!!!!!!!, don't buy it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
smile67
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Don't Buy
12/16/2012

Customer review by Scorpio8307

1.0 stars 12/16/2012 by Scorpio8307
by Scorpio8307

I bought this 4 months ago and the tray comes out every time i turn it on. And it died yesterday.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Scorpio8307
La Crosse
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Easy to operate but beeps a lot
12/10/2012

Customer review by DrummerGal

4.0 stars 12/10/2012 by DrummerGal
by DrummerGal

The unit is a great price, but well put together. It is easy to use, but doesn't offer any option of turning the sound off. It beeps every time you push a button and five times when finished cooking, so it's bad for night-time use and office use. I called them to find an answer and they had no help for me. The unit is difficult to take apart and service. I know that most of us don't service, but really any unit can have a bad capacitor and need just a new one to keep going. I really hate the idiot-proofing that is going on due to product liability lawsuits. Any owner of a product should be able to easily access for repairs. There is no wiring diagram available either to cut the wires on the beeper. You have probably figured out by now that I really hate the beep.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DrummerGal
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Horrible machine
12/21/2012

Customer review by MCB0712

1.0 stars 12/21/2012 by MCB0712
by MCB0712
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This microwave started making noise 2 days after I got it. I am taking it back to WalMart. I hate it! hate it! hate it! Is there a thumbs down on here

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MCB0712
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for dorm or small apartment
2/14/2014

Customer review by billythegoat

4.0 stars 2/14/2014 by billythegoat
by billythegoat
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It was a good price and deal for this item, but not good for using to cook in. great for warming things and fast heat ups of left overs, lacks the power of a bigger microwave but still a good item for it's price. it does the job!

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
billythegoat
Chicago.IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worked at first
1/7/2014

Customer review by gapeach478

1.0 stars 1/7/2014 by gapeach478
by gapeach478

I bought this in May 2013 and around Christmas it started messing up. At first it would beep but it would still work. Now it won't allow me to put in the cook time, or use any other buttons except for the potato function. I have to keep unplugging it because when it beeps it says L 1, L 2, then L 3 and freezes. I'm throwing this piece of junk out and buying a better microwave. Don't buy this cheap thing!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gapeach478
Perry, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good while it lasts.
8/12/2014

Customer review by pianoman87

3.0 stars 8/12/2014 by pianoman87
by pianoman87

I had mine for a little over a year and it quit heating food. And I didn't really use it that much. So overall, I'm disappointed that it didn't last longer. My advice would be to spend a little more and get a better brand. I probably will not buy another Rival brand product again. Still, it did work well while it actually worked.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pianoman87
Deland, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
pretty good
4/25/2013

Customer review by JoeGuy

4.0 stars 4/25/2013 by JoeGuy
by JoeGuy

bought this as a replacement for my 20 year old goldstar, which finally blew a tube. certainly much smaller- I wanted to try a 50.00 model. so far; seems pretty good, meeting my expectations with no problems. may never last 20 years; but if can deliver 3-4 yrs; you got your 50 bucks worth. can't complain.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JoeGuy
Brooksville, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 114 total reviews
1-20 of 114 reviews