Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 125 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

2.5 stars

125 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

2.5 stars

125 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

43%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
39
4 stars
8
3 stars
6
2 stars
16
1 stars
56
1-20 of 109 total reviews
43%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 109 total reviews
1-20 of 109 reviews
You get what you pay for.
4/29/2012

Customer review by Spiffia

1.0 stars 4/29/2012 by Spiffia
by Spiffia

This product has proven to be complete trash. The price I paid for the player was very reasonable, but I should have known you get what you pay for. I've owned the player for less than a week and have had extreme difficulty getting it to play discs since day one. I am now sitting here writing this review after waiting 30+ minutes to try and play a disc. I've made several attempts to reload the disc, turn the player on and off, and still nothing. Trust me, if you're looking for a decent Blu-Ray player, take the $68 Walmart charges for this player and put it towards something better. I'll be returning this trash first thing tomorrow. Disgusted!

Was this review helpful? (64) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Spiffia
Fort Worth, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
not worth it
5/23/2012

Customer review by mercenarystage

1.0 stars 5/23/2012 by mercenarystage
by mercenarystage

requires usb drive to work, takes a really long time to load from disk, lags badly, got stuck with power on and no display half way through the first movie, had to unplug to reset , tried 2 other movies all of which were brand new with same issues happening

Was this review helpful? (30) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mercenarystage
Amarillo, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Very nice little Blu ray player.
6/28/2012

Customer review by DarkSpectre

5.0 stars 6/28/2012 by DarkSpectre
by DarkSpectre

My wife and I recently bought a 720p television for our room and it unfortunately only had one component and 2 HDMI slots. So I picked this blu ray player up to replace our DVD player and make use of the HDMI ports to free up the Component input for our Nintendo Wii. I have to say for 68 dollars I'm very impressed with this player. The picture quality is outstanding. I love the usb port in the front. The player handles avi files flawlessly and even upconverts them. As far as the Netflix feature, while it's nice to have a ready to go version, I don't use it. I have Netflix on the Wii. Several reviewers have had negative experiences with this player. That's unfortunate because it's a nice and simple player. And honestly for 68 dollars it's not going to be super high end. But overall a solid Blu ray player. I would probably go for something a little more high end if I were to replace my main family room player but it does what I bought it for: to watch movies in HD in our room. Especially since our downstairs TV and bluray player are dominated by our 3 yr old.

Was this review helpful? (31) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DarkSpectre
Cambridge, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
ABSOLUTELY NOT WIFI READY
4/22/2012

Customer review by techforyou

1.0 stars 4/22/2012 by techforyou
by techforyou

You have to buy a separate dongle for it to work!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (55) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
techforyou
Saint Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
8/25/2012

Customer review by Gman12343

5.0 stars 8/25/2012 by Gman12343
by Gman12343

I both this player to play all my file and BD movie, believe me this unit play them all , just plug your external hard drive or usb thumb drive and you all to go this unit will play all kinds of file format The other review who's complaining about the unit I don't know what they are looking for most of the HD tv now a day have hdmi connector & this have one at the back no component connector if you are watching BD you need the best connector anyway to have a better picture and HDMI will do that, and if you are looking for The wireless adapter this is the Philip web site link www.encompassparts.com and look for wub1110 usb adapter.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gman12343
Rhode Island
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
ZOOOOM! Yes, it has zoom. Finally a player with
7/13/2012

Customer review by pauldevv

5.0 stars 7/13/2012 by pauldevv
by pauldevv

zoom. Some blueray discs do not allow zoom, but all the dvd's i tried allow you to zoom and use the full size of your wide screen tv... NO more black bars at the top/bottom!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pauldevv
Rochester MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Player nice price
11/2/2012

Customer review by Alonzo2012

5.0 stars 11/2/2012 by Alonzo2012
by Alonzo2012

I bought this phillips blu ray player 10/31 2012 and i love it i have in my bedroom the wifi connect very well easy to hook up operated very well and its 1080p with very shape images . im very sadisfied. p.s tips READ THE INSTRUCTIONS FIRST BEFORE CONNECTING THE PLAYER. THIS PLAYER IS WI FI YOU MUST HAVE IT IN ORDER FOR PLAYER TO WORK PROPERLY NETFLIX IS A PAID SUBSCIPTION IF YOU HAVE IT YOU CAN DOWNLOAD IN YOUR PLAYER FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS. HDMI CABLE DOES NOT COME WITH THE PLAYER AVERAGE LOWEST COST $6-10 WALMART . GOOD LUCK.!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Alonzo2012
Manchester Ct.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worst... Purchase... EVER!!
6/30/2012

Customer review by MzH678

1.0 stars 6/30/2012 by MzH678
by MzH678

Power buttons only respond about half the time, the other half the machine stays locked-up! Even when powered off, it stays connected to the TV, had to unplug it for it to finally truly power off. Freezes if it's paused. Loses settings every time it's turned off - had to redo the network setup settings every time I turned it back on. (I have it directly plugged into my router) And yes, as the other reviewers have said, it IS NOT WIFI ready! Do yourself a favor and skip this "deal"! Wish I had!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MzH678
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Dissapointing
7/8/2012

Customer review by PeskyPrincess

1.0 stars 7/8/2012 by PeskyPrincess
by PeskyPrincess

I was given this DVD player as a gift from my Husband. I was excited to set it up only to find out it can ONLY be attached via HDMI (NOT INCLUDED) and if not hard wired the wireless set up is via a Philips USB (NOT INCLUDED) and very hard to find. Once you purchase everything needed to use all the features it's definetly not worth the money. My gift wound up costing me money. Not happy!!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PeskyPrincess
Neversink, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
This is trash!
10/11/2012

Customer review by Dynacat

1.0 stars 10/11/2012 by Dynacat
by Dynacat

DO NOT BUY THIS! First you need an additional piece of equipment to connect to your Wi-Fi that you can ONLY get from the manufacturer and then the remote doesn't register half the time. Don't waste you time OR your money.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dynacat
Sierra Vista, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Worth the money.
12/3/2012

Customer review by Duquesnealum

4.0 stars 12/3/2012 by Duquesnealum
by Duquesnealum

I bought this player today and installed it without a problem. It's true the remote is kind of cheap but it worked fine. Many of the negative comments about this device are based on ignorance. Very few Bluray players come with an HDMI cable. All players sold as wifi ready require a seperate adapter(never worth the money). If you are looking for a no frills Bluray this one will fill the bill. Also, this player can be hacked to play other region dvds.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Duquesnealum
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Requires a piece for wifi! Not built in! Don't buy
7/4/2012

Customer review by Bynx

1.0 stars 7/4/2012 by Bynx
by Bynx

I wouldn't recommend this anyone unless you were only going to pay like 20 bucks for it, because the piece you need is 20 dollars extra anyways. Your better off getting a higher priced one that is going to automatically connect to wifi for you. I didn't even get it out of the box, read manual, found this out and returned it the next day...

Was this review helpful? (6) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bynx
NewYork
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
4/24/2012

Customer review by youcancallmeearl

4.0 stars 4/24/2012 by youcancallmeearl
by youcancallmeearl

Great little player for $68. Seems to work better than others costing half again as much. It doesn't have as many online apps as some but what it does have work well and quick. WiFi is not included but can be added via the USB port or you can plug an external hard disk into the USB port.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
youcancallmeearl
NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wi-Fi usb more than purchase price
11/1/2012

Customer review by cloroxqueen

1.0 stars 11/1/2012 by cloroxqueen
by cloroxqueen

I bought this because ti said that I could use it with netflix, what it did not tell me is that I also had to purchase a $60 Phillips WUB1110 usb to use wireless. Will be taking it back to Walmarts today. By the way, If you can find the usb, you will not find it on the Philips.com web site or their store.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cloroxqueen
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not Worth the Cost
8/20/2012

Customer review by Sky2222

2.0 stars 8/20/2012 by Sky2222
by Sky2222

This machine is basically "just OK." It's compact and plays DVDs like it's supposed to do. Having said that, I made a mistake in buying it. It doesn't have audio/video plugs for connecting to external component stereo equipment. It doesn't have built in Wi-Fi which means two things. In order to stream video, you either you have to plug in an Ethernet cable to the front of it (that looks ugly) or spend $20-30 for a wireless adapter. If you do the latter, then for the added cost you can buy a player with built in Wi-Fi capability and other amenities; which is exactly what I am going to do when I return this one tomorrow. I really don't understand this in-between design concept. If one only wants to play DVD movies then they can get a nice player cheaper than this. If one wants to do streaming video then I would think that they would want the full packaged equipment which doesn't cost much more than this one.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sky2222
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Don't waste your money
7/8/2012

Customer review by bluewelder

1.0 stars 7/8/2012 by bluewelder
by bluewelder

This player froze on the 3rd Blu Ray it ever played. It took me thirty minutes to get the disc out, and it has frozen every time I have tried to play a movie since. Spend a few extra dollars and get a player that works.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bluewelder
Macon, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
At least the power LED functions correctly...
7/14/2012

Customer review by SlimmDaddy

1.0 stars 7/14/2012 by SlimmDaddy
by SlimmDaddy

I have had this player for one week now and have had nothing but trouble with it. The most annoying part is IT WILL NOT WORK regularly. Pop in a disc and watch a movie and the next movie wont work...just goes to a black screen after you hit play in the movie menu. Sometimes the player wont respond at all to any button pressing on the remote or the unit, I have to unplug it and start from scratch. The eject button takes a minimum of 1 minute to respond, so be prepared for that wait. Overall I wouldn't give this junk a single star, the only thing it has going for it would be the cost....but if it doesn't work what point is a good price? Going to return this afternoon and get something else....

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SlimmDaddy
Louisville, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/24/2012

Customer review by corky059

5.0 stars 9/24/2012 by corky059
by corky059

I love it because I can play both Blu-Ray and reg DVD. I have told others about this and they will be buying it for Xmas for there family's

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
corky059
Wis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
7/14/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 7/14/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The player worked well out of the box EXCEPT for the Wi-Fi. It isn't made clear that the Wi-Fi works only IF you have a USB adaptor cable which, surprise, isn't included in the box. My fault for not reading the (very) small print on the box when I picked it up. The electrical cord is also way-y-y too short so you better have a plug very near or a spare extension cord. My other Blu Ray player is also a Philips with a 6 foot cord; this one is about 4 feet.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
North Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not worth the cheap price
7/23/2012

Customer review by BftFoodie

1.0 stars 7/23/2012 by BftFoodie
by BftFoodie

They went out of their way to make this a shoddy device. To use netflix or other online resources you have to plug it to your modem, or buy a $40 device that plugs into the front of the player. Making the total coast to stream wirelessly $100. Other major brands offer blu-ray options at around $100 or LESS with wi-fi. Go another direction.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BftFoodie
Beaufort, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 109 total reviews
1-20 of 109 reviews