Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 126 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

2.5 stars

126 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

2.5 stars

126 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

43%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
39
4 stars
8
3 stars
6
2 stars
16
1 stars
57
1-20 of 110 total reviews
43%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 110 total reviews
1-20 of 110 reviews
Very nice little Blu ray player.
6/28/2012

Customer review by DarkSpectre

5.0 stars 6/28/2012 by DarkSpectre
by DarkSpectre

My wife and I recently bought a 720p television for our room and it unfortunately only had one component and 2 HDMI slots. So I picked this blu ray player up to replace our DVD player and make use of the HDMI ports to free up the Component input for our Nintendo Wii. I have to say for 68 dollars I'm very impressed with this player. The picture quality is outstanding. I love the usb port in the front. The player handles avi files flawlessly and even upconverts them. As far as the Netflix feature, while it's nice to have a ready to go version, I don't use it. I have Netflix on the Wii. Several reviewers have had negative experiences with this player. That's unfortunate because it's a nice and simple player. And honestly for 68 dollars it's not going to be super high end. But overall a solid Blu ray player. I would probably go for something a little more high end if I were to replace my main family room player but it does what I bought it for: to watch movies in HD in our room. Especially since our downstairs TV and bluray player are dominated by our 3 yr old.

Was this review helpful? (31) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DarkSpectre
Cambridge, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
missing piece thats needed to play
7/28/2012

Customer review by shoppersite1

1.0 stars 7/28/2012 by shoppersite1
by shoppersite1

I am a huge fan of any Philips products and I bought this to go in my bedroom without reading the reviews. Essentially this player is made to go with a Philips brand tv but however if you try to connect it to another brand of television you will find it is missing a very important piece. The outcome is the piece called the USB adaptor is what you need to purchase otherwise you will not even get a a home menu and be under the impression it is a defective piece which it is not. Heartbreaking as it is ...it is going back because the piece sells for the price of the actual player. A ethernet cable didnt help either. So its back to shopping for what I have learned now is a blu ray player that comes with the USB adaptor. They are all standard in price ...close to $60. SO DONT BE FRUSTRATED WITH THE PRODUCT ....ITS IS HOWEVER AN ADDITIONAL INVESTMENT. So instead of getting one for $68.....try to invest the few dollars more to avoid the dissapointment of not being able to watch your favorite blu ray 2nite.

Was this review helpful? (3) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shoppersite1
bloomfield
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Works Just Fine For Me
1/7/2013

Customer review by Vond

4.0 stars 1/7/2013 by Vond
by Vond

I got this Blu Ray player over the holidays and was able to get it set up with relative ease (The hardest part being trying to find the HDMI port on my TV). I expected having to purchase an HDMI cord, as they're a little more pricey than the normal AV (Red Yellow White) cords. I wasn't overly concerned with the WiFi requiring an adapter as I don't really use Netflix. The one negative that I have found is that sometimes the drawer doesn't eject after pressing the button even several times and for that I have taken 2 stars from "Performance". Overall I would give it about a 4.5/5. It plays all of my DVDs and Blu Ray diskss without issue and aside from the drawer ejection issue, I've had no other problems. The overall average rating doesn't give this player justice. Understand that you will need to get an HDMI cord and WiFi Adapter (If you choose to utilize that aspect of it) in order to use it. Realize that it isnt the top end of devices and you wont be disappointed with it at all.

Vond
Florida, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
You get what you pay for.
4/29/2012

Customer review by Spiffia

1.0 stars 4/29/2012 by Spiffia
by Spiffia

This product has proven to be complete trash. The price I paid for the player was very reasonable, but I should have known you get what you pay for. I've owned the player for less than a week and have had extreme difficulty getting it to play discs since day one. I am now sitting here writing this review after waiting 30+ minutes to try and play a disc. I've made several attempts to reload the disc, turn the player on and off, and still nothing. Trust me, if you're looking for a decent Blu-Ray player, take the $68 Walmart charges for this player and put it towards something better. I'll be returning this trash first thing tomorrow. Disgusted!

Was this review helpful? (64) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Spiffia
Fort Worth, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
not worth it
5/23/2012

Customer review by mercenarystage

1.0 stars 5/23/2012 by mercenarystage
by mercenarystage

requires usb drive to work, takes a really long time to load from disk, lags badly, got stuck with power on and no display half way through the first movie, had to unplug to reset , tried 2 other movies all of which were brand new with same issues happening

Was this review helpful? (30) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mercenarystage
Amarillo, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
8/25/2012

Customer review by Gman12343

5.0 stars 8/25/2012 by Gman12343
by Gman12343

I both this player to play all my file and BD movie, believe me this unit play them all , just plug your external hard drive or usb thumb drive and you all to go this unit will play all kinds of file format The other review who's complaining about the unit I don't know what they are looking for most of the HD tv now a day have hdmi connector & this have one at the back no component connector if you are watching BD you need the best connector anyway to have a better picture and HDMI will do that, and if you are looking for The wireless adapter this is the Philip web site link www.encompassparts.com and look for wub1110 usb adapter.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gman12343
Rhode Island
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not Worth the Cost
8/20/2012

Customer review by Sky2222

2.0 stars 8/20/2012 by Sky2222
by Sky2222

This machine is basically "just OK." It's compact and plays DVDs like it's supposed to do. Having said that, I made a mistake in buying it. It doesn't have audio/video plugs for connecting to external component stereo equipment. It doesn't have built in Wi-Fi which means two things. In order to stream video, you either you have to plug in an Ethernet cable to the front of it (that looks ugly) or spend $20-30 for a wireless adapter. If you do the latter, then for the added cost you can buy a player with built in Wi-Fi capability and other amenities; which is exactly what I am going to do when I return this one tomorrow. I really don't understand this in-between design concept. If one only wants to play DVD movies then they can get a nice player cheaper than this. If one wants to do streaming video then I would think that they would want the full packaged equipment which doesn't cost much more than this one.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sky2222
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
ZOOOOM! Yes, it has zoom. Finally a player with
7/13/2012

Customer review by pauldevv

5.0 stars 7/13/2012 by pauldevv
by pauldevv

zoom. Some blueray discs do not allow zoom, but all the dvd's i tried allow you to zoom and use the full size of your wide screen tv... NO more black bars at the top/bottom!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pauldevv
Rochester MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Player nice price
11/2/2012

Customer review by Alonzo2012

5.0 stars 11/2/2012 by Alonzo2012
by Alonzo2012

I bought this phillips blu ray player 10/31 2012 and i love it i have in my bedroom the wifi connect very well easy to hook up operated very well and its 1080p with very shape images . im very sadisfied. p.s tips READ THE INSTRUCTIONS FIRST BEFORE CONNECTING THE PLAYER. THIS PLAYER IS WI FI YOU MUST HAVE IT IN ORDER FOR PLAYER TO WORK PROPERLY NETFLIX IS A PAID SUBSCIPTION IF YOU HAVE IT YOU CAN DOWNLOAD IN YOUR PLAYER FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS. HDMI CABLE DOES NOT COME WITH THE PLAYER AVERAGE LOWEST COST $6-10 WALMART . GOOD LUCK.!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Alonzo2012
Manchester Ct.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
ABSOLUTELY NOT WIFI READY
4/22/2012

Customer review by techforyou

1.0 stars 4/22/2012 by techforyou
by techforyou

You have to buy a separate dongle for it to work!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (56) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
techforyou
Saint Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Worth the money.
12/3/2012

Customer review by Duquesnealum

4.0 stars 12/3/2012 by Duquesnealum
by Duquesnealum

I bought this player today and installed it without a problem. It's true the remote is kind of cheap but it worked fine. Many of the negative comments about this device are based on ignorance. Very few Bluray players come with an HDMI cable. All players sold as wifi ready require a seperate adapter(never worth the money). If you are looking for a no frills Bluray this one will fill the bill. Also, this player can be hacked to play other region dvds.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Duquesnealum
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Worst... Purchase... EVER!!
6/30/2012

Customer review by MzH678

1.0 stars 6/30/2012 by MzH678
by MzH678

Power buttons only respond about half the time, the other half the machine stays locked-up! Even when powered off, it stays connected to the TV, had to unplug it for it to finally truly power off. Freezes if it's paused. Loses settings every time it's turned off - had to redo the network setup settings every time I turned it back on. (I have it directly plugged into my router) And yes, as the other reviewers have said, it IS NOT WIFI ready! Do yourself a favor and skip this "deal"! Wish I had!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MzH678
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
This is trash!
10/11/2012

Customer review by Dynacat

1.0 stars 10/11/2012 by Dynacat
by Dynacat

DO NOT BUY THIS! First you need an additional piece of equipment to connect to your Wi-Fi that you can ONLY get from the manufacturer and then the remote doesn't register half the time. Don't waste you time OR your money.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dynacat
Sierra Vista, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
No built in wifi
1/7/2013

Customer review by Topkick1947

1.0 stars 1/7/2013 by Topkick1947
by Topkick1947

I wanted a Blu-Ray player for a kitchen TV for occasional use and selected the Philips 2900 as a low-cost option. I carefully read the features on the product box so I would know what to expect and the box clearly stated it is "Wi-Fi ready" and it displayed the logos for Netflix and vudu HD Movies. I learned only after opening the box at home that that that label does not mean Wi-Fi capable. To get the Wi-Fi features you must purchase an add-on USB Wi-Fi adapter, the Philips WUB1100. When I tried to order it on the Philips website, clicking on the "buy" button got me 10 minutes of a loading icon. I gave up and checked other websites advertising the adapter and the prices, with shipping, ranged from around $25 to $75 (the most common!). I complained to Philips that their labeling is deceptive, and they agreed to upgrade my BluRay to the 2985 model for a $10 fee. I'll post again when I receive it and try it out. I still can't believe it wouldn't be easier and less expensive for Philips to simply send me the adapter, or better yet, charge an extra $10 and include the adapter in the original packaging.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Topkick1947
Central New York
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
At least the power LED functions correctly...
7/14/2012

Customer review by SlimmDaddy

1.0 stars 7/14/2012 by SlimmDaddy
by SlimmDaddy

I have had this player for one week now and have had nothing but trouble with it. The most annoying part is IT WILL NOT WORK regularly. Pop in a disc and watch a movie and the next movie wont work...just goes to a black screen after you hit play in the movie menu. Sometimes the player wont respond at all to any button pressing on the remote or the unit, I have to unplug it and start from scratch. The eject button takes a minimum of 1 minute to respond, so be prepared for that wait. Overall I wouldn't give this junk a single star, the only thing it has going for it would be the cost....but if it doesn't work what point is a good price? Going to return this afternoon and get something else....

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SlimmDaddy
Louisville, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Dissapointing
7/8/2012

Customer review by PeskyPrincess

1.0 stars 7/8/2012 by PeskyPrincess
by PeskyPrincess

I was given this DVD player as a gift from my Husband. I was excited to set it up only to find out it can ONLY be attached via HDMI (NOT INCLUDED) and if not hard wired the wireless set up is via a Philips USB (NOT INCLUDED) and very hard to find. Once you purchase everything needed to use all the features it's definetly not worth the money. My gift wound up costing me money. Not happy!!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PeskyPrincess
Neversink, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Requires a piece for wifi! Not built in! Don't buy
7/4/2012

Customer review by Bynx

1.0 stars 7/4/2012 by Bynx
by Bynx

I wouldn't recommend this anyone unless you were only going to pay like 20 bucks for it, because the piece you need is 20 dollars extra anyways. Your better off getting a higher priced one that is going to automatically connect to wifi for you. I didn't even get it out of the box, read manual, found this out and returned it the next day...

Was this review helpful? (6) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bynx
NewYork
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Horrible product
3/11/2013

Customer review by Jm83

1.0 stars 3/11/2013 by Jm83
by Jm83

I got this item as a gift and I had to call them and say it didn't work right. I took it back to the store once because the button to close it wouldn't work. It also froze on me and decided it wouldn't turn on. It's a good thing I didn't have any discs in it. It was also very slow to load anything. When we replaced it with the same product, it worked fine the first few days. It was a tad bit faster, but started giving problems within the next few weeks. It froze and I had to unplug it to get it to work. The other day, it wouldn't turn on at all. Now, we tried to get it to work with our surround sound unit, and the surround sound will work with all of the other languages BUT English. This is a TERRIBLE Blu-ray player and Philips should be ashamed of themselves for selling it. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!

Jm83
Dallas, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Great BR/DVD player for price!
8/18/2015

Customer review by devocite

5.0 stars 8/18/2015 by devocite
by devocite

I have 3 of the units. The first one I purchase, I was dubious that such a small device could not only play BR/DVD but media files. I was pleasantly surprised and how well it work, especially for the cost. BR take a while to load, but I can look past that, considering all the Java going on behind the scene. DVD work great, and the up-scaling makes a DVD look fantastic even on a 60inch TV screen. As for media file support, I love this. I've converted my children (seemingly) 100's of DVD to DiVX, put them on a USB hard-drive. No more scratch, lost or swapping out discs. The menu is basic, and I wish there were more characters displayed. I now own two more and I'm happy with them.

devocite
Columbia, MO, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Wi-Fi usb more than purchase price
11/1/2012

Customer review by cloroxqueen

1.0 stars 11/1/2012 by cloroxqueen
by cloroxqueen

I bought this because ti said that I could use it with netflix, what it did not tell me is that I also had to purchase a $60 Phillips WUB1110 usb to use wireless. Will be taking it back to Walmarts today. By the way, If you can find the usb, you will not find it on the Philips.com web site or their store.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cloroxqueen
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 110 total reviews
1-20 of 110 reviews