Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 20 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

20 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

20 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
10
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-19 of 19 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1st LED HDTV
8/27/2012

Customer review by H8tremorse

5.0 stars 8/27/2012 by H8tremorse
by H8tremorse

Had this TV for a few days now I am totally falling in love with the TV. I had to replace a 46" lcd that had nothing but problems with the Lamp 5 in five years so I started to shop around and I always came back to Philips brand. I have a Philips 19" CRT that has lasted me 15+ years. I found the 40" LED 1080p and loved the Slick design and Brilliant picture I see. The only thing that I am worried about is that the speakers sound to weak for 2x10watt I have to turn up the volume to about 60 - 70 and I am worried that I might have it to loud and can damage the speakers! So I just use the Surround that I have hooked up.

Was this review helpful? (12) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
H8tremorse
Huntington Beach
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good value!
10/2/2012

Customer review by DedicatedProfessional

4.0 stars 10/2/2012 by DedicatedProfessional
by DedicatedProfessional

I purchased this product, instead of the Samsung competitor, because of the promise of better sound quality. It has not disappointed me! I have no complaints about my Philips LED TV! If you don't need a "Smart" TV with all sorts of bells and whistles, then this is a strong candidate for you.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DedicatedProfessional
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
led 1080 hd tv is best
10/7/2012

Customer review by teamnovak

5.0 stars 10/7/2012 by teamnovak
by teamnovak

i have 2 led tvs now is 40" and 26" tvs they sre both led hd tvs and they will save me lots of money on eletric bill so 40" is full 1080 hd tv and other is 26" 720 hd tv and the picture is the same brightness quality and i have no problems with that and i can hook it up so easy for tv or pc to use on both tvs and the sound is so much better than the old one is lcd tv that is sanyo 42" tv but the engery is a little waste but good savings so philips is the best brand ever is #1 and light in wieght and not so havey at all but the old one is so heavy around 80 pounds so led tvs is so much lighter 40" about 42 pounds and 26" about 16 1/2 pounds so not so bad at all so just give up lcd tv and get led tv and save the engery bill to be lower than before

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
teamnovak
queen creek, az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1st LED HDTV
8/24/2012

Customer review by Noremorse

5.0 stars 8/24/2012 by Noremorse
by Noremorse

Had this TV for a few days now I am totally falling in love with the TV. I had to replace a 46" lcd that had nothing but problems with the Lamp 5 in five years so I started to shop around and I always came back to Philips brand. I have a Philips 19" CRT that has lasted me 15+ years. I found the 40" LED 1080p and loved the Slick design and Brilliant picture I see. The only thing that I am worried about is that the speakers sound to weak for 2x10watt I have to turn up the volume to about 60 - 70 and I am worried that I might have it to loud and can damage the speakers! So I just use the Surround that I have hooked up.

Noremorse
Huntington Beach, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great picture and low energy usage
5/16/2012

Customer review by MichaelG

5.0 stars 5/16/2012 by MichaelG
by MichaelG

We have had this set for a few weeks and the picture quality is great.LED makes a large difference in colouration compared to regular LCD.Auto racing and sport viewing are excellent.Thanks Philips Also would recommend HD programming and the HDMI cable.

MichaelG
Maryland,USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
great features
8/26/2012

Customer review by brankrist

5.0 stars 8/26/2012 by brankrist
by brankrist

great product ,have in bed roomhighly recomment to others

brankrist
El Paso, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
nice looking tv
5/16/2012

Customer review by ct19

5.0 stars 5/16/2012 by ct19
by ct19

Just bought this tv and love it so far. It comes without the base attached which was convenient since I was hanging it right on the wall. I messed my last old tv up trying to take the base off. The tv is light for a 40" and looks great hanging on the wall.

ct19
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great TV. Excellent Picture. Loud Speakers!
6/14/2012

Customer review by Ryan90

5.0 stars 6/14/2012 by Ryan90
by Ryan90

I have had this tv for almost a month now. The picture quality is excellent. If I have one gripe is that the speakers are so good and the trusurround is works so well that most sounds are significantly louder than voices in the tv programs.

Ryan90
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I love the features on this TV
6/17/2012

Customer review by eshasmom

5.0 stars 6/17/2012 by eshasmom
by eshasmom

This is my first big screen HDTV. It isn't as big as the one I want, but when I am ready to get another one, this one will go in my bedroom and you can be sure the next one I buy will be a Phillips!!

eshasmom
Tualatin, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
So far so good.......my wife gift.....she loves this TV
11/10/2012

Customer review by Gift2wife

5.0 stars 11/10/2012 by Gift2wife
by Gift2wife

Great picture and sound .....What else we may expect?...plus, very inexpensive .....just perfect!

Gift2wife
Deerfield Beach, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great Alternative to Smart TV's
11/2/2012

Customer review by SimpleLifeGirl

4.0 stars 11/2/2012 by SimpleLifeGirl
by SimpleLifeGirl

I had a Philips 20" LCD which while it worked (that is I could turn it on) just was too old to pick up any digital channels, even after I bought an upgraded antenna. I refuse to pay for cable so this works great with an antenna. Great picture, clear and crisp. Extremely easy to set up. Good sound even without a home theater system. Gives you lots of options to adjust everything (brightness, contrast, etc.) to your own preferences. Also got an additional discount off the price when I went to pick it up from the local WalMart store, so that was a plus. If you don't need or want a Smart Tv, this one is perfect.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SimpleLifeGirl
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
a nice HDTV, but sound quality is variable
12/5/2012

Customer review by quinnfield

4.0 stars 12/5/2012 by quinnfield
by quinnfield

I'm generally pleased with this HDTV, although the sound quality is very poor on some local channels. (You have to turn the volume way up to hear anything.) The picture quality is excellent and the setup is easy. I also like that the Phillips HDTV is one of the most energy efficient sets on the market. BTW, I paid $478 in September 2012, but I recently saw this model advertised at Amazon for $350.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
quinnfield
Springfield, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love Almost Everything About It
6/17/2012

Customer review by DebbieDoo

4.0 stars 6/17/2012 by DebbieDoo
by DebbieDoo

I love almost everything about it except for the sound quality.

DebbieDoo
Tx Panhandle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
This product is easy to preset personal preferences for picture and sound.
6/17/2012

Customer review by Terre87

4.0 stars 6/17/2012 by Terre87
by Terre87

The design of this product looks sleek and is lightweight compared to similar size products. The setup is easy and well explained in the quick guide and manual.The picture quality is great and by using LED technology, we use less electricity to watch tv & movies.

Terre87
Kansas City, MO, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
It works
11/12/2012

Customer review by Igore

4.0 stars 11/12/2012 by Igore
by Igore

I turn it on,,,,,,I get a picture,,,,,,,,it works!

Igore
Florida, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Good customer support
11/29/2013

Customer review by motormouth46

4.0 stars 11/29/2013 by motormouth46
by motormouth46

We were having trouble with the volume on CBS only. After talking with the support people, they said as the TV was in warranty we could either have a different TV or have a repair person coming to our house. We chose the different TV. Within a week Phillips had sent us a different TV and paid for the shipping of ours back to them. How much better could they be?

motormouth46
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
low end television
12/16/2012

Customer review by kc2dhj

3.0 stars 12/16/2012 by kc2dhj
by kc2dhj

this television is average compared to most TVs there is no clock and the EPG does not work very well. most of the features are blocked.

kc2dhj
Queens, NY, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
MELY
2/18/2013

Customer review by Mely01

3.0 stars 2/18/2013 by Mely01
by Mely01

"HDMI connection does not work AND USB AND HAVE NO UPDATES"

Mely01
Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
This TV has the worst sound
6/19/2013

Customer review by Booinfl

1.0 stars 6/19/2013 by Booinfl
by Booinfl

This is my first smart TV. I struggled for months with the sound, I thought my inability to hear conversation was a sign of my old age. Dialog was muffled and hard to understand. In order to hear the dialog I had to turn volume way up. However, when the music appeared on the show/movie, the sound was so loud, it blew me away. Therefore, I was always adjusting volume --- something I have never had to do in 50 years of TV watching. I spent too long to return the TV, so I bought a Bose stereo, which claims to even out sound. WHAT A DIFFERENCE! It wasn't me! The sound is perfect! Some compatibility issues with the stereo. Bose doesn't have an HDMI connection and Phillips doesn't have an optical digital audio connection -- the optimum for both products. The analog stereo audio doesn't work at all. That left coaxial digital audio. I suggest the product be more compatible with sound systems and if the price of the TV needs to be increased to include decent speakers, do it.

Booinfl
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female