Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 35 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

35 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

35 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
24
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
1-20 of 35 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews
The best spincast reel ever!
9/10/2012

Customer review by Chris93257

5.0 stars 9/10/2012 by Chris93257
by Chris93257

I purchased this reel for my 8 year old son. I intended for it to last him throughout boy scouts. I paired it with 6'6" abu garcia pole. He can't cast it too well because the pole is too big for him. I've started using this setup because it blows all my other combos away. I had been using a spinning ugly stick set up until I realized this casts like 10 yards further. I also have two black max casting reels but no poles for them yet. So I will continue using this reel until I get a pole or my son gets the hang of his. If you are new to fishing and want something of quality that wont become obsolete as your skill improves then this is perfect.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chris93257
Porterville, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Help
12/31/2015

Customer review by Simonet

3.0 stars 12/31/2015 by Simonet
by Simonet

Pelade Help Rotation sens of the Frank si inverse than usual Suis it possible to change it I can not fish Luke Thatcher Thanks

Simonet
Oyonnax, France
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Lifelong Favorite Reel
12/19/2015

Customer review by Cherokee

5.0 stars 12/19/2015 by Cherokee
by Cherokee
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have fished with the 170 and 290 reels since my early teens and those old reels are still in good working order and get used regularly. I am 64 years old now and have managed to collect over 55 of these 170 reels along with a massive collection of factory new replacement parts and good condition used parts. Cleaning and rebuilding these reels was once an enjoyable hobby of mine until I had a stroke which now limits my ability to continue this pastime.

Cherokee
LaPlace, LA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not reccomended for saltwater
11/27/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 11/27/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this for my son, he's 4 and not quite ready to graduate to spinning reels for inshore flats fishing or bass fishing. Got this because it is "saltwater ready" not so much, we fish saltwater regularly and I am a freak about rinsing and caring for my equipment. This reel after a few trips has got serious corrosion all over the internals of the reel (it is still pretty on the outside.) It still works but not very smoothly. Also thought by reading these reviews that the reel would handle braid, again not so much, you can spool it with braid but it will not cast braid at all. Also the thing weighs a ton, I would not want to cast it all day that is for sure. So I have bit the the bullet and taught my boy how to use spinning gear. I was overall very disappointed with this reel, and do not recomend it at all. The only positive is that it has a really nice drag which is important, my son did land a 30 inch redfish and several other smaller red's with it.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Service
12/14/2015

Customer review by abellakent

5.0 stars 12/14/2015 by abellakent
by abellakent
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Spark Reviewer - received free product

I purchased 2 reals over the internet and I made the mistake of getting the wrong hand configuration on one of them, I returned the wrong one and received the correct one very quickly.

abellakent
Kansas City, MO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Best spincast out there.
8/23/2013

Customer review by uncajurl

5.0 stars 8/23/2013 by uncajurl
by uncajurl

Had one back in mid 70's but it got stolen. Didn't know they still made them. The old one was made in Sweden but they're now made in China. I can't tell any difference in quality. If there is any flaw,it's that there is no audible sound when drag is working. Ordered it from Walmart online and had it shipped to my local store. It came in two days before they said it would,

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
uncajurl
Sparks, Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Reel
5/19/2013

Customer review by IDontKnowDiddley

5.0 stars 5/19/2013 by IDontKnowDiddley
by IDontKnowDiddley
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Pulled it out of the box, put it on a pole, and went fishing. Adjusted the drag and that was it. Will buy again as my other reels break.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IDontKnowDiddley
Lincoln, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
170i
9/7/2015

Customer review by nicknamebr549

4.0 stars 9/7/2015 by nicknamebr549
by nicknamebr549

Works well good reel for the money cast great been using this real for a month about 48 hours a week

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nicknamebr549
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Die hard
2/3/2011

Customer review by WVRaybird

5.0 stars 2/3/2011 by WVRaybird
by WVRaybird

Abu Garcia has always been a company that stood for quality products. The Abumatic Classic 170i is a result of it. This reel has nothing but quality in it. You can take it on a lake or river and never worry about it. Or you can take it on a ocean adventure and fish with the best of them. This reel has a ultra smooth drag when you need it the most. The front cone is made out of aluminum so you don't have to worry about rusting. Casting is a also a effortless deed. It will cast the same with 12lb test as it would with 4lb test. The gears are also very dependable so you don't have to worry when you have a big one on. This reel would be great for a boy starting out as to a life long "die hard" that is still going for the monster catch of all time.

WVRaybird
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Oh my!
7/28/2012

Customer review by mister

5.0 stars 7/28/2012 by mister
by mister

I found my old 170 that i used back in early 90's. Its been laying around in my old familyhouse so i was very happy when i found it! so many good catches and i remember it was easy to use, but did it still work ? - It was used in saltwater for atlest 7-9 hours a day for a period of 7-8 years. - It wasent cleaned before put away - The salty line was still attached - It hasent been touched or used since 96' I just flushed it quickly in regular tap water and cleaned up with a napkin, went to the sea and tried it out and it worked FLAWLESS. after all these years! No mechanical issues or any flaws in throwing or handling. I'm stunned. I will never switch from Abumatic again, this is priceless. First catch was a Plaice on 1.2kg !

mister
sweden
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Different than I expected
7/4/2013

Customer review by EagleEye777

3.0 stars 7/4/2013 by EagleEye777
by EagleEye777

I ordered two of these reels, as my wife and I both love to fish. The few reviews I read were true. The reel is well made. One of the best features is the drag (it works nice). It is a little heavy for a youngster. I would for sure not purchase this one for kids. Though the quality of the reel is great, my wife and I did not like location of the reel's button. It is off-set to the left side. This makes the casting quite awkward. If you want my opinion, go with the good old standard push button reels for your next spincast.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EagleEye777
Pleasant Plains, Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Nice reel
3/18/2014

Customer review by mutts1971

4.0 stars 3/18/2014 by mutts1971
by mutts1971
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Like the 12lb test line and the 140 yards is great!! Reel looks great but not huge fan of the "side" button. Overall though a nice reel

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mutts1971
Burlington, Ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Abumatic 170
4/1/2011

Customer review by BamaBroker

5.0 stars 4/1/2011 by BamaBroker
by BamaBroker

Even though I started out with a True Temper bait casting reel, I was graduated up to the 170. I have caught everything from Bream, to Largemouth Bass to Spanish Mackeral, small Sand Sharks, small Grouper, Speckled Trout, Catfish, Sheepshead, and plenty of them using this reel. Even seeing this reel takes me back a zillion years of fishing with Dad when we only had one reel each, and both were 170s. The tackle box had 2 drawers and we caught more fish then than now with all the modern conveniences. I need to find these locally and start using them again. I still use my 5000cs.

BamaBroker
Central, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
very dissapointed
3/5/2015

Customer review by hunter61604

1.0 stars 3/5/2015 by hunter61604
by hunter61604

Bought this reel and I have never been so disappointed. Right off the start I had problems with the line not reeling in...and yes I know for a fact it was not overloaded with line or anything else like that. 3 weeks after that the pick up pin broke off. Got the resolved soon after. 2 weeks later a gear broke...3 teeth I guess snapped off for some unknown reason. I gave up and threw it in the garbage can. I have been fishing my whole life and never had to deal with a reel like this one. Sorry Abu Garcia...this one was a real dud.

hunter61604
Peoria, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Love it
7/2/2015

Customer review by Mike

5.0 stars 7/2/2015 by Mike
by Mike

Just like the one I had as a kid! Love it. I now have three of these reels.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mike
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Simple to use and sturdy
3/13/2015

Customer review by Channel Cat

5.0 stars 3/13/2015 by Channel Cat
by Channel Cat

I bought this for my 6 year old daughter because I felt she was ready to graduate from the Barbie combo she has been using since she was two years old. She has no trouble with it at all and as 6 year olds will do, she has layed it in the sand, dropped it in the water and who knows what else. To this day I have never had to worry about anything malfunctioning. I would buy another one in a heartbeat.

Channel Cat
California, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Best Abu ever!
2/3/2011

Customer review by Fleeter55

5.0 stars 2/3/2011 by Fleeter55
by Fleeter55

This is the greatest Abu Garcia reel ever. I have fished with 170s for over 30 years! I have used them to catch evrything from Crappies to the mighty Musky. I like to fish the Mississippi and you never know what fish will bite next. You need to be able to change your drag to be able land that Northern Pike when you were just fishing for Crappies. The 170 has the backbone and the smoothness to handle any fish. I know I have 3 of them. Try my 170 you won't be dissatisfied!

Fleeter55
Belvidere IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great reel.... great value
3/26/2015

Customer review by nitrodog

5.0 stars 3/26/2015 by nitrodog
by nitrodog

I have been using this model for as long as I remember, Its strong housing combined with a simple no frills design make it one of the most reliable reels I have ever owned. Its a great reel for beginning fishermen and advanced alike. So if your looking for the best bang for your buck and to give you years of reliable service, This is the reel for you.

nitrodog
Houston, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Hassle free fishing !
3/25/2015

Customer review by Carl

5.0 stars 3/25/2015 by Carl
by Carl

My first reel in the 1970:ies was a 220 and since then I always keep one Abumatic Spincaster ready for spontaneous fishing events. The design makes the fishing hassle free so you can actually focus on the bait and the fish not the reel or the line. At its best from a boat or from stone piers. If you never tried, do so !

Carl
Gothenburg, Sweden
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
made good and tough
3/5/2015

Customer review by Alabama redneck

5.0 stars 3/5/2015 by Alabama redneck
by Alabama redneck

I bought for one of my children, reel has seen a lot of use. Still works great. I like things that last. That's why I have a number of Ambassadear and Cardinal reels All of these reels have done what I put them up to. I have used Ambassadear 5000 to catfish with heavy line and big fish. I have fished with products since 1960.

Alabama redneck
lake martin, Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews