Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 31 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

31 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

31 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
22
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
1-20 of 31 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 31 total reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews
The best spincast reel ever!
9/10/2012

Customer review by Chris93257

5.0 stars 9/10/2012 by Chris93257
by Chris93257

I purchased this reel for my 8 year old son. I intended for it to last him throughout boy scouts. I paired it with 6'6" abu garcia pole. He can't cast it too well because the pole is too big for him. I've started using this setup because it blows all my other combos away. I had been using a spinning ugly stick set up until I realized this casts like 10 yards further. I also have two black max casting reels but no poles for them yet. So I will continue using this reel until I get a pole or my son gets the hang of his. If you are new to fishing and want something of quality that wont become obsolete as your skill improves then this is perfect.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chris93257
Porterville, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Best spincast out there.
8/23/2013

Customer review by uncajurl

5.0 stars 8/23/2013 by uncajurl
by uncajurl

Had one back in mid 70's but it got stolen. Didn't know they still made them. The old one was made in Sweden but they're now made in China. I can't tell any difference in quality. If there is any flaw,it's that there is no audible sound when drag is working. Ordered it from Walmart online and had it shipped to my local store. It came in two days before they said it would,

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
uncajurl
Sparks, Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Reel
5/19/2013

Customer review by IDontKnowDiddley

5.0 stars 5/19/2013 by IDontKnowDiddley
by IDontKnowDiddley

Pulled it out of the box, put it on a pole, and went fishing. Adjusted the drag and that was it. Will buy again as my other reels break.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IDontKnowDiddley
Lincoln, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/30/2013

Customer review by psychonutjob

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by psychonutjob
by psychonutjob

very happy,best one out of all the the spincast reels ive had in the past,will buy another one

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
psychonutjob
ocala,fla
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice reel
3/18/2014

Customer review by mutts1971

4.0 stars 3/18/2014 by mutts1971
by mutts1971

Like the 12lb test line and the 140 yards is great!! Reel looks great but not huge fan of the "side" button. Overall though a nice reel

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mutts1971
Burlington, Ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Different than I expected
7/4/2013

Customer review by EagleEye777

3.0 stars 7/4/2013 by EagleEye777
by EagleEye777

I ordered two of these reels, as my wife and I both love to fish. The few reviews I read were true. The reel is well made. One of the best features is the drag (it works nice). It is a little heavy for a youngster. I would for sure not purchase this one for kids. Though the quality of the reel is great, my wife and I did not like location of the reel's button. It is off-set to the left side. This makes the casting quite awkward. If you want my opinion, go with the good old standard push button reels for your next spincast.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EagleEye777
Pleasant Plains, Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
All I buy is Abu Garcia
8/16/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/16/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I am a little biased to Abu Garcia reels as I am the third generation in my family to only buy Abu Garcia. These reels are tough, long lasting and do the job very well. With a little maintenance these will last forever...and if they don't parts are very easy to get and replace.

An anonymous customer
Weston, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Abu ever!
2/3/2011

Customer review by Fleeter55

5.0 stars 2/3/2011 by Fleeter55
by Fleeter55

This is the greatest Abu Garcia reel ever. I have fished with 170s for over 30 years! I have used them to catch evrything from Crappies to the mighty Musky. I like to fish the Mississippi and you never know what fish will bite next. You need to be able to change your drag to be able land that Northern Pike when you were just fishing for Crappies. The 170 has the backbone and the smoothness to handle any fish. I know I have 3 of them. Try my 170 you won't be dissatisfied!

Fleeter55
Belvidere IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Die hard
2/3/2011

Customer review by WVRaybird

5.0 stars 2/3/2011 by WVRaybird
by WVRaybird

Abu Garcia has always been a company that stood for quality products. The Abumatic Classic 170i is a result of it. This reel has nothing but quality in it. You can take it on a lake or river and never worry about it. Or you can take it on a ocean adventure and fish with the best of them. This reel has a ultra smooth drag when you need it the most. The front cone is made out of aluminum so you don't have to worry about rusting. Casting is a also a effortless deed. It will cast the same with 12lb test as it would with 4lb test. The gears are also very dependable so you don't have to worry when you have a big one on. This reel would be great for a boy starting out as to a life long "die hard" that is still going for the monster catch of all time.

WVRaybird
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Abumatic 170
4/1/2011

Customer review by BamaBroker

5.0 stars 4/1/2011 by BamaBroker
by BamaBroker

Even though I started out with a True Temper bait casting reel, I was graduated up to the 170. I have caught everything from Bream, to Largemouth Bass to Spanish Mackeral, small Sand Sharks, small Grouper, Speckled Trout, Catfish, Sheepshead, and plenty of them using this reel. Even seeing this reel takes me back a zillion years of fishing with Dad when we only had one reel each, and both were 170s. The tackle box had 2 drawers and we caught more fish then than now with all the modern conveniences. I need to find these locally and start using them again. I still use my 5000cs.

BamaBroker
Central, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great reel
2/27/2012

Customer review by umpa

5.0 stars 2/27/2012 by umpa
by umpa

i use this reel in urban rishing and local lakes. this reel preforms verry well... the only issue i have with it is its a bit top heavy on a rod well to be expeted.... my 5 year old nefue love to use it... thanks for such a great reel

umpa
glendale, Az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Oh my!
7/28/2012

Customer review by mister

5.0 stars 7/28/2012 by mister
by mister

I found my old 170 that i used back in early 90's. Its been laying around in my old familyhouse so i was very happy when i found it! so many good catches and i remember it was easy to use, but did it still work ? - It was used in saltwater for atlest 7-9 hours a day for a period of 7-8 years. - It wasent cleaned before put away - The salty line was still attached - It hasent been touched or used since 96' I just flushed it quickly in regular tap water and cleaned up with a napkin, went to the sea and tried it out and it worked FLAWLESS. after all these years! No mechanical issues or any flaws in throwing or handling. I'm stunned. I will never switch from Abumatic again, this is priceless. First catch was a Plaice on 1.2kg !

mister
sweden
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fishing
4/8/2014

Customer review by Cnote34

5.0 stars 4/8/2014 by Cnote34
by Cnote34

Nice product

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cnote34
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it
7/2/2015

Customer review by Mike

5.0 stars 7/2/2015 by Mike
by Mike

Just like the one I had as a kid! Love it. I now have three of these reels.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mike
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Great Reel For The Money
3/5/2015

Customer review by Bassman18

5.0 stars 3/5/2015 by Bassman18
by Bassman18

I have had this reel for a while abnd it performed flawlessly if you are looking to but your next fishing reel look to buy the Abu Garcia Animatic Spincast

Bassman18
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
dependable
3/5/2015

Customer review by OldMainer

5.0 stars 3/5/2015 by OldMainer
by OldMainer

I have been using an Abu Garcia 170 since 1966. It works like I just took it out of the box and has outlasted three rods.

OldMainer
Winthrop, ME, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
made good and tough
3/5/2015

Customer review by Alabama redneck

5.0 stars 3/5/2015 by Alabama redneck
by Alabama redneck

I bought for one of my children, reel has seen a lot of use. Still works great. I like things that last. That's why I have a number of Ambassadear and Cardinal reels All of these reels have done what I put them up to. I have used Ambassadear 5000 to catfish with heavy line and big fish. I have fished with products since 1960.

Alabama redneck
lake martin, Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Most durable spin cast reel
3/6/2015

Customer review by Sweeney

5.0 stars 3/6/2015 by Sweeney
by Sweeney

I have had one in continuous service for 20 years!

Sweeney
hixson TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
For the price this is an awsome Spincast Reel
3/5/2015

Customer review by Dakota7

5.0 stars 3/5/2015 by Dakota7
by Dakota7

Over the past 3 yrs. I have purchased (5) of these reels, keeping (2) for my self and the remainder to my friend and sons. When casting these reel u can cast it under handed, side ways and u never get bird neat or whiplash. Overall for the price it's very durable and can handle the punch back on the big catch.

Dakota7
Garden City, KS, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Simple to use and sturdy
3/13/2015

Customer review by Channel Cat

5.0 stars 3/13/2015 by Channel Cat
by Channel Cat

I bought this for my 6 year old daughter because I felt she was ready to graduate from the Barbie combo she has been using since she was two years old. She has no trouble with it at all and as 6 year olds will do, she has layed it in the sand, dropped it in the water and who knows what else. To this day I have never had to worry about anything malfunctioning. I would buy another one in a heartbeat.

Channel Cat
California, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews