Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 18 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

18 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

18 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
5
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-18 of 18 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Excellent Price for this fly reel
5/11/2014

Customer review by hisupertech

5.0 stars 5/11/2014 by hisupertech
by hisupertech

Great for beginner or experience user, good to keep in vehicle with a inexpensive fly rod, my choice, Eagle Claw two piece fly rod, and small box of flies. When traveling, not prepared to fly fish, and passing a river, stream, or lake. Don't forget, fishing rules and licence, for the State your in.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hisupertech
Derry, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very cool reel!
9/25/2013

Customer review by Sailorfoot

5.0 stars 9/25/2013 by Sailorfoot
by Sailorfoot

This reel is so cool!. I read a review that said this guy in his 80's received one of these for his 13th birthday and it still works great. I tried mine out for the first time the other day and it worked great. I might have to get another one for my other fly rod.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sailorfoot
Loveland, Co.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Automatic Fly Reel
12/11/2013

Customer review by hallmark5

4.0 stars 12/11/2013 by hallmark5
by hallmark5

Nice reel reminiscent of the automatic reels I had many years ago. Appears to be well made albeit a bit heavy. My only problem is that the reel was not supplied with all the features shown on the Walmart website namely the backing, line, leader and flies. Other than that it is a fine reel and I am happy with my purchase. Below is from the website. Pflueger Automatic Fly Reel: Aluminum alloy frame and spool Stainless steel main spring Stainless steel foot and line guard Pre-spooled with #20 Dacron backing, 6 weight level fly line, and 4x tapered leader (assorted flies included) Model# 1195B

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hallmark5
Puget Sound Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great reel for every fresh water use.
6/23/2014

Customer review by EmaticUser

4.0 stars 6/23/2014 by EmaticUser
by EmaticUser

Had one of these in the 70's. Unfortunately it got lost along the way. Just bought it again for $24.95, a bit more than in the 70's, but just as much fun to use. It doesn't look like it has changed at all in forty years. I bought the last one at the old Big 5 Sporting Goods store in Pomona, CA for $4.95.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EmaticUser
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
pflueger automatic fly reel
3/17/2014

Customer review by rustyjack

3.0 stars 3/17/2014 by rustyjack
by rustyjack

this item was great I ama sr citizen and this made my fishing enjoyable

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rustyjack
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
broke in shipping
6/10/2014

Customer review by hogdip

1.0 stars 6/10/2014 by hogdip
by hogdip

Did not get the new one yet the first one was broke so there went fishing trip that was messed up

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hogdip
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does what it does
5/3/2014

Customer review by MrTwoSteaks

4.0 stars 5/3/2014 by MrTwoSteaks
by MrTwoSteaks

This reel does exactly what it says and does it well.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrTwoSteaks
Midwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Automatic Fly Reel.
1/17/2013

Customer review by DCZ39

5.0 stars 1/17/2013 by DCZ39
by DCZ39

I'm very happy with my recent purchase of the subject Fly Reel. It was everything that I had hoped for and expected it to be. . .Thank you WalMart. DCZ

Was this review helpful? (3) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DCZ39
Gresham, Wi.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Automatic Fly Reel
7/31/2014

Customer review by AWS1970

5.0 stars 7/31/2014 by AWS1970
by AWS1970

100% better than the Martin Automatic fly reel. Martin reel is junk.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AWS1970
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/26/2014

Customer review by Murray

5.0 stars 8/26/2014 by Murray
by Murray

I have been using Pflueger auto fly reels for years. I was very happy when you stopped using the plastic drive gear. I am that happy again now that you are using a composite line holder. I just went fishing and had no problems catching a limit of native brookies.

Murray
Jersey Shore, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Classic old automatic reel. But No Lines at all...
11/8/2013

Customer review by RobS54

4.0 stars 11/8/2013 by RobS54
by RobS54

Funny to think I had this same fly-reel years ago. Back in 1968. I was nine years old. This is a great reel. But not for beginners. The speed of the line return is really fast... You get use to it and you will find the right touch for it's line returns easier with time. I only ordered it because the above ad said that this reel cames pre-loaded with Daecon backing, fly-line and the tippet line. Well No. None at all. To bad I was going to take it with me this monday fishing.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RobS54
East, Tx.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Good for canoe fishing
7/29/2014

Customer review by canoe1234

4.0 stars 7/29/2014 by canoe1234
by canoe1234

I chose an automatic to replace my single action reel because I kept getting my line tangled up around me in my small canoe. One of my favorite fishing writers recommended an automatic. I have only had one opportunity to use it and I think it will do what I wanted. I gave it only four stars because the spring seems a little weak towards the end of the line. At that point, even the slightest pressure from my fingers on the line will keep it from reeling on in.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
canoe1234
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice Automatic Fly Reel
6/2/2015

Customer review by pyock

4.0 stars 6/2/2015 by pyock
by pyock

Have only used this reel a few times and it has worked fine for me.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pyock
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
got it one day early on top of it
8/4/2015

Customer review by slim

4.0 stars 8/4/2015 by slim
by slim

awsome job

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
slim
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this Auto-Reel!
9/27/2013

Customer review by Fred

4.0 stars 9/27/2013 by Fred
by Fred

I have owned 5 of these Pflueger® Automatic Fly Reel's over the last 20 years. I still have 4 of them. Only one has failed (The main Spring broke!). It is so nice to be able to fish with one hand and handle the boat with the other. It is so nice in a fast & hot fishing situation, to be able to take in line fast & smooth, and be ready to get back out fast! Love them! I think I will buy one more as a stand by.

Fred
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Not satisfied at this time
1/22/2015

Customer review by Booney

3.0 stars 1/22/2015 by Booney
by Booney

Just attached the reel to my fly rod and added 25 yards of 6WF line. At this point in time I am disappointed in the strength of the reel when retreiving line with the auto trigger. My old reel I could set the hook on a fish by simpily hitting the trigger. Unless the spring gets stronger with use, it is not going to happen with this reel. I guess you gewt what you pay for.

Booney
Rocky Gap, Va
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Weak retrieve
1/30/2014

Customer review by Carver

3.0 stars 1/30/2014 by Carver
by Carver

This reel can not retrieve with the bigger heavier fish like my 1978-1983 reel.    But I love it and could only make or suggest a couple Modifications.    

Carver
Tyler, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spool not big enough
5/18/2014

Customer review by Jstlookin

1.0 stars 5/18/2014 by Jstlookin
by Jstlookin

I decided to try an automatic on a new rod and generally like Pflueger stuff so I got this reel to try. The problem, however, is that the spool simply isn't big enough. I generally use some backing on the reel before the fly line, but the spool wasn't big enough to even hold the Cortland 444 line (dt6f line). The spool was completely full with with about 10 foot of the fly line not able to fit. I'll return it and just stick with my manual reels for now.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jstlookin
Would recommend to a friend? No