Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 14 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

14 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

14 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
3
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
1-11 of 11 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Above average
7/17/2012

Customer review by LAX1181

3.0 stars 7/17/2012 by LAX1181
by LAX1181

I just bought this product a few weeks ago because I was going on a long distant trip. It has some useful features such as voice comand, search for the cheapest gas station prices in the area, weather report, and infomations of local attractions. I like the life time map update. It was easy to setup online. These are just a few features that I think was useful. Some downfalls would be there is no compass what so ever other than when maxed on zoom out. For this price I would expect the images to be more 3D like, example is the roads on the screens are ridged. Some offroads are off big time. I had to do additional researches to make search that I was going on the right road especially where I went was a farm where it was far from the main roads. The other thing I dislike was the constant updating, I agree that if you are a casual traveler like me you should only have to update once every couple of weeks, but it seems like this thing needs update every week. I already updated 3 times so far to get the latest apllications and I only had it for a month. Again it was a bit pricey, but I think it had some features that might be useful.

Was this review helpful? (30) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LAX1181
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
11/23/2012

Customer review by AMSraleigh

5.0 stars 11/23/2012 by AMSraleigh
by AMSraleigh

The TomTom 1530M is a very good gps. Just one issue but it is a major one you need to know. Mine came with free lifetime map updates but once you update the software required you will not be able to even get 1 map update. If you get the 4gb...save yourself some time and go ahead and get a memory card. Or else purchase the 8gb...TomTom could be more upfront about this issue but it is a very good product.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AMSraleigh
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No compass
7/12/2012

Customer review by dlh0024

2.0 stars 7/12/2012 by dlh0024
by dlh0024

This unit does not provide a compass nor does it at least show North, South, East or West. It does not show what direction your heading either. This was the main reason why I purchased the product was for this option. Plus it tells me to turn on a highway that does not even exist. There is a highway there but it gives me an incorrect name so if I was a visitor I would get lost. I had to order a electronic compass to go along with this unit so I will at least know what direction I'm traveling when I'm out of town.

Was this review helpful? (21) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dlh0024
North Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent GPS!
1/2/2013

Customer review by SuperAmma

5.0 stars 1/2/2013 by SuperAmma
by SuperAmma

I found this GPS product pretty accurate. It identifies any route changes very quickly. Also finds satellite pretty quickly and easily. I didn't loose satellite anywhere even when driving under covered road in cities. The screen looks bright. It's more informative and user friendly. Highly recommended product!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SuperAmma
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
8/22/2012

Customer review by MidnightLA

4.0 stars 8/22/2012 by MidnightLA
by MidnightLA

I have only owned this product for 1 week. The only problem that i have encountered is the voice recognition feature. I give a spoken address and the unit gives me a list of incorrect addresses & asks me to choose. Other than that, i am really impressed with the unit.

Was this review helpful? (8) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MidnightLA
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great value
12/29/2012

Customer review by shop23914

4.0 stars 12/29/2012 by shop23914
by shop23914

Great value, very easy to use and set up. great display and crystal clear voice. Takes me to exactly where i want to go. The lifetime maps is a huge plus The windshield mount is ingenious, and works really well. It's compact and easy to adjust.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shop23914
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
12/21/2012

Customer review by XcelShopper

3.0 stars 12/21/2012 by XcelShopper
by XcelShopper

If you don't have a smartphone, I would recommend getting this TomTom GPS. The unit is slim but it has a big screen so you can see and read your way through the directions. Another thing I like about this TomTom is the lifetime map, its a good value because I had to pay for map updates with my old GPS and that became expensive especially if you travel a lot. You can also speak the address and/or destination. It worked OK but not perfect. The only thing I didn't like about this GPS is how hard I had to press the screen. I'm used to pressing lightly on a smartphone so I had to adjust how hard or softly I pressed. I also have slightly long fingernails. Because of this, my finger would press one thing & my nail would press another. That was annoying. Overall, this TomTom did its job and I get to my destinations.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
XcelShopper
california
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
easy to use and intuitive
1/28/2013

Customer review by ahhhhhhhhh

4.0 stars 1/28/2013 by ahhhhhhhhh
by ahhhhhhhhh

this unit was easy to use and operated well out of the box.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ahhhhhhhhh
calif
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
Lots of Features
12/19/2012

Customer review by WMdotcommer

4.0 stars 12/19/2012 by WMdotcommer
by WMdotcommer

This GPS has a lot of helpful features- from traffic view, to things to do near your destination, different languages and voices, etc. It can also detect speed traps, red light cameras and the speed your going to warn you. For the most part, this device was easy to use, however because there were so many features, it was hard to find exactly what you were looking to do at times. Also, sometimes the view or street names were different than the view on the road or street names you were driving towards, so it was a bit confusing. I know if I put more time into reading the instructions, it was be easier to use and I would better understand some of the features. So I would recommend this to someone who wants a lot of features and is willing to put in the time to learn them.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WMdotcommer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Staff sparks
Top 1000 contributor
12/21/2012

Customer review by Lizzyru

4.0 stars 12/21/2012 by Lizzyru
by Lizzyru

It is an ok unit, did have some problems with voice recognition and getting it to show proper address. However it is good value for the money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lizzyru
SF Bay area, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Great upgrade from my 4 year old GPS
1/2/2013

Customer review by twin3r

4.0 stars 1/2/2013 by twin3r
by twin3r

I was really happy with this GPS overall. I haven't had a need to use the GPS Lifetime Maps yet, but this is an excellent BONUS and it sure will be beneficial in a few years. I like how the GPS tells you what lane to be in ahead of time. The GPS mount is really flat and is built into the GPS unit, which makes it easier to carry in your purse and easier to stow. I am still trying to figure out all the bells and whistles to this thing... The one thing I wasn't happy with was the traffic calculation, but it could have been my timing; I was using this right when a 49ers game just ended.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
twin3r
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Walmart associate
Staff sparks