Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 24 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

24 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

24 reviews | 4 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
12
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 stars
3
1-20 of 20 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

this is a great laptop !
3/30/2013

Customer review by smallorganicfarmer

5.0 stars 3/30/2013 by smallorganicfarmer
by smallorganicfarmer

had it for 7 months now never anny issues! at all! i gave it to my mom to use and she is doing verry well with it she never ahas had anny problems with it at all , i have sent one also to the philippines for my wifes family and there verry happy , nice to conect with them on skype

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
smallorganicfarmer
NORTH DAKOTA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I returned product
5/6/2013

Customer review by utrsd

1.0 stars 5/6/2013 by utrsd
by utrsd

Really old not cleaned up - however Walmart gave me full credit no problem. I ended up by buying a new computer through SAM's

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
utrsd
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/17/2013

Customer review by normulus

1.0 stars 6/17/2013 by normulus
by normulus

the laptop looked to be in great shape, but I couldn't get the windows to register because the windows activation code was unverifiable. It also came with the wrong charger - it was 1.5 watts lower than required by the computer.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
normulus
boulder, co
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Laptop, Great Thinking Pad
7/7/2009

Customer review by eponineflower

5.0 stars 7/7/2009 by eponineflower
by eponineflower

I love thie T400 lenovo, which makes my work so enjoyable. One of the important things, I recommend, is to keep your laptop slim, meaning: do not keep too many stuffs and programs on it. Some of the upgrade of program, you do not necessarily to install all of them. For instance, a couple of days ago, I upgragde my IE from IE7 into IE8, but it was terrible. It frozen my T400. Thanks to the ThinkVantage button function, I reboot the laptop to out-of-factory status. Now it is fast as before. I learned, and am quite grateful to thinkpad designing of one button recovery. This laptop is really a thinking machine. I love it. Sokunthea

eponineflower
LOWELL, MA01851
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
College Ready Laptop
7/1/2009

Customer review by collegekid

5.0 stars 7/1/2009 by collegekid
by collegekid

As a college student, this laptop is Perfect for those who aren't heavy gamers. In my opinion you should get a 6 cell battery because a 4cell will last you for a more limited amount of time, considering this laptop packs alot of prcoessing power.

collegekid
Milpitas, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fantastic laptop.
1/9/2010

Customer review by Lisa

5.0 stars 1/9/2010 by Lisa
by Lisa

I chose Lenovo when everybody else sugguests me to buy a cheaper one. Like Sony or Toshiba. But I trust this THINKPAD serie. And the result is that I'm right. Though the LED display is not very bright, all the rest I'm satisfied very much! The keyboard is just like the old Toshiba laptop I have. I don't need to get used to it. I love this one. But I need to give it to my boyfriend. I'll wait to see what he says about it.

Lisa
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Reliable
7/1/2009

Customer review by nbarsley

5.0 stars 7/1/2009 by nbarsley
by nbarsley

I've got one of these for work. Works great. I like it so much that I'm going to purchase one for the home as well!

nbarsley
Modesto, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
best deal
6/28/2009

Customer review by hoanghw

5.0 stars 6/28/2009 by hoanghw
by hoanghw

I love this laptop. I wish it has 12-inch (I can't afford X series). 14 inch is kinda heavy to me. This one is the lightest 14 inch laptop though. That's all the cons I figured. Otherwise, the laptop is very awesome. The best part is Thinkvantage technology. I'm IT student and I have been using many laptops. I definitely recomend this one.

hoanghw
Hayward, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just what I need
7/18/2009

Customer review by Lumen

5.0 stars 7/18/2009 by Lumen
by Lumen

As a grad student and part time lecturer, I need a dependable laptop that can handle not only tons of word documents and presentation files, but also a very high demand for mobility in research. T400 is just what I need. It handles effortlessly all the programs that I use. With its wireless capability and weight no more than 5 lbs, I can go wifi anywhere I want. And I like the size of the screen (14.1"). I think it's just the perfect size. Overall, I'm very satisfied with this laptop. The after sale supports are also excellent.

Lumen
Waco, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product, Great Value
7/16/2009

Customer review by Student123

5.0 stars 7/16/2009 by Student123
by Student123

My friends call it the "sexy 90s laptop." The design may be a bit boring but I love this product. When I shopped for a laptop for college, I wanted a notebook with great performance, great battery life, and a great deal. This laptop is it. Windows Vista runs pretty good, but I'm looking forward to upgrading to Win7 (the RC ran great for me, except some driver issues: hint, hint Lenovo), and Ubuntu 9.04 runs exceptionally out of the box (minus fingerprint reader). Try out Ubuntu: Linux=Awesome. T400=Awesome. Performance is snappy in Ubuntu and acceptable in Vista. Battery life is incredible. I have the nine cell (awkward looking but worth it) and I get 9 hours of wireless web surfing in Vista (custom power saver mode), more with wireless off. Perfect for students and on-the-go types. Build quality is excellent, LED screen great if low-res, matte finish is a pro not a con, keyboard lives up to its amazing reputation (hard to believe). Overall, I love my T400.

Student123
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Reliable product
3/24/2010

Customer review by Guang

5.0 stars 3/24/2010 by Guang
by Guang

I use two thinkpads. All are very reliable so far. If you want a laptop with high reliability, Thinkpad is one of your choice.

Guang
Rochester, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
still working on it
7/21/2009

Customer review by ovonel

4.0 stars 7/21/2009 by ovonel
by ovonel

since I bought it i haven’t got any big issues (yet), I could say it’s sturdy with all the bumps and scratches and my 2 toddlers playful hands, its still functioning at its best. I got this for the diagnostic tools I use in my garage, so upside down I give an A.

ovonel
chicago,IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
a nice mechine,but...
3/23/2010

Customer review by kang

4.0 stars 3/23/2010 by kang
by kang

If you know nothing about computer,do not buy this one. The sound driver did not work well when I got it first day.After I reloaded the driver downloaded from lenovo website,it work well right now. Another minor point, skype does not work well in my computer. Skype automatic turn to mute when I try to talk someone. I could not fix this problem right now. A little sad! Wirless is not stable. A good point is that it run so fast!Great CPU and memory!

kang
California, San diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Performance, Not Sacrificing Mobility
3/21/2010

Customer review by jcn7vc

4.0 stars 3/21/2010 by jcn7vc
by jcn7vc

I wanted to replace my entry level Dell with something that was current, more mobile, durable, and higher performance. I was going to go with a SL400, until I decided a T400 would be better. Not to mention they put a package deal on sale, so I got exactly what I wanted for under $850. First, I guess the bad. There are so many settings for power usage that it's confusing. Had Windows 7 freeze once while shutting down the second time I did it. Explorer 64-bit doesn't load sites as good as 32-bit. Only 3 USB ports. No S-video out. DVD's have frozen a couple times while playing and tray won't open. Still getting used to the Funtion key in the bottom left corner. Other than those few one-off's, it's been all smooth sailing. It is so much lighter than I would've thought, even with a 6-cell battery. I can get up to 4.5 hours without turning on battery extender. The Ultra-Nav is amazing. The LED over the screen is very useful. The fingerprint reader is worth it so far, no problems. Windows 7 is worlds better than Vista. More functionality, better visuals, and less crashing than Vista. It starts up so fast with the 2.4 GHz processor and 4GB RAM (under 1 minute)! Also has one USB that you can enable to remain powered when the computer is off, perfect for charging your iPod or Blackberry. I gave it 4 stars for the few minor problems, and if it was around $700 I would've given it 5 stars in value. I still think it's amazing. One of the best purchases of my life, and the fact that ThinkPads have been around for a while makes me think I'll get at least 4 years out of this perfect one.

jcn7vc
Red Dog Mine, AK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Design is terrible
7/11/2009

Customer review by sean

4.0 stars 7/11/2009 by sean
by sean

Tired of the blank and rectangle design of thinkpad.

sean
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
I had to return T-400 W/Camera
7/8/2009

Customer review by CAAR

3.0 stars 7/8/2009 by CAAR
by CAAR

Slow startup w/Vista Ultimate, Camera could not be started w/ lots of time spent on the phone and in shop unless I purchased Skype. The hard drive or another part in the hard drive area was making low level high pitch noise randomly which did not go away w/hard drive replacement. I wasted a lot of time on my own, on the phone and going to the shop with no fix in sight. I have a T43 w/XP that I love, but the T400 and now I have 2 of the T500s have been total disappointment, especially startup time with vista (up to 8 minutes).

CAAR
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent laptop hammered by a terrible LCD
9/23/2009

Customer review by Eugueny

3.0 stars 9/23/2009 by Eugueny
by Eugueny

This laptop has the best keyboard in class, built like a tank and overall is head and shoulders above competition. But there is one huge "but": Lenovo uses absolutely the worst LCDs. I have tried LED and CCFL versions and the deal is always the same: terrible colors, extremely low contrast, light bleed and practically ZERO viewing angle - the bottom of the screen is like 30% brighter than the top. And if you're thinking "oh that doesn't matter I will just be editing text" you're wrong: the contrast and viewing angle is so bad, that it's hard to read text on web pages that is closer to the bottom of the screen, so you'll always be slowly nodding as you're using this laptop. Frankly, I have no idea how someone in his right mind would even consider building and selling a panel which is so insanely terrible. Avoid LED displays, CCFLs are slightly more contrasty and have slightly better viewing angles but they're pretty dark.

Eugueny
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Overall great workhorse but...
7/15/2009

Customer review by wolfieangel

3.0 stars 7/15/2009 by wolfieangel
by wolfieangel

I just got my T400 today, with the P8400 CPU, Led backlit -camera, 9-cell battery, 250GB HDD 5400 rpm, WiFi 5100 The performance is nice and speedy, with some lag, but not unbearable amounts. The screen is amazing, I can see it in direct sunlight at only half brightness. 9 Cell battery is awesome, at max performance settings, 40% = 3:43 out of the box. The build is solid (phew lucked out on that one). My only gripe is that it cannot connect to my Linksys Router. It keeps dropping out which makes it basically a paper weight when working. I intended to use this for college, but I'm having doubts because of the WiFi. Weight is nearly the same as a Dell Inspiron E1505 from 2006 (my primary)

wolfieangel
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good product, SLOOOOW SHIPPING
5/4/2009

Customer review by morningstar

3.0 stars 5/4/2009 by morningstar
by morningstar

Solidly built. But be ready to wait for AT LEAST A MONTH to get your product. It's horrifying to order with Lenovo when you actually need a laptop. The sales team will promise you whatever you want to hear, but delivery is not their business.

morningstar
New York
Would recommend to a friend? No
it did not work
6/22/2013

Customer review by lanwrite

1.0 stars 6/22/2013 by lanwrite
by lanwrite

Battery would not charge.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lanwrite
Newport, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.