Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.1out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 | 305 reviews
5 stars
171
4 stars
80
3 stars
12
2 stars
12
1 stars
30
Sort by: 
1-20 of 270 reviews
1-20 of 270 reviews
Easy Breezy
3/2/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Windows 8.1 gives users the option of switching back to Windows 7. Rather than spend $800 for a new computer, I thought I would give this refurbished 755 a try. So far, so good. It arrived quickly; was well packaged; clean, looked brand new. Set up was a breeze. My printer works on it, which was a plus. As soon as I registered with Microsoft, I downloaded Microsoft Security Essentials. Everything went well with only a couple of minor glitches that any novice could overcome easily. If your 25 character validation code doesn't work the first time, keep trying. It took a couple of times for Microsoft to respond. Don't be confused by the "not genuine Windows 7" message. Try again. I am very happy with this purchase and would recommend it to anyone looking to save a few hundred dollars. Note: Prior to purchasing this computer, I was running Windows XP. With support ending next month, I needed to switch OS. Windows 8 reviews are discouraging at best. This purchase was an inexpensive way to upgrade from Windows XP.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (65)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Dell Off-Lease computer
2/4/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am an engineer and have built my own computers for years. I have 3 laptops and 4 desktops that were just getting too slow for the internet. I bought 2. one for my wife and one for me. I figured that if I needed more HD space, I would just reformat some old drives I have. This small form hasn't got room for anything else unless it is small for PC card expansion. No big deal. I haven't filled a hard drive since I retired. My computers came 3 days apart due to the big snow up north. Since they were coming from NJ, I wasn't disappointed. I was surprised that the first one came 2 days after I ordered it. Both computers are in excellent condition physically. I opened both cases and found them to be pristine. No room for a second hard drive, but clean. I was amazed at how much faster these are compared to my older comoputers using the same IP and connection hardware. No lagging!! Hallelujiah! Would I recommend these to my friends and family? An emphatic yes.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (33)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Mid range computer Dell 755 fast and multitaskable
6/8/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
As I am currently based in the UK and my partner is in the USA, our communication is largely based upon the internet connection. Her computer was a single core emachine that was showing it's age. I was not at all sure that a refurbished Dell would be a good buy., but thought it was worth a risk. After all, the other products I had got through Amazon had all been of great quality and had met my best expectations. Imagine my surprize when the computer arrived and my partner had installed windows 7 and connected it to the internet. My Zoostorm Desktop cost four times the cost of this product.., yet the Dell 755 is every bit as fast and has the added bonus of a really great Customer care service backing it up. Would I recommend this product to a friend? In a single heartbeat...... Thank you Amazon Team.... Your attitude to your customer is spot on., your service does not only you credit, but also reflects all that is great about America........A very satisfied customer indeed. (Gamer's could use this with a good graphic card and max memory to great effect.)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (39)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This was an exceptional buy.
5/28/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Walmart associate
I was very pleased with my purchase. I have used the same computer at my workplace so I knew the quality before I purchased. What I didn’t know was the extent of refurbishing. The machine look as good as a new one, came with Windows 7 preloaded, arrived with a new mouse, and a new keyboard. All I had to do was connect my flat screen monitor from my older computer and I was ready to go. To say that I am pleased with the purchase is quite an understatement. I have purchased many new and refurbished computers in the past. Without a doubt, this is the best refurbished computer that I have ever received. The price was well below what I would expect to pay for the quality I received.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (145)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
8/25/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
In my professional Information Technologist opinion it is a great price for this item even though the product is an older model and no longer the top of the line of this manufacturer. I would recommend that this model have a larger hard drive and the maximum amount of memory for the motherboard which is a total of 4 gigs, the cd rom needs to be at least a dvdrw or blueray disk to stay in completion. But a great value for the price. I like the fact that a refurbished copy of the operating system software is included in the package, the micromouse is a great asset but the standard 101 keyboard is not all that hot, recommendation it be upgraded to a more top of the line keyboard. The system is fast at loading into windows, I would recommend some type of literature be included that deals with windows 7 so the consumer has that asset at their disposal or at least a .pdf they could reference.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (52)No (16)
Report
Was this review helpful?
2nd try
12/30/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I tried an HP first, no luck had to return it. I decided to try a Dell which I have at the moment but will be returning. Started out working Ok at first, after a couple days it started acting funny(not haha funny). When trying to use the scroll bar you couldn't move it to the bottom, it and the picture would start jumping up and down and when you turned loose of it, it would go back to the top. Also when I turned it off at night and turned it back on in the morning, all my favorites woud be gone and my other settings also. So, like the HP it will be going back to Walmart. Don't know yet if I'll get another refurbished or not. May see if the third time is a charm only will spend a little more for a newer one or may just by a new one and put up with my old Emachine till I accumilate more money. It's a shame cause both machines looked brand new on the outside and it ran very quite.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (19)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
GARBAGE. TRASH. WASTE OF MONEY.
10/17/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
It arrived fairly quickly. Was packed well. I plugged it in, it did nothing. I checked monitor, keyboard, plug. The item lights up but does nothing. I contacted the company, got no response. Contacted Walmart, was told to contact seller. Contacted seller again. No response. FINE.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Outstanding!
5/26/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a Great Deal, 250GB Hard Drive is more than most people will ever need. Comes with a Windows 7 Home Premium 32bit Factory Disc. You can stand this pc up or lay it flat. This is a small pc takes up little space. Right out of the box, plug it in and you are ready. Yes it might have some nicks or scratches so what! A Intel Dual Core cpu, 2GB of memory, it is very fast, and can multi-task like crazy. This pc can also be made into High Performance if you want. You could install a Windows 64bit operating system, a low profile pci express x16 video card and 8GB of dual channel memory and play any game out there. The pci express x16 slot supplies 25watts that will run just about any low profile video card. One thing to keep in mind if you stand the pc straight up like I do when you open the DVD-ROM it opens sideways, not flat, It does not matter, your CD's or DVD's will go right in, just take your time and it's no problem at all. All in all for the average person this pc will do EVERYTHING you need and FAST. I CAN ONLY SAY THIS ABOUT THE DELL PC I GOT FROM WALMART--- OUTSTANDING!--- Remember they are Refurbished, but if you want to spend a small amount of money, and have a keyboard, mouse and monitor, this is the way to go.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (136)No (32)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Surprisingly Great Computer!!
11/21/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Had I known about Walmart's "refurbs" I would have purchased my own computer from here and saved $$$$!! I got this for my elderly mother who maneuvers quite well on the internet, but, her 4 year old e-machine was just a piece of JUNK! It was her 2nd e-machine and I wasn't about to invest in another one again. Somehow I found these refurbished computers and decided to do some research. Based on independent reviews along with others who had bought this computer from Walmart, I couldn't pass up such a good deal. After a simple hook up to the new (also refurbished) 21.5 inch monitor, I must say it runs just as good as my brand new computer. What a great deal. Thank you Walmart!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (41)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Terrific Value!!
8/14/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My older desktop system recently crashed. For a little more than what it might cost to repair my old system, I decided to spend a little more and get a refurbished Dell with Windows 7. I've had the new unit about three weeks now.. No problems or issues so far. Perhaps the biggest (and pleasant) surprise is the lack of "bloatware" and trial programs. You basically get the Windows 7 system package, MS Internet Explorer and accessory programs. I use the Microsoft Security Essentials for basic protection. One thing about Windows 7 is that it doesn't have an e-mail program. I ended up downloading Mozilla Thunderbird. I haven't had a chance to play any CDs or DVDs, so I can't give a review of the CD/DVD player.. I haven't tried to burn any CDs or DVDs.. About the unit.. It's designed to sit flat on a desk or table. You can set it on its side on the floor like I have, but access to the CD/DVD player is awkward.. Not a big problem for me. Also, the unit is heavier than it looks... Very solid feel to it. I also got the unit fairly quickly using the free shipping.. I thought it might take 7-10 days to arrive, but It came in five days and that included a weekend. In closing, the unit seems to be a very good purchase. I'm not a heavy music, video or games person, so what might be fine for me might be a little lacking for others.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (29)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent value for the average user!
7/22/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I wanted to upgrade to upgrade from my old PC running Windows XP but I did not want to buy a new computer because of the bad reviews of Windows 8 and also because my budget was tight. So, as an alternative I investigated the many refurbished PCs equipped with Windows 7 that were being offered on the internet before settling on this DELL 755 advertised in the Walmart site. The main reason that I chose this DELL 755 model was that its Intel Dual Core processor was rated as more powerful than a regular Pentium 4 or AMD processor. I was concerned that with only 2 Gigs of Memory it would run slow but happily that has not been the case, it actually runs faster than my old PC. I do not think that performance would have been noticeably faster with 4 Gigs of memory. The 250 Gig hard drive is more than enough for my needs because I do not have a lot of files to store or use many programs. Besides, 99% of the time I'm just surfing the internet, sending and receiving email, checking Facebook and doing and storing stuff either in the "cloud" or in an external usb hard drive. The only programs that I loaded on to it was Microsoft office 2007 and the drivers for my Canon inkjet printer and they are running just fine. I tried out the DVD burner by downloading and burning a couple of Linux distros to use in my old PC and it worked just fine. The unit arrived looking almost like new. The case has rubber feet pads on the bottom and sides so that the PC can be positioned and used either horizontally as a desktop or vertically as a mini-tower. The cooling fan is soooooo quiet you can hardly hear it. The unit also came with a usb keyboard and a usb optical mouse. All items, case, keyboard and mouse were black in color. The operating system was Windows 7 Home Premium which, to my surprise, included Microsoft's "Security Essentials" Anti-virus and Malware detection program so I did not need to buy and install an anti-virus program. A Windows 7 Restoration DVD also came with the unit which was very nice indeed as it saved me the hassle of having to burn my own restoration disk. The unit also came with "setup" and "initiation" instructions that- in my opinion- are easy enough to follow by any novice. The company that restored this unit also warranted their work for one year. The unit has been running great since I fired it up so, all in all I am very pleased with this purchase and would recommend this DELL 755 model to anyone that is an average user, wants a Windows 7 computer and is not put off by the notion of buying a used/restored unit.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (139)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
You get what you pay for
9/21/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
It is cheaper to buy the refurbished than building your own these days. Other than the smell of fresh paint on the cabinets, they are not that bad. They load the minimum of the OS system and that's about it. All updates, drivers, and software have to be done by you.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Outraged
10/2/2015
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
After reading all of the great reviews regarding the Dell 755, I decided to purchase a refurbished computer for the first time. The order process was easy, the computer arrived on time, it was packaged nicely and seemed to be in excellent shape. The tower looked like it was brand new without any scratches or damage. Imagine how shocked I was when I went to turn the computer on and hearing the power supply turn on and off quickly. The computer never would power up. I can't believe that the tech that worked on this computer did not bother to turn it on to see if everything worked properly. This is insane. I hope Walmart stands behind their 15 day return policy, because this sucker is going back tonight.If I don't have any problems returning this, I am going to chalk this up to a dud and try with another model one more time. If that doesn't work, then I am through with refurbished computers.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Buy but Keep the Keyboard
4/3/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Works great, great surfing speed (total reason for buy) and an excellent value vs. a new machine. On the down side the keyboards are worthless. Terrible feel and I couldn't get the space bar or shift key to work. Numeric lock key tended to stick in depressed position. I bought one for $9 and the difference in quality is amazing. Advice - buy a keyboard with your purchace don't even take the one they send out of the box - drop it off at Goodwill and take the tax deduction.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent choice for a computer
8/13/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Very compact for a desktop, fast, easy to use and very productive. It has saved me hours of time at work. My older computer was just to slow. This one is great. Buy it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great PC.
12/5/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Great computer and super fact. I love this PC. I had my doubts at first being that it is refurbished, but men, this thing is like brand new performance wise. Packaged looked clean and instructions are very basic. I am glad i brought my self to purchase this Computer. I recommend this PC any time.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Refurbished Dell Black 755 Desktop PC...
2/21/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Right out of the box it wasn't packaged too great. It was sufficient though because there was no damage. I opened the cover and it is as clean as can be on the inside. After downloading 200+ updates the unit works super. Runs nice and quiet during normal operation though the disk drive is a bit noisy when loading. They all are though at least in my experience. It's hard to tell it from new and it works just that well. I went ahead and purchased the extended warranty and I hope it continues to work as well as it is now. All in all I am quit pleased with the purchase and am almost sorry it's not for me but for a friend.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
An excellent purchase!
3/25/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I was hesitant about buying a new/refurbished pc because, at the age of 72, I have not been able to keep up with all the changes in technology. However, I bit the bullet and got this Dell OptiPlex 755, and couldn't be happier!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Don't get this item!
10/29/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was leery about getting a refurbished pc but for the priced decided to give it a try. I ordered it on July 27. It is now October 29 and it totally crashed yesterday and nothing is recoverable. The hard drive is wiped out as if it doesn't exist. I since found out that this computer is from 2008. I took the risk but I would caution others not to. Maybe spend more and get a better refurbished - or not.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great product for the money
11/24/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Computer arrived in great shape looked like new. plugged in the computer attached the monitor, keyboard and mouse. Turned the unit on and it came right up, took me less than half hour to be on line. it is much quieter than my old dell 625 and much faster than my laptop. I would highly recommend anyone needing a computer to purchase a used on thru walmart.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641747, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-