Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 51 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

51 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

51 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
34
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 stars
5
1-20 of 45 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews
The BEST vacuum you can buy!
7/14/2012

Customer review by toledo29

5.0 stars 7/14/2012 by toledo29
by toledo29

To the first reviewer of this vacuum: If you want a canister vacuum, go buy the Dyson Canister vacuum. Honestly, you complained about everything that has to do with an upright vacuum. I will admit, the vacuum does blow hot air from the vent on it. Have you ever owned a vacuum that does not blow hot air? I haven't. I have previously owned two Hoover vacuums and a Bissell Clean view I just purchased in February. The Hoover lasted just 4 year sweeping the floor once a week being a single male. I literally got this vacuum and swept the floor with my Bissell vacuum I purchased no more than 4 months ago, then I swept with the Dyson. I was SHOCKED!!! I couldn't believe how much dirt was left over in the carpet. I am being serious, you would not believe it unless you saw it. The ball technology design is a dream come true, talk about getting under everything. The coat rack, just glides right underneath and along the edges of furniture. It is amazing! I admit I thought Dyson vacuums were overpriced. My sister always says her 6 year old Dyson works like the day she got it. These vacuums are incredible. And no I don't work for Dyson, I wish I did!

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
toledo29
Toledo, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
AWESOME!!
7/22/2012

Customer review by hisons

5.0 stars 7/22/2012 by hisons
by hisons

I'm loving this vacuum. First time I used it, we thought it made the carpets look like they'd been cleaned. It got a LOT of dirt & dust...yuck. So easy to maneuver (love the way it turns), very light. My favorite thing is it adjusts to different floors (we have carpet, rugs, wood floors, and linoleum). So easy to empty the canister. I'm happy there are no filters to replace (just have to periodically clean it). Easy hose for cleaning up high. I'm VERY happy. It was expensive, but worth it. I was tired to replacing cheaper vacuums every year! I feel like this one will last a long time.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hisons
Santa Rosa, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not a fan of the Dyson
6/13/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 6/13/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Let me start by saying I've always had a canister vacuum cleaner (Hoover to be exact). I have used uprights in the passed but don't like them because they can't get everywhere. I saw the Dyson DC40 on QVC and was impressed. The rep said it was only 14 lbs. and she kept holding it up above her head. I've heard about the great suction so I took the plunge and bought one. I am returning it. If you are used to the weight of an upright vacuum, the 14 lb weight of the Dyson may not be an issue. I am used to a lightweight pole with a powerhead on the end so the Dyson seemed very heavy. Also, with a canister the cord is behind you between the canister and the wall. With an upright, the cord is right there and you have to hold it or trip over it. This is a pain. This Dyson is great for carpet but has no crevice tool, which I used often with my canister. Even with the tools it does have, there's no place to attach them to the upright so mine are in a closet and I constantly have to keep track of them. This is a pain. Also, this upright is difficult to use on stairs. You pull out a wand and a hose. The hose on my Dyson is sooooo tight, even after stretching, that I can not keep the upright from being right behind me. On the Dyson infomercial, it shows a rep cleaning 6 steps up while the upright is sitting at the bottom of the steps. I could not do this because the hose was so "tight" I had to bring the unit with me because there was so much tension, I could only go 2-3 steps from the unit. If I pulled too hard, it would fall over. The hose is so tight that it hurt my back after I used it. Also, it's great on hardwood flooring but .... the hose has so much tension and pulls the upright behind you at such close range, that you trip over the unit. And the wand is too short, and I am only 5'6". When I do my hardwoods, I find I only get results if I CARRY the upright with one hand while I bend partway over and use the wand with the other hand .... and of course the cord is there all the time to trip over. That's 14 lbs of carrying. This is a pain. My bathroom tiles are also a problem because, even with the hardwood attachment, the suction is so powerful that sometimes I have to PULL the head off of the floor. There's no place to adjust the suction. Again, dealing with the suction, the short wand and the fact that the hose has so much tension #oh and the cord# .... Oh and this vacuum blows out very hot air from the back, all over your feet and legs. You will be in a sweat by the time you finish your chores. If you look on the Dyson webpage for reviews and questions from owners, you will see many people ask about that hot air because they don't like it. I contacted Dyson and told them about these issues. First I was told to get another person and help me stretch out the hose. My sister-in-law has another Dyson and said in three years her hose hasn't stretched out. Then I sent them an e-mail - and was told to call the customer service number. I have decided to return my Dyson DC40 to QVC for a $10.95 return fee. I don't know if I can match the suction of a Dyson, but I'm sure I can find something more user friendly and certainly more worth my money. I think this unit is way too high priced for what it lacks compared to a high quality canister-style vacuum cleaner.

Was this review helpful? (32) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Tulsa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
12/18/2012

Customer review by houndermom

5.0 stars 12/18/2012 by houndermom
by houndermom

I just love my Dyson DC40. I have a dog and to vacuum is no longer a chore. I love the push buttom to empty the canister! I really like how easy it is to move around, and I love that the edges pick up real well. This is a great vacuum!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
houndermom
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fantastic!!!
1/10/2013

Customer review by slh123

5.0 stars 1/10/2013 by slh123
by slh123

I am in love with my new Dyson! I was amazed by how much dirt it picked up when I had just vacuumed 2 days prior. I was also impressed with the fast delivery and reduced price through WalMart!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
slh123
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Horrible vacuum
10/15/2012

Customer review by Nedbert

1.0 stars 10/15/2012 by Nedbert
by Nedbert

Put vacuum together and had no suction. Husband tinkered with it until he got it to suck. Very poor performance picking up dirt and kitty litter. Vacuumed up a mess of box elder bugs and the canister was a complete mess, I had to wash the entire thing (it would have been quicker to simply have swept up the bugs instead). The third time I used it it had again completely lost suction. Will be attempting to return it. Went and bought a fabulous Simplicity vacuum from a reputable dealer for less money.

Was this review helpful? (7) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nedbert
MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
5/15/2013

Customer review by Jadiee

4.0 stars 5/15/2013 by Jadiee
by Jadiee

I have been shopping around for a new vacuum cleaner.I have a Hoover Windtunnel that I have had for several years. I always felt that it did a good job,but it is very heavy which did'nt used to be a problem,but as I have gotten older it was just too heavy for me. I had always heard that Dyson made very good vacuums. I shopped several stores online and found that Wallmart had the best deal.I saw that the DC40 only weighs 12.5 Lbs and I read the reviews and decided to order it.I am totally amazed at the amount of dirt and dog hair that it pulled out of my carpet. It is much more powerful than my Windtunnel. It was simple to assemble. I still need to get used to using it,but I think that the hose might not be long and flexible enough. Cord could be a little longer also.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jadiee
Brady Lake, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Expensive
2/21/2013

Customer review by lvaulx

5.0 stars 2/21/2013 by lvaulx
by lvaulx

Used my Dyson D40 only once and look forward to using it again. I hated vacuuming using my old vacuum because it was heavy and seems like vacuuming took forever due to poor suction. Hope it holds up for the price I paid for it. I'm thankful it came with a five year warranty.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lvaulx
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love, love, love it.....
10/7/2013

Customer review by Crzbone

5.0 stars 10/7/2013 by Crzbone
by Crzbone

as far as vacuums go. Didn't think I could be this excited about a vacuum, but the ball really helps for getting around on the floor. It empties easy, pushes easy and handles up and down the steps easy. Oh, I cleaned hair out of the brushes and that was easy too. I've only had it a couple weeks and I plan to have it for many years.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Crzbone
Chino Hills, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/1/2013

Customer review by karing4sharing

5.0 stars 7/1/2013 by karing4sharing
by karing4sharing

Easy to assemble, extremely light, and performs well picking up lint/dust

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
karing4sharing
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Vaccum Cleaner
6/3/2013

Customer review by Villa3

5.0 stars 6/3/2013 by Villa3
by Villa3

Damage container open cut on box cause by shipping, however Vacuum was packed to properly secure unknown at this time how long this Dyson Vacuum might last. Used one time so far seems to be working okey.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Villa3
Tucson,Az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great vacuum
9/17/2013

Customer review by heyhon

5.0 stars 9/17/2013 by heyhon
by heyhon

This is the lightest, most powerful vacuum I've ever owned. Great suction power and not as heavy and bulky as my previous vacuums. Well worth the price. Quick delivery too.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
heyhon
Fenwick Island, DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Maneuvers great and has great suction.
8/17/2013

Customer review by DKSVG

5.0 stars 8/17/2013 by DKSVG
by DKSVG

This is the best vacuum I've ever owned. It's so easy to move through the house and has the most suction power so it does a great job.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DKSVG
Hardy, Arkansas United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/19/2013

Customer review by Justrn

5.0 stars 8/19/2013 by Justrn
by Justrn

I love this vacuum! I swept my floor with my old Bissell and then went over the same area with the Dyson. It picked up as much as it had with the Bissell. Then I realized I hadn't even turned the brushes on. Love how i can manuever it around and under furniture i never could before. Only con: Directions are pretty awful.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Justrn
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Outstanding Engineering...Attention to detail
7/12/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/12/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

We just bought our first Dyson. We picked DC40. The Ball is outstanding. Navigating a vaccum has never been this easy. Small things have been done great. The one click canister removal and 1 click bottom door canister are truly great. Was a little apprehensive spending the money, but it's worth every penny. And last but not the least....This thing can suck the living daylights out of carpets and floors

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Awesome In Every Way!!
8/8/2013

Customer review by joscobo

5.0 stars 8/8/2013 by joscobo
by joscobo

I have a lot of pets. My wife volunteers at animal shelters and I work for one so we have adopted a few cats and dogs. 10 of them indoors to be exact. Now that's a lot of fur. Add to equation we live in a small house and vacuuming becomes a critical bit of maintenance. I vacuum every other day. I also had back surgery a couple of years back which made vacuuming a chore. I was using a competitors vacuum, designed for pets, that was good at the job, but it was a beast. After I slugged it around the living room my back would be aching. I needed a vacuum that excelled at the job of cleaning carpets and was light weight/ easy to push. So I began doing my research to see if there was anything better out there. A Dyson vacuum seemed to fit my criteria, albeit at a pretty stiff price for a guy working for a non-profit. You read good reviews and then you read some bad reviews. I took a chance and bought a DC40. I was a little afraid to shell out the extra money for the DC41 Animal Complete, just in case the Dyson legend was all hype. It isn't. I have had the DC40 for about four months and in every way it has exceeded my expectations. The way it cleans is nothing short of amazing. The carpet looks so good my in-laws thought we had shampooed for their visit. The DC40 just out-cleans any other vacuum I've ever used. It's easy to push and feels much lighter than the stated weight. Like I said earlier we live in a small house and the ball technology makes maneuvering around furniture and getting next to walls a snap. I actually look forward to vacuuming. The air quality has improved as well, although that's not something I can prove by any measure other than the "sneeze factor" seems to have gone down. I've never had my back bother me using my Dyson, even though I vacuum considerably more then before. Normally I vacuum because all of the dust flying around makes my wife's allergies act up. Everything stays locked up inside the DC40. It feels rock solid and looks awesome. The tools are easy to get at and the wand length is perfect so I don't have to bend to use the tools to get behind furniture, in corners, etc. The hose and cord are both a reasonable length. The designers at Dyson are brilliant! My only regret about going with Dyson is that I didn't purchase the DC41 Animal Complete for the extra tools for getting at the pet hair in my personal zoo. If you are thinking about purchasing the DC40 you won't be disappointed.

joscobo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Awesome Product
8/27/2013

Customer review by Musky

5.0 stars 8/27/2013 by Musky
by Musky

My wife and I were totally blown away by this amazing high tecnological cleaner. It will serve our purpose very well in that we have many carpeted arears along with hardwood edges. It is so very easy to use and we will be very happy having not to buy disposable bags anymore. Our oldest daughter has one and assured us we'd be very happy with it.

Musky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
First impression: Surpassed high expectations!
8/13/2012

Customer review by BlueIguana

5.0 stars 8/13/2012 by BlueIguana
by BlueIguana

I've been eying the Dyson line of vacuums for a while, as I'm big on gadgets and innovative technology. The reviews I've read were overwhelmingly positive, a friend of mine who owns one thought of it highly, yet I wasn't sure it was worth the cost (when compared to the average vacuum prices). Our vacuum broke down, and after some discussion and looking at even more reviews, my wife and I decided to purchase a DC40. I expected to be blown away by the vacuum and its features, while I mentally prepared myself to find out the opposite. Well, let me tell you, this beauty of technological innovation surpassed my highest expectations (and I'm pretty knit-picky when it comes to tech). The DC40 has established a new standard for me when looking for vacuums. It's simply amazing. To assemble it, there are simple instructions with the word "click" plastered all over the quick-start guide. It's super modular, so I imagine each piece can be replaced if need be, and there are instructions for what to disassemble and check if there is a clog. The design is sophisticated yet sturdy and absolutely beautiful. The plastics it's made of are of high quality and gorgeous colors. Operating the vacuum is a snap. Some reviews claim that the ball design is somewhat hard to get used to, but I found it natural. I was able to vacuum along a wall which is round, something I could not do with my previous vacuum. And boy, does thing suck. It picked up fine dust which I haven't seen in my old vacuum's bag ever, when emptying it after cleaning. The difference after cleaning with the DC40 was way more noticeable than when cleaning with my old vacuum (which I liked and thought of highly). You owe yourself to at least check it out, if you vacuum regularly!

BlueIguana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
LOVE IT!
7/5/2013

Customer review by Curiouscattts

5.0 stars 7/5/2013 by Curiouscattts
by Curiouscattts

I bought a DC40 today. I have a DC35 Animal and love it. I have wanted a larger model that does not work only on battery power. I don't trust any other brand to get my floors clean - not after I tried that experiment where you vacuum with your old vacuum and then with your Dyson. It is disgusting how much it other vacuums leave behind. I wonder if my tools for the DC 35 will fit my DC 40. One more thing...the DC 40 absolutely glides from hard surfaces to rugs and back. I was worried about the fringe on my rugs, but there was no problem at all - not a single pull on the fringe. Only problem so far is I can't find the serial number on the DC40.

Curiouscattts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The dc40 experience
4/7/2013

Customer review by Chum

5.0 stars 4/7/2013 by Chum
by Chum

This vacuum cleaner has surpassed my expectations. Some may think it is to expensive but the quality and performance far exceeds the the other brands on the market. I used to be a Hoover vacuum cleaner only person. Not anymore the dc40 is more powerful,lighter, and more maneuverable than any other vacuum that I have owned. Furthermore the engineering and quality of the vacuum have convinced me that I won't have to buy a new one for quite some time but, when I do it will be a dyson. I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a new vacuum to consider a dyson you will not be disappointed . Sincerely , Chum

Chum
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews