Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 58 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

58 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

58 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
40
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 stars
5
1-20 of 51 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 51 total reviews
1-20 of 51 reviews
1/8/2017

Customer review by Jossie

5.0 stars 1/8/2017 by Jossie
by Jossie

Absolutely loving my Dyson vacuum, works great. Love how it vacuums very well on hardwood flooring and rugs. This is my favourite vacuum so far, have no complaints at all about this product, it's awesome.

Jossie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Very good vacuum, not too heavy
12/24/2016

Customer review by LoneVacuumer

5.0 stars 12/24/2016 by LoneVacuumer
by LoneVacuumer

I bought this two and a half years ago, and it is still working great. 2 floors in our house, 4 bedrooms, all carpet, all with this vacuum. The only minor flaw is the connect between the canister and the vacuum occasionally does separate slightly, so it loses a little suction. But it never has affected how it cleans. Use all the attachments all the time. love them. they work well, and the push button connections on them are very easy to use.

LoneVacuumer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
11/30/2012

Customer review by puppydog

3.0 stars 11/30/2012 by puppydog
by puppydog

we bought the vacum on black friday 2012. our other vacum only last 2 years so we figured we would bit the bullet and buy a dyson... it works great but feels like it might break. it seems to pick stuff up pretty good but my wifes hair and our dogs tail hair seems to get tangled up on the brush....it got so bad it quit spinning, and our other vacum we have had for 2 years have never had that problem, kindof thinking we maybe should have got the anaimal on but it was so much more costly and looks like it would do the same thing....i was wondering maybe the suction hole is to small for hair to be sucked up...but all in all i am somewhat please love the way it drives. kindof thinking maybe to take it back and try the animal dc 41, plus the cord is longer on the dc41....dc40 multi floor cord is a few feet shorter then out old one so i have to plug it in in 2 different spots in the room to cover everything

puppydog
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Does more than just vaccuum
7/21/2013

Customer review by KRISSAN

5.0 stars 7/21/2013 by KRISSAN
by KRISSAN

I was shopping for vacuum cleaners because my old one broke. I planned to replace it with the same brand. When I saw the price of my replacement vacuum cleaner, it seemed a poor value because I had to purchase a three- year warranty. By comparison, Dyson cost includes a 5-year warranty. And, it looks sturdy, which is important. I am a "klutz". I got more than I bargained for! It picked up the fine dust from my kitchen floor. The floor looks like I washed it. And, I was stunned by the amount of dirt it picked up from my carpet -- I have allergies and vacuum often. I am disabled and happy to find that weight doesn't matter. This maneuvers easily. When it is not in use, I tip it onto small casters and roll it from room to room. The large handle makes it easier to lift than my old, lighter-weight vacuum. This is gross -- but, my dog is constantly licking his paws. The excess saliva leaves an intolerable odor on the carpets. Dyson vacuum eliminated the odor on first use. I do not have to wash it -- at all! Summary: Don't let the price and weight fool you. It's a good value and well-designed structurally as well as functionally. Final word -- I already dropped it. No harm done.

KRISSAN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Outstanding Vacuum
7/25/2016

Customer review by Indian02

5.0 stars 7/25/2016 by Indian02
by Indian02

Having owned many vacuum cleaners over the years, this one stands out as the best. Vacuum is strong no bags to buy and easy empty. I highly recommend this Vacuum cleaner.

Indian02
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
DO NOT BUY!!
12/31/2012

Customer review by krismcc

1.0 stars 12/31/2012 by krismcc
by krismcc

We had this vacuum for about 30 days. Bought it on sale on Black Friday. Even then it was almost $400. For that price I expect an exceptional vacuum. this vacuum was far from exceptional. Almost everytime we used this in the family room or kitchen it would get clogged. We used it 3-4 times per week, so it was not like we only vacuumed once a month. we spent more time removing clogs than vacuuming. After calling Dyson customer service and getting NO HELP, we decided to return it. I took it back today and got a dc41 animal. I vacuumed the floors that had been done a few hours prior by this one and had to empty the cannister twice. Hopefully, the dc41 animal will work better than this one.

krismcc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
light and easy
7/14/2013

Customer review by katja

4.0 stars 7/14/2013 by katja
by katja

I have a big condo, and Dyson DC17, almost new. My floors are wooden with some carpet, I like to clean quickly and as easy as possible, Big DC17 is heavy for me and difficult to move. Dyson DC40 is perfect for quick easy vacuuming of carpets and wood floors. The only cons are, that the cors is not very long, so you must move from plug to plug, and can is small, so each time after finishing cleaning, you must empty it. But for my needs to do easy job often and quickly it is perfect. But it strong enough to do good job. If you have carpets, it may be not your vacuum cleaner, you will need more powerful, but but for hard floors and light carpets it is perfect, i think

katja
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
LOVE IT!
7/5/2013

Customer review by Curiouscattts

5.0 stars 7/5/2013 by Curiouscattts
by Curiouscattts

I bought a DC40 today. I have a DC35 Animal and love it. I have wanted a larger model that does not work only on battery power. I don't trust any other brand to get my floors clean - not after I tried that experiment where you vacuum with your old vacuum and then with your Dyson. It is disgusting how much it other vacuums leave behind. I wonder if my tools for the DC 35 will fit my DC 40. One more thing...the DC 40 absolutely glides from hard surfaces to rugs and back. I was worried about the fringe on my rugs, but there was no problem at all - not a single pull on the fringe. Only problem so far is I can't find the serial number on the DC40.

Curiouscattts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A disappointing treat
11/3/2012

Customer review by sarahapp

2.0 stars 11/3/2012 by sarahapp
by sarahapp

When I moved from my house to an apartment, this was a gift to myself. It is the worst gift ever. If you have large swaths of open carpet, this might be a great thing for you. But if you need to vacuum under a bed (without wholly moving it) or use hand tools (they don't fit under a bed either) in tight spaces, or worse stairs, The hand tools display a total lack of design or thoughtfulness. The angle at which you are required to force the overlong stick and its impossible handle and a hose which never extends is ridiculous. Add the main part of the vacuum constantly slamming into your Achilles tendon. Sad sad sad.

sarahapp
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
The dc40 experience
4/7/2013

Customer review by Chum

5.0 stars 4/7/2013 by Chum
by Chum

This vacuum cleaner has surpassed my expectations. Some may think it is to expensive but the quality and performance far exceeds the the other brands on the market. I used to be a Hoover vacuum cleaner only person. Not anymore the dc40 is more powerful,lighter, and more maneuverable than any other vacuum that I have owned. Furthermore the engineering and quality of the vacuum have convinced me that I won't have to buy a new one for quite some time but, when I do it will be a dyson. I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a new vacuum to consider a dyson you will not be disappointed . Sincerely , Chum

Chum
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
2nd purchase
9/22/2012

Customer review by illinimomster

5.0 stars 9/22/2012 by illinimomster
by illinimomster

This is my second Dyson - I have one for our basement and one for the upstairs....both have exceeded my expections. I have the Dyson Animal for the basement where my husband and I, 2 dogs (English Springer and a Cocker), and 2 medium hair black cats spend all our time.....there is a lot of hair. The new vacuum DC40 Multi Floor is used upstais, where I have hardwood floors, area rugs and carpet....this vacuum preformed with ease over all types of flooring. Suction never changed going from different types of flooring and heights. The vacuum is light, easy to use and assembly was a breeze.

illinimomster
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Vacuum
2/5/2016

Customer review by heather0529

5.0 stars 2/5/2016 by heather0529
by heather0529

Great suction and has always been reliable. We have two large dogs and this vacuum has always worked great even getting their hair. It took a little while to get use to the stiffness of the hose but with time that was easy. This vacuum is very light and it is hard to vacuum with other vacuums now. They all seem so heavy compared to a Dyson and how well they glide.

heather0529
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
sorry we bought this vacuum
3/15/2013

Customer review by hateit

1.0 stars 3/15/2013 by hateit
by hateit

I owned a dyson vacuum for many many years. I loved it. I recommended dyson to many people. Now needing a new vacuum we bought this one. It's a cheap plastic piece of garbage, and I would never recommend a dyson vacuum again. It doesn't roll smoothly, makes all squeaky noises when it's used on hard wood floors. The canister is is so much smaller and doesn't open easily like my old one. I was very impressed with the old one, this one is a big failure! So sorry we got it, it won't last long like my first dyson.

hateit
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
not quite as good as they used to be
1/31/2016

Customer review by crzzyladyo

4.0 stars 1/31/2016 by crzzyladyo
by crzzyladyo

This is my second dyson machine. I LOVED my old animal. This is not the machine the old one was. After only a few months, the hose ripped. All in all a good machine, just not sure it was worth the money.

crzzyladyo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Too Expensive
2/14/2013

Customer review by TNT123

3.0 stars 2/14/2013 by TNT123
by TNT123

I have been using my DC40an purchased from Cosco on sale, for a month now. The handle lock does not hold it upright most of the time. It gets all the fine dust out well although it does not nicely raise the nap of your carpet as other cleaners I have had do. Does not seem to remove things like threads off the carpet easily. Easy to empty. Loud cleaner. It is lite and the swivel head is nice. Easy to move over the carpet. I am not convinced it is worth the high price.

TNT123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Great suction, but unusable built-in hose and wand
1/14/2013

Customer review by Viri

2.0 stars 1/14/2013 by Viri
by Viri

Has the great suction of the dyson vacuums, BUT do not count on it if you have to use the wand on stairs , under beds ...etc. The buil-in hose and wand it so tight , that every time I try to use it it flips over the vacuum. It is very hard to maintain it in the pull out position (I'm a 5'9 quite strong woman!), basically unusable with any attachment. Overall I'm dissapointed because I need two vacuum to clean one room. I was expecting more for that price.

Viri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Dyson Dc40
8/10/2012

Customer review by ChristopherLee

5.0 stars 8/10/2012 by ChristopherLee
by ChristopherLee

Well this vacuum goes absolutely everywhere in my 2 bedroom apt. The cleaner head fits perfectly in between the toilets in the bathrooms ,does the tile floor like magic it was well wor the money,I have 3 rescued dogs who are massive shedders I use this vacuum all the time dog hair is no longer a problem of mine. The hose seems to want to slide up just a tiny bit while vacuuming making sure its secured right before vacuuming can help. Highly recommend.

ChristopherLee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Great product
6/7/2013

Customer review by Happy45

5.0 stars 6/7/2013 by Happy45
by Happy45

I own a Dyson DC15 animal for eight years and it is still doing a great job. I decided to buy a second one (DC40) for the upstairs so I won't have to carry it since it is pretty heavy (I am very little). As expected, it also does a great job. It is smaller, lighter and louder than the DC15. For the upstairs, we have laminate floor and marble floor in the bathrooms. It is very easy to handle. I am glad I bought it instead of the robotic vaccuum.

Happy45
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Outstanding Engineering...Attention to detail
7/12/2013

Customer review by Venkat

5.0 stars 7/12/2013 by Venkat
by Venkat

We just bought our first Dyson. We picked DC40. The Ball is outstanding. Navigating a vaccum has never been this easy. Small things have been done great. The one click canister removal and 1 click bottom door canister are truly great. Was a little apprehensive spending the money, but it's worth every penny. And last but not the least....This thing can suck the living daylights out of carpets and floors

Venkat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
9/3/2012

Customer review by Hatehousework

5.0 stars 9/3/2012 by Hatehousework
by Hatehousework

I love my new dyson. It's my first dyson and I love the ability to vacuum multiple different floor coverings quickly and easily. My floors range from carpet, ceramic tile, wood floors and rugs. my only complaint is that I did not buy a dyson years ago. It really picks up dirt and hair without beating my floors to death. It's definitely worth the money!

Hatehousework
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
1-20 of 51 total reviews
1-20 of 51 reviews