Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 56 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

56 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

56 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
38
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 stars
5
1-20 of 49 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 49 total reviews
1-20 of 49 reviews
8/19/2013

Customer review by Justrn

5.0 stars 8/19/2013 by Justrn
by Justrn
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love this vacuum! I swept my floor with my old Bissell and then went over the same area with the Dyson. It picked up as much as it had with the Bissell. Then I realized I hadn't even turned the brushes on. Love how i can manuever it around and under furniture i never could before. Only con: Directions are pretty awful.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Justrn
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The BEST vacuum you can buy!
7/14/2012

Customer review by toledo29

5.0 stars 7/14/2012 by toledo29
by toledo29

To the first reviewer of this vacuum: If you want a canister vacuum, go buy the Dyson Canister vacuum. Honestly, you complained about everything that has to do with an upright vacuum. I will admit, the vacuum does blow hot air from the vent on it. Have you ever owned a vacuum that does not blow hot air? I haven't. I have previously owned two Hoover vacuums and a Bissell Clean view I just purchased in February. The Hoover lasted just 4 year sweeping the floor once a week being a single male. I literally got this vacuum and swept the floor with my Bissell vacuum I purchased no more than 4 months ago, then I swept with the Dyson. I was SHOCKED!!! I couldn't believe how much dirt was left over in the carpet. I am being serious, you would not believe it unless you saw it. The ball technology design is a dream come true, talk about getting under everything. The coat rack, just glides right underneath and along the edges of furniture. It is amazing! I admit I thought Dyson vacuums were overpriced. My sister always says her 6 year old Dyson works like the day she got it. These vacuums are incredible. And no I don't work for Dyson, I wish I did!

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
toledo29
Toledo, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
AWESOME!!
7/22/2012

Customer review by hisons

5.0 stars 7/22/2012 by hisons
by hisons

I'm loving this vacuum. First time I used it, we thought it made the carpets look like they'd been cleaned. It got a LOT of dirt & dust...yuck. So easy to maneuver (love the way it turns), very light. My favorite thing is it adjusts to different floors (we have carpet, rugs, wood floors, and linoleum). So easy to empty the canister. I'm happy there are no filters to replace (just have to periodically clean it). Easy hose for cleaning up high. I'm VERY happy. It was expensive, but worth it. I was tired to replacing cheaper vacuums every year! I feel like this one will last a long time.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hisons
Santa Rosa, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Outstanding Vacuum
7/25/2016

Customer review by Indian02

5.0 stars 7/25/2016 by Indian02
by Indian02

Having owned many vacuum cleaners over the years, this one stands out as the best. Vacuum is strong no bags to buy and easy empty. I highly recommend this Vacuum cleaner.

Indian02
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
5/15/2013

Customer review by Jadiee

4.0 stars 5/15/2013 by Jadiee
by Jadiee
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have been shopping around for a new vacuum cleaner.I have a Hoover Windtunnel that I have had for several years. I always felt that it did a good job,but it is very heavy which did'nt used to be a problem,but as I have gotten older it was just too heavy for me. I had always heard that Dyson made very good vacuums. I shopped several stores online and found that Wallmart had the best deal.I saw that the DC40 only weighs 12.5 Lbs and I read the reviews and decided to order it.I am totally amazed at the amount of dirt and dog hair that it pulled out of my carpet. It is much more powerful than my Windtunnel. It was simple to assemble. I still need to get used to using it,but I think that the hose might not be long and flexible enough. Cord could be a little longer also.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jadiee
Brady Lake, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/18/2012

Customer review by houndermom

5.0 stars 12/18/2012 by houndermom
by houndermom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I just love my Dyson DC40. I have a dog and to vacuum is no longer a chore. I love the push buttom to empty the canister! I really like how easy it is to move around, and I love that the edges pick up real well. This is a great vacuum!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
houndermom
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not a fan of the Dyson
6/13/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 6/13/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Let me start by saying I've always had a canister vacuum cleaner (Hoover to be exact). I have used uprights in the passed but don't like them because they can't get everywhere. I saw the Dyson DC40 on QVC and was impressed. The rep said it was only 14 lbs. and she kept holding it up above her head. I've heard about the great suction so I took the plunge and bought one. I am returning it. If you are used to the weight of an upright vacuum, the 14 lb weight of the Dyson may not be an issue. I am used to a lightweight pole with a powerhead on the end so the Dyson seemed very heavy. Also, with a canister the cord is behind you between the canister and the wall. With an upright, the cord is right there and you have to hold it or trip over it. This is a pain. This Dyson is great for carpet but has no crevice tool, which I used often with my canister. Even with the tools it does have, there's no place to attach them to the upright so mine are in a closet and I constantly have to keep track of them. This is a pain. Also, this upright is difficult to use on stairs. You pull out a wand and a hose. The hose on my Dyson is sooooo tight, even after stretching, that I can not keep the upright from being right behind me. On the Dyson infomercial, it shows a rep cleaning 6 steps up while the upright is sitting at the bottom of the steps. I could not do this because the hose was so "tight" I had to bring the unit with me because there was so much tension, I could only go 2-3 steps from the unit. If I pulled too hard, it would fall over. The hose is so tight that it hurt my back after I used it. Also, it's great on hardwood flooring but .... the hose has so much tension and pulls the upright behind you at such close range, that you trip over the unit. And the wand is too short, and I am only 5'6". When I do my hardwoods, I find I only get results if I CARRY the upright with one hand while I bend partway over and use the wand with the other hand .... and of course the cord is there all the time to trip over. That's 14 lbs of carrying. This is a pain. My bathroom tiles are also a problem because, even with the hardwood attachment, the suction is so powerful that sometimes I have to PULL the head off of the floor. There's no place to adjust the suction. Again, dealing with the suction, the short wand and the fact that the hose has so much tension #oh and the cord# .... Oh and this vacuum blows out very hot air from the back, all over your feet and legs. You will be in a sweat by the time you finish your chores. If you look on the Dyson webpage for reviews and questions from owners, you will see many people ask about that hot air because they don't like it. I contacted Dyson and told them about these issues. First I was told to get another person and help me stretch out the hose. My sister-in-law has another Dyson and said in three years her hose hasn't stretched out. Then I sent them an e-mail - and was told to call the customer service number. I have decided to return my Dyson DC40 to QVC for a $10.95 return fee. I don't know if I can match the suction of a Dyson, but I'm sure I can find something more user friendly and certainly more worth my money. I think this unit is way too high priced for what it lacks compared to a high quality canister-style vacuum cleaner.

Was this review helpful? (32) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Tulsa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
11/30/2012

Customer review by puppydog

3.0 stars 11/30/2012 by puppydog
by puppydog

we bought the vacum on black friday 2012. our other vacum only last 2 years so we figured we would bit the bullet and buy a dyson... it works great but feels like it might break. it seems to pick stuff up pretty good but my wifes hair and our dogs tail hair seems to get tangled up on the brush....it got so bad it quit spinning, and our other vacum we have had for 2 years have never had that problem, kindof thinking we maybe should have got the anaimal on but it was so much more costly and looks like it would do the same thing....i was wondering maybe the suction hole is to small for hair to be sucked up...but all in all i am somewhat please love the way it drives. kindof thinking maybe to take it back and try the animal dc 41, plus the cord is longer on the dc41....dc40 multi floor cord is a few feet shorter then out old one so i have to plug it in in 2 different spots in the room to cover everything

puppydog
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Fantastic!!!
1/10/2013

Customer review by slh123

5.0 stars 1/10/2013 by slh123
by slh123
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am in love with my new Dyson! I was amazed by how much dirt it picked up when I had just vacuumed 2 days prior. I was also impressed with the fast delivery and reduced price through WalMart!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
slh123
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Horrible vacuum
10/15/2012

Customer review by Nedbert

1.0 stars 10/15/2012 by Nedbert
by Nedbert

Put vacuum together and had no suction. Husband tinkered with it until he got it to suck. Very poor performance picking up dirt and kitty litter. Vacuumed up a mess of box elder bugs and the canister was a complete mess, I had to wash the entire thing (it would have been quicker to simply have swept up the bugs instead). The third time I used it it had again completely lost suction. Will be attempting to return it. Went and bought a fabulous Simplicity vacuum from a reputable dealer for less money.

Was this review helpful? (7) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nedbert
MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great Vacuum
2/5/2016

Customer review by heather0529

5.0 stars 2/5/2016 by heather0529
by heather0529

Great suction and has always been reliable. We have two large dogs and this vacuum has always worked great even getting their hair. It took a little while to get use to the stiffness of the hose but with time that was easy. This vacuum is very light and it is hard to vacuum with other vacuums now. They all seem so heavy compared to a Dyson and how well they glide.

heather0529
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Does more than just vaccuum
7/21/2013

Customer review by KRISSAN

5.0 stars 7/21/2013 by KRISSAN
by KRISSAN

I was shopping for vacuum cleaners because my old one broke. I planned to replace it with the same brand. When I saw the price of my replacement vacuum cleaner, it seemed a poor value because I had to purchase a three- year warranty. By comparison, Dyson cost includes a 5-year warranty. And, it looks sturdy, which is important. I am a "klutz". I got more than I bargained for! It picked up the fine dust from my kitchen floor. The floor looks like I washed it. And, I was stunned by the amount of dirt it picked up from my carpet -- I have allergies and vacuum often. I am disabled and happy to find that weight doesn't matter. This maneuvers easily. When it is not in use, I tip it onto small casters and roll it from room to room. The large handle makes it easier to lift than my old, lighter-weight vacuum. This is gross -- but, my dog is constantly licking his paws. The excess saliva leaves an intolerable odor on the carpets. Dyson vacuum eliminated the odor on first use. I do not have to wash it -- at all! Summary: Don't let the price and weight fool you. It's a good value and well-designed structurally as well as functionally. Final word -- I already dropped it. No harm done.

KRISSAN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
not quite as good as they used to be
1/31/2016

Customer review by crzzyladyo

4.0 stars 1/31/2016 by crzzyladyo
by crzzyladyo

This is my second dyson machine. I LOVED my old animal. This is not the machine the old one was. After only a few months, the hose ripped. All in all a good machine, just not sure it was worth the money.

crzzyladyo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Great vacuum
9/17/2013

Customer review by heyhon

5.0 stars 9/17/2013 by heyhon
by heyhon
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the lightest, most powerful vacuum I've ever owned. Great suction power and not as heavy and bulky as my previous vacuums. Well worth the price. Quick delivery too.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
heyhon
Fenwick Island, DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Maneuvers great and has great suction.
8/17/2013

Customer review by DKSVG

5.0 stars 8/17/2013 by DKSVG
by DKSVG
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the best vacuum I've ever owned. It's so easy to move through the house and has the most suction power so it does a great job.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DKSVG
Hardy, Arkansas United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/1/2013

Customer review by karing4sharing

5.0 stars 7/1/2013 by karing4sharing
by karing4sharing
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy to assemble, extremely light, and performs well picking up lint/dust

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
karing4sharing
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
DO NOT BUY!!
12/31/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 12/31/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

We had this vacuum for about 30 days. Bought it on sale on Black Friday. Even then it was almost $400. For that price I expect an exceptional vacuum. this vacuum was far from exceptional. Almost everytime we used this in the family room or kitchen it would get clogged. We used it 3-4 times per week, so it was not like we only vacuumed once a month. we spent more time removing clogs than vacuuming. After calling Dyson customer service and getting NO HELP, we decided to return it. I took it back today and got a dc41 animal. I vacuumed the floors that had been done a few hours prior by this one and had to empty the cannister twice. Hopefully, the dc41 animal will work better than this one.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
light and easy
7/14/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 7/14/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have a big condo, and Dyson DC17, almost new. My floors are wooden with some carpet, I like to clean quickly and as easy as possible, Big DC17 is heavy for me and difficult to move. Dyson DC40 is perfect for quick easy vacuuming of carpets and wood floors. The only cons are, that the cors is not very long, so you must move from plug to plug, and can is small, so each time after finishing cleaning, you must empty it. But for my needs to do easy job often and quickly it is perfect. But it strong enough to do good job. If you have carpets, it may be not your vacuum cleaner, you will need more powerful, but but for hard floors and light carpets it is perfect, i think

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
LOVE IT!
7/5/2013

Customer review by Curiouscattts

5.0 stars 7/5/2013 by Curiouscattts
by Curiouscattts

I bought a DC40 today. I have a DC35 Animal and love it. I have wanted a larger model that does not work only on battery power. I don't trust any other brand to get my floors clean - not after I tried that experiment where you vacuum with your old vacuum and then with your Dyson. It is disgusting how much it other vacuums leave behind. I wonder if my tools for the DC 35 will fit my DC 40. One more thing...the DC 40 absolutely glides from hard surfaces to rugs and back. I was worried about the fringe on my rugs, but there was no problem at all - not a single pull on the fringe. Only problem so far is I can't find the serial number on the DC40.

Curiouscattts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A disappointing treat
11/3/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 11/3/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

When I moved from my house to an apartment, this was a gift to myself. It is the worst gift ever. If you have large swaths of open carpet, this might be a great thing for you. But if you need to vacuum under a bed (without wholly moving it) or use hand tools (they don't fit under a bed either) in tight spaces, or worse stairs, The hand tools display a total lack of design or thoughtfulness. The angle at which you are required to force the overlong stick and its impossible handle and a hose which never extends is ridiculous. Add the main part of the vacuum constantly slamming into your Achilles tendon. Sad sad sad.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
1-20 of 49 total reviews
1-20 of 49 reviews