Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 48 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

48 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

48 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

98%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
39
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-20 of 37 total reviews
98%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 37 total reviews
1-20 of 37 reviews
Great laptop, runs fast!
5/22/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/22/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I've been looking for a nice, inexpensive laptop for a few games and movies/media. I was a little weary at first, but gave this HP a go. It turned out great; I had a problem at first with a blue screen, but it was because I hadn't fully updated the computer before I started installing some things. Now it works great. It runs super fast. I can play Sims 3 with all the expansions while the family watches movies through HDMI on the TV. The only con I have is that it is rather heavy, but it's not really a con since it IS a 17.3" laptop. I like that the battery has a big lip, because it lifts the laptop up to air it out without needing to buy a fan or put anything under it, as it does get quite hot if it's on the bed without any ventilation while playing games. I've had problems finding a backpack case for it and I ended up settling for a "fits most 17" laptops" that just barely fits. Just so everyone knows, the brown of this laptop is almost black. It's very dark and when I first got it I thought it was black until I put it to the outside light.

Was this review helpful? (59) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Exceptionally good for the price
8/14/2012

Customer review by Cosmic9619

5.0 stars 8/14/2012 by Cosmic9619
by Cosmic9619

I have owned this laptop for little over two weeks now and I have gotten to see what this laptop really goes for. The specs didn't lie when they said that this computer looked like it would fit in with the top dog competitors. I would certainly recommend this laptop to anyone looking to have a near top of the line laptop for almost a steal price. When you receive the laptop, it comes in a fairly decent box with good protection, no complaints on the shipping there. The laptop itself on "first boot" takes you though what I thought to be a long and boring setup with HP that takes roughly 30-45 minutes depending on what you provide in the fields being asked. After that is simply a walk-in-the-park using the laptop, The speed is amazing and the keyboard feels comfortable and easy to adjust to. When the spec for this computer say "Has 750GB of storage" expect to have roughly 650 to use and after all of the required windows updates would easily bring that down to 630 without any programs being installed, for example Microsoft Word/Office or Adobe Photoshop/After FX. The battery life on this laptop may be my biggest concern after buying it, although I love how it fits into the laptop, almost propping it up a bit to vent the laptop easier. I normally have to plug the laptop into the charger 2 to 3 times a day with full use (Games, Work, Composing Music, ect.) This laptop does come with Beats audio built in. This might be one of my favorite specs for this laptop, since I compose music with FL Studio 10 and I am constantly dealing with beats and melodies, this makes listening to music so much clearer and enjoyable through the speakers or my headphones (It almost boosts the quality of your headphones). The native 1600x900 Resolution and Blu-ray player makes this laptop an amazing product for watching movies, the Beats audio also makes this more enjoyable too. Browsing the web is breeze, the big screen makes it so you don't ever have to scroll to the side to see the whole page. For those of you that are curious about the fingerprint scanner, I love it. It works perfectly and is very accurate when identifying a registered finger. I mainly use it to log onto the laptop and log onto my email or Dropbox. This portion here is best for the concerned potential gamers that might buy this laptop. Don't expect to play something as massive as Skyrim on high graphics and render distance on far. The computer can do it although your frame rate will be drastically low. I can play games like Team Fortress 2 on high everything and experience no lag whatsoever. Games like Diablo 3 or Starcraft 2 will also run very well on Medium-High graphics which shouldn't really be a problem if you are going to be playing a lot. All in all this laptop is a fine product and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a great laptop for a steal price. PROS: -Beats Audio -Keyboard -Speed -Graphics -Blu-ray player CONS: -Battery life -Windows updates taking up a lot of storage space

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cosmic9619
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
WOW!
8/25/2012

Customer review by DuskAlliance

5.0 stars 8/25/2012 by DuskAlliance
by DuskAlliance

Okay first off, I am a HUGE gamer and love to play Minecraft, Runescape, Warcraft, Sims, and all that. I have just recently bought this laptop and I am extremely pleased with how it runs. Second of all, I have seen some of the other comments and I just want to say this: this laptop has an AMD processor NOT an intel i7. AMD is basically the same kind of processor, except it has a little less frequency and is cheaper. Anyways, this computer is AMAZING because: 1. 17" screen. I LOVE big screens for gaming! One of the things I look for in computers. 2. 750GB Hard Drive. When I saw this, I thought, "This is too good to be true." I am still thinking it. 3. 6GB (or 8GB, can't remember). That is also a great thing about the computer. I need AT THE VERY LEAST 4GB, but this computer packs a punch. 4. Fingerprint scan. I had never heard of this until a few months ago, and I am just awed by it. No more need for remembering passwords :D 5. The Design. This thing is soooo sleek. It is an absolute work of art. Finally, the last reason, is the........PRICETAG!!!!!! I have been searching all over the internet; Best Buy, Radio Shack, Staples, Micro PC, and let me say, this is the absolute best computer for its price IN THE WORLD. At $519.99, this computer HAS to be a dream come true for me. People, I am telling you. Go out and GET THIS LAPTOP!!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DuskAlliance
Rochester Hills, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Best computer for the money
7/21/2012

Customer review by Phawq

5.0 stars 7/21/2012 by Phawq
by Phawq

I bought this computer for my wife's birthday, she loves it. Fast fast fast. Absolutely the best value I've ever gotten out of a laptop.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Phawq
Phoenix
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Value
8/14/2012

Customer review by Kirsib

5.0 stars 8/14/2012 by Kirsib
by Kirsib

After doing lot of comparison shopping for 17 inch laptop with decent memory I decided to get this one. Price could not be beat, the item arrived in two days with regular shipping and it has been great and fast to use. My son uses it to skype it with his friends and I do my facebook games. Sound is decent, picture quality ok on videos and loads fast. Very happy!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kirsib
Honesdale, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
laptop is good so far .
6/18/2012

Customer review by Gloria7

5.0 stars 6/18/2012 by Gloria7
by Gloria7

So far so good for the short time I have had this laptop . Only thing i have found is not to good is lose usb port on left side .

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gloria7
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/24/2012

Customer review by Jazyladee

5.0 stars 8/24/2012 by Jazyladee
by Jazyladee

WOW! I am super impressed!! ...received my "refurbished" laptop on Thurs. 8/9; completely unexpected as I was told that shipment would be on Fri. 8/10, no later than Tues. 8/14. Thus was sooo EXCITED when received waaay ahead of schedule! TEN STARS on delivery!! This machine is beautiful, sleek, fast, large, exhilarating, fabulous, wonderful....oh yeah, the battery life MEGA PLUS PLUS!! I am loving this laptop, and the envy of everyone who has no idea that it's refurbished and the price is grrrrreat!!!!! I am so in love! P.S. the finger scanner, not a bad idea either!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jazyladee
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent laptop at a good price
9/8/2012

Customer review by PgMArchitect

5.0 stars 9/8/2012 by PgMArchitect
by PgMArchitect

This may not be the current state of the art laptop, but at this price point you shouldn't expect it to be. What you do get at this price is a solid laptop with a great HD screen that can handle most casual gaming and serve as a desktop replacement. Battery life is decent, wi-fi has good range, and there wasn't as much bloat-ware as I expected. It does not come with recovery media, so you will need either 4 single layer (4.7 GB) or 2 dual layer (8.5 GB) recordable DVDs for this. Even though it takes a while to do this, you need to go ahead and do it, as if something goes wrong, this is the only way you can reinstall everything. I suggest uninstalling all the bloat-ware / un-needed programs first though. Overall, this has been an excellent purchase that has done everything I need it to do, including handling some newer games at decent frame rates.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PgMArchitect
Huntsville, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Laptop and a BETTER DEAL than Tiger Direct!!
8/14/2012

Customer review by BigSky12345

5.0 stars 8/14/2012 by BigSky12345
by BigSky12345

This laptop looks brand new and appears to be an excellent product. I especially ike the brown finish gives unit a very professional look over the silver model. Would definitely recomend this product to anyone who wants a quality laptop from HP as a great deal from Wal Mart!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigSky12345
Helena, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
fast,powerful,and loaded
8/22/2012

Customer review by SOUND1

4.0 stars 8/22/2012 by SOUND1
by SOUND1

just got this and put all my updates and info in and love the performance. it outworks my old 7 year old by 200%.it only took 30 minutes to update 700mb from microsoft. the only thing wrong with it sofar is it said it came with a 750GB hard drive,but when i opened it, it only had 650GB. this is a great laptop,my old vista needed a break. will see after a few months how it runs. would definitly by another one.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SOUND1
AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
SUPER BUY!!!!
8/29/2012

Customer review by Littlebaer

5.0 stars 8/29/2012 by Littlebaer
by Littlebaer

I have been wanting to purchase a laptop and have looked at the WalMart site as well as in the store. When I saw this one, I jumped at it. This laptop has all the features I need in a computer and more. It was ready to go from the box. In addition, I was pleasantly surprised to find it had a Blu-ray Disc player. The screen is large enough for me to be able to see everything. Being my age, I do need a larger screen. The ease in working with the features is wonderful. It is heavier than most laptops, but not unmanageble. At this point, I do not have any complaints and would highly recommend this for anyone looking for a truly great product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Littlebaer
OKLAHOMA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7/11/2012

Customer review by MiMeme

5.0 stars 7/11/2012 by MiMeme
by MiMeme

Love it fingerprint scan its great very fast.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MiMeme
taylor,mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Highly recommended!
9/19/2012

Customer review by wingsgurl43

4.0 stars 9/19/2012 by wingsgurl43
by wingsgurl43

I got this laptop about two weeks and I'm loving it so far. The reason I am giving it 4 stars is because when I first turned it on the blue screen came up this was after I installed Google Chrome and Avast Security. Once Windows updated the necessary updates to the computer I tried downloading Chrome and Avast again and there weren't any problems. And I haven't had the blue screen again. I am not a computer expert so I don't know if that's why I was getting the blue screen. But I love this computer. It comes with a blurry player and beats audio (which I'm told is one of the best brands out there). And so far it's meeting all my expectations.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wingsgurl43
Bowling Green, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
No Surprises
2/3/2012

Customer review by LaptopNewb

5.0 stars 2/3/2012 by LaptopNewb
by LaptopNewb

First thing I did was read almost all of the previous reviews (on other brands as well), and THEN I ordered my laptop w/upgrades that were recommended. I was so pleased that HP had one configured almost exactly how I wanted and received it more quickly (and less expensively) than the one I would have had them put together for me. I've only had it for a week now and am very pleased. It is my first laptop. I always hated other laptops and so never got one for myself. Grad school made me take the leap. It's fast and so far handles all the software I've loaded on it. By the way, I love the action of the keyboard (fast action and quiet), I don't think it feels cheap at all (but I agree, back lighting the keys would be a great idea), I appreciate the ten-key to the right--can't stand using numbers on the top row. I appreciated the bigger screen when I had to work on a 10 column, over 21,000 line spreadsheet of data. The touchpad isn't a problem like other reviewers say but of course I use a separate mouse most of the time. The fingerprint reader is cool and time saving. I anticipate doing modeling and engineering problems on this laptop so got all the bells-n-whistles when it came to memory and process speed. The only miracle I would've liked would've been for it to weigh less but I knew what I was getting into.

LaptopNewb
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
10/2/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/2/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

-Shipped very quickly (Miami to Cleveland, OH in 1-2 days) I was surprised how fast I got it -Looks brand new -A little heavy but hey it's 17.3'' what do you expect -The battery shape is cool, it props the computer up to help keep it cool -Sound is good -Able to play games (Minecraft, Diablo, Wow) well, not much lag. I've been having to wait a minute for Technic to load up (Minecraft mod) but I'm not sure if that's because of the computer or the mod. -The fingerprint scanner is cool and works well. Keeps my younger siblings from getting onto it. Also you can set shortcuts to programs/websites depending on which finger you scan. -Overall just very pleased with it. Meets my needs.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Cleveland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Plenty Horses
2/20/2012

Customer review by Gigantor

5.0 stars 2/20/2012 by Gigantor
by Gigantor

This is a replacement for a 7-year old Dell. The laptop is working great, and I've already got the files converted and moved from the old machine. I enjoy the immediate responsiveness that the i7 provides. Still exploring all of the new capabilities that this machine is bringing me. I was very impressed at how quickly I received the new machine, having picked a "quick ship" option, I expected that standard shipping would have it to me the following week, but actually received it within 36 hours of placing the order.

Gigantor
NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
This is my best friend
1/27/2012

Customer review by Teri75

5.0 stars 1/27/2012 by Teri75
by Teri75

I was forced to buy a new laptop since my other one passed away. After a good week of reviewing various machines along with other HP's, I chose this one and I am so glad with my decision. This laptop also blows any Mac Pro out the water, and yes I even tested Mac Pros out. The speed/processing is very fast, beautiful display and sound, sturdy aluminum body, wonderful screen size, along with a long battery life. Best laptop that I've ever had. Totally spoiled!!!!

Teri75
Cleveland Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
LOVE!
5/7/2012

Customer review by MTAngel

5.0 stars 5/7/2012 by MTAngel
by MTAngel

I love this laptop. I am a gamer and was really looking for a high performance and great video quality. The games I play are Skyrim and WOW. I wanted to be able to put my settings on Ultra for Skyrim. I was unable to do that but am able to run it on High. Love the graphics! I also liked that there doesn't seem to be as much software junk as my previous HP's. This was a great value and I would highly recommend!

MTAngel
Helena, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Good notebook, bad charger
2/22/2012

Customer review by SilverViper

4.0 stars 2/22/2012 by SilverViper
by SilverViper

I really like my new dv7. I bought it when my ancient hp laptop died. It is a very up to date machine, but for some reason they sent me a charger (power supply) from 1987. The thing weighs almost as much as the computer, and is over twice as big as the charger for for the old hp laptop. For a portable machine, the size and weight of the charger makes a difference.

SilverViper
Macedon, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
An excellent laptop
2/29/2012

Customer review by stu2009

4.0 stars 2/29/2012 by stu2009
by stu2009

I had finished buying HP products until this came along...It is an excellent laptop with great specs...satisfying to say the least....only downside is that HP has dropped the eSATA port in favor of USB 3. As we carry a portable bluray burner on trips we now have to transfer data to HDD instead of burning data and video to disc in the field.

stu2009
Las Vegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 37 total reviews
1-20 of 37 reviews