Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 60 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

60 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

60 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

52%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
15
4 stars
15
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 stars
18
1-20 of 50 total reviews
52%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 50 total reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews
great underwater camera!
6/4/2012

Customer review by snorkel dork

4.0 stars 6/4/2012 by snorkel dork
by snorkel dork

Was going to Hawaii, husband thought it was silly to buy a camera for a limited use...almost 16GB of pictures later...it was AMAZING! Took great underwater pics, great above water pics! Not great in really low light. Amazing sunset pics! LOVE the add a verbal message feature! (Have you ever been to several similar places and can't remember which was which? Problem solved!) Only issue-be patient. Takes a second to turn on, takes a second to start recording messages, and a second to begin recording, but once you understand that, it is a really good camera. Love that it takes AA batteries-much better than trying to find an electrical plug to charge the battery while on the beach snorkeling, or hiking in the rainforest. Speaking of that-yes, you can take pictures in the rain! One more great feature-the battery compartment has a double close on it, to keep the batteries in place and water tight. Love that is has one button to record and another to take stills. Made a huge difference when snorkeling-very easy to do one then the other.

snorkel dork
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not the camera for us
5/1/2012

Customer review by Coolpix S30

1.0 stars 5/1/2012 by Coolpix S30
by Coolpix S30

After doing lots of comparing on the Nikon site, I decided to get the Coolpix S30 for my daughter. She will be travelling this summer to Australia, New Zealand, and Seattle. I wanted her to have a camera that she could take great pictures with and I liked the water proof feature. I found that the camera actually takes horrible pictures! Having a Nikon D70, I am camera savvy enough to go through the menu and settings, but no matter what we did the pictures did not turn out well. They were blurry, dark, over exposed, and not one good photo was taken. I think one of the main reasons is the camera does not respond quickly enough when pushing the button. I was also not impressed with the zoom - at full zoom the camera still could not focus and provide a sharp picture. I am in the process of requesting a RMA which I had no idea you only had 10 days from time of receiving the camera to aquire. Warning to all future customers, be sure you check out your camera quickly so you don't get stuck with a bad camera. We will get a different NIkkon as I am a big fan of my SLR camera.

Coolpix S30
Would recommend to a friend? No
The "Perfect" all-a-round inexpensive camera
4/7/2012

Customer review by DaveB63

5.0 stars 4/7/2012 by DaveB63
by DaveB63

I have researched cameras for almost a year trying to find a camera for my soon to be 5 year old granddaughter so that she could to take pictures at our upcoming trip to Disneyworld. I could not find a camera that was big enough for her to hold properly, the lens centered so she could hold both sides securely, had a relatively high megapixel capability and also took 720p HD video. This camera met everything that I was looking for and more. It is even waterproof, shockproof and even came in hot pink. The camera takes great pictures, the colors are phenomenal! The one other feature I like that makes it so much more versatile is the separate buttons for picture and video, great idea. My granddaughter also likes the different shutters sounds you can select. Hats off to Nikon, this camera is perfect for kids and people who want to take good pictures and want to keep it simple.

DaveB63
Fairfield, OH, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not so Waterproof and shock proof
10/20/2015

Customer review by Kait

1.0 stars 10/20/2015 by Kait
by Kait

I enjoyed it while it lasted, when I first got it I read through the warranty and manual till I had it pretty much memorised. I really liked the underwater pics, but then one day after I was done using it I noticed that there's was water damage in the battery compartment, I dried it out and didn't think too much of it, but from then on I wrapped it in a plastic baggy, but then my sis decided to use it in water without asking me and didn't wrap it in the bags. The water damage was AWFUL and it took hours to dry. Then we went to Hawaii and I was exited to use it underwater. It fell of a 1 foot high table and hasn't worked since. Not super exited that I didn't get the cool pics and not satisfied with the camera, I don't suggest getting it.

Kait
CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great, but the flash is rather mischievous
1/27/2013

Customer review by Simon

3.0 stars 1/27/2013 by Simon
by Simon

Good camera, takes good pictures, great to take around the pool and the beach, has good features, etc. etc. That's all during the day. Why did I only give this three starts? THE ONLY DOWNFALL IS THE FLASH. When I try to take photos during the evening at parties and the like, the flash is temperamental! It doesn't come on very frequently (with 'auto-flash' set to on. The only other option is 'off', there is no 'always flash' option). Sometimes you can get it to go off after playing around with the settings some more and covering the flash sensor (which produces low quality images anyway) but then even after such drastic measures sometimes it doesn't go off anyway...plus having to mess around in settings all the time is a burden.

Simon
Would recommend to a friend? No
VERY DISAPPOINTED
12/6/2012

Customer review by Mrs. H

1.0 stars 12/6/2012 by Mrs. H
by Mrs. H

When I got pregnant I begged my husband for a Nikon camera, because I knew I would be taking a ton of pictures of the baby.. I am rough with my electronics so I chose this shock proof camera, and waterproof just because it seemed like a cool feature. The pictures all come out blurry and the lighting is horrible. I thought that maybe it was just me, despite having experience with cameras. I came to the site to maybe pick up some tips on the camera and saw a ton of complaints similar to what I was experiencing.. I would love to trade this out for a new camera. As for right now, I am taking better pictures with my Droid.. Horrible model!

Mrs. H
Would recommend to a friend? No
so far so good
12/13/2012

Customer review by shenlonco

4.0 stars 12/13/2012 by shenlonco
by shenlonco

I got this 2 days ago and Takes pretty good photos and video though it's not the best quality but for what it is it's great. I mainly got this cam for when i go fishing things get rough when taking fish photos and videos so i am hoping this will be a good cam.. One thing i am worried about is the clear lense cover how strong it is will it crack or scratch easy ..what is it made from? One bad thing i noticed is when shooting video when you press record the cameras LCD blacks out and then turns on and has a delay and makes you miss the first part of what you are tried recording the video of ... it's not instant recording...

shenlonco
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Flash doesn't work
5/6/2013

Customer review by CDP

1.0 stars 5/6/2013 by CDP
by CDP

Really disappointed with this camera. I bought it for my six year old to use but when shooting indoors the images are always blurred. The flash can be set to 'Auto' or 'Off' but when on Auto there is no logic as to whether it decides to fire the flash or not. Most times it doesn't fire the flash, even with 1/4 o 1/2 second exposures so the results are obviously terrible. I sent the camera back under guarantee and they said they replaced some contacts and flash sync but it's behaving exactly as it was before. No good at all Nikon. I imagine this is a firmware problem rather than hardware but I don't think there is anyway of updating firmware on this camera so unless Nikon offer a recall I can't see much hope of the problem being solved. There is a way to 'force' the flash a little more but it's a bit of a pain and certainly no use for a six year old: First set your shooting style to 'Close-up (this will actually switch off the flash) then set your flash mode to 'auto'. Now the flash will fire much more willingly. The problem is that when you switch the camera off and then on again it will remain in 'close-up' mode but will switch the flash back to 'off' so you'll need to go back into the menu every time to set the flash back to 'auto'. Child's play, no?! So if you're hoping to use this as a point and shoot in any situation I suggest DO NOT BUY this camera.

CDP
Italy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Awful experience
11/23/2012

Customer review by Nala

1.0 stars 11/23/2012 by Nala
by Nala

Got this camera for our vacation to Cancun . We went to a few water parks and tough this will be the ideal camera to take great pic at the under grown river and sea trek WRONG !!!! The camera just DID NOT work during the whole river ride. The pics are not clear and the battery door is just a nightmare to open .Flash works whenever it wants to . pics are blurry . Sad to know that we are stuck w this camera . We have another trip coming but my husband already got another waterproof camera

Nala
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Second time using Warranty, I will try to get back it's price... :/
2/18/2013

Customer review by Ziv

1.0 stars 2/18/2013 by Ziv
by Ziv

I bought it before going on a big holiday for 3 weeks... it turned out that it's lens was bad by factory so all the 2000+ picture was blurry, especially in the corners. I was very sad. :( The warranty replaced my camera, now I cannot download the pictures... No way to stick to this camera after all. Useless!! I attached a sample picture. Most of the picture was blurry, and with very faint colors. (it's taken at ISO 80, 1/60s, F3.3) All the 2000+ picture was the same. :(

Ziv
Budapest, Hungary
Would recommend to a friend? No
COOLPIX S30 is great but cannot be used to copy magazines or books.
7/28/2012

Customer review by Rick

3.0 stars 7/28/2012 by Rick
by Rick

The COOLPIX S30 is a great camera for normal photos. But it has one serious defect. I take many pictures of books, so that I can read them when I need a reference or data. The problem is that I cannot look at a photo and view all the parts of the photo when I zoom in. This is a serious defect. Now I am sorry I purchased the S30. I also have a KODAK camera. It works slower than the S30. But the KODAK allows me to view photos and zoom in to all areas of the photo.

Rick
Alberta, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not a bad camera for the price
4/16/2013

Customer review by Lance

4.0 stars 4/16/2013 by Lance
by Lance

I do property inspections and take over 500 pictures a day. Eats up a lot of batteries. I have to carry at least 6 extra rechargeable batteries. My Nikon Coolpix S3500 uses one battery to do the same job. Sometimes I have to imprint the date/time on the pictures. Not with this camera. You set the date and time and you can only print the date on the pictures. Hence, the S3500. I now only use this camera for a backup.

Lance
Mountain Home, AR, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Disappointed, blurry pictures
4/22/2012

Customer review by kboutelle208

2.0 stars 4/22/2012 by kboutelle208
by kboutelle208

My 10 year old bought this with her own money to take on our vacation to Costa Rica, It takes fine pictures and video outside in the sun. However, the camera underperforms inside or in places with shadows. The flash is unpredictable and you can't override it and turn it on. I typically love Nikon cameras (I still use my D80) and I am very disappointed in this model.

kboutelle208
Encinitas, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Unpredictable flash
11/20/2012

Customer review by ex-nikon fan

1.0 stars 11/20/2012 by ex-nikon fan
by ex-nikon fan

Very difficult to get a non blurry picture of my 4 year old and the flash hardly ever works when you need it. I am going to trash this camera for the fact that I cannot get it to flash when I really need it. There is no option to turn the flash to always on, only options are auto and off. Very frustrating. Oh and the battery door is difficult to get closed.

ex-nikon fan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very disappointed!
5/27/2012

Customer review by Mom of Three active kids

1.0 stars 5/27/2012 by Mom of Three active kids
by Mom of Three active kids

I thought I was buying the best...but I cannot get a good picture from this camera. Thought it was because I had not read the manual in detail, so I did. Still cannot get clear, crisp pics. And, I have lost the charger, and cannot buy a replacement at a store- must order one, I am told. Battery life is relatively short too.

Mom of Three active kids
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? No
palm full of excitement
8/27/2015

Customer review by Boophotographer

5.0 stars 8/27/2015 by Boophotographer
by Boophotographer

parents bought this for a graduation gift and it was the best gift i recieved back in 2012. friends and i have taken countless photographs of underwater and even of slide rock in sedona here in Arizona. best thing ever!

Boophotographer
Peoria, AZ, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GARBAGE !!!
5/19/2013

Customer review by ANGRY

1.0 stars 5/19/2013 by ANGRY
by ANGRY

LOST MY PURCHASE RECIEPT SO MY WARRANTY IS WORTHLESS. THIS IS MY SECOND COOLPIX. FIRST ONE SCREEN WENT BAD AFTER 2 YEARS, WELL GOT 2 YEARS NOT BAD! THIS UNDERWATER ONE DIDN'T LAST 2 MINUTES UNDERWATER. DON'T BUY IT AND IF YOU HAVE ONE "DO NOT" TAKE UNDERWATER. I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER COOLPIX AGAIN GARBAGE!!!!!!!

ANGRY
COLORADO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great little camera
5/23/2013

Customer review by cpatti55

5.0 stars 5/23/2013 by cpatti55
by cpatti55

We bought this camera to take snorkeling with us on a recent trip. The photos on land and of the fish and the reef were great. I would never take my Nikon DSLR on a small boat, so I was quite pleased with the waterproof feature of this camera. It was inexpensive too!

cpatti55
South Jersey, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not happy with camera. cheap made.
9/28/2012

Customer review by lulu75

2.0 stars 9/28/2012 by lulu75
by lulu75

I loved this at first, then after changing the batteries and taking out my card to get my pictures the yellow thing is not closing right, the batteries keep popping back out.. They need to make one like this but better made with chargable battery....

lulu75
Rancho Cordova Ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
NOT WATERPROOF
6/1/2012

Customer review by Not Waterproof

1.0 stars 6/1/2012 by Not Waterproof
by Not Waterproof

I bought this Camera, since it claimed that it is waterproof, It is not Waterproof!! Use it one time and it got wet and it does not even work after I dried it out, like the manual says to do! I will think twice about buying a other Nikon product!!

Not Waterproof
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews