Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1822 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

1822 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

1822 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
1300
4 stars
395
3 stars
67
2 stars
29
1 stars
31
1-20 of 1718 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1718 total reviews
1-20 of 1718 reviews
The Perfect Tablet!
6/22/2011

Customer review by Gadgetricity

5.0 stars 6/22/2011 by Gadgetricity
by Gadgetricity

This thing is absolutely beautiful. When you pick it up for the first time, it just brings a smile of satisfaction to your face. I applaud Samsung for having the guts to admit its 10.1v was inferior to the iPad2. With this new version, they came out swinging. + Stunning screen quality (PLS IPS) + Very loud speakers (ignore any review that says otherwise) + Light and thin + Honeycomb 3.1 already installed + Very good battery life so far (Two days of high-moderate use and I'm currently at 31 percent left.) + UNLOCKED! (Props Samsung. We really appreciate this!) - Video play back is a pain (This is a knock on Nvida. They did not implement the correct codecs into Tegra2.) - No Micro SD (To me this is not a con. I can easily manage with 16GB. I am pointing it out for others.) All in all, I really suggest giving this tablet a try at your store before buying anything else. It really is that nice.

Gadgetricity
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
Excellent choice!
8/25/2011

Customer review by hcross1844

5.0 stars 8/25/2011 by hcross1844
by hcross1844

compared this tablet to the IPAD 2, ASUS, Blackberry Playbook, XOOM, using CNET, and several other consumer comparison tools. Then I visited several stores to do a side by side comparison. Based on price and functionality alone, the ASUS and XOOM also were good choices, because they come with HDMI and USB ports. However the Galaxy 10.1 actually has a better camera, (even though my Galaxy 10.1 only has the 3 MP camera, go figure!) Although, I WISH that we had the same 8 mp camera that the Eurpoean version comes with, the photos and videos look quite good. I also purchased the keyboard that works well for fast typing. The drawbacks are that you currently have to download an app from Samsung support in order to transfer photos and videos FROM the tablet to a PC. I also think that the MOVIE STUDIO app is the most difficult movie editor that I have seen! IMOVIE KILLS this app. MediaHub doesn't allow for movies etc. outside of the US, same for Netflix. That being said, the Android 3.1 on this tablet works great and the tablet itself is kind of a better version of the IPAD 2 in many ways, and since it is just about the same in price, I would suggest that anyone that likes the IPAD2, do a side by side comparison with the Galaxy 10.1.

hcross1844
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Unhappy with the Tab 2 10.1
4/18/2013

Customer review by ARB74

1.0 stars 4/18/2013 by ARB74
by ARB74

I am having issues since the day I bought it. Not worth the money spent. 1. I had issues setting up WiFi on my home network. My phones, laptops and all other devices could find the wireless network and could connect happily. The Samsung tab 2 always complained WiFi not in range even if I sit next to the router. I finally could fix this after configuring my WiFi router to issue a static IP to the Samsung Tab. 2, After I fixed the WiFi issue started the issue with charging my Tab. Even after connecting my Tab on power as well as on USB, the tab could sense the power with a beep but was not getting charged. I used to see a RED X mark on the battery. I had to switch off the tab and then it used to charge sometimes. 3. Finally now the tab no longer can power-on. When I connect the power, I see a quick flash as if the Tab is powering on and shows the battery symbol and goes off. This keeps repeating even if I put it on power for 24 hours. No longer able to switch on the tab, it's dead.

ARB74
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Intermediate
Made the right choice
8/24/2012

Customer review by ethalfrida

5.0 stars 8/24/2012 by ethalfrida
by ethalfrida

Initially, when friends found out I'd bought the Galaxy 10.1, they didn't hesitate in telling me what a great product it was. One of them friends is an IT manager and he let me know that it was the very best choice in tablets and he was getting one. Another friend is purchasing one this week because I took it on vacation with us and it was absolutely invaluable in helping us navigate our way around the island. At first I purchased the 7.0 but found it a little small for how I was going to use it. I returned it and bought the 10.1 and it is just perfect. Some reviewers said they were hoping for a better camera but it is okay with me. It was all I needed for the trip. I also like the many apps that come with it and also the choices for ones we can download. Lastly, one of the IT guys at work introduced the tablet concept to me some years ago. However, at the time I couldn't see a use for one. If waiting this long to get one put me in line to get the Galaxy then I am glad I waited!

ethalfrida
southern california
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
iHad the other one, NOW I have the better one............
8/11/2011

Customer review by THeys

5.0 stars 8/11/2011 by THeys
by THeys

I am in love with this tablet! It is truly the best tablet currently on the market. The design is like a luxury sports car, slim, sleek and sexy. It has the speed and a great UI. The Touch Wiz update was AMAZING. Samsung really did some great improvements to this device with their update and I am hoping more great updates are to come. There are some small issues but nothing that is to major. The first thing is the app selection. Android just isn't mature enough for a tablet like this. However I have confidence that it will be full-force by the end of 2011. With the new Ice Cream Sandwich update and with new tablet apps being added everyday, I think it wont take long to see some even greater things. The only other thing that I don't like is the browser, I think it could have more customization. However that is not an issue cause there are other free browsers in the market that give you more customization. But overall Samsung has scored with the Galaxy Tab 10.1............DUNK

THeys
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Love it so far, but expecting more to be available
6/19/2011

Customer review by garet821

5.0 stars 6/19/2011 by garet821
by garet821

This is my first tab and after a day of use I am very happy with my purchase. There are so many things to love about it so I'll jump to my few gripes. Its not a huge deal but when typing online, there is a bit of a lag. I'm typing on it right now and there is a slight delay from when you hit a letter to when it appears in the text box. However, the haptic and visual feedback when you touch the letter is instantaneous. So I don't know what to attribute the lag to. The other thing is the aps and customization available, though I know it is comming. I really hope netflix becomes available soon, I expect it will. This tablet is brighter and more aesthetically appealing than the xoom or ipad2. It is slightly lighter and slimmer than the ipad2. I have read that some find the back plate to be cheap and plasticy to the touch. I don't find that to be the case at all. It has a very smooth solid feel. If you have owned an android phone, you will find your way around this tab quickly. Overall, I'm in love :-)

garet821
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fast & smooth Flash Videos, Light weight, Thin
6/27/2011

Customer review by volume123

5.0 stars 6/27/2011 by volume123
by volume123

Most wonderful product of the year 2011 so far. Thin, light and beautiful. When you hold the product you will feel extra ordinary difference as compare to the other tablets in the market. Everything is fast on this device. Flash videos are easier to watch. Flash videos opens fast and solid. I bought this tablet mainly to watch flash videos and this device does the job. Because i want to watch lengthy programs on the tablet therefore i need light and thin tablet and for this it is the perfect tablet for me. Photo and contacts transfer from other devices are also very easy because of some apps on the android market. Wifi is so brilliant it connects automatically once you setup means when i am out of my wifi zone it disconnects the wifi but as soon as i am in range of my wifi zone it connects automatically i don't have to do anything, it just connects and never drop connection as long as you are in wifi zone. So don't be afraid of buying this tablet as it is easily the best.

volume123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Great Great Tablet
1/31/2013

Customer review by AZCResident

5.0 stars 1/31/2013 by AZCResident
by AZCResident

Purchased to match with my Samsung Galaxy III phone - I use this for work (spreadsheets, documents) easy to bring files from my PC. Works flawlessly over the network using my Samsung Galaxy III as a hotspot, but when home use my WiFi (flawless). Didn't have to learn anything new. Update to the newest software, loaded what I already had on the Galaxy III and away we went. Use clouds for constant syncing. The screen is simply fantastic, most vivid pictures - & I plug in a headset and the sound is great - no issues. So far so good. A million times better than my old tablet for ease of use, Duplicating files via the cloud, and just overall great. Love the ease of use and movement between both Samsung products & the Samsung support. Can't say enough about this product. Lightweight, screen clarity, ease of use. Always try to match my tablet to a phone, that way I don't have to learn much new & can always count on seamless performance with programs. Would recommend to any one looking for a GREAT GREAT tablet.

AZCResident
Arizona City, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
I forgot i have a Laptop
8/7/2011

Customer review by gadgetgoobe

5.0 stars 8/7/2011 by gadgetgoobe
by gadgetgoobe

I have had the galaxy tab for 2 weeks. I have to say it is one of the best tablets out there. I have not powered on my laptop since i got the tab. I can watch netflix, visit all the news websites with flash content, play games and trade stocks. Video calling on gtalk is amazing, the 2MP front facing camera delivers the best tablet video calling experience. The iPad 2 does not even come close to the better camera sensors on the galaxy tab. With the usb adapter i can control my canon camera, that's pretty cool. The browser works great except for a few bugs, i hope samsung fixes them in future updates. Overall, its a great device. Before i bought the galaxy tab, i had made up my mind to buy the iPad 2, then i made a side by side comparison of the 2 tablets, and samsung had a better camera, display and widget support. Samsung tab was the clear winner. So i got it, it has pretty much replaced my laptop for day to day use. If you get one, it will not disappoint you.

gadgetgoobe
boston, ma
Expertise:Expert
My 10.1 Review
7/19/2011

Customer review by Jungleboogie

5.0 stars 7/19/2011 by Jungleboogie
by Jungleboogie

Hands down this is the best tablet on the market today. I upgraded to the 10.1 from a galaxy tab 7.0 and the difference is night and day. The performance is excellent providing a very responsive touch interface and next to no lag in the OS and applications. The form factor is perfect and with the light-weight makes it simply functional. The honeycomb os is so much better than froyo, that I was using before. It provides interactive widgets and easier to access features of the OS. I also have an iPad 2 which it's the 10.1's main competitor. In my opinion the 10.1 blows the iPad out of the water. From a hardware perspective I've found it faster, also the camera is better than the iPad's. But the main factor is the OS. Android (Honeycomb) has iOS beat in almost every way. From customization to the different ways you can interact with apps and options, it makes for a much nicer experience. The only downfall would be the number of quality apps that are available.

Jungleboogie
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
Practically a replacement computer
10/25/2011

Customer review by Krthna

5.0 stars 10/25/2011 by Krthna
by Krthna

My Tab is my first tablet/ miniature computer type thing. I bought it to compliment my aging laptop, and it has practically replaced my laptop. I'm a student and the Tab makes keeping in touch very easy. It's very sleek and light. I have small hands and the tablet is easy to hold for long periods of time. I use it primarily to read and I love its shape for that. Reading academic PDFs on the Tab is very easy! The speakers are great (for a little device) and the standard apps it comes with are nice. The customer service guy on the phone was great! I gave it a lower rating on performance because of a couple of factors. The digital keyboard is not very responsive and can make typing a drag. Sometimes the screen is not very responsive either. I did wish there was an SD card slot, but then I installed Dropbox and that solved storage problems. Also, the app market is a little disappointing, but that's not the Tab's fault... nor is the lack of pretty accessories like the other (major) competitor has... but hope springs eternal.

Krthna
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Galaxy Tab 2 10.1
12/16/2012

Customer review by NanLK

5.0 stars 12/16/2012 by NanLK
by NanLK

After researching the internet, I decided to go with my first tablet..a Galaxy Tab 2 10.1. I am so thrilled with this...it is so easy to use and a quick way to look something up on the internet rather than turn on a PC or my notebook. I like that the speakers are on the front as I have it in a case. The battery life has been great. I use the Kindle app for my reading. the reading is easy and having it in a case that holds the tab in place for me...is nice since I'm not holding it up when I'm reading in bed. .hands free except for turning the page. I haven't used my Kindle since I got it. The only disappointment for me was that my camera SD card doesn't fit. My 4 yr old grandson likes to play games on it too. as long as an adult is sitting next to him. I don't trust him on his own with it. I've used the Netflix app to watch a show and my grandson watched a program too. the picture is great. I am very happy I made the choice to go with Samsung!

NanLK
Winona, Mn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing, simply Amazing.
8/21/2011

Customer review by Geekster

4.0 stars 8/21/2011 by Geekster
by Geekster

For going back to school this year, my professors recommended a mobile computing device, either laptop or tablet, to assist in the class. I really wanted an Android tablet but did not want to buy anything that was inferior to the iPad 2. When the Tab 10.1 came out, I was skeptical, however after a few trips to my local store, I was hooked and bought one. Immediately out of the box came an update, which was the TouchWiz. I love every bit of it, the apps that pop up at the bottom have proved more and more dependable than I would have ever thought. The only drawback to the Tab is its performance, which sadly was enough to bring its score down to a 4. Quite often I could be using it and it freezes, in any app, and relaunches back to the home screen. Though the apps do remember their spot, it is very annoying and almost sad to see something so great, achieve just just under its expectations. I love it so far and don't think I will ever regret buying it.

Geekster
Mesa, AZ
Expertise:Intermediate
Amazing Tablet Experience
1/2/2012

Customer review by MPMustang

5.0 stars 1/2/2012 by MPMustang
by MPMustang

After having an Android powered phone and having friends with iPhones, I much preferred the Android operating system as opposed to Apple. This tablet has everything I wanted and even more than I expected. It has a bright screen, a long battery life, plenty of accessories to fit nearly any style, responsive touchscreen, and plenty of speed. This is the best Android tablet in my opinion, and better than the iPad based off of personal experience with both. The only downfall is the headphone jack. It is set so low in the tablet that it frequently doesn't even play through the headphones. Even with expensive Bose headphones in, it did not play through the headphones 95% of the time until I used a piece of paper to wedge the headphones down so they maintained constant connection. Other than this minor issue, minor for me at least as my main use for the tablet is not audio oriented, the Samsung Galaxy Tab is an amazing tablet. You won't be disappointed.

MPMustang
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
I love this thing!
1/5/2012

Customer review by ynotnag

5.0 stars 1/5/2012 by ynotnag
by ynotnag

I'm not going to get technical, since that isn't of interest to me. All I can say is that after messing around with the Galaxy for a little while, things became intuitive and easy to use. The layout made sense. Apps were easy to install/download and use. I was excited when I downloaded my first book. Now I am able to read when I go to bed without having to hold open a book. I love working with the calendar. When I enter things on my Google calender via my gmail account, those tasks/appointments automatically show up on my tablet's calendar. I have also been impressed with it's speed has when working on the internet. I was a bit uncomfortable with the on-screen keyboard (I don't text and wasn't familiar with this type of keyboard), so I bought a Bluetooth keyboard at a local store. It worked like a dream. All in all, I have no negative statements to make after having owned it for two weeks. It's doing what I expected it to do ... and more.

ynotnag
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Great Device, Can't Put It Down.
5/7/2012

Customer review by KySan27

5.0 stars 5/7/2012 by KySan27
by KySan27

After buying my tab for use at college instead of a bulky laptop, I can honestly say I am hooked! I used to make fun of those guys carrying laptops around 24/7, now I don't leave home without my tablet. While mine is not in a purse lol. Everything from shopping lists to games in waiting rooms, it's light weight form factor is a gift and a curse for me as I have large hands. The weight is awesome at just over a pound but it is so slim that my hands cramp sometimes with extended use. The bloatware pre-installed always sucks and I use exactly 1 pre-loaded app which is the Quick Office app for college papers. The battery life is excellent I get 8-10 hours of heavy usage (gaming) and more when just browsing the internet or YouTube. Plus on standby this bad boy will last over a week without needing a charge and still maintain a high battery level! Overall if you want a tablet and have the money for a galaxy tab, BUY IT! You won't be disappointed.

KySan27
Lebanon, Oregon
Expertise:Intermediate
my notebook galaxy 2
12/26/2012

Customer review by Martylv

4.0 stars 12/26/2012 by Martylv
by Martylv

I have had my notebook about a month now. At first I was overwhelmed with all of the possible things I could do with it then I looked at the instruction books that came with the item and felt that I didn't have a chance to learn how to use this correctly and to my advantage. Lucky a couple of my students, college level, had Samsung product phones and they gave me real insite to what was possible. I went to my phone people who wanted $50 a month to give me a hot spot unit that I could use my Wi Fi with. I found it cheaper to get the book or item and buy it one time rather than keep paying for something I wouldn't use every day. The clarity of the screen is wonderful. Color is great and it is responsive. However, when trying to scroll the screen will enlarge rather than roll down a lot, this is annoying to me. the sound is good, but my wife, who is a grumpy person, had me turn off the sound when she is around. The cover I got for it is good, but the clear screen protectors are not of high quality, but they are not made by Samsung.

Martylv
Henderson, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Beginner
Good Product, Could Use Some Improvements
10/20/2012

Customer review by phippskl

4.0 stars 10/20/2012 by phippskl
by phippskl

Don't get me wrong, this IS a good device, so please try not to take this review too negatively. There are some things I have noticed that could use some help. The OS stalls/freezes and is hard to reboot once this has happened. This happens about every-other day. That is a lot for a moderate user and I have a habit of making sure unused apps are not running in the background. I am a heavy user of other devices and might have issues once a week or once every-other week where a reboot is in order. This, as of yet, does not seem to be related to an app issue. Rendering is slow even with the power save mode off. The battery life is good, but it would be nice to have easy access to it in the event a replacement is needed. The screen quality is good, but amoled would have made for a good product. As of yet, some top apps are either not available or not compatible with this device. Having a rear facing camera with a higher pixels would be nice. :)

phippskl
Expertise:Expert
LOVE IT!!!!
9/10/2013

Customer review by writersbloc

4.0 stars 9/10/2013 by writersbloc
by writersbloc

I got my tablet in April and love it! Chose it over the IPad. Fast! Fast! Fast! Easy to connect (Wi-Fi & printer) and really quick downloads. Downloaded a bunch of my MS Office docs. Unfortunately, Polaris not compatable & formatting changes but it gets the job done. The keyboard & case is a little pricey accessory but makes it so you no longer need PC or laptop. Must be in the shade to use outside because of the glare and display is still a little hard to see. But great Screen Res. Still exploring all the apps, don't really use many but so far so good. Had problem with camera eating up battery but appears fine now. Battery power is much greater than I expected - 6-9hrs - probably b/c I close all unnessary apps, etc. when writing. Can't easily plug in USB, someone told me you can use adaptor but haven't tried yet. I would definitely recommend! Can't wait to get S4 phone and sync with my tablet! Don't like the icons when I save.

writersbloc
New Orleans, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
This tablet is amazing!!!!
12/23/2012

Customer review by kd92

5.0 stars 12/23/2012 by kd92
by kd92

After using different tablets, I have to say this one is the best one in the market and I personally own one. I've been using it for over a a month already, and this is like my mini computer. As a college student I have to say that is the best tablet for college as well. The fact that you can open/edit powerpoints and take notes its a plus.Not only that, you can also make word documents and excel, you can open and make them and it will work in a computer. The multiscreen option is one of the best features I've seen I use it very much. The display quality is perfect, and for reading e-books is splendid and videos and pictures look amazing.The sound is good too and very loud when the volume is to the max. The camera take high quality pictures. It doesn't freezes or crashes. It doesn't get slow.You can add memory to it, etc... Honestly, if you are looking forward to buy it in-store, just ask a Samsung representative to tell you what the tablet does, I did it, and the guy told me pretty much everything, showed me, and answered all of my questions!

kd92
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
1-20 of 1718 total reviews
1-20 of 1718 reviews