Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 226 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

226 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

226 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

68%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
109
4 stars
36
3 stars
12
2 stars
15
1 stars
54
1-20 of 201 total reviews
68%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 201 total reviews
1-20 of 201 reviews
Dlink MovieNite
4/19/2012

Customer review by moejoe6

5.0 stars 4/19/2012 by moejoe6
by moejoe6

Bought this at a local store the other day, and product is awesome..it was easy to set up and it was up and running and ready in 30 mins. I like the pandora feature as our tv is hooked up to a nice sound system. I highly recommend this product. Great value as well(the cheapest one out there) Don't let the price fool you. Great buy A+++++

Was this review helpful? (108) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
moejoe6
Dallas, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent online content streamer
5/5/2012

Customer review by Shambhu

5.0 stars 5/5/2012 by Shambhu
by Shambhu

My main reason for buying the D-Link Player was to see Netflix movies and shows on a large screen home TV. The price less than $50 at Walmart seemed right but I was skeptical. Since Walmart has a friendly product return policy, I went ahead and bought this unit. Well, what a pleasant surprise! This small thing works great. It streams VUDU, Netflix, YouTube and Pandora content. It comes with a simple one-click remote, and output jacks for HDMI as well as RCA for older TVs. Resolution is HDMI 1080p with 802.11n Wi-Fi and ethernet. Set up is very easy. I have connected it using ZyXel powerline adaptor for high speed Internet connection. Excellent reception. I am happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (146) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shambhu
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great Device!
4/9/2012

Customer review by electronicmasta

5.0 stars 4/9/2012 by electronicmasta
by electronicmasta

I bought this device from my local wal-mart over the weekened and I am very satisfied with it. The set up was easy and I was able to watch youtube videos on my big screen. I also signed up for Netflix and plan on cancelling part of my direc tv services(cut down on bills)...Great device for the value and very sleek design as well. Strongly recommended!

Was this review helpful? (177) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
electronicmasta
Fayetteville, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
Lot of bang for the buck
4/23/2012

Customer review by iamamazed

5.0 stars 4/23/2012 by iamamazed
by iamamazed

Worked great for me. Was usining an attached PC to do streaming but this is much simpler. From the comments I have read I think that problems with connecting to the internet are due to lack of knowledge or the fact that they did not read the manual. I did encounter a problem with the sound quality but went to the tools menu and did a firmware upgrade (easy), and the unit performs perfect for the money.

Was this review helpful? (84) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
iamamazed
Sussex,WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product & price!!
5/16/2012

Customer review by SoldierKnowsBest

5.0 stars 5/16/2012 by SoldierKnowsBest
by SoldierKnowsBest

I bought this product recently so I could watch Netflix in another room other than on my Xbox 360 and bring it with me when I travel. Not only does it have Netflix but it also has Pandora, Picasa, and YouTube. It comes with everything you need to get started right out the box. The RCA cable that is included is not that long and since the player has up to 1080p hdmi capability I would recommend using a hdmi cable which you can find a variety of in any Walmart store. The player has a wired/wireless connection. I use a Linksys WRT120n router and Road Runner Turbo for my internet service. The router I have is located in my living room and the streaming player is in the guest bedroom upstairs. Netflix takes about 5-20 seconds to buffer depending on what movie I select. Pandora loads fast and sounds great and everything else is pretty decent. Setting up takes about 5 minutes due to it checking for an update and typing in your account information for each service you decide to use. If you have any trouble there is a easy setup guide inside the packaging and support number.

Was this review helpful? (44) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SoldierKnowsBest
Wilmington,NC Store #1392
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Price/Performance Can't Be Beat
5/30/2012

Customer review by Savage1701

5.0 stars 5/30/2012 by Savage1701
by Savage1701

My primary use for this unit is Netflix, with a little YouTube tossed in. I would buy this unit again as a "meat and potatoes" player. Pros: Small. Low power draw. Boots in about 15 seconds. Home Screen to Apps in about 10 seconds. Full 1080p HD on my set (my ISP gives me 100Mb/s down so I have the bandwidth). Goes full HD on Netflix in about 5 seconds after it buffers, also about 5 seconds. I like the dedicated App buttons on the remote. Gets the job done for those of us who want to watch a Netfilx video. Easy setup - got IP address immediately and proceeded to update itself. No hand-holding required. HDMI output was flawless. Cons: Best used as a player. Searches involving thumbnails can lag. FF/RW/Pause can lag. You might want to go up the food chain a notch if you do a lot of text searching or in-show searching. If you are tossing on a video and pausing it every now and then you will not notice this much at all. But at this price, I can't complain. Other: No wireless, which is fine with me. I don't think anything but N-wireless has the bandwidth, and even then, I don't care for quality-of-service issues. If you want an RF or Bluetooth remote, this is not for you. It's just old-fashioned IR, which is also fine with me.

Was this review helpful? (33) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Savage1701
Roscoe, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
works great
5/23/2012

Customer review by GregAC

5.0 stars 5/23/2012 by GregAC
by GregAC

This device has enabled me to stream my netflix to my TV without having ot replace it, or add a computer. Works great, and easy to use and set up...

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GregAC
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
D-Link MovieNite-Awesome
5/21/2012

Customer review by Andresmom00

5.0 stars 5/21/2012 by Andresmom00
by Andresmom00

Great Steaming Player!! Our family has been using the ROKU player for awhile but I decided to buy another one for my room. While the roku player was good, I decided to spend about $30 less and found the Movienite at Wal-Mart. I was very impressed with the simple set up and it works as good as the roku player. Had this steaming player for about 2 weeks and no issues what so ever..great buy!!!

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Andresmom00
Tulsa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good for kids room...
6/7/2012

Customer review by StringerB

5.0 stars 6/7/2012 by StringerB
by StringerB

My daughter doesn't have an X-Box, and we wanted to let her stream Netflix movies in her room. The store was out of Roku so we tried this instead. I've been happy with my D-Link router, so I figured we would give it a try. Set up is pretty easy. I just plugged it into the HDMI and connected to my wi-fi. I noticed on the D-Link website that there was a software update. It installed once I connected to the internet, and now everything works great! . I'm thinking of getting one for our bedroom, too!

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
StringerB
MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
JUST PERFECT!!!
8/25/2012

Customer review by jLeAL

5.0 stars 8/25/2012 by jLeAL
by jLeAL

I specifically got it for NETFLIX. I don't have cable/satellite only wireless internet, so for my budget this made sense to just stick to NETFLIX. This tiny box gives me exactly what I want, yes there are other options at walmart to view NETFLIX but I didn't want to spend a whole bunch more on something that I already knew what I wanted. The box where my D-link came in specifys what options you have and it's not like they were hiding anything from anyone. I came here only because ppl give it a bad rating, REALLY ppl! It was easy installation, only wires needed was only what it came with. I LOVE IT!!!

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jLeAL
MERCEDES, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/24/2012

Customer review by RVAReviewer

5.0 stars 5/24/2012 by RVAReviewer
by RVAReviewer

This product is great. So easy to setup and use, even my Dad could do it...and he's not the most tech savvy person! And you can't beat the price! Home run in my book.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RVAReviewer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Absolutely Awesome!
7/25/2012

Customer review by KReview75

5.0 stars 7/25/2012 by KReview75
by KReview75

I've been waiting for an affordable netflix and vudu multimedia streamer to come out for a while now. My TVs are relatively new but don't have internet apps built-in. I have Xboxes and a PS3 on some of my TVs but I've been looking for something inexpensive for the other TVs. D-Link read my mind and built exactly what I was looking for. My son has been using it for NetFlix all week with 0 issues. If you are using the A/V cable, make sure you PUSH IT IN FULLY to the d-link otherwise, the wrong signal will pass through the wrong cable. This is not an issue with the cable or the MovieNite but is instead, user error. Push the plug in all the way and all will be well.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KReview75
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great player
6/16/2012

Customer review by bigguy32970

5.0 stars 6/16/2012 by bigguy32970
by bigguy32970

i bought this because it says it can be hooked up to an older tv it has the av component cables, but i was a little worried because other people said it had problems getting it to work on their tv with the cables, and at first it didn't work. i couldn't get the picture to come up and it made a buzzing noise. i had to push the plug into the unit all the way and it came right up and it works great. sometimes it freezes and i have to unplug it and plug it back in then it works right, but it works fine.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bigguy32970
jacksonville, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
only 6 options 1 of which is youtube AAAA+++++
5/26/2013

Customer review by Orgonite33

5.0 stars 5/26/2013 by Orgonite33
by Orgonite33

my smart tv does not have youtube so this little box hooked via hdmi plays all the youtube i could dream of which works out perfect, it is kind of slow reaction times though when pressing enter it takes 10 seconds to go but it connects great wired or wireless....very simple and great i would buy again and share i would like more then 6 options only 2 are really useful 1/youtube 2/netflix the rest are useless

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Orgonite33
MOON
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product IF it meets your needs
2/4/2013

Customer review by AlabamaITDad

4.0 stars 2/4/2013 by AlabamaITDad
by AlabamaITDad

Bought this box at my local store while looking at a Roku XS and XD box. This unit went in my sons room ( 6 years old ) and I had it hooked up and running in about 3 minutes and he was watching netflix all by himself ( netflix for kids menu is amazing for the little ones ). If you are wanting something that will stream Netflix, Vudu, YouTube, and Pandora, then this is what you want. Cheaper than a Roku box ( but has far less options / apps ) and does exactly what I wanted it to do in the room I put it in. If you are like me and have a media server on your network that you want to access from a certain TV in the house, then this is NOT the box you want for that room. Go with a better one that can access and stream local content from your Media server / NAS Drive. At the price of 1/2 the price of a Roku XS or XD this is a great option if you only want to do Netflix. The ONLY downside to this box that I have seen is that there are no hardware buttons on the box so be VERY CAREFUL not to lose the remote or the box becomes useless to you.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AlabamaITDad
Brookwood, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
After software update, this unit is GREAT!
8/16/2012

Customer review by TheKid72

5.0 stars 8/16/2012 by TheKid72
by TheKid72

I really enjoy commercial free Pandora for music, and purchased this unit just for that reason. Installation was quick and simple. The unit found my wireless network just fine, and the QWERTY style on-screen entry was a help over the ABCDE style some items use. I had just partial operation initially, but remembered the comments about a software upgrade. Sure enough - I was prompted to do that upgrade, and then all was well. Overall performance is very good - can't complain a bit. I use the analog cable set as I have the unit connected to the stereo system and know the Pandora menus by heart. I am pleased with my purchase, and definitely recommend it to someone who just wants the basic Internet access for entertainment and needs WiFi.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheKid72
Fort Wayne, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 100 contributor
Not good, don't buy
12/31/2012

Customer review by Skip01

1.0 stars 12/31/2012 by Skip01
by Skip01

This is a bad device. I use it for Netflix and had for a few months now. It will keep saying "cannot connect to Netflix" alot, you just never know what time of day it will do it. I will usually end up watching on PC instead. I have two other RCA and XBOX and no problem. I run all at same time to see if problem and yup it is just the D-Link! Other brands out there, RCA better choice.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Skip01
Orange, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
BAD BATCH OF PRODUCTS
7/9/2012

Customer review by TiggieB

1.0 stars 7/9/2012 by TiggieB
by TiggieB

Long story short.. we had to return the first one, as we could not view even the setup wizard on our TV. 2nd one, we got the wild idea that the color codes on the AV wire were wrong - sure enough, red (not yellow) needed to be in the video slot. Took 2-1/2 hours to figure out how to get it to connect to my router/internet. Ended up calling tech support as we got only blank screens when trying to access any of the internet options. After an online firmware upgrade, still blanking out. Was given a case number, apologized profusely to for bad equipment, and told to return it to the store with that number and get me an exchange. (I'm sure they'd like if I got another one of these, but after 2 having problems, I am taking it to get my money back.)

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TiggieB
Would recommend to a friend? No
10/16/2012

Customer review by CitizenArcane

5.0 stars 10/16/2012 by CitizenArcane
by CitizenArcane

Just bought this today and fiddled around with it for about an hour - long enough to write this review. Set up was simple and intuitive; I was up and running in about five minutes without even reading the instructions (including manually typing in the key.) The GUI appears to be handsome and uncomplicated for Netflix - the only reason I bought this - can't comment on the menu selection for browning titles as I intend to only access Instant Que that has already been set up on a separate computer. Audio was fine over HDMI to the home theater set up and video was as crisp as the source. The remote is logically laid out and accessed the box from a good distance away. For the money spent (I bought this on a Price Rollback) this no brainer purchase works within the situation I intended to use this; I even bought a second one for my daughter's household. Highly recommended for the price. Pros: Admirably performs as advertised Easy set up Inexpensive way to stream supported channels Cons: None so far

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CitizenArcane
At the gates of delerium
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great device.
6/20/2012

Customer review by Pin55

5.0 stars 6/20/2012 by Pin55
by Pin55

Installed the device within 20 minutes and was watching NETFLIX. The D-LINK was easier to install than my Blu-Ray I purchased.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pin55
MIllbrook, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 201 total reviews
1-20 of 201 reviews