Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 226 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

226 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

226 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

68%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
109
4 stars
36
3 stars
12
2 stars
15
1 stars
54
1-20 of 201 total reviews
68%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 201 total reviews
1-20 of 201 reviews
great price for first time
9/2/2013

Customer review by nocturnalsixer

4.0 stars 9/2/2013 by nocturnalsixer
by nocturnalsixer

I watch media on my ps3 in TV room and i have a bluray player in bedroom that can get Netflix but no subtitles on that so i never wanted to watch in bedroom. On a whim i went to Walmart and looked for a media box that will play Netflix and have Ethernet port that's my requirement, i didn't want or care for WiFi set up. Roku xd/hd and lt didn't had that i had to choose between this d link and netgear after looking quickly online i decided to buy this dlink and hooked it up to TV via hdmi and ethernet it played Netflix just as good as my ps3 a bit slo response from remote but nothing bad. Now my wife can enjoy movies with me in bedroom and no WiFi in our home we just chose to not have any WiFi for many reasons. This is the best price for a media box at $48 at Walmart!

nocturnalsixer
Atlantic, IA 50022, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Don't bother buying it...
8/26/2014

Customer review by HAZ300

2.0 stars 8/26/2014 by HAZ300
by HAZ300

It was fine the first month or so. After that it started giving problems. The interface is slow. It often forgets account information for Netflix and VUDU so you need to enter it again. DLink does not update the firmware on it to even attempt to fix the software issues. Seems like a product failure they are trying to forget. I like their routers and feature sets so I wrongfully assumed this media device would match the quality of their networking products.

HAZ300
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Easy setup, it just works!
12/26/2013

Customer review by BruceB79

4.0 stars 12/26/2013 by BruceB79
by BruceB79

I am using this on an old TV that does not have HDMI and it works great. I just plugged the rca video and audio cables to my tv and stereo plugged in the AC cord and went to settings. I chose the wireless option and pressed the WPS button on my router and that's it. Started streaming right away. Very easy setup and the screen resolution automatically adjusted too! Maybe there are better ones out there but this was cheap and easy to use and it just works!

BruceB79
Athol, MA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awful
12/14/2014

Customer review by dlinkblah

1.0 stars 12/14/2014 by dlinkblah
by dlinkblah

I cannot enjoy my entertainment on this device. It's extremely slow even though all other devices on my network are blazing fast. My biggest problem with this unit is that it makes a ticking sound during playbacks for any movie on vudu or Netflix or anything I stream. Makes watching tv shows and movies very annoying. There is no firmware updates whatsoever and no support for this box. I will never buy a Dlink product ever again if I can help it.

dlinkblah
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Great!
11/3/2014

Customer review by Andi

5.0 stars 11/3/2014 by Andi
by Andi

I don't understand all the negative reviews. We've had our dlink movie nite for over two years and we've never had a problem with. Never. We set it up, turned it on, & we were ready to go! We have used it wireless the entire time. Again, never a problem. I do wish, however, that dlink would have decided to allow this model to be upgraded (instead of coming out with ONLY the dlink plus) so that we can have more apps.

Andi
Denver, CO, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Just bought it. Been playing with it all day with great success.
9/15/2013

Customer review by FriedmanFr

5.0 stars 9/15/2013 by FriedmanFr
by FriedmanFr

Just bought it and have been playing with it all day with great success. The wi-fi picked up both my routers. The composite is a bit lo-res, but that could be my 22 year old Hatachi TV. The sound has been routed to my stereo instead of the TV and has great sound quality. I will hold off my final opinion until I've had it for a few weeks, but so far I'm impressed.

FriedmanFr
Sunny West Coast of Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Unreliable
5/13/2014

Customer review by SadSadSad

2.0 stars 5/13/2014 by SadSadSad
by SadSadSad

For the last few months it intermittently decides not to show movies on Netflix. After testing to see that Netflix played fine over my wifi on my phone and laptop we are just disappointed and frustrated with the product. It's like a crapshoot anytime we sit down to watch a movie we have to wonder if today will be a day it works or not.

SadSadSad
Would recommend to a friend? No
Does not remain connected!
2/8/2014

Customer review by jacksbg1

2.0 stars 2/8/2014 by jacksbg1
by jacksbg1

Does not remain connected to my wifi, having to constantly log back in! Would blame my wifi, but have no issues with this laptop I am on at the moment, sitting in the same room of my house as the D-link box!!Frustrated!! Guess I will return it and continue to watch my Netflix on my laptop!

jacksbg1
Griffin, GA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
This piece of junk doesn't work!
12/9/2013

Customer review by mikeeytoo

1.0 stars 12/9/2013 by mikeeytoo
by mikeeytoo

It runs about 5 or 10 minutes, then has to be rebooted! It hasn't gotten past 23 minutes without glitching and locking up, and when it locks up, it doesn't just buffer and then start again, it has to be rebooted! I'm taking mine back to the store I bought it from to get my money back!

mikeeytoo
Arkansas, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
I do not recommend this product
3/11/2014

Customer review by leslie123

1.0 stars 3/11/2014 by leslie123
by leslie123

I do not like that you can not add channels to this unit, I want to watch Hulu Plus. I also have to reconnect to the internet EVERY time I try to watch it. Going to see if I can return it and go with a different name brand.

leslie123
Indiana, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
To many glitches, requires constant rebooting, lots of lag time between remote to vewing movie.
12/23/2013

Customer review by jim1

1.0 stars 12/23/2013 by jim1
by jim1

Very unhappy with this product. requires constant rebooting due to lockups and slow software performance. Lots of lag time between remote and viewing the movie. Will not be a repeat customer.

jim1
Effingham, IL, USA
Gender:Male
Junk
11/25/2014

Customer review by unsatified

1.0 stars 11/25/2014 by unsatified
by unsatified

This product does not keep a connection with the router and the router needs to be restarted, even though everything else connected to the router is working fine.

unsatified
colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Great Product
11/16/2013

Customer review by Kimberly

5.0 stars 11/16/2013 by Kimberly
by Kimberly

I like this product a lot. one thing about that disappointing is it need more apps.Like Hulu, Crackle, etc. I hope the company put more apps on this device.

Kimberly
Sicily Island, LA 71368, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Real mad
6/26/2014

Customer review by Gabbyps

1.0 stars 6/26/2014 by Gabbyps
by Gabbyps

It worked good for a couple months but now I can't see netflix, I bought it because I don't have cable, I'm real mad about it

Gabbyps
Would recommend to a friend? No
This Product Works Great!
12/16/2013

Customer review by JR78250

4.0 stars 12/16/2013 by JR78250
by JR78250

Got this item on a Friday and streamed movies on Netflix all weekend long through its wireless capabilities and it worked great!

JR78250
San Antonio, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Very Slow no more services
7/4/2013

Customer review by msrin

1.0 stars 7/4/2013 by msrin
by msrin

this product is very bad then 312, no more services no option for adding. very bad experience. throwaway

msrin
New York, NY, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
do not waste your money!!!
7/11/2014

Customer review by victor42

1.0 stars 7/11/2014 by victor42
by victor42

this product does not work!!! dont buy it!! use your money in somenting else

victor42
Pasadena, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
JUST PERFECT!!!
8/25/2012

Customer review by jLeAL

5.0 stars 8/25/2012 by jLeAL
by jLeAL

I specifically got it for NETFLIX. I don't have cable/satellite only wireless internet, so for my budget this made sense to just stick to NETFLIX. This tiny box gives me exactly what I want, yes there are other options at walmart to view NETFLIX but I didn't want to spend a whole bunch more on something that I already knew what I wanted. The box where my D-link came in specifys what options you have and it's not like they were hiding anything from anyone. I came here only because ppl give it a bad rating, REALLY ppl! It was easy installation, only wires needed was only what it came with. I LOVE IT!!!

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jLeAL
MERCEDES, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
only 6 options 1 of which is youtube AAAA+++++
5/26/2013

Customer review by Orgonite33

5.0 stars 5/26/2013 by Orgonite33
by Orgonite33
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

my smart tv does not have youtube so this little box hooked via hdmi plays all the youtube i could dream of which works out perfect, it is kind of slow reaction times though when pressing enter it takes 10 seconds to go but it connects great wired or wireless....very simple and great i would buy again and share i would like more then 6 options only 2 are really useful 1/youtube 2/netflix the rest are useless

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Orgonite33
MOON
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/16/2012

Customer review by CitizenArcane

5.0 stars 10/16/2012 by CitizenArcane
by CitizenArcane

Just bought this today and fiddled around with it for about an hour - long enough to write this review. Set up was simple and intuitive; I was up and running in about five minutes without even reading the instructions (including manually typing in the key.) The GUI appears to be handsome and uncomplicated for Netflix - the only reason I bought this - can't comment on the menu selection for browning titles as I intend to only access Instant Que that has already been set up on a separate computer. Audio was fine over HDMI to the home theater set up and video was as crisp as the source. The remote is logically laid out and accessed the box from a good distance away. For the money spent (I bought this on a Price Rollback) this no brainer purchase works within the situation I intended to use this; I even bought a second one for my daughter's household. Highly recommended for the price. Pros: Admirably performs as advertised Easy set up Inexpensive way to stream supported channels Cons: None so far

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CitizenArcane
At the gates of delerium
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 201 total reviews
1-20 of 201 reviews