Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 57 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

57 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

5 stars
47
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
98%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 54 total reviews
This is a great Braiser.
7/4/2012

Customer review by WiserAndOlder

5.0 stars by WiserAndOlder

This Brasier blows Le Cruset out of the water. I love love love this piece of cooking equipment. I love that I can start something on the stovetop and finish it in the oven.

Was this review helpful? (30) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
WiserAndOlder
Dickinson, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Love Tramontina!
8/5/2012

Customer review by CAcooker

5.0 stars by CAcooker

I have other pieces from the Tramntina line. Consumer Reports rated this line comparable with Le Crueset, but at a much lower price point. They were right!

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
CAcooker
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Wonderful value
8/18/2012

Customer review by ChefKC

5.0 stars by ChefKC

What a great pan. The quality of this item rivals my Le Crueset dutch oven, but at a much more reasonable price. I will be purchasing more from this brand and from Walmart.com. Shipping was free and I received it earlier than I thought.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ChefKC
Dover, DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Merry Christmas to me!
12/10/2012

Customer review by ren1216

5.0 stars by ren1216

Love this pan! It is quite heavy when full, being good quality cast iron, so consider that before purchasing. However, the material is what makes this an exceptional product. It heats evenly, browns beautifully, and deglazes perfectly (I use a wooden spatula for this as metal would probably leave marks). It's very convenient in that it can go from the stove top to the oven, the stainless steel knob provides a high heat allowance to 450 degrees. The under side of the lid has ridges which redistribute interior moisture (self-basting). Included are instructions for seasoning the rim of the pan and lid, which I did. Do place the pan upside down on the oven rack, the lid can sit right side up. Otherwise you will have the same problem as others, the oil will run down the sides and it's a bugger to remove. I was deliberate and careful when applying, but it still ran. Used a scrubby sponge, warm water with soap... then a little Goo Gone... and eventually a dry towel plus quite a bit of elbow grease to clean it up. My own fault - lesson learned with the enameled cast iron pieces. I've used the pot several times over the past few weeks, it has performed exactly as expected. To clean - I dump a cup full of hot water into the empty pot, replace the lid, and let it sit while we eat dinner. Cleans right up, super easy, and no staining so far. I have other Tramontina products, love them all. Site to Store is great! Open your pan before leaving, check for chips or rust (mine was perfect). One of my best purchases ever, extremely happy.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ren1216
WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Top 250 contributor
Tramontina 4-Quart Cast Iron Covered Braiser
2/12/2013

Customer review by pinkhorizons

5.0 stars by pinkhorizons

This is an outstanding product for the price. At the same time I bought a Le Creuset Braiser for $284.00 and I have to say that in every way this Tramontina performs just as well at a fraction of what I paid for the Le Creuset. I bought the Le Creuset because it's bigger and really the size I need for my family. The Tramontina is a 4 qt. braiser and the Le Creust is a 5 quart and in addition has a cover that domes quite high. Therefore, I can put a roast into it. However, apart from the size, I have not been able to discern any difference in performance. Perhaps, the difference in quality will become apparent over time. It could be that the Le Creuset will withstand the wear and tear of use over the years better or far better than the Tramontina. Time will tell. However, had Tramontina had a larger braiser, I would never have bought the Le Creuset. I have only had this braiser for approximately five weeks, but, I have used it extensively since I received it. I cannot say enough about the performance of the Tramontina enameled cast iron cookware. I also have a 7 quart oval dutch oven by Tramontina which I love. I would highly recommend this product to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
pinkhorizons
West Central Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Would Buy Again
10/13/2013

Customer review by 1Cookster

5.0 stars by 1Cookster

Bought the Braiser in red because it was on sale. I made a skillet apple pie in it. Went from caramelizing the apples on the stove to baking the pie in the oven. It cooked & baked the way it was suppose to. This skillet is 12" at the top & a little smaller on the bottom. Like that has 2 small handles rather then 1 very long handle. This makes the skillet which is heavy very easy to pick up etc. Not sure yet about the knob on the lid. It is somewhat loose & really can't be tightened because it feels like you'll strip the screw. Before baking or cooking in this Braiser spray it with cooking spray this helps even more in cleaning. I'm hoping that Wal-Mart would get back the 3-quart Gourmet Cast Iron Covered Braiser by Tramontina.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
1Cookster
Nogales, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product, great price
11/2/2012

Customer review by Ratthey

5.0 stars by Ratthey

For slow-cooking perfection, cast iron enamel is the absolute best choice, and I'd been looking for a pan this size so I could use it for company cooking. Walmart was the only place that had anything suitable without paying three times more or heavy shipping costs. I've just recently purchased the product but so far it has held up very well and is recommended highly.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Ratthey
Ann Arbor, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Beautiful quality
11/24/2012

Customer review by Mollymalarky

4.0 stars by Mollymalarky

I was very impressed with product and service. I was told it would be about a week to arrive at store. However in two days it was there for pickup. I copied off the receipt, went to store, clerk checked me out and even helped me open the box (extremely well packed) to check for flaws or even if I wanted to keep it. Such service is hard to find. Then she reboxed it for me and sent me on my way. On the negative it is heavier than I thought to take off a burner hot and loaded and carry to finish in oven. But I was aware of pounds when I ordered as well as dimensions. I followed exactly, directions on seasoning rims but was stuck with sticky oil residue running down the colored enamel which I do not know how to remove. Would love advice on this. But on the whole I love the pan and plan to order some more. These are a great buy for the $$$.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Mollymalarky
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Tramontina cast iron is the best value around
1/6/2014

Customer review by Mandolin789

5.0 stars by Mandolin789

I also have the 6.5 quart deeper dutch oven made by Tramontina. I used it so much, that is what prompted me to purchase this one. It's well made, very heavy (which is good in my book), and easy to clean. On the one occasion I burned something in it, I used a plastic scrubber pad to help with clean up and it worked very well without scratching the finish. Like all cast iron, it is excellent for browning and searing. I especially like using it for browning a protein and turning it into a stew or a braise. It is also shallow and attractive enough to take from stove/oven to serving on the table. Hands down, Tramontina is the BEST value in enameled cast iron cookware today. Why spend hundreds more on the same thing from Le Creuset?

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Mandolin789
where I am
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fast service
11/11/2012

Customer review by Peggy13

5.0 stars by Peggy13

Have the 6 qt Dutch oven and love it. Sorry to see the prices going up - probably doe to America's test kitchen reviews.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Peggy13
Chicago, I'll
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great quality braiser with tight fitting lid.
7/20/2013

Customer review by Treblig

5.0 stars by Treblig

Pro. My pan arrived earlier than expected site to store. Exceeds expectations. The lid is not warped & fits the base all the way around with almost no gap. Exceeds expectations. The lid knob. Exceeds expectations. The pans external base is very flat & does not rock on the burner. Exceeds expectations. The enameled exterior is perfect. Fun to look at. Exceeds expectations. Eggs can be cooked sunny side up. I simply sprayed cold pan with olive oil cooking spray. Then warmed the pan on low & cook almost medium. (household gas stove) Exceeds expectations. Durability. Have not owned this individual pan long enough to comment.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Treblig
OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Beautiful
1/10/2013

Customer review by crw1952

5.0 stars by crw1952

I love this braiser. It heats evenly, cooks like a dream and is easy to clean. I love my plain Lodge cast iron cookware, but this is especially nice for tomato-based dishes, which I won't cook in the plain cast iron. Although I wish it came in more colors, the red is beautiful. I have been leaving it on top my ceramic stovetop because it's too pretty to put away. Hope it holds up well.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
crw1952
Covington, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
YES YES YES!!! wonderful value Beauty and Brains
3/16/2014

Customer review by beachwave

5.0 stars by beachwave

Maybe its just a cooking vessel to some but this is a purchase i expect to be with me my life time and pass down. So we will spend some time together and this is not only gorgeous but hits number one reviews in Cooks corner (much respected magazine) and I couldn't agree more. Dont let high price intimidate you on quality-the top of the pot are perfect for keeping the juice of the food dripping in all the right places-the side bars are perfect for ease of moving and turning. Food cooks beautifully in the Braiser and serves with style. Wonderful shape for artisan bread as well. Easy clean - amazing top that holds in flavor and seals to perfection. Add a extra for a Xmas present or shower gift-a pot anyone should be very proud to own. So all those who feel they need to spend 200.00 for the same quality-go for it. I purchased a whole set of these beauties for about that price and its all we need and very pleased. Good thing for all us we have selections and choices-

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
beachwave
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome Braiser
9/19/2014

Customer review by LoveCooking5

5.0 stars by LoveCooking5

Since it is cast iron, it cooks beautifully on medium temperature. I have had this braiser for just over a week and have used it three times already. Works perfect for stove top to oven dishes. Definitely one of my go to kitchen items and cleans up very easily.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
LoveCooking5
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works Great
12/30/2012

Customer review by foodfreakok

5.0 stars by foodfreakok

A great cast iron braiser. I use it for everything.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
foodfreakok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
fantastic item
1/15/2014

Customer review by MOONBABY62

5.0 stars by MOONBABY62

This is the first Tramontina item that i have purchase. I love it. will get more in the future. Thanks again WALMART.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MOONBABY62
Baltimore,MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/30/2012

Customer review by slam64

5.0 stars by slam64

I love my braiser! It came in perfect shape no dings in the enamal at all. I have used it several times, in the oven and on the stove top and can't complain at all though my husband thinks the lid is too heavy! LOL I can't say enough good about this product, if you cook daily meals and want something you can use in the oven or on top of the stove that's roomie enough to cook your food this is for you! And let's face it, 60 dollars for a good sized dish like this is nothing really. It's very sturdy and will last for a long time even if your like me and cook multiple meals a day! If your serious about cooking, buy this! You won't regret it, I would have liked one thing though, my favorite color is green and that wasn't a color option.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
slam64
Wolfe City,TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor
Great value
11/30/2013

Customer review by Cook0316

5.0 stars by Cook0316

This is a great braizing pan. I love the lower style, perfect for so many foods. Can go from burner to oven, heavy weight, wipes clean.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Cook0316
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great pot
9/30/2014

Customer review by Wamonjelo

5.0 stars by Wamonjelo

great quality, perfect dimensions, nice and heavy construction, beautiful color.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Wamonjelo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
COVERED BRAISER
12/25/2013

Customer review by ascended

5.0 stars by ascended

GOOD POT TO COOK IN AND NICE SIZE

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ascended
lockport,la
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 54 total reviews