Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 496 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

496 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

496 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

77%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
232
4 stars
118
3 stars
32
2 stars
31
1 stars
83
1-20 of 450 total reviews
77%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 450 total reviews
1-20 of 450 reviews
Pleasantly surprised
11/12/2013

Customer review by 4Punkie

5.0 stars 11/12/2013 by 4Punkie
by 4Punkie

I actually tinkered with the idea of purchasing this product - The Internet on the go - and after three months of debating I went ahead and bought it. No regrets here. It was EXTREMELY easy to set up and activate online -less than 5 minutes. I charged it and used it today with my iPad. At first it was really slow - I couldn't even load the page. THEN I turned the wifi off on my iPad and turned it back on. From there it worked flawlessly. I checked the public internet I was on and tested the speed against the Internet on the go. Needless to say, Internet on the go was quick and works flawlessly. I didn't want to eat up the data so after surfing a few pages and sending a few emails, I turned it off. Tonight when I came home, I decided to connect my macbook air and see how quick the pages loaded. It loaded quickly - no problems whatsoever. I checked a few internet pages, checked my data balance and downloaded some email messages (I didn't download attachments though). I think it's extremely efficient and doesn't feel like 3G at all - felt quicker than that when the pages are loading. I would imagine if you're in an area that shows a gap kind of coverage (based on the coverage map), I would think it would be slower (no different than when you're in a concrete building with no windows and your iPhone has only one or two bars - same concept. But if you're looking for a great value - no expiration of data (which is extremely important to me as I don'y like the monthly contracts for this type of service) then this little gadget is for you. It's the size of a credit card and as thin as a pencil. I'm a tech-e kind of girl and although I had minimal expectations for this little INTERNET ON THE GO, I am extremely happy and pleasantly surprised. I think you will be too.

Was this review helpful? (241) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
4Punkie
Miami
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent value
8/7/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/7/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I purchased this using Site-To-Store (not sure why it isn't carried locally), and it arrived after only a few days. I had some trouble getting the unit to register (probably because of something I did wrong), but customer service was extremely friendly and helpful, and had me connected after about a 10 minute phone call. I've used the service with both a laptop and smartphone. I find the speeds to be adequate for most internet tasks, but obviously I would not recommend trying to view videos or download files with this service. The account management website is also very useful, as it measures usage in tenths of a megabyte (instead of rounding up) and instantly updates your remaining balance. The auto refill option is also great, giving you the best price per megabyte ($20 for 450 megabytes) and giving you peace of mind you won't be left without a connection when your balance gets low. I highly recommend this service to anyone who needs mobile internet on a sporadic basis.

Was this review helpful? (175) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Waukesha, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Why didn't I do this earlier???
10/7/2013

Customer review by OneBeliever

5.0 stars 10/7/2013 by OneBeliever
by OneBeliever

I've been looking at the Wal Mart Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot for a few months. Last month my cable provider bill jumped up AGAIN, now to $175/month. They have to be kidding themselves!! I'm 69 and not the most computer savvy guy, but that was way over the limit!! I bought the WIFI gadget, still not knowing how long 3GB of data would last. I check my 3 email accounts and do shopping on Ebay and Amazon, so I'm on the internet for a few hours minimum each day. This is the middle of month #2, and it says I still have 1.6GB left!!!!!! I can get about THREE MONTHS out of 3GB ($35) (for what I WAS paying $69.99 PER MONTH????). I now have my 3 laptops, Kindle Fire, and my Ipad2 automatically connect to the hotspot, so it's really a breeze to get internet with any of them now. I really love the small size and I can literally carry my very own internet hotspot with me everywhere I go. Sprint has very good coverage everywhere I have taken the hotspot to in central Texas. It is truly an amazing alternative!!!

Was this review helpful? (179) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OneBeliever
Ft Hood, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/5/2013

Customer review by Us123

4.0 stars 6/5/2013 by Us123
by Us123

My husband said this device would not work when he received it as a gift. I set up the service for him several months later. Now, he LIKES this device! Once set up, it is easy to use. It works well at home and at a hotel. We used it to help us navigate a new city as my husband obtained directions from our tablet connected to this device and I drove. We like that the remaining MgBs can be long term. This device may not be outstanding for downloading large files, gaming, or surfing for long periods of time but it is just right for our current needs. We did find some short-comings with this device & service: this device does not indicate how much battery life is available, this device does not indicate when the battery is fully charged, the service does not allow you to change the SSID name, the service does not indicate easily your remaining MgBs, the service does not work with the VPN services we have tried, and the service provides limited customer support. All in all, we do like this device so far!

Was this review helpful? (83) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Us123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Helps in a pinch but extremely slow...
10/22/2013

Customer review by CaliGirl75

2.0 stars 10/22/2013 by CaliGirl75
by CaliGirl75

I bought this as a possible replacement for my cable provided internet at home. I set it up quick and easy and was able to purchase data easily. Once I got it up and running I tried it on my ipad mini and it had trouble loading videos and would load and stop intermittently. The speed felt like old school dial up. If you plan to stream videos like you do at home you'll be sorely disappointed. The speed results of this device in Los Angeles are 0.13 Download and 0.26 Upload. My Home internet speeds are 15.11 download and 1.99 upload so it can't compete with what I have at home. Still debating if I should return it or not. On the plus side it's tiny, easy to use, the data doesn't expire as long as you use it once per year and refilling it seems to be a breeze. I could see using this for navigation in the car, or using it when wifi is not available as my ipad is wifi-only and of course I can share my internet connection with a friend but at these speed results just using it with one device at a time, I'm not sure I would.

Was this review helpful? (87) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CaliGirl75
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good product and easy to set up.
11/19/2012

Customer review by Funtimeplayer

4.0 stars 11/19/2012 by Funtimeplayer
by Funtimeplayer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Read a lot of reviews before making purchase. Decided to purchase this item due to the price, $25 credit towards usage after purchase and the inexpensive plans with no contracts. Was super easy to set up and get connected. Purchased the $10 plan for the first month to determine what my usage level will be. Still in my first month so still in the testing stage. The range is decent. Says it will connect up to 33 ft away. I have not been more than 20 ft away which produced a medium-low signal. I don't see why I would have the device more than a few inches away from my laptop and tablet so range is not an issue. The connection speed is definitely NOT comparable to wireless high speed internet so you will be disappointed if that is what you are looking for. I'm happy with the product and the pay as you go (with no contract) plans. I've been wanting to get connected "on the go" for years but I was not willing to pay the ridiculous monthly rates. These plans are reasonably priced which makes it more affordable for everyone.

Was this review helpful? (69) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Funtimeplayer
Poway, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wrks great. Best value. No Contracts.
1/14/2013

Customer review by timgtech

5.0 stars 1/14/2013 by timgtech
by timgtech

For mobile 3g internet this is the best deal going. It's very inexpensive. Your megabytes never expire and you just add more as needed. There are no hidden fees or charges and no cancellation fee. If you don't want to use it any more just stop using it. If you change your mind, start using it again. No reactivation charge as long as you've used it at least once in a years time. You have to understand this is 3G internet speed. You get 500Mbp/s up to 1Gbp/s at best in most cases. Good for surfing the net and email. It's not ideal for online gaming and watching movies. But even 4G devices are'nt that great for those either. It's not as fast as Cable, DSL, or FiOS. But when you are on the go and need internet wherever you are this thing delivers. No Contracts! No other Fees! Just buy a refill when you need it. $10 for 500MB will get you quite a ways. Even 1.5Gb for $25 is a lot cheaper than others where you are in a 2 year contract at $60 / month.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
timgtech
Sarasota, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Drastic price increases in last year or so!
11/24/2013

Customer review by SFeNM

1.0 stars 11/24/2013 by SFeNM
by SFeNM

When I purchases this, it was $45 for 4gig of data. They have since raised the price dramatically by now charging $45 for only 3gig of data. A cut of 25% of data is pretty big! Also, you used to get charged for what you used. They changed their accounting, and now every time that thing dings their servers, they charge you a full 1MB. So when you're email checks for email, and you don't have any (which uses very little data), you're getting dinged big time (1MB) over the actual usage. I use to go a day using 3-5 MBs (checking/getting email and iMessages and maybe looking at a webpage), and now that same typical day is costing me upwards of 20+ MB's. That's 4-7 times the amount of data I was being charged for before they made their accounting change, which I guess their contract says they can do at will. So between the refill cards giving you much less data for your money, and their "new accounting procedures", this is NOT the deal it once was. I'll be looking for other solutions with quicker speed and more coverage now that this is not the economic solution it once was.

Was this review helpful? (301) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SFeNM
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
TERRIBLE !
7/26/2016

Customer review by fiddlestix

1.0 stars 7/26/2016 by fiddlestix
by fiddlestix

I've had mine for about three years and at first it was great . I used it on trips when I didn't want to use the available wifi . It didn't expire no matter how long between times . Now you MUST use every three months or you will lose whatever you have paid for . You can no longer go to their website and check to see how much data you have left . You must call their customer service and ask them . It is now so slow it isn't worth keeping ! When my data is used up , I am through with Internet On the Go . I will find another way to access the internet when we travel . I am a " Snowbird" and need a secure connection when we travel . Definitely would NOT recommend this to anyone !

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fiddlestix
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good option
1/17/2013

Customer review by bgsjarena

3.0 stars 1/17/2013 by bgsjarena
by bgsjarena
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I read all of the previous reviews before I made the purchase of the Hotspot. The price is reasonable as many other reviews discussed; especially compared to Verizon (my other option). Set up was fairly simple. The instruction guide can be confusing when it describes the many different blinking light-modes & what they mean. The few times I have used Hotspot in other locations, (away from home), I have had difficulty downloading apps on our Kindles. The apps are ordered through Amazon but it can take up to 72 hours before the apps appear on our Kindles. Amazon has not been able to explain this problem. I am disappointed that we cannot access the Internet with the Hotspot (so far) while traveling in our cars. I wish the manufacturer would provide some type of indication for battery-life on the unit. We are never sure how much power we have left on the Hotspot. The unit is tiny, lightweight; the charger is almost larger than the unit itself. We like that we can connect up to 5 products to the Hotspot.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bgsjarena
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good, cheap internet access.
1/3/2014

Customer review by Dave67720

4.0 stars 1/3/2014 by Dave67720
by Dave67720
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This works exactly like it's supposed to and overall, I am very happy with the product. I needed a cheap option for some very light internet access. It's nice to be able to buy 3 gigs worth of data and know that I can spend a year or two working through it without having the data expire. There are a couple of things that kept it from getting a 5 star rating. When I turn the device off with the power button, it comes back on after the first try. I have to press the power button again to get it to turn off for good. The device is usable right out of the package. However, if you go to the administration menu, there is a lot of reconfiguration you can do, like changing the administrator password, the SSID, and the encryption key. But none of it is described in the included documentation. Some of it is at the manufacturer's website, but some of it you just have to research on the web to figure out what it does.

Was this review helpful? (59) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dave67720
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/2/2012

Customer review by PeaMan

5.0 stars 12/2/2012 by PeaMan
by PeaMan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love this thing! I have internet at home so I wanted to get a true pay as you go plan for wireless internet. Once in a while I want to sit in the lunch room at work or when I'm away from home and quickly surf the net. I didn't want to pay a flat fee each month for internet when I might use it once or twice a month or maybe not at all for a month or two. With this plan what I don't use just stays available for me to use later. With the $25 card you can have 3gb of internet use that expires in 30 days. Or the never ending plan that I use 1.5gb (1.5gb is about 1532mb) When I tested my usage I worked on line reading and sending e-mails and managing my fantasy sports teams. In an hour I used less than 20mb (I know the usage is more if you listen to music or watch videos but I can do that from home) I highly recommend this. If you don't know what a hotspot is... this is about the size of a cell phone, it connects to the internet using a dedicated wireless line and then broadcasts the signal for your wireless devise.

Was this review helpful? (23) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PeaMan
Portland, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Delay in activation, but works good.....
12/8/2012

Customer review by 29peanut

4.0 stars 12/8/2012 by 29peanut
by 29peanut

Without a land line or cable, this sounded like a good option to try. Charged battery, registered and added refill but no connection to internet. Customer Service said they were doing maintenance and to try again later. No luck later that same day. 1-2 days later, I called again. Was advised that 'new' registrations were delayed but should be fixed soon. Day later, I contacted agent again at TruConnect and was advised that problem was still being worked on but no clear fix date. By the 6th day, it was up and running like a champ. Great for checking e-mails and doing research. "I" had to contact TruConnect's Customer Service several times during the 6 days. TruConnect didn't call me back once during the time the device could not connect to internet, but did contact me the day it was working. Activation took a lot longer than expected and I feel TruConnect should have reached out to me, after my 1st call, with updates/activation date. Other than that, I'm glad this device is working and does real well for my needs.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
29peanut
Waterford, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Why can't I get into my account??
7/16/2016

Customer review by JESUSISTHELIGHT7

1.0 stars 7/16/2016 by JESUSISTHELIGHT7
by JESUSISTHELIGHT7

I've had this internet on the go since the year before last and I just decided I wanted to login to my account since I haven't in a long time and when I get to the internet on the go webpage it only talks about registering and loading data. This is crazy that I spent money on this hotspot and I can't even use it or access the website to go into my account.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JESUSISTHELIGHT7
Would recommend to a friend? No
Slow even for sprint
2/24/2013

Customer review by superfastkyle

2.0 stars 2/24/2013 by superfastkyle
by superfastkyle
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This runs on sprint network. Also it is either has a lower priority or a worse roaming list then a sprint phone. So its slower than even a sprint phone. 50kb/s - 150kb/s is average. That being said I dropped my cell phone plan. I hardly use my phone for calls. Using Google voice (for texts) and text+ (for calls). Phone calls sometimes are temperamental using this wifi, so be aware. But I wanted it mostly for emergency type use, and for streaming internet radio. If you use pandora I suggest letting the first song stream while paused for a few minutes to prevent buffering on it. This mifi is so slow it will be hard to use even the 1 gig card up. Its worthless for any substantial web browsing as well. RSS feeds, facebook, reddit, is what you might be able to use it for. That said $10 for 1 or 2 months is so affordable I don't know that I can afford to take it back. One month without a phone plan and it has paid for itself. T mobile's mifi might be a better deal depending on how good t mobiles service is in your area.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
superfastkyle
Tulsa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Plan choices have dwindled and prices increased
7/21/2013

Customer review by LordJair

3.0 stars 7/21/2013 by LordJair
by LordJair

This was a fantastic product when it was first introduced by Walmart and TruConnect toward the end of last year. The plans could not be beaten and were the best on the market, as far as my research could tell. However, it looks like the overall tactic was to get a large number of people to purchase these modems for mobile Internet at such great prices that the cost of the modem would be made up in no time by the savings on the data plans, as compared to other services--and then increase those data plan prices dramatically over the following year. There are currently NO 30-day plans available. The only plans available are $10 for 500MB, $25 for 1.5GB, and $45 for 3GB. The data allotment does not expire; however, the prices per byte are now comparable to services like Virgin Mobile Broadband. The issue with mobile broadband is that it is even harder to switch services because the modems are so expensive. You're vested a great deal in a prepaid mobile broadband service. I'm not sure how much farther they're going to go with the price increase and limiting choices. So, buyer beware.

Was this review helpful? (54) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LordJair
KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Far exceeds my low expectations
9/13/2013

Customer review by Gads2013

5.0 stars 9/13/2013 by Gads2013
by Gads2013

I travel around our large metro area for work. I bought this for email, occasional web surfing, and a few work related tasks that require internet access. With the relatively low cost of data, I wasn't expecting much, but thought it was worth a try. At first, I could not connect to the internet on my ipad, iphone or laptop. At that point, I was about to return the mifi and the data card, and call it a day. I'm glad I didn't. I called customer service the next morning, and they had me connected in minutes. I'm not sure why I had to do this, but they answered right away at a normally busy time of day for customer service departments, and the woman was very courteous and helpful. Meanwhile, I've tested it all over our metro area (Minneapolis/St.Paul). Even in my basement, where the Verizon signal is very dicey. It loads web pages at least as fast as my iphone 4 (Verizon 3G). Probably a little faster, actually. If it was as slow as some people have claimed in a few reviews, I would have already returned it. That may just be due to poor coverage of Sprint 3G in certain areas of the country. In large metropolitan areas, it should be fine.

Was this review helpful? (39) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gads2013
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
So Far It is a winner
12/18/2012

Customer review by cncdude

4.0 stars 12/18/2012 by cncdude
by cncdude

I am using this in Milan, Michigan in a steel building. Just bought it today but I was pleasantly surprised at how well it works. I really just wanted it for email and browsing while in my shop. I moved it around the building to get the best reception... 3 bars which is better than my Verizon cell phone. The registration process was quirky and documentation is scarce but other than that no problems so far. I am running on a Windows 7 laptop. Download speed as high as 1.5MB upload around 0.6MB using speedtest. These seem to vary during the day and those were the best results. Holding down the power button shuts the unit off. If the laptop is connected I have to do this twice. Battery life seems good so far. Websites load fine. No drops even when running CNC machines which are electrically noisy. No problems on ebay or using google chrome. Much faster than some of the free wifi sites like Mcdonalds. I wouldn't try streaming videos but for browsing and emails great so far. Looking forward to trying it with a tablet now.

Was this review helpful? (14) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cncdude
Milan ,Mich
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/23/2013

Customer review by Mckeean

4.0 stars 7/23/2013 by Mckeean
by Mckeean
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very pleased with this. We live in Ontario and bought it for a trip to Florida. Worked well in Florida and I was able to use it all the way from Florida through Georgia, SC, NC, Virginia, WV, PA and NY with very few dropped connections. Browsing speed was good - equivalent to the 3G speed I am used to. I bought a $10 card to go with it and it lasted for the 21 hour trip (yes I was browsing constantly) as well as an additional 3 days (casual use) which we were extremely impressed with. This is a great product for anyone who doesn't want to get gouged by Canadian roaming fees while traveling in the US. We came home to no additional fees on our reg cell phones. Also by using the mifi with FB Messenger and iPhone to iPhone free texting we were able to send and receive messages instantly for the whole trip. The only downside is the battery life and lack of car charger. Battery life was very limited - about 4 hrs when in use.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mckeean
Ontario, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Meh so far - nationwide outage for over a week!
3/12/2014

Customer review by HilltopLady

2.0 stars 3/12/2014 by HilltopLady
by HilltopLady

So far, not impressed. Bought it to use on a vacation, just found out after well over an hour trying to get it to work here (worked at home just after I bought it), that there has been a nationwide outage for OVER A WEEK and there is no indication of this problem on the website. I had to sit on hold with customer service for probably at least 15 minutes before I got to talk to someone who said the looping back around over and over to the Internet on the Go website was a Sprint network error that's been going on for over a week and they didn't know how long it would take to fix! Should have some notice on their website about this problem!!!! Everytime I tried something different to get online (before I finally called them), it burned data.. meaning it was at least able to connect to the system, just not let me be able to go beyond their website to other internet sites. I asked to have all those MB's refunded. Nope. Lousy customer service I'd say.

Was this review helpful? (20) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HilltopLady
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 450 total reviews
1-20 of 450 reviews