Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 484 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

484 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

484 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
232
4 stars
118
3 stars
31
2 stars
30
1 stars
73
1-20 of 438 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 438 total reviews
1-20 of 438 reviews
11/2/2012

Customer review by HappyCarnivore

5.0 stars 11/2/2012 by HappyCarnivore
by HappyCarnivore

I purchased this mobile hotspot because I have an iPad with wifi only, and I wanted to be able to use it in the field. I had been reviewing different hotspot options (for months), and happened upon this mobile hotspot at Walmart. I hadn't wanted to add my iPad to my Verizon plan because I wasn't sure how often I would use it in the field. This mobile hotspot is perfect for me. Set up was simple, it connects quickly every time, and I have the option of connecting on my laptop if I need to. I started out with the $10/500 MB card, and I've been very pleasantly surprised at how little memory I use considering I am now connecting with the hotspot on pretty much a daily basis...sometimes several times a day. In the three weeks I've had it, I have used only 22 MB. I am a Realtor, and now rather than having to print out support documents for myself for each showing, I have all the information on my iPad. I can have clients sign documents in the field on the iPad, and immediately e-mail them copies. This hotspot has proved itself to be dependable, and definitely cost-effective. My only gripe is that they dropped the price about $20 after I bought it. Bad timing on my part, I guess. But since my usage is going to cost me about $1 a month, I won't complain too much. This obviously wouldn't be a good option if you want to stream movies often, etc., but for me it's great.

Was this review helpful? (642) (39)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HappyCarnivore
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Drastic price increases in last year or so!
11/24/2013

Customer review by SFeNM

1.0 stars 11/24/2013 by SFeNM
by SFeNM

When I purchases this, it was $45 for 4gig of data. They have since raised the price dramatically by now charging $45 for only 3gig of data. A cut of 25% of data is pretty big! Also, you used to get charged for what you used. They changed their accounting, and now every time that thing dings their servers, they charge you a full 1MB. So when you're email checks for email, and you don't have any (which uses very little data), you're getting dinged big time (1MB) over the actual usage. I use to go a day using 3-5 MBs (checking/getting email and iMessages and maybe looking at a webpage), and now that same typical day is costing me upwards of 20+ MB's. That's 4-7 times the amount of data I was being charged for before they made their accounting change, which I guess their contract says they can do at will. So between the refill cards giving you much less data for your money, and their "new accounting procedures", this is NOT the deal it once was. I'll be looking for other solutions with quicker speed and more coverage now that this is not the economic solution it once was.

Was this review helpful? (278) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SFeNM
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
8/20/2012

Customer review by cjkone

5.0 stars 8/20/2012 by cjkone
by cjkone

Fantastic, now I can use my smartphone anywhere I go without a minutes plan. I have cut the cord on monthly bills and use my smartphone on wi-fi exclusively (airplane mode) as if it were a mini-tablet. My phone calls go through an app I pay for separately named Skype. The MIFI works great when I'm away from my home wi-fi and the MB's don't expire. So far I'm only using about 70 MB's per month. I tell everyone I meet but they don't understand having a smartphone without a large monthly bill. They love telling me how they never use all of their minutes and data. I don't understand buyiing minutes.

Was this review helpful? (336) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cjkone
oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pleasantly surprised
11/12/2013

Customer review by 4Punkie

5.0 stars 11/12/2013 by 4Punkie
by 4Punkie

I actually tinkered with the idea of purchasing this product - The Internet on the go - and after three months of debating I went ahead and bought it. No regrets here. It was EXTREMELY easy to set up and activate online -less than 5 minutes. I charged it and used it today with my iPad. At first it was really slow - I couldn't even load the page. THEN I turned the wifi off on my iPad and turned it back on. From there it worked flawlessly. I checked the public internet I was on and tested the speed against the Internet on the go. Needless to say, Internet on the go was quick and works flawlessly. I didn't want to eat up the data so after surfing a few pages and sending a few emails, I turned it off. Tonight when I came home, I decided to connect my macbook air and see how quick the pages loaded. It loaded quickly - no problems whatsoever. I checked a few internet pages, checked my data balance and downloaded some email messages (I didn't download attachments though). I think it's extremely efficient and doesn't feel like 3G at all - felt quicker than that when the pages are loading. I would imagine if you're in an area that shows a gap kind of coverage (based on the coverage map), I would think it would be slower (no different than when you're in a concrete building with no windows and your iPhone has only one or two bars - same concept. But if you're looking for a great value - no expiration of data (which is extremely important to me as I don'y like the monthly contracts for this type of service) then this little gadget is for you. It's the size of a credit card and as thin as a pencil. I'm a tech-e kind of girl and although I had minimal expectations for this little INTERNET ON THE GO, I am extremely happy and pleasantly surprised. I think you will be too.

Was this review helpful? (203) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
4Punkie
Miami
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
7/31/2012

Customer review by bchapjr

5.0 stars 7/31/2012 by bchapjr
by bchapjr

Great device. This saves a lot compared to the AT&T monthly plan that I never used the full data amount. The fact that the minutes don't expire lets you only pay for what you use.

Was this review helpful? (241) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bchapjr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love it, Internet at your fingertips!
7/25/2012

Customer review by BurtBy

5.0 stars 7/25/2012 by BurtBy
by BurtBy

Fits in your pocket and you have Internet access wherever you are! Great because ther are no monthly fees, just pay as you use. You are literally carrying around your own hot spot that no one else can use unless they have your password. You can connect up to 5 devices with it. Great for airports and places where Internet is not available.

Was this review helpful? (374) (50)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BurtBy
Northeastern US
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent value
8/7/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/7/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I purchased this using Site-To-Store (not sure why it isn't carried locally), and it arrived after only a few days. I had some trouble getting the unit to register (probably because of something I did wrong), but customer service was extremely friendly and helpful, and had me connected after about a 10 minute phone call. I've used the service with both a laptop and smartphone. I find the speeds to be adequate for most internet tasks, but obviously I would not recommend trying to view videos or download files with this service. The account management website is also very useful, as it measures usage in tenths of a megabyte (instead of rounding up) and instantly updates your remaining balance. The auto refill option is also great, giving you the best price per megabyte ($20 for 450 megabytes) and giving you peace of mind you won't be left without a connection when your balance gets low. I highly recommend this service to anyone who needs mobile internet on a sporadic basis.

Was this review helpful? (160) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Waukesha, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Why didn't I do this earlier???
10/7/2013

Customer review by OneBeliever

5.0 stars 10/7/2013 by OneBeliever
by OneBeliever

I've been looking at the Wal Mart Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot for a few months. Last month my cable provider bill jumped up AGAIN, now to $175/month. They have to be kidding themselves!! I'm 69 and not the most computer savvy guy, but that was way over the limit!! I bought the WIFI gadget, still not knowing how long 3GB of data would last. I check my 3 email accounts and do shopping on Ebay and Amazon, so I'm on the internet for a few hours minimum each day. This is the middle of month #2, and it says I still have 1.6GB left!!!!!! I can get about THREE MONTHS out of 3GB ($35) (for what I WAS paying $69.99 PER MONTH????). I now have my 3 laptops, Kindle Fire, and my Ipad2 automatically connect to the hotspot, so it's really a breeze to get internet with any of them now. I really love the small size and I can literally carry my very own internet hotspot with me everywhere I go. Sprint has very good coverage everywhere I have taken the hotspot to in central Texas. It is truly an amazing alternative!!!

Was this review helpful? (161) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OneBeliever
Ft Hood, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Cheap and works, but slow, VERY slow...
10/2/2012

Customer review by AppNorm

4.0 stars 10/2/2012 by AppNorm
by AppNorm

It connects to the Internet quickly and flawlessly. I am happy, because it serves my purposes. I use this device only for emails and basic web browsing only occasionally when I'm out on the road and don't have any free wifi. However, it's so slow (below 0.5 Mbps)!! I wish it was a bit faster, like 2 to 3 Mbps... For those who are looking for speed and frequent use, this may not be the best choice.

Was this review helpful? (133) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AppNorm
Eugene, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE
1/3/2013

Customer review by BIGJOHNNYISHERE

1.0 stars 1/3/2013 by BIGJOHNNYISHERE
by BIGJOHNNYISHERE

Purchased internet to go on 12.19.12. Worked great,set up easy. While traveling on 1.2.13 my mb had shown to run out,though I had 3000 mb left,it would not work.Kept returning to log on page to refill minutes. Mistakenly purchased 8 and 4 mb for total $90.00. After 1 hour of resetting my android and the mobile broadband no luck. Called internet to go,waited 45 minutes after going through voice prompts. hung up after not getting a representative. THEIR WEBSITE HAS NO EMAIL AVAILABLE OR CHAT ??? Called again,waited 45 minutes "Cindy" answered, after a few minutes of checking, "Cindy" told me internet to go had been suspended my account by ACCIDENT. It may take up to 48 hours to restore service??? It has been ~ 12 hours and I am without service still. Also asked Cindy about a refund for the 2 inadvertent purchases I made,initially said no. After reviewing with "Cindy that I would contact FTC/FCC should relayed to me that they would give me a one time courtesy refund,suspicious...... After asking "Cindy for a reference to reflect back upon our conversation, ie: last name,reference idi # or employee #,her response was a generic,we have notes. I also asked to receive an email confirmation,upon which she told me I would,ony becauseI asked. Guess what,I have not received an email. Called internet to go,AGAIN,no one available after 9pm eastern time??? POSITIVES: internet to go worked great when working NEGATIVES: horrendus customer service long wait times no email or chat available RECCOMENDATIONS: get email/chat capabilities ASAP Will not reccomend. Will add to this post when update on service being restarted and refund are completed.

Was this review helpful? (139) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BIGJOHNNYISHERE
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Do not purchase this products!!!
2/12/2013

Customer review by khughes7419

1.0 stars 2/12/2013 by khughes7419
by khughes7419

I purchased the internet on the go hotspot and love it until the company sent me a email stating that I was using to much data therefore they suspended me for seven days for using data that I purchased. I am telling this because I think it is unfair to punish someone for using the data that they have purchased.

Was this review helpful? (105) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
khughes7419
Pontotoc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great hotspot for internet and email
7/28/2012

Customer review by awesomefun

5.0 stars 7/28/2012 by awesomefun
by awesomefun

The hotspot was delivered six days after I ordered it. I went online registered the product which took about 5 minutes. I then went online to purchase the data package. This took about 15 minutes because the website kicked me off a couple of times before it finally went through. I went online using the hotspot. I pulled up several websites with a lot of data. It loaded quickly. I need mobile internet maybe once a month. This device and the data plan are perfect for me! Love it....

Was this review helpful? (126) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
awesomefun
Hoover, Al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Ideal for limited internet access while traveling
10/14/2012

Customer review by ChiMingle

5.0 stars 10/14/2012 by ChiMingle
by ChiMingle

Delivery was prompt and registration and setup was simple. I had no problems getting online with my Kindle Fire or laptop. Speed was as to be expected with 3G, but is more than adequate for email and general web surfing. I had been told that you could not use the MiFi while you were charging it, but I discovered that this was not true if I turned the MiFi on BEFORE plugging in the charger. Highly recommended for usage while on the road. The Sprint 3G network is quite extensive and you should have no problems connecting in most cities and on most major highways.

Was this review helpful? (61) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChiMingle
Houston TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good product and easy to set up.
11/19/2012

Customer review by Funtimeplayer

4.0 stars 11/19/2012 by Funtimeplayer
by Funtimeplayer

Read a lot of reviews before making purchase. Decided to purchase this item due to the price, $25 credit towards usage after purchase and the inexpensive plans with no contracts. Was super easy to set up and get connected. Purchased the $10 plan for the first month to determine what my usage level will be. Still in my first month so still in the testing stage. The range is decent. Says it will connect up to 33 ft away. I have not been more than 20 ft away which produced a medium-low signal. I don't see why I would have the device more than a few inches away from my laptop and tablet so range is not an issue. The connection speed is definitely NOT comparable to wireless high speed internet so you will be disappointed if that is what you are looking for. I'm happy with the product and the pay as you go (with no contract) plans. I've been wanting to get connected "on the go" for years but I was not willing to pay the ridiculous monthly rates. These plans are reasonably priced which makes it more affordable for everyone.

Was this review helpful? (60) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Funtimeplayer
Poway, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works well but double check Sprint coverage.
10/14/2012

Customer review by Thisbee

2.0 stars 10/14/2012 by Thisbee
by Thisbee

The Walmart website says this should work in my zip code in Wyoming. Well it does not. This is connected through Sprint and I live in a roaming area for their service. This hot spot DOES NOT ROAM. I verified this with a call to Internet on the Go. I bought this for traveling and once I got to an area that Sprint services it worked fine. It won't work in Wyoming, Montana, North and South Dakota and a lot of other places. Do your homework. I would have given it a better rating if it worked in more places. I would not have bought it if Walmart had stated that it won't work in my home zip code.

Was this review helpful? (78) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Thisbee
Cody, Wy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
6/5/2013

Customer review by Us123

4.0 stars 6/5/2013 by Us123
by Us123

My husband said this device would not work when he received it as a gift. I set up the service for him several months later. Now, he LIKES this device! Once set up, it is easy to use. It works well at home and at a hotel. We used it to help us navigate a new city as my husband obtained directions from our tablet connected to this device and I drove. We like that the remaining MgBs can be long term. This device may not be outstanding for downloading large files, gaming, or surfing for long periods of time but it is just right for our current needs. We did find some short-comings with this device & service: this device does not indicate how much battery life is available, this device does not indicate when the battery is fully charged, the service does not allow you to change the SSID name, the service does not indicate easily your remaining MgBs, the service does not work with the VPN services we have tried, and the service provides limited customer support. All in all, we do like this device so far!

Was this review helpful? (74) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Us123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good, cheap internet access.
1/3/2014

Customer review by Dave67720

4.0 stars 1/3/2014 by Dave67720
by Dave67720

This works exactly like it's supposed to and overall, I am very happy with the product. I needed a cheap option for some very light internet access. It's nice to be able to buy 3 gigs worth of data and know that I can spend a year or two working through it without having the data expire. There are a couple of things that kept it from getting a 5 star rating. When I turn the device off with the power button, it comes back on after the first try. I have to press the power button again to get it to turn off for good. The device is usable right out of the package. However, if you go to the administration menu, there is a lot of reconfiguration you can do, like changing the administrator password, the SSID, and the encryption key. But none of it is described in the included documentation. Some of it is at the manufacturer's website, but some of it you just have to research on the web to figure out what it does.

Was this review helpful? (57) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dave67720
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Helps in a pinch but extremely slow...
10/22/2013

Customer review by CaliGirl75

2.0 stars 10/22/2013 by CaliGirl75
by CaliGirl75

I bought this as a possible replacement for my cable provided internet at home. I set it up quick and easy and was able to purchase data easily. Once I got it up and running I tried it on my ipad mini and it had trouble loading videos and would load and stop intermittently. The speed felt like old school dial up. If you plan to stream videos like you do at home you'll be sorely disappointed. The speed results of this device in Los Angeles are 0.13 Download and 0.26 Upload. My Home internet speeds are 15.11 download and 1.99 upload so it can't compete with what I have at home. Still debating if I should return it or not. On the plus side it's tiny, easy to use, the data doesn't expire as long as you use it once per year and refilling it seems to be a breeze. I could see using this for navigation in the car, or using it when wifi is not available as my ipad is wifi-only and of course I can share my internet connection with a friend but at these speed results just using it with one device at a time, I'm not sure I would.

Was this review helpful? (78) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CaliGirl75
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Started Good but Service Shrunk
11/13/2013

Customer review by TorDean

1.0 stars 11/13/2013 by TorDean
by TorDean

When I first bought my Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot, I was delighted. I could purchase 8 gigs of data for $45 to be used within 30 days. However when I used the 8 gigs, I got warning emails telling me I was using too much data! I was paying for the data, why do they need to warn me? The first reduction in service was that they limited me to purchasing 4 gigs for $45. Then they reduced it to 3 gigs for $45. Now the only option they are giving me to purchase is 500 megs for $10. I am quite disappointed. Btw, the speed was spotty. Sometimes it provided snappy, quick website-loading times. Sometimes it seemed like it would take forever to load pages. I think it depended upon the current traffic over the system.

Was this review helpful? (63) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TorDean
Ridgecrest, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great for occasional WiFi needs
10/17/2012

Customer review by Brian2417

5.0 stars 10/17/2012 by Brian2417
by Brian2417

I purchased the mifi primarily to give me WiFi access at Craft Fairs and similar venues in order to take Square credit card payments on my WiFi only IPad, it has yet to let my down as long as it had sufficient battery charge. The claimed 4 hour battery life appears to be genuine so I will obtain a backup battery to give me all day access. The service has got even better this week since they have reduced the charges from $20 for 450mb to $10 for 500mb.

Was this review helpful? (51) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Brian2417
Allen, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 438 total reviews
1-20 of 438 reviews