Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 26 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

2.5 stars

26 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 stars
14
35%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 24 total reviews
Was happy, UNTIL...
5/31/2012

Customer review by TheGordonFamily

1.0 stars by TheGordonFamily

This was an ok system, we had to adjust the settings out of the box, but after that it was a fair system for the price. The DVD player was a bit slower than my last dvd player loading and opening etc. but we over looked it. I was happy with it until today when I went to turn it on, I pushed the power button and all the lights went off and it won't do ANYTHING now. The power light won't come on, it won't open, NOTHING. We bought it the end of February and it's the end of May and it is broken. So what I thought was a good economical surround system turn out not to be since it only lasted a few months.

Was this review helpful? (20) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TheGordonFamily
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
For the price its worth it if you adjust settings
5/19/2012

Customer review by TheComprehensiveReviewer

5.0 stars by TheComprehensiveReviewer

Out of the box it’s a decent system, DVD playback great, (I mostly use it as a av receiver since I have a Blu-ray, my TV needed something with a toslink or optical input to send audio to) on default settings it sounds a little muddy but that can be fixed with adjusting the bass up to +9dB back channel up to +2dB and the center channel to +1dB then set the sub to powerful, sounds amazing for the price Pros: - Price is budget friendly - Surprisingly good sound after tweaking settings - Small satellite speakers practically unnoticeable with the lights off all walls mountable - 5 modes for sub (soft, balanced, strong, powerful) soft option great for watching at night without waking people up - has 3 methods of audio input TOSLINK standard L/R AV cables and a 3.5mm jack in front for mp3 players Cons: - At lower volumes you can hear this units cooling fan (sounds like a desktop computer) - no display on unit so for auxiliary input, digital input and mp3 player input you'll have to switch between television viewing modes until you get to know the remote (easy to learn thankfully# What you’ll need - Speaker wire - it come with a fairly decent amount for the rear speakers #10 feet# but if you want to make sure your wires are not showing by running them along the base boards get some speaker wire #depending on how much you need measure before you go a buy it and remember to compensate for two sets of wire) - TOSLINK/optical audio cable or RCA L/R plugs - if your TV has a toslink or aux out attach it that way so not only do your movies come in surround sound but your games and TV shows will as well Remember surround sound only works if you place the speakers correctly center in center front left and front right space evenly from the TV and the rear speakers placed pointing at each other parallel from the front speakers

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TheComprehensiveReviewer
Union NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Prone to Failure
7/23/2012

Customer review by jerichodrumm

1.0 stars by jerichodrumm

I bought one of these a year ago to go with my brand new television. I did not like the idea that I cannot adjust the bass or treble. I could turn the sub-woofer off or on only. However I thought its only $100, what could I expect? Radio reception when it was used was very spotty. I may or may not get a local channel with the antenna attached. I was not very pleased with that but decided I would just listen to pandora or last.fm for music. Roughly 6 or 8 months after I purchased the system, I noticed that sometimes the speakers would make a loud 'POP' and everything would go silent. None of the buttons would work after that. The only was to get any response was to turn it off and on. This continued for several months and I tried various things. Leave some speakers unplugged. Set the television to 2.1 stereo. Put a fan next to the receiver. None of that helped. Eventually it became an every 10 minutes kind of problem. I checked the warranty. It died one day past manufacture date. Which meant...No Warranty. The year was up. I researched these because I wanted to Know if this was common. It is. Most people barely get a full year out of this uni. Then you are stuck with a bunch of speakers you cant use. Dont waste your $100. save the extra money and go buy a good one someplace

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
jerichodrumm
houston texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
RCA DVD 100W Home Theater with HDMI
6/3/2012

Customer review by Flangerdeluxe

3.0 stars by Flangerdeluxe

Good value for the money. Bought for use in single bedroom. It sounds good not, the best but, for less than 80.00, it's good to connect my PS3 with the Optimal audio cable, TV and I use the DVD player for regular dvd and cd's. stream music and video thru the ps3. Nice and compact and easy to set up.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Flangerdeluxe
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not worth the money
9/10/2012

Customer review by Buddy99

1.0 stars by Buddy99

I purchased this system just to get a little bit better quality sound than my LCD TV speakers. I wasn't expecting anything wonderful, but this system just doesn't deliver. I've had it for a day and the speakers are crackling already. The sub is horrible and only sounds half-way decent when turned to the loudest preset (there is no sub volume control). The system claims to be surround sound, but the rear speaks aren't audible even when adjusted louder. Overall, just not worth the money, time to set up, and frustration with the lack of quality. This product is going to back to the store.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Buddy99
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
exceeded my expectations
11/9/2012

Customer review by prettybrownizs

5.0 stars by prettybrownizs

Although I've only owned the system for two weeks, I have been thoroughly impressed. I purchased it as an alternative to the built in speakers on my tv and have been pleased with the quality of the audio output.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
prettybrownizs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Weak
1/7/2013

Customer review by EricEricBoBeric

1.0 stars by EricEricBoBeric

Seemed like a good deal for what it was. But the sound quality was sub par. I didnt expect much for the money, but after 30 minutes adjusting the settings, trying different things, and making sure all the speakers were working, this unit went right back in the box.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
EricEricBoBeric
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Surprisingly Excellent Sound Quality
6/21/2012

Customer review by DoctorWhat

5.0 stars by DoctorWhat

Disclosure: I do not use this as a DVD player, really. I bought it as an alternative to computer speakers, which generally stink. With minor adjustments to the settings, the sound quality is really surprising coming out of such a small system. It compares well with the quality of Bose, Onkyo, and Infinity components. It would be nice if it displayed the power level that it is running the subwooofer or surround speakers at, but you can play music and tell by ear pretty easily.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
DoctorWhat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Flimsy
8/6/2012

Customer review by Moenique

2.0 stars by Moenique

Bought one of these over the weekend to set up with my new 42-inch HDTV, but ended up returning yesterday. Not sure what I expected for $80.00 but the speakers just seemed light and flimsy, something like you'd get at the dollar store for fifty cents - also the speakers don't have input plugs on the ends, they are just bare wires that you affix to the DVD receiver old school seventies style, will look for something else with a little more quality...

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Moenique
Kansas City
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Avoid this system...
7/19/2012

Customer review by eastman11

1.0 stars by eastman11

Bought one from walmart, speakers started sqeaking loud, called rca, no help, bought another big mistake, same probem. now stuck with two, worked good for about 8 months then failed, looking for another brand.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
eastman11
indianapolis
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Speakers are nice
7/8/2012

Customer review by Willing

1.0 stars by Willing

The receiver/dvd player died after less than 50 hours of use... Makes a horrific crackling sound and is just a waste of money.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Willing
Chico, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great for the price.
2/13/2013

Customer review by mikangra

5.0 stars by mikangra

bought this system after the christmas sale of 2012. good for the price i thought. when i brought it home i was disappointed at first not seeing the connections that i wanted, but i worked around it. i see the reviews are low so i would recommend buying the extended warranty as it covers defects. i have not encountered any problems. sound is decent. bass is nice. i can feel it when i have the volume high enough and play a good track. i mainly us it for my ps3 and computer. i do plan upgrade eventually. it is a good system to have.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
mikangra
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
GREAT FOR YOUR HD TV
2/10/2013

Customer review by QBALL0725

4.0 stars by QBALL0725

GREAT SOUND , I HAD BOUGHT A DIFFERENT ONE FOR MORE MONEY THAT WASN,T AS GOOD AS THIS ONE AND IT WAS CHEAPER WITH MORE SPEAKERS ,THE OTHER ONE ONLY HAD A SOUND BAR AND SUB WOOFER.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
QBALL0725
WILMINGTON
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
System fan is loud
1/18/2013

Customer review by JIMM21

2.0 stars by JIMM21

Well I bought this unit thinking I would give RCA a shot since they use to be a good brand but that was a mistake. After turning the unit on for the first time I hear the fan running on the unit. Now its not so loud that you can here it if you got the system turned up loud but if it is down to a normal volume you can hear it. Most people might could look past it but it drives me carzy. Also it does turn up loud I guess for a cheaper unit it does but I woud like it to get louder unit for my music. So other than the fan and the volume it is a ok unit I guess. I have had it 2 days and have decided to take it back due to the sound of the fan.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
JIMM21
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Terrible
9/2/2012

Customer review by clperk

1.0 stars by clperk

We bought this unit for the basement projector tv. We haven't used it very much as that TV is mostly the "Football" tv and we already have to replace it. Not worth the money for as little of time that you get use it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
clperk
Neosho, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
1/12/2013

Customer review by kevo641

1.0 stars by kevo641

This has to be the single most worst purchase I have ever made! Confusing instructions, no customer support! Have done everything all the "salespeople" have suggested to no avail, not to mention I was simply after an inexpensive upgrade to help the already weak speakers in my RCA TV, and now with all the " other things " I was told I needed, I could of bought a nice system! The DVD works fine, and the sound works fine while in DVD mode, but don't dare think your gonna get any sound out just on TV. Have tried HDMI, High Tech audio cable.... nothing! DO NOT RECOMMEND!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
kevo641
College Station, Tx.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
sad face :(
1/24/2013

Customer review by born1992

1.0 stars by born1992

first off i got this for vaule and what we could affored at the time. i didn't expect much from it and probably wwon't expect much from rca again. i bought this product in 12/2012. first week no problem. "best thing since sliced bread" . then subwoofer started crackaling and maing a ungodly knocking noise at low levels. adujustment made no difference. rear speakers hardly hear no matter what. then couple weeks later bought a seperat sub rated same as orginal. back in bussiness. week later subwoofer out put doesnt work. guess cant replace speakers on it. oh well i said i can live bass free till can get new. now i cant use it sine fan is so loud if you hit it stops for few minutes then right back noisy as can e a clacking noise if you will. my advise dont by or if you do dont replace bad speakers. im waiting for it die so i can talk my wife into a new stereo

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
born1992
wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
nice!
3/10/2013

Customer review by bluzman1

5.0 stars by bluzman1

great home theater system but I had too call too get it going right! But when I got it going it worked out right. Now I'm enjoying the nice sound of surround sound. thanks a bunch! walmart....

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
bluzman1
oklaqhoma city
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/13/2012

Customer review by elrinocerontenegro

4.0 stars by elrinocerontenegro

this system isnt the best thing out there but it fits my project perfectly. i play games, watch movies and nascar sound is great. i have it in a 20x20 room and its sounds very good!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
elrinocerontenegro
danville, va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/23/2012

Customer review by THEGREENHOUSE

2.0 stars by THEGREENHOUSE

this unit is somewhat fair has no am/fm radio it does go fairly loud but subwoofer no umph in it 99% of my movies and tv shows are on netflix and some are on hulu veoh youtube ecc i wish my old home theater did not blow out it had better umph in it i missed plenty of phone calls during that week i have magic jack i will keep this home theater when i get more money on my prepaid visa i will get a better one with more umph in it

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
THEGREENHOUSE
barstow
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 24 total reviews